Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Bullying and Harassment at Work Walmart ethics policy violation. employee assault, harassment, personal injury during the assault, wrongful termination and civil rights violations

Walmart  -  ethics policy violation. employee assault, harassment, personal injury during the assault, wrongful termination and civil rights violations

F
Author of the complaint
4:20 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

September 22, 2008

To whom it may concern:

I was an employee at the walmart store located at 6210 annapolis road landover hills, md [protected]. As of september 20, 2008, i had been employed there for a total of fourteen and a half months.

The reason i am writing this letter is because i believe that the disrespectful behavior of staff toward employees and customers should be investigated. The store manager, emmanuel gilliam speaks to his staff in such a disrespectful way that shocked me to the core. I couldn’t believe it. As i searched the internet in an attempt to locate the walmart corporate information, i stumbled on many online reports of how walmart had treated some of their former managers, employees and customers. Much of that information can be found here: http: / / www. Complaintsboard.com / ?Search=walmart

Just recently i was terminated from walmart by manager, andrea lloyd just for asking a question during a meeting. After that i was assaulted by two employees right in front of her while she stood and did nothing. I have contacted the global ethics helpline at 1 - 800 - wm - ethic who are in the process of launching an investigation against her as well as the store for the following: ethics policy violation. Employee assault, harassment, personal injury during the assault, wrongful termination and civil rights violations. There are many other employees there who are afraid to speak up for themselves for fear of retaliation by miss lloyd as well as other higher ups.

I ask that you please let our surrounding communities know the type of mean spirited individuals who are disrespecting our children, sisters, mothers, brothers and fathers. Their claim is to help family and community, but they have done more harm than good. The only thing they've been doing is stealing money from the people in these communites. Former manager larry winick stole large sums of money from this same walmart store and was never prosecuted for his crime. Now every other local walmart store has received bonuses except for the one in landover hills. We don't know why because the employees are afraid to ask in fear of retaliation. I believe that enough is enough.

When it comes to walmart, customer service has now become a mythical entity.

Respectfully,

Frederick a. Murphy

ADVERTISIMENT

More Walmart complaints & reviews

Walmart - gift card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - Site to store misleading on actual delivery time
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - failure to fulfill obligation of agreement
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - falsely arrest
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
62 comments
Add a comment
J
Jun 22, 2022 4:58 pm

Delete all comment resolve

J
May 10, 2022 1:45 pm

Me and my Wal-Mart have made amend I opt out cause of covid -19 I thank you for all Wal-Mart done for me I couldn't risk knowing if I was infected or get infected I'm happy to say All who I know at my store safe and healthy dose my heart happy I wait for a call now 😁 I as all Wal-Mart associates and managers are around many customers I received my vaccine at Wal-Mart thank you 😁 I really like cap2 unloader I have a HR manager and a great market manager to thank as well I only want to work with out any boundaries if I need anything from Personnel manager may I have the opportunity to do so with out a manager who has no idea of what they are doing be great My Wal-Mart store 2059 Where I work government nor wish to I was mislead by information data about covid I must start fresh reboot that be oh right for Wal-Mart and my Wal-Mart not to blame thank you all & Gog bless you😁

J
Jul 29, 2020 3:30 pm

I was wrongful violated and fire by oh I was never fire And that.was there years ago by Greensburg Pa Wal-Mart I call ethics and they tell me to talk to management team at Greensburg Pa Wal-Mart and I have I call associates hot one I told the same thing .I have try many times .7/4/2017 I was Took to the office by Greg and Denise and The only thing I don't was just trying to get insurance coverage so I could get medicine for my thyroid.and I had a few days of jury duty witch told Greg co mangers about all .I thought bounce its been three years I could go to another Wal-Mart or Sam's club but I can't I can't get back on schedule at Greensburg Pa Wal-Mart .I been reasonable and peaceful I seen associates get their jobs back .being hostel and they make it a hostile environment for all I can't get no where rehire not right .and on the day I was fire a lawyer who lives by me witness this .I never want to get anyone in trouble or company I only wanted my cap2 job back my life got ruin by Greensburg Pa Wal-Mart😪😭

