SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lowesdisgruntled employee

Bm Clinton Township, MI Review updated:

I was a lowes seasonal employee. I worked everyday and busted my back for them in hopes that I would be able to stay after the seasonal period was over. I was told many things when I was in my training. I was told I would be making 10.46 an hour and that I was going to be scheduled monday thru friday 4am to 1 pm everyday as an AM stocker. I get my first check and I was only getting paid 10.42 an hour which isnt alot but its not what they said they were going to pay me. Then they switched my schedule.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Clinton Township, MI First to 6am to 2pm everyday then back to 4am to 1pm then all of the sudden i was on 6am to 1pm. Then they dropped me to 4am to 9am. They also told me that I would be working from April 23- August 10th 2010. Then I come in on a June 10th and they tell me that their sorry but they are going to have to let me go because they cant to afford to pay payroll. so instead of knowing when im getting let go and being able to find another job they let me go in the middle of the week so I have to lose my apartment and not know what to do. Lowes is horrible and no one should shop there!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ta
      Jun 27, 2010

    Seasonal means temporary. They can change your hours because hours and days changed frequently. Depending on Corporate, and how the economy affects their business. Corporate passes that information down to all the other chains of the stores so they can post different prices regarding price discounts, or whatever else is affecting their business.

    You were getting 10.42. That's practically 10.50, so tell me whats 4 cent's really matter. If you were getting 35 to 40 hours what was the problem? Could you not save 100 dollars back out of your checks instead of whatever you were doing with it. Just in case of an Emergency. You should have told Lowes I understand my job is seasonal. But I am going to be looking for other employment so if you let me go I won't be out of a job struggling to pay my bills.

    Go work for Home Depot. You've got some experience. If they are not hiring. Go some where else. Don't blame Lowes because they were making job cuts, and you were one of the people who were let go.

    -6 Votes
  • Ev
      Feb 07, 2017
    Best Best Advice

    @Tall David you obviously do not know how lowes works or maybe you are trying to make them look better.

    +14 Votes
  • Li
      Jun 13, 2017

    @Tall David Huge corporations have an advantage and can treat their little employees better than that. I am disgusted that they made you lose your apartment and made so many promises they didn't keep. Lowe's, you suck!!!

    +4 Votes
  • So
      Feb 28, 2018

    @Tall David These retailers are ruthless. The nature of retail is that you are expendable and they burn through employees, take advantage of the strong young idealistic temps to bolster bottom lines and their stock holders. Welcome to corporate america where corporations have personhood. You have to protect yourself on the job by using good common sense. Don't try to impress anyone with your strength, stamina or whatever. Be safe and endure the long work life you will have.

    +2 Votes
  • Da
      May 20, 2019

    @soulestial You can tell by the responses who is OBVIOUSLY Lowe's management. "If you don't like getting screwed go to the competition". That's what Lowe's management does. You either put up with their feces or out you GO !! Their management style is to manage by intimidation. If you complain about ANYTHING they'll retaliate somehow; mess with your schedule, find a reason to write you up, Fire you, etc. I'm flabbergasted that management doesn't drown by drinking all the Corporate Kook-aid.

    Recently, during Power Hours, a manager approached me and was quite irritated that there was a customer in and isle with no associate. I then went to the customer and they were the ones I had JUST approached! Husband and Wife were trying to decide on style/color and said "Thanks, but we're were all set". My response was "I'll be near by if you need anything...". The customer told me that 4 associates, within the same department, had already approached them. Somehow the manager thought they had not been approached and were being ignored. He didn't see a flock of Red Vests around them following through on the SMART accosting.

    Another time I was scheduled to work until 9:00pm and was told "No one is leaving until the dock is cleared out..." I'm an associate, not a loader or Overnight employee. If this EVER were to happen again, and I'm not allowed to leave at the end of my shift, I WILL call 911 and say I'm being held hostage.

    This is a second job for me and I'm counting the days until I don't need it anymore.

