SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Capital One Auto Financescam and cheating!

1
J Review updated:

Since the onset of my Capital One Auto Loan (March 2005) I have made monthly payments ($587.23) on time, never late. Actually, I’ve always paid at least 2-3 week prior to the scheduled due date. On 8/27/07, I made the 9/22/07 payment. Then, on 9/25/07, I decided to make an additional payment ($5,000) as a principal only pay-down. I called Capital One Payment Processing Center to verify the correct address for this additional payment. The $5,000 was sent according to their instructions. Since Capital One had ceased to mail out monthly statements to me, I went online to verify the payment had posted to my account. My account reflected the extra $5,000 had been applied to my account as principal only. On 10/11/07, I made my usual monthly payment ($587.23) due 10/22/07. On 11/16/07, I made my usual monthly payment ($587.23) due 11/22/07. On 11/17/07, I decided to check my account activity online. Assuming that all would be in order, I got the shock of my life. Capital One had reversed the $5,000 pay-down and applied it toward (2) so called past due late payments and the difference was applied as interest. I went to the local Capital One bank seeking an explanation and was told it appeared to be an error but that they could not fix the error. The bank clerk told me it could only be fixed by customer service via the payment processing center which can only be contacted by phone. Since 11/17/07, I have made numerous calls trying to get my account corrected and have been told a different explanation each time. First, it was a computer error which would be corrected within 2-3 business days. Nothing happened. Then I was told I didn't €™t mail the $5,000 to the correct address which probably caused the confusion but that the error would be fixed within 72 hours. Still, nothing has changed. All of my payments were made via on-line bill pay through a checking account I have at another bank, I called my bank and they looked into the matter and also found the error to be with Capital One as they had sent in all payments as directed. My checking account reflects the same. My bank contacted Capital One and was told the error had been corrected as of 11/16/07. Of course this was not true as I am still trying to get my account fixed as of date, 12/19/07. I have a print out from Capital One with dates (9/25 thru 11/16/07) showing back and forward reversals (debits and credits) of my regular monthly payments including the $5,000 principal pay-down. Capital One has totally taken advantage of my principal pay-down amount and are now stating they have an extra monthly payment amount floating around which they are trying to figure out where to apply the funds but that my account still shows I have (2) past due amounts. Now, as of date, Capital One has finally told me there are no errors on my account and it stands as shown. This is unbelievable and illegal as my payments have never been late and the $5,000 pay-down is gone with the wind. As a high school history teacher, Capital One has caused me and still causing me to be under extreme stress do to this problem.

Responses

  • D
      Jan 08, 2008

    I am in the same boat!!!!

    Capital One Auto Finance has great problems with monthly statement when the loan gets close to the end. I am having problems getting statements and now I learned they have me two months behind! You call their customer service and you get transferred to collections.

    They are okay from the beginning to the middle but SUCKS and a SCAM near the end.

    My one answer is they want late fees, and or put your car into repo to get it and resell it.

    BEWARE!!!!

    +2 Votes
  • L
      Jan 20, 2008

    Company still owes me money. Agreed to a lower interest rate by .5 points in exchange for allowing C1 to automatically withdraw monthly payments from the account. In 7 of the 11 months I did business with them they "oops" forgot to withdraw funds from the account on the 25th of the month as agreed. This permitted c1 to collect more in interest than due. When I would contact them, it was typical for the person over the phone not to be able to locate my account. Then once located they would ask me if I wanted to make a payment for a fee of $8.95. I would explain to the person that I was on "auto-debit", they had my checking info, and was not going to pay a fee, and they needed to backdate my payment to the 25th. They also would take monthly payments out of your principle only payments. The stress and strain finally became to much, I refinanced with a credit union. Because they took a monthly payment twice on my last month, once from my principle only and again from my accout, I and the credit union contacted them to correct, and apply the full balance of the principle only to my balance. To date they still owe me money, they never corrected their errors, although they promised to do so on several occassions. The credit union also informed me that they regualarly see clients that have had their credit destroyed by capital one. This company is corrupt. Oh yeah, and they sent my checking information in the mail, full checking account and routing number with contact information in the mail. I think they go to federal prisons and select people convicted of fraud and extortion and ask them to come work for them. I am not kidding, this company is a bully, and is breaking the law. I am just waiting for them to p-off the right person that will sue them into the ground.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Jan 22, 2008

    1).The first step is to gather all your Money orders checks made out to Capital One make photocopies of the receipts

    2). Validate the day the Check or money order was made out and when they cashed it.

