Direct TVstay away - direct tv sucks!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My friend and I had been considering changing from cable to Direct TV. Since my friend is from the Ukraine, she was very interested in the Russian channels offered by Direct TV, I called Direct TV to inquire about the channels. After I called and talked to several different representatives, I was offered a 30 day trial period. I asked the representative if I decided to cancel before the end of my trial period would I owe anything. I was told by this gentlemen, no, nothing. I asked what I going to do with the equipment and I was told I would be sent boxes for their return. He said, "You might as well try it, you have nothing to lose". On November 15, 2006 we decided to try it. Unfortunately, the Russian channel offered on Direct TV was not what we were looking for so on December 8, 2006, I called to cancel and return the equipment. It was then I was first made aware of the "charge" for early cancellation. I informed the nice young lady that I had a 30 day return policy and she told me that the equipment being returned was not part of the return policy. I informed her that I was told there would be no charges. She told me that when I received my bill I could protest the charge. On January 17, 2007, I received my first call from the billing department asking me when I was going to pay my bill. I told the lady that I have not received a bill from Direct TV. I received a collection phone call from Focus Receivable Management March 2.

What ever you do do not EVER use Direct TV. They will lie to you to get your business and then go back on their word. I ordered Direct TV and was told I have a 30 trial period and it was after I canceled I found out that there was a charge after 7 days for the equipment. Then they started harassing me about paying the bill BEFORE I received it in the mail. I protested it and they sent my bill to a collection agency without sending me another bill. I turned them into the Better Business Bureau and they did not care they still insist on me paying for a bill that their employee lied to me about. I cannot say this any better except "STAY AWAY - Direct TV sucks!!!" and they do not care.

Responses

  • Sh
    shirley ariola Jan 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have had prob for the last 4 months I am going with dish network as I will b able to converse in English and b understood, direct has hijacked me and they cannot seem to get it right, they even cannot understand I want to cancel their service, is a big runaround while trying to collect more money I do not owe, they do not accept cancel as an option, fed up with them

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anti-AT&T Sep 27, 2019

    Directv cancellation policy with zero tolerance for pro-ration after bill has generated is complete BS. My two year commitment was done on 8/25/19 (Sunday) which is the same date as "auto-generated" bill that is their letter of the law. Once it generates, you're obligated for full payment for that billing cycle. Kudos to AT&T have that pathetic zero pro-rating policy in their cancellation Terms and Conditions which I didn't read until too late.

    I switched to DISH for more programming and more HD channels in a comparable package for $58 less per month. My Directv was completely disconnected on the 8/25/19 and I had equipment back to them on 9/4/19. After my fifth call to ask that my bill be credited as no services were rendered I'm going to eat $150.48 to this lousy company. Directv was a decent company at one time, had them for over 13 consecutive years at one time. However, AT&T destroyed what the company once was.

    I will never do business with any AT&T company and as for eating the $150.48 to this lousy company? All I can say is it will cost AT&T 10X plus what I'm going to eat with vandalism to their properties, trucks and/or equipment, BECAUSE I'M THAT DAMN MAD! That's a promise, not a threat.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John2265 Sep 14, 2019

    I've called 4 TIMES! in 3 months about our ON DEMAND not working... I've gotten a different run-around each time.. resetting this button, turning this button off blah blah blah.  Sometimes I can understand the person on the phone other times it's guesswork.  I hate this company sooo much my wife is the one who switched over.  WE STIILL PAY FOR ON DEMAND BUT IT DOESN'T WORK!!!    If I call today I'll get some ignoramus who says they are "sorry" over and over... and guess what?  I'll still get the same "SORRY! we have no programs at this time that match the filter you selected" when I click on on Demand!!?!

