Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Movement & Delivery UPS employee horror story

UPS  -  employee horror story

M
Author of the complaint
11:09 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have been reading many of the complaints that are included in this site and would like to share and sympathize. I worked for UPS from 1985 until 2002 as a delivery driver. UPS changed dramatically after the death of its founder Jim Casey in 1987. From that day forward nothing mattered to management other than the almighty dollar. Customer service is a joke. Employees are treated like slaves. Working conditions are third world at best. UPS had a solid reputation during the late 80's and early 90's but there was a dramatic shift to the bottom line at all costs. Early on management was promoted from within but as all companies move toward a lower wage this trend stopped. This is by far the worst place I ever worked in my life. Supervisors who are in way over their heads is the norm. Safety is a afterthought. Most centers need to be audited by OSHA. But employees who speak up or take action are targeted for suspension and termination. Work weeks of 55+ hours for drivers is a regular occurrence. Let me explain in detail. As a driver you could start work at 8:30am and will not be off the street until 9:30 or 10:00pm. Fatigue is commonplace. During my time I nodded off routinely when I was driving. Safety at UPS is a smokescreen. Prozac is taken like candy by drivers, divorce is ramped, hypertension is common, production levels are unrealistic, management is unskilled and combative, and injury is considered weakness and lazy. I spent 17 years at this "hell hole" and was paid very well for my services. But I came to the realization that it was just not worth it. I quit and am happier for it. Most complaints that you may have are a direct result of a poorly managed company where stress is used as a tool for greater production, no matter what the cost to employee or consumer.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More UPS complaints & reviews

86 comments
Add a comment
D
Jul 19, 2019 7:48 pm EDT

I work at ups for 19 years..I worked both as drive and management. I was blackballed for having a relationship with a co worker which I understood that one of us had to leave the company which was addressed and complete. I was the one who stayed and was the one blackballed in the UPS world. It was like I had become the enemy. I was a good employee until this relationship happened and after reviling they relationship I somehow was the bad employee. During my time of employment I came across a problem that happened with the truck wash at one of our centers. We were losing water from the recycling water in the wash bay and no one could figure that t out. Previous to this when I walked many years thru the building may workers would say not to drink the water. For years this was the comment which I thought was a joke but little did they know what they were drinking and I am sure they chemicals that were washed in the truck was such as hazardous chemicals that may have spilled into the brown package cars and washed out in truck wash. It came to my attention (I did not know this was not installed) a black flow valve was not installed from the truck wash to the main building and when the truck wash was charged to wash truck the water from truck wash would go into the drinking water in the hub. I did relay this to the Teamster BA at this time but nothing was ever followed up by him. He worked for UPS before becoming a BA.(he passed away from cancer). I am not saying this problem caused this but recently I have seen a few workers both management and non management have passes away with cancer. This happened in the 90s and I am sure re more workers that I know were affected by this situation. It was a well kept secret and I was told not to bring it to anyone’s attention. They did fix the back flow valve between truck wash and building. To this day I wish the BA would have addressed this. I will say during my time at UPS I enjoyed my jobs before they blackballed me. I am not writing this because they blackballed me. It was a blessing because I found out I did have a life after it happened. I did get cancer and think it was from this place of work. I am not bashing UPS I-think it was unfortunate thing that happened.

U
May 09, 2017 11:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have friends who work for UPS in Springfield Illinois and let me tell you they treat their people like ### ! The are bullied and harassed by management. Oh and the management now, the college kids who maybe was a driver helper for one Christmas, what a joke. They have no idea what it's like to be a driver day after day. They give rural route stops on one truck numbering 180 that's just stops, not package count. They are now taking away bonus time by screwing the drivers and making them eat the load transfer time (truck to truck)away from the center. UPS used to promote from within. You know those people who actually know what's going on and know how to get the job done. You know it's bad when the center posts the seasonal Christmas driver positions and not one loader or pre loader applied. UPS driver was once a coveted job. There is something very wrong with a company that manages through fear and intimidation rather than ownership and pride. I have suggested them taking a video camera in for every conversation with management. I am a state trooper and their job is way more stressful than mine on a daily basis. Safety practices OSHA would cringe. There's one other little thing of if you are injured you still have to work at the center for 29 days before workers comp will cover you. What the hell is that. Hey teamsters really ? letting your people be treated like that wow.

