The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
JustAnswer.comripping off experts on the verification process

I applied to become an expert for JustAnswer.com and was fooled by their false promises of good money to people who are experts in their field. I spent over an hour on the verification process filling out answers to their questions and they "looked" pretty legit.

JustAnswer.com said that before they approve you for their website, that Lexus Nexis will charge me $20.00 for a background verification and if they accept me, they will reimburse me. Ok, Lexis Nexus is a reputable company. I went for it and paid the money.

Don't pay the money to be verified by JustAnswers.com to be verified as an expert. They accepted me for their website before the background check and then rejected me after I paid the $20 to be verified. How convenient for them. Trust me, there is nothing questionable about my background. I cannot help to think that JA gets a kickback from Lexis Nexus, but I cannot verify that.

JustAnswer, cost me $20.00 on a false promise. What I don't understand about these scam artists is that if they will reimburse you for the background check, why don't they do the right thing and just pay it from the start. Why tell me that I am accepted and then reject me AFTER I pay the $20.00

There are far more websites out there that pay you for your expertise without charging you upfront. Stay away from this ripoff site and go to a more reputable site.

For the experts who were actually accepted, good for you. I hope you made your $20 back, but search the internet and you will find more unhappy experts who also lost $20 than the ones who were accepted.

Responses

  • chimmy Sep 12, 2013

    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/online/justanswer_com.html


    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-a102202.html
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-02202/page/2
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-02202/page/3
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-02202/page/4
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-02202/page/5
    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/just-answer-02202/page/6

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • chimmy Sep 12, 2013

    I agree, I am a Journey level HVAC/R service technician with 37 years experience A.S in Mechanical Electrical Technology.
    My verification, East Indian fellow call me from a noisy boiler room and ask me about myself! & would I hire myself again!! not noticing my ph # and name were the same as the owner of my company!
    JustAnswer has a no accept no pay policy, that is no pay to the expert, cause JustAnswer gets their money up front, and keeps all the money if the customer never accepts, JustAnswer has a AAA rating with the BBB as they will settle with everyone who goes through the BBB, they give this rating even if they only settle with customers via the BBB which seems the case.
    There are a core of 4-5 "experts" that are online daily all day and night and most days of the year,
    they use fake stock photos as the "experts" BillyJr aka Billy1961 and phil etc 2 of the most prolific, however Billy 1961 the HVAC mentor is feared among all the experts, for some reason Billy1961 has great pull with the admin at JustAnswer.com / Pearl.com and I suspect I know why!! Allow me to demonstrate my findings...

    http://www.bearforest.com/events/ev1event.cgi?1711

    Bring a covered dish and come out and join the guys. Meetings move location every month. Please see our website for more information.
    Event repeats monthly on the fourth Saturday
    Site: http://www.gmcolumbus.com

    Cheers... Cheer On Event
    BUCK Big Pic
    Howdy!!

    billy1961 -Member- Big Pic
    Bear looking for friends

    NOW BELOW ARE PRIVATE EMAILS FROM EXPERT TO EXPERT
    Previous Private Message --

    Sent by : warmneighbor
    sent : 2/17/2013 at 7:01 AM

    I have a moderator saying that she will review the suspicious ratings. Give me your best links and I will include them. especially for the period of the first week in feb. Let's not overwhelm her, just like 3 or 4.

    David
    -- Previous Private Message --
    Sent by : bmw850calypsored
    sent : 2/14/2013 at 7:20 AM

    I'm glad you are ok! Billy1961 scare alumilite, he sent me a email all scared Billys going to abuse him now! and get him kicked off I did nothing but quote his post in the expert forum where he said some experts are making bogus reviews based on flimsy assertions, i did not see you say that! WOW I wish i had, he even peer reviewed me on his own fake question, I said he had amazing audacity, he really sucks, why some [censored] has to be like that?

    I would like to see that question I did notice you getting pissed at abusers, let me know if you need back up .
    Keith

    -- Previous Private Message --

    by : warmneighbor
    : 2/14/2013 at 4:12 AM

    Hang in there. I busted BillyJr once with the 'you think I don't know who you are but we know that you are another expert trying to make us look bad". Never got a reply to that or from a moderator.

    I will be back as soon as I get caught up

    David
    -- Previous Private Message --
    Sent by : bmw850calypsored
    sent : 2/14/2013 at 5:20 AM
    Hey where are you

    Contact Us | Become a Professional | Terms of Service | Privacy & Security | About Us
    © 20

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Below evidences Billy's typical abusive acts .