    Direct TV S**$s!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Buddy Luv Mar 17, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV has gotten so bad ever since ATT took over. I have already paid for the month of March but I'm not going to pay for April. What makes me so mad is I get calls from them wanting me to get the premium channels I don't want to pay for more channels I can't get. Everyday I have to reset the system this suck. I may not make through April I might call them and tell to pick there crap up on the crud.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    June Jan 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I urge all people with complaints about Direct TV and their deceptive sales practices to sell their service to people to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. There is a page there for filing complaints against internet and TV providers.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray Browell Jun 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    People!!! Do NOT I repeat do NOT EVER give DirecTv any credit card info to pay your bill. It will mean you dont get service but oh well. There is a clause in their terms number 5E that says once you enter a credit or debit card, you automatically authorize them to debit your account any monies owed on your account. I do not dispute that I owed them money. What I dispute is I NEVER agreed to that term. I was standing in Walmart when I signed up for service. I talked to the salesman and he put me on the phone with a lady and she set me up and toolk my card info for the first months payment. Fine. BUT this is where FULL DISCLOSURE should prevail. The do not tell you about section 5E in their terms NOR do they ask you if you have reviewed their terms of service on their website and agree to it. Had this a been explained to me, i would never have agreed.

    I had money issues so I did the right thing and called to cancel my account. I was told no I was not able to cancel until I was paid in full. What?? I then proceeded to tell the lady I was just trying to be honest and do the right thing and get their equipment back to them and I understand their is a 20$ per month fee for early cancellation. is was 2 weeks before I got the return box by which time they had already hit my bill for $425 in fees for unreturned equipment. I just got the friggin return box!!! I am already in collections and my account was JUST cancelled the 26th of may and we are now only June 18th!! WTF!!!

    Lesson, if you do sign up, use a pre paid card and ONLY keep enough money on it to pay your monthly bill and no more than. These people are crooks and will rip you off BAD!! Do not fall for their scams. And also I had to go to my bank, file a complaint and then cancel my debit card so they could not hit it again if they tried. Now instead of me paying them in full like I was going to, they can let the collection agency get $5 a month from me for the nest 2 years!!! Good riddance DirecTv!! You my friends SUUUUUUUUCK!

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quan Bui May 18, 2016

    After having with DirectTV. I have to say: Direct TV. They are the worst company I have ever been with. Just cancel the service after 1 year and a month. They told me that I have 10 months left in the contract so that I need to pay a fine of 20$ each month which is 200$ fee. Anyway, if anyone want to consider Direct TV, just stay away, that's it.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pissedoffworse Feb 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV succcccs!
    Our DVR died taking some precious recordings of a news segment with it that we will never be able to get back.
    They have no way of repairing and taking the data of the DVR. What the heck am I paying for only to have it crash and burn?
    I will definitely not renew my contract after it's done. I'm not going to get any other service either. TV shows are 100% garbage anyway.
    The amount of nudity, profanity and stupid reality shows is off the charts. Not paying for it anymore!!!

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yukon Balomey Feb 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Watch out when terminating service!
    So I canceled service and payed the final bill in December, 1 month later in January received another bill with a zero balance thought I was done, Nope! it is now February and I see my credit card was charged $20.00. I called them and they said they reviewed cards i sent back from the boxes and see that there were PPV movies from October that were not paid for. I said wouldn't those charges show up in the November bill? he said there was and interruption in internet service so the charge was never sent. My boxes are from 2005 there is no internet connection only a phone line. it doesn't make sense, they obviously authorized me to watch it so it must have sent a signal to their servers? Why didn't you send me an itemized bill so that I might reconcile. I will be reversing charges. I was with them for 10 years and my picture was getting bad. Asked about an upgrade as I purchased a smart Tv and the upgrade charges were ridiculous. I canceled and got cable for more services and cheaper. After you cancel, they tell you that they are not sure why the tech's told me it would cost money since my equipment was so old I could have gotten free upgrades and $50 off my monthly bill. Really? They are either complete buffoons or crooked swindlers. Actually they are both! I hate them and would rather have no TV than deal with them

