SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

USAA

United Services Automobile Association

9800 Fredericksburg Road
San Antonio, Texas
United States - 78288

Customer Service

1800 531 8722(Customer Service) 1 1
+1 210 531 8722(Customer Service) 4 2
+1 800 472 8722(Individual Retirement Accounts) 1 3
+1 877 899 6325(Trust Services) 2 0
+1 800 258 4060(Real Estate Rewards Network Assistance) 1 0
+1 800 531 8555(Roadside Assistance) 1 0
+1 888 452 7754(Auto Glass Repair & Replacement) 1 0
+1 877 314 2255(Financial Planning) 1 0
+1 800 292 8294(Survivor Relations Team) 1 0
+1 210 456 6310(Accessibility) 1 2
+1 210-282-1888 0 0
USAA Federal Savings Bank 
10750 McDermott Freeway, San Antonio, TX 78288-9876

USAA Investment Management Company 
P.O. Box 659453, San Antonio, TX 78265-9825

Complaints & Reviews

settling an auto accident claim

I have been unable to obtain a fair settlement for an automobile accident that occurred on Dec. 21, 2019. My...

Constant lies

We have a claim against USAA Auto...Three of their agents told us that if we would supply measurements showing our front end is not narrower than our side fenders ( where the damage occurred ) they would reopen the claim and review the evidence. They contend that their clients door was open and we ran into it...we claim she opened the door as we drove past. Our evidence is there is NO Damage to our front end!! They then claimed that our front end is narrower than the side fenders as to why we have no front end damage. Heather Pace, Wesley Pate and a Victoria all said this. The last two said they would instruct their repair facility to take those measurement. Our first visit, they had NO instructions and just did a repair estimate. Victoria then said she would give precise instructions...our second visit they only had instructions to measure the side fender width. Our last call to USAA.. a Ursula, stated right out that we shouldn't bother ourselves because they had NO INTENTION of looking at any evidence that would prove their client responsible and to basically...SUE US!! They lied to us repeatedly and strung us along with those lies hoping we would just go away. So now, to take them to court, our insurance company says we have to fix the vehicle ourselves and then they will try to recover the money. We can't afford to fix someone else's damage!!

Constant lies
Constant lies

customer service

I am a 50 year member of USAA. Up until the last couple of years they have been great. Now it takes a great deal of time to ask the simplest question. On hold forever. Transferred from one department to another, then the rep has a very limited access to your account, and very little authority to do anything. Endless questions to certfy your identity at each new rep you are transferred to etc. website is the same problem. They used to insure pretty much everything, but now they have farmed out some types (motor home and boat) to progressive whose rates are very high. I am really disappointed in them and for the first time in 50 years, considering changing insurance and banking companies.

united automobile insurance services

I have tried several times to communicate with someone regarding claim #
TXY 681715 with little to no communication. At first, they were denying responsbility saying that they're client was not at fault and i'm like I have a copy of the police report in the file and the adjustor (Ms. Gonzales) asked me to fax her a copy of the report and I did. Then a couple of weeks later an adjustor named Anthony (No last name) called offering $500.00!!! So for the last 2 weeks I have been trying to get Anthony on the phone again to ask him again why were they bidding such a low offer. Again, No answer. They just keep you on hold playing music. I even calledthe State Board of Insurance to seek help but their advise was to make a complaint with united auto directly.
Liza Gonzales # is [protected] x 32714 and Anthony # is [protected]

refusing to pay for auto rental regarding a claim filed against one of your customers

I was in an accident with one of your insured who hit my vehicle. During the time of my vehicle being repaired usaa agreed to pay for the rental car. after the completion of the repair (one year ago) the rental agency (enterprise rental car) to whom you recommended charged my card due to the fact that the insurance company(usaa) refused to pay as agreed.This has been an ongoing matter, can someone PLEASE assist me regarding this matter. claim #[protected]-2 If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me @[protected]@aol.com

mortgage process

We have our previous home with USAA, some problems but overall went fine. In the process of purchasing our second home and it has been terrible. They have constantly lost documents, delayed responding to realitor and buyer. Their underwriters are terrible. Latavia Nash, Irasema Robles have consistently lost documents sent to them and have provided wrong information. This process has cost us one thousand dollars in rental fees and in extending rental equipment agreements. USAA has consistently delayed the mortgage process through their incompetence. Stay away from them if you are buying a home.

