Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Bad Business Partners Walmart wal mart won't cash a money gram
More

Walmart  - wal mart won't cash a money gram

W
Author of the complaint
8:12 am
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I had a Wal Mart Money Gram mailed to me. It was purchased (with cash) by a friend of mine at Wal Mart in Nashua, NH on 5/4/2011. He, specifically asked if I would be able to cash it at the Wal Mart store in Palmyra, ME and he was assured that I could, indeed, cash it there. I received it on 562011. I tried to cash it at Wal Mart in Palmyra, ME. NO WAY! They called for a confirmation number and then wrote that number on the back of the money order. Then, they handed me this little printout that said the money order would not be cashed. I had to call a company called Certegy Check Services in Tampa, Fl to get the answer as to why the Money Gram couldn't be cashed. After a lengthy runaround, I asked to speak with a Supervisor. He told me that the Money Gram exceeded the amount they would authorize? The Money Gram was for $750.00 and he refused to tell me what the limit was. I asked why Wal Mart could sell a Money Gram that exceeded the amout that would be cashed. He said that every situation was different. Another total runaround. He suggested that I find a check cashing place and cash it there. That would have cost me upwards of $100.00. This is quite the scam Wal Mart and Money Gram have going on. Then, they use a third party check processor to isolate them from any liability. Wal Mart has the $750.00 cash - they took it, promising that the Money Gram could be cashed at any Wal Mart and then they sit back and let others do the dirty work. All the while that money sits in the Wal Mart coffers collecting interest. How many times per day does this happen? How much money is floating in their account because they won't released it? Any lawyers lurking on here? This could probably be a nice Class Action! Wal Mart and Money Gram have seen the last of my business!

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Walmart complaints & reviews

Walmart - gift card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - Site to store misleading on actual delivery time
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - failure to fulfill obligation of agreement
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Walmart - falsely arrest
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
25 comments
Add a comment
S
Apr 28, 2022 8:12 am

I made sure that walmart would cash Money gram Money orders... got to the store and they run it throug their machine and i get denied cashing something that has zero risk to the institution as it its a PREPAID legal tender... their crappy third party company they base their denial on was zero help. Im now forced to take it to wells fargo as that is the bank printed on this money order. DO NOT OFFER THIS SERVICE IF YOU CANT THEN GIVE BACK THE MONEY. shame on you walmart!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 28, 2022 8:12 am

I was just refused to cash a Money Gram Money order at Walmart in Ville Platte, Louisiana and it was purchased there! They stated they only issued refunds and don't cash their own money orders! What kind of flipping crap is that!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Dec 12, 2021 8:12 am

I'm having the same problem but to make it even more messed up is the fact that I am the one that purchased the money order and then did not need it but I don't have the receipt just the stub so I made it out to myself to cash it and they will not cash it. This is such a scam and I am so angry! They had no problem selling it to me but now will not allow me to cash it it's just wrong on every level possible

Helpful?
2 0
K
Jan 24, 2021 8:12 am

Ugh! Just happened to me - received $1000 moneygram from ex & went to Walmart to cash. After many I’d questions (had to take off mask to show face - give social security # - wait to verify if it had been too long for me to cash dated 11/4/2020 but just received yesterday...). It was declined & the customer service rep asked if I ever cash checks at Walmart - I told her no I gave bank account - she stated that was probably the reason! Needless to say I’m frustrated and rather upset. Don’t trust getting money orders-thought they were same as cash!

Helpful?
0 0
C

What did you do? This happened to me today as well but I got 5 orders four in the amount of 1000 and one for 750. Idk what to do.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Dec 16, 2020 8:12 am

I having the same problem as well my mom got a Walmart MoneyGram money order for $400 at Walmart in Springville AL. When she got it they assured her that I would be able to cash it at the Walmart in Ohio where I live. I went to cash it the same thing happened to me it declined. They told me they we’re having problems with their system & I can come back the next day to try again. So I did go back the next day & the same thing happened. I think it absolutely ridiculous if you got a money order from Walmart you should be able to cash it at any Walmart. All you have to do is verify their ID to make sure it matches the name on the money order. I will definitely tell people from now on don’t ever get a moneygram from Walmart cause you won’t be able to cash it at any Walmart. I believe the cashiers that sell them don’t know if you can cash it at any Walmart. They are probably told to tell customers that just to make the sell...never again.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Nov 17, 2020 8:12 am

Same here. Walmart lady tried in vein to cash this MoneyGram check and up pops the receipt that has you call a toll free number "total waste of time and they know it" on the call they try and make it seem as if its just you and something wrong with your information just to go on and say the check will not be allowed to be cashed and to take it to a bank, if I wanted to deposit the check in my bank I would have. This is a huge scam that needs to end and a class action brought on to suit for monies time lost.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Dec 17, 2017 8:12 am

They won't cash mine either...they won't even tell me why. The money order I'm trying to cash is it the exact same location it was bought from. So now I'm delayed getting into my home I'm renting

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 05, 2021 8:12 am

Rule of thumb, can't cash a money order from the same location it was bought from. I worked in customer service for Walmart. You have to go to a different store to cash it. Same thing with money grams.

