The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Direct TVdirectv sucks

Click on the link to see the full complaint

Responses

  • No
    Nola Lopez Oct 15, 2012

    I used to pay my grandmothers bill with our pre paid card that my husbands income check went on . When she went in the nursing home what was in her name got turned off. Cant pay her bills and ours. Six months later direc tv wiped out our cart for 710 dollars and it was not even our bill in our name. They said it was our card on file that is why. They will not give us our money back and will not discuss it to us cause its not our account . What the heck.

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    mfries Oct 14, 2012

    i lost my job and now have no income, called in to see if I could lower my bill to find out that a movie channel that i know for sure I had called in months earlier to request cancellation was still on my bill, they said there was no notes of it on my case so no refund could be given. Just because it was not noted by the agent i spoke to at the time, does not mean this is my darn fault. I had one choice- put my account on hold. I asked about cancelling my account since the reception is horrible every time a gust of wind goes by my house, and they sent out a tech yesterday and that it was fine now. If I wanted to cancel it would be basicly 17 more months of bill costs to cancel, just under $400. I will never recommend this company, and filed a company on the directv website and the BBB website.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    FURIOUS IN NC Sep 19, 2012

    Direct-TV is the worst company to deal with. They have taken $739.96 out of my checking account without permission (and did not owe anything). When I contacted them I was told to complete a dispute form and fax it back to them, which I did, and that I would take 3 days to investigate and I would have the money back in my account in 3 days. After 5 days I called them back and was told that the policy is 10 days. Called several more time and was told that they could not find the money and that I would not get it back until they did. I was furious. One day 25 I received a message from direct TV on my home phone that they had the money and it was taken out of my account in error and a charge back was in process. Well stupid me thought that it would take a few days, I kept check my account NO MONEY of course. On day 28 I called them back and was told that a charge back takes 10 days. Well not so lucky it has now been 35 days and no money. I keep getting the runaround. When I called them yesterday I was told that the charge back had been complete and the money returned to my account. Thing is, it's not. Now they are saying that the charge back will have to be processed again and it will take another 10 days. I am sick of this, I have contacted a lawyer and i am going to sue them.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    sandandtone Sep 07, 2012

    E-mailing iis a waste of time. Calling even bigger waste of time. DirectTV is run by people who don't give a crap. Maybe CEO needs to go on "Undercover Boss" TV show!

    1 Votes
  • Rz
    rzssm11 Aug 25, 2012

    my name is Richard Myers and i have been with, your company for a bout year 11/2 i just need to talk to the VP or a co, asap my #[protected] Thank you for your time.ps call any time.

    1 Votes
  • El
    ElleV Aug 25, 2012

    Directv is a piece of *** company, I've had their service and even worked for the company for a brief period. I quit right after training. They have no code of ethics, they don't give a *** about their customers or employees. They don't make much money from the packages so they will find other ways of squeezing their customers. They will charge your card even without prior authorization because you have the card on file. Beware of their sneaky practices, you have no idea what you are agreeing to in that contract. They can charge your card without your knowledge or consent. They are greedy unconscionable ###. They don't give a *** about their service or customer service. I called those dumb ### 3x to pick up their receivers for the past 3 months and they still haven't sent the recovery kit. I told them since they haven't sent the kit after 3 requests they can come pick it up from the curb cause I'm throwing them away. DIRECTV IS A PIECE OF ### COMPANY RUN BY DUMB ### IDIOTS!!!1

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Robinson Aug 10, 2012

    if you would quit firing or forcing your good employees to quit, you migth know what someone is thinking and mght have been able to keep going. I heard somethings about echo star and hugh.net also. Would you know what that would be? Hugh himself does. Your Fenton MO company knows too much and has done too much w/o proper documents from the DOJ. This will be an issue. I am related to Congress and if the investigtion currently going, is not sufficient or has false statements, I will request them to get a Congressional investigation. And your threat of one porn to another and you special back channels to observe or help judicial observe porn or interior decorating will be exploited. CIA agents weren't going to be expensed w/o you, did you think? The way you tapped w/ frequency just to obtain or view on old phone lines, etc.? come on.

