The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
GE Money BankBeing sued for outrageous fees!

A lot of the same stuff that I see from other people on here has happened to us. It is very good to see that we are not alone, here. They lost a payment right when the zero interest promotion was about to expire. They lost two transfers. They called our house several times a day for months. They have a nasty attorney suing us for the wrong amount that has $1200 in fees on a $1500 original loan. We reported them to the Office of Thrift Supervision, the BBB in several states, the Attorney General of Arkansas, and the Federal Trade Commission. There is some guy in Connecticut who wrote us a letter chock full o lies, named Steve Bailey, that was GE's response to OTS. They stopped sending us statements on purpose and blamed it on the post office. Here's an interesting aside: how did the letter in reference to OTS get to us, if the problem is with the post office? How could it be that seven months of statements could get lost and his sack-o-lies letter gets through? Here's one for the record: they charged a $29 returned check fee for a payment they claim they never got in the first place. We couldn't find anyone who spoke English, either. We have a montage of addresses that includes nine offices in seven different states, where they have shuffled us about. We have proof of all of our allegations against them, and our bank and the automatic clearing house that makes payments for our bank, back us up. The clearinghouse and bank were ripped off, because they made payments to these people several times and the payments were never credited, but they sure did get stolen from the clearinghouse. Our bank was kind enough to take the loss and the blame, not knowing at the time that the company, GE Money Bank is as crooked as the day is long. GE's attorney knows full well that the amount is in dispute but is suing us anyway. We are counter suing, but I really think that we may lose, because of the name GE Money Bank. They are big and we are small. They have laurels and all we have is debt. It seems that they get away with this sort of thing over and over again all over the country and that they are like a giant disease that can't be stopped. If I had known what kind of company it was, I would never have bought the furniture that I bought.

Responses

  • Pa
    pace85 May 10, 2012

    we should all sue them

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joesurvival Feb 04, 2012

    I am in my fifties, i learned long ago to never deal with credit cards, i had cards when i was in my twenties, and learned all about there existence, why they exist, they prey upon
    peoples wants, not needs. g.e. money is madeup of the same people who carried out 911
    obama is right there involved in this scam to destroy america, in every way he is told to by others above him, we are in our last days this year will be the end of america, this is why you cant do anything about g.e. cause it really doesnt matter and they know this.if nothing could be done about 911 what do you think this credit scam is, it is nothing to these people and you dont have enough time to do anything about it, and theres know one that will, and quit making the payments. and deal with it, take that money and buy food and survival gear and get youre family prepared for this years end and try to survive all the items that were purchased with credit didnt exist anyways, all material ###, time to rethink whats really important, i myself pick life, family survival
    s

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jetretry02009 Dec 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I love GE Money BANK now known as GE CAPITAL RETAIL BANK.. Iwas late once on a payment and they waived it and said that they always waive once in a twelve month period as a courtesy.. How nice of them to give me a chance when it was my fault to begin with. I am going to buy a new bedroom and living room set this weekend and am driving an extra 30 miles to go to the store that uses GE CAPITAL as their finance company. I would recommend this finance company to anyone that comes into contact with them. GREAT RATES.. GREAT SERVICE ! Do not let those other guys with the negative comments fool you, all they really expect is for you to be responsbile for your end of the deal.. which means PAY YOUR BILL.. and you will be fine :)

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madat gebank Nov 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    when you need to discuse any matters with ge money bank. (now called - ge capital retail bank) 90% or more times you cant understand them. tell your friends to stay away from this bank! I was late on a payment about 140 dollars, they convinsted me to take it out of my home town bank-But then charged me twice. Before i knew it, i got checks bouncing. Not too good in a small town. If you wanna be PISSED OFF? go with ge capital retail bank

    0 Votes
  • Hr
    HRMcG May 25, 2011

    Just ran across this post. Nice to see nothing has changed, we are having problems with them and have closed every GEMB issued credit card we have. Anyone that is still using these cards needs to watch your statements closely. We have a 12 month no interest purchase with them through Sam's Club, which of course they put the interest on this month. They won't remove the interest they are issuing me a credit for next month. This account has already been closed, I was going to hold off on paying off the balance because of the no interest but I am tired of dealing with them so I am paying off the balance. I have closed my Old Navy Card, and the JC Penney card, and we didn't accept a charge card when we purchased our new mattress because the issuer of the card was GEMB.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Noneyas11 Feb 21, 2011

