JustAnswerUnauthorised charge for membership

P Apr 29, 2019 Review updated:

you have charged my bank card with $71.41 for membership which I did not agree to or request. You previously charged me for answering a question which was paid by me but I did not agree to a membership. Please reverse this charge .
You answered my problem at the time which was very helpful and you were paid for the information so I cannot understand why you would assume that I would like a membership of you site.
I look forward to receiving a credit for $71, 41 immediately.
Peter McNeil
364 McCulloch Street
Broken Hill NSW 2880

Responses

  • Jo
    JonathanTa Dec 01, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Best to pay by Paypal, then you can cancel the recurring payment yourself.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katherine Crittendon Feb 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me but I was charged $60.00. Was also told I could not get a refund because the web site somewhere has a disclaimer. I had one question paid for that never wanted a membership.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Winston Warr Jul 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ditto, same scenario. On 6/14/19 I went online for a simple problem with a pushbutton on our microwave that I wanted to use a spray lubricant on. There appeared to be no problem doing that. The problem was immediately solved. At no time did I agree to a monthly service membership. On 6/15/19 there was a $1.00 charge on my Visa card. On my next monthly Visa card summary was a $46.00 charge from "Just Answer Membership". Our call to our Visa Card bank was made the next day requesting a dispute for the $46.00 charge. The next day we received an email from Jeff Cavellini, Senior Director, Customer Service, Just Answer saying, "Your membership has been cancelled."
    We had received no refund of the $46.00 charge. Over a month later, on 7/22/19 at 1:00 am, we received another email from Just Answer saying, "Your membership has been cancelled as of today. You will no longer be billed on a monthly basis." Again, there has been no refund of the $46.00 membership charge. This appears to be a scam that draws you in to a unwanted monthly membership after asking help for a simple one-time problem.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Romain05 Jul 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same here! So far the worst experience I have ever had with a company. I have never posted a bad review in my life. But JustAnswer is that one scamming company that's taken me there. I'm completely disgusted with this company.
    I had paid $5 to have one question answered, this was an offer on their website. I got answer and was billed $5 immediately. A whole month later, I see new charge on my account, they took $46 out of my account without notifications! I immediately called as I was horrified. I was told that this was a membership fee that was coming with the $5 question I had asked a month prior. What?!? At no point they clearly stated I would also be enrolling in such scam. They're offering you the opportunity to pay for a one time question at $5 but on top of that you're paying a secret membership? it makes no sense! Anyone with a brain who then pay for the membership alone and ask as many questions as they'd like. I spent 20 minutes over the phone with the supervisor who was very determined to hold on my $46 as if her life depended on it. They made me want to vomit. They stole my money and never sent me a heads up either.
    Gross company, do not recommend. You will be met with nasty surprises like this one.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    craig poole May 14, 2019

    Today you charged me $28.00 for what? I did not authorize this. Refund this money or I will have my bank refund this amount. I paid 5.00 for a question about a small engine question. It took over 48 hours for answer that was not even relevant to the situation. At that time I told you to cancel my subscription. if you do not refund my money I will have the cancel your fee and call the Attorney Generals Office. Fraud claims seem to be a major part of your business model.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Lahey May 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also am having a similar situation. They charged me for a question and said I had a 7 day trial. They then charged me $46. I emailed the support and asked for a refund. They told me that they reviewed my account and said they couldn't issue me a refund for whatever reason. I haven't used the service since the initial question I asked. I only agreed to the trial not membership. I'm going to be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau because I see on there website that they are accredited and since I see so many fraud claims on this website, I am just going to tell my bank that the purchase was fraudulent and have them refund me the money.

    Joe Lahey

    Comments

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.