The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CITI Bankhuge annual fee

O

I have been a loyal customer of Citibank for over a decade. I have the AAdvantage Credit Card. Last year we called and complained about the cost of the annual fee, which had risen. They reduced the fee and offered us miles. The customer service agent stated this could be an option we could use this year again rather than cancel the card. We kept the card and have continued to use it. This year I called again to have the fee reduced or removed. I was told that they were not going to reduce or remove the fee and I could cancel the card if I am not happy with their response. I was upset by this response as this is not what I was told previously. Honestly, there are too many credit cards out there that offer wonderful benefits to customers like me who have perfect credit and pay our bills on time. I have starting using another card during these past two years that offers no fee and provides great benefits. I see no use in keeping the Citibank credit card if they are going to charge huge annual fees. It seems a shame to lose a customer like me, but I don't mind canceling my card if customer service representatives are allowed to be untruthful and I am going to be charged to use their card. You would think Citibank would want to keep their customers. But I guess with billions of dollars being given out by the government, why should a company like Citibank provide good customer service?

Responses

  • Wi
    Windaker Dec 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CITI Bank has now shut off my Other credit card with them for no reason. I thought it was for no reason till I thought back. A few months ago I received a preapproved loan check in the mail for $6000.00 just come in to the local Branch. I figured I would see about consolidating some credit card debt since CITI had increased everyone's interest rates because they got mad about the President having them quit taking advantage of people. I went in and was told the $6000.00 was a mistake and they can only do $5000.00. I have received 2 or 3 more saying $6000.00 since then. I got one a couple weeks ago preaproved for $6000.00. My credit is good enough for a loan but not to keep my credit cards open. They ran a credit report and since I was trying to lower my monthly payments but with the interest and insurance they were going to add on I would be worse off. They told me they would have to put full coverage insurance on my Truck and I would have to put it up against the loan but could not loan me enough to help. I now think this is what caused them to stop both of my cards from being able to be used. I have credit on them I could use and tried to use because they had not told me and still have not on one card. I called when the first card was denied and was told they mailed out a letter and I asked what was going on. I have not been over limit and not missed payments. I was told because of the credit reporting agency I had too much credit. Back a few months ago I also got a letter saying if it was hard meeting your bills because of the economy they might be able to help by lowering my interest and consolidating so I called and that was only for people that were missing payments and I was fine and had good payment history. That was on the same week I went to see the people in local CITI office about a consolidation loan. This also might be a reason they decided to go after my account. I was a great customer so they decided to stop me from making them money. I am working 40 hours a week and make a little money selling stuff at the flea market on eBay and yard sales. I think I am being treated unfairly or CITI is getting ready to go Bankrupt. I do have 3 credit cards with Capital one and they don't have a problem so far but if CITI starts making me look like I have a problem they and others may close my credit also. I have good credit. I make all my Payments on time. I use my tax refund to pay down my credit cards. I use them to either do things I need or my Wife's medicine or to make extra money by buying and reselling stuff. CITI claims to have changed the way they look at customers and if you have been loyal for 10 years means nothing to them. I just want to know if they are doing this to everyone or is it because of the loan I turned down a few months ago. They approved the loan but since I didn't go for it as the interest was more than the cards interest they canceled my cards. I turned 59 so also could be age as they keep saying if you pay this amount you will be paying on this card balance for this many more years.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborahleeallen Jul 02, 2011

    I now demand a letter via snail mail concerning any and all communications with anyone and everyone! If the company I am dealing with starts making excuses about sending a hard copy thru the mail then I just say "Not interested." and hang up.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborahleeallen Apr 06, 2011

    12/09 my husband lost his job and shortly after that he contacted Citi to cancel our credit card. When I made the final payment I wrote on the payment receipt "final payment on cancelled account" A few months later we cancelled our Direct TV account and agreed to make payments on the early cancellation fee. We received a letter from Direct TV that we owed $0 because the early cancellation fee had been charged to the credit card. With in 2 weeks we received a bill from Citi that the cancellation fee had been billed to the cancelled card. My husband and I both called to find out why this charge had been made to a cancelled card. Citi has given us several excuses and the run around. After several phone calls from both my husband and myself Citi agreed to send us a letter stating that the credit card had been cancelled and no charges would be made. At no time did Citi send us statements or any other communications between the time we originally called to cancel the card and the billing statement for this charge. Citi did not call us to make us aware that they were re-activating this account without our authorization. Since they have written verification in the form of the final payment statement showing that it was the last payment on a cancelled account they have no valid excuse for re-activating this account with out either mine of my husbands authorization. At this point we can not resolve this situation because Citi refuses to remove the charge. They claim that they did not require either my husband or my consent to authorize this charge on a cancelled account. According to Citi they are not legally obligated to notify us of a company billing them on a cancelled card.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    zekerunning Jan 26, 2011

