The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walgreensemployee relations

A

My Husband and I both worked for Walgreens at different locations. They say they are a family oriented buisness. This is not true. My husband was staying at home with our kids and he called in because my youngest son was sick. Instead of them telling him they understand and take care of him they told him he better come into work now or they would repremand him. Considering that I was already at work for the day this put us in a sticky situation. State law will not allow any sick children in their daycare facilities.

Another thing we were moving and he told them the days off he would need, which was just a weekend, a month in advance. When the time came and the schedule was out he was scheduled to work. When he confronted the manager of the store about this she stated that there was nothing she could do about this. So he proceeded to ask another manager if he could switch with him and he said Sorry I can't I have strict orders to not let anyone work for you. Needless to say this was very discriminitive and he ended up quitting the job.

I on the other hand stayed at work. I ran into a lot of problems with the managment and employees there at my job site. For instance my children were in daycare and they got sick often. Maybe Once a month. After a couple months of me staying at home and missing 1 day a month I was told that if my kids were sick again I better find someone to take care of them or they would terminate me. Which scared me because of the way the job economy has been. So I tried real hard to get to work all the time even if that meant bringing my kids to daycare sick.

The store manager where I worked was very two faced she let regular employees bad mouth and bash other employees in the office and say what ever they wanted. This is bad taste. they never put a stop to this and I am sure that employee and her are still doing this to this day.

I ran into a confrontation with another employee who always discriminated against me. For about 5 to 6 months I put up with the put downs. I put up with walking right into work and being told to do this and do that before I even got a chance to put my stuff down. I was always real nice and never made any comments or told anyone till it got to the point were I could not take it anymore. It was not until other people started realizing what was going on and told the management of her behavior that they finally transfered her to another location but I am sure she is still doing this to someone else she decided to bully around.

I was always asking for help and I was continously ignored. I felt like they just did not have the time to teach something that they should have took the time to do. I ran into a confrontation with another empolyee who was walking all over me and I finally said something and did something about it and she ended up yelling at me and swearing in front of customers and then grabbed all her stuff and left. I was the one in the end who got repremanded for her behavior and got a final warning which was only my first write up ever. The managment went on and on and pointed the finger at me how this was my fault and I should have shut up and dealt with it. this employee is also the favorite and is the one that bad mouths all the employees. I just feel like they are one sided and do not give the right ear to listen to both sides of the story. They should that is their job. After being bullied by the managment about this situation I finally decided that I could not mentally handle working for them anymore and put in my 2 weeks. But that week when I was there noone talked to me not even managment and I felt like an outcast so I walked off the job. Which is wrong but it was horrible I felt horrible. I will never ever go back. Even though I know they would not hire me for what I did! But they are to blame!

I do not recommend anyone working here and would never refer anyone in the worst time of need to either. They are the worst company to work for ever!

Responses

  • Cc
    ccandtt Oct 06, 2017

    I always review my time card for approval at end of pay period, but lately I have noticed that the hours I worked are not the same as the hours that were submitted. I am short of at least 30-45 minutes. Not sure why store manager is doing this . If I was scheduled for 32.25 hours and I worked 33, .50, that extra time is deducted so that whatever hours i was scheduled is what i get paid for, even though I was working, whether my relief was late or other circumstances. This has happened several times and not sure if its just me or other employees have this same issue, and I havent said anything for fear of it just being me singled out. Not quite sure how to handle this but will someone please check district 717 and review time cards .

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drema Ekin May 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    called customer service about bill'people were rude and did not listen to why i was upset cut me off;;will not use this drugstore again

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drema Ekin May 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Called billing dept people were rude and did not listen, , cut me off

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonyadavis Apr 27, 2016

    The biggest complaint I have is the favoritism one SL has to work 7-9 days straight before getting a day off she whined to the manager he said no one should have to do that well then my schedule was 9 days straight I reminded him what he said about Noone should have to pull that and he said well sometimes you got to.Really cause mines always been 7-9 straight and the one SL gets off almost all the weekends they're rotated between her and the asst when I said where's mine I got Well nobody's really quarenteed weekends off.Full of crap be fair and partial in your scheduling and maybe your stores would run alot smother.So I put in for days off ahead of time and I get told I need a SL who's going to be here. Really I've requested 7 days off in a year and suddenly I'm not there enough to keep my position.Why give us PTO if we aren't allowed to use it.while others have 2 sheets if you print out their request forms.That's all from poor managers who don't really need the position their on cause they are clueless as to how to run a store.Parking their butts in the office all day everyday and no idea about what they're employees are doing.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonyadavis Apr 27, 2016