harassment from the quote service and main company

I requested a quote from USAA in early August as part of my search for a new insurance company. I retired and moved out of state. My previous company only serviced a two state area. After I accepted insurance from another carrier, USAA has continued to call, send email, and now are sending me physical mail. What does it take to make them quit. I wish I had never even requested a quote. It is not helping their case one bit because if I ever need another insurance company, at this point, they will be the last company I call. They have shown me that their policy is to harass people until they give in. There used to be a law against harassment and I believe it is still in effect. I just want them to leave me alone.

Credit card balance transfer

To whom it may concern,

I requested a balance transfer of $4983.55 and paid a fee of $149.50. This transfer was interest free through 12/27/2020. On the statement dated 7/26/19 I paid all my purchases, plus the $149.50 and made a payment of $449.02 on the transfer. Total balance was $7820.19 - payment $3536.64= $4284.19. All the remaining balance should be zero interest.

I get my statement of 8/27/19 and I'm charged interest of $72.28. I call USAA twice. Talked to Kim on 8/28 and she said wait for statement. I talk to John on 8/29. He said that I can't choose to put my payment on purchases or transfer and therefore I'm charged interest on daily balance.

This is false advertising and devious business practices. If in fact this is how USAA conducts business, this is highly unethical and unfair to me. This actually means I will always pay interest on an interest free transfer (hidden and renamed on average daily balance of purchases). I always pay my balance IN FULL.

If the interest isn't reversed, I will be canceling this card. I can't do business with a bank who has these practices.

#[protected]
Card # 4270 xxxx xxxx 4932

home owners

Usaa sucks is such a true statement. Back in 2006 my homeowners policy was terminated. The excuse I was given was that "I didn't live in the USA". Hmm. After my military service I worked for the US Govt as a Diplomat. Deployed on official orders and I was dropped. Therefore "USAA Sucks" doesn't even come close to how bad this phony company deserves.

They did the same thing to three friends of mine as well. So I will leave USAA the appropriate sentiment they deserve, FU USAA!

credit card

Card card expires end of June 2019. Contacted USAA 2 weeks prior to leaving for a trip starting the end of May requesting new cards prior to leaving for trip. Never received the cards. Contacted USAA today because cards expires in a few days and they were no help.

I think that it is time to look for a credit card company that responds/reacts to customer issues/ requests

blocking account without notice

On saturday 4/25 my debit card was locked. I had been contacted by email the month before and was told that there was suspected faudulent activity. They were going to mail us new debit cards. I never received them. When I called, the address they sent the cards to was my daughter's address. Still not sure how that happened. We activated the cards on sunday and at that point, usaa locked our checking account. We didn't realize it until we tried to use the card and it was declined. My husband called on monday 4/27 and was told that the account was being evaluated. I called on wednesday 5/1 and was also told that it was still being evaluated. We explained, both times we called, that it was likely us activating the cards that caused the red flag. When I spoke with customer service I told them that we have automatic transfers for some of our bills and I was concerned that those transfers would be declined therefore causing our bills to be late and possibly causing a fee. I was told that usaa would pay any late fees, etc. I was also told to call back on 5/2 and our account could be unlocked because then it would be during regular business hours. My husband called this morning, 5/2, and was told they are still evaluating and it could be another 3 or 4 days!! This is completely unacceptable! We have now not had access to our money for 6 days! How can a bank hold money that belongs to their customers for this long?? We weren't even given notice or contacted, texted or anything telling us that the account was being locked. I find that to be extremely poor customer service. At this point, once that account is unlocked, we will be closing that account. We've had usaa since 1991. I don't understand! I will be calling again this afternoon to try to gain access to the funds that belong to us!!! After that, i'm going to the better business bureau.

credit card service

I recently contacted USAA to remove myself from my ex-wife's credit card accounts, which are in her name and...

financial

Recently, my son and I were informed by USAA of a suspected data breach. They informed us via their inbox, in a message titled "Notification of New Debit Card", the information at the bottom of this message.

I reached out to USAA to ascertain three items: Where was my data when it was exposed, what information was exposed, and who reported the exposure to you?