T
May 06, 2010 3:08 pm EDT

My daughter paid an extra $100 for delivery of a desk to a residence. The desk is one she moved by herself; she is athletic, 5'8" and a normal build. They first quoted her one price, but then changed the amount to double that after she agreed to have them ship the desk. She was leaving the country and could not spend days trying to get them to honor the first quote. Finally, they honored it, and agreed to ship the desk to our front door.

The San Francisco person who helped her palletize the desk was FANTASTIC and HELPFUL. They were running late but still made sure to get the desk that day because she was leaving town. Excellent.

In DENVER, SERVICE WAS THE WORST OF ANY DELIVERY I HAVE HAD IN 10 YEARS. I was told that the desk would be LEFT IN THE PULL-THROUGH DRIVEWAY IN THE SNOW, because they aren't "allowed" to bring it up two steps to the door. IT WAS ONE STEP, OF LESS THAN 7" BUT HE CALLED IT TWO STEPS. I was then told I could sign the delivery slip NOW and accept any damage that may occur or they wouldn't even take it off the truck; rather they would take it back to the shipping center and "dispose" of it or charge me extra to bring it back.

WHAT A RIP OFF JOB. I think they were trying to get me to tip them to do their job. Had they been business-like, there would have been a tip. Instead, I was threatened with extra charges or having the desk disposed of.

It gets better - I am 56 years old and can move the desk with very little help. My husband had shoulder surgery, which is why my daughter paid extra to have it delivered to the house instead of a storage locker site. The desk fits in a bedroom and is not a huge piece of furniture.

To top it off, they then told me it weighed more than they realized. How did it gain weight between receiving and delivering it?

Brian, the "boss or dispatcher" was the one that threatened me. Thanks, Brian. I have built houses for a living, have lived in several countries and have moved a lot. Your name will always be remembered by me because of your attitude and threats. Exceeding bad service.

Our daughter, who is moving to Europe, was thinking of using your company for moving her other things. No way she will do it now. I called her at the airport to verify the terms of service while the delivery was here.

I have photos of the desk, the driveway, the steps. I would like to post those photos, also.

V
Jan 07, 2009 11:06 pm EST

Bought electronic item on ebay. It was shipped via U P S & extra insurance from a separate company was purchased to cover the $589.00 item . Item was damaged in shipment & claim filed . U P S said they only pay insurance claim to SHIPPER & that I must send item back to shipper . This was done & shipper was PAID . Then shipper would not reimburse me any money & would not return the item . U P S was no help as they FULFILLED their obligatuion .

The seller of the item turned out to be a thief also as promising to send money & later promising to send item were just lies .

T
Mar 02, 2010 2:06 pm EST

I had a UPS store package and ship my clutch for my semi-truck. My son-in-law carried the clutch to their package area, it was heavy. The store employee packaged with my preprinted label. It was delivered damaged/broken/non repairable. Look's like it was dropped. We filed a claim, which has taken over a month to get any results. UPS is ONLY giving me a $100.00 for a $1500.00 replacement clutch. UPS maybe somewhat be cheaper than other shipper, but they don't stand behind their stores or franchise's. They are at fault for the damage because of improper packaging. If you are going to ship UPS make sure you package your own products, insurance it to the max. Maybe you might get lucky for any damage, receive full value not a crumby $100.