    There is a Claus in the policy that states any team member who works more than 20 hours a week can get 1 holiday off a year only 1 you can't have the day before the day of and the day after but you can have that holiday.It does not say due to black out dates it has to be before Nov and after Jan 1.That's how I get Christmas with my family.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    Ty23 Jun 12, 2015

    Walgreens is the horrible place to work. This company only cares about money. The don't care for there employees. I work with bullying managers who try make my life a living hell. They think just because their managers they can disrespect employees under them. I literally pray that company goes into bankruptcy and never recovers. I seen they way the make money off of seniors. They say the care for their well being?? No they care for your money that's it. Horrible place, horrible staff who bully employees into quitting.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    don1982 May 12, 2015

    I am ashamed to say that I am still employed by this greedy company after 8 years. When I was hired out of college as an assistant manager, I was promised a certain level of pay with overtime available every week. That was taken away from me and thousands of other MGTS. They DO NOT CARE about their employees one iota and will do whatever it takes to cut costs. Now they have been bought out by this European Boots business it will probably get worse. They expect employees to get everything done perfectly all the time(with little or no training, Walgreens has no training program that is even close to acceptable). The DMs and CL's and many store managers are rude and pompous, they create a hostile work enviornment, and they think they are so important just because they are the kiss ### who become the "chosen ones" so to speak. Walgreens is a joke

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    mslady30 Aug 15, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Managers verbally harassing employees, down talk employees, it was so bad I had quit my job I have worked there 6 yrs, but I'm glad I quit moving to another state where they appreciate a good worker

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    iris campbell Jul 17, 2013

    dear sir, im claiming the walgreens $3, 000 sweepstakes and rewards program at 3 tickets at $18, 000 respectively.please get back intouch with me today. the local walgreens is turney road, cleveland, ohio, 44125. im 56 years old and i have waited since may 2013 as of hearing from you. desperatley want this check of $18, 000 soon. thankyou, thankyou, iris campbell, 4696 lee road, cleveland, ohio, 44128. also, thanks for the surveys too. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    WalgreensIsNoGood Mar 31, 2013

    Walgreens is a horrible company to work for at the store level. I was an assistant manager and they fired me for cash handling (cash wasn't missing, just in the wrong spots) when the whole district, if not the whole company, had cash handling problems. This was when the economy crashed. So they were trying to get rid of people for anything even if it meant singling out people for mistakes that were being made company wide.

    I worked so many hours off the clock for these ### just to get worn out and unappreciated. f*** Walgreens! I don't shop there anymore and I tell everyone I know not to shop there anymore. CVS is better anyways.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeMChatt Feb 06, 2013

    That only applies to foods that arent overly processed...Milk Bread Fruits

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    kris_0279 Dec 12, 2012

    I worked for a walgreens in virginia for about six months..Our store manager was played favortism with his employees. They hired me knowing i was a single mother with a child that had asthma and was going to school to be a pharmacy technician. I asked my manager if there was a way i could shadow in pharmacy dept like an internship or something. He basically told me no. But when coporate would come down he would act like this was such a great place to work..Well it wasn't. You are basically pigeoned holed to one job and for me it was Main which is cashiering. I went to the orientation which was mandatory and we watched all these videos about how Walgreens is a company where one can grow. Long story short i ended up getting sick. I had doctors notes and also called from the hospital. I was still fired. But my manager said I was rehireable within six months. I have been looking for a job for that long. Basically i feel blacklisted which is illegal. I may have to sue

    -1 Votes
  • Sw
    swoody Apr 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My receipt says if you take an online survey you will be entered for a 3, 000 dollar cash giveaway but the survey dates expired at the end of JULY 2011!!! Stop false advertising !!!

    0 Votes
  • M3C QueenBee Mar 24, 2012

    Indeed.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    FarfalleAlfredo Mar 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not many Brenda, and what's weird, that comment was posted on a completely different complaint, but ended up on this one.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    FarfalleAlfredo Mar 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You fell for a scam. Walgreens does not offer free gift cards online, nor does any company.

    0 Votes
  • M3C QueenBee Mar 24, 2012

    Good afternoon Never.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    FarfalleAlfredo Mar 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I could have written most of the original post myself as I dealt with the same thing but at the store in Carpentersville, Illinois. I applied for pharmacy tech but there were no openings so they hired me as a Photo Specialist. Since I am very active in my church, I put no Sunday availability on my application. During the interview I was told "We have no problem with that", which was a flat out lie. They put availability in the computer for after 3pm on Sunday because "One hour in the morning is plenty of time for church". I tried several times to fix this, but the manager refused. I even tried 4 times to fix it in the computer only to have it denied. When I did finally get a Sunday off, the manager put it in as vacation time which I was saving for the Summer to use during out VBS week. When I mentioned that, I was told that if I wanted Sunday off I had to use my vacation time for it (which I believe is illegal). I was written up for calling in on Sunday morning stating I was not working so I could go to church.

