The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
First Premier Bankunrecognized charge from this company in my checking acct

I was looking at my bank balances online today, and saw a debit for $70.00 from "FPB CR CARD." I had no idea what it was, so I called my bank to inquire about the transaction. The guy I spoke to said there was no merchant contact info for the transaction--how shady is that?!? I asked him to just google it, and he found that it was from First Premier Bank out of Sioux Falls, SD and gave me their 1-800 number.

I have never opened a credit card with these people (hell, I hadn't even heard of it until today), so I can't imagine how they got my bank account information to make withdraws to pay for someone else's credit card account. I'm sure it was nothing more than an error--one of their idiot employees probably made a mistake in entering bank account payment info--but, nonetheless, it's bad business, and they need to get their sh*t together.

BTW, when I called the 1-800 number the guy at my bank gave me, I couldn't simply get a hold of a representative to speak to because their automated system REQUIRES you to submit your credit card number just in order to speak to someone. Obviously, I couldn't do so because I didn't even have a card with them, so I just ended up punching in a random sequence of sixteen digits, I finally got in touch with someone, who was truly unhelpful and said "oh, well I'll have the security department look at this." Pathetic.

All I'm saying is, if these people are making goofy errors like this, why would anyone actually open up a credit card with them?

Responses

  • Valerie Jan 14, 2008

    I lost my job in 2006 and tried to utilize this insurance with first premier bank. I was denied several times. So i tried to keep up with the payments but i fell behind and received several calls saying if i made payments by western union that i would receive extra credit for doing so. Everything that i was told was a lie. when i tried to close the account they would not let me or even try to work with me to get it caught up. This company wants your money and does not want to give you honest information.

    1 Votes
  • Tc
    T.C. Feb 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I urge anyone who has a First Premier Bank prepaid card to cut it up pronto. How the HELL do you end up owing on a prepaid debit card when you are the one who loads the card with your own money??? I only used the card once many years ago and decided to get rid of it. I didn't call and cancel anything because since I was the one loading the card, I just plain stopped putting money on it, cut it up, and simply opened a bank account. Years later, there's a rude woman calling my 80 year old grandmother's house where I haven't lived in years, harassing her and asking questions about me, claiming that she's representing First premier Bank and that I owe money to them. Believe me, I have no reason to lie because if I did, I wouldn't be writing this complaint. I asked my grandmother to give her my current number just so I could put her in her place, because she had been calling everyday and at least 3 times a day. So she began harassing me as expected. Boy did we have it out! I truly don't believe all these calls are monitored because the way she was talking to me was BEYOND unprofessional. I told her to go to hell with gasoline panties on and warned her never to disrespect my grandmother again. I also threatened to report her to the BBB and a whole slew of agencies, not to mention seeking legal action for harassment. This woman refused to give her name, or agency name. She just claimed to be "representing" First Premier Bank. Oh bull! I asked for her name, and she only gave me a first name which I'm pretty sure was fake. In fact, when she called me, she asked for me by my first name as if she was an old friend from college!!! Please!! I even quizzed her by requesting my account number and she failed to provide the answer.

    1 Votes
  • Mb
    M.B Apr 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am suing.I went to file a lawsuit in small claims cause of there mistake. I did it so should you.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joshua mcrae Jun 06, 2009

    Got a 200 dollar card from premier bank. This has got to be the biggest fraud of a company i've ever seen. Enormous billing fees, horrible customer service and endless harassing calls. worst place to do buisness with. They charge you for anything u can think of. any time u call them the harass u to make a payment. These people are the worst.

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    SkepticalOne Oct 16, 2009

    Same thing happened to me...a charge of $77.53 from FPB CR CARD INTERNET showed up as pending, so I called my bank, who said I had to write a letter to their fraud department, and request an investigation and credit for the charge, which I did. The next day, another identical charge showed up from the same source, FPB CR CARD INTERNET for $77.53, and now a new entry also appeared, HSBC ONLINE WEB PAYMENT charging me for $50.00. That one is Home State Bank Corp out of Buffalo, NY. We are very tight with our information, but we did recently have a new debit card issued for my wife on this account, about two weeks ago. I believe the problem is not with these banks, but somehow our debit card information was compromised before it even got to us. Google these phrases, FPB CR CARD INTERNET (First Premier Bank Credit Card) and HSBC ONLINE WEB PAYMENT, and you will see it has happened to many others. Someone with an account at these banks is using stolen debit card info. Our bank advised us the only way to truely fix this issue is to close the account...yet if the debit card for our next account is compromised again, we will be in the same boat.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    timi2shoes Dec 16, 2009