    I came here only to see both of my experiences with these crooks who are in bed with Iran (for those of you who did not know that) As a vet that outragages me in itself but anyway..1st exp was with a motorcycle, 7 MONTHS IN A ROW I called every single month telling them I was not getting statements and they kept blaming it on the post office and when I said that the post office had np with any other correspondence from THEM, only the statements, now I knew better...I kept a copy and just kept making a copy every month and made sure they were paid until I luckily traded that bike in and went with another bank, I was lucky to get out of that one unscathed. And 2nd exp. is with this lowes CC, I pay my bill online so I really never payed attention and that IS shame on ME to not notice for almost 3 years ! I have been paying $9.52 for their "card security" that I never signed up for..never agreed too in any way shape or form...3 years @ $9.52 a month...and me as well had credit cut in half...I am paying these crooks off next week and closing this account, I will go through the bank, reading comments on here that some have payed them off and still get bills worries me, but my bank will back me up if they try that scam on me. WHERE IS THE GOVT. OFFICE RESPONSIBLE FOR CONSUMERS AT? How in the world these crooks are able to do the things they do and continue to do is to me for lack of a better word Astounding.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Pearl Feb 18, 2011

    Please help in Stopping the unethical business practices.
    Send your complaint to the regulator for GE Money Bank. the Texas Office of the Consummer Creditors Commissioner gave me the information on whom to contact.
    The the Office of Thrift Supervision: http://www.ots.treas.gov/
    The form to fill out and fax or email as attachment with your signature is in
    http://files.ots.treas.gov/upload/files/OTS%20Form%201723.pdf
    Their email is
    [email protected]
    The GE corporate office to write is
    Vice President
    GE MONEY
    4246 South Riverboat ~ Suite 200
    Salt Lake city, Utah 84123
    DebbiePearl

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barry J Nov 24, 2010

    I too wish I had come here and read up on GE Money Bank. My story is that I used them in Nov. of 2009 to finance my furnace. My agreement stated that I had until Dec. 9 2010 to pay off the balance. Well, I was down to $3280 on Nov.22 2010 and arranged to transfer the balance to Chase Bank but now before the transfer went through the balance has gone to $4237.93!! There is no explanation visible on the website for this $957 increase, but I assume that Chase notified them that the transfer was coming and they hit me with a ridiculous interest rate and fee before it was applied. Their actions are criminal in my opinion, and from what I have read here it is their common practice. So, beware do not finance anything through GE Money Bank. I never will again and intend to make complaints every way I can--attorney generals, BBB, finanace and trade commision--the works.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    brasher417 Nov 03, 2010

    Anyone who has complaints with GE Money Bank, please contact the Attorney General's Office for your state and file a cosumer complaint online. It will only take about 20 minutes. GE Money will continue to get away with their unethical business practices. We have to pull together to get something done. This company needs to be brought up on a civil action suit. But it takes all of us pulling together, protecting our rights as consumers. Please I plead to you join the fight.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    RickC Oct 24, 2010

    I called GE Money Bank and after negotiating through a massive electronic menu, I finally got to speak to a human. I gave him some information and he put me on hold. The huge menu started again and when it got to the point where I could speak to a human again, the recording said to call back during business hours. My account was paid off in 2006 and they never updated my credit report.