M
Jul 18, 2018 9:17 pm

I was off on a wrist injury (not work related) the doctor gave me restrictions. Walmart said they couldn't accomodate me in any position ( yet Greeting and Zoning, returns were available) I was off for two months fighting like crazy for my assembler job back. Then the boss calls one day as if nothing was wrong he says " Hey. we need to get you back on the schedule, can you come in tomorrow as a people greeter? I came in and did a wonderful job, had customers tell me how nice I was, even prevented a 37 dollar theft. A week of coming back and they end up firing me for an ethics violation that happened while I was off. All based on hear say and some anonymous caller phoning Global Ethics. They made up a story that I talked about the "demons of Walmart. " I haven't used the word demon but maybe 3 times in my entire life. A lawyer told me months back " We know there's a lot of corruption going on there. You aren't the first person to come to us. Unfortunately they've been at this a long time and know how to work things" What got me fired? Too much favoritism and me complaing to the HR manager through the open door. How this for an ethics violation? A bully wanted to bet me, so I bet him a candy bar for 75 cents. I asked for the money and he came over and stuck his fist in my face and said " you'll get it when you get it, or you'll get this. " Someone turned him in. So the store manager tells me the next day " I talked with him and he gave me his word he won't bother you. I told him to stay away from you." The very day he told me that, the bully wasn't scheduled to work that day, but I saw him racing towards the time clock. I went to Subway and while ordering he comes up and cups his hand over my ear and says " when you're not expecting it, I'm gonna F (other word) you up." I called the police. The guy never got in trouble. I worked for a boss that I believe instead of being serious, laughed and said " I don't care if you kill the guy, just don't do it on company time or property." Every single manager in that store had no conscience or cared what they said or lied about people. I was warned about management when I started. I wrote over 30 emails to HR and they never did me a bit of good. Walmart needs to re examine how they treat their employees. Once I ate two mini muffins in the break room with no ones name and they were dried out. I got called the office on a theft complaint. If you want to work for Walmart as a manager etc, you must do as you're told, even if it means selling your soul to the devil. Very sad Global didn't care about right or wrong.

M
Jul 28, 2015 5:26 pm

I must say, I'm pretty disillusioned with Walmart. I started with Walmart in July of 2014 here in Oregon. What I have learned from interaction with some select co-workers as well as some seasoned store managers and new "Power Hungry" managers is that the mentality, respect toward other co-workers and, customers is very substandard. In my opinion, That's a sad commentary. Prior to even consider to working for Walmart I had been advised not to work for and or shop there. I also had read many articles on the internet as well as hearing from our local news some of the "Ongoing Issues of poor treatment to both customers and employees but, I figured I would give them a shot and find out for myself. Well folks here I am, in line with many others who I now share the same consensus with. To start with, I was injured on the job and that's when I really started noticing how a select few co-workers started treating me. I would love to mention names as well as dates but, I feel that Retaliation towards me would be pretty inevitable. I actually tried to utilize the "OPEN DOOR POLICY" for associates to use but, to no aval.. I spent 30 minutes on hold and then decided to hang up and try again. On the second try, I spoke with the switchboard operator who wanted to know what store I was working for as well as trying to get info from me so that she could warn that store that I was trying to make a formal complaint .

Enough stated,
M.

D

never been in a store that was so poorly stock in meat dept-can goods -never anyone to help find what you need-ask a employee they dont know are its not there station .carts all over parking lot.

S
Jul 15, 2014 5:35 pm

Bought a box of great value brand spiral and mac and cheese. Opened box and poured noodles into boiling water. Noodles looked really strange. The inside bottom of box was completely hairy with grey black furry mold. I vomited at the sight. Need imput. Is a nicefat giftcard in my future?

W
May 27, 2014 5:24 pm

A few days ago i bought Modeling clay for my science project for school and then when i opened it up, the clay smelled like sunscreen and is RUBBER! I wasted $5 in WALMART to buy modeling clay. Walmart is the cheapest store to buy supplies for school.

One of the 200 watt jcd hallogen gy8.0 base 7011W does not work. Need it now. Please send for my safety.

S
May 05, 2012 1:25 am

I clicked on the site indicating I'd won a $1.000 gift card, filled out most of the information before realizing that this was a scam!

G
Feb 09, 2012 5:38 pm

Ordered a Wheelbarrow from Wal-Mart online. Product was delivered with parts missing.Notified Wal-Mart store and sent THREE E-Mails to Wal-Mart.com.Never received a response.I buy many items from Wal-Mart but when I need their help I am ignored! With no profit involved they could not care less!