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina damato Jan 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NEVER AGAIN! I CAN'T EVEN CANCEL!!!
    A Direct TV door-to-door salesman came to our house. He explained that I had nothing to loose. I would pay 50% less and I wouldn't loose any channels and they would install the satellite on the phone pole, rather than my house. LIES! They not only installed the satellite on my NEW ROOF, but they also broke my TV. Later, I found out that I DID lose some of my favorite channels, most PUBLIC TELEVISION! In order to get back some of the channels, like National Geographic, I had to upgrade! I still don't have PBS. I wanted to cancel my service, and on several occasions I attemted to do so, but every time they just kept trying to give me free stuff and transferred me to another person and another person until I finally gave up and hung up the phone.
    THE LAST STRAW: Discover Card has a Spend Analysis; at the end of the year, you can look at your bill and see what categories you are spending money on. Then there is a list of charges, like with like. I noticed my Direct TV had been charging me $120.00 / month, rather than $66.00 / month for about 6 months, all in the name of NFL Ticket. This was an almost $800.00 difference! I don't watch sports, I don't take freebees because they never are free. I called CS (on hold on and off for over 1 hour) but they refused to help me. I had to call Discover, almost in tears, and report the unauthorized charges.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leisa Gunter Jan 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had problems with Direct TV ever since I've had it, so when I moved I couldn't wait to send their equipment back & sign up with someone else. I called, and the lying little weasel I talked to told me if I would stay with Direct TV my bill would never be more than $91.00 a month. (It's never been LESS than $104.90 since he said it). Also, the tech who hooked me up told me he had fixed my DVD player connection so that I could use one remote. I had a death in the family and never even checked the DVD player for about 3 months. When it wouldn't play & I tried programming the remote and still wouldn't play--called Direct TV and spent 30 minutes listening to some "GIRL" tell me that something was wrong with my DVD player, and they weren't responsible for the DVD player--only the TV. So--one day I was finally able to move the very heavy entertainment center and look behind the TV. THe cords from the DVD player are just dangling in the air. I have no idea what they connect to. Long & Short--I will never be so STUPID again.! When this contract is up, I hope I NEVER hear the words "Direct TV" again. Lying, cheating uses pieces of GARBAGE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    run from direct tv Aug 19, 2014

    direct tv has nfl package for the 2014 / 2015 season and then it expires so dont sign two year deal for one season.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deannacupons Apr 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My DTv bill keeps changing. I call them cause it went up. They lower it. The next month it goes up again. Can't wait till my contract is over. This month the bill went back down again. I haven't even called them. We paid: $29.54 in July 2012 to start this fiasco. Then it went to $56.72. Then $25.60 then back to $56.72. Then $53.32 then back to $56.72 for 3 months. Then $60.34 from March to July of 2013 then "the doubling" began. That's when your 1 year discount runs out. August 2013 it went to $92.03. Sept 2013 $109.01. I think we called at that point to see if we could lower it. They somehow dropped it to $97.69 from October 2013 to Feb 2014. It went up a couple of the months between but I called and did the hour long dance with the CSR's and got it "fixed". But it keeps fluctuating. March 2014 $90.90, April 2014 $113.54, and this month May 2014 its back down to $90.90. Seems to me they are counting on people paying their bills without looking so they can charge more and hope no one notices. Not sure why they don't go to jail for that. Corporations are starting to get the same immunity from the law as politicians. A bit scary if you ask me. I digress. I really like DTv's DVR box compared to the dinosaur we got through Comcast. I haven't had much trouble with the signal except in heavy storms. Here in central FL it is usually sunny. Never had to call DTv for repair except for once after the initial install. They tried to get us to pay for the service call. I said it hasn't been up there a week. Come and fix it or take it back. They came and fixed it. The tech said he had to adjust the dish. Good thing too because I refuse to pay their fee to cover their own equipment. I have a feeling they messed it up on purpose to get the extra $$ for the service call. Seemed fishy at the time. Now it really seems fishy since we haven't had any trouble since. I do not like DTv's marketing, billing or customer service. I always get the run around when talking to them. Usually have to spend more than an hour on the phone to get something resolved. The billing is ridiculous. Fees for this, fees for that. Credits for this, credits for that. Not sure why they start out giving you stuff then showing that you get it for free on your bill by charging you for it then crediting you back. They have some sort of double savings thing going right now. I got an ad in the mail. Its also on the front page of the website just like in the mailer. It says offers start at $29.99 p/mo (crossed out) with $24.99 p/mo next to it. The fine print: for the first 12 months of the 24 month contract) Of course. That's their m.o. So I went on the website... Can't find the $24.99 p/mo. Even when I click on the Select package that says $24.99 right there next to the button you have to click. I can only end up at $29.99 p/mo. I'm not planning on renewing my contract. I was just curious at what I would be paying for the second year if I signed up today. Well turns out with my DVR and the second tv box options it would be $70.99 + maybe 8 or 9 dollars tax. Still $10 cheaper than I'm paying now and that's with their new Genie DVR. So you get better treatment if you aren't a customer than you do if you are. I suggest to anyone who has the wherewithal that you hook up a computer to your tv to record shows and get your stations form the internet via Hulu, Amazon, Crackle, FIOS, etc and/or use a digital antenna. This contract crap is bs. My wife signed up for it almost 2 years ago. She's not allowed to sign anything ever again without me being present. That was her rule. She hates it more than I do. She said she felt rushed through the singing up because our 4 year old was in one ear and the 2 DTv salesmen were in the other. Which, by the way, are neither affiliated with or employed by DirecTv. DTv distances themselves from those people you see pushing DTv at the store by calling them subcontractors. Those subcontractors will just lie to you and tell you anything they want to just to get you to sign because DirecTv does not hold them accountable. The DTv rep on the phone says there is nothing they can do about what the subcontractors say to us. They get paid per contract signed, period. They'll promise you the moon to get your signature. Well that's my 2 cents. Good luck to you all.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony Rad Oct 30, 2013