    2 Votes
  • Pr
    predatory lending Aug 21, 2010

    Look here, yall wanna hear some crap about this fraudulent company? G.E. LENDING? check this out: I bought a four wheeler back in OCT of 2008 at 9.90 percent interest for the entirety of the loan. Made all my payments on time not once was i late, i payed them on line and always a minimum of a day before it was due usually earlier, i was looking at my last statement the other day after i payed them and noticed that they convieniently and without notice raised my interest rate to 28.90 percent and extended my payments another 48 months!!! that takes my 7, 500 dollar four wheeler and makes it into a 15, 000 dollar four wheeler so out of a 200 dollar payment (which by the way was originally agreed upon to be 150 but lets not split hairs here) 46 dollars of it is going to principal the rest is going in THEY'RE POCKETS!!, (which by the way would be fine if i agreed to that but only a fool would agree to such ridiculousness) I tried calling customer service and all i got was the run around i cant get a straight answer on why they did that every time i talk to someone different i get a different answer, finally i got really really fed up and told them that not only was this preposterous and its predatory lending which mind you is ILLEGAL! but as God as my witness i refuse to pay another 7 grand on something i didnt agree to and one way or another i WILL NOT pay that extra amount you will get the originally agreed upon payment at the originally agreed upon time and for the orignally agreed upon amount of payments as stated in the LEGALLY BINDING CONTRACT that YOU decided to breach. I said is this how you treat your paying customers? you reward them with a higher intrest rate? I said i am going to do one of several things, option one is to refinance it through a real bank not some fly by night Bu##$hit bank bank like you are running there, option two is to sell it and pay it off like that, option three is to have you come pick it up and rest assured you will not be able to resell it when im done with it in fact you will be lucky to get what its worth in weight at the scrap yard and to tell your repo guy to bring a big box so he can collect all the parts from it after i scatter the engine and tranny all over my yard from running it wide open and well theres always option three... default on the loan and in that case you can refer back to option two. I said look here, yall are some shady a$$ characters to pull something like this on me, or on any other PAYING CUSTOMER! i pay all my bills ON TIME and in full, i have never considered default but this is robbery and unfair i am a upstanding person and i am also an active duty member of the United States military protecting YOUR inglorious and thieving selves to continue on robbing the American people this bank is a disgusting example of how people like you are taking advantage of the ordinary everyday people of this great country and for that you should be ashamed of yourselves, how do you people sleep at night knowing your doing this to other people?? And you can bet your a$$es on the fact that i will at every opportunity let every person i talk to about your bank know just how corrupt and crooked and shady you really are in fact i will yell it from the rooftops if need be until you no longer have any customers and not only that i am reporting you to my command and you can rest assured that once they find out how you have taken advantage of me no one else in the military will use your banking system, and well there are plenty of service members who just love to spend money and will gladly take they're business elsewhere, think im just blowing wind? check out what happened to all those quickie payday loan places in virginia, they were closed down LITERALLY over night because of predatory lending to service members... check it out for yourself...theyre gone literally shut down overnight!! I will do my level best for your company to meet the same fate and thats one thing you can take to the bank!! have a good day...click.

    GM1(SW)
    USN Stationed in VA.
    Proud combat veteran
    14 Years of active duty and counting.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Robbinhood Jul 29, 2010

    Yes agreed Ge Money demonstates unethical and ruthless business practice

    The evidence speaks for itself

    Check out this site for detailed info on GE Money's track record

    ASIC acts on GE Money’s insurance and debt collection practices
    http://www.australian-real-estate.net.au/investing/2008/05/30/asic-acts-on-ge-moneys-insurance-and-debt-collection-practices/

    GE Money’s consumer complaints mount
    http://www.australian-real-estate.net.au/investing/2008/07/01/consumer-complaints-about-ge-money-mount/

    ASIC helps Australian consumers understand new credit laws
    http://www.australian-real-estate.net.au/investing/2010/07/26/asic-helps-australian-consumers-understand-new-credit-laws/

    The more consumers that can access reliable information in a timely manner to better

    Consumers should be able to research finance companies first before making a decision to apply for a finance product.

    If consumers can see that GE Money products have distinct disadvantages, that the customer service is poor, the interest rates higher, and the debt collection process is very aggressive and damaging for the consumer it is more likely that consumers will not take up GE Money products.