    +2 Votes
  • Ci
      Aug 29, 2010

    I worked for Lowes as seasonal and let me tell you, I was never late, never called out and they kept a person who was seasonal as permanent and that person would come in late and leave their register to talk to other employees. I was also lied to by HR stating that they hold reviews after 90 days when I first got hired and then 4 months down the road HR told me they told hold reviews. I know from the person who got hired permanently after being a seasonal employee got a reviews. They lie and lie and they play favorites. The schedule is constantly fluctuating and it's not all about cut back and budgets it's about them being deceitful and sneaky. Head cashiers don't want to get on registers when it's packed unless the store manager is around. One of the employees their who was all ready permanent for a about a year in a half who constantly shut her light off on her register and walk around, go to the break room and slack off and guess what I complained and I got relaliated against. Guess what, word has it that cashier knows the DM personally. So their you go for Lowes.

    +2 Votes
  • Cw
      Jul 09, 2017

    @Cindy Bradford This is why you need UNIONS

    +11 Votes
  • Ni
      Jul 29, 2017

    @cwle Absolutely !!

    +2 Votes
  • Lo
      Oct 01, 2017

    @Cindy Bradford This same thing is happening to my roomate. Retaliation is supposed to be against the law yet it is happening at more than one Lowe's store, apparently. My roomate was hired full time and on a relatively regular schedule until he hurt himself doing something his manager asked him to do while offering no help (it involved a pallet full of cement bags). As soon as he filed a worker's comp claim with HR, chaos in his life has insued do to unfair treatment from his store management. I'm not even sure that contacting the corporate office will help since they seem to turn a blind eye to what is happening to employees at their stores. His management has even blocked him from the corporate website! I realize Florida is a right to work state but apparently that has been translated as "treat your employees like dirt".

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 31, 2010

    This mostly goes for Cindy Bradford:

    If you feel you were treated unfairly or you wish to lodge a complaint but feel that doing so within the Lowe's company might create retaliation then you should complain through Lowe's EthicsPoint at:
    https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/12758/NewIndex.html
    or call [protected]

    Either way...stop ### online and showing everyone what a team player you aren't capable of being. It's no wonder you weren't hired on as a regular employee. If the situation you described is 100% true why would you want to work there? Grow up and move on!

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Aug 21, 2017

    @JamesDRob Wow, James, just the behavior Cindy was referring to. What, is this still high school! So your response is proving.

    +3 Votes
  • Lo
      Oct 01, 2017

    @JamesDRob "Team player" is what started the problem for my roomate. Some of us cannot just find another job at the drop of a hat do to our age, and I don't want to hear about how age discrimination doesn't happen and it's against the law. Perspective employers have other excuses so that it appears not to be about age.

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
      Feb 03, 2018

    @JamesDRob Lowes ethicspoint does t work either, I tried it and they tell me they don’t get involved in store level decisions, no matter what. Janet Gimlet is the regional HR for district 861, they are all in it together in screwing the little guy

    +2 Votes
  • Se
      May 23, 2012

    The Store Manager is able to receive a full years salary if he can make budget.The only controllable expense they have is payroll.So hours are cut, employees are asked to cover Dept. they are not familiar with and you are thrown to the wolves. Since you are on the frontline and the Managers are hidden in the offices you take the grief and they are safe.On a busy day you will have five customers screaming at you and you are the bad guy because you are asked to do the work of three people.I love when I am threatened by a customer I am going to Home Depot, like I would give a damn, do you need directions.All jobs have problems, this one more then most.

    +5 Votes
  • Ev
      Feb 07, 2017

    @Seeking better job steve driggs undercuts staffing to a level that customers complain on a repeated daily basis just so he can get his bonus and then blames corporate

    +4 Votes
  • So
      Feb 28, 2018

    @Seeking better job Don't expect things to be different at Home Depot. Short staff, changing hours, favoritism and pushing the blame onto corporate are the norms at retailers along with low pay I might add (2.5% increases yearly if your lucky).