C
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I posted a wedding ring online through craigslist. The ring was worth $26000, but I had it for sale for $20000. I was contacted by a supposed couple that lived in Louisiana. They stated that they were headed to Denver for their anniversary. I spoke to them off and on for about 5 days. They decided that they wanted to buy my ring. I researched the safest way to ship the ring and get payment. I called UPS several times and they all told me that through COD, they would pick up whatever form of payment I requested, and if it was not what I requested they would not hand over the ring. I decided to ship through COD. I also decided on payment thru USPS Money orders since you can’t stop payment on them. I went into our local UPS store. After the cashier, by the name of Kristin, had everything processed, I noticed that my receipt said “Cashiers check or money order, ” I questioned her on this because I specifically requested USPS MONEY ORDERS ONLY for payment. She told me that they come together as one option and then you specify which payment you want in the notes below. In the notes below, it said “USPS MONEY ORDERS FOR COD ONLY!” I have this in writing on my receipt. They also wrote in black, bold, writing on the box “ USPS MONEY ORDERS ONLY”. UPS delivered my package on September 16, 2010 and took payment of an OBVIOUSLY, fake cashiers check and handed over my ring to a man and didnt check ID. I didn’t receive payment until September 26, 2010. I insured my package both ways for $20000 and paid hundreds of dollars for the insurance. I have been calling UPS since then. Nobody ever returned my calls. Finally, today I get a call from UPS saying “Sorry, we can’t help you, we did our part and delivered your package and collected payment. They did not collect the payment requested. The driver basically picked up a check that looked like a 2 year old drew it on a piece of construction paper and handed my ring over to somebody other that the person it was addressed to. the detectives working on the case called into the security dept thur ups and they told them " tell her to sue us, we go thru this all of the time and we always win". I would have never shipped my ring if I knew that UPS was lying to me. They told me they ckecked ID first, collected whatever form of payment I requested, and then handed over my package. They didnt do either. I am now out a $26kwedding ring, that was insured thru UPS, and the have the audacity to tell me "sue us".

S
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

my husband was supposedly hired on to work this Christmas season helping the ups drivers. what a joke!
he was in the very first group that was trained - then, he was not called for 3 weeks. when they did call, it was very sporadic and he was limited to the number of hours they would let him work. the driver would get a text telling him to have my husband stop working. he worked for 5 different drivers - EVERY SINGLE ONE of them praised his work and said he did a fantastic job.today, dec. 21st - the busiest day of service for ups, they decided to do "safety checks" - meaning they sent out some sniveling weasels to go around and see if everyone was wearing their seatbelts. first of all - my husband was delivering in the business district - so it was one delivery every 8-10 feet. secondly, not one driver ever told him he was required to wear the seatbelt in those cases. some creep saw him - and called the management people and they fired him immediately. the driver was furious - saying the company heaped all of these extra deliveries on them but then did stuff like this.
i will NEVER agaijn use ups for anything - i am appalled that they treated my husband like this - it is bad enough that he got laid off months ago from the hotel business - this was absolutely ridiculous!

A
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I ordered some things from a nursery... 3 trees... I get delivery here all the time by UPS and often they screw it up. This time, the idiot couldnt find my address. No calls for directions from him or anything! I called the office 3 TIMES and gave directions.. Still a no show. Last call to them they said they would re schedule delivery on Monday.. that waould 4 days from the supposed delivery date. These are LIVE trees! and cannot be in a box that long. I told them to foget it, I would pick them up myself. I paid 50.00 in shipping charges and then have to pick them up myself? Well, the next day I drove out to get my trees... This is in Sallisaw Oklahoma. What do I find? Locked doors. So I walked around to the back loading dock. No one. I started calling out hello! Finally I found a guy hid out in a small building. He took my shipping statement and went to find my parcel.You wont believe what we found there at the Sallisaw UPS Depot. There were packages strewn everywhere around laying in the dirt, tossed under a picnic table and even out in the parking area (gravel and dirt in behind the UPS depot where they load trucks.) I picked a couple of them up, and they were full, taped, and addresses on them for shipping. And here they were tossed in the dirt, gravel and hot sun, just laying out there. Anyone could just walk off with them. Not stacked up, not in a neat pile... I'm saying it looked like they just threw them out and left them lay where they landed. No wonder UPS is always losing packages for people! Its probably stuck under a bumper or a wild dog drug if off somewhere. I couldn't believe it! These people need put out of business and they have lost me as a long time customer. I have always shipped UPS and I do alot of shipping with our business. No more!