    Loss of business for GE Money and lower profits will really make an impact against GE Money

    Hit GE Money financially and make a difference

    Spread the word about GE Money complaints

    GE Money’s consumer complaints mount
    http://www.australian-real-estate.net.au/investing/2008/07/01/consumer-complaints-about-ge-money-mount/

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jetretry02009 May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Its not that they know for sure its the post office. Its that all they can do is send it out. I used to work in call center for a finance company and had people call saying that same thing. "you didnt sent me the bill so its not my fault the payment was late" and I be looking at the history right in from of me showing we clearly mailed out the bill. We also were able to see if it was returned back to us. In a case where mail was returned we would refund the late fee because that isnt the customers fault. However if a customer just claims "they never got it" or "you people didnt send it to me" that is not a good excuse. All we can do is send out the bill. You know you have a payment due each month regardless so it is your responsibility to make the payment.

    -2 Votes
  • Je
    jetretry02009 May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ge money bank is a finance company. When you owe a finacne company money, they want to be paid what you owe them. If you are lazy and too stupid to pay off your debt then dont take out loans. If you pay your bills on time you wont have anything to worry about. Its not there fault you cant pay your bills on time. Its not there fault you cant manage money. Stop blaiming the finance companies and look in the mirror people.

    -2 Votes
  • Ms
    ms.melW Apr 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Add Steinhafels in Wisconsin on that list...I bought a bed and took advantage of th e " interest free one year loan"
    The deadline was approaching and I realized their last statement was short $600 in payments...I tried for a month to get a hold of their CS dept NO ONE EVER ANSWERED .I Called Steinhafels to see if they coud help me reach someone...NO
    I tried their website which is not Out of Service

    So after all these attempts to pay off my balance before the interest was tacked on, has come and gone!!!
    I called the Wisconsin Financial Intitute, and they are sending me the proper forms to file a complaint because GEmoney Bank
    is a Federal Bank and then send the forms and my documentation to the address under Billing Rights Summary on the back of your statement...I hate this scamming crap

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marco67 Apr 15, 2010

    GE Money bank is a complete RIP OFF
    Stay away from them!!!
    I was unvoluntaraly passed on to them with a 970 dollar debt, I have paid about 600 dollars not missing payments yet I owe 1015 today.
    After one year they claimed they have to refinance and to refinance 734 dollars they charged me 293 dollars or 40% of the valur which should be illegal...
    They charge late fees yet I have paid on time directly from my bank account, yet they charge me 39 dollars late feeantways, if you call to complain then good luck they are rude and completly unwilling to help or check complaint. You are encouraged to pay up.
    PLEASE TO THE PERTINENT AUTHORITIES THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE INTERVENED AND REVIEWD FOR MALICIOUS PRACTICES...ITS ENOUGH

    0 Votes
  • Made a paymen to them and site showed that the payment went through. Got confirmation from the site showing that the payment went through. Representatives said that the payment didn't go through but in "good faith" they posted it to the account anyway. Talk with representative (outsourced of course) saying that they can't disclose any information with no one but the account card holder when i was put on the account as well. Asked simple questions about their site and how it's set up...still they couldn't tell me anything. Spoke with who is supposed to be a different representatives and was told the same thing. Debated it over the phone with the main cardholder on the line. Asked for them to tell me what was the account number (which would be my account because i made the payment) and was told that they couldn't tell me but i had to tell them. Which isn't much of a dispute because i could read off any number. Contacted my bank and alerted them of this fraud-like behavior. Also asked for the number to their Headquarters and was told that there isn't one which is a lie because there are numbers online for their headquarters. I was also put on hold for over 30 mins which isn't professional and while speaking with this superior representative after questioning and telling her that i would find the numbers to headquarters on my own she got "pissy" and hung up the phone. Very unprofessional...my only thoughts for everyone is to pay them off, close the accounts, cut up the cards and never...never ever recommend their services to anyone!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DougnSue Feb 25, 2010

    We purchased a yr. 2000 motor home early in 2001. Somewhere along the way we refinanced with GEMB. Our payments have been $711.36 a month since we refinanced. We have never, ever missed a payment. The motor home is now worth many dollars less than what we owe. I am 73 years old and we have done our best to pay our debt... but we are now experiencing our savings depleting and will not be able to pay this large payment any longer. We believe that we could make a payment of $300 per month... up and to the day we finally die. Other options include; just not making the payment and letting the MH go back to GEMB. We can't sell it for enough to pay GEMB off. We are in a quandary! We don't know what the results would of just not making any payments... or maybe just sending in $300 a month... or sending in an interest only payment.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suej Dec 09, 2009