    Wow same thing has happened to me. First Premier Bank is just absolutely terrible, very unhelpful and they dont even care that my account was compromised. I called them asking questions about my fraudulent account and they told me to fax a letter to their security department. I faxed the letter explaining everything how I filed a police report and all. I never heard anything back after I faxed the letter. I called them back and this time they said that they had handed over my account to a collection agency. I asked to speak with someone from their security department but the lady told me that they do not have a number. How pathetic. I am just now calling the collection agency hoping i can clear this mess up. First Premier Bank is terrible and should be sued for the crap they pull.

    2 Votes
  • Rm
    R. Martin Sep 29, 2010

    I have had a First Premier Card for a year. I paid on time, paid over $200 dollars in start up fees, never got close to my minimum, carried enough balance to show use, paid 30% more than the minimum on every payment. When I got a bill with a $20 fee and notice of an upcoming $48 fee for annuals on a first and second card I called to cancel the account. My credit score had vastly improved and I had two other cards with no annual or monthly fees and much higher limits so I no longer wanted to pay the $7 a month or the annuals on this card. The cust. service rep offered to take off $40 and told me to cancel the second card so I would not have to pay the $20. I told him that the $7 a month or any fees was silly at this point because I had much better products in my other cards. He yelled, "Fine! Your account is closed" and hung up on me. I was trying to ask if they had another product like a Gold Card that might better suit my needs. It is so shortsighted to treat me that way. I am a responsible customer (having learned the lessons of my youthful over spending many years prior) who pays more than minimum, never gets close to over limit and uses my credit responsibly.

    I know that they do not care about my experience and that employee is likely yelling at other people and hanging up on them as I write this. They lost a customer for life. I am in search of a mortgage now, but would NEVER consider First Premier.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    susieqty1 May 29, 2011

    My credit got bad because of Identity Theft (the creeps get by with it and it goes on my credit?) and First Premiere offered me a credit/debit card. Interest rate seemed usurious. Because of fraudulent actions of Compass Bank, my account was way overdrawn according to them, and I had no money to live on, told this to First Premiere and they agreed to let me make my payment when I got my next check. So, they charged me a late charge and would not reverse it! A bait and switch. Then, put a derogatory for late payment on my credit.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brian H. Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Why does this bank send out a replacement card already activated in a envelope via first class mail with Fist Premeir Bank Card writen on it?

    Send in plain white envelope without company letter head, and activate after your receipt of card verifying your information.

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    blessthem Apr 21, 2012

    what is the fax# for 1st premier bank sioux falls sd [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessecbreeze Apr 09, 2013

    If they sent you a card that was already activated then they are already doing something illegal. See following excerpt from Reg E disclosure: § 205.5 Issuance of access devices.

    (a) Solicited issuance. Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this section, a financial institution may issue an access device to a consumer only:

    (1) In response to an oral or written request for the device; or

    (2) As a renewal of, or in substitution for, an accepted access device whether issued by the institution or a successor.

    (b) Unsolicited issuance. A financial institution may distribute an access device to a consumer on an unsolicited basis if the access device is:

    (1) Not validated, meaning that the institution has not yet performed all the procedures that would enable a consumer to initiate an electronic fund transfer using the access device;

    (2) Accompanied by a clear explanation that the access device is not validated and how the consumer may dispose of it if validation is not desired;

    (3) Accompanied by the disclosures required by § 205.7, of the consumer's rights and liabilities that will apply if the access device is validated; and

    (4) Validated only in response to the consumer's oral or written request for validation, after the institution has verified the consumer's identity by a reasonable means.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamlda Dec 15, 2013

    First Premier bankcard is a complete rip off. I cant believe the government let them operate like that.
    My card limit was $250
    My monthly and annual fees exceed $250.
    I tried to increase credit limit to $500. They told me I would have to open a second account. Worst the account would start off with a balance of $500 payment due.
    I finally closed the account with a balance of about $5. I then got a call from their collection agent that I owed $175...I paid it just so they wouldn't f up my credit. I can't believe that they can operate like this.

    SHUN THEM THEYR'E A BUNCH OF CROOKS.

    1 Votes
  • La
    L Alford May 10, 2016

    I don't have a First Premier bankcard and over $400 was debited from my account. First Premier cannot help me since I do not have an account with them. They suggested I file a claim with my bank, which I did before contacting them. What a way to ruin my day.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.