SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Capital Oneunreasonable account restrictions

1
J Review updated:

In August, 2008 I applied for a credit card with Capital One. I received correspondence from them requesting me to mail them a copy of my Social Security Card and Drivers license, since they could not verify my information. Since I still had a limited credit history, I accepted the request as reasonable and mailed the documents. About a week later, I received another letter confirming the receipt of the previous documents, but indicating they also need to verify my address, and I need to send a copy of my utility bill as well. A bit annoyed for not being asked to send this with the first mail, I obliged and sent them a copy of a recent utility bill. About another week later, my new capital one credit card arrived in the mail.
After using my card for +- 3 weeks, while making a purchase at a coffee shop, I had to face the embarrassment that my card was declined for a $5 purchase. I phoned Capital One, only to find out that a restriction was placed on my account due to ‘suspected fraud’. I was requested to send a copy of my SSN card and driver’s license before the restriction would be lifted, since they needed to verify my identity. I was incredibly upset by this, since I supplied ALL this information when I opened the account less than 3 weeks ago. But I was faced with Capital One’s fraud department who just refused to help (they said they had to assume they were not speaking to me until I sent them the documents). So after battling with one of their agents and his manager for about 45 minutes, I gave up, and faxed the documents. I was promised that the restriction would be lifted within 24 – 48 hours. Needless to say, 48 hours later, account still restricted, I had to get back on the phone with Capital One. I was now told that they again needed to verify my address! I was even more upset with this – but the result was the same as with the previous call, so I ended up faxing them the documents. The restriction was lifted the next day.
About a month later (October 2008), Capital One sent me a new card – with a higher credit limit. Once again, after using the card for about a month I, by chance, saw on my online banking that my new card was restricted!! I nearly exploded – again not even a phone call from Capital One to warn me. So, on Thursday, November 20th, I had to face up to the Capital One Customer Service again. Same story… I had to fax a copy of my SSN card and drivers license – and wait for 24 – 48 hours for them to process it. I was again ‘helped’ by an agent who refused to expedite the process in anyway, and because the documents I sent earlier were for my other card, they did apparently not count. After explaining my unhappiness during a 45 minutes call, I just ended up faxing them a copy of my SSN and Drivers license. This time just with the additional problem that my payment was due on the 29th, and I was unable to even pay my account online. I was told by the representative to mail a check, in order to avoid late payments. I did however not have my checks with me and felt that this was a rather unreasonable request, seeing that I did nothing wrong to have my account restricted in the first place. But augmenting with Capital One seems a waste of time. So on November 20th, I faxed the documents, as required to Capital One. Monday, 48 business hours later, I received a call from Capital One saying they received my documents, but needed to again verify my address. I refused to accept this, and asked that the account be closed, since I did not accept their way of treating me as a customer. I was told that they refuse to do that, until I send them my latest utility bill. Again wasting another 45 minutes of my time. I ended up faxing my utility bill to them. On Tuesday I phoned them AGAIN, hoping that they would’ve perhaps processed my documents, but was told that an agent will phone ME within 48 hours to tell me that the account restriction has been lifted. But, on Wednesday afternoon I have not heard back from them, so I phoned AGAIN. I was then told that it was still not processed and can take up to 72 hours!!! This was the first mention of this and completely different to that what I’ve been told up until now. Again a complete refusal to expedite the process whatsoever. Now it is November 30th. No word from Capital One. My account is still restricted. I had to pay $10 to do a balance transfer to my Bank of America credit card to avoid late feeds and negative credit reporting (although one lady told me they would take it into account, another told that I was responsible to get it sorted before the due date).
I am extremely frustrated and really disappointed that Capital One is allowed to treat a customer like this. I will definitely not recommend anyone to ever do business with them.

Responses

  • F
      Mar 02, 2007
    Capital One - Took money from my account
    United States

    They took $12.95 from my credit card on 02/26/2007 for some kind of service I don't know about . I DON'T UNDERSTAND because i never has used this page.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Sep 21, 2007
    Capital One - Poor service!
    United States

    I paid off a loan 2 months ago and still receiving letters on a zero balance account. The last letter had "an attempt to collect a debt" statement on a zero balance account. No one will help me and I have called 5 times. They tell me they do not have a manager to talk to and the matter will be resolved. Very bad customer service and no one cares.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Nov 29, 2007

    Start talking to your state attorney general. Contact local and national news media and show them your paperwork trail. Blog regarding capital one everywhere you can.

    Eventually, they will figure out enough negative publicity causes them less business.
    Fight back!