    3). Mail all your payments certified return receipt please also be aware to check that the certified return # matches the return receipt 2 months ago mine didn't match and I went to the U.S. federal Court room in tacoma the clerk of courts refused to do anything about it but she should give you a detailed civil complain keep this

    4). take your capital One Auto Finance contract have it Notarized if possible Apostilled destination International court the hague reason Capital One has offices in canada and the U.K.
    this prevents a jurisdictional game

    5). Take all the photocopy money orders and your Notarized Apostilled contract -copy not the original and mail this to the national Arbitration Forum or American Arbitration Association based in California - English common law state along with your payment. The reason for this is you want to have this legally documented. Please have your affadivit Notarized and Apostilled

    6). The reaon why you Notarize is to make it a valid legal document and think about the jurisdictional games that go on Capital One has offices all over the U.S. so this involves Jurisdictional games with states countrys etc.. eliminate the
    jurisdictional games

    7). goto fair Issac score pay your 16.00 and check every account carefully these people like to collude old 1930's pratice of Blackballing or Black listing

    8). The keys are to remove Jurisdictional games
    making your documents valid
    (treaty law prevents corrupting International documents this is considered a felony if any Public servent or agency engages in these practices

    Check your credit score each account carefully pay attention to accounts that have 0 balance eventhough they are making you still pay ????

    In the end by refusing arbitration they will have to eventually be subject to class action lawsuits also after the arbitration claim is filled out and they refuse fill out your U.S. Civil complaint very detailed information have this notarized and Apostilled destination the Hague in Amsterdam

    +1 Votes
  • I
      Jun 11, 2008

    if you have a problem concerning your capital one autoloan, feel free to e-mail me at icanhelp.[protected]@gmail.com. I very well might be able to send you in the right direction without having to contact customer service. have a good day!

    +2 Votes
  • C
      Aug 04, 2008

    My auto loan is not through capitol 1 but with another bank... My question is:
    I pay my monthly payments at my bank and I also pay an additional amount in which i state in the memo section of my check (25.00 apply to prinicple), and I also write this on the statement i hand to the teller. I've noticed that the bank has not been applying the extra amount to my principle amount.

    What can I do about this

    Thanks for your help.

    +1 Votes
  • T
      Aug 14, 2008

    Maybe I just don't under stand this simple Interest contract cause the only other car loan I ever had was at a local bank. I would pay Extra and after the monthly payment was taken out the rest went towards the Principal. Well This new loan I've had with Captial One Auto Finance, I have been with them a year now and ever since I canceled a Scam Car Warenty they sent the 1, 700 to Capital One and I told them to pay it towards the Principal and they say they did and that my Car payments were payed up for about half a year and that if I wanted to still pay monthly I could but it I didn't have to. So I didn't since online it said next due date was like 6 months down the road. So I waited till it was due next like they said I could and no problems. Now that passed and I started paying my monthly payments like normal and my principal was going down like it should and all a sudden I noticed since I payed 3 more months a head on the car payments that my Principal wasn't moving at all anymore and that I called them up and 3 different people said all three of those payments were going to Interest and none to Principal and of course I got mad and said NO SHI* many times lol. So they would insist I hold like ALWAYS for minutes on end just to come back and say yeah its not moving and that they were in the wrong and it would be fixed in a few days. NOTHING was fixed so i called again and again talking to many different people then a Superviser that ended up telling me I hadn't payed any Interest in those 3 months and the 1700 I was like WHAT!. My loan was a 13, 092 dollar loan at a 12.95% Interest rate for 72 months. $ 263.79 is always due on the 25th of the month. Thats a total loan if I'd payed the $ 263.79 a month would be $18, 992.88 by the end. But I pay 265 even a month when I don't pay up a few m0nths a head which I do a lot. She said they never recieved interest and I was dumb founded cause in there paper work I have it says that every payment you send in they take INTEREST OUT FIRST then the rest goes to Principal well she said it did with the 1700 for that month for 80 dollars and the rest payed up almost half a year in payments with no Interest???? I was mad by this point cause she said my 3 payments I payed a head now and in the past didn't pay interest and I was like then why is account just at 10, 930.00 in just a year and its over 5000 I've sent to them this year I mean only 2000 of that went to the principal and 3000 floated in the air??? Cause she says they didn't get there interest so now my monthly payments are only Interest and nothing to principal?? I mean guys where did my 3000 dollars go then. Plus I'm pissed they never explained this Simple Interest thing to my Wife and I that they are saying that when we pay ahead in Car payments they get NO INTEREST and it cost me MORE INTEREST in the long haul how the hell is that when they State in there paperwork that when they recieve any payments they take out INTEREST FIRST then what is left over goes to principal. I'm so pissed that they are flat out Black mailing me as they are FREEZING my Principal and taking all my future payments as INTEREST and I sent in the money it was there many of them a head of months that all they had to do was take the Interest out of them every month the payment comes due that I already had payed up!! I mean now they say we are screwed and going to pay more Interest cause of there bullshi* scam. If this is hitting home to someone else out there please email me back! I don't know what to do and my car payments are payed up till Oct 25th and to me those payments are just floating in the wind cause they say every payment I made ahead a month they get no Interest and I'm billed like 4 dollars a day cause of it it makes no sence and I'm being screwed here. I really want to sue this company for these scams.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Oct 23, 2008

    First of all Capital One Auto Finance is full of Sh**t. They want their interest no matter how you pay them ahead or month by month. That's the whole deal.

    I pay them $2000 ahead cause I didn't know if was going to make they payments the next 4 moths. They took the money and apply it to the principal. I only realize this 4 months after when I send them a normal payment. My balance didn't decrease a penny. I paid on time according to the due date shown on their website.