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    ralston Aug 05, 2012

    i had a two year contract and leave my service with my x wife so after three years she started paying late so i call and cut the service when i call i tell the person at directv " cut the service send me a bill for what i owed now i will go get the equipment and take them to my home and reconnect the service " at the time he prorate the bill and i was told i owed 177 dollars i give them my new address but something tell me to wait before i send that 177 so after a week i got a new bill saying i owed 277 dollars because i cancel early so i call directv talk to one a their rep he said that i have two more months leave on my contract i ask him to explain how is that he said he don't have to, i tell him when i open the account in 2010 and when i call to cut the service i also tell him i want the service back but i did not cancel early and all i want him to do is take that 100 dollar they added to my account so i can pay the 177dollars i know i owed, he couldn't tell me why he added that 100 but he wouldn't remove it as well, i want the service because i love their football package but i dont think i should pay for what i don't owed

    2 Votes
  • Mt
    mtmac57 Jul 26, 2012

    Directv is a monopoly. They know they have you in their power and treat you as such. Their programming is exceptional, however their equipment and user interface is horrible. The STB's are slow and the software is atrociousl They care nothing about the customers. The contracted installer obviously used to be garbage men judging on their knowledge and expertise

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pineymom Jul 25, 2012

    Been a customer since 2006. Have 2 receivers. The oldest one crashed and Directv sent me a replacement. Different model. It was 2 days by the time the program guide loaded and I could record. That's when I found out that the 30-second skip, and the Fast Forward didn't work. I was told to plug a phone line into the receiver and wait 3 days - that it was a "known issue" and would be corrected with an update. 3 days later I called again, and was told: Directv has no idea when the fault will be corrected; Directv has no control over what model receiver is sent out, so no replacement will be sent for this defunct model because they could send another one with a "known issue"; Directv can provide me with a HD receiver if I will pay for an upgraded service. I requested a supervisor, no. I requested someone to callback by the end of the day, no. I asked if the two previous techs were lying when they told me the "known issue" would be corrected in 3 days. "That's usually how long it takes." I asked why a receiver with a "known issue" would still be on the shelf. "It does not include all receivers of that model." I asked, what are the odds that both my sister and myself would get defective models? [crickets] I asked how is a major corporation not able to control what models are shipped? [crickets] I advised that not only would I cancel and get another service, but I would advise my sister, and 5 other referred friends to do the same. [crickets]
    Bottom line: nothing you hear from so-called techs is true, just BS to put you off while the company trolls for new customers, who get the receivers without "known issues". These people don't give a crap about customers once you've signed up. Go to cable, or DISH. Even if you get less channels, you'll also get less aggravation, and better customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hosskenny Jul 18, 2012

    I agree totally with the direct TV misrepresentation of their product this is the first time i ever make a complaint but iam a new customer i asked about costs and was told one thing but charged different by different i mean more. i was never told about any separate charges . I have only been with them for one month and was told that they were sorry but i would have to pay. And now iam stuck with them for two years because of the agreement. my agreement also said i have nick and other channels that i don't get that should brake the contract . I have been with dish for many years but i guess i fell for some sales pitch items. all i think direct TV should tell the customer about all costs up front so there is no susprises when the bill comes.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Gardner Jul 18, 2012

    I just got directv and I already hate the company. I was suppose to get HD/DVR player but they brought at DVR player. So I called the 531-5000 number and he said I could have it at a $10 a month fee and I told him that my DVR recorder wasnt working. I was told I had to activate it at another $8 extra. So now Im stuck with this for 2 yrs. It so sucks. The CEO knows how to screw the customers. I guess we should be use to it because our government does it every day. A VERY UNSATIFIED CUSTOMER IN KY.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raymond Rios Jul 15, 2012

    you advertise that yo can get HBO, showtime, c-max on the computer. i am a paying customer, i give you my email address and still gives me error. what gives, and said that person already has it. well i am that person. i don`t know what my password is and it should be the same as my email thank you Raymond Rios, fix the problem

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Grundman Andreatos Jul 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr. Michael White is the new CEO -