The answer I received from the customer service representative and from Ron of the executive resolutions division is that a merchant informed USAA of a data breach. USAA is unwilling to help me protect myself by disclosing the merchant. USAA appears to only be concerned with limiting their liability due to fraudulent charges.

Why would a bank, USAA, that targets only military members and their families withhold critical information that could protect the very members that keep them in business? I want to know which merchant allowed my personal information to be exposed so that I can reduce my vulnerability. USAA's representatives state that the company's policy is not to disclose which merchant reported the breach. In my opinion this policy is a business protecting a business and disregarding the safety of its members.

USAA didn't even reach out to me personally to give me insight into why they are sending a new card. I had to call them and spend 30 minutes of my time on the call to get an insufficient amount of information regarding what I should do to protect my data from a future breach by the same merchant. My belief is that USAA should be financially responsible for any future breach of this kind from the same merchant since they chose not to aid me in protecting my information. How can I request that the merchant remove my information from their systems if I cannot determine who they are? Why would said merchant disclose to a bank that they had a breach and not to the customer, me, that they had a breach?

"Urgent
We've identified that your USAA debit card information, such as your name, card number and expiration date, may have been obtained by unauthorized individuals through non-USAA systems. Your card information was possibly obtained through a retailer where you shopped or dined, or by other fraudulent activity.

To reduce the risk of unauthorized transactions, we're replacing your debit card ending ####. We'll send you a new card with a new card number, security code and expiration date, and you'll receive it within 10 business days. To keep track of this new card order, review your card mailing status. Along with the card, we'll provide information about the steps you should take to activate your card and reminders for ensuring all preauthorized or recurring transactions are honored, such as providing merchants with your new card number and expiration date for recurring transactions.

Your Current Card
Your current card will only remain active up to 30 days, or upon activation of your new card, whichever occurs first. After you've activated your new debit card, please destroy your current card.

Protecting You From Unauthorized Transactions
Rest assured that you're protected by our zero-liability policy. A password is the first line of defense against cybercriminals. We recommend using multifactor authentication (MFA) as an added layer of protection. Learn more about MFA at usaa.com/MFA.

If you'd like to speak to us about this matter, please call us at [protected].

Additional information about zero-liability protection: You are not liable for unauthorized use of a debit card if (1) your account is in good standing, (2) you have exercised reasonable care in safeguarding your card from loss or theft, and (3) you have not reported to us 2 more unauthorized use events in the past 12 months. "Unauthorized use" means the use of a debit card by someone other than an account holder without actual authority to use the debit card. It does not include use of a debit card (1) by a person who was furnished the card by an account holder unless the account holder notified us that transfers by that person are no longer authorized or (2) with fraudulent intent by an account holder or any person acting in concert with the consumer."

-DisappointedArmyVet

credit card division

It is impossible to talk to anyone who has half a brain in the credit card department. I has an issue with a...

Spamming

I have received hundreds of emails from USAA. I have deleted them, reported them, blocked them and even called the company on 2/19/19.
These emails have been sent to the FTC and I have filed a report as well.
I am not a member. Never have been.
On the phone, they wanted my personal information. Which I refused to provide. I was told maybe I forgot I was a member. Maybe I forgot ever requesting information.

NO, not so. They are arriving to my emails, only with the email address, not addressed to me except for the email.
Apparently this is a very aggressive way to get their info out there, but I don't care. I would never do business with them after a stunt like this. Ever.
The email address to remove is [protected]@hotmail.com
I would like my email to be removed at once, and permanently.

usaa military affiliate visa & master credit cards

I had found out recently. My understanding in the year of 2014 of May that the banking products such as USAA Military Affiliate credit cards was not open to just to anyone to apply for the cards. USAA sends out invitations to the affiliate groups by mail to invite the members of the group to apply for the credit cards. USAA does not accept business projection income on a personal credit applications. USAA has ways of checking the income.