    0 Votes
  • Kc
      Aug 25, 2013

    I worked in several departments over a number of years in the State College PA store. Most fellow coworkers were very decent as were most customers and generally the work was not that bad. By far the number one problem that makes this store extremely difficult to work in is the top manager who has virtually no people skills and zero compassion toward employees. A customer could have said I stood naked on my head and he would honestly believe it. In addition employees are expected to miraculously learn stuff including complex machines and order taking with almost no training. The constant lack of proper staffing is causing so much stress on employees that everyone I know is miserable. One is constantly expected to handle more than one department at a time with 4-6 telephones to handle (a regular wireless phone, a smart phone and a desk landline for each department). So often phones are ringing, customer call bells are going off and live customers needing immediate help are all wanting at the same time causing unbearable stress to employees. Customers will then complain that service is slow or that employees are showing signs of unfriendliness and then employees get written up and even fired as I was. This could be a better place with a DIFFERENT manager - This man R.F. needs to go!

    +4 Votes
  • Do
      Aug 25, 2013

    I spent 7 years at Lowe's, and every one of you is right. I loved my job and did it well, but all the complaints you voiced I saw even at my stores, which were excellent. Management considers hourly employees expendable and interchangeable; as a result, there are very few people in any department with expertise. That is the main customer complaint--no one knows what they are doing! Lowe's had a golden opportunity to greatly increase market share over Home Depot during the economic slump; if they kept their knowledgeable staffers while Depot was cutting back, Lowe's would now have the superior reputation for expertise over Home Depot. Instead they cut their most expensive people, who were the most experienced, and now they pay the price. Look what happened to Sears!

    +9 Votes
  • Fl
      Mar 30, 2017

    @Don Tarr EXCELLENT POINT!

    +2 Votes
  • So
      Feb 28, 2018

    @Don Tarr Retail business is cuthroat. The economy overall plays a big part in future growth. Employees are expendable, you can always train new workers or so they think. Largely a dead end career with very limited prospects for joining the middle class. These are observations after 8 years at building supply retailers.

    +1 Votes
  • Tall David:
    If an employee is hired in and there is a signed contract to the wage offered at the time of hire, Lowes has an obligation to pay that employee what was agreed upon contractually.
    There is no need to lecture someone about not getting the hourly wage that should be legally binding. There is no need to blame someone and treat them like a child because a VERY HUGE AND VERY PROFITABLE national store did not hold up their end of the contract.
    That is unethical practice on Lowe's behalf, and the employee should be reimbursed for the hours worked under a wage which was lower than agreed upon at the time of the job offer.

    JamesDRob:
    It was nice of you to post a link to Cindy Bradford where she might be able to go for further assistance. That was a very professional and adult thing to do.
    The rest of your comments were very unprofessional and quite childish. What is the name of this forum? Complaintsboard.com? Sorry. I thought that this meant that persons were allowed to post complaints about things.
    Guess you are management, then, for Lowe's?
    SUPER COMMUINCATION SKILLS!

    +8 Votes
  • Sa
      Apr 22, 2015

    I have been at Lowes for over three years and enjoy the job I have there. The problem is no policies have been followed for some, and others have to follow policies, so why are they able to operate like this and get away with it? I have seen and heard different situations regarding vacations and time off for employees. Some get approved and some do not. This is for the same time frame, which is a holiday, that is has happened. So what reason and why this could happening with no reason as to why. We dont have many incentives except vacation and now they want to control that too.
    Also when an employee has been there for years, and anniversary date has come and gone and still no review or increase, that is a concern by any means. This is unethical and by law bad practice on HR part.

    +4 Votes
  • Hu
      May 18, 2017

    @Sandy Finney How were the systems when you were working at lowes?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Apr 28, 2015

    I see so many customer complaints online, and a lot are directed at the employees. Believe me, I understand not every employee is great. But, quite a few times, it's NOT the salesperson who is screwing up your order, or denying your warranty, etc. Most of us bend over backwards to make things right. BUT! This company provides NO training, gives ZERO support at the store level, upper-management doesn't care about you the consumer, nor do they give a *** about the employees. They want your money, and want their workers to work for *** wages, and smile as they toss us under the bus.

    You have to understand the reason most of your deliveries are late, is because we have no idea when your product is due to come in. We call the warehouse and they tell us 4-7 days. We can't track anything because we are working with a computer system from the 90's. We are pushed and pushed to sell their Extended Protection Plans, and get people signed up for a Lowe's credit card. Your appliance breaks, we can do NOTHING at the store level! Call the # for the warranty dept., but for *** sake have your receipt! You'll jump through hoops to get anything done. WE CAN'T DO ANYTHING FOR YOU IN THE STORE! Cussing at me, telling me I am incompetent, etc. is not going to help.