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dove27 Jun 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When I call to cancel service after over two years of service to get my deposit back and to avoid any cancellation fees, I am going to tell the CSR du jour that we did NOT have a "meeting of minds" when I called customer service and had my programming changed a few months ago so that did not constitute a new contract between us. That is the definition of contract, and if they pull up our telephone conversation, I was not informed I was entering into a new contract at the time, so they acted illegally by creating one fecklessly. Everyone should use this as the perfect way to avoid getting stuck with their illegal and nefarious BS. This should work for anyone who completed the basic terms but changed service or equipment, or moved sometime during their term and Directv is trying to charge them for early cancellation because they renewed a contract (what a load). A meeting of minds by all parties is imperative to legally a contract make. If one doesn't know a contract is being implemented in one's name, then one cannot be held responsible for it, no matter what that contract says, even if it reads otherwise. This should drive the CSR nuts and will beg for an acceleration to Directv's legal department who will crumble when faced with a small claims suit. Make sure you take notes, dates and names, and threaten arbitration or small claims if they don't back down and return what's left of your deposit and release you of any cancellation fees they might want to charge you. One more thing, before you make the call, call your bank or credit card company and block them from being allowed to charge your card(s) or bank accounts - this is very important. This would be the first thing they would do, probably when you are on the phone with them - charge you first and worry about paying you back later, so prevent any further payments before you call. You can also invoke the class action lawsuit that is pending in CA against them for their evil deeds if they are reluctant. It was filed in '08 and is still being considered, as the numbers grow to half a million for the plaintiff. Because it hasn't been thrown out as Directv has requested several times, they are sweating it big time and know they'll be paying everyone eventually, they might as well pay you now. Well done, CA, and good luck to you all. Fight the good fight and stop these big corporations from ripping off the little guy because they can. It's time to stop them once and for all!

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Limuman Jun 23, 2012

    Just tried emailing your address, got kicked back. Why are you afraid of the complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sewsewgrandma May 23, 2012

    Sorry I didn't see that he stated he was an installer. Have nothing against them but the customer service representatives in the billing department SUCK!!! The customer service department was okay but once you get to billing, they think they are mightier than thou. What happens when you put idiots in a role of power. But what goes around, comes around. Everyone needs to remember the Lord giveth and he can also take away. Remember who you step on climbing up that ladder. You will see them as you fall and they might not be willing to reach out a hand to help save you.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sewsewgrandma May 23, 2012

    Person above must work for Directv. They totally suck. I have been a customer for over 8 years. In thee past 6 monthes my husband was hospitalized twice with bills totaling over $100, 00 and no insurance. I also lost a grand baby who died 1 hour after birth just 3 months ago. It has been a stressful year. Being financially strapped, I had to disconnect service. Well they state that I owe them $144.80. Service was disconnected in March. I paid using my new credit card, which by the way I had to go get because my bank put a hard freeze on the other one because someone was in another state trying to use it to charge hotel rooms. This was on the day of my grandsons funeral. So I know I paid in February because he was born on January 30th and buried a couple days later, hence the new card was not active until February. Well after disconnection, I kept getting harassing phone calls, not polite. I tried to explain the situation and offered to make some arrangements. Well low and behold, they permanently disconnected my service at the end of April which was fine. But after going to the bank Monday to deposit money to pay off 2 of the medical bills---I get online to pay and discover I don't have the funds. Directv took the $144.80 out of my account without authorization. Contacted them and the first lady was extremely nice, especially since I was delirious and in tears. Then was connected with billing. What bleeps! After finally getting no where withe the first lady, asked to speak to a supervisor which was worst. Explained the situation to her and was told that when I called and put the credit card on file, I was told that if any money was owed, they would do that. Told her in no uncertain terms that I did not call and put a credit card on file, had just paid my February bill with one. Told her that I wanted to see the paperwork, etc. agreeing to this. Never signed up for direct bill pay or recurring payments.Went round and round for about 30 minutes to no avail. Finally was told to go to the bank and file paperwork, which I had already tried but the payment was still pending. Told her that I was going to and if that didn't work they would be hearing from an attorney. Also told her that when I decided to jump off the overpass by my house, I would make sure my children sued them for everything they are worth. I have been under so much stress and Directv just thinks they can do whatever they please. But on top of that, I just left the bank and it may just work. I filed the paperwork anyway but was told that since I owed them money, I may not get it back. These large companies can just screw the little folks with no way for us to fight back. I do understand that I owe them some money, not what they say, and tried to make some arrangements. But no, that was not good enough for them. When lying face down in the dirt, they have to come along and step on your head and push your face harder in the dirt. Also told teem to come pick up their dishes--yes dishes--since they were too lazy to move the old one when I went to HD. If they don't I am going to take a hammer and smash them to pieces and throw them into the woods. The receivers are mine. I paid for them. Then they can try to get money out of my account because I put a block on the old card and had it destroyed and was issued a new one. No HA! to you Directv!!! You won't screw me again. Sue if you like. What are you going to get. I have nothing. Every penny goes out on medical bills. Not even enough to buy groceries. My dad had been giving me money to pay the light bill. If not for the kindness of others----which is not Directv---I would have jumped off from that overpass.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    ringo67 May 21, 2012