    Sent to Direct TV
    ***POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE***

    To whom it may concern,

    Yesterday I received your most recent bill in the mail, and boy was I surprised. I recently upgraded my receivers after several years I decided to switch to your new HD receivers. I knew exactly what the costs were and happily paid for them as I have for the past several years. Well I received my recent statement, Current Charges for Service Period 10/14/14 – 11/13/13. I noticed 3 PPV charges for $44.95 and 2 for $4.99 dating back to 2009 and 2010……………that’s 4 years old.

    I assumed it must be a mistake so I called customer service, and the fun run around began.

    Person #1
    She stated she understood the charges were from my old receivers that once they were returned they scanned them and found old PPV charges that I never received, and hence never paid for. She then proceeded to say there is nothing she could do except transfer me to another person who could.

    Person #2
    Rude, short and kept interrupting me. She basically stated there was nothing that could be done and it was my fault for not connecting my Direct TV to the internet and then ordering through the remote. This is completely wrong as I was unable to use the remote for ordering purposes with my old receivers, and instead had to call each time I ordered PPV. She went on and on about there being nothing that could be done. I refused to hang up with that answer, and they method it was delivered was un-customer service like. Finally she placed me on hold for a while. Once she returned she said I could write to the Billing Department………..are you serious??? Why can customer service not deal with disputes, or at least offer the customer some sort of resolution! Again, I proceeded to tell her that was not good enough and I wanted to speak to her supervisor.
    So she refused to put her supervisor on the phone…………..WOW!
    I persisted, and finally she placed me on hold but not before telling me I would be on hold for at least 20 minutes.

    Person #3
    “Brook” her supervisor came on the phone after about 3 to 5 minutes, not quite the 20 minutes she assured me I would have to wait.
    After going round and round with Brook about how crazy it is that you bill someone out of the blue for $177 she again told me I would have to write to Billing. She was at least friendly, but she certainly agreed it should be credited. She also assured me that if it was her decision she would have credited it, but couldn’t because it’s in my lease agreement she could do nothing and nor could any live person I spoke to……..who in their right mind remembers the fine print on a lease agreement they signed years ago about scanning their receiver for old PPV charges???

    Not only will I never order any PPV event again, but I will certainly be cancelling my contract based on this and switch to a competitor as soon as I can.

    And it was so simple to resolve; you didn’t even have to credit it just say; “we understand how this can be a surprise, but due to it being in our lease agreement we have to charge you…….could we at least offer you something” I probably wouldn’t have been thrilled, but at least I could say you made an effort and offered me a resolution.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KENNY THREE May 25, 2013

    ITS PRETTY BAD WHEN A COMPANY AS BIG AS DIRECT TV CAN NOT/ WILL NOT HELP A 85 YEAR OLD MAN PROGRAM A REMOTE FOR A NEW TELEVISION, THEN REFUSE TO HELP ME A 59 YEAR OLD MAN, BECAUSE I AM NOT A CUSTOMER, HOWEVER THEY, FOR A FEE OF $58.00 SEND A TECH OUT TO DO THIS SIMPLE REQUEST. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY WILL RAPE YOUR MOMMA AND OR DADDY WITH [censored] FEES!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scooter1134 May 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never post on pages like this, but I really wanted to get this of my chest. I have been a customer of DirecTV for 6 years. I started having trouble with the box in my Master Bedroom in March so I called in. Over the next month and a half, they sent me 3 new boxes and made several service calls but could not fix the problem.