Helpful?
0 0
G
Feb 19, 2017 8:12 am

Walmart sucks!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Feb 19, 2017 8:12 am

I had my money order I purchased with the receipt and they wouldn't let me cash it. The reason I wanted to cash it was because the person I issued it to couldn't cash it at their wal mart.
Their cusromer service is exceptionally lousy as well.

Helpful?
0 0
D

My story is similar, except I am the purchaser and receiver of the check. (Long story) two days after purchasing the check I was unable to cash it. Not was i able to get a refund. This is now four days later and still getting the go around treatment.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Sep 06, 2016 8:12 am

This has just happened to me. I am on fire! We purchased a money order from Walmart 2 days ago thinking we could deposit it via mobile app but I would not work. So today I went to cash it and was told the transaction was declined. The lady gave me a receipt and number to call to learn more information. I called 3 times and could not get a representative, only an automated system. I went back to asked the lady what I could do bc i needed the money and there was no rep for me to talk to and she said there should be and that there was nothing they could do, that they could not control the system and that I needed to call the number again. I called for a 4th time and still couldn't get passed the automated system. She told me they couldnt even try again for 48hrs. I told her we hado just got it there the day before and showed her my receipt and she still insisted there was nothing that could be done. I left the store on the verge of tears as my tuition and another Bill is due in a couple days and I have no other way to pay. After reading all of the other comments I am even more upset. I have already filled out the information on the moneygram so even if I wanted to do anything else with it, I couldn't. I am ON FIRE.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Aug 08, 2016 8:12 am

The same thing has happened to me, I bought my daughter and her husband a 50$ moneygram, as well as my son a 50$ moneygram money order from Walmart here in Florida, and guess what Walmart in Grand Blanc MI will not cash it! They are telling my kids they need the stub...Ummmmmm NO! That is my receipt. I have been using money orders for 5 years now and have never had trouble. No more Moneygram and no more Walmart! Rip off!

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jun 16, 2016 8:12 am

I had a new tenant issue me a $250 and $1000 WalMart moneygram in June 2016 in Villa Rica GA. I attempted to cash and had the exact same issue. They did cash the one for $250 but not $1000- they gave me a little printout with no reason - just a number to call. Called the third-party to be told they recommended it not be cashed due to risk factors but they couldn't tell me what those risk factors are other than the amount of the check and that I haven't cashed enough checks at Wal Mart (I've probably never cashed a check at Wal Mart - I use a credit card). Will now have to find some check-cashing place that will charge an exhorbiant fee. I could use my bank but I have no local offices and they don't accept moneyorders when depositing by mobileapp. Seems like a big scam -- at the very least I'll never accept a moneygram money order again and you probably shouldn't either.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Jun 30, 2021 8:12 am

Same problem here. 2 moneygrams were sent to me; Ria Financial Services flagged larger one, paid out smaller one. Ria suspected these transfers are fraud, but no other reason why given. Sender has had to return twice & pick up funds. Sender is sending a personal check now.

Helpful?
0 0
L
May 02, 2016 8:12 am

I purchased 2 1000.00 to start work on my house and the payee could not cash them, called the number on the paper and they told him he was not a priority, so I the purchaser of the money order called and they wouldn't have any thi g to say to me, but i have my receipt and one of them was never cashed or even attempted. I hope someone gets a lawyer, but i want to know what happens to the money?

Helpful?
0 0
R
Oct 02, 2015 8:12 am

With this many complaints something needs to be done about Walmart's false advertisement & fees based on a 10 min delivery that they have outsourced out of the country. This is deceptive & nothing but "American Greed" Walmart customers personal & financial info should not be put in to the hands of Walmart's Money Gram (Money Grabbers )