    I bought a boat and financed it through gemb lending inc. I have paid on it for four years on time. I just received a call at 9:45 pm from an unknown name, however a number did show up. The idiot that called spoke to my elderly mother. He was extremly rude and claimed they have not received this months payment. He question on the location of the boat and about the insurance...I will refinance with someone else even if payments are higher and interest..just to get away from these sorry, unprofessional scam artist. NEVER USE THESE IDIOTS...I will be calling any supervisor i can get ahold of during bussiness hours in the a.m...I bet they are just as plain studpid as the idiot that was so rude to my mother..if anyone has any suggestions on who i can call or write about this situation..please let me know...Thanks..sue

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RamRM Sep 10, 2009

    Folks, I am in the same situation and I am forced to pay the finance charges, what should I do? Do I have to contact a lawyer? Any input would be appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carecredituser Sep 05, 2009

    I agree my compliant is the same as others, last month I used carecredit to pay a vet bill on 8/3/09. The payment was due on 8/29, but I paid on the 8/19 for $50 instead of $47, it's a small balance of $1543.55. I signed up for the ebill which I got today for the Sept month and it now says $96.00. So I went back to the website and notice I paid on the 8/19, but on 8/24 they did a payment reversal. I just now went to Bank of America account and don't see it there, even though when I made the payment I typed the correct routing and checking number. I plan to pay it off right away and close this account, but first I will call them on Tuesday to see what is going on.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Apr 23, 2009

    I received a letter in the mail today that details the lowering of my credit limit.

    However, it begins with "GE MONEY BANK and Walmart would like to thank you for being a valued Walmart accountholder."

    It ends with “GE Money Bank thanks you for your patronage and looks forward to serving your financial interests in the future.”

    If I was such a valued customer or accountholder, why was my limit lowered? Regardless, I have closed the account and will take my business elsewhere from this point on.

    I have had a Walmart credit card thru GE Money Bank for quite some time now. They recently lowered my credit limit to $100.00 even though I had never been late on a payment and always paid over the minimum amount. I have credit cards from other places too and also have never been late and pay over the minimum on these too. Yet, these limits have not been decreased at all.

    However, considering that GE Money Bank has did this to me, and from what I have read and heard, to many others which number in the thousands too, I have closed my account. I was quite happy with this account until recently and will now never deal with GE Money Bank ever again. In essence, Walmart has lost a customer that at one time was very happy with the Walmart experience and now, due to this GE Money Bank Credit Card fiasco, is resorting to shopping at Target only. It's not what I would have chosen and feel that I am forced to make this decision. I could very easily use cash at Walmart and would normally have no problems with this. However, I now see this as simply a principle thing.

    Regardless, I would like to say thank-you to Walmart for at least the time that I did spend with your fine organization. However, I wish I could say the same for your credit card services which will probably be a future attribute to a loss in sales if this is true and that many others have this same experience..

    I am very aware of my personal credit and continually remain abreast of any changes. For those who have a GE MONEY BANK based credit card (Walmart, Sam's Club, Lowe's, and a number of others) I urge you to inquire as to the status of your card in order to avoid unnecessary fees that are being imposed by GE MONEY BANK.

    Folks, simply be aware of this situation and use your best judgement. I have already made my decision.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy Apr 16, 2009

    I too used care credit for dental work, a couple of weeks ago I recieved a letter from GEMONEY BANK stating that my account had been closed.When I called care credit to find out why they told me that either something in my credit report had changed or their criteria had changed.I checked my credit repoort with eqifax and from what it shows, carecredit has not viwed my history since I was first approved.
    I was required to have a co-signer which has excellent credit.All payments made before due date and in amounts exceeding well over the amount due.They knew my history when approving me. When a consumer defaults on an account we still have to pay, who protects us when the company defaults against us!!! Practices like this should be illegal and when caught, the consumers bill should be considered paid in full!!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    surfergirl5688 Apr 09, 2009

    Watch out they will change you interest to everyday instead of a monthly interest! They did it to us!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jailtime4crooks Apr 06, 2009

    ge Money are crooks and I hate everything about them Loan sharks!!