    Hooray; we just canceled after ten years of Direct TV. When our service that started out $39.95 became $69.95, my wife started calling to cancel. Every time she called she'd be passed on to a manager (specialist who's job it is to "save the account"). She would finally negotiate a better deal for an agreed period of time, either 6 or 12 months, and I'd give in and say okay, we'll keep the service. Problem was, they'd always hit our credit car for more than we agreed, every time. The reps lie, they say anything to get you to NOT cancel. This has gone on for several years and I finally settled it, we cancelled. We owe them $37 and change that I will gleefully pay. I appreciate all of the good info here; I even read some of these complaints to the rep on the phone, and told him if they hassle me, turn me over to collections, or fail to send me the box for their equipment, that I'll be in touch with my State Attorney General immediately. These people could not possibly survive in a true, free market economy. All media is controlled by the same people, and Direct TV is part of the scam. Boycott the entertainment media; they have turned Americans into brain dead apathetic zombies. As for me and my house, we will read books and talk! Thanks to all who have posted here.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AngryFace Apr 30, 2012

    Having very similar problem!!!

    0 Votes
  • Us
    u suck dtv Apr 28, 2012

    yep. Directv SUCKS! the equipment is terrible and their service is the worst. i dont have time to waste slamming other people online in these forums but im pissed so here i am. i have had very similar experiences in that i have spent hours on phone with a hundred people trying to get something done. i needed a new reciever because the one i had was not functioning properly and when they swapped it i apparently reset my 2 yr contract. noone told me this and i signed nothing but was penalized by having to put up with this [email protected] for even longer than 2 yrs. because they say with new equipment comes a new 2 yr. deal. and i thought comcast was bad. i would trade these headaches for a fricken antennae if i could. please share the email of CEO! id like a word with that fat rich pos...

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    need honest Apr 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TO ALL DIRECT TV PEOPLE THEY ARE LIERS WHICH IN MY BUSINESS I HATE A LIER. I WAS TOLD FROM THERE CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT MY BILL WOULD BE 48.00 AND SOME CHANGE FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS AND GET MY BILL AND IT'S 88.47. THIS IS WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE WORLD YOU HAVE TO LIE TO HAVE A JOB. MY BUSINESS DON'T LIE NEITHER DOES MY EMPLOYEES. 100% HONEST WHICH I THINK EVERY BUSINESS SHOULD BE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mirrocraft Apr 17, 2012

    this comp sucks i called let them know i lost my job they said that i owed 60 but and all would happen is it will suspend my account till i paid the today i open my back account 240 buck out of my checking account that only had 73 bucks in the first place i called them and said if i had the money i would have paid if i didnt have 60 how the hell would i have 240 and i never said they could keep my card on file and just pull money when they felt like it they said deal with my back its my problem my back says i have to wait at least 30days to give directtv a chance to refund hoping blowing up this phone number gets me somehwere

