Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Wendy’s

Wendy’s review: changed the formula?? 46

R
Author of the review
3:44 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have been a Frosty fan of Wendy's for years and now I find that the Frosty is no longer of quality that I have enjoyed in that time. It simply does not taste anymore like the Frosty that I was accustomed to. I'm very disappointed and I will no longer patronize Wendy's, which was the only fast-food restaurant I ever went to.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

46 comments
Add a comment
F
F
Farkwar Calogero Lehmongelo
, US
Oct 16, 2023 1:14 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Frostys are gone... Wendys now has chocolate shakes from jack in the box.

M
M
Matt Bx
, US
Jul 16, 2023 12:15 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How is this resolved?! It still tastes like a water slushy with chocolate sprinkled in it ... What was the resolution? Was the resolution that Wendy's admitted, "yup, we changed the formula so that the once awesome frosty tastes like crap now... So sue us."

K
K
Krystal Rose
, US
Apr 15, 2023 4:40 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It made my throat close up. And I started coughing like crazy what the heck did they put it I’ve never been that allergic to any food.

C
C
CCwwKK
, US
Dec 10, 2022 5:25 pm EST

Wendy’s will go bankrupt if they do not bring back the original frosty flavour. I’ve talked to many people who are disappointed about this as it’s the only thing many people buy there.

I guess they’re not interested in selling a $3 ice cream when they could sell a $10 burger that’s half the size it used to be. Terrible business decision Wendy’s…

V
V
Vicki Hall
, US
Aug 25, 2022 5:39 pm EDT

My first clue that something was off was that my frosty was way too sweet and tasted like it had an artificial sweetener (maybe like aspartame) in it, which has always given me headaches. Then it melted faster than anything. I love my frosty, but this wasn’t the real thing. Why change the recipe that you know everybody loves? The frosty is the only reason I go to Wendy’s and it looks like you’ve taken that reason away. I’m not a happy customer.

C
C
CCwwKK
, US
Dec 10, 2022 5:16 pm EST
Replying to comment of Vicki Hall

Us too, we went to Wendy’s last night for chocolate frosties and were very disappointed. The creamy soft serve has been replaced with a frozen chocolate milk like substance with sugar added, it was disgusting.

It was frozen around the outside but still liquid in the middle, “like a chocolate slurpee” he said after spending a couple minutes stirring it around in the plastic cup.

I had one spoonful and threw it in the garbage. We will NEVER go to Wendy’s again.

O
O
Orgone Accumulator
, US
Jul 25, 2022 2:54 am EDT

Absolutely disgusting. Bought myself a chocolate Frosty and a strawberry one for my boyfriend. I knew the instant they handed to me that something was off because they were light as air. The original frosty was at least as heavy as a regular milkshake. I drove home and put them in the freezer because they seemed melty. But when we tried them like an hour later, they were like all foam. It was the weirdest thing. It was like someone ran a slightly chocolatey mix through an Icee machine. Just super weird looking and tasting. I agree with some of the other posters who also questioned if it even has dairy in it anymore. Both of ours tasted sour and left a weird mouthfeel. Neither of us could finish ours. Just totally grossed out by this frankenfood! Get it together Wendy’s! The frosty is a beloved treat and this is crapping all over its legacy.

K
K
Kal Trail
, US
Aug 11, 2022 1:02 am EDT

They are definitely off. What's really got me annoyed is that they won't admit that it has changed. They are acting like you are out of your mind when you ask them why they changed it. It's insulting that Wendy's think we are all sheep and too dumb to notice the difference in a product that we have been eating since we were little kids. Their fries changed after Dave Thomas died, the fries with the skins on them are horrible compared to what they had before that. I almost stopped eating there because of that. Then they tried forcing those disgusting angus burgers on us...so I stopped eating there for a couple of years until I found out that they went back to their original recipe. They never changed the fries back though. Now they have changed their Frosty's. It tastes nothing like a Frosty. So now I have refused to eat there again. Now I am at the point, because of what they did to Frostys, that I will not be eating there ever again until they take everything back to the way it was when Dave was alive. Even their buns are disgusting now, filled full of air. If you ask for the original buns, they give you the Junior buns, which are too small for the burger. They tried telling me it's the same as the original, so I looked at pictures online of the burgers they had in the early 90's, huge difference, so they bold faced lied to me. So until EVERYTHING goes back to the way it was, I will never again eat at Wendy's. Even if I grow old and die first. I am so sick of all these businesses changing crap and passing it along to us like we just won't notice the difference. They pulled the same crap with Honey Nut Cheerios. Tastes nothing like it did in the 80's.