    False advertising- payment options is very limited- part of their scam!

    I won't buy anthing that says GE on it!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jailtime4crooks Apr 06, 2009

    I agree these guys are loan sharks with false advertising!!!

    0 Votes
  • We have the same problem with GE in Australia, they now own nearly every finance company possible. Coles Blue Source Mastercard, Gold Source Mastercard, Wizard Home Loans, Wizard Mastercard, Wizard Personal Loans, GE Personal Loans, GO Mastercard, Avco Finance are just to name a few. Worse is as already said 1 day late & $35 fee, if you get paid Thursday & do a bank transfer with the loan due Friday, most banks have a 24 hour transfer period but weekends dont count so payments dont reach GE until Monday or Tuesday then they say 3-4 days late, on goes another $35 fee. When you use your card they generously let the transaction be accepted even though it goes over the limit, so on goes another $35 fee. The transaction should be declined not go over, but this is another easy way for GE to rip off the consumers. We dont have much choice of finance companies here now apart from banks as GE seem to OWN the rest. Like most have laready said here, to try and talk to a representive is near impossible as they can't & don't understand English, I wish I was Indian then I may be able to communicate with them. Even our good old phone companies now use Asian Call Centres, its never ending, & i thought it was only happening here but the rest of the world is caught in the GRIP of GE after reading all the meassages on this site. ONCE GE had a GOOD name, but NO more. I hope i can get out of debt with them, be before I die.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The dude Mar 19, 2009

    They stopped sending me bills, and then tried to charge me late fees after a deferred payment ended. They did this on purpose, I'm sure. It was just too obvious. The sad part is that I only owed less than $60, so I have to assume that this is their "policy" in general, and that they don't just try to screw people with large balances. I look forward to the day when all my credit cards are paid off. Soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroldive2 Mar 07, 2009

    I have been reading all these comments concerning GE Money and am glad to know I am not the only one who feels totally raped by the company. I had some health problems the beginning of last year along with major surgery. I still paid my bills but without notice they lowered my Credit limits on the following cards-Home Depot, Dillards, Walmart, Finger furniture, Linens N Things, Macy's. I was able to make payments and had a 1 rating with credit bureau. Now i can barely make the minimum payment because it is so high. They are crooks and i am so upset because the harrass me at work after I sent them a letter, and they start calling me at 8:00AM especially on Sunday.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shamrock Feb 19, 2009

    I have the same issues with them everybody else seems to be having. No statements, lost payments, extremely rude terroristic behaviour. I've stopped paying them. I borrowed $3000 on CareCredit for surgery, payed $100-$1000 a month on the account since March 2005 and they say my balance is still $1800. When I call them they say its late fees. I don't know if they own a calculator but they're reasoning doesn't "add up"... Last month we came to a settlement of $250 payed twice for a total settlement of $500. They took my first payment of $250 and when I called 20 days later on Jan. 15 2009 to make the last payment and be done with them they told me that i had missed the payment date of Jan. 12 2009 and forfieted the settlement but not to worry the balance is only $1750 and the account is current. These blatent crooks even sent me a letter with the terms of the settlement 2 days after I tried to make the payment. They not only need put out of business but the people responsible need to go to prison. They are cowards hiding behind thier corperate identity stealing from hard working American Citizens. A scam of this size is not invisable to CEO's and board members. In this case silence for profit is participation. Starting a class action lawsuit against them is the least we should do.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaheeda Feb 12, 2009

    Let's start a class action against them. There are certainly enough complaints all over the web/.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KendraBogard Feb 10, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And another consumer bites the dust thanks to GE Money Bank! So my case is actually PayPal Buyer Credit, which is furnished be GE Money Bank. I guess if you put two crooks together, you're going to get ripped off, and maybe I should have known better, but I didn't yet. You guys should love this one.