K
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

In the past two weeks I have had parcels left on the doorstep by UPS in pouring rain with no plastic bag or wrapping of any kind. This resulted in the shipments being ruined. There is often no one at home during the day and parcels left in this way are always subject to the vagaries of the weather. The United States Parcel Service seems to do better and will wrap a parcel which usually keeps it safe. The delivery drivers of UPS pay no attention to the weather, is this normal company policy? If so, I am going to do everything possible to avoid using the Useless Parcel Service whenever possible.

D
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I recently sold an item on an on-line auction and pre-paid the UPS shipping label. It was supposed to be a 3-day delivery, but after two weeks I was notified that the package had never arrivbed. Upon checking the tracking number, I found that the package had never left the UPS Store that I had dropped the package off at. Upon calling both UPS and the UPS Store to inquire about the package, I was constantly passed on to several different and very rude who denied ever having recived the package for shipping. I took all my recipts to the store where I left the package and they still denied that I had ever dropped it off or paid for the shippng, even though I had all my recipts including the one from Patpal. Four days later the package showed up on my front lawn, crushed and with half the shipping label missing. No explanation has been forthcoming from UPS of where the package has been for the past month or what happened to it, except that it looks like it was run over then just tossed out a window into my front yard. I will never do business with this company again.

S
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I had a package delived to California from Amazon throught UPS. UPS attempted to deliver the package ONE time and since they were unable to enter into the apartment building they delivered they package to OHIO instead. When I called to ask about the package and to ask to inmediatelly have the package return to the original addrss in California they told me that they only deliver the package "ground" and thay would take at least 5 day.

The contents of that package were going overseas and th person taking them was leaving within the 48 hours.
UPS supersivor at Ohio location refused to send the package by air or next day because the package was to be "ground" and there was lots of paperwork involved.

While customer service UPS was nice and apologetic, the person at Ohio location show no emphaty nor concer.

UPS should had take care of the charges that apply to air so the package would be here. UPS should NEVER delivered the package to Ohio.

I would not ever make any more business with UPS, but I would also cite as much as I can UPS as a very poor company when I'm as either in school or work to mention bad examples about compnies.

UPS not only lost a customer forever, but also many more that I would tell the story.

I
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

My dog's pain medication was ordered and scanned for delivery on 12/22/09 for 3-day select service through UPS. I phoned UPS yesterday (12/28) to find out when it would be delivered & was told it would be here today. After waiting at home all day, I was then told it wouldn't be here until tomorrow. The call center lady connected me to Thomas in Portland, who told me there was no way I could pick it up today. My dog needs his meds today! I cannot stay home another day! 8 day delivery is ridiculous for 3-day select.

J
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

After spending $150.00 to have our driveway plowed so the UPS truck could deliver some perishable vet medical supplies, the UPS driver dumped three boxes, in a pile of snow on the side of the road we live on, near the end of our driveway. I happened to notice the boxes on the side of the road and thought they were trash that someone had dumped there. The ordered vet supplies and a gift to us from Omaha Steaks, plus another box of Christmas gifts were just left there for anyone to take. We called the UPS center and asked were told they'd "call back within an hour." It's now been more than five hours and we've received no return call.

K
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

Due to my job, I get alot of shipments through UPS. Where I used to live, UPS had no problem leaving the packages on my front porch, and never required a signature in order to leave the packages. March of 2006, I moved roughly 3 miles from where I was living, and now UPS requires a signature to leave a package at my new residence. The problem is, I am out in the field on my job. There is no way I can be here to sign for the packages. This results in multiple delivery attemps, and delays in myself receiving my packages. I have left notes on my front door authorizing the UPS driver to just leave the package on my front porch, yet he refuses to do so. What ends up happening is they will make 3 attempts to deliver the package, on the 3rd attempt they end up leaving the shipments at the complex office. By that time, the shipments are close to, if not more than a week late.
What blows my mind, is the fact that the packages dont contain anything expensive. All they contain is promotional stickers, posters, and other eye catching, and informational promotional stuff for a department in the stores of a retail chain. It would all be useless to anyone else but me. UPS acts like they are delivering gold or something.

The final straw happened on July 22, 2006. Thursday, July 21, 2006, I got home from work, and there was a notice on my door that UPS had attempted to deliver a package, and that they would try again the next day, so on July 22, 2006 before I left for work, I put a note on my front door telling the UPS driver to go ahead and just leave the packages at the complex office. When I got back home shortly before 5PM, there were no packages on my porch, and I went and checked at the office, and there were no packages there. When I got back to my apartment, I took the note down off the front door. There stuck behind my note, was another UPS delivery attempt notice. The driver never bothered to read note on my door.

So now, I have to wait until sometimes next week to receive my packages, again.

Z
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I shipped out a package via Next Day Air on 2/11 and it wasn't delivered until over a week later. When I realized on 2/12 that it wasn't going to be delivered that day, I called to figure out an alternative. I offered to pick it up at the facility and hand deliver it for them, but was told it was a security risk. The recipient offered to go pick it up and she was told that she couldn't until they made the first attempted delivery, and they didn't know when that would be. Each time I inquired about the status of the package, and if/when it would be delivered, I was fed excuses about the weather. I was even told that they weren’t making deliveries in that area due to adverse conditions – and I knew it wasn’t true because the recipient received a package shipped via Ground on that Monday! I filed a complaint with the BBB and UPS’ response was a very generic canned response about the weather and that there was adverse weather conditions during the week of 2/13. This wasn’t true! The blizzard we had happened about a week prior to me shipping out the package and a UPS spokesperson (in a Washington Post article) said that services were only shut down on 2/10, and that they were back up and running on the 11th – the day I shipped out the package. My rebuttal was about how disappointed I was in their response, and pointed out that the adverse conditions they mentioned happened a week prior (so no excuse), and that if they couldn’t deliver when promised, then they shouldn’t accept those types of packages (along with the hefty payments to ship them!). I would have been happy with a sincere apology, and even if the package was delivered a few days late, I would have even accepted that! Taking over a week to deliver a Next Day Air package is beyond reasonable. Unfortunately, I received their rather snarky rebuttal today that basically said I wasn’t lied to (not true), and that it looks like we won’t see eye to eye on this one. Talk about crappy customer service!

Q
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

I had a package delived to California from Amazon throught UPS.

UPS attempted to deliver the package ONE time and since they were unable to enter into the apartment building they delivered they package to OHIO instead. When I called to ask about the package and to ask to inmediatelly have the package return to the original addrss in California they told me that they only deliver the package "ground" and thay would take at least 5 day.

The contents of that package were going overseas and th person taking them was leaving within the 48 hours.

UPS supersivor at Ohio location refused to send the package by air or next day because the package was to be "ground" and there was lots of paperwork involved.

While customer service UPS was nice and apologetic, the person at Ohio location show no emphaty nor concer.

UPS should had take care of the charges that apply to air so the package would be here. UPS should NEVER delivered the package to Ohio.

I would not ever make any more business with UPS, but I would also cite as much as I can UPS as a very poor company when I'm as either in school or work to mention bad examples about compnies.

UPS not only lost a customer forever, but also many more that I would tell the story.

K
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

For the THIRD time in a row, my UPS delivery man has FAILED to deliver a package at the promised date and time. I went as far as to call the UPS 1 800 number and have them hold the package so that I could go pick it up myself. Of course, when I went down to the UPS store, the driver had decided to take the package with him (again) and attempt to deliver the package. Being that it will be the 2nd attempt and I will not be here tomorrow (if there were to be a 3rd attempt), I have to post pone my holiday travel plans so that I can be HERE to pick up the package. The kicker is that the driver has until 11:59 pm to deliver a package. So that means I have to wait ALL DAY at my residence for the dilvery of my package. I guarantee that I will no longer use UPS for ANYTHING. All of my packages will be delivered via USPS, FedEx, or DHL.

B
Jul 18, 2016 2:27 am EDT

My package arrived at the local facility the day before first attempt, though the notice was marked final attempt. When I looked online, an exception status says customer requested pickup at facility that I never done. WTF? How could I do that if I never receive the notice until first attempt and I didn't give instruction for this to the store where I bought the merchandise. Package delivery have become suspect for some time. I think their driver doesn't give a crap about the job.