K
K
Kal Trail
, US
Jul 16, 2022 8:18 pm EDT

I like how it says this has been resolved...lol, yeah right. This is NOT resolved.

K
K
Kal Trail
, US
Jul 16, 2022 8:17 pm EDT

First it was their fries, now the skins are left on and taste horrible, like it was covered in dust before they cooked them. Their fries used to be the best of all fast food burger joints, now, they are sub par. And now with the Frosty. That is NOT a Fristy, I don't care what they want to call that thing but it is far from a Frosty. Wendy's has went way downhill since the death of Dave Thomas. Their burger buns are even horrible now. The original bun is smaller, and the new buns they use are just filled full of air. And now you have to request the original pickles because now they put bread and butter pickles on it. Oh, and remember the Angus burgers they tries forcing on us? YUK! They need to stick to the original recipes, I am through eating there until they do. That Frosty ingredients change was the last straw for me. Oh, did you notice you are paying more for that slop and getting a LOT less with their new plastic cups? Yeah, for sure not worth almost 5 bucks for their large, which their large now is the size of a small when I was a kid. Wendy's either needs to revert everything back to the way it was when Dave was still alive, or just go out of business.

E
E
Elliott56
chilliothe, US
May 29, 2022 6:55 pm EDT

I bought two Frosty's thru the drivethru today and one was 3/4 and the other one was a little half full of thick foam. I drove around to the front door and took them back in and the attempted to fill the lowest one up and sorry about that, The flavor is terrible compared to the last one I had. If this is the best you can do, I am done with Wendy's,

PS I wouldn't admit changing the ingredients either.

Ed Elliott

M
M
Michael Browne
, US
May 15, 2022 2:01 am EDT

They should change the name to a Chocolate Nasty.

B
B
Betsy Kelley
, US
Apr 09, 2022 8:59 pm EDT

What was the resolution? We agree! They are terrible now! They are like drinking foam! Nasty!

R
R
Rick99
Los Angeles, US
Mar 06, 2022 12:44 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

What was the resolution ?

Because I agree. They changed something because the frosty I last had felt like it was pumped with air - it didn’t weigh as much as before … and it tasted terrible. We’re at a Wendy’s right now and I refused to let them order me anything.

D
D
Dawn Heidenhines
, US
Mar 20, 2022 10:12 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Rick99

I'm 67 and have been going to Wendy's since 1976 in Chicago. I just had a Frosty here in Fort Smith where I've moved to, and it was absolutely flavorless, totally uncreamy, and more like crushed ice. If that's what it's going to stay...I'm done. 🤮

View 0 more photos
R
R
Robert Kerslake
, US
Dec 21, 2021 6:36 pm EST

Tastes Like a Melted Fudgecicle! Terrible! Nasty! I Won't Be Back! Also My Wendy's NEVER Have CHILI EVER! WHY? It's on the MENU! So WHY Don't They EVER have Chili?

D
D
Disappointed in Wendy's
olympia, US
May 28, 2021 6:21 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just got a frosty... I love frostys... I haven't had one in such a long time and what a disappointment! I will no longer be getting frostys - it's like watery chocolate ice! where's the cream! so sad...

B
B
Beth Valkenburg
, US
May 25, 2021 12:13 pm EDT

Agreed the Frosty tastes different. I thought it tasted sour. Sure doesn't taste like chocolate anymore. Sadness...

C
C
Carolyn Pierce
, US
May 03, 2021 10:48 pm EDT

We noticed they didn't taste the same, but we thought it might have been a mistake. But! We bought them again and they tasted the same way, taste like 'nothing '. So I looked to see if Wendy's did change them and I see here they did and there's a whole lot of unhappy customers. Including us, sadly no more Frostys for us. Bring back the original Frosty! Why did you change them?!