    I was told by a Customer Service Rep, that if the final service call did not work, that I could cancel my service early without having to pay the cancellation fee. But after the service call still didn't fix the problem, they didn't stand by their word and charged me $300 to cancel my account. Even though I have been paying them $110/ month for the last 1.5 months for something that doesn't even work.

    I would never recommend this company to a friend and would hope that no one else would.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CP23 Aug 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    By far the worst customer service my wife and I have both ever encountered. Between the lack of offering any kind of compensation for not showing up for installation to the blatant lies that followed by the installation company, Multibrands. My wife was called a lying B)#CH and hung up on by a so called field supervisor. Then Direct TV who you call numerous times and never get the same person or even same location gives you enough run around to try and get you to give up. WE DID!! Lucky for us it was before anything was installed so it made it easy to just cancel the order...ohhh the best thing I heard from them was "ok your order is cance..." then I HUNG UP!!! Direct TV needs to learn a little about how to treat customers, no wonder they have so many complaints and are one the most hated companies, this is what happens when you dont have many choices, its why it is illegal to have a monopoly, but I guess if you donate enough to the right people you can have your monopoly and do what you want. DO NOT GET DIRECT TV

    0 Votes
  • As
    Aschelle1105 Aug 11, 2012

    I signed up for direct tv in april 2011, I ordered the dish and internet bundle. The installer came out, hooked up my dish and internet. In july of 2011 I received a bill from at&t for internet? I contacted direct tv and was told I had to contact at&t since they are the ones that do the bundling? I contacted at&t and was told it takes approximately 4 months for it to show up on direct tv billing? In september I receive another bill from at&t showing an overdue balance of $150. I call at&t and now they are telling me I have to call direct tv because they failed to set up the bundling! In the meantime I am dealing with frozen pictures, pixels and constant "lost signal". I called direct tv and was told over and over there was nothing wrong, they finally sent service tech out in september to replace a part on the dish that was cracked! For 5 months dealing with that and now this bundling issue. My bill was supposed to be $92/month with internet and I'm paying 97/month no internet. I still don't have internet because at&t told me in september I would be considered a new customer and have to sign a two year contract. I signed up for paperless billing and in the course of working 90 hours a week, apparently didn't pay my bill. I called direct tv and the automated system tells you that the bill has to be paid in full before they can further assist you, I paid $125 ($97+additionals like dvr, taxes extra tv) and pushed#2 to talk to rep to ask why I'm being billed $158, and auto system records until bill paid in full, they can't assist me, and disconnected call? Now I don't know what the extra charges are for and I can't talk to a human until I pay them! I'm buying an antenna and getting rid of this headache of a company

    0 Votes
  • I cancelled Directv after over 10 years because they could not match the offer that FIOS put in front of me..so they bang me for $200 in EARLY termination fees...EARLY ?!?!?...they are out of their minds if they think they'll see one dime of that $200...good bye and good riddance...FIOS is awesome and no contract...

    0 Votes
  • No
    No HD in TX and not happy! Jul 28, 2012

    We have the best Direct TV package available and have been a customer since 2007 with no upgrades on equipment the entire time. We have two DVR's plus two additional receivers for a total of 4 rooms. For basic service for these with 225 regular channels (no premium movie channels, no NFL ticket and no other sports channels) we pay $107/month. We received an offer from them for new customers and they are offering the same service for $44.99/month and including free premium movie channels for 3 months and free NFL ticket for 2 years with free upgrade to HD equipment. Just got off the phone with customer service and guess what - we are not eligible for most of this, but we can get a "free" upgrade on the equipment from standard to HD equipment for an additional $13 per month bringing our monthly bill to $120. So much for being a loyal customer. We are going to be looking for another service provider...and you can bet as a new customer to another provider, we will get a better deal than Direct TV is willing to extend to long time customers. It is time for them to realize that their loyal customer's deserve to be treated at least as well as their new customers...especially since we no longer have a contract with them!! We can chose and will do so.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    greg2012 Jun 14, 2012

    Direct TV is horrible I was just watching the NBA finals and in the last 1:50 in the game the channel went down. It was down for nearly 20 minutes and I didn't see the last minutes. This happens all the time when you are watching a show there is some sort of problem with Direct TV's service. I shouldn't have to pay for crappy services. So before anyone decides to find a TV services provider STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT TV!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeCitizen45 Mar 30, 2012

    Direct TV sucks and they lie. They raised my rate and told me that in my contract it states that they can raise it anytime they want, yet if you cancel, they can charge you $250.00. They are scam artists and should be sued!!