    I never did work in Photo, they kept me constantly at the front checkout (not what I was hired for) despite my having back issues caused from standing in one place constantly. I could have a line snaking around the store and begging for help, only to be ignored. I'd have to apologize to the customers because I'd have to leave to do a price check because nobody answered the page, then only to be yelled at for leaving the register. At the end of the night I'd be the only one working on cleaning and facing, the rest of the crew would be in the office on facebook or sending text messages.

    I walked out after being scheduled on Easter Sunday, a day I told them I would not work as it is a Christian Holiday and as a Christian, I observe that day and do not work. I was threatened with a write up and possible termination (since I had been written up before for the same thing).

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    binary_eleven Nov 18, 2011

    CVS service is awful. They don't care. It's all about the price and they could care less about anything else; the emphasis on price extends down to the employees (the person who wrote this is right) who they underpay...don't expect much and use them as an option only if it's your last resort.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    armc Oct 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Store manager treats as robots all works are being timed not thinking of just picking the products is eating
    the time. If he say, this job is 15min he don't think that just pulling it out, takes the time of the job. Then when
    you did not finish it on time you subjected to a harrassing coments.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    M.Rod0329 Oct 05, 2011

    Part of the pharmacy tech school i went to was to do an externship. This was done at Walgreens. the school usually found somewhere for us to go and we just showed up and completed our hours. My first day the pharmacist treated me like crap. She made me do all the rx filing (that should be done daily) for the past 3-4 months! I stood there all night filing... then she refused to sign my papers for school. Saying that wasnt her job to deal with it (which it was). Needless to say, i asked for a new location. so they moved me to a different walgreens. i loved it there and they showed me a little bit of everything to prepare me for my test and future career. when i finally got certified they werent hiring but my school directed me to a walgreens that was hiring. they hired me on full time and never gave me more than 3 days a week to work. i had just had a baby and they wouldnt let me use my breast pump so i was in pain all day too. then i was scolded for not completing my training and ppl's but they never wanted to give me the opportunity to do so. they pharmacist tells me "sorry we dont have time to train you. so we're just gonna throw you in". Always asked about more hours and there was always an excuse. they picked on me bad and made everyday hell. they knew it was my first real job in the profession too. They made me do so much alone and would stand in the back and gossip. sometimes even in front of customers... so sickening. i feel like they forced me to quit when they started giving me only 2 days a week. they store manager said she could do nothing and that i shouldve never been hired full time cause that wasnt available anymore. that they were giving me too many hours as it was (yeah, 15 hours a week...). I got out of there quick and now work for a great competitor of theirs. I will NEVER work there again. lots of the people at my new job came from there also. we enjoy sharing our walgreens horror stories.

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    walgreens sucks BAD Sep 05, 2011

    I am having to work for Walgreens out of necessity. I have never experienced such a bumbling group of complete incompetence in management. I have endured a hostile work environment and discriminatory actions by management. I smile for the customers and work hard to ensure they have a great experience in the store, they are the only friendly people I encounter at the store. Management encourages back biting with the employees. Management gossips more than the employees about the other employees work performance. It is absolutely sickening and the most unprofessional behavior I have ever seen in a work environment. I would have never thought this because I have been a Walgreens shopper for over 12 years. Once I am out of this hell I will NEVER shop at Walgreens again. I encourage everyone to do the same. This kind of behavior should not be going on in a society that has frowned on companies that treat their employees with such disregard and disrespect. There are laws against hostile work environments and discrimination. If only I made enough money to hire a lawyer...

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimmyxxxx Aug 25, 2011

    do your dam job!! stop wasting other employees time, reading magazines behind the register, eating behind the register, come to work with the proper dress code, smile and greet customers, leave your frickin cell phones in your locker, take a shower, learn basic math-the cash register does everything for you, READ the weekly ads (know what is on sale), come to WORK ON TIME!, STOP [censor]in and complaining- most Americans (160 million) are employed, only 50% (80 million) are actually working!!! It's who you know not what you know. Most employees (75%), put their best foot forward during weeks 1-2 of being employed, from thereon everything is downhill.
    And yes, ### does roll downhill!!


    smile and greet customers,

    -2 Votes
  • Po
    popsdeer Jul 13, 2011

    This survey is such a waste of time that I'm ashamed that I actually went to Walgreens to get my prescription filled.
    I have been online these last ten minutes and have yet to get to the survey.
    There are untold sites to go to but none of them are actually 'the' site.
    When you actually get to www.tellwag.com it just tells you how great the survey is, but, you never get to the survey.