D
D
Debbie Wickersham
, US
Jan 06, 2022 9:31 am EST

PROFIT

R
R
RusselmerS
Arvada, US
May 22, 2022 12:34 pm EDT

Logical response, and a typical reason for diminished quality. But it does not explain why decreasing quality is preferred over a simple increase in price so as to maintain an obviously preferred product by every rational consumer. I cant help but think there is something else, like supply availability, environment, or other. By not sharing a truthful answer to the consumer there can be no lessons learned that would help to drive research toward a sustainable solution that would result in maintaining the preferred quality.

M
M
Mary Dufresne
Terrytown, US
Feb 09, 2023 5:46 pm EST

They don't care about us older customers anymore

to busy grooming the new younger customers that did not know when they were better !

S
S
S. Sabbat
, US
Apr 19, 2021 8:11 pm EDT

I thought it was just me or the frosty was spoiled. I bought three of them a d tossed them. They taste horrible. It had an awful after taste that coated my mouth. I complained to the location and corporate office. Disgusting!

G
G
George Deshaies
, US
Jun 25, 2021 1:05 pm EDT
Replying to comment of S. Sabbat

I wholeheartedly agree

C
C
Copper James
, US
Dec 17, 2020 9:58 pm EST

I buy Frostys to keep in the freezer because I don't care for creamy ice cream. I've been complaining to anyone that'll listen that they are now creamy without the delightful little ice crystals I love so much. I am joining the ranks of unhappy customers and won't buy any more unless they go back to the old "recipe." I'm so glad I found this thread!

A
A
AMets
Fortville, Indiana, US
Mar 04, 2021 4:12 pm EST

I agree! I noticed a difference and thought it might have just been the location or a bad day until I tried it a second time. It has NO FLAVOR EXCEPT SUGAR. I won’t get again either. So disappointing! They should have renamed it because it isn’t a Frosty.

T
T
TCurrid
, US
Jul 19, 2021 7:03 pm EDT

This!

R
R
Renee Gauthier
, US
Nov 19, 2020 8:56 pm EST

There used to be tiny dots of chocolate you could see in it. Maybe cocoa. It just tastes like vanilla now.

P
P
Peggy Montgomery Senn
, US
Nov 09, 2020 1:42 pm EST

Hey Wendys - remember the "new" Coke? That didn't work out so well for them. Why would change the flavor of the Frosty? Everyone loves Frostys! Or at least we did. PLEASE change it back. The new taste is not good. I'm not buying another until I hear that they're changed back. I'll keep checking on line.

S
S
Sarah Ghanjati
, US
Oct 07, 2020 1:03 pm EDT

I just got one for the first time in over a year, just last night. Horrible! Never getting one again, it was like foam with no dairy in it!

G
G
gavdg
, US
Feb 10, 2020 2:59 pm EST

I purchased one today - been over a year since I had one last. and, noticed something different, nothing creamy about it. so I went to web to see if there has possibly been a change. and, found all these posts! :( SO sad! Wendy's is one of "very few" fast foods I go to. and, the frosty is one reason why I would stop in. big bummer!

N
N
Neè
, US
Nov 25, 2019 8:37 pm EST

It’s just nasty.

A
A
Aeryn Sun
, US
Nov 23, 2019 3:09 pm EST

It tastes like they took out all the dairy. It's just chocolate flavored ice water. Awful.

A
A
0000000000000000000000000
, US
Nov 12, 2019 8:00 pm EST

I always had the vanilla frosty, so I didn't notice the change in the chocolate frosty, but I noticed it one day when I thought it tasted like a root beer float. 🤮 I asked my mom to taste it and she thought it tasted off, too. Pretty disappointing, but we can't do anything about it. 🤷

P
P
puzzlenutty
, US
Sep 28, 2019 11:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It isn't just the taste, but the texture. They used to taste like real creamy ice cream. Now it is like they
filled them full of air, like eating mouse instead of pudding difference.

S
S
SueNLasVegas
, US
Jun 29, 2019 3:12 pm EDT

Went to purchase a frosty for me and the wife as a treat. Tastes like soured milk. No reason to ever try again, terrible!