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SANDY1959 Apr 06, 2012

    OMG ia signed up with Direct TV and have had nothing but problems and I have only had it 7 days. I tried to call on 5 different occasions only to be hung up on by their customer service people. I just sent several email out and have called the people who sold me this from Sam's club. What a rotten terrible company. I have never in my life been hung up on by a company because they did not have the answers. Now I am afraid I will end up having to pay the entire fee. I told them take me to court go ahead. Here is South Dakota we don't treat people like that. I agreed to pay for a service I did not get my service so I should not have to pay. This company needs to fire half the customer service staff and start over. Direct TV has been the worst experience of my life. I would rather pay more and get great customer service then to pay somone to treat me like ### like Direct TV does. If they ever come up to you and tell you they have a great deal for you RUN, RUN AWAY FAST!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Armadillo Artist Mar 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a huge complaint about the Refer-A-Friend program...
    I signed up for DirectTV a year ago. Love it! My neighbor has been interested in signing up with DirecTV ever since. I gave her my bill so we could EACH receive the $100 rebate...which is actually $10 off each of our bills for the next 10 months. Anyway, she signed up with a gentleman outside of Walmart. He had his little booth and charming attitude along with a pocket full of lies.He said she didn't need my account number and signed her up right then and there. He told her that he only needed my name and address in order for us to receive our $100s. The 2-year contract was signed and the little liar was all smiles and fallacies. The installer put her equipment in and she commenced to watching TV. Six weeks later, I called to see where our $100s were and poop hit the fan...Lord, bless their stone cold hearts. The first young lady put me on hold for several minutes but soon thereafter confirmed that neither my neighbor nor I were linked to a Refer-A-Friend discount. But, alas, it was "no problem to get this straighted out!" She patched me through to Stacy. Stacy is a mean-hearted woman, who I am sure has a hard time making friends. She explained that because my neighbor never gave the representative my account number, we were not privy to the discount. I explained that the lying poop shoveler told us that he would "take care of the details and not to worry". My next inquiry was to her supervisor (the guy at the next desk?) Paul said it was too late to establish this discount because the equipment was installed 3 weeks ago. What? He was sure that I understood because I was the kind of person that followed the rules and the RULES said that when my neighbor signed up, she had to have my account number right then. So because a representative of the company needed to meet his quota, my friend and I are out of our $100s. What a disappointment. I hope that lying representative has a tough time sleeping at night! And, as far as the supervisor is concerned...kiss my lilly white tulips for not helping two little old ladies.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob spivey Mar 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a good customer for 612 years! my wife dies of cancer .and its hard to stay living in this state but i have good job but i could be getting laid off sometime in the future, when i do iam just going to hit the road, where? i don't know, how long? i don't know!!!
    i would like to upgrade to digital direct TV and they tell me i have to sign a 2year contract when i have been a customer for 61/2years already.i don't under stand, and your employee is rude and tells me to go sign up with someone else if i don't like it, is this is not very professional ! when all i would like is to pay you more money for digital reception but i cant do it unless i sign for 2 year contract and i cant do that do to my job(government funded) can you help me? or do i change to something else to get digital and yes they will tell me the same thing. but iam all ready your customer? yes i do like direct tv, but now its the principal of the manner!!! can you please help me out, or do i just watch regular tv that has digital reception for free?
    Bob Spivey
    8003 Madeira Dr.
    Pasco, WA. 99301
    customer # is [protected]
    please reply asap
    e-mail adDress is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    K_Beemer Mar 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    if you ever have equipment you needed returned, and you see a DirecTV van, flag the driver down and give the boxes to them and they will return it to the warehouse where the devices will get deactivated off of your account, otherwise be responsible for your own sake and keep calling, never refrain from requesting a supervisor if you aren't being properly addressed! Also, if you are entirely fed up with DirecTV, just switch to something else, that is your right as a consumer and no one will stop you! On a very important note, DirecTV isn't responsible for the programming that these channels have on them, that is controlled by the networks producing those programmings, if you want to see a change, talk to them and make it happen. "unchienne" made the perfect statement about everything in their post above, so give it a read! I work for the company as an installation technician and I will say flat out that we have the absolute best customers, , and I am proud of that. We've taken great strides forward over the last year under new leadership to help propel our customer service into the future, positively, and much is being done to further that ambition. Just remember, if you have been with the company for years, or just got it installed and are not happy, there are so many creative channels available for you to be heard. This is a place for that, however it seems it's been more of a ventilation zone for most! I reside in the Seattle market! Hope only for the best for everyone here. Stay dry!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LIVID CUSTOMER2 Mar 14, 2012