    Here is the trick they play on you. For Example your balance is $10, 000 your monthly payment is $500.00 let's say, $100 of that is for interest. your monthly payment is due on January 15
    On January 10 you send them the normal payment $500...they received it on time. They take the interest $100 and apply $400 towards your principal...now your balance is $9, 600 ...your due date is now February 15.OK everything is fine at this point.

    a few days later you got a bonus on your job and you decided to send $2, 500 to Capital One Auto financing so your balance is less. They receive the payment and MAKE YOU BELIEVE YOU'RE PAYING 5 MONTHS AHEAD BY CHANGING YOUR DUE DATE to JULY 5 . You are make to believe you don't have to pay anything for March, April May, June...On July 10 you send a normal payment for $500...they receive on time but your balance did not decrease at all?...GUESS WHAT...ALL THE MONEY WENT TO PAY INTEREST FOR MARCH APRIL, MAY, JUNE, JULY!!!...AND THAT FOLKS IS HOW CAPITAL ONE SCREWS PEOPLE.

    BE AWARE OF THIS TRICK...AND PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR PAYMENTS AND HOW THEY APPLIED IT TOWARDS YOUR LOAN!!!


    THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

    +1 Votes
  • P
      Nov 11, 2008

    I've had a car loan for three years with them and never missed a payment. I lost my small company and sold my house to pay off some of the bank debt. We moved and at the time having a rough time paying. We got two months behind and talked to collections and we paid them another payment and they said I could talk to hardship. I finally got hold of them and this Kay I talked to said to send an explanation and check stubs from my work and my wifes. We did, she calls and was quite rude in talking to me and said where were my check stubs, did you and your wife get a divorced, we only got hers. Knownly that my wife sent both, I said she sent everything together. She said, we need another payment before I can help you, I said we sent 400 dollars last week and was told you could help us out now because we sent you that payment. This was hardship and I thought they could help us out by lowing our payments and put the other past do payments behind the loan, like I was told before by another women, Ashley. This Kay said she needed another payment or she couldn't help us. I said we didn't have it and she said the repo man would be calling me. So I don't know if this is a lie about hardships or not, she knew very well I just paid them last week and I couldn't afford more. She was so rude about it, like she didn't understand our situation or care. They can have my car, I'll never do business with them again, I will get back on my feet and never ask help from them, in fact I will tell people how bad and rude they are when you have a bad situation. They don't care about people and there hardships. Where do they fine these people. She should work in prison where I worked for ten years, she would make a great Officer. By her voice she reminded me of some of the females I worked with. Rude with no sympothy, thats her. Thanks so much Capitol One, you made my day.. I hope the government doesn't help you either, hope someone like Kay will talk to you about getting help and say thats to bad.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Nov 18, 2008

    Last month and this month I asked Capital One to !. defer a payment, 2. let me make and interest only payment. Both times I was told that the COMPUTOR said I didn't qualify for any assistance. I explained that we were having some difficulty but that it was only temporary. I was told I could make partial payments, but of course I would have to current before next payment was due. How does that help if I am having trouble coming up with the $341.00? I received my latest response from, you guessed it Kay on the online message system. I emailed Kay and told her like last month they would get the payment late again. Told her to sleep well, as I will not pay the heat bill(Michigan in winter, it is very cold), and could probably skimp on food for the rest of the month, but by GOD they would get their money. They are idiots. Won't even tell me why I don't qualify for an interest only payment or deferrment. I have a lot of auto loans over the past 36 years, but never have I had to deal with a company like this. If I didn't need the car to get to my job, they could have the thing. Can't even get them to lower the 15.5% interest rate, asked for a refi, (they don't refi their own loans, hows that for a ripoff. Most lenders will let you refi to qualify for better interest and lower payment. Hope they go down with the rest of the crooked banks.

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Feb 15, 2009

    I got loan for a car from Capital One auto finance, I made payments on time from 30.01.2007 to 30.01.2008 . But because of some difficulties I couldn't pay for 30.01.008 . They towed my car and I received a phone call from customer service to pay 2000.44 $ for the last 4 month (November, December, January and February) I called them back and try to show my online receipts but now they blocked my online access from the Internet . I really don't know what to do . If anyone had same experience please give me an advice .
    Akbar from Brooklyn NY

    +1 Votes
  • N
      May 28, 2009

    I have paid extra on my Capital One car loan, a large amount extra here and there. They also fail to send me a monthly statement unless I call and ask for it in the past. I have a statement from them and have spoken to customer service both state that I am paid up until 06/10/2010. The repo guy is knocking down my door for the car back. Capital One will not discuss the loan with me they transfer me to "The Windsor Group". They will not discuss payments, they are just hired to secure the car. They have never called or sent out notices stating that I am behind or owe a balance. My last staement says I have a $0.00 past due balance. Now I am just expected to give my car back to them????? I am hiding the vehicle and am in the process of looking for a lawyer. In Iowa they are supposed to send me a Right To Cure Notice stating the default amount and give me 20 days to respond/pay etc. They have not done this. I am seriously upset and emotionally stressed over this whole situation. It is scary to think that they could take my car that is paid AHEAD and NOT in default!