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Irewoulfe Mar 02, 2012

    Why are you screwing over the long term customers that made you what you are today? I believe Krystal stated I had been a customer since 2003, I was looking to lower our monthly bill, AND get our outdated antiquated equipment replaced. The only way I could do that was to cancel my service and become a new subscriber... Krystal indicated that she understood and that she would process our cancellation. NEVER did she indicate that DirecTV would not allow the following.
    So I cancelled my service and had my wife activate a new account so that we could get the whole home DVR service (tired of the 'record one, both or cancel notice), and new receivers and reduce our monthly cost by $20-30 while getting a greater DirecTV experience. Today you folks call and cancel our installation and accuse us of being 'criminals' and that DirecTV does not allow this and that we will now be without service for 24 months before we can re-subscribe.
    That is a nice "Thank You for being your customer for so long".
    Why can't LONG TIME subscribers get receivers and equipment upgrades (AT RESONABLE INTERVALS). Even the phone companies do that.
    Our old 2003 Hughes RXs won't do HD, the DVR does 2 channels. Luckily last visit (DVR install) the technician put in a DTV antenna to replace the original DISH antenna that we had to use since our move in 2007.

    So again I ask, "Why are you shafting us long time subscribers when you offer such a grand deal to new clients?"
    BTW, when you deny an install when your own CS rep does not indicate any inpropriety and then infer that we are criminals for attempting this 'fraudulent act', we usually end up in the legal arena. Which will be fine by me, I can't wait for Dish and the media to get wind of this one.
    So, there you have it, one VERY pissed off, dis-satisfied customer.
    Likely no one will read this and we will get screwed by a company we have supported and made the premier sat provider on the planet. Unfortunately you forgot who put you there.

    I can't wait for the calls to start. Missouri prosecutes 'No Call' violators.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    proud sahd Feb 23, 2012

    I had a written contract from them saying 30 day return policy. I tried to cancel after 1 day and was told I had to wait until a few days had passed before I could cancel. Then when I called after 3 days ("to let it process through their system"), I was told I had to cancel within 24 hours to not be billed. The fact had a signed contract with 30 day no fault policy didn't matter to them.
    The state attorny general saw it different. I got my money back and a window into one of the worst companies I have ever seen. Oh, and the service sucked too.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    SPHNFC Feb 15, 2012

    These chumps at direct tv had better extract their heads from their collective derrierre's. They still don't carry the World Fishing Network but they do carry 6357 other channels with nothing on (AKA Garbage TV). What a joke. Oh how I long for the good old days of 13 VHF channels and a few on UHF with FREE analog broadcasting.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    lmd1955 Nov 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Direct TV has charged me a monthly fee for service at an address I no longer live and have not lived there since February 2011. They have suspended my account until last month and charged me a usage fee at the address in addition to a cancellation fee. BEWARE OF DIRECT TV.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slh12648 Aug 20, 2011

    Direct TV installers did not show up on installation date that the company confirmed the day before by e-mail. When I called, I was told it had been cancelled a month ago (the day I signed up). I spent over 3 hours on the phone with customer service demanding an immediate installation as they had cancelled my installation and did not inform me! They made me reschedule my entire day and sit waiting for a cancelled installation. Then, one of their lovely, condescending customer service people HUNG UP on me. Their only "SOLUTION" to the problem was for me to sign up again and schedule an appointment for almost a week from now. Direct TV customer service and business practices are terrible. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I saw they have a D+ rating due to the number of customer complaints the Better Business Bureau recieves. Let's all file our complaints and make sure they get the F rating that they deserve.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bexaminer Jun 28, 2011