    If any of us were trained experts in the various depts., we would be working somewhere else. Most of us (myself included) have sought out training on our own time. To try and be better able to help and solve your issues. At some point YOU have to take the initiative and LEARN HOW TO DO A PROJECT ON YOUR OWN!!!

    Working here is like being in High School, gossip, favoritism, back-biting, and a general sense that if you aren't a management pet you are not welcome. If you're a guy, you are left to do the heavy lifting and the physical work. Of course 3/4 of the employees are on FMLA for some made up vague "illness". And heaven help you if you discuss anything with HR. They will tell all to the management, who in turn tell their pets, and inside of a week; the entire store knows what you discussed. But, at least after you work there a year, Lowe's throws you a $.15 raise! No commissions. No bonuses...they say you can get one but, they recently changed the qualifying store sales amount to the point where, it's not even a viable option anymore.

    But, as long as the CEO makes millions in salary and bonuses, screw the employees! Yeah, at least I have a job. And I'm thankful for that. What do any of you care, as long as you get the cheap *** from China, and get to abuse the employees, hopefully that makes you feel better.

    +4 Votes
  • Hu
      May 18, 2017

    @Monkeywaffles34 Do you remember what the name of the system was?

    +1 Votes
  • Ar
      May 04, 2015

    Haha I worked for Lowe's for 7 years and I'm soon happy I don't any more I just go in there to make fun of everyone putting up with this company because like every other company they hire no one so they can rake in all the profit and leave everybody on welfare Lowes is just another greedy corporation like Walmart they care about their own money about their employees that make it for them.

    +3 Votes
  • An
      Jun 02, 2015

    1: Could you please quote me the rules on using personal stereos, boom boxes and using company computers to play loud music after the store closes. The night stocking crew are doing all these things and causing anxiety to some who are disturbed by loud base. Several of us have gone to the person who brings the boom box on the floor and asked person to stop - but it continues. Have asked crew manager, then store manager, but no change yet. Very anxiety producing.

    2: Can they listen on ear bud (one) or is that against the rules as well? At least they can hear, and will not be disturbing peace loving, professional attitude workers.

    thank you,

    (Using friends e-mail, in order to be)

    Anonomous

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jun 02, 2015

    P.S. The boom box they push out fills the whole cart, and many carry mini (but loud) personal speakers with them. They all listen to reggae-rap with LOUD bass. AND They are not exactly doing a stellar job, which goes back to a lot of the other complaint I see here - they are not trained, they don't have enough people, and because of all these factors, I don't think they realize, by not doing a great job, how hard they make life for the day crew who has to fix the mistakes they make.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Sep 06, 2015