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Jun 15, 2009

    I am having a similar problem with Capital One. When I went on unemployment and before I was late with a payment I called to have my loan refinanced they refused. I then asked to have the payments deferred for a couple of months until I could start working again. They refused. I am now receiving 10 calls a day 7 days a week from the company which continues to refuse making any sort of payment arrangement. I am currently only one month behind in my payments about to go into month two. They have sent a letter from California stating I had until the 23th of this month to pay or face repossession. I am so frustrated with this company who is refusing to abide by NC State Consumer Laws. (Which also states they are not allowed to call a home after 8 pm.)
    I did not want to be financed by this company but Southern States Dodge Mazada, in Raleigh, NC, manipulated me into this agreement. This company is now out of business. I was told I was originally being financed by their in house finance company and I signed the paperwork as such. Later I received a call from Capital One stating I was being financed by them, I was horrified.

    Capital One refuses to help current customers but want to continue to sucker new customers into their company. STAY AWAY!!!

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Jul 10, 2009

    I borrowed from Capital 1 in 2005. I was doing great on the payments then the past 2 years we started to suffer financially but because the car was our main mode of transport we made sure to make the payments. One December I could not make the payment but they called and offered a deferment. I said what the heck if that helps. I did was I was instructed to do. The girl who helped me informed me that I needed to make a payment on my schedulded due date. I exp. that we were tight on money and rent was due so it would be late. She said let me look into something came back and said that is going to be ok just get the paperwork in asap. Great I thought until I followed up and was lectured very rudely on how I messed up due to lack of payment and they refused my application. Nice huh. Well from then on I made my montly payments but was always past the due date. Hey rent and food are important to! So fast forward to this past year when my job was closed for the season (wasn't aware this was going to happen I got a call not to come in anymore nice huh). I was still able to make the payments but then we found out my step son had major medical issues. I was struggling to make the payments now and they again offered the deferement this time I was going to be able to make the payment on time. SO again I subnmitted the paperwork by fax and get this I did this for 3 yes 3 weeks because apparently they were not receiving the paperwork for some odd reason. Now mind you I faxed my husband faxed from work like 4 different times I even had C1 on the phone at night as I was faxing from a Fed Ex Kinko's! So by the 4th week I called they said yes we finally received it but you messed up and didn't get it to us on time so it doesn't qualify. Now mind you i have the proof I sent it in on time. I even told them that but they didn't care they made me feel like c***. Now it gets better. So fast forward to now. I am a few months behind due to my husbands job loss in February. In the middle of all this C1 is calling me harrasing me and bascially belittling me as to why I'm not making payments. My husband and I decieded to move to another state to better our situation and when I was explaining all this to the C1 agent he had the guts to flat out tell me "what makes you think your life is going to get any better by moving you just need to make your payment now" I hung up on him called back and filed a complaint. I'm making it a habit now to complain about anyone who treats me like garbage plus i'm taking notes on everything. So now I was told that I could qualify for hardship like the others who have posted on here, but I have not been able to get through due to them being in meetings. What is that all about? Supposidly I'm supposed to leave a msg but the machine does not allow you to do so it asks you to call back then hangs up. If anyone has information on contacting the higer up's at Capitalone. Please share that with all of us. I had a friend who had a problem with a corporation he did his reseach found a way to contact a higher up with his problem and did this daily until they resolved the issue. i"m sure we all can get our issues resolved.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Jul 28, 2009

    Has anyone tried filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (http://www.bbb.org)? I did a query for the business: capital one auto
    and got multiple entries:

    Accredited - http://www.bbb.org/dallas/business-reviews/consumer-finance-and-loan/capital-one-auto-finance-in-plano-tx-[protected]
    Non-Accredited - http://www.bbb.org/tucson/business-reviews/loan-services/capital-one-auto-finance-in-tucson-az-[protected]

    Be that as it may, the list consisted of other "Capital One's", which I believe creates so much confusion and red tape for the consumers. This is shameful in itself.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Aug 23, 2009

    I am having a similiar issue- they refuse to accept my online transfers. The only free method to pay. I paid 1500 in one month, which they rejected for some reason- now im in repo status. They are after my car, and REFUSE to fix the matter. I am trying to BBB them- although i have learned BBB is a waste of time. I am going to do it anyways, because next is my lawyer. This is absurd.
    There has got to be something to keep these HUGE companies from BULLYING people around. And the people doing it dont care at all. They treat us like WE are the ones causing the issues.

    +1 Votes
  • W
      Feb 11, 2010

    Thought you all might like my story. After dealing with Capital One's stellar customer service for 5 years I came to a point where the balance on my loan was more than what the car was worth. I was going thru a financial hardship and couldn't keep up with the $800 payments, 10 months left. I offered to make 20 payment plus interest of $400. I was told no. I was going to be filing BK soon anyway so I said ok, come get the car. Instead of picking up they acted as though I was hiding it and went to friends and family in an effort to embarass me. Even though I had told them where the car was. Makes no sense. So I then moved the car to the airport parking garage. They were told the day I moved it where it was. Car sat for 7 weeks. They finally went to get it. $1500 storage bill. They had to pay. haha. Got nothing from me since since I filed for BK. They believe they have a license to be rude and mouthy because you cant pay. KARMA SUCKS!!