    My story isn't as bad as many of the people who complained here. I moved from San Diego to Redding in January and used their moving package. To start, the installer wasn't able to run the cable the correct way. It had to run across the floor. I sdidsn't like it but at that point I wanted the deal done and to get him out of here. I could have voided my contract at that point. So I start watching tv and noticed I wasn't receiving the local channels in HD. I called the station that I watched for the national news to ask when they planned on bringing the service up to speed. They told me that they had been delivering an HD signal for two years. It seems that Direct TV didn't have a contract with them. The other two providers do though. Both Dish and Time Warner offer the local channels in HD. That pissed me off. They should have told me. I would not have had them install the service.
    As part of the moving service you get 3 months of free premium channels. So that was alright. When they were finished I called to cancel to make sure I wasn't going to be charged for them. Fine. So then I went a month and decided that I didn't like spending $70 a month for the package I had. It was too much. I think a rip off really. It was another $20 to get HD. That's really a rip off. So I said screw it. I went down to the Family package. There is the biggest collection of BS you will ever find. 75% of the channels are all advertising channels. Just fill or junk. The rest is all kid stuff. No CNN at all. Then I called to say that I would move up to the next level. That plan is $40 a month. Yes I get CNN but that's about it. What really pisses me off is that when I downgraded my service and returned my HD receiver they charged me another $20 to send me the basic receiver. Not only did they do that but then they extended my contract another 6 months. I was pissed.

    The other day I came across an old receiver from Direct TV that is about 6 years old. I thought that I could change the card and call them to activate it. No chance. The card is married to the reciever. I said well, divorce this set and marry the card to the other reciver. She said that they couldn't do that. I said, we've had people on the moon 15 times and you can't do this. The bottom line is that they don't miss a chance to screw you. I think I'll just pay the $20 for each remaining month and be finished with them. I won't go back to them again. I've used their service in three different states for the last 9 years. ### them. We're finished.

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rrpeter Jun 17, 2011

    Yep, they suck it big time. Charged me a $320 cancellation fee after 14 years of continuous service.

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    Tuckj2083 Jun 11, 2011

    All you are mostly whiny people with no sense of how things work. And I say this as a customer, though I have dealt with your kind many times in retail. 1. You have no respect for people. Don't call employees stupid. They are doing their job to the best of their ability. You have no idea because you have never done their job. 2. Customers version of the truth is rarely accurate and most of the time you all want everything for nothing. 3. If you payed attention to the terms you agree to you cant birch. Shut up. Suck it up. And just accept basic tv because you don't appreciate anything that isn't free because the world owes poor little you.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anoinettepowerdirect May 12, 2011

    Working for them at Power Direct in Cleveland sucks too. The human resources manager is so rude. Everyone in the building on 30th and Euclid Avenue either sale drugs or smoking outside the building. Power Direct/Directv sucks

    1 Votes
  • Jm
    J.Micali May 09, 2011

    I agree with you 100% per cent these people are beyond human. I called to cancel my service because we were moving due to economic conditions and can not afford this service, they told me that they would put the service on hold for 4 months I told them that I was moving into a condo and that cable was provided and to just cancel the service and send me boxes so I can return the equipment. They never sent the boxes. I immediately informed my credit card company to refuse all charges from them. Now comes the end of the 4 months they tried to bill my credit card which is a company card and when that got bounced they tried billing the card again which was in another card holders name, well when all failed I started get bills sent directly to my home. I called them and again requested the boxes for return after be on hold for 40 minutes and was given an address of a freight company to bring the equipment to by one of the ###s taht work there, at tha point I asked for a supervisor needless to say I got another ### who said they would send the boexs out that day that they were being sent right out. Three weeks later aagin I request the boxes and was given the same story that they are being sent. At that point I sent a Demand Letter to Focus Receivables and several weeks later received a summary of my account showing that I was given credit for equipment returned. Today I received a bill for $269.30 from another collection agency. This will go on and on until they try and wear you down. I wonder how they are treating those poor people who have lost their home due to the economy??? I would definitly join any class action suit.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jennyrenne Apr 20, 2011

    DIRECT TV SUCKS! Its a freekin SCAM! They dont mention your in an agreement until you try to cancel and then they try to say "they told you" but that you never signed nothing. I dont see how running a business like this is even legal! They are loser liars that WILL go out of business due to the way they run their "business"

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    EVAGGELOS KATEVATIS Mar 10, 2011