    I recently applied for a refinance loan for my home. It came to my attention that there were some errors on my credit report. I have followed up with experian to adjust these claims. Since then citibank has reduced my credit card limit, stating that my income was insuffient and that I had made late payments on my ATT Mastercard, I have since received a credit summary from experian which states that my account with Citibank is in good standing and I have not had any late payments. I share the mortgage wtih my husband and he and I both cover the costs of our home. I hope you can resolve these matters in a timely fashion. My husband and I would very much like to take advantage of the lower interest rates currently available to refinance our home and reduce the number of years to payoff. I thank you for looking into this matter.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sachin kumar pandey Oct 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Iwas having citi reliance gold credit card with me..And i was told that citi banks tie up with reliance is over so we wlii issue you a new credit card.This incident took place in the month of july 2017. Since then i have requested so many times about the status of my renewed credit card but no body is bothered to tell me the exact status and above to that i am getting statements on my email add stating about my outstanding payments on the credit card.How can i make a payment for the credit card which even i have not received till yet.. Hoping this way of request i am hoping for a positive response from CITI BANK'S side.


    Regards
    Sachin Pandey

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kealee Feb 25, 2010

    I have had a Citibank credit card for 20 years and it was a card with "no annual fee". I recently received a letter stating they would start charging me $60 a year as an "annual fee" unless I charge $2400/year on the card.

    I have never had a late payment on this card. I will be "opting out" of this card and closing the account rather than pay this fee. I've been a loyal, well paying customer for 20 years and this is how they thank me? It's also ashame because this is my longest trade line on my credit with a very high "chargeable" balance. I'm certain this open account helps my credit score (which is also very good) but I'm not willing to bow to this bully company in order to keep a trade line open for the benefit of my credit score any longer. I believe Citibank no longer cares if they have my business so it's "bye-bye Citibank" for me...

    0 Votes
  • St
    stantheman78 Feb 19, 2010

    No complaint anymore. I just canceled my account. Amex here I come.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    J_Orlando Feb 17, 2010

    Received BOTH letters to my 2 accounts yesterday. Perfect record with CB since 1989. Took full credit line loans of 3.9% and 2.9% for the life of the loan several years ago. This is nothing more than a criminal attempt on the part of CB to back out of what they guaranteed.

    I don't need the loans and I can close ANY time. I'm going to do better. I'm going to get my $120 bucks out of these ### ONE LETTER at a time. And I will NOT stop until they rescind this disgusting breach of faith.

    I will write my lawmakers, I will write to news agencies, I will file complaints, I will NOT STOP until this disgraceful abuse of my many years of good faith business is REPAID IN FULL.

    Get ready Citibank. You've been warned.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fruityana Feb 17, 2010

    I just got my letter yesterday, from Citibank regarding the $60 annual membership fee. My first CC as well, which, after 14 years, I will be canceling. Sad. It had my photo on it.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BillGattess Feb 14, 2010

    Added photo of letter

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BillGattess Feb 14, 2010

    Add another customer to the mix who got two letters and closed two old (10 & 14 years each) Citibank credit card accounts.

    I guess I did not generate enough in transaction fees for Citi and paid off my balances in full each month (<----Bad consumer).

    Screw You Citibank - Please pay back your bailout money and then go belly up!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mp
    mprescott77 Feb 12, 2010

    Same thing happened to me as the above poster. I'll be canceling my very first credit card that I got in college and it makes me sad (sentimental), but I refuse to pay an annual fee. I'm so tired of good, responsible people who pay their bills on time getting the shaft.

    1 Votes
  • I have had my Citibank card for 21 years. Yesterday a letter arrived telling me that I would be charged a $60 annual fee unless I put an average of $200/month on my card. In this time of economic crisis, when everyone is trying to spend less, I cannot believe that Citibank is trying to force me to spend more. I called and cancled my card. After 21 years. It was the first card I'd ever owned. But I can see that customer loyalty is lost Citibank.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Santhappan S Nov 16, 2009

    I have created Citi Bank Savings Account on September Month. Till now, i didnt get amy ATM Debit card. So many times, i have visited the branch and the customer service executives are telling the genric message "your card will be despathced in week time". I called many times customer executives, there is no use. Those people does not have any information and they are telling, your details is not displayed, please visit the branch.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    calcasieu Oct 27, 2009

    I have heard that Citibank received government stimulus money, and they were required to lower credit limits, raise interest rates, etc. However, it doesn't look like they did this to the "bad" customers----they punished the "good" customers.
    Also, they are hurting people's credit scores in the process. They have lowered limits, so your debt to available credit is higher.

    0 Votes
  • So
    southcarolinajoe Oct 27, 2009

    After 20+ years of never missing a payment, CITI sent me a letter stating my interest rate was going to increase from 7% to 29%. I have great credit. Sure, they are giving me the option to leave, and freeze my current balance at the current rate, but there are multiple ways closing an account can hurt your credit.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vinay121 Sep 08, 2009

    Dear Sir
    I have purchased Bajaj Pulsar 15 DTS-i on Dated 03.12.2017 in Fair Deal Auto in Dariyaganj Delhi.
    My EMI is booked from only 18 Months Rs 2855 per month My first EMI has debt from April 2017 and My Last EMI is Sep-2017 sir i have already paid to all EMI but we are not give my Clearence Certificate So pls help me and provide my Clearence certificate on my email id [email protected] i am sending my bike details My Bike Black Bajaj Pulsar DL-7S BC 1722 Purchase from Fairdeal automobile Dariyaganj delhi 03.12.2017 and my mobile no is [protected]
    thanks alot i am waiting for ur Reply ASAP

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sometimes Jones Jul 13, 2009

    I simply love how all the Citi complaints end with "bailout" and "tax payer money" (yadda, yadda yadda) .. Almost all major banks/card issuers accepted bail out money.

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    joncal Apr 30, 2009

    Yes they call me about 7 or 8 times a day.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morning132 Apr 03, 2009

    Yes, I totally agree with the complaint regarding Citibank fees! I, too, am a very good customer with Citibank and have been with them for years. I pay my balance in full regardless of the amount which is sometimes between $3000-$4000. I called them regarding their changes with respect to fees and point blank asked them if their fee structure is an attempt to offset all of the bad debt due to non-paying customers. Get this...the representative told me they would imposing extra fees for those of us who pay in order to offset the bad debt! I quickly responded to him that the first time I notice any extra fees or increased rates of any kind, they could "kiss this good customer goodbye"! I have excellent credit and don't need them! While I realize the rep doesn't make the rules, I told him he might want to make a note that the good customers will soon be dwindling and Citibank will have nothing but debt!

    These credit card companies are nothing but thieves. Personally, I think they deserve to have all the bad debt.

    1 Votes
  • No
    nope Mar 27, 2009

    ok so why did you apply for the card when you read on the application that it had an annual fee?

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    Mohamed Shahat Shahat Sayed He Sep 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To : City Bank, Cairo
    CC : City Bank, Head Office

    Attn. Credit Cards Devision,

    Date: 27/7/2017


    Dear Sirs/Madams,

    Kindly be notified that I encounter a problem regarding my credit card No. [protected] owned by Mohamed Shahat Shahat Sayed Hegazi, issued at 8/2017.

    To illustrate, you refused to increase my credit limit (my current credit limit is EGP 3000). I sent you a request ti increase my credit limit, but you replied that I have to wait untill 6 months are gone after the date of my loan. I really can’t understand what’s the relationship between my credit card and my loan. I asked you to increase my credit limit for two reasones: 1- my salary increased from EGP 1020 to EGP 1600, 2- the transactions volume of my purchases through your credit card. If the credit limit is higher than EGP 3000, my transactions would much exceeded the current ones because I always have to wait two days for the deposit to be shown in the card so that I can use the card again, or the existence of a payable amount that is more than EGP 3000, represented in PCs invoice, etc. this creates pressure on my work, and forces me to use other cards and divide the amount.

    Sorry for taking so much of your precious time in this introduction.
    Coming to the point, eventually I kept waiting untill the 6 months passed, then I re-submitted the request again. After a while, and to my surprise, one of your respected employees called me and said that there is an offer for me, which is to exceed my loan’s amount. I told him that I submitted a request to increase my credit limit, not my loan’s amount. He replied literally that this wouldn’t affect my credit-limit increase since 6 months are passed already, and hence I can increase my credit limit and at the same time get advantage of the bank’s offer, on that basis I agreed to the offer.
    3 days later, I got a phone call from your esteemed bank telling me that the extra loan amount was added to the balance, and your employee told me that I can’t increase my credit limit since I took a new loan. In response to that, I told her that I refuse to receive the loan amount because your respected collegue told me before hand that it is a spplemantary loan, and not a new one, and hence it won’t affect my credit-limit increase. To my disaapointment, she said that the loan’s amount was already added to the balance, and they can’t take it back by any means.