    0 Votes
  • J
      Jul 08, 2008

    Several months ago we received a call that our card might be used and need to send us a new card, Capital one sent us to fraud unit and we were hung up on and put one hold several times we wanted to cancel our card and they would not give us the new information to close our account we continued calling and sending money and our balance continued to go up after 5 months of this we were on the phone for an hour in half and put on hold 7 times and half the people would not come back to the phone. Capital one is the most dishonest credit card we ever have used we ended up paying 750.00 in charges that we don't know where they came from. When I pulled our credit report they had caused our credit score to come down. If any one is thinking of opening a credit card DO NOT USE CAPITAL ONE!!! This will not be the end of this, I will contact att. general and better business and anyone else I can think of to make sure this does not happen again.

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 28, 2008
    Capital One - No credit card protection
    Capital One Credit Card
    PO Box 70884
    Charlotte
    North Carolina
    United States
    capitalone.com

    Just want everyone to know that there is no purchase protection when you pay for an item with a credit card check.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 31, 2008

    I have had a Capital One card for several years. My credit line started at $300.00 which I paid on time every month. I needed an increase, so Capital One increased my credit limit to 700. Again, I made my payments on time every month. My husband lost his job and we found it more and more difficult to make the payments.

    I called Capital one many times and tried to explain that we could not make the min payment and could we work out a workable solution - I was told Capital one does not do this. I told them if we couldn't work out something -it would end up going to a collection agency - in which it did. I wrote back the collection agency and told them my situation and asked again for a workable solution - again nothing.

    I was getting medicine for my daughter and used my debt card to find out it was declined. I called my bank to find out why it was declined and found out that the attorney that is representing Capital One had frozen all of my accounts. I was NEVER severed with court papers and now stuck without any money to buy food, gas or medicine for my daughter. I called the attorney and he said basically tough luck. They froze everything with my name attached to it - which meant my daughter's bank account.

    I told him the money he saw in my savings was for the mortgage. If we are behind one more month we will loose our house - he again said that's not his problem. As far as I'm concerned Capital One and the law office they use are crooks. I had to pay 1, 700 + for a 700 credit limit. IF ANYONE READS THIS - NEVER NEVER USE CAPITAL ONE BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT THE FUTURE WILL HOLD.

    +1 Votes
  •   Oct 31, 2008
    Capital One - Terrible advertisement
    Capital One
    United States
    capitalone.com

    I just want Capitol One to be aware that the advertisement used for capitol one, on yahoo is the most annoying blinking advert I have ever seen. I would be pleased to see it gone and would only then consider doing business with capitol one. It is a terrible advert.

    Capitol One could ultimately lose business over having such an annoying advert.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Nov 16, 2008
    Capital One - they took me to court ,briked our checkmwe went through genesis,through consolidation and
    capital on
    United States

    i have been paying genesis through debt condolidation, thay r not paying on interest at all .so nothing is solved, caoital one put a brick on our check and took us to court mwill not talk tous, dec we have another couurt hearing, can, t live like this theses r scams this is my sister, s capital one and genesis.they r taking everthing and will not talk to them til court day, have no where to go or what to do

    0 Votes
  • N
      Nov 20, 2008

    Speaking as a former employee... What they probably did was take out a "member charge" on your card. I'd suggest calling them and asking for it to be waived, then canceling your card a couple days after that.

    You can reapply for a new one without the membership fee on it.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Dec 15, 2008
    Capital One - Credit card charges for $4.95
    Sumter
    South Carolina
    United States

    I noticed $4.95 being deducted from my credit card. I did not authorize this charge, therefore, I am arequesting a refund and also an assurance that this will not continue.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Mar 17, 2009
    Capital One - Payment Protection Plan
    Capital One
    United States

    ever since i have been a member for capital one they have charged me for the payment protection plan I have never authorized it. That says it all

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jul 13, 2009
    Capital One - Expiration Dates, Poor Customer service
    Capital One
    United States
    getsatisfaction.com

    Capital One has poor customer service. See here: http://www.getsatisfaction.com/capitalone/topics/capital_one_expiration_dates_and_customer_service

    0 Votes
  • B
      Jul 18, 2009
    Capital One - Unsolicited phone calls
    Capital One
    United States
    capitalone.com

    Capitol One calls my cell phone but the call can't be answered becase it can only be rejected, not answered. I called the number in the ID nd tell them that I don't have an account with Capital One, and please remove my number and place my number on the do not call list. They say they will, but the just change the number they are calling from and continue the annoying calls.