    I am currently on the fence if I should or should not return to my part-time position at Lowes. I own and operate a small business and decided to grab a part-time job to ensure that I have some insurance. After visiting Lowes one afternoon I saw a friend who was working there. He explained that Lowes was in desperate need of help and that if I was looking for a gig that this could be a good fit. This was in August 2014. So I applied and waited...and waited...and waited. Finally in January, I got an interview and an offer for $11.51 hr. So for the next week or so they had me view countless hours of nonsense (videos & tests). SAFTEY - SAFTEY - SAFETY. I got it. It's very important to respect and execute company policy in regards to any and all safety issues. So, I finally hit the store floor on February 2, 2015. That very day I quickly learned how absolutely greedy and disgusting corporate America is. The guys who I was introduced to on that first day were Lowes full time guys. You know, the $17.00hr with full benefits guys. They were very happy to see fresh meat. I was told that they cant keep guys there in that department and that the few part-timers they had on staff had a hard time making it in because of car issues. That was an massive understatement. Since February I have only called out of one 3 hour shift. When I called out, there was still 4 hours before my shift and they wanted a lengthy detailed reason. The last time I checked, this is America and it's none of your God damned bizniz why I won't be making it in. No kidding, about 80% of my shifts have at least 1 sometimes 3 call outs with no attempt to fill the shoes either from inside the store or calling in a full-timer (you know, the guys with the good pay and benefits). I have grown to be disgusted at Lowes for wearing the American Flag on their vests and treating their employees like we live in a socialist/communist society. I did not agree to do anyones work but mine. I certainly don't get paid for it. Lowes refuses to address the constant no call no shows/ leaving early and coming in late for those who violate. So as I was saying, this problem of people not coming into work is because of their individual personal problems. With absolutely no support from any and ALL managers, all of my coworkers problems become mine as soon as I punch in for $11.51. My take on it is, If you are a manager and you are aware of an employee who continues to fail not meet the job requirements, then do something about it. And if 9 months can go by without a team of 5/6 managers noticing this issue then your team of managers should be doing something besides managing. Now to some real juicy stuff - I have worked in the lumber dept. since Feb.. It was explained to me that the reason they hired me was to support the concrete isle. Our department is what you would call "the shining example of what a Lowes lumber department should look like". Suits and ties visit our department and take photos of it. With that said, you would think that we would be taken care of. Hardly. Our two forklifts look like Mad Max should drive them. The forks are bent/screwed up, the seats are chewed up and cardboard boxes are used to fill the seats.2/3 of our isle blockers are damaged and faulty. These Materials/Tools/Machines are vital to Lowes success. A company that is succeeding the way Lowes is should never, ever cut corners when it comes to the safety of any and ALL who enter Lowes property. A great example of the asinine attitude displayed by Lowes assistant managers is : a 8-9 month pregnant customer was walking past an isle blocker. She moved the isle blocker out of her way as it was no longer being used, because of the blockers busted wheels, it toppled over and nearly hit her in her belly. I caught it and quickly asked her if she was ok. Everything was fine and I took the blocker off the floor and reported it. I was told that we are NOT going to fix it because it costs $700 per blocker and that that money comes out of the stores money. No way they are going to fix a safety issue. No way they are going to fix the fork lifts that make that department look so nice. That guy should be fired. Yeah...it stinks. But what do you expect if the HR is headed by someone from the other side of the world. So I guess if you've read this much I'll keep going. In order for me to execute my job safely I need to have a spotter. There is no room to debate. A spotter is needed. I refuse to hurt anyone because of a number on a piece of paper. For the past 12 or so times I have shown up to work, the first thing I have to do I see who called out. I simply can not do my job because they will not staff the place properly. It is so damned frustrating that the managers are very quick to be powerless all the time and leave the people who do come to work screwed. And they wonder why they cant keep good help. The problem is they need to be Pro-active and not Re-active. This is America! STAND UP AND FIX IT.

    +3 Votes
  • Ed
      Sep 18, 2015

    I fired for what was called poor work performance because I left a store phone on my desk

    +4 Votes
  • Us
      Oct 16, 2015

    Yes come October 22nd my store which is in the Chicago market will no longer have Dept Mgrs. Its not a store closing tactic. Our area is considered a pilot market (test market) for this new program. The 13 dept mgrs (in my store) that are affected will be recv, delivery, admin and all the sales floor dept mgrs.

    LP, Installs and PSA mgrs are not affected by this new program. The 13 dept mgrs have the opportunity to apply for the new 5 "service mgr" positions. Of those 5 new positions 3 will be on the salesfloor and one for the front end (admin) and the other will be for recv/delivery combine.

    They will cover more departments and have more of a ASM type of work ethic. In addition they are hiring close to 30 part time csa to cover those departments.

    Plus the HR position is going to a Hub location. HRs will no longer be at a store they will be centralized in one location. And only half of the HR postions will be kept.

    Again this is a test market thing. No stores are closing because of this. It was a shock to us here when we heard the news. Some of the associates affected by this have been here for 10 years so theres a lot of friendship and great co-workers that will be missed.

    I just heard that in my market area I will no longer report to the recv/delivery mgr, it will now be the admin service mgr. So we will see how that will work out.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Nov 02, 2015

    I believe that Lowes is trying to get rid if older employees for younger employees . Any mistake you make these days can land you in the office getting written up. Lowes employees are human and we all make mistakes. Are there more out there seeing the same things going on across the US?