    i HAD A ONE YEAR CONTRACT AS WELL AND WAS DISCONNECTED AFTER ONE YEAR CONTRACT WAS UP. THEY ARE TRYING TO CHARGE ME FOR AN EARLY CONCELLATION FEE AS WELL. PLUS, BECAUSE I MADE A PAYMENT ONLINE WITH MY DEBIT CARD IN THE PAST, THEY HAD IT ON FILE SO DECIDED TO TAKE MONEY OUT WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE OR PERMISSION OR EXPLANATION OF CHARGES. I CALLED AND THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THAT THEY WILL NOT BE CREDITING IT BACK TO MY ACCOUNT DUE TO EARLY CANCELLATION FEE. SERIOUSLY??????? I AM REPORTING THIS AS FRAUD TO MY ACCOUNT AND WILL NEVER EVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY AGAIN!!! I AM SO PISSED OFF AND I AM GOIN TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE FTC AS WELL.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Fixit Mar 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had run into financial problem back in Dec. of 2011 and could not pay my bill to Direct TV when my services were disconnected. Recently we were able to afford the service again and had the service turned back on with minimal payment and a small reconnect fee, which was fine. I have three seperate boxes and while the two rooms worked, the bedroom did not. I called the service deprtment where the technician (Ha) told me there was a 3"x5" box that needed to be reset. I new there was no box, but she insisted and I began looking for this box while she held to the line, as I craweled through the attic on my quest for this box. I could not hold the phone while I craweled thropugh the insolation of my attic and told the tech I would call back when I found the box.
    The box was not there, as I new it wasn't, and I called back getting another technician. The tech had me open the corner of the box reciever and give him the number, he asked me to wait and connected the reciever from his location. We watched programming until we turned the box off that night.
    The next morning the box would not work again. I called Tech Service and attemted to get the tech to reset the box as the previous day. She said that it was not possible to do so. The Tech person said that an appointment would be made to check the lines and it would cost me $59 bucks for the in-house service..."Rediculous!" I said. I hung up and tried a different Tech, hoping I would get one that new how to solve the problem.
    This Tech had me checking all the connections and I ended back up in the attic checking multiple couplers, splices and foot upon foot of unsecured lines. None of the splices were tight or secured and coils of wire left dangerously in the opening of my attic entrance.
    I tightend the "hand tight" connectors and the service to the reciever came on as I could hear it from the attic space. As I craweled from the attic servicing the poorly assembled cables, I was hung in the line and fell backwards down the later hitting my side to the door opening, scraping my schin and hitting my head loosing work for days and crippling my, already fused back..
    I was to pay for a service that was not installed properly, was not secured and was hand tightened. I craweled for hours looking for a box that doesn't exist and was sent to several technicians that I have doubts of their experience level. Then ended up hurt and crippled because a installer was to lazy to put the cable in correctly and had no one to answer to for his installation...codes for example.
    Any way, I am pissed and sending notification to corporate Direct TV with pictures of the installation and my injuries.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dirwillscrewu Mar 06, 2012

    Watch out Direct-TV . I was grandfather in to DIRECT TV because I was with company that was bought by Direct-TV .
    I cancel there service bill was getting higher each year. After that Direct TV sent me bill for $450 for my equipment
    that bought.many years ago

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous12340 Mar 05, 2012

    DirectTV is so frustrating to have! They are just full of ###!! It's so upsetting how Customer Service can't help you with a simple thing. It's so ###ing easy to see that what you need is manageable and they can't even do it. Is this even a legit company?? Are these people working educated or what?? I'm not even complaining fo my bill right now. Even though it goes up unexpectedly. You start off with one amount (not even the amount they informed you when installing, but something different) and later on it's something else again. I'm just trying to remove those movie channels they give you as a trial, but not being authorizied on the account, which I was suppose to be because I communicated with them during signing up. Now that's their mistake by not adding me, although my phone number and email is the one listed. I just don't get it how these people can be stubborn. And now leading me to corporate. BS!! I just asked for a simple thing. But no they want to wait until my trial is over so they can sneak up on charging us. I'm not even gonna go on my other experiences, I can't wait to move out where DirectTv is not the only cable option in my building.