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Feb 17, 2010

    Whodaman, you really stuck it to them!! They are fools to turn down your offer of 20 payments $400/mth. Greedy fools ended up with nothing but a notice from US Bk court of discharge paper.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Feb 17, 2010

    I have had nothing but problems with capital one. I fell behind on my payments and they told me to make 2 months worth of payments and they would defer the 3rd month I owed which would bring me current. They said I had to sign a letter and mail it back. Well I did that even certified it. Oh ya I forgot they also told me I had to pay 35 dollars for processing. So they cashed the check but when I looked at my account I was still a month behind. I called them and they said " we never recieved your signed letter" I said but you cashed the check. They said but you didnt send the letter. I told them the check was inside the letter. They said sorry there is nothing we can do would you like to make the late payment. WTF????? ok so get this. Now my finances are in order I was all current. My payment is due on the 15th of the month. I made my Feb payment on the 3rd making me due on March 15th. I set up auto pay thinking this woul;d be a great way to stay current. Well guess what they took another payment out on the 15th of Feb. I called them and asked them why they did that. They said if you start auto pay before your due date it will come out automatically. I said ok but my payment isn't due till March 15th. They said sorry it is our policy. So now here it is feb 17 my next payment isnt due till Aprl 15 which is great except for now im 369.53 short of what I thought I had this month. They screw you coming and going. My words of advice DO NOT FINANCE ANYTHINBG THROUGH THESE LOW LIFE NON ENGLISH SPEAKING ###.

    +2 Votes
  • S
      Feb 17, 2010
    Capital One Auto Finance - Harassment/poor business
    210 N 2ND
    PLAINS, Kansas
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    My wife and i seperated and i took over the loan pymts on the vehicle. At that time i discovered the loan was past due. I made arrangements eith capitalone through their people. All payments were automatically deducted from my checking account.

    They contactes me and reduced my momthly pymt telling me i was now current

    I still receive the collection calls and letters. I have complied with their wishes on everything. Apparently their people do not communicate with one another or enter pymts and communications in their system

    I will never recommend capitalone for anything in the future, and i am considering filing a lawsuit

    +1 Votes
  • P
      Mar 15, 2010

    Try calling your state Attorney General and tell them in detail the details of the threats, abuse, lies and other mistreatment. Call you state attorney genreal each and every time they do another shady trick. Then when they continue to be abusive and threatening, tell them you have spoken with the Attorney General's office and filed a complaint and they tell you it is illegal to behave in such a manner. Also, when you offer a payment and they say no, write down the person who refused, the date and time you made the offer of payment and that it was refused. They usually change their tune. You can also add the Better Busines Bureau to your complaint list. When they locked me out of the online payment and tried to charge me for an over the phone payment I made them waive the fee and they found the IT person to get my access approved for an online payment.

    +1 Votes
  • W
      Mar 16, 2010

    We are a month behind in our capitol one auto payment.. we pay them as much as possible and as soon as we have the funds to do so.. the day they get the payment they are still calling 15 times a day - they explain that because we are behind that we are on their dialer.. so they'll call all hours of the day, from all area codes..

    okay so what's the solution to this harrassment and the wrong doing of capitol one?
    EVERYBODY LOOK UP A4V - thats Accepted For Value! A4V these jerks.

    look it up! it's for debt related problems and issues..

    I say, A4V - capitol one..

    Capitol One is the reason I take my phone off the hook. luckily they dont have
    my cell phone number ha ha ha ha ha ha

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Jun 29, 2010

    well our situation with capital one auto finance is they dont want to help in any way they want to take money and they dont care how they get it as long as they do. last year we got a truck from a local car dealership and it was an 2008 silverado great truck and we made all of our payments every month up until my husband got shot and when he was on the operating table in surgery and i was waiting to find out if he would make it or not i got a phone call on my cell from a repersenative for capital one auto finance that person wanted to know when they will get the payment for the truck i let them know what happened to my husband and what was going on to him that moment they still wanted the payment right there and then. i didnt work at the time and my husband was the one who provided for the family we have three young children also and they did not care at all and said if i didnt come up with the money the truck would be put up to repo well to top it off in the contract my husband had paid extra when he first got the truck some kind of insurance if anything happened to him they would pay for the months he was out of work or he past away the truck would be paid off. my husband lived thank god. he was in the hospital for a long time he had to learn how to walk again and weve been through alot of stress over this especially my husband we wanted to keep our only vehicle so after he got out of the hospital only about two months after he went back to work still not well and still healing he went back so he can pay what he owed and they took our money and they took the repo off for a week and put it right back on and our truck was takin from us they took our money and the truck so im looking for a lawyer because thats not right at all now i have to pay a lawyer to help us because god knows they were very wrong for what they did to us and they will pay big time it may take time but for what we have been through it will all be worth it to see them pay.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Aug 18, 2010

