The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Walmart Money Card / blocking the card

1 United States Review updated:

On 4/15/2011 I tried to use my card at circuitcity.com and it was declined for $38.01. At first I thought maybe I placed the wrong password and then I tried seven more times and the same thing. So then I went to a DSW and it was declined for $132.49. The card was loaded on 4/14/2011 with $500.00 and before that $1400.00 on 4/11/2011, so there was funds on the card. Additionally, I will be traveling in May and originally reserved some services in which I did not want and one of which the cruise cancelled itself that was credited back to the card. Around the same week I shopped at Burlington Coat Factory in which I used the card to receive credit from previous purchases and had it credited to the Walmart card because I use it so much. This happen on three occasions for $140.95, $7.88, and $19.97 all valid returns in which the store is willing to validate. These credits came in before the circuit city incident and the card was blocked on 4/15/2011 and has been blocked for the last 5 days in which I have no access to the $1138.51 that is on the card.

I was told the card was not designed to received credits and I would have to prove they were valid. I was told since the card was not used for the original transaction for Burlington Coat Factory in which I used cash and gift card I would need to fax the original receipt and the return receipt to Walmart. I did not have the return receipt because I never thought I would need it, so on 4/16/2011 I faxed the original receipts and the email cancellations for Royal Caribbean. Royal Caribbean was used for the original purchase of $854.00 and $230.00, when they refunded the money they refunded it in individual transactions.

Nevertheless after I faxed over the documents on 4/16/2011 I was under the impression the manager would remove the block immediately. Well I have called every day since then at least twice a day and I would told firs that the issue was being researched and it would take 1 business day which was Monday 4/18/2011. I called on 4/19/2011 and I was told someone would call me back when it was done but there is no estimated time. I was also told that they department conducting the research can only be reached through email there is no contact number for them and they are located in California.

Every representative that I have spoke with and it has been at least 10 claim there is no manager higher than a supervisor. When I spoke with a supervisor at least 9 of them they claim there is no one higher than them; one told me the claim was being researched and senior representatives are the only people that can unblock my card and they work from 9-5 PST.

Walmart is holding $1100 of my money without a valid reason. I am not trying to use money I don’t have, I want the money I placed on the card. I am writing for your assistance because I am getting nowhere with this issue and with a call center that is not located in the United States. No where in the card holder policy does it state I cannot receive credits and that the card will be blocked for doing so. Or the fact that it has taken 5 days to resolve an issue with a company that has no way on getting in contact with a department other than by email.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ho
      6th of Dec, 2017
    0 Votes

    They blocked my card too,
    I have set up my bill payment every month, and I can not check online my payment

  • Ti
      11th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Honglien phan https://cardsolutions.services

  • De
      15th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    I never reported my card lost or stolen.

  • De
      15th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    I never reported my card lost or stolen, this has been highly inconvenience to me, my check is stuck on this card.

  • Ch
      23rd of Jun, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Devlon Stinson My card is blocked due to "suspicious activity " they claim. My entire paycheck was direct deposit the day before they blocked it. I too was told to email copy if ID and wait 2 days. Did you ever get access to ur money or are u still waiting? What do i do?

  • Bo
      2nd of Mar, 2018
    0 Votes

    They block my card to I have been sending my information in for about three days now because it saying document is not acceptable, but when I send them the info it says approved.I need answer or my money that I put on the card.

  • Ja
      28th of Mar, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Bother I try to send in my information to get my card unblocked, www.walmartmoneycard.com / document upload, Then from there I still can't find the proper sight to submit my information and ID, what am I doing wrong, This has been one big headache!!

  • Ja
      28th of Mar, 2018
    0 Votes

    I had a security block put on my Walmart money card because someone fraudulently tried using my card information, I want to remove the block now so I can access my money, they tell me I have to go to www. Walmart Money Card /document upload, I do this but I still can't find the proper sight to submit my I'd and information, This has been one big headache!!!

  • Do
      9th of Apr, 2018
    +1 Votes

    I need my money for my bills and when someone take it then I suffer
    I

  • Ta
      24th of Jul, 2018
    0 Votes

    Call them, get your case id & email your copy of your id to them at idv@greendotcorp.com

  • Ra
      18th of Oct, 2018
    0 Votes

    My card has been blocked for no reason and they sent me a new card which i dont want and cant even activate. Is there any way i can send my money to another family members card or something. . ive tried uploading pictures of my id and it wont accept it... I need a number i can talk to someone as soon as i call not automated at all or a chat line asap please.

Post your comment