    To sum up, I still insist on increasing my credit limit since I hold a position of purchase officer in the company I work for, and my transactions volume through your bank card exceeds EGP 80000 since 8/2017. attached to this message, you will find balance sheets of other two cards related to other banks I deal with, and you can notice the difference that they give me more advantages than I do, and if you have exceeded my credit limit, I would have done all my transactions through your bank:

    Bank Issue Date Credit Limit Transactions Amount Notes
    Piraeus Egypt 9/2017 3600 EGP 30000
    United Bank 3/2017 4800 EGP 12000


    Therefore, Kindly agree on transfering my credit card into the Gold edition and increase my credit limit to a minimum of EGP 15000 ( I would even appreciate it if it exceeded that amount). I’m waiting for your reply at your earliest convenience, and if the answer is no, I would repay the card’s debt and ask for an expiary warranty, although I wouldn’t like to stop dealing with your bank because you are a respected bank that provides excellent services, and you won’t be affected by accepting or rejecting a request of a minor customer like mine.

    Thanks & Best Ragards

    Mohamed Shahat Shahat Sayed Hegazi


    Mob. +[protected]+[protected]
    Tel. +202 ([protected]- [protected]) ext. 654 OR 106
    e-mail [email protected] [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hanaa diaa Jul 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Kindly be informed that citi bank contact me at March this year informing me that mastercard decided to change my credit card number in case of any fraud cases, as they claimed it might happened due using the card outside Egypt while traveling in U.K. Unfortunately I didn't receive the card as I was told within 7 working days. I had payments that are deducted directly from the card which stopped from deduction. I contacted citi bank and they informed me that they will call Armax to deli ever the card at my work address.

    Till now I didn't receive the card!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa May 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I like to file a complaint against Citi Cards. I told them what I was told. I tried to explain Identity Theft was the problem and they call 10 or 15 times a day. I guess all my cards (or most of them are owned by Citi Bank) I told them I'd fallen, I also informed them of the anxiety attacks that I've been having and to please stop calling. I've had their cards a long time. I've never been late or anything, but I sent in a check on the 23rd of Dec 2017, then they received another check because they told me that they did not receive the other one. Afterwards they have me making 2 payment is Dec paid 150.00 each so they said the checks went to that date in Dec.(therefore I owed again for Jan.) (This id theft started in June of 2017 so why would I pay them 2 payment s of $150.00) ridiculous.

    Its ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chinnu Oct 03, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please do not use citibank credit cards never ever. The biggest surprise will be even though you clear the complete outstanding on your Citi Bank credit card again the minimum amount will be debited from your savings a/c. and they will say it will be credited back if it is am extra amount but god only knows if it will be credited or not. So my humble request to all of you is not to use CITI BANK CREDIT CARDS. You will see lot of hidden charges afterwards!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MR HARRY WHITE Sep 28, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WANT TO SEE THE ORIGINAL COPY OF CITI BANK TRANSFER SLIP SO AS TO BE SURE OF ANY TRANSACTION

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CH.SRINIVASA RAJU Sep 05, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Citi bank people give the CREDIT CARDS or SOME other cards. They take money for that cards, directly from your account. They didnt inform any about this.

    After complaint i got the money back(For LIfestyle card).

    from my Credit Card account they given 60000 money to citibank merchant. They didnt verify my details and they didnt inform me also.

    His merchant told me, he will confirm and drop the letter and citibank take the confirmation about this before transfer money to merchant account. So he requested me to give the +ve reply to citibank confirmation call.

    No one (citibank or merchant) confirmed with me. Merchant drop the slip and citibank transfer money in MINUTES.

    Both the sides i reported this.

    Merchant told he cancelled the membership and money comes back to the account in 45days.

    citibank didnt care about the customer.

    He dont have any responsibility for customer.

    Where to logg the complaint about this, in online?

    Thanks and Regards,
    SRINIVASA

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ammu Apr 20, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I get irritating phone calls from number +91 80 [protected]. Anyone has the same experience?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.