    0 Votes
  • El
    ELGuy Mar 05, 2012

    I have been a customer of DirecTV for almost 10 years. From the day they installed it I have had nothing but complaints for DirecTV. It started with the contractor for DirecTV lying to me about the service. He had a hard time finding a place to put the satellite. I asked and he just mentioned the trees were in the way, so he would have to get a pole and charge us for it to put on the ground. This was done in the fall of the year so we had no way of knowing when the trees bloomed this would interfere with the reception of local channels. As the years went on it got worse and worse. Now from April until the end of November we get no local channels. This same contractor for DirecTV got us for $50. My husband told me to write a check for part of the bill and give him $50 cash. Well I was not thinking and gave him total amount on check and the cash. Caught it right away, called contractor on his cell phone, as he had called for directions. All he did was ignore me. Called office and they said there was nothing they could do because he was contracted out for company. Just had another mistake by company. I have been charged for 6 receivers for 5 months when I should have been charged for 2, of course we get 1 free. When I updated they gave me my 3 receivers but didn't subtract 3. I have used the same checking account since I purchased DirecTV. 3 Months in a row they put my account in wrong and charged me for the mistake. The checks kept being returned and found out through my bank they didn't put the 3 o's in that started my account. Had to pay over $400 to keep my account on. I was talked to and treated like someone who had their checks bounced. It is still on my account and have been trying to talk to someone other than a supervisor. At times they have been helpful, but for the most the representatives and supervisors have been rude. At times I was given specials but the money they have cost me and the aggravation is unbelievable. I broke my back so I relied on the TV to get by. I would never go back to cable, but want the people who work @ DirecTV get a course on how not to make so many mistakes, and how not to be so rude. We pay a lot for our entertainment. My husband and I are both disabled and on a fixed income. Left up to my husband we would be back on cable. The features are great on DirecTV, the mistakes not. They also made a mistake with our Baseball Package. Not understanding, they automatically give it to you the next year if you subscribe one year. They got us one year like that. The following year gave it to us again after telling them, screaming at them 4 times to not add it the next year, still cost us. We both are in and out of hospital and have bill paperless. Computer down most of time, so we just call in check to pay bill. After finding today's mistake, I will now have bills sent to house. Hope someone can help me with all these mistakes.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHERRIECE JONES Mar 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVE BEEN WITH DIRECT TV FOR YRS!!! I CALLED INTO TODAY FOR THIS SO CALLED SUPERVISOR NAMED SANDRA TO TELL ME THAT I SKIPPED A PAYEMENT AND THATS WHY MY BILL WAS SO HIGH!!!NO BABYGIRL STOP THE DAME PRESS !!! I PAY MY BILL FAITHFULY EVERY MONTH!!! I CALLED TO TELL THEM I WANTED MY PACKAGE REDUCED THEY SAID NO, NO VALUED CUSTOMER WE CAN DISCOUNT YOUR BILL EVERY MONTH FOR 6 MONTHS SO I AGREEDED.I STATRED GETTING BILLS SAYING I HAD PASS DO BALANCES THE HIGHEST WAS 294.00 DOLLARS???!!!SO I CALLED IN 6 DIFFRENT TIME AND GOT 6 DIFFRENT EXSPLINATIONS TO WHY THIS WAS HAPPING.NEVER DID ANYONE SAY I SKIPPED A PAYMENT THEY ALL SAID MY DISCOUNTS HADN'T KICKED IN. WHAT THE HELL???HOW DID YOU GO FROM MY DISCOUNTS HAND'NT KICKED IN TO THEY MADE A MISTAKE ON MY BILL ALL THE WAY TO I DIDNT PAY??!!I PISSED OFF!!! IV NEVER HAD THIS MUCH TROUBLE WITH THE SERVICE THIS FAKE SUPERVISOR DID NOTHEN TO HELP IN SO MANY WORDSSHE SAI I WAS TRYING TO GET OVER!!! I DIDNT ASK FOR ANY DISCOUNTS THEY OFFERD AND HOW CAN YOU GOIVE DISCOUNTS IF A PASS DUE HAS BEEN OWED FOR 5 MONTHS AND STILL HAVE MY CABLE ON???? THAT MAKES NO SENSE!!! IM MAD AND HURT !!! IWOULD NEVER TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ANY THING OR ANY ONE !!! THEY SAY MY PAST DUE BALANCEIS 155.00 THEY CAN HAVE IT!!!I WILL NO LONGER BE A CUSTOMER WITH THEM..IM NO THEIF AND I DONT APPERICATE BEING TREATED AS SUCH!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maria reese Feb 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I want direct tv east not west...when they first installed my direct tv I had east, now they tell me I can't have east..this is one big pain, my shows on west are on much too late..I always had east and there is no probable excuse why I can't have it back..I know plenty of people in our area that have east..what is direct tv's problem...I might as well go back to disch tv!!!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambermoto Feb 13, 2012