    +1 Votes
  • T
      Jul 18, 2009
    Capital One - Scam charges
    Capital One
    United States
    capitalone.com

    I canceled my credit card but this company continued to allow companies that was making automatic charges each month to charge my account. I thought cancel meant cancel? They stopped these charges only after I complained and told them to stop all charges on this account.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 21, 2009
    Capital One - Robbers
    Capital One
    United States
    capitalone.com

    Said they closed are acct an there would, nt be a intrest added to it if we called before dec 14 th so we called on the 9 th called to check some people capitial one has working or not have an ed they should go under if or gov helps them i will vote against an one in the gov now.Capitial one should put on a mask when they rob you.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Aug 03, 2009
    Capital One - Harrasment
    Capital One
    United States

    Capital One is harassing me and my family. They call myself and family members everyday of the week more than 5-10 times a day from a variety of different phone numbers. [protected], [protected], [protected]. They have left me in a bind. Now my family members are questioning me about my personal business with capital one. They need to stop.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Sep 22, 2009
    Capital One Protection Plan - Payment Protection Plan
    Capital One
    California
    United States

    They signed me up and charged me for their Protection Plan without my consent.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Oct 09, 2009
    Capital One - Harassing Phone Calls
    Capital One
    United States
    capitalone.com

    I have been harassing phone calls from them for days. Up to 5 at a time, but no one will answer the phone when I pick up. I have called three times and got yelled at on the phone by the "account manager" because I demanded that the calls stop immediately. They said that I would have to deal with it for a month until they got it taken care of. Ridiculous. I closed my card and am currently filing a harassment lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jan 27, 2010

    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • T
      Feb 02, 2010
    Capital One - CREDIT CARD
    United States

    I DIDNT HAVE ANY KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THIS, I DONT OWN ANY CREDIT CARD, PLEASE GET THIS PROBLEM FIX. THANKS TINA P.S. LET ME KNOW WHAT YOU DECIDE IN MY e-mail: [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • J
      Apr 28, 2010
    Capital One - calling neighbors and other family
    capital one
    Tuckerton
    New Jersey
    United States

    I would like to know what i can do inthe case of charge compnanies calling your family and neighbor the company is capital one

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 26, 2010
    Capital One - Overdraft Charges
    Capital One
    Mesquite
    Texas
    United States

    I make a transfer from my bank to Capital One to pay on a loan I took out from Hibernia who Capital One took over. They continously hold my deposit until my payment date is missed and then charge me an overdraft fee of $39.00. I closed out my Capital One credit cards 3 years ago because of shady fees and charges. NEVER will I give them my business

    0 Votes
  • O
      Oct 01, 2010
    Capital One - Overcharging by Budget Rent a Car
    Capital One
    New Jersey
    United States

    I registered an Appeal on a recent charge with Capital One. The merchant then disagreed with my Appeal. Immediately, Capital One told me that as far as they were concerned, the case was closed and I was responsible for the bill. They simply told me to take it up with the Merchant. This was a Bogus Appeal process-it had no validity whatsoever. I would not use this Card again.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Oct 01, 2010

    Acutally - I am in the prcoess of disputing charges made by Budget Rental! Capital One seems to be on board with me at the moment. Budget Rental double charged my Capital One card - and will not even give me an explanation of what the charges were for! I think the responsibility needs to be on the rental agency!

    0 Votes
  • L
      Nov 09, 2010

    I am having a similar problem with charges from Payless Car Rental in Canada. I keep trying to speak to anyone who can help me, but no one speaks English and they cannot understand my questions, or provide intelligent responses. I asked for a manager, I was put on hold, then told that no manager was available. I asked several times - there is no manager? No. There is no manager there who is willing to speak to a customer who is seeking service? No. There is no manager working today in all of Capital One? No, very sorry. I'm very sorry I ever got this card. Their service is the worst I have experienced.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jan 11, 2011
    Capital One - Inflation of Corporate Income
    United States

    Capital One Bank is apparently not charging off obsiously uncollectable bad loans as other banks are because it wants to reduce charge offs and inflate its corporate income. OTher banks use a 180 day charge off policy, whereas Capital One transfers the loans internally and insists on collection activities at full value rather than charge the loans off as uncollectable. I wonder if the SEC is aware of this income manipulation

    0 Votes
  • O
      Apr 17, 2011

    When you have auto billing that can reactivate your account. Because so many people close accounts in haste all credit card companies have a grace period of a few weeks to two months in case you change your mind. (once an account is closed it is impossible to reopen so this is a safety net). You can not close an account with a balance either so it usually takes two billing cycles to completely close - one billing cycle to receive your full payment and the 2nd for the final interest charges for the last month that you carried a balance.