    On 10-25-08 I mailed a payment to GE Money Bank on the Paypal Buyer Credit Account I had coming due. On 10/28/08 they reeive the payment, they post the payment, everything is good...the payment was even a couple weeks early. The next month comes, I make another payment, December comes, I make another payment. I go home on December 29th and see what appeared to be my statement from the above named bank, I open it up, and it is actually a letter stating that they never actually recieved the payment from me on 10/28/08, and they posted it in error, so they have now charged my account for the amount of the payment I made to them. Now my balance is higher than it was before I made my payment!

    So I send them proof of the payment being made to them (copy of the money order after it was written out to them and the receipt from the money order, and the online statement that showed the payment being posted) all by certified mail with a letter requesting corrections and contact with me in regards to this error they've made.

    By law they must respond to me in writing within 30 days, now it has been 39 days and I have not received a response, nor have they credited my account for my payment. However I did have another payment due yesterday, which I sent by certified mail and they received yesterday, yet thyey have not posted the payment and have charged me a $29.00 late fee! How can they charge me a late fee for receiving a payment on time?????????

    When I called in and spoke to a representative, they passed me along to their supervisor who's name was Danielle # 2240 out of Kansas. Danielle tells me that they will not give me credit for my 10/28/08 payment unless I provide proof that they (GE Money Bank/ Paypal Buyer Credit) actually cashed the money order I sent them. She tells me it doesn't matter if they receive the payment or not, only if they cash it! As far as I know if you go to your bank, make a cash deposit, get a receipt for it, and then the teller loses the money that isn't your fault! So why do I have to come up with proof that these people cashed the money order I sent to them????????

    Again, a class action suit seems to be a really good idea, and if anyone has any ideas on how to get one going so these people can't continue to steal from us please feel free to contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading ALL of the remarks left, I too am a victim of this crookedness, and am currently writing the BBB, Attorney General, FTC, & Thrift Supervision.

    If there are any people out there who have information on participating in a Class Action lawsuit, one is definitely overdue.

    Please email me @ [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vivian Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ge Money is ripping people off! I had the same problem w/ my credit card w/ them...VERY impolite customer services!! I owe them $4, 500 for my furnitures, the next thing I realized there was an extra $2, 000 added to my card because I haven't paid off within 12 months offered as no interest. Can't argue, can't do anything about it. Please be very careful when signing up for Ge Money.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anthony macaluso Oct 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    lets all get together and put this on 20/20

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JayeLo Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just called GEMB at [protected] to cancel the LnT credit card I stupidly applied for 2 yrs ago since it appeared negatively on my credit report(apparently all canceled cards appear 'negative' too). Spoke with a guy with an Indian accent named Josh Matthews who said he would cancel my card and report it to the credit bureau. I asked for confirmation but he wouldn't give me any.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tatiana Koniszewski Jul 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GE Money Bank handles the reward coupons for Cost Plus World Market and did a terrible job at standing by their advertising for issuing reward coupons for earned points. My husband and I had to haggle Cost Plus for almost a year before we could get the reward coupons we were entitled to. On my statement it showed the points I accumulated, but GE Money Bank never sent out the reward coupons. When I called to speak with their customer service department, they said they had no idea with this reward point system was about. It was such a hassle. Finally after almost a year we finally received our reward coupons, with extra, for the time and hassle we spent on the issue. After reading the comments above, I'm going to close my account with GEMB. They do not deserve anyone's business!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brandon Bradshaw Jul 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    pay off a balance and you still get billed and called and bad marks on credit report...outragous!!!

    any attorney reading this, feel free to email me please.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maryellen Lemieux Jun 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CROOKS!!! They are after me for their Debt Security Plus account that I never signed up for. The original charge of $98.99 has now doubled with their late fees. I WILL NOT PAY THESE CROOKS ONE DIME. Does anyone else have these charges and how did you handle it.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Davis May 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to know how to best get complaints about ge mnoeys jc penny division to affect them. It would be great for someone like myself who has fallen on hard times and is now trying to climb out of those hard times to get a positve response.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.