R
Nov 26, 2011 9:57 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Walmart is charging veterans who subscribe to Tricare for Life $5 for each $4 prescription because "Tricare's copay went up."

J
Nov 25, 2011 7:46 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I needed to print report off of my computer and printer wouldn't print went to walmart and bought a Kodak, this was 11-23-11 it is 11-25-11 and they just told me that they would not honor the sale price and reimburse me. This is why walmart is so big they rip the little people off

A
Jul 01, 2011 1:12 pm

I went in to Walmart to cash my payroll check and it came up declined, when I called this company they said it was because this was an unusual amout, that I had tried to cash, but I had cashed checks there for a larger amount without any problems.

D

I have purchased two shirts. they are light colors and you can see the stamped label right through the material. Can't wear the shirts this way.

sunbeam digital microwave 0.7 cubic ft. this product has been advertized several times. it is not there tht day before nor the entire week of sale, at any of the surrounding stores. i am tired of looking, need that oven sent to me for the same sale price. thanks carolyn faulkner

A
Sep 21, 2010 9:31 am

I bought a Sony tv and a Vizio TV and a WII nintendo there and all had to be returned! the Vizio went out in less than 3 months.. The Sony had a HORRIBLE Picture and Wii lasted around 5 months and they wouldnt take it back with a receipt and wouldnt honor their warranty.. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING ELECTRONIC From them!

M
Jul 23, 2010 1:12 pm

site store sucks. you wont get your order till 2 weeks. i just ordered an ipod 4 weeks ago, and i still didn't recieve it

E
Jul 14, 2010 4:35 pm

Straight talk tech advises that I can longer upload photos from phone to computer even though I was able to before. When calling for support I get the run around and must continue calling and speaking to very polite no-help providing foreign "clones"?

G
Jul 01, 2010 9:53 am

Over 5 weeks ago I was suppose to receive a $25 visa gift card for trying my deal max. I have yet to receive the gift card. I hope I haven't been charged for this service, It was a 30 day trial period, which has passed, and I do not want to be charged. I guess this was another scam

Gladys Horr

M
Jun 17, 2010 12:45 pm

HIRE PEOPLE THAT SPEAK ENGLISH!

I SHOULDT HAVE TO SPEAK SPANISH TO FIND WHERE SOMETHING IS. THIS AMERICA SPEAK FEN ENGLISH.

YOU WANT TO WORK? LEARN MY LANGUAGE I SHOULDNT HAVE TO LEARN YOURS. DONT LIKE IT GO TO ARIZONA I HEAR THAT THEY KNOW WHAT TO DO.

J

to many people everybody using self check out because not enough cashiers.it has a terrible odor in the store from the subway shop

B
Nov 17, 2009 12:12 pm

No mention of charges was offered before I was asked to click a submit button. Then I was told to canvcel or pay a monthly charge.

I am 88 years old on a limited income and do not want to order anything.

M
Nov 16, 2009 8:33 pm

On 11/16/09 i purchased a cold drink that was all, The young man that ran my card through actually ran it through for 227.29 and again for18.99, he said oh i fixed it, no he did not.I want this back on my card today.the actuall amount was only 2.29 for a drink ;call me at [protected] asap I cant afford to lose 265.00

supposed to recieve vouchers for walmart we have done everything requested for 3 months and have yet to recieve one we got it at tri city nissan for $500.00 we are sending our receipts from walmart are we being scammed

i bought prepaid visa card and activate it, all was well until i put my check on it for the second time, i got rejected i don't know why, but now i hate it i am not buying another prepaid card again

C
Aug 31, 2008 2:11 pm

When you cash your check at walmart... and add money to your card... there is not supposed to be a charge... the last 4 times i loaded my card they charged almost 5$... and there is no way to talk to these people... to get your money back.

H
Jul 13, 2008 10:11 am

I was told I would get a $2500 gift card if i filled our a survey. Turns out it took me forever. I never got anything.

J
Jun 20, 2008 4:03 am

A lot of places will not take this card... Do not waste your money... then if you need to talk to them, no way unless you pay $2.00 each time... Whats this about? Is this the same Walmart that has great prices and services everyone in the world? Whatever... Just don't waste your time or money...