    Capital One Auto Finance is the biggest pain I have ever dealt with! First, the freakin' "customer service" is in India somewhere (imagine that). Last week some "customer service representative" named Benjamin (yeah right) had such a heavy accent that I could barely understand a word he was saying, and he was rude, very rude. So, I'm on my lunch break, don't have time to get him to repeat things 2 or 3 times, so I ask him to let me speak with someone else. He said he has to have a valid reason. I told him that I couldn't really understand what he was saying. He refused to send me to someone different! He kept saying that he had to have a VALID REASON!!! What? Not being able to understand his yammering wasn't valid enough for good ole' Benjamin? Are you kidding me? He said that I couldn't speak with anyone else...so, I let him speak to my dear friend CLICK! What a jerk. I'm so sick of so-called "customer service" being in India! Give me an AMERICAN to speak with Capital One! There's an idea for ya. I had been paying twice my payment amount for about 6 months when I realized that my balance was not budging. I make my payments online. Anyway, what I could understand from Sarah in India (yeah right) is that if you make any payment that goes toward principle only it has to be done over the phone. They won't accept any principle-only payments any other way. So, I just paid all that extra for nothing. They won't reverse it for you either. "It's our Policy" Well, Capital One, I've got some reeeeeeeaaaaaallllly super ideas of what you can do with your "policies". Now, I am going to my bank tomorrow and throwing myself on their mercy for a car loan. I do not want Capital One to get another cent of mine. I have one credit card, and it is a Capital One. Though I have never had any problems with their customer service (which is probably because that area of C1 is apparently in America somewhere) I will probably close that credit card account out. C1 sucks. I tell everyone I know to go another route if they possibly can. Hopefully a class action suit will come about soon.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Sep 12, 2010

    You [censor]ing idiot... Just pay your [censor]ing car payments. Seriously. What a dead beat.

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Oct 26, 2010

    i usually have had great service with capital one auto finance buythis month i paid my water bill and car payment at the same time, the only problem is that i put the water payment in the car loan envelope and the the car loan in the water bill envelope and mailed them so they would be on time (lucky me) any way i get the employee from the water company contacting me to say that my car payment was at the water company to which i immediately went down and wrote another check to cover the water bill and picked up the car payment and called capitol one to get their address and my account number so i could mail my car payment in. No problem, sent them the car pay ment in only to find out that they had deposited my check for mena water and sewer department and applied about 98% of it to interest on my car account as well as the car payment for the full amount of $576.22 I am having a very difficult time getting the company to return my mena water payment of $75.11 and had to talk to a gentlemen from INdia who I could barely understand I have sent 3 secure communications at the site asking them to contact me as well as return my friggin money but you know what they say----wish in one hand and s*** in another and see what gets filled first- oh yes i have also filed a dispute with my bank it has now been ten days and this money i needed to feed my family at the end of the month- a small amount to them but a large amount to feed 3 hungry mouths. Capitol one you suck.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Oct 30, 2010

    I do NOT have a loan with c1, but some one in my state does. I am getting multiple calls on my cell phone for someone i never heard of, and when i answer it, (because i now recognize the numbers) its an automated system. It ask for acct number, ss number, or ten digit phone number, but when i put my number that they keep calling, it is not associated with any account, and i cannot get a human being on the phone to get my number off the call list!!! They are not harrassing the man, they are harrassing someone who has never heard of the man!

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Dec 28, 2010

    my car of choice has always been chevrolet...i went to a dealership in louisiana...thought i was going to get low payments for a short period of time...with $8000 down on an $18000 demo (2006 HHR)...i was shocked at what the "finance manager" who soon left the job had done to me...$327 per month for 72 months...with life insurance and a warranty added...contacted capital one, state attorneys general for more than 3 yrs...no resolution...car repossessed...never in my life did i think that i would be riding a bus (after paying more than $20000) on a car...i have experienced extreme hardship...falls more than 4 times with injury to my shoulders and neck (still i am unable to get my injuries taken car of)...this is extreme hardship and yet they tell me that i owe them over $4000...

    +1 Votes
  • C
      May 13, 2011

    Imma complain everywhere I can!
    CAPITAL ONE auto finance wow the worsttt devil blood sucking rats...
    I recently lost my job, called them to see if we can work something out a settlement, because I have some money saved, so before I waste it in other things I told them I was willing to make a onetime payment to get this debt over with. I spoke with a nasty, unhelpful rep that told me don't worry as soon as you get a job u can keep on paying the car or just ask somebody to lend you the money, huh wtf? Are you serious...well to make the story short CAPITALONE don't help people (the customers) in anything I'm trying to settle for a little less I'm not trying to cut the debt in half but it seems like they rather me file for bankruptcy not make my monthly payments for at least 6 months dissappear the car and then they'll beg me for at least half of what I owe.

    +1 Votes
  • N
      May 21, 2011

    COAF refused to send the title to my car to my new state, so eventually it got repossessed because it was unregistered. Then they sold it at auction in a double deal and told me they got much less for it than they did and charged me the phony amount on the deficiency balance. They have also invaded my email and tampered with my U.S. mail because I have sued them in federal court and I am going to win.

