The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walmartcredit card

A Review updated:

Beware walmart credit card users...
I received a walmart charge card that had no interest added for 12 months. I paid that amount off early and made other charges. At the end of the 12 months they charged me approx. 150.00 saying that I didn't pay all the initial charges. Get this-when I called walmart credit card they told me that if all the subsequent charges were not paid off in the 12 months, the accrued finance amount is charged. They also told me that when payments were made, I had to call to tell them to apply to the non-interest amount — if not, the payments are applied to new charges first. That is ridiculous and just greedy. I was never informed of this practice. All my purchases were made online, so when the rep said that they should have told me in the store at time of purchase, I knew that she (The company) was aware of this deceit already.
I got that amount taken off, but I am sure this has happened to others.
Shame on walmart... They make so much money and still they cheat the very customers that give them the money.
... This should be a class action suit

Responses

  • Re
    Reid2505 Mar 11, 2019

    Never been late, paid more than the minimum, never missed a payment, paid off balance and they reduced credit limit from 1200 to 100.00 dinged the crap out of credit.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    D D Robb Apr 20, 2018

    The Walmart Credit card has been a nightmare, They are charging huge interest fees each month on Purchases I never made. I am a very honest person and pay off my account every month. When I discovered an item on it that I never purchased I called and told them and ask them to please close my account with them. Now I am receiving an amount they say I owe two months later with absorbents interest rates and have contacted them but they continue to harass me. Do not get a Walmart Credit Card. I plan to pursue this fraud D Robb posted 4/20/2018

    0 Votes
  • Vy
    Vy Eddleman Feb 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a FOOL and accepted the WalMart credit card that was sent to me. I got so fustrated I cut the thing up and threw it away. Several times I was charged a late fee and had to call in to the 1-877 number a few times and talked to different represtatives to change me due date to the 15th of the month. I was on SSI Disability and did NOT get my check until the 3rd of the month. Then I used one of my brother's check to make a monthly payment because my checks had not come into the mail. I sent a small posty note stating this was to go to my WalMart Credit Card and my account number was in the memo part of the check. Whomever posted it applied it to my brother's WalMart card instead of mine. Again, I was charged a late fee because they did not receive my payment. When my brother got his statement he asked me how much I pay on my walmart card. $50.00 they had credited to my brother's account. With his permission I made a copy and sent it to the Atlanta, GA address. Finally a WalMart associate contacted me and he said he'd straighten the issue out and waive the late fee. Didn't happen. They still said I owed them $64.00 . In January I asked them to send me a monthly bill because my WalMart store wouldn't accept the monthly bill because there was no barcode on it to process it since I no longer have my WalMart card. I called again on February 7 saying I still have NOT received my monthly bill. She said she would send me one. On Feb 14th I tried to make a payment on line through my checking account. It did not got through. The 15th I had to make another call. I suffer from Anxiety attacks and on medication for it. Having to deal with the animation when placing a call then the constant run around is NOT worth it. I had a hard time understanding the girl she didn't speak very good English and she said she would make a note that I had not received my monthly bill and would not charge me a late fee. NEVER EVER will I recommend this credit card to anyone. My brother also said when he pays his off he isn't renewing it either. My daughter wanted to get one and I told her do NOT get it, they charge her interest fee on the balance owed on your card and if you only pay the minimum balance it'll take several years to pay it off.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pennysworth Aug 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Walmart credit cards cheats believe it or not I paid off balance early on one card, the next month the charged interest on 0 balance, on my second card purchase for one item over $ 1000, I paid $500 first payment next month got charged interest, do not buy at Walmart with their credit master cards on sales, or interest free, they steal from you, and you save no money I, paid tore my cards end of story, but short of money stay away from crooked places like these and Master card a bunch of crooks just feel sorry for people that pay the minimum amount they are being eaten alive at 17.99 % interest

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pennysworth Aug 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Walmart credit cards cheats believe it or not paid off balance early the next month the charged interest on 0 balance on my second card purchase over $ 1000 paid $500 first payment next month got charged interest, do not buy at Walmart with their credit master cards on sales or so they say interest free they steal from you prod and save no money, paid tore my cards end of story but short of money stay away from crooked places

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peggy S Patten Aug 09, 2017

    I noticed on my credit report I had a Walmart card. I called them they had recently mailed one to my old address when I called them and told them I moved and hadn't received it I explained I had put a address change in with the post office they said no big deal. The mail transferred it to my new address, I called to activate it and now its like I'm committing a crime their fraud department wants me to send all kinds of bills and photo ids . Why because I called them and said I moved and the mail should transfer it to me. Well Walmart you can keep the card. I refuse to be punished for doing the right thing your company is not to big to fail.

    1 Votes
  • DLDeGroff Nov 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a rather common practice by credit card companies. Devil is in the details or The FINE print. My Firestone Card has a similar 18 month interest-free offer. So, I got 4 tires. A $30 oil change brought all that accumulated interest onto a monthly billing. My concern is all of the different Card Companies offering a WalMart "branded" Credit Card, but you still deal with that company rather than WalMart.. I got an offer from Synchrony Bank of Orlando FL in the mail this month. It offers 6 to 24 month "Special Financing" too ;(

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cinderb Apr 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also agree that Walmart is operating close to the wrong side of the law if not there already. I have two interest rates on my card and any money paid is to go against the higher interest rate by federal law. I am not using the card, making more that the minimum payment and my higher rate balance is going up every month. When I called them they stated that this is happening all the time and it has something to do with their new computer system. I now have to call every month to make sure the payment is applied correctly. I wonder how many other people this is happening to and just hasn't been noticed yet.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.