North Euston HotelWedding Function

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I would like to start by thanking you for the use of your hotel and facilities for the above event which was the marriage of our daughter Samantha to her fiancé David.
However, despite picking probably the oldest and certainly the biggest hotel in Fleetwood which I have always considered to be of the highest standard; on the day there were many discrepancies with the arrangements that were months in the planning.
During the planning we dealt with a nice young man called Stephen who, at all times, was courteous, pleasant and professional. However, on the day of the event, it was Stephen’s day off so the proceedings were overseen by a Gentleman called Max, who, I have to say, was also courteous, pleasant and professional.
Nonetheless, despite the professionalism there seemed to be a comedy of errors. In the first instance Stephen informed us that the Red Carpet would have been laid out on the steps to the hotel. No Red Carpet was laid out. We had two cards left at the entrance to the Vantini room for our grandchildren who should have been acting as ushers directing people to their seats but, an eye witness tells me, that Max tossed them to one side stating that they were not working and told people to find their own seats.
After the ceremony, which ran over due to a late start caused by problems with the bride’s outfit, we went initially across the road into the park to take some photographs and then we returned to the hotel to take further photographs on the stairs. While this was going on Max took it upon himself to usher people into the ballroom. When we realised what was going on my wife approached Max asking him what the rush was to get them into the room. He replied that they should have been in the room forty-five minutes ago because the buffet was due to be served at 4:45pm. We told him that we had arranged with Stephen to serve the buffet at 6pm. “That’s not what I’ve been told”, he said. This meant that several people did not get to be photographed and also the Bride and Groom were not in the ballroom first to greet their guest as they walked in, which is the traditional way of doing things.
Next, when the buffet was served the Top Table was called first but after that it was a free for all instead of the tables being called in an orderly fashion as we had arranged. Also the buffet was not as it should have been. Stephen assured us there would be prawns; well if there were they must have swum away because I didn’t see any. Regarding the hot food, which I have to say I did not have, people have commented saying that it was lukewarm at best. Some have said that it was cold. Could it be that it was ready to early due to the communication ###-up? There was only one bowl of chips for the kids when we were told there would be two. I could not see any dips although someone has since told me that they were brought out after many people had been to the table. I’m wondering, given all the other activities going on in the hotel (another function next door, Sounds 18 in the Vantini room and a packed Victoria Bar) whether or not there was enough staff to cope?
While people were dancing one of the bar staff was going round the tables removing full glasses of the toast wine without asking if our guests had finished with them. Also we had arranged for two extra tables to accommodate guests who had been invited to the “night do”. Name cards had been placed in the toast glasses to indicate where people would sit. When people had been to the buffet; the bar staff took it upon themselves to clear the two extra tables and toss the name cards “wily nilly” onto the table. When the night guests arrived it was a free for all to get seats.
Finally, to add insult to injury, on the morning after, when the newlyweds were checking out of the hotel they were asked to pay the bill. They were horrified! My Son-in-Law had only £10 in his pocket. Stephen had previously sent me a Pro Forma invoice indicating costs which I agreed too. However, he did say that a final invoice would be issued after the event which, of course, would show any extra costs that may have been incurred on the night. I said that when I received the final bill I would transfer the necessary funds into the hotel’s bank account. Hence I was as surprised as my Daughter and Son-in-Law was when I received a phone call from Max saying that they were waiting to check out and he wanted the bill to be settled there and then. Even when I explained what had been arranged with Stephen, is only reply was, “well it’s the same as the Pro Forma invoice so can we settle it now over the phone by credit card?”. Although initially shocked by this I agreed and settled the bill. This must surely be to the detriment of the hotel as you will now have incurred credit card commission charges that could have been avoided.
Fortunately, apart from the bride’s late arrival, the guests were blissfully unaware of most of the mishaps (hot food that wasn’t particularly hot being the odd exception) and the entertainment that I had provided, professionally delivered by DJ Scottie, was well received but I was somewhat disappointed with the level of service provided by such a high class hotel.

In Summary the reply from the hotel simply stated that, in future, they will provide a copy of the functions sheet to the organisers of the event, after finalization. Hopefully, this will give sufficient time for all guests to check the details that they have are correct, before the day of the function. So for your sake, if you choose to hold a function there make sure that you have, in writing, everything that has been agreed. You have been warned!

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem