Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Movement & Delivery UPS the truth about ups
More

UPS - the truth about ups

U
Author of the complaint
2:57 pm
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have seen a lot of complaints about UPS and I have no doubt in my mind that they are correct. I work for UPS. They are the most self-centered, dishonest and discriminatory company as far as I know. As with lot of companies, the phrase “who you know is who you blow” applies here too. Having the unpleasant experience of being in the “pool” for part-time management promotion, it seems that all the candidates that are hired are young, inexperienced and should we say... less intelligent. And these people are managing the real people who are handling your packages and making the money for the upper management who decides where it is wasted... upper management of course!

It is funny to see when they are pinching minutes from the occupational (i.e. hourly employees) in order to save money and shoveling it to the management. But hey, that’s free enterprise procedure.

After having the experience of several years at UPS, they have literally liquidated my loyalty. I use to be loyal to UPS and do my job to the best, but today work is still done to the best, but the loyalty is gone. And this is due to the discriminatory and dishonest way of dealing with people. I got screwed in the process and I’m sure there are more to count. If I may say something that UPS did right, was the color they chose. It is brown, and it reflects the color of ###. BIG ###.

The troubles at UPS are endless. Employee turnover is horrible and since they are treating the people as they are, word gets around and eventually you run out of employees. But that is something that they are not concerned. Also, UPS wants to be the “safety organization of the world” but anything that is unsafe is usually ignored and even if acknowledged, it takes forever to fix it. So when you say UPS, might as well say “ooops...” .

So for all the people out there, you are NOT stuck with UPS. Use FedEx, USPS (United States Postal Services) or DHL. I was actually shocked to find out that FedEx “ground” is CHEAPER than UPS after they bought out a low cost package carrier. FedEx is more reliable in my mind and I cannot remember having complaint about them. Postal services have more alternatives than ever before and you can always check DHL references on-line. I am personally applying a job at DHL just for the challenge. I know that I can contribute to them or any other company more than I can to UPS. Knowledge increases the pain they say, and now I know what they meant by that. So please be noted that I do not like UPS just for the reason that I do know the truth.

Peace, Upser.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 7 0
Share
Reply

More UPS complaints & reviews

UPS - poor service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
UPS - Harassment
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
UPS - employee horror story
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
383 comments
Add a comment
E
Mar 26, 2022 2:57 pm

Horrible. Never deliver Saturday packages when supposed to then say business was closed. Funny I live in a residence. Get phony [censored] bills from them for 15000 shipping [censored] from Vietnam to Vegas. A holes I live in florida. Then they totally smash a 900 apothecary unit I had shipped and the balls to send me a bill for the shipping extra charge. Hell no.

Helpful?
1 0
S
Nov 07, 2021 2:57 pm

Worked for these @$%^s for three days.

Day 1: Watch 2 hours of safety stuff. Lifting, whmis, and some other corporate fluff. Then an open book test where there are no wrong answers. Then I had to help these twits pick up a rental van. That took a few hours. Then more corporate BS. Met the loser plant manager. What a terd. I'm given a photo copied instruction manual for the DIAD. Zero training on the thing. Just HERE. Study this off hours without pay.

Day 2: Job Shadow some guy. He was nice etc. Had no beef with him. We finished our route at 3:30. Only to see a message on the DIAD, "We have more for you to do. ACCEPT / DECLINE. Had to meet another guy, and take another 50 drops off him.

Day 3: Loser plant manager assigns me a route. He goes on to say, "This is the worst day of your life. Don't email me, don't call me. I'm not available."

My phone died mid shift. I had all the damn addresses in the route mapper which built me a route. Had to navigate dark, and under extreme stress. Hated it. My DIAD locked up for 25 minutes. Wondering if they did it to me just to screw with me. I could not get this stupid thing to unlock. it froze. Nothing in the book mentioned how to get out of that.

They don't care about your safety one bit. NOPE! Get this done as fast as possible, and be sure screw up your body so Jimmy gets his stupid Iphone case.

Took me 3 months to get paid for that. I had to keep chasing HR, and the other plant manager. They ignored me for months and I emailed day after day after day until they finally gave in. Threatened legal action too. Never ever work for this company, or ship with them.

This is a 1950's industrial slave pit where you are not important. They give two $#!&s about their employees.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Apr 19, 2019 2:57 pm

I’m a 66 year old man who has been legally disabled since 1990.

I’ve discovered UPS (United Parcel Service) is willing to collect money (shipping charges) yet haphazardly abandons responsibility when delivering packages to residential properties on a gravel road at speeds in excess of two times the posted limit. As a result, the road must be repaired often and ultimately repaved.

I asked the UPS driver(s) on multiple occasions to slow down on camera. I explained the children, horses and dogs residing on the properties. I explained the wild rabbits, javelina and deer that frequent the road, yet the UPS driver(s) ignored my requests. I telephoned the UPS local office and call center registering a complaint numerous times… to no avail.

Since a UPS driver has already struck and killed a deer, I am calling for all businesses and residents to take notice on behalf of the children, horses, dogs, rabbits, javelina and deer. The UPS corporate office has exuded prejudice and discrimination; continuing to condone the UPS driver(s) immoral actions and lies. A class action lawsuit is in order to establish resolution of abuse.
.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jan 06, 2019 2:57 pm

I too am a Victim of UPS changed delivery options. They used to leave a Slip to let you know they were there and after a 2nd attempt they would take it back to their distribution center. Now they just leave it at the Door and claim the Seller requested them to leave it there. Now I have had many packages stolen by them leaving it at the door even though I have specifically requested them NOT to do so as I live in an area thats not very safe. I try my best today to leave a message to ANY online Seller to use ONLY USPS as they will delivery my package securely in my mailbox or leave a slip for me to come and pick up! Do NOT use UPS unless you are home. They (UPS) are derelict in their delivery duties and try passing the buck off to the Seller. SHAME on UPS!

Helpful?
0 0
T
Mar 24, 2018 2:57 pm

Ups really does suck.

I had a package with a tracking number, due to be delivered march 15th, 2018. never got it! so, I called the ups store in brooksville, fl, where my package was being held, on the 16th. it was supposedly not delivered "due to an event in my area". hmmm, really? what event? there is nothing happening in my area! that's weird a fed-ex truck delivered a package to my house on the 12th. well, come to find out they had a part-time driver, who I was told was "probably worried about driving on a dirt road because he feared getting stuck", so he just didn't even try to deliver it. now yes I live on a dirt road, but its not a bad dirt road and cars drive on it daily, and I have never had an issue with a ups, fed-ex, or anyone else driving on it before. it's literally two blocks of dirt road.

Anyways, he returned my package to the ups customer center in brooksville, fl. so, when I called on the 16th I was told they would file the request and have the package sent out to me the next business day, which was mon. the 19th. guess what... monday the 19th comes, tuesday 20th comes, and no package! I call back and asked, "can you tell me when my package will be delivered?". they preceded to tell me the request was never made and that my package was still sitting there. "okay, well the make the damn request and have it sent to me please!" they then tell me, that it will be sent out the next day, wednesday the 21st, and I would get it then. well, they lied... wednesday comes, no package. call back on wednesday, and I was told "sorry mam, the request was made, but it was never sent, it's still sitting here." wow, just wow! i'm fuming by this point. how difficult is it to pick up a package, a small one no more that 5-10 lbs, and put the damn thing on a delivery truck. i'm mean i'm no genius, but it doesn't sound like rocket science. so, I called back and asked, "where the hell is my damn package". of course, I just got another, "i'm sorry mam, it's still here. let me put in for a request to have it delivered." at this point in time, if I could've reached through the damn phone I would've smacked the [censor] out of this woman. I said, "no, I do not want another damn request. I want to talk to the damn supervisor!"

The supervisor seemed sympathetic and immediately put me on hold to call and talk to the brooksville, fl customer service office to find out where my package was and why it was not being sent. I thought, "finally, I will get my package!" he came back on the line and told me that they still had not put the package out for re-delivery, and assured me that he had made the inquiry and it would be delivered on thurs the 23rd. I thanked him and hung up with confidence that my package would be on it way, at last! one hour later, I received a phone call from the lady at brooksville, fl ups customer center (the same [censor] i've been dealing with) and she told me she received a call from a supervisor and that she "would personally walk your package to the guy in charge of loading the delivery trucks and I will not leave until I see him load your package on a truck for delivery" immediately. I gave her the benefit of doubt and thanked her, and thought, "about damn time!"

Bahahaha! ya, that was false hope! thurs the 23rd package never came... big surprise! although, another package I ordered last week came. amazingly, it was brought right to my door, by non other than ups! guess this guy had the balls to drive on a little dirt! so, I called the [censor] in brooksville again, "where is my damn package?" thought I was pissed before? here it is 8 days after my first initial delivery date, and I still have no package. well, this time they proceed to tell me that my package is "currently in atlanta, georgia"... ummm, no its not! wtf! "why is my package, that is supposed to be on my door step right now, in [censor]ing atlanta, georgia?"

Truthfully, are people this stupid? I live like 45 mins from brooksville, I should have just driven to brooksville and picked the damn thing up. since these [censor]es cannot do their jobs. why pay for shipping, if they cannot ship it to your [censor]ing door. I mean come on! needless to say, I was told that it was an error and it was "out of their control". of course, I asked them since they [censor]ed up are they going to pay to re-ship my package back to me? the supervisor (one I had never spoken to before) told me that they "may pay for it", they would have to look into the case. so basically, these [censor]ing [censor] are going to claim that my area was "inaccessible for delivery" and probably more than likely not pay for the re-shipping of the packaged item I ordered on e-bay. it's not the sellers fault and it sure as hell isn't my fault, and neither one of us should have to pay for this. the fact that I received multiple packages from both ups and fed-ex all week long proves that my area is in fact accessible.

Ups sucks big time! i'm done shipping with them. stick with fed-ex, they're more reliable!

And to brooksville, fl ups customer center... you my friends are a bunch of [censor]ing [censor]es! thanks for absolutely nothing!

Helpful?
0 0
D
Feb 06, 2018 2:57 pm

I have worked for ups for about 2 months now and have yet to see a damn paycheck. I have been given the run around nonstop. i’ve called corporate and they are no help. it’s killing my relationship because we are living paycheck to paycheck and he’s only one paying. he doesn’t believe i’m working even though I showed him my paperwork. he’s on his last nerve and is ready to break up with me. its not fair and i’m about to contact bbb about it. i’ve emailed tons of people on the ups board and haven’t heard a thing. ups is the worst company to work for. they are horrible.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jan 21, 2022 2:57 pm

Wow WTF is RIGHT! I know there are good hard working employees like yourself working for UPS. After all, the drivers and loaders are the face of UPS and unfortunately, the scapegoats for the clearly obvious shortcomings of upper- management. In my case the driver tried to hand me an empty bag that was supposed to be 200.00 worth of computer parts for my at home business. THIS was done by either driver himself or his loaders since my package was "delayed" for a storm that never occured. Funny they delivered my fiancee's package on the 19th from Amazon, but two days later, with my package sitting on a UPS truck, arrived STOLEN! NOT MISSING, blatantly stolen! tOP OF aMAZON BAG RIPPED OFF AND EVERYTHING! My complaint doesn't involve the GOOD ppl like yourself and both the hard worker and the scumbag thieves know who they are and one day, it's not going to turn out well for them. Hope everything was worked out. Id be damned If I would work a day past three weeks without a check. AND I'd still have a job...PROMISE! They dont rule us, we rule THEM!

Helpful?
0 0
A
Feb 03, 2018 2:57 pm

I am livid. I was also told that delivery was attempted yesterday (friday). well, I was working from home all day friday and the window by my desk faces the street. my doorbell never rang and I never saw the brown truck. I did receive a doortag during the week that reported that my package was in the locker. I went to the locker today and the tracking number was not recognized. I got an excuse from the customer service person about why the package wasn't there. then he said it would be delivered monday. well, I will not be home monday so I asked for wednesday. then he told me that if I wanted a wednesday delivery I would charged a fee. wtf? they lie about the delivery attempt, they lie on their doortag about the package being in the locker, they cause me an unneeded trip to pick up a package that is not there, then they have the nerve to charge me a fee? ups is a terrible delivery service and this is not the only issue I have had with them. if amazon does not either make them improve their service or fire them, I am going to cancel my prime membership. shopping in a store is easier than this, by far.

Helpful?
1 0
W
Nov 16, 2017 2:57 pm

I have found that ups customer service to be the most dishonest group of people that I have ever run across. it will be the last service that I will ever recommend or use in the future. I will not purchase anything that is shipped by ups and I recommend that any private person use another service.
I am 75 years old, I am a veteran, I owned and operated a business for over 40 years and I can say honestly that ups is the most dishonest company that I have ever run across. they make appointments that they do not intend to keep. they inspect packages by phone in which case they can disallow the claim because they have no intention on paying any claim. received a package that had been hit by a forklift and the product was destroyed. they took the claim gave it a false number that could not be traced. then made a demand to inspect the package and then did not turn up for the inspection. did not return phone calls... etc... still have the package which is a item paid for and they wanted to pays the person who sent it.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jul 02, 2017 2:57 pm

A guy 6 house away brought me my package that ups dropped off in his yard, actually threw it over his fence according to the guy that lives there, luckily he honest took time from his day to bring it to me ofcourse everything was broken inside the box, then ups sends me an email claiming it was dropped off on my porch, the driver most b a liar, lazy no good liar, if u screwed up like that where I work id be fired, ups was once a great company but now they suck, I quit buying online if the company ships ups, and I hv told them so if enough ppl complain the to stores that use ups maybe they will use someone good that acutally delivers to your house not 6 house away!

Helpful?
1 0
R
Apr 28, 2017 2:57 pm

Don't mean to be spamming here but I wanted to share the link to my claim against the company. I believe those who have been wronged meet the qualifications for a class action suit. after all, there are plenty of use who are not happy with how ups treats their customers/clients.
Here is the link: http://www.peopleclaim.com/complaint-details/ups-united-parcel-service-headquarters-atlanta-ga-5977772

Helpful?
0 0

I am never using UPS again. They lost my passport, returned it two months later in a damaged condition and refused to reimburse me for any expenses I incurred as a result ($500+). I almost missed an important trip because of them. FU UPS!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Apr 06, 2017 2:57 pm

Something else just like our new President we should not put up with anything just like him

Helpful?
0 0
M
Apr 06, 2017 2:57 pm

If we do not complain we are allowing those who can make changes to better their company, to help their employees do better jobs reduce customer complaints. Allowing this, will give others who are paying for services to be deceived.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jan 01, 2009 2:57 pm

After receiving calls from friends and family on the status of presents, mailed ups, we discovered delays due to weather. My complaint, #1. No notification of cancelled delivery and phony excuses on tracking system, when weather, not a factor . #2 Incorrect information from ups representative, who instructed us to drive 15 miles to pickup package from local ups center, and on arrival there, was told it was being delievered same day. It is now Jan 1 & UPS status says rescheduled for Jan 5 . UPS is broke, hire enough people to do the job or step aside for Fed Ex. We also have a package somewhere in ups system, that contained omah steaks, I hope they go to the ups executives, for their delight, eight days later.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Oct 31, 2008 2:57 pm

A UPS driver double parked trapping me and my daughter in our car. He couldn't miss the fact that we were the only parked car along that street with the engine running and people in it. I honked my horn and he merely ignored us. He slowly unpacked the truck and made his delivery. He never apologized or acknowledged our presence. In effect, we were held captive my UPS! We will never use them again.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Dec 07, 2016 2:57 pm

-1st packed UPS delivery to other address
- 2nd packed take 8 days delivery while paid for 3 days delivery. I don't want to lost 2nd packed. Then I change delivery to UPS access point. They took my packed around the county, from my city, to other city for 3 days then go back my city and delivery. I paid 3 days services. They take 8 days with out refund. This is 6th time i got problems from UPS, which never happen with Fedex or USPS. How could they do business like that?

Helpful?
0 0
E

I sent a box of medical supplies to my father (from nm to ny) with (supposedly) guaranteed delivery in 2 days. shipped on thursday, to be delivered saturday. it didn't arrive for 5 days. when I complained and tried to find out where exactly the package was, one of the agents I spoke to told me that the reason it hadn't been delivered on saturday is that it hadn't been accepted for shipment until friday, therefore 2 business days from that day was tuesday. I said that it was printed quite clearly on the shipping label that it was to be delivered on saturday, and then the agent had the gall to tell me that the ups customer center that I went to (an actual ups place, not a "store") — that weighed my package, took my money, printed the label, and was clearly doing a lot of business that day — was "closed" and therefore the entire process I went through was fictional. could not have taken place even though I have a printed label saying it did.
I am still trying to get my money back.
I used to have a good local driver who paid attention to the fact that I have a fenced yard with dogs, and that it takes me a minute or two to get to the gate once he honked. for the last several years though, the driver never even bothers to honk, just sticks a note on the gate and disappears.
I will never use ups again.

Helpful?
0 0
J
May 15, 2011 2:57 pm

For the third time, I have gotten "exceptional" service from UPS. A couple of years ago I paid extra for 2nd day delivery and the package came all the way to their distribution center, 10 miles from my home, but on the day it was to be delivered, I checked the tracking, and it had experienced an "exception." I called and they said that weather would not allow the package to be delivered when promised. I was actually told that my package was at the delivery center near my house on the day before it was to be delivered, but it was behind the center in a trailer and that it was snowing too hard for anyone to walk out and get the packages from the trailer and bring them into the delivery center. And it wasn't snowing at all, hadn't snowed for over 12 hours. There was less than 3 inches of snow on the ground from a previous snow. Then a couple of months ago, I was expecting delivery of a package and it also experienced an "exception." This time I was told that the train it was on had derailed. I thought, "Huh, that's weird." The next day at the elementary school that I work at I mentioned this and two other employees said they had had UPS tell them the same thing, one the month before and the other about four months before. That's a lot of train derailments! Now today I check the tracking for a package coming from the East Coast to my home in Oregon. It was travelling at UPS's usual breakneck speed. Took about five days to get from Penn. to Oregon. Last night tracking showed that it had finally arrived in Oregon but wasn't going to be delivered until Monday. Then this morning tracking says that my package might not make it on schedule because of "adverse weather conditions." It was cloudy, 62 degrees with no precipation of any sort. I called and asked what they heck was going on and was told first that the package was being held up due to weather in Penn. But tracking showed that it had left that state five days ago! He said, "No, it's still in Penn." I said tracking had shown it arriving in OR the night before. Then he changed and said that actually it was in North Dakota and was held up because of flooding on the tracks! It's like they have a list of made up excuses on the wall of their cubicules and just go down the list. UPS is a joke.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Feb 15, 2010 2:57 pm

UPS has had posession of my package since February 5th and still has offered me no guarnateed delivery date. Their only excuse is poor weather conditions. Yes, we have had snow but the roads have been cleared for days and by the way...IT IS WINTER!(UPS drivers are not competent enough to drive unless it is sunny?). I offered numerous times to pick up the package myself even if it invloved driving over an hour. No, no deliveries and no pick ups. I warn you, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY USING UPS! They are the most unprofessional, disorganized and slow shipping service in the industry.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 31, 2010 2:57 pm

I WENT TO PICKUP STATION AT 15 OREGON AVE., PHILADELPHIA, PA., AND WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED A PENNSYLVANIA DRIVER'S LICENSE (NOT MY OUT OF STATE DRIVER'S LICENSE). I EXPLAINED THAT I WAS TEMPORARILY LIVING IN PHILLY. THEN SHE TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED PROOF OF ADDRESS, BUT I USED WORKPLACE ADDRESS TO MAKE SURE THERE WOULD BE SOMEONE TO ACCEPT DELIVERY. SHE REFUSED TO GIVE ME MY PACKAGE UNTIL I FAXED HER PROOF OF THE DELIVERY ADDRESS, BUT THE WORKPLACE DID NOT HAVE A FAX MACHINE, SO I DROVE 45 MINUTES, WASTING TIME, GAS MONEY, AND WAS UNABLE TO GET MY PACKAGE.

I CALLED A UPS AGENT TO FIND OUT IF AN OUT-OF-STATE PICTURE ID DRIVER'S LICENSE WAS ACCEPTABLE AND HE SAID YES. THE AGENT ALSO DID NOT UNDERSTAND WHY I HAD TO GIVE PROOF OF "DELIVERY" ADDRESS

Helpful?
0 0
Y
Jul 09, 2010 2:57 pm

I was left an infonotice on a friday saying they tried to deliver and would redeliver on Monday. Well on that Monday when I got home from work I looked for another notice because I hadnt see them. When there wasnt one I tracked the package and it said it was delivered. I contacted customer service and they said yes it was at 2 30 to some "name" Ok? So I have 3 neighbors in an upstairs apt area where you have to be buzzed in.. none of them have that name none of them know anyone by that name!? So I contact them they say it was file a claim so I filed a claim twice! Then went to check that it said there was none.. contacted customer service again nope there is no cliam but their service says it was delivred I KNOW but not to ME! So I have been sending notes and getting the same thing over and over and over.. file a claim claim wont file.. contact the people track it? How can i track it? You said it was delivered yes but to some strange whoever that walked up to your driver and he said ya sure here take it! I get nothing from these people but the same cut and paste "it was delivered to such and such on 7/11. Im so mad about this.. I mean the next time I order something how am I gonna trust that your drivers wont just hand it off to any bumb on the street that can make up a name! I want answers!

Helpful?
0 0
K
May 08, 2012 2:57 pm

Today, UPS ground, who was delivering a package worth $140 did not ring my bell, but instead left my package outside IN THE STREET! I don't live in some idyllic small town where that might seem reasonable, but in New York City, in downtown Manhattan. An unguarded package might last five minutes, if that.

I called UPS customer service, very upset and irate. The rep I spoke to assured me that they didn't think I was lying. How kind. Apparently it will take 8 business days to "investigate." How they expect to investigate a package stolen from in front of my building I can't say.

Both the company from whom I ordered the merchandise and UPS behaved as though this incredible stupidity had nothing to do with them. I was told that if I paid another $140 they would replace my order. How kind.

I'm concerned because it's beginning to look as though I am out this money and I'm not sure where to go from here. Would the Better Business Bureau care?

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
S
Aug 25, 2016 2:57 pm

Their online "create a shipment" system is very tricky. Due to a change in the weight of a package I was shipping to CA, the system dropped my Saturday delivery request.

My customer was angry and I had to refund her money. But I'm still out $145 to UPS for a NON-SHIPMENT. Even though I requested an intercept the package went to Hollister, CA they did nothing.

I offered to upgrade and PAY the extra to get the package delivered on Saturday, but they said they couldn't do that.

They take the time to measure and weigh your package so they can charge you extra if your numbers are off, but they won't do anything to help you if the delivery instructions are wrong, even if its their fault.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 20, 2016 2:57 pm

UPS lost my large 35 lb package and are now giving me the run around in attempts to avoid compensating me for my losses. I filled a proper claim but they voided it because they claim I never shipping it even though the tracking says it made it all the way to New Jersey before it got lost. Explain that one to me. Beware of ups and their corrupt business practices.

Helpful?
0 0
E

Due to wrong address they could not deliver package and sent a postcard to pick up at local shipping center. Card said open 9-5:30 M-F.
Arrived at 1 and sign on door said closed 10-3 M-F due to cut back. Drove 1 hour round trip and 30 miles total. Complained to Corporate about use of erroneous post card information and the great inconvenience to me.
They only forwarded complaint to the Petaluma facility for resolution. Phone call on my answering machine said: "The sign on the door is correct"...That was all.

It is true, as stated elsewhere by an employee, they are arrogant, indifferent and have no interest in proper customer care. Employees get into management from the entry ranks with no proper training?

I found the phone call stupid and insulting. I will avoid use of UPS from now on.

Helpful?
0 0
Y
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

We issued a UPS call-tag for a new piece of medical equipment at a customers site in TX. UPS did pick-up the package. We received a call from our customer asking if we ever got it back and we said no. We then called UPS and filed a lost package claim. Somehow the package ended up in UT and was rerouted to our location in NY. When we received the unit back it was not in it's original custom box but in a smaller box with no packing. The new unit was now badly damaged and unrepairable. We went through the process and filed a damage claim. They wanted to just try resolving it over the phone by sending pictures but we insisted a rep come to our location. The rep acted very arogant but did admit that they did screw up. Long story short, they denied our claim! This was a $4, 000 piece of equipment and now we are out the costs and had to replace the unit for our customer. We also have a FedEx service and have had no troubles. We will be switching all of our services to FedEx. This company is terrible! The year they went public is when they started going down hill. They only seem to care about pleasing their shareholders and not their customers! That is a fact!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

I think all of America should boycott UPS until when and if they reform their despicable business practices. Today is just the latest in a long string of shoddy business practices by UPS. I have been waiting for a package that was supposed t be delivered 10 days ago, still not here. Called every day and assured with 100% certainty the package is en route and will be delivered today. Still no package. When my father died last year, I shipped some of his belongings to my home and insured each box for $500. When they arrived items were shattered in each box. I filed a claim with UPS and they denied covered because they said "I didn't package the box appropriately" although each item was individually wrapped in bubble wrap and filled the box with peanuts. This should be illegal.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

Vendors have been shipping things to me by UPS several times over the last few years and I have always been surprised by UPS's astonishing incompetence and lack of desire to give a good service. Just two weeks ago, the UPS driver buzzed, I responded, put on my boots, came out and he was gone. He couldn't wait the 30 seconds that it took me to put on my boots. Just yesterday, a package never arrived (is it lost?) and UPS claimed they had tried to contact me about it - I guess they used smoke signals, they certainly didn't try my phone or email address. In fact, most of the packages that are sent to me by UPS have to be picked up at the UPS center because the drivers somehow cannot find the way to my office. And just a couple of months ago the package came broken and as I refused to take it in all I got from the driver was a dirty look - how about an apology? With all the inefficiencies of the USPS, I much prefer to deal with them than UPS. It is a mystery to me that UPS is still the biggest delivery company in the US.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

We recently sent a package to our accountant containing important tax records through UPS . They unilaterally changed the address from a business to a vacant apartment. They were lax in their efforts to try to recover the package. Now they tell us they can only reimburse us for the COST OF THE INK to reproduce those documents. They will not even refund the cost to send the package!

You may want to warn your audience NOT to use UPS for important documents. I was told that they regularly and often change the delivery addresses without contacting the sender or receiving party. Incidentally, both our phone numbers were on this package.

There may also be fraud involved here. When the receiver sees that documents are being sent to accounting firms, this is an opportunity for identity theft by purposely sending packages to vacant apartments/businesses where they can be intercepted.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

Attempted Deliver Case of Wine ... day after day they deliver at 12-1PM ... no one home ~ would not accept neighbors signing or people working on the property. Caused wine to sit in 100 degree temps on a truck for 2 days. Refused to deliver later in the day ... why not? Spent 3 hours on the phone with UPS.

Then they wanted me to drive over 30 miles to pick it up. They really do not care ... what is amazing they will deliver Amazon books from 4-7PM to our neighborhood, but wine can only come when no one is home.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Aug 02, 2016 2:57 pm

Shipped a package UPS CT to GA, with it I bought a $5 three guarantee delivery. Package arrived two days late. UPS said not guaranteed for adverse weather. Why am I buying a guaranteed delivery for $5 if you will not take responsibility and guarantee it.
UPS did not give refund and also did not even refund $5 for the cost of guarantee.
UPS, sells a guarantee for $5 and has a 100% return on that service. Does not have to get there on time and do not have to refund anything.
Lets not use UPS anymore.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Jul 13, 2016 2:57 pm

6 boxes shipped to potential investors, each containing a prototype that took us weeks to build. I personally packed each as if it was nitroglycerin.
Box 1 arrived with no external damage, although a well-protected part was broken in half. I did not file a claim on this one.
Box 2 arrived with no external damage, although the packing material was missing, the product had been disassembled and its parts were scattered throughout the box.
I filed a claim but their making me jump through hoops, asking for pictures, the invoice, a packing list, their tracking number, my account number and my shipper ID, all of which I’ve been mailing one at a time because each time they get what they asked for they ask for something more. I’m mailing these because after spending an hour trying to send it using the electronic link they emailed, I called only to find out it doesn’t work.
Box 3 arrived looking like a used piñata, the bubble wrap I personally wrapped around and taped to the prototype was gone, the prototype disassembled and its parts were scattered through out the box.
I filed a claim and UPS sent a driver out to inspect it. A couple days latter a UPS customer service rep. called, she said, “I’m sorry your box was damaged in shipment, unfortunately your claim has been denied because the box you used does not meet UPS standards.” The confirmation email stated the box was not strong enough to hold the 8-pound item.
The other 3 arrived without damage.
A few days latter they emailed 4 credit card adjustment notices, 3 dimensional weight adjustments ($22.16, $13.00 $16.22), and 1 address correction charge ($10.00).
All 6 boxes were clearly marked 18x18x16, but UPS measured 19x18x17, 18x17x17 and 19x18x17. After several back and forth emails they issued credits on 2, they’re not retuning my emails regarding the other 2.
Concerned that one of their employees was stealing my invention, I called customers service, after telling my story, the rep. said “Sorry your boxes were damaged in shipment, you can file a claim on line or if you like I can help you.” Sensing I was upset he transferred my call to a higher-up. After telling her my story she said, “Sorry your boxes were damaged in shipment, you can file a claim on line or if you like I can help you.”
UPS gets away with this because they can, if one of my customers complains I fix it, when theirs complain they say “Sorry…can’t do anything for you, it’s ok if you fire us, our system is set up to make more money with less customers.
If only there was law firm willing to after these crooks and make them pay back the millions they’re stealing from us with their fraudulent measurements and insurance fees for claims they deny at their discretion.
Isn’t it a crying shame our only recourse is posting UPS Sucks stories, I’m posting mine hoping it will help me get over it and go on to more important matters, like finding a few potential investors to replace the ones UPS lost.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jul 13, 2016 2:57 pm

I am disabled so i've had to order all my xmas gifts online. I ordered a med gray and black cashmere sweater and a black cashmere scarf for my daughter and it never arrivd. I checked the routing with ups and they said they delievered it. we have searched all over and assked the neighbors- nothing. I am not sure if it is macys fault or that of ups. we live in a neighborhood where the houses are far apart and we have a private police force. it is not a place where stealing takes place.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 13, 2016 2:57 pm

Ordered something. Paid extra for expedited delivery. All day on Friday, the UPS.com tracking said "Package is out for delivery for delivery TODAY". 7pm rolls around, no package, same info on tracking page. I call. They say: "Yep, still coming, they deliver as late as 9 or even later." I say, "Can you check that they REALLY have the package on the truck". I wait on hold. Answer "Yep, he just has 2 more deliveries, then you". Great. 10 pm rolls around. No package. I check the website. It has rescinded the delivery date. Now it says "delivery Monday" (3 days away). I submit a complaint, and their web page after submission comes back with some error code and has trashed my big long explanation.

Next day I call again. They claim "It was scanned as if it was in the truck for delivery but wasn't". Right. I'm supposed to believe that? I say "Well, I need that package today. You promised it yesterday. How can I get it?" Answer "You can't". I say, "so you're saying there's no power on earth that will enable me to get my package? That you simply won't do the right thing like FedEx has for me before?" Answer: "(silence). Is there anything else I can help you with today?". Now it's late on Monday and I STILL haven't received my package.

When I finally got a response from my web complaint, it was basically, leave us alone, we don't know anything, blame the shipper:

"Thank you for contacting us. I have checked the status of your shipment in our tracking system. Unfortunately, our tracking system does not indicate the reason for the delay. Please kindly be aware that the shipment date, Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays are not considered transit days.

Based upon the type of service your shipper selected, I am unable to investigate this situation any further. Instead, the shipper has requested that you contact them directly regarding any delivery or service issues.

I am sorry that I am unable to assist you with this matter, and I apologize for any frustration you have experienced with this shipment. Please contact your shipper for additional assistance.

Please contact us if you need any additional assistance."

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 17, 2016 2:57 pm

Sent valuables, they packed it and they broke. I insured for $4000.00. They refused my invoices and denied my claim after 3 months. They had pictures of the damaged boxes, then they took the boxes. THE KEY TO SUCCESS: http://www.pressroom.ups.com/About+UPS/UPS+Leadership/Leaders

go to this link and use every first initial [email protected] Email everyone of of the leadership team with your story. I had someone on the phone in 10 minutes. I only got 30% of the loss, but that was better than nothing.

EVERYONE EMAIL ALL OF THEM, OFTEN! They have to acknowledge their lack of customer service. I have used USPS since then with no incident!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 07, 2016 2:57 pm

Today, June 20, 2008, a UPS driver was driving in our neighborhood at dangerously high speeds. The usual driver is efficient and quickly runs her route, but today, I believe a different driver was on this route. Our neighborhood has many children, whom play in the streets. It was impossible to get any identification on the truck because the driver made it to the end of the street so quickly and turned the corner, we could not get any info. The truck was actually blowing black smoke. I am still contemplating contacting the local police department to file a complaint.

We live on Manden Lane in Pooler, Georgia, 31322. The driver left our street and turned left on Manden Road. This occurred at approximately 6:05 p.m.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jun 03, 2016 2:57 pm

I ordered this on April 2nd, 2013 From Hessen Antique website. I had much trouble bringing it across into Canada because Canada Customs where being jerks.

I got a call on Thursday, April 4th, 2013 from UPS saying, "Canada Customs wants to know who your broker is for this shipment? and do you have a broker? or do you need us?" I found this strange because I have purchased stuff from this dealer before and no problems, and UPS has no problem brokered for me (and it is not against the Canadian law to posses this only when it it used for a hate group) and I am a collector of movies and books and artifacts on the war. Well, I get fifty million questions asked what the nature of it is for personal or what? I told them I am a collector, well Canada Customs then wanted their duty right on the spot to pay for the duty and again this is funny, UPS usually sends the bill to me via the mail. Then some how my payment seems to not go through and my card that is on files was somehow copied down wrong I gave UPS my info and all of a sudden there was this funny thing showing up on their tracking system that says I need power or attorney in order to get this into Canada. I had to fight for that as well. See below

UPS tracking on My WW2 stuff strange.

Winnipeg, MB, CA
04/08/2013 10:00 P.M.
Departure Scan

Winnipeg, MB, CA
04/05/2013 7:11 P.M.
Import Scan

04/05/2013 2:52 P.M.
Arrival Scan

Fredericton, NB, CA
04/05/2013 4:38 P.M.
Power of attorney documentation is missing and is required for clearance

Fargo, ND, US
04/05/2013 9:44 A.M.
Departure Scan
04/05/2

So I had to fight with this again UPS asking if it was for personal reasons, I said yes, I am a big world war 2 collector and why does one need power of attorney for world war 2 stuff? I was told that the documentation was needed to bring it into Canada. I fought won. Then UPS all of a sudden my payment was not god enough they had my payment number down wrong. Finally after a hassle and headache on Monday it got cleared. Was delivered today. Like as if I am going to walk down the streets of Olds, Alberta with a Putsch me and 90year old people. LOL what are they smoking? Here is the Canadian law for bringing in any stuff like this into Canada.

Canada has no legislation specifically restricting the ownership, display, purchase, import or export of Nazi flags. However sections 318-320 of the Criminal Code, [8] adopted by Canada's parliament in 1970 and based in large part on the 1965 Cohen Committee recommendations, [9] provide law enforcement agencies with broad scope to intervene if such flags are used to communicate hatred in a public place (particularly sections 319(1), 319(2), and 319(7).[9]

Andrew Kelly

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jun 03, 2016 2:57 pm

I've ordered an item from Amazon. UPS is the carrier. I tracked my package and it said that it was en route. The scheduled delivery was November 23, 2011. I waited for my package. At 6:20 pm of that date, I tracked my package in Amazon and it said failure to deliver secondary to external factors. I tracked in the UPS site and it said that they missed my package in the facility. How could they do that? I expected that they would deliver the next business day but they did not. It was their fault that my package was missed and they did not even attempt to deliver the next business day. I dont live far from their facility. I waited for nothing.

Helpful?
0 0
O
Jun 03, 2016 2:57 pm

Trying to receive a package through UPS is an odyssey. Drivers make no effort to deliver packages to apartment buildings unless the intended recipient is standing on the doorstep waiting.

Customer service over the phone is even worse. Any problems with delivery they automatically blame the sender or the person who placed the order. Every time I've had problems with delivery i was told to contact the shipper to rectify the sender who cannot change anything because UPS will not allow changes to the delivery.

Furthermore, customer service representatives make no effort to actually help solve the problem. The only solution they seem to be able to offer is to pick the package up at the nearest center. For most, that is more than a simple drive down the street. Also it rather defeats the purpose of at-home delivery.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 03, 2016 2:57 pm

On 1/28/11 at 6:30pm my package had not yet arrived, UPS customer service said to just wait the package will come. I checked the website and the package was delivered to the UPS local site at 7:00am that morning, that UPS location is 15 minutes from my home. At 7:30pm, still no package, I checked UPs website and they listed my package as undeliverable beyond UPS control. I was home all afternoon waiting, the weather was clear, the roads were clear of snow...WHAT was beyond their control?

The customer service department would tell me nothing, no answers as to why my package wasn't delivered.

HORRIBLE DELIVERY SERVICE & CUSTOMER SERVICE. I am calling Vendor and telling them to switch to FEDEX or USPS! Never Again!

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1764 complaints
202 resolved 1562 unresolved

UPS contacts

(added by reviewer)
55 Glenlake Pkwy NE, Georgia United States
ADVERTISIMENT