    Let me guess..You Connected to Direct cinema connect? online? thay did the same thing to me

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennhw Feb 06, 2012

    To make this story short, I was told by several sales reps for Directv that I would be able to hook up 4 tv's with one dvr and be able to watch all tvs and record two more stations or be able to record up to 6 different programs at once. This is completely not true. To fix my issue and not have the drv tv changing channels all the time and to stop having things not record because someone is watching a tv, the people on the phone kept telling me to keep the dvr on two tvs, then get each of the other two tv's their own dvr (one for each kid so there are no conflicts). Then I'm told that I have to pay $200 for that because it wasn't on the original order. But with my original order I was told I'd have all the features of having three dvrs in my home, but with only one. The highest level supervisor I could speak to on the phone refused to let me speak at all, just telling me to give them $200 or cancel my service. I canceled and also wanted the $25 I paid for installing since I did not get what I was told I would get and the man hung up on me! I didn't have directv for 24 hours even! And now I have to pay the dish network guy $65 because the directv installer cut all of the dish lines, in more than one place. And he had to go out of his way to do this because he installed the directv from a different area!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nic Summers Feb 05, 2012

    I cancelled my account with DirecTV 2 minutes ago because they allow their channel providers to advertise on a good during the shows that I'm trying to watch. I feel DTV will respond they have no control over the content. I suggest they do. If enough people cancel their service, they will listen.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    plain_blaine Feb 04, 2012

    I was charge for time I did not have service wich magically appeared when closing account buyers beware no wonder netflix is so popular not as much BS

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiabay Jan 23, 2012

    Show Details FROM:Tia Hallenbeck TO:[email protected] CC:[email protected] Message flagged Saturday, January 21, 2012 6:31 PM
    To Whom it My Concern,

    I recently enrolled to become a Direct Tv customer on January 9th of this year. Two days later the installer tried to install the service but couldn't find a signal and promised me my checking account would be credited in the amount of $219.95.
    To make a long story short my account was never credited and I had to call personally and cancel out the Direct Tv service myself on Jan.17th. I ended up closing out my checking account because of a personal matter and didn't realize my account wasn't credited until it was to late. I called last week and was informed that my check was in the mail. So when i didn't receive it this week i called again. Only to be put on hold over and over and be told that i couldn't be found in the computer under my telephone number, address, name, DIRECTV Order Confirmation, or DIRECTV Account Number:
    I am having a very hard time finding out where my refund is. And also the time its going to take me to receive it. I'm not in the fanatical situation where i could wait as long as 6 - 8 weeks. Please Help

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daaun Jan 09, 2012

    I have been with this company for 7 years. We had our bill paid up to date. We were not under contract. We were told our bill was going to be over $400. When I asked them why they said that we had to pay for the promotional services we had received. I told them we were offered these services for free for being a long time customer. It fell on deaf ears and the refused to take off the charges.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.