Helpful?
0 0
R
Oct 02, 2015 8:12 am

On 9/30/2015, I sent my granddaughter's mother the receiver, a $100. Walmart money gram pd, $11.40, for a 10 min delivery. Because of a previous problem I had I called money gram & spoke with a supervisor that verified it went through. I also received an e-mail & ref. # confirming it was ready for pickup.The receiver waited at the Shawnee Mission, KS.Walmart with the ref. #. However, the customer service rep said it was not there & would not call money gram with the conf. #. When I called money gram back a different rep. that barely spoke English said the money was in review & refused to acknowledge their previous verification & conf. #. I was supposedly transferred to a supervisor that gave me an [protected] # for the receiver to call & it was a bogus #. Then I was told the receiver had to be the one to call them & she was told I, the sender had to call. We both listened to money gram's lies over our phones on speaker. After over an hr the Walmart store mgr showed up & the $100. was finally released. I requested a refund of $11.40 fee but was denied by supposedly a money gram supervisor. Same thing happened today i sent another $100, my granddaughter, after 4 hrs of in process.A money gram rep promised it would only be another 45 min. But 2 hrs later it was cancelled without an explanation. I made 11 calls to money gram today & was given the run around all day. I blame Walmart for this China scam.

Helpful?
0 0

Moneygram has worst service. Money takes days. Customer service cannot do anything for consumer. Cashing locations have issues searching transactions with moneygram reference numbers, they tell you reference number is wrong but it was correct. Four cashing locations said the same thing. Then they had issues with the name when the First and Last Names were according to the Government ID. Never use Moneygram.

Helpful?
0 0
T

Hmmm they told u that the mistake was "you used your company's LLC!" Have u even talked to MONEY GRAM? Wal-Mart just carries the product they don't control the COMPANY! Call Money Gram and switch the name to your name not your company's name also ask if u can switch the person to whom u r sending it too as well considering u already payed the painter to like your spouse...Western Union's fees are not high like u think u can also do WU orders online...to send $150.00 its like $15.00 or $17.00

Helpful?
0 0
T

I went and purchased a $500.00 Money-Gram from Walmart. I had to pay a painter whom on the weekend needed cash fast. He did not want Western Union because of the Fee's so I asked about Money-Gram (which I never used before) I had a receipt that stated I purchased it, and the Stub and gave him the Money-Gram, (which I consider a Money order) Walmart refused to cash it. (it was the same Walmart that I purchased this piece of junk from. I took the Money-Gram from my worker and went to another Walmart to get a refund. Mind you I had my receipt, Stub and Money-Gram. I also had my driver's license. The Mistake I made was as the purchaser I used my company LLC name. They refused to give me a refund, and the only way I can do it is I send this piece of junk to Money-Gram and they would send me the refund. However I would have to pay a $15.00 fee. The lady at this "money store said Try your original Walmart. When I got there without even listening to me they said they don't provide refunds. I said I have the receipt that proves who I am, you can check my driver's license in your system, They said the only one that can get this money is the person I made this out to. I said you refused to cash it for him. I screamed ranted and raved they called security on me. (Mind you they stole my money.) I was licked. I just withdrew more money from my bank gave it to the worker and gave him the Money-Gram. NEVER NEVER NEVER USE MONEYGRAM! I WISH I CAN GET BACK AT THEM. THESE PEOPLE DESERVE TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS !

Helpful?
0 0
G
Nov 30, 2012 8:12 am

Class action suite is the best action I would say. I normally hate the idea of suing a company, but in this case I totally agree. My car broke down and as a college student I did not have the funds to get it fixed. So my mom sent me a money gram from walmart because I have not opened a bank account in town so a check would not work. Of course I checked on Walmart's website before she bought it to make sure they did in fact cash money orders. If you go to their website and look at what they cash, it says right on that list that they cash money orders. I did a little more research and found that they would only cash money orders that were bought from a walmart, which was fine because this one was. However, when I went to cash it, they told me that the money order needed to be made out to Walmart in order for them to cash it for me. This does not make any sense at all since that takes away all the security from the money order and my mom might as well have just sent cash instead. I am going to call the corporate office and ask about this, because there is no way that they are going to get a free $150 from me!

Helpful?
0 0
W

I just had the same thing happen as the first post. What a scam! Only through all of the certegy BS (supervisors, etc), they still never gave me no reason and told me to cash it at a check cashing place wanting 6% of the check amount. Also when I went to cash it I was informed that Money Gram had put a hold on it. In contacting Moneygram, they say the hold was issued by Wal-mart and I have to go back to the store where I originally tried to cash it and have them call Moneygram to have the hold removed. I am still dealing with this BS and am ready to explode! What a nightmare. Ugh! Class action lawsuit is right! Anyone?

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 14, 2011 8:12 am

They did the same thing to me, walmart told me that they would be able to cash it, and when it got to that person, walmart refuse to cash it, what a scam that they do having going on, and i will not, i repeat, will not uses money gram ever again-

Helpful?
1 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

2155 complaints
738 resolved 1417 unresolved

Walmart contacts

(added by reviewer)
850 Cherry Avenue, Florida United States
ADVERTISIMENT