    +6 Votes
  • Pa
      Dec 16, 2015

    Well this has been helpful reading! I have worked for Lowe's for almost 5 yrs. I was hired as a seasonal waterer. I have a 2 yr degree in Horticulture and 18 yrs experience as a professional gardener and city landscape tech. I have a landscape contractor license and a pesticide license. All that to say I have a little knowledge when it comes to plants, I am not bragging. I interviewed for the Live Nursery Specialist (LNS) with the store I was working and a Plant Partner Vendor was hired instead, he had the personality of a used car salesmen. Later I heard he was fired for some pretty outrageous behavior, that was very apparent to most people. What seemed to matter most was selling anything at all costs, no matter if it was appropriate for the customer's needs or not. My HR at that store was incredible and got me an interview at another store for the LNS position and I was hired. I really did not have much of a retail background but know people and like to help. There was absolutely no training, none. I was frazzled all the time, running to the straw trailer so many times a day I can't count. I am a female and I was alone at night and going to a desolate parking area to get in a pitch black trailer to fetch pine needles and straw. I ordered plants and did everything I could to do my best and help customers in person, on the phone etc. I was so tired and burned out that I started to apply at a store closer to me. I was hired in the garden center as a part time person and later took a job in Appliances to get a full time position and then was able to be transferred back to OSLG as a CSA III. This past week I was approached to either travel to another store or take a leave of absence for 6 weeks because of budget cuts. I chose the leave as the drive would have been too far. I hope I will still have my job in 6 weeks. I have requested all this be documented and signed by the Store Mg and HR. They did not offer the documentation but I thought it wise. I will have to pay the premiums for my medical insurance. Things seem to be going down hill here the USA on the job front but I know the Lord is in control of everything and all we need to do is seek Him first.

    +5 Votes
  • Pa
      Feb 14, 2016

    I read the post an employee posted and said"learn to do projects on your own"' this statement was unfair to the people that go to lowes and ask just simple questions on a product lowes is selling, you the employee' should be trained to answer those question isn't that what your there for, if your not properly trained that's not the responsibility of the shopper you should tell the customer the truth I don't know anything your asking me they just put me here to lie to the customers, and if you don't know what your doing then your not worth the money they are paying you, so your lieing to the customers, getting paid for a job your not paid to do, and your telling us the customers to train ourselves when your being paid to provide information, and we the CUSTOMERS are right in asking a simple question your wrong in what you stated they just wanted what they paid for and lowes is ripping people off buy selling products they don't stand behind.

    -2 Votes
  • Mo
      May 11, 2016

    Lowes has some of the most rude employees. They are laugh and staring at people as the come to the door. If you ask any of the floor people for help. They get an attitude. I had this happen to me on several times. My advice to lowes is ...start screening your employees better. The location I go to is very close to my home. Dickerson Rd. NASHVILLE, TN

    -3 Votes
  • Ja
      May 27, 2016

    Omg I can't believe all these comments haha. Even if the corporation is in "the right" im just still sitting here like, yeah, Lowes can't afford 200 bucks a week. the Company (my store anyways and its not as big as some of them believe me!!!) makes a guaranteed 100-150GRAND A ###ING DAY!! The only reason this fellow was let go was because its in the companys best interest. This idea, this structure, this building, this organizations...best interest. not the peoples. You'd think these companys worth billions would funnel the money back into the economy and society to help benefit it, but nope, they stack it up so investors are happy, which means the CEO and other high ups will be paid more. It's quit a ###ing sick system, and to watch people defend it, that's just ###ing classic.

    +3 Votes
  • Id
      Dec 09, 2016

    Do NOT go to work for LOWES. I worked as a Project Specialist for Lowe's one year. They have NO CLUE what they are doing. My superior took my ideas and acted like they were theirs. They favored people who they can DICTATE to versus and educated experienced employee with 25 years. They move employees from department to department calling them specialists with little to no training. They place you in the position, put you on the floor, and hope that you do not make a mistake that causes a disgruntled customer. They are simply operational based with little to NO knowledge of a sales platform or how to create and build repeat clients. They simply satisfy the customer who is barking the loudest...
    I could really throw this program under the bus with the wealth of knowledge I have but... No one really cares! Welcome to corporate BS!