    The credit card company will put a 'schedule to close' note on your account during this time and ANY charges that come through will stop that 'schedule to close' because to the credit card company that shows you did not actually want to close the account. It is not the credit card's responsibility to stop your gym membership or parking or insurance payments from automatically coming out - that is your responsibility. Even if it is a service the credit card provided (like insurance or a credit report) those companies are partners of the credit company and you have to cancel them yourself too (it seems unfair, but it is what it is). Now if the charges are fraudulent like a gym membership that you canceled then the Credit card company will dispute them for you but you will have to prove you actually canceled that membership. Disputes can take a few weeks to be finalized.

    If I were you I would call back and make sure your account is closed completely and get them to tell you the contact information of the merchant whom charged those recurring charges so you can dispute them.

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Apr 25, 2011
    Capital One - Complete fools
    Capital one
    Nebraska
    United States

    I acitvated my New Cap. 1 CC and went to dinner with a group of business partners. Went to pay for said meal and it was declined. The Cap 1 fools said my card was on a Fraud alert and I would need to send them a pic of my drivers licence Birth cert and a paystub. I am a disabled vet and dont get pay stubs. This company is total scam and i dont recomend ANYONE using it.

    0 Votes
  • P
      Apr 26, 2011

    Was the restaurant your first purchase? With new credit cards, you're supposed to make small first-time purchases, otherwise they get flagged. It's pretty typical.

    0 Votes
  • 8
      Jun 14, 2011
    Capital One - tried to take $320.60
    wu credit
    Richmond
    Virginia
    United States

    I looked at my bank account and i dont even use it but i checked it and i had a negative balance all because some wu credit tried to take $320 out my account and i dont have any idea why good thing i dont keep money in it cause i cant even find a number to call and talk to someone to see whats going on i think its a scam so im going to cancel my account... ### wu credit

    0 Votes
  • W
      Jun 14, 2011

    So then why is this complain lodged against Capital One? It's clearly evident that you are caught up in some identity theft. The complaint should be directed towards who ever is making the fraudulent charges on your account.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Aug 09, 2011
    Capital One - false imformation someone using my since 2001 account NUMBER ..ACC.2129307 name
    United States

    I've never used this that account and i never stayed at these address
    7324 s. union
    4620 s. evans
    5210 s. woods
    4244 s. cicero
    i found out who been using my name, her name is dominique freeman
    and goes by differrent alies.. and she stays at 1058 w.55 st. chgo, il
    60609 and i would like u to investigate the problem and have her locked up...thank you.see my pic on fb.[protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 21, 2011
    Capital One - Contraversial Spokesman
    Capital One
    United States

    I bank with Capital One...
    Why does Capital One use such a controversial spokesman like Alec Baldwin to represent them.

    This guy throws temper tantrums on airplanes, curses out his daughter and is not liked by many.

    Cancel his commercials and find a less offensive person to reprsent your company.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jun 18, 2012

    You need to comment on their website, not here, they won't fix your problem from this complaint site.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jul 03, 2012
    Capital One - They allowed fraudsters to resubmit the charges even after I sent proof that they are crossborder scam
    Capital One
    United States

    They allowed fraudsters to resubmit the charges even after I sent proof that they are crossborder scam artists stealing from small businesses.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 16, 2012
    Capital One - Credit report
    Capitol one
    Arkansas
    United States

    Capitol one is still reporting a negative report on me from an account that has passed the staute of limitation. Alkso the balance has not been proved.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jun 24, 2013
    Capital One - increase in payoff amount
    United States

    During the month of may I phone capital one auto finance and my payoff was @ $6700. I phoned on July 24 and the payoff amount is @$7500.. What could possibly be the rationale for this??????

    0 Votes
  • Z
      May 04, 2015

    I am having the exact same problem. I've had my card less than a month, I made less than ten purchases (most of them food at work) and my account was restricted for "suspicious activity." I called and was told nobody can tell me anything about my account until I go into a bank and present my DL, SS card, and utility bill. All the banks around me open after I get to work, close before I leave work, and aren't open on the weekends. I would literally need to take a day off work to do this. I told them I can verify everything on the documents, but they need to be sure "I'm the one providing the information." With logic like that, who's to say someone didn't steal my DL, SS card, and utility bill and fax it to them. Not to mention, they didn't need any of this when I signed up for the card. I also have my account set to text me EVERY time a purchase is made. I'll have my roommate fax the documents and then tell Capital One to turn off ALL security features on my account and I will handle it myself. I don't understand how they consider THIS to be "secure and for my benefit." Yeah, there won't be any fraud because NOBODY CAN USE THE ACCOUNT. Absolutely unbelievable.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment