Menu
JustAnswer

JustAnswer review: rip off 19

N
Author of the review
2:58 pm EST
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I asked them a question about dog food, After the last step they asked me for money before they would answer my question. What a total rip off.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More JustAnswer reviews & complaints

JustAnswer - Online scam 243
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
JustAnswer - No way to cancel 28
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
JustAnswer - Fraud 65
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
JustAnswer - Refund 66
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JustAnswer - Scam / noanswer want deposit back 27
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
JustAnswer - unauthorised payment 8
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
JustAnswer - stealing and fraudulent use of my own private credit card.
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
JustAnswer - Car advice
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
19 comments
L
L
Lucifer Masamune
, US
Nov 22, 2023 1:33 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

So far I was fully aware by the sign up page that id be paying a monthly fee. It makes sense. Yeah I wanted to pay just 1 or 5 bucks of an answer.. either the site itself should only be 1 to 5 dollars to use and obviously 40$ for a general vet questionare consultation is the normal ! , less sense vice versa.. the guy helped me fast and was patient and kind unlike a lot of other vets. While I waited I wanted to do something and not just do nothing to try and find aid for my animals until i can get them into the very busy vets. Finally I have an irl app. But I still need more help and hope I don't get screwed over in this because so many irl vets have failed me... I didn't know they wouldn't be able to prescribe stuff tho? Yikes

J
J
Jim_G
Los Angeles, US
May 29, 2023 7:59 am EDT

How does this phoney website rate above average? Like others I too have been scammed by the doubletalk of refundable $5 and quitting before using. I also quit the same day. Read the page over, didn't say when I will get my five, but hey it's only five. Three weeks later $51 missing from my account and after 3 hours of trying to get hold of an actual person, I was told the $5 was never refundable and even though I quit my membership I still have to pay for the month even though the site stated otherwise. Now it's trying to get another $46 outta my account. When will a class action lawsuit be filed? I got my screenshot! Jim

T
T
Tinker-bell
, US
Apr 03, 2023 8:16 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

WARNING BEWARE ! DO NOT USE THIS SITE ITS A SCAM ! It said 1$

Thrn i was charged 35$

So i called the place and the guy said he would refund my money so i was like great!

He said i just have to answer some questions i said ok

So he started asking questions then he started ASKING PERSONAL QUESTIONS THAT DID NOT PERTAIN TO THE SITE I SIGNED UP FOR SO I TOLD HIM I FEEL UNCOMFORTABLE AND WHY THESE QUESTIONS THAT WHEN I SIGNED UP THEY DIDNT ASK ME THEM QUESTIONS Asking me to verify all the places i have been living at and credit card statements and it was weird.so i told him again i feel uncomfortable and i hung up because my guy was Sayin RED FLAG!

Then I messaged him how uncomfortable he made me and he wrote back [censored] YOU [censored].. whattttt who says that to a customer.

AND THATS NOT THE END I LOOKED AT MY STATEMENT BANK AND I HAVE 3 different weird unwanted charges that are from sites like just answer sites like medical and id advantage and a dr site just like just answer

SO THAT POS MOTHER F-R

Used my card number to charge from different sites SO UNPROFESSIONAL!

I had to Cancel my Business credit card before this Loser THIEF THAT WORKS FOR THIS COMPANY JUST ANSWER JACKED MY INFO AND IS SELLING IT?

He sent me a message from this number

[protected]

SO JUST BEWARE AND DOOOO NOTTT USE THIS SITE

UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION HACKED AND SOLD!

I turned them Into BBB for hacking my personal info..:(

M
M
Michelle Rick
, US
Dec 31, 2022 11:35 am EST

Do no use! I paid the $5 for asking a question, which was fine. Then I stated I did NOT want the subscription and would rather pay $5 per question. Whoever I was speaking with said that was fine & they would cancel the subscription. Didn't say anything about still being charged. Then I look at my account and was charged $35. I messaged them stating what happened and they said they looked over my account and I wasn't eligible for a refund. I emailed again stating I was never told I'd have to pay the $35. We will see what they say now. But it's bogus. I CLEARLY stated I didn't want a subscription and they said nothing about a $35 fee. Would NEVER use again!

S
S
Sue Mortimer
, US
Dec 17, 2022 12:56 am EST

Take extreme care! This company has continued to take money from my card for 7 months and wants me to 'subscribe' again to 'review' the issue.

S
S
Sandy Bean
, US
Dec 12, 2022 12:22 pm EST

They are ripping me off how is it they signed me up monthly membership but have no way I sign on and no email for me? Costing me 30 dollars a month. What a rip off, stay away everyone! Scam…….

H
H
Hthrfthr
Louisiana, US
Nov 18, 2022 8:27 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Really. Says $5 refundable and then shows trying to charge $40

SNEAKY

View 0 more photos
K
K
KBoushie
Columbus, US
Mar 24, 2022 4:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I used this service pretty successfully and then was charged each month following which I understood would happen. However, I cancelled my membership a few weeks ago but noticed today a new charge. I called customer care and got a recorded review of my account: I no longer had a membership; it had been cancelled. I spoke with a customer care rep who told me she saw no record of cancellation and could not refund that amount. I re-cancelled my membership with her. Even though I explained I had already been told my account was no longer, she insisted she could not see that it had been cancelled. After much discussion, I asked to speak to a supervisor, to whom I explained the same information. She also said there could be no refund. I asked why I had gotten a cancelled account message before I even spoke with someone if I had not cancelled it. She just repeated that she could not refund it and that the March 24th charge was for March even tho memberships are charged BEFORE the month upcoming. She repeatedly stated that she couldn't give me a refund of the pending charge. It wasn't until I said I was going to leave a negative review that she DID give me the refund that she repeatedly stated she couldn't do. Their customer service was terrible!

B
B
Brandy S.
Zanesville, Ohio, US
Feb 01, 2021 8:07 pm EST

My dog was not well it was 3am and we were trying to find out what to do. All local area vet offices were closed. We tried this service to find out what we should do or could do. I did not receive a response from the vet until 1:48pm in the afternoon. Every vet office answering service referred us to med vet. In my area it was an hour drive away and one that could have started earlier. Unfortunately I lost my fur baby at 4am because of their lack of response for an emergency situation.

J
J
Joanne McLaren
, US
Jun 26, 2018 6:25 pm EDT

I asked a question. They wanted more info about my dog. I thought to heck with this and I left the site and did not wait to receive an answer. But the following day there was a charge of $27 on my visa? Duh? Still charged and no answer given. I would not recommend this site at all. Money grab!

J
J
JustAnswer
San Francisco, US
Jun 28, 2018 10:23 am EDT

Hi Joanne,

We apologize for any confusion. If you were asking a veterinary question it's likely that the vet was asking some more specific clarifying questions to get a better idea of the cause of the issue. This is the exact same thing that the vet would do in the office.

The charge that you incurred was for the question that you posted. Please reach out to our customer care department at support@justanswer.com or by phone at 1-800-509-5721 and we'd be happy to look into this for you and see what happened more specifically with your experience.

Regards,
JustAnswer Customer care

H
H
Husky Mommie
, US
Oct 31, 2017 9:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I can only comment on my experience which was positive. The nearest animal emergency hospital is :30 from me, so when my dog ate one of my husband's diabetes meds, I immediately called the nearest clinic, who referred me to Animal Poison Control. They had me on hold for almost :15 (their fee is $65). I was online at the same time and found JustAnswer Dog.com. Yes they ask for your credit card and there a few prompts to answer but we're talking TWO MINUTES tops! I requested a phone call and the Vet called me in seconds! I finally hung up on the Poison Control line, I was still on hold.

The vet that called was very helpful, patient and reassuring. He asked me specific questions and offered two specific solutions. I followed his advice and am pleased to say my dog is fine. I also continued to do research online and everything I learned reaffirmed what he said.

I think it depends on who replies to your inquiry. I was fortunate to get a very kind and patient Vet, who for all practical purposes...was legit!

C
C
Christina Cancel
, US
Feb 24, 2022 11:04 pm EST

I agree. I was contacted within minutes from a Vet who was very helpful, called and followed up with typed, detailed instructions. He also told me he was on duty for another five hours and if we experienced any issues, to message him in the chat and he would respond. I would definitely recommend and use them again.

D
D
Diane Lynne Gorgy
, US
May 14, 2017 10:50 am EDT

I tried to use JustAnswer for a question on my son's dog, who ate an electrical cord that was not plugged in. After typing in my question (the site said answers are given in 10 minutes), I then went through multiple screens to pay, but then the site tried to make me upgrade the service to a higher cost service, and while I was waiting for an answer, it wanted me to change over to a phone call, which was an additional $28. My son ended up packing up the dog and taking him to the emergency clinic. Honestly, don't use this site if you have a true emergency. Your pet would die before you got through all the screens asking for more money.

J
J
JustAnswer
San Francisco, US
May 15, 2017 12:20 pm EDT

Hello Diane,

Thank you for getting in touch with us about this experience, I'm sorry to hear about the frustration that you experienced and we all hope that your son's dog, Zero, is doing well.

With regard to the nature of the incident that you were dealing with. Our Terms of Service state that the site should not be used for emergency situations or in cases where emergency medical attention is required.

We can see that you initial deposit has been refunded to your PayPal account, please let us know if you need any further assistance at all and we're happy to help.

Regards,
Adam - Customer Support Supervisor

K
K
Katy Perry
, US
Aug 22, 2015 11:52 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

In Aug. 21, 2015 I posed a lengthy vet question about my dog Dominick. Vet "Gary" was online. Paid the $21.00 and never got an answer.
My name is Kathleen Perry.
Guess "they" really don't care.
Never use them again.

G
G
gxkelle
Rigby, US
Jan 20, 2015 10:20 am EST

I asked my question gave my credit info and they charged my account. I have not gotten an answer and when I try to ask them about it they just want my credit card info again.

D
D
dharv
, CA
Nov 23, 2013 9:12 pm EST

im sorry but i really disagree... i have been going through a lot of stressful vet visits and i needed a second opinion...i found a vet named Kara on there that has gone above and beyond my expectations. very caring and helpful...i actually offered more money.

when you love your pet as much as i do you dont think twice about the measly few dollars deposit they ask for especially compared to a vet.

G
G
Gael Ross
, US
Feb 23, 2024 5:41 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of dharv

I just read your review of Dr. Kara. I agree with you that she is absolutely amazing. I have been communicating with her since January 26 and up until today, February 23. She has been so helpful, and I have gotten so much more help from her than the local vets where I live.

I have used Just Answer for a number of issues from legal to accounting and just about everything else. I have never been disappointed. Just like in " real life " there can be differences among providers of services, but as a single woman with little nearby help, I would never give up my Just Answer membership. It is a real bargain!

N
N
Nicc7
Scottsdale, US
Jan 11, 2010 12:32 am EST

They should at least warn you before making you type a ton of stuff, set up an account, and get all your personal info. What's with them giving you a choice of paying $9, $15, or $30. Do you get a better answer if you pay more? It seems this would only be helpful for someone who truly had no access to avet, a 24 hour emergency vet clinic, or who didn't have time to do a little online search for answers on their own.

S
S
Sandy Bean
, US
Dec 12, 2022 12:23 pm EST
Replying to comment of Nicc7

They have no record of my email but they charging me monthly for membership I can’t access?