    +1 Votes
  • N
      May 22, 2011

    Read my complaint of today and sue them. If you can't find a lawyer who will take it on contingency and you can't afford to hire one (who can?), file it in federal court pro se and ask for free process if you're poor (who isn't? with companies like these scamming us).

    +1 Votes
  • R
      May 29, 2011

    How many people do you think have lost their jobs because of the payment(s) you chose not to make? The economy has been poor for several years, and the recession has been a fixture since 2007. The entire economy fell apart because people were not paying their bills, and defaulting on their loan(s). There was a distinct possibility of you losing your job, or having financial issues; however, you chose to have Capital One purchase a car for you, and you did not care who would get hurt in the process (if at some point you had some financial difficulties). When you don't pay your bill(s), companies have to make up for that amount by downsizing (firing employees). It must be terrible to have a company buy a car for you, and give you a small fortune so you can get to work and support your family...absolutely horrible. You have money to pay for the internet connection, you have money to pay for the lights in your home, you have money to pay for cable/satellite connection; however you don't have money to pay your bills (which you signed a legal contract guaranteeing that you would make your payments on time, or you would be in the situation you are in-collections). So, fulfilling your legal obligations and honoring the legal contract you signed is not a priority of yours; It's not that you don't have the money to pay your bills, you don't have the money to pay Capital One. If you're complaining about how high the interest rate is, dealers search companies to find you the lowest rate, and if Capital One's rates are the lowest, then that means no other company was willing to give you the time of day (because of your payment-history). So, you're bad-mouthing the only company willing to buy you a car at the rate which you could conceivably afford. Capital One gave you a small fortune to support your family, and you're complaining because they asked you to live up to the legal contract which you signed? The nerve of them. Next time you see a person standing on the corner begging for money because he or she has just been fired, think about why that person has no job, and if you had something to do with it.

    0 Votes
  • N
      May 29, 2011

    Well, you've got it wrong, Random Person. All of the people who have posted on this board regarding Capital One have valid reasons for not being able to pay, but COAF doesn't care, and that's why I've sued them in federal court for bad faith and unfair dealing. A company that signs a contract with an individual is required, by law, to put their customer's rights, needs, whatever, on a par with their own. And did you read my post where I explained that after they repossessed my car because they had lost the Title and I couldn't register it in my new State and therefore didn't keep paying them, they took it to a Manheim auction where it was sold and resold several times, all with the purpose of making a bundle but telling me they sold it for a pittance, adding the fraudulent amount to my deficiency balance. They have a vested interest in repossessing cars; they make more on them this way, because they also write off a fraudulent amount. See? Everyone should sue, but if you don't, hang on, because as part of what I am demanding from them and Geico (colluded with COAF in all this and canceled my insurance without notice) is an audit of COAF, Manheim and perhaps other insurers and banks, and you will get your damages if I have my druthers. You and lots of others who've been scammed by these criminal companies.

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Jun 04, 2011

    Sweet grammar princess. They sell the cars at 40 % of what Kelly Blue Book values them. You're trying to make that company look bad, when you're the one who lied, stole money, and violated your legal contract. You have no proof of anything, and you have no basis for a suit. You claim that they have a "vested interest in repossessing cars"; They're a bank, not a car dealership. Why would a company go out of its way to lose money? In all likelihood, if you choose to file a suit against a major International company, you will end up having to pay Capital One's fees, Capital One's attorney's fees, and you will lose money from not going to work/travel/lodgings. Since your case will be too expensive to follow-through to the end, the judge will find that your case was brought in bad faith and for the purpose of harassment because you're not able to articulate the basis for your assertion. Why don't you try reviewing Shah v. Collecto, Inc., 2005 U.S. Dist, instead of trying to weasel your way out of your obligations. In addition, where do you get off trying to interpret the law? "A company that signs a contract with an individual is required, by law, to put their customer's rights, needs, whatever, on a par with their own." What legal document would use the term "whatever" to describe something? The only legal document which would have something as idiotic as that would be the toilet paper used in in a law office, and the only person to take a case based on something that frivolous in nature would be the janitor in that law office. Do yourself a favor: Own up to what you did. You lied, stole money from a bank, and you're still trying to weasel your way out of it. You continue your attempt to bad-mouth Capital One, even though they gave you a small fortune. That's an example of your brain subconsciously trying to alleviate the guilt it feels because it knows that you're the one who did something wrong. The more you complain about Capital One, the more guilty you appear.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Jul 15, 2011
    Capital One Auto Finance - Harassment/poor business
    CAPITALONE AUTO FINANCE
    3905N. DALLAS PARKWAY
    PLANO,TX
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    CAPITALONEAUTOFINANCE.COM