R
R
Rosalie Sullivan
, US
Jun 13, 2019 8:22 pm EDT

Tonight I ordered a chocolate frosty. It tasted weird, has a somewhat sour taste. I called & brought it back to get a different. It doesn't taste like it use to. Haven't had a chocolate frosty in awhile. Was very disappointed that it didn't taste like it use to. I was beginning to think it was me until I googled about it & found this complaint board! I eent to Wendy's instead of a different restaurant because I had a taste for a chocolate frosty. Had I known that the chocolate frosty isn't the same, I would've gone to the other restaurant. 😩

C
C
Cheryl Taylor
, US
Nov 20, 2018 1:04 pm EST

I agree!I have been a Frost Fan from the beginning. I sent back the Frosty the other day because I thought something was wrong with the machine or something. So I got vanilla. I thought it was a little better until I let it sit a few minutes. It was so foamy! Oh no i couldn't finish it!

M
M
MsBz
, US
Aug 06, 2018 12:34 am EDT

So disappointing. I thought this was just me. It's the only chocolate shake I liked and the only thing I'd go to Wendy's for. I'm a pastry chef and pretty picky about anything sweet. This was only fast food dessert I liked. I really liked the old recipe; was a real guilty pleasure. The new recipe is awful. Wendy's, you screwed with a good thing. Terrible. You just lost a customer. And, I'm spreading the word. What a bummer.

A
A
Allison Thompson
, US
Aug 05, 2018 11:01 pm EDT

I am also disappointed in the frosty I had today! Less real chocolate flavor, more artificial 'creamy' taste.

S
S
Sammie3359
, US
Jun 11, 2018 6:35 pm EDT

As my husband and I sit at our local Wendy's eating Frosty we were commenting that these are not the frosty of our memories.
Probably won't be eating until we hear that they are back to the original formula

C
C
Chris Mooo
, US
May 25, 2018 5:41 pm EDT

Add me to the list of people that noticed the change in the frostys' flavor. I will not buy another one.

J
J
Jays12
, US
Jan 05, 2018 8:39 pm EST

Had a chocolate frosty from Wendy's tonight and couldn't finish it. The new formula tastes fake. I even had a tough time trying to get it to melt down the sink. Bring back the old formula Wendys.

A
A
Aimee Fieber
, US
Nov 08, 2017 10:58 pm EST

Same. Haven't had it in a while. Now it's gross. Lame.

M
M
Mattie Tyson
, US
Jun 12, 2017 1:59 pm EDT

I agree! I did change from what it used to be. I can no longer eat it, it makes me sick!

R
R
Renee Gauthier
, US
Nov 19, 2020 8:54 pm EST

There used to be tiny dots of chocolate you could see. No more. Now it's blah.

  1. Wendy’s Contacts

  2. Wendy’s phone numbers
    +1 (888) 624-8140
    +1 (888) 624-8140
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (888) 624-8140 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (888) 624-8140 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (888) 624-8140 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (888) 624-8140 phone number
    Customer Care
    +1 (614) 764-8478
    +1 (614) 764-8478
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-8478 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-8478 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-8478 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-8478 phone number
    +1 (614) 764-3044
    +1 (614) 764-3044
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3044 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3044 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3044 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3044 phone number
    +1 (614) 764-3368
    +1 (614) 764-3368
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3368 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3368 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3368 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3368 phone number
    Media Contact
    +1 (614) 764-3300
    +1 (614) 764-3300
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3300 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3300 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3300 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3300 phone number
    +1 (614) 764-3327
    +1 (614) 764-3327
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3327 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3327 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3327 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3327 phone number
    Animal Control
    +1 (614) 764-3311
    +1 (614) 764-3311
    Click up if you have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3311 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3311 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3311 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Wendy’s by calling +1 (614) 764-3311 phone number
    Vice President Investor Relations
    More phone numbers
  3. Wendy’s emails
  4. Wendy’s address
    1 Dave Thomas Blvd, Dublin, Ohio, 43017, United States
  5. Wendy’s social media
  6. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
Wendy’s Category
Wendy’s is ranked 8 among 60 companies in the Fast Food Chains category