C
May 19, 2015 5:18 pm

That's how the signal mtn road walmart does they treat there workers and cosumers like crap i even been thright by one of the bossthat is over another apart ment she ask me if i had a problem with her i said no she laught andsaid well if u did i was fixing to say we can go out side and sovle it i told josh and he said he told her that was wrong but she done that to to many people and get by with it plus i had a lot more going on there every time i turn around I'm in the office because i was out of work because my kids sick or noise bleeds or them in the hostipal or doctor or school stuff or me in the hostipal or doctor or death in the family or court or some thing. Like that I'm on the edge of nerves break down what shouldi do i can't sleep at night

B
Dec 14, 2014 11:28 am

To Whom It May Concern:
I'm reporting that new store manager in Opelousas store 543 is harassing a TLE associate tech and threatened him to go to another store so his wife could go meet her in Opelousas store the store manager and his wife is very close the tech and his wife is still married but they are not together in order for her to transfer there he would have to go and he told them no he want to stay in Opelousas but they keep threatened and harassing him she stay back in TLE he feels uncomfortable and he feels threaten and he is scared she will terminate him everybody in store is talking about him and he is a very good worker what should he do

R
Dec 10, 2014 3:36 pm

I am currently going through a situation similar to this. I am a csm who was harrassed and threatened by another csm and she took a swing at me all in front of my supervisor. Not to mention she threatened me prior to that in front of an assistant manager and on top of that called her sisters to the job to try to intimidate me as well. This happened 5 days ago and they said I could be terminated too. I asked why. The other csm cursed me and disturbed the entire front end. Should I have to be subject to that because she has been at the store longer than me. Why is she not being terminated? I love my job at walmart but I know that they might be trying to get rid of me.

G
Dec 22, 2013 12:44 am

My sister was terminated from walmart in ocean springs, ms tonight because they said she took a long break. First they acussed her for cashing a check and giving it back to the customer but wouldn't show her the footage on the camera where they supposedly seen her do it. .. they where always watching her and harassing her like she did something wrong. She has even got employee of the month and a raise but she is supposedly doing something wrong.. im pissed because im so fed up with all the stuff they have gotten away with. And on top of that she gets fired a few days before christmas...

E
Dec 14, 2013 11:38 pm

I had gotten injured at home, I had seen the doctor and had been placed on light duty. So I went to work to give them my doctors note and was told that I couldn't work my work schedule because light duty is only for work related injuries. What kind of bs is that? Walmart says that they take care of their associates and this is not taking care of their associates. I'm shy of being eligible for LOA by a couple of months. How am I supposed to pay my bills when THEY say I can't work?

N
Aug 23, 2013 8:09 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I hope you filed an accident report and asked for medical attention. I work in HR and a Workers Comp claim should have been done on you and you should have had all your medical expenses paid. Whoever the assisiant manager was at the time of your accident did not know what they were doing or they just didn't want to take the time to file out the reports. If nothing was done about this accident you just saved that store at $50, 000.00 off the bottom line for that month.

A
Mar 13, 2013 9:14 pm

i am wonding what the policies are on safey issues for wal mart, I fell and broke my ankle and am being told i was clumsy, it was raining and the mat on side door where the Coke machines are was soaking wet, i sliped. I filed a report with management and was told i couldnt have a copy of report. I had surgery on my ankle because it bother me so much.

G
Nov 29, 2012 3:25 am

job or kids?

G
Nov 29, 2012 3:24 am

are all the walmart the same, i work for a walmart in california, The management there is terrible, i talked to my manager about a hardshipp i was going through so she can help me or i was going too block my hours, she says we all have problems but we leave them at home!i have been calling out alot lately due to childcare and my car catching fire, they really just dont care, i need my job and if i lose it i will not get unemployement, All i needed was a few weeks too fix my situation and she wouldnt budge, Another thing about that place, all the gossiping among managers and favorites, so unprofessional.Should i call corporate and do they even care?

I just bought it today for protection against vandalism and houseinvasion. Imagine my chagrin when the left light bulb is totally dead; does not work at all in either side. Can you please replace asap? Thank you. Here I thought buying Brinks was a safe bet for perfection Darn.

P
Oct 20, 2012 2:57 pm

Nothing will maintain Wal-Mart job security more than letting management know, "You Will Get Even", for wrongful treatment. Sooner or later, you'll meet again.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

2173 complaints
738 resolved 1435 unresolved

Walmart contacts

(added by reviewer)
850 Cherry Avenue, Florida United States
ADVERTISIMENT