I never received any invites from USAA through any advertisements in 2014. I was never affiliate with any group nor was I affiliate to the .U.S. Military. Never had anyone in the family who had a USAA membership. How I got the 2 affiliate cards was through USAA business partner seedcapital.com who are the one that got the 2 cards WWP and 82nd Airborn mastercard. The personal credit application based on business projection income of $150, 800.00 in the annual income. My income was S.S.I disability in the amount yearly $10, 800.00 from Social Security. USAA unlawfully approved the application. For each of the card was a credit limit $12, 000.00 and $15, 000.00. My credit reports are being destroyed by USAA. It seems that I was deceived by both parties. I would like anyone thoughts on this subject. Thank You

claims, customer service, electronic deposits, all equals time wasted

I have never been so disappointed overwhelmed and helpless. You have made something that wasnt my fault feel like its my fault. One of your insured parties hit my car, totaling it. Completely not my fault, this happened Oct 18 2018, your insured party even filed a claim on scene. I NEVER HEARD ONE SINGLE THING FROM YOU. My insurance had to take care of everything. I finally called myself in November to which i was given a hostvof excuses, take your pick, and was assured additional funds. When i did not receive my funds i xalled and all of acsudden there was a nationwide system issue. Of course there is. I will file a complaint with the bbb as well as tell everyone i talk to what a piss poor business you are, how unresponsive you are, how unprofessional and unapologetic you are. I have lost my job because i havent had a ride to work and now i cannot get my money which is so desperately needed. I hope you all sleep well at night because i sure dont. When these people crashed into me, they ruined my life and your handling of the claim has made it even worse, if thats even possible.

"secured" credit card cancellation

I have had my secured credit card for about 3 yrs and just recently I have been going through major financial hardships and a divorce. Granted, I realize I was a few months behind, but being it was secured with my own money and the history on the account, should have accounted for something. I made a payment of 150.00 on Friday 11/2/18 which brought it out of delinquent status. This is 150.00 that I really didn't have right now, but made it work to get back in good standings just to finds out that they close my account on11/5/18. This card is used for employment and now I am under a major bind as I have to get a loan from a bank to open this account.

Customer Name: Daniel Gold

car loan

On 10/26/2018 I called USAA for a car loan and I was denied the loan due to insufficient credit. An hour later I received a call from a Marcos whom I believed to be from USAA telling me that he was going to help me raise my credit score so that I could get the car loan, we agreed to meet at the Firestone here on base Ft. Lewis that same day at 5:30 p.m.which he never showed up. I called him back and he stated that he was going to resolve this over the phone. He asked me for some personal information and deposited $4000 into my bank account. I was told to buy 8 $500 gift cards and send him photos to telephone #[protected] and that he was going to set up those accounts as secured accounts and that tomorrow I'd be approved for the car loan. The following day I called USAA, I was told that it was a scam, my account has been placed on hold and no one there seems to be helpful. This is the first time something like this has happened to me. I called Marcos back and he's blocked me, my mom called and the number appears to be a Cash advance place in Chicago, my mom threatened to call the FBI and he starts laughing and hangs up. Please investigate, this Marcos person has some sort of affiliation with USAA, because there's no way possible that I apply for a car loan directly with USAA and out of the blue he contacted me.

mortgage

I and my ex-spouse own a home together which he lives in. We decided to refinance and sadly chose USAA (we are both long time members). Boy was THAT a mistake! This should have been relatively simple and straight-forward, but after providing all the initially requested information for both of us, they asked for more... and then more... some of it patently strange or even bizarre - prove that you have unrestricted access to your IRA account... Now, I'm over 70, and have to take the RMD, which my account statements, and an additional special statement from my IRA account investment company that USAA had to have next, over and above the account statements, clearly shows that I do receive this every month direct deposit to my bank. When I asked what exactly they needed to show this "unrestricted access" they couldn't articulate it, just that I needed to provide that documentation! The morning my ex-husband and I were supposed to sign the closing documents (he is in one state, I moved to another state almost 1000 miles away) - AT THE SAME TIME - set up by USAA with the Title Company Service Link several days ago!!! - NOW I get a call from USAA saying NO YOU CANNOT CLOSE signing 2 sets of documents that we will marry together - YOU MUST SIGN THE SAME DOCUMENTS. This means that one of us signs MAYBE Today; then the title company must send the signed (by one party) closing document set to another servicing notary office, via FedEx, for them to then have the other party sign. I shudder to think what the next problem will be... This is NOT the USAA I remember!