    Such a crock.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloria Cundpitt Jun 22, 2011

    Just don't go out in public. Please.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    minoo azar Jun 21, 2011

    Do not ever go to walgreens in 670 4th street in San Francisco. Very bad customer service. They should close this location or change the key management at this location. Pharmacy awful service. The pharmacy Manager's name is Alison B. Goler.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peyton manning Jun 20, 2011

    i was called whitey by this ### ### in charge i would perform grudge cunnilingus on her throw in a nasty text or tweet in short ### YALL ###S

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flusterd dude Jun 18, 2011

    why does walgreens offer a customer survey that will not come up online?this pisses me off enough to go to CVS next time!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy emplyee Jun 10, 2011

    I have worked for Walgreen's for 7 years. While in that time it has had its ups and downs, I am really glad that I stayed. While yes due to the economy our insurance has changed, we don't get bonuses anymore, still I would stay with the company. Yes you always ave one bad seed in the bunch. That is why they have a chain of command. I do know when corporate is notified of a bad situation they do force managements hand to correct the wrong. In this economic time you should be grateful of having a job. That does not mean you need to eat dirt either. Life is what you make it, so go and make it a good one!

    -2 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed employee Jun 05, 2011

    walgreens upper management is a joke dms like linda defronzo are horrible she is a joke and unprofessional, she creates hostile work enviroment, and is 2 faced and very discrimatory. the open door policy is a joke they cover everything up and set people up that use it. walgreens will be sued in california later this year and she will go down along with walgreens

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Bad Day May 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I dropped off a prescription for my husband who just got out of the hospital that day at the drive thru Walgreens in Avon Park, FL. The pharmacist said I could pick it up at 3:30 that day. I forgot & went the next day the girl there said they have nothing on file for him. They said they would look into & talk to the other pharmacist & will get back to us. No phone calls nobody knows anything about it. No one called the hospital for another prescription. How can you lose a prescription? I think he took it & will use it for someone else.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BOBOTASUPSET May 26, 2011

    Everything in this complaint board is true. I have been working for Walgreens since 1998 and this is the worst company ever. The only reason why I am staying with this company is for the insurance and the schedule works out with my school schedule so I can get a degree and leave this company for good. They dont care about their employees, all they care about is the profit ($) that they get from underpaid and overworked employees. I work in the pharmacy and its true, they want you to multitask and do a lot and they wonder why we sold the wrong prescriptions to the wrong paitent. We get stressed out so much at work and its very frustrating because we tend to sometimes take it out on customers and patients. They dont care if you've been working there for 20 years because they can find someone that will take your place for a much lesser pay. Its ashame. Shame on you Walgreens! Makes me really angry and upset.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Kovach, Sr May 25, 2011

    This $3, 000 Cash Sweepstakes is bogus, when I cannot enter the darn thing!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Kovach, Sr May 25, 2011

    DITTO !!

    0 Votes
  • St
    steve clark d May 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WWW.TELLWAG.COM - All caps ? or small no way to get in touch!!! The 3000.00 survey is a fake

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    miladereck May 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    theres no www.TELLWAG.COM and when i try to find walgreen survey contest at the end of fill out it didnt let me put my zipcode is this real contest?

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wakeupyo Apr 28, 2011

    I have worked for Walgreens for 4 years and I love it. Yes you have to deal with an occasional rotten apple, but overall it is a very good company to work for. If you're not going to show up to work once a month then maybe you shouldn't have a job. Sick days are designated for a reason and if you're going to take advantage of the system then obviously your management is going to get upset. You have a false sense of entitlement. What happens at home has nothing to do with what happens at work and if you're going to let it effect your work than you're putting your store in a bad position. Quit being selfish and consider other people besides yourself and your own family. What about the person who had to come in or stay late to cover your missed shifts? Did you bother thanking them, offering to cover one of theirs or even perhaps ask them if they had something else planned for that day? Open your eyes.

    -2 Votes
  • Bi
    Billysb99 Apr 25, 2011

    Where are the winners listed??? I take the time to enter each ticket ( at least 3 a week) and have yet to see anything about winners. Is there not a law that this info is to be posted?

    0 Votes
  • Co
    complaint about walgreens Apr 17, 2011

    the website listed above will not come up on line. I have several purchases from Walgreens that I wanted to do the online survey for in order to enter for a chance to win $3000. So I would have 6 chances but the website does not work

    0 Votes
  • En
    Engineerswife07 Apr 04, 2011

    The last poster has a point, they could be filling call in prescriptions for people who are due to pick them up. And if they aren't filled, then those people are going to complain. Really they can't win no matter what they do.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.