    I YOU LIKE F YOU GET TIRECT F THIS COMPANY ARE THE WORST OF THE WORST THEY SEND BILLS AFTER BILLS YOU PAY AND WHEN YOU TELLT HEM WHAT IS THIS TRY TO UNDERSTEN WHAT THEY SAY NIA NIA NIA STAY WITHE THE GABLE, TAKE MY WORD, IF I ONLY NO BACK 2009 NEVER I PUT THIS IN MY HOME, DIRECT TV IS NO GOOD, THEY ARE NG AND DON'T THING YOU GET SOMTHIG FREE, LIST THAT TELLS YOU. YOU PAY FOR EVRITHING MORE THE GABLE GOOD LUCK AND SAY F DIRECTTV CROUKING COMPANY, WHAT YOU EXPECT FROM GENERAL MOTORS ONLY DIRECT GARB...

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frustratedin2011 Jan 27, 2011

    DIRECT TV Sucks! I was paying the account for my father, he got a cheaper appartment, so he decided to move. I asked DirectTV to move account to new address, but housing authority did not allow any dish service, only cable or fios. Hence, not our fault they were not allowed in. They wanted me to take the rest of contract. Of course I said no. They went ahead and charged my CC which I stupidly used a year ago to open account. After fighting without success with their support people, I am now ready to fight charge with CC company, as I never authorized it, neither in written or verbally. So, hopefully you will not commit same mistake: 1. DONOT use DIRECTV, 2. Never use automatic payments or pay with any CCard to open account.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    OROZCO Jan 24, 2011

    OMG!!! IM SCARED OF WHATS GOING TO HAPPEN TO ME NOW IM TRYING TO CANCEL MY SERVICE WITH DIRECT TV! IDK WHAT TO DO NOW MY SERVICE IS BAD I DONT WANT TO BE PAYING FOR BAD SERVICE BUT I DONT WANT THEM TO GET MONEY OUT OF MY ACCOUNT NOR BILL ME FOR EARLY DISCONECTION :( WHAT TO DO?

    0 Votes
  • So
    SorryDirectTVCustomer Jan 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I came through AT&T to Direct TV in January of 09. Same deal 30 day trial was promised never happened. Tried to cancel after a week or 2 and got my credit card nicked for 500 I think it was. Saw the State of Florida was suing them for some consumer issue and I called them. Florida got a hold of AT&T and they are trying to make it right but it seems AT&T is getting the run around from Direct TV. How can these people stay in business with such dishonest sales tactics???

    From now on before I buy anything I am going to look up on Google the name of the company and the word "sucks", that's how I found this site and all of the complaints. NEVER would I have given my business to Direct TV if I had seen this before. BUYER BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    ameyer13 Jan 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can honestly say that I've experienced similar issues with DirectTV but it did not take me long to find another provider. I don't like to be stressed with my entertainment, especially when I'm overpaying for it! I changed to DISH network and I am so glad that I did. International channels are very important to me and I was really impressed with the variety and amount I have to choose from. I was able to get a free HD DVR, which supports to TV's and I was offered HD free for the life of my account which gives me my HD programming free instead of paying for it. My DVR is amazing; I can pause and rewind live TV and now I can access the internet with my new Sling Adapter allowing me to have TV everywhere I go via my Smart-phone. My husband loves sports, and he has all the sports he could ever want included in my package. I really can say that I'm glad we changed and I even decided to work for the company because I wanted to be part of a company that truly tends to their customer's needs! There is great new technology coming down the pipe and I know that DISH is on top of integrating as much new useful technology as possible when it becomes available. DISH network definitely tops the industry!

    0 Votes
  • Wb
    wbbeatttie2010 Dec 03, 2010

    Direct TV Sucks, the salespeople will tell you anything you want to hear just to sign up. They advertise free setup but tried to charge me 35.00 then charged me twice 35.00. I was promised my bill would be 49.99+ tax by the salesman, my first bill was actaully going to be 59.99. I scheduled the installation for a 8-12 morning install, the tech called and said he would be there at 10 (could barely speak english), then said 11, well at 130 he pulled up in some hoopty mobile -- I said no thanks amigo this is not looking good, probably gonna stick with cable and pay the extra.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bessie80 Nov 22, 2010

    no dont do it they stink!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.