    +1 Votes
  • Te
      Jan 24, 2017

    I have been with the company for over 12 years as a Part time CSA. We have now started the purge of the Department managers. We have 15 Manager that will be effect. Out of the 15 Department managers they will keep 6 of them. two ASM have already been fired last Tuesday. The folk that do not get tapped for the new position will have a year as a CSA if they do not find a permanent position by then they too will be shown the door. Since we have recently filled all of our specialist jobs I see not much of a possibility for them getting a full time positions since it is district wide. Making hard for folks to find a jobs out side our store. Some of the older department managers know that they will not get tapped and are very afraid of their future. . All department managers are interviewing this week for the new positions. I dread going to work next Saturday and see the friends and yes like family loosing their jobs. Most of fulltime employee think that this a transition and it not going to stop until they cut even more full time positions. Which leave most people that had hopes and dreams of moving up with the company a pipe dream. I just glad many years ago when I was ask to apply for a Management position that I opted out or I would have been in this mess. At one time I was so proud to work for Lowes now I feel ashamed. I look at all the way they could have prevented this but choice not too. Most part time employee lack dedication and I think that we are head for break down at what make Lowes the better choice than Home Depot. That corporate refuses to see is we can't become Home Depot. If we try we will loose to them badly. People come to us for a wealth of knowledge we have even if our price are higher that The depot. If we take that away the customer will shop at the Depot. Why pay more the same crappy service.

    0 Votes
  • Id
      Apr 12, 2017

    Im really sorry they did that to you, it must've been so frustrating. I'm working as a seasonal at lowes right now, been here for about over a month, they change my sheduale frequently and don't ask me before hand. Not sure how long you said you where there, but I'm freaking out over when I'll be "let go". I have money I need to make and bills I need to pay also, being a seasonal sounds good at the moment because your needing a job badly, but as time goes by you wish you had a back up plan . I'm just scared at how it all will end leaving me unemployed and in need of a new job.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
      May 18, 2017

    @Idontsuck-7 Do you know that system lowes is using? Is it old or annoying to use?

    -1 Votes
  • Li
      Jun 13, 2017

    Huge corportations like Lowe's can afford to keep their promises and not scam the little employee and make them lose their apartments. I am appalled!! They should be sued for human's rights violations!!! Also, their treatment of their employees trickles down to how the customers are treated!!!
    I know the man who does all the overseas trading for Lowes and he is a millionaire many times over. That is abuse of the little guy. That is out and out slavery I tell you! MODERN DAY SLAVERY AS AN EMPLOYEE AT LOWE'S !!!
    Lowe's you should be ashamed.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
      Jun 21, 2017

    Ive worked for Lowes for a little over a year.. I also own two businesses, one in landscaping, the other in making custom furniture... I applied to lowes as a way to "see people" because I often work alone. so ive been working at lowes as a "wee team" associate... this summer my business got a little crazy so I told the HR person I had to drop fri.'s. she helped fill out the paper work and I was told "your all set" . I'm now being written up for "no call no shows" on Fri's. When I was Hired ... I was told.. my hours on sat and sun were 9-6... suddenly my hours were all over the place.. without being told before hand. I brought this up to the manager and he said... Don't worry, ill take care of it. so... I got written up for being late on those days... Good thing I don't really need this job...
    Besides that... my expertise is in gardening, and wood working... where do they put me usually... Electrical. lol I know absolutely nothing about electrical. I told them... "I'm not giving advise and burning some ones house down!! they laughed and said " Do the best you can" Really??!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jun 22, 2017

    @D-Man1967 Sounds like the lowe's managers need to be fired.

    +1 Votes
  • Ti
      Aug 22, 2017

    I'm old and handicapped and I got fired from lowes because I poopied in my diaper

    -2 Votes
  • No
      Apr 03, 2018

    @TigerUppercut You are not funny in the least, if the national debt keeps going up YOUR GOING TO HAVE TO WORK TILL YOU ARE POOPING IN YOUR DIAPER !

    0 Votes

Post your comment