    Dec, i - rosie cleveland became disable, my family helped me on car notes for 3 - mths, until ins. Picked up(Aig - summit admin p. O. Box11280 fot worth, tx76110 - 0280. So when they did, it pd back payments. March, back 2 and half mths, so that put me ahead for 3 - mths nad now here injuly ny pay was taken, ins. Stillpaying every ths, now i asked what happen to my ahead payments they say it went toward principles, but had not done this all them other mths, so they come up withthis about putting toward principles, i had never told nor sighned any thing. But on papaer they mail to me only show where they spreade my payment that i had ahead (For hard times]but where are them mths ins. Paid. So ins now want to talk to who told me this so they can talk to them about so checks (Supervisor cant find(Vernon - his name}so tameka(Operation manager}who vernon say talk to, which he could not explain because he could not find checks from ins, and where they went. On pnone long time before he come back and this tameka say she will mail all i need, when came this is what i get is one payment on papper and my notes caught up to aug 10, 2011 next pay due. This was a double jepordy payment which was only to be monthly. The principle, ihad not requested this. Where are my extra time i had put in?Gave me # for ins to call for 2 - days ins mrs kay say no return call from her. # she ggave me to give to ins lady isstraight to her line as tomicka say469_241 - 7317. This is not right, can you check into this ps. Disaable to stand nor work, and they do this. Ins. Mrs kay [protected]. No more advance payments save so they took advanttge to take them. Will fax transaction to you after letter and contac. My home # and fax is [protected] same as home phone.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Apr 01, 2012

    I have a Capital One Commercial mortgage. Every month, I made additional principal payment, but they apply most of them to prepayment. If I pay $4000 additional pricipal, they apply only $600 to principal and the rest to interest, which hasn't incurred yet. The issue was started in 2010, and it still not solved, no matter how many calls I made. Worst thing is that they keep doing this. It's a scam!!! They should be sued.

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Nov 25, 2012

    I had what was supposed to be a simple interest car loan, to my surprise 95% of my monthly payment was automatically being applied to interest upfront instead of the principle. I thought I had paid half my loan over a 2 year period only to discover that I had only been given credit for about $1000 of the almost $8500 that I had paid over 2 years.

    +1 Votes
  • F
      Dec 20, 2012

    I would go without a car if I ever had to deal with Capitol One auto again

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Dec 05, 2013

    My husband has an Auto Loan with Capital One. Are they helpful yes up until you realize that you have an extra 1700.00 due on your loan because you changed the due date (that was within the 10 day grace period). NO ONE EVER DISCLOSED THIS!! When we called to change the due date they were very helpful and they even said you will not receive any extra fees because you're still within your grace period. If the representative would have explained you will not get fees' but you will have to pay extra on interest then we would have thought about and rearranged our bills and changed due dates on other bills. Why do they assume that your regular person knows all the policies of a simple loan?? Is it not the job of a bank to inform and educate their customers? So we are on our last payment and we should get the Title but NOPE they won’t give it to us because of the extra 1700.that was added to the loan, we requested for a payment plan and they said sorry we can't help you until you are overdue. So to me they do not have any human compassion, and I guess we are not allowed to go through a financial hicup because Capital One will be sure to screw you over by not informing you of "extra interest" added to your loan and when you've come to the point where they don’t want to help in any way and say ok so I can’t pay 1700. out of pocket right now can I set up a payment plan they say NOPE WE CANT CALL WHEN YOUR LAST PAYMENT IS OVERDUE OH AND DONT FORGET WE HAVE TO NOW REPORT THIS TO YOUR CREDIT REPORT BECAUSE NOW YOU ARE AT FAULT ON YOUR LOAN?!!! Does this make any sense, I have other banks we use and they have always explained everything to us never got caught off guard with any extra fees! I believed this is the violation of Regulation DD that requires a bank to provide the consumer when there’s a change that will have an adverse action. So if they seem nice because they are helping you with your late payments and make it sound good ask questions and if you’ve already done it look at your balance you probably have extra $ you owe and you will not get your title until you pay the extra money added to your loan oh and don’t forget they will report it to the credit bureaus.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Jan 23, 2014

    Capital one is a bad bank to deal with. I sold my car to a 3rd party. I still
    Owed 17000 on it. I called capital one bank and gave the guy the phone
    So he can give his banking information. I held onto the car until the money cleared.
    When I called capital one they told me "congratulations on paying off your car loan, a lien release will be sent out"
    I said ok thanks and asked if it was ok to give the guy the car and they said yes. After I go bc give the guy my car I go and purchase a 2014 car. After tht I notice the lien release paper hasn't came in the mail. When I called the bank, they said I still owe 17000 on the car!!! I broke down and asked how is that possible. They then told me that the guy who did a wire transfer paid with a bogus bank account. I reported the car stollen and didn't not make a payment until further investigation. Capital one kept telling me report it to my insurance but I took the insurance off the moment I sold it :/ I got to see the car today but only to find my car stripped, welcome to the city of detroit. Capital one is going to have to repo the car the way it is. I refuse to make skit her payment. I have documents stating the payment confirmation. And during the time, capital one removed the lien off the title so the other guy registered the car in his name and capital one is trying to come after me. I will see you guys in court. Worst bank ever.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Apr 13, 2014

    People listen up. Capital one is a scam. If you are being scammed by them you need to submit a complaint to the attorney general in your state. Enough complaints leads to lawmakers looking into shady business practices, class action lawsuits, and people getting refunds (see what happened to Bank of America and those bogus overdraft fees). They can't change anything they don't know about.

    FILE A COMPLAINT WITH ATTORNEY GENERAL IN YOUR STATE AND BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU.

    0 Votes

Post your comment