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7kzxb-first-problem-error-code-a01-restart-when.html

    V12Tech :

    By gorunds i mean the 24 volt common as well

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7ler0-heil-natural-gas-furnance-model-xxxxx.html

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7io4z-nordyne-furnace-model-g6rc-100c-16b-serial-xxxxx.html

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7k4p0-rd-150.html
    BILLY BIG TIME ###

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7k4z0-ra-mk.html

    V12 TECH WAS LET GO FOR THIS ONE! ALLEGED HE MADE A DEAL WITH CUSTOMER VIOLATING SECTION 8.


    THANKED FOR PRECIOUS HELP
    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7jbpb-powrmatic-furnace-combining-wood-elecririty.html

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7c1xs-nordyne-feh-015ha-04-responds-thermostat.html

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7fa6b-hello-i-troubleshooting-heil-icp-model-cug5075bfa2-serial.html

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/7cpt8-ra-sjb.html
     
    THIS EVIDENCES THE RUDE ABUSE A NEW EXPERT GETS!


    Hello, I am ready
    to continue. There is another way to wire when you are ready to proceed.If you have question of who to work with simply research the feedback pecentage and approval rating.I am ready when you are.
    Billy1961


    Expert: Chas replied 1 hours ago.
    Hi, I noticed another expert posted on top of me. Please note this expert just showed up today and has no satisfied customers. I wanted you to know that in advance before you spend money on his answer or the part he wants you to replace..

    CUSTOMER REPLIED
    Yes Billy ...but thats wrong and it burned the motor...is there a definitive right and wrong way?

    Billy1961 burns cutomers motors up all the time! wait until you see the ridiculous incomprehensible gibberish as wiring instructions! bwaaaaa!

    http://www.justanswer.com/hvac/6cvkl-reset-heat-code-ruud-90-plus-furnace.html

    billy1961 spends an agonizing hour telling customer to bypass each limit, all 3 to see if 24 volts is coming back to the circuit board! lol bwaaaaaa!!!

    WTF?
    Why not jumper the high limit terminals on the circuit board???

    The hi limit terminals are right next to each other on the circuit board!
    BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    Just another example of a magazine mechanic familiar only with reading about how to from actual experts that filled their data base!
    The magazine mechanic cracks me up
    !
    Tell me, why bypass the 3 limits in their various locations to diagnose the limit circuit?

    Its ignorant, going on and on, even advising the customer stick a pin through 2 wires laid across each other!

    Its assinine and painfully embarassing.

    expert, warmneighbor got sickof the billyjr abuses as ha gurutech67!

    if Justanswer would look at the experts emails to each other, billyis an ongoing joke among the experts!
    even phil, aka alumilite said Billy was abusing the peer review process with educated experts who were a threat to billy!

    using dirty tricks & fake customers to stat pad
    as with Greg Kelsey, a fake home inspector billy uses to pad on subscription! AN unlimited ability to autofellate in public, with each rating of excellent!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fed up JA expert Dec 12, 2012

    If even one of the things you list as part of the verification cannot be verified, you will be rejected. But, Having spent 4 years on that site as a boat expert, I quit because of the unfair treatment by the people who run that site. They are now all but done for because of this. They are ripping their experts off too. Keep in mind that the individual experts have no control over the billing. They just answer the questions and about half the time (while I was an expert) we didn't get paid. When that dropped to about 85-90 % of the time not getting paid, and that happend overnight, I quit answering for them. I went from making 3-5 hundered a day, to making 300 a month on june 28 2012. The day they started Pearl.com which is the same company with a different name. They are all around dishonest people.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    Erdaram Nov 14, 2011

    You were probably rejected because your expert qualifications were not up to JustAnswer's standards. If you can't pass the test, you will be rejected. If your degrees or certifications, liscenses or work experiance can't be verified, you will be rejected. If you HAD READ UP FRONT what would be required of you, you should have been able to discern the height of the bar you were going to be asked to jump and would have realized that you were not prepared to meet those qualifications BEFORE the Lexis Nexis verification fee was charged. More than half of the expert applicants are rejected because of lack of verifiable qualifications. I have been an expert for 2 years  in 2 categories but could not qualify as an expert in a third catagory because even even though I owned a business for several years that specialized in the service in which I was appling for expert status in, It had been closed for over a decade and my experiance therefore, could not be verified. I for one am very glad it is so difficult to become an expert on JustAnswer as it HELPS to weed out potential expert wanna bees that try to gain expert verification without really being an expert in that category. 

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.