R
Jul 18, 2016 2:27 am EDT

I have had multiple negative experiences with UPS recently: packages intended for others delivered to my door, damaged packages delivered, automated telephone lines that do not offer options to remedy these problem, UPS stores refuse to provide any information or services to address these problems. UPS treats third parties (in this case, me) as responsible for company errors. They expect those who are victims of their errors to remedy them, re: deliver packages they deliver to the wrong address, spend time on their ill-conceived automated phone lines trying futilely to address their errors, waste time trying without success to get help at UPS Stores. UPS was once a reliable company. No more! In my professional position, I oversee a substantial amount of shipping. I will no longer use UPS and I urge others to follow suit.

A
Jun 16, 2016 6:35 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am so unhappy. Buying presents for my family in south africa(im in uk) tooke from january to buy gifts and safe for the postage. Last year done the same but used dhl to send it without a problem. This year...well it was a 2 day journey which is now on day 20 and xmas is nxt week. First it said extra documentation was required but actually they didnt have anyone on that side to deliver. Then excuse after excuse. Now today my family got told they had to pay...get this...import taxes...VET TAXES, (coz another reason was a state vet was onvolved) FOR SUM REASON...also handling fee... And some other tax also before they culd get their gifts. Now i took souch care in packing those boxes so no vet needed be involved. Oh yes the other was XRAY TAXES. ... I am so upset that i spent so much money and worst that my family had to pay to get xmas gifts from me. And no one wants to help mewrnt on american chat and when they see they r getyin now where they just end the chatthe ips in south africa is just refusing to reply to my mails. Really so sad i jave been crying all day because i haven seen my family for 5 yrs and this was my way of being with them gor xmas then a company u have to trust does this and i cant complain or nothing. FEEL SO SAD...

M
Jun 15, 2016 7:48 am EDT

Well here it is 1/1/09. My packages which went out for delivery 12/22 still are not here. After no less then 50 calls to the 1800 number, 25 emails, 4 visits to the customer center, nothing. Not one person at UPS can call or give me a phone number to anyone at the Portland depot. They claim they will be caught up by 1/2, tomorrow. They took last weekend off, did not deliver last friday 12/26 or today new years. So thats 5 days of non delivery while people here wait for xmas gifts and much needed inventory for their business's. Bottom Line, UPS does not care one bit about me, you or anyone. I have contaced every local news station in Portland, consumer affairs and the BBB. The storm ended on xmas day and the post office has delivered every day since.

Oh, did I mention UPS delivered here 3 days this week? Thats right, not the late boxes, new stuff. No one at UPS can explain that either. So now 11 days later, I still do not have my inventory which is costing me customers as I have to refund orders that were to be delivered by xmas.

And still, not one person at UPS can tell me when the boxes are coming, not person at UPS from Portland can be called as the phone numbers to the depot here are at a higher level of secrecy then who killed JFK.

M
Jul 12, 2010 7:36 am EDT

A large item was sent to me UPS and insured. Item was packed and shipped by an authorized UPS Store and its employees. During transit, the item was heavily damaged then poorly re-packed in an effort to conceal the damage. Unfortunately for UPS, they neglected to dispose of all the the banding that was originally used to secure the boxes. While they threw out most of the banding and internal foam, they left a couple of short pieces of banding in, and on the box and recklessly taped over some remnants. No notes of any kind have surfaced to accept responsibility, rather, knowing the item was insured, they attempted to conceal their sloppy handling with the intent to defraud the recipient (myself) or to falsify an insurance claim.

X
Jan 25, 2010 12:12 pm EST

We are in Portland, OR and the weather has been poor. I paid for 2-day delivery with guaranteed arrival today, December 24.

Through the online tracking service, I was able to see that both purchases arrived at UPS Portland at noon yesterday, December 23. It is now after 5p on guaranteed delivery date, December 24, and nothing. I rechecked the UPS tracking site and my delivery has now been moved to two days from now, the day AFTER Christmas!

I understand that weather is bad, however, FedEx and the U.S. Post Office (USPS) have been making deliveries since yesterday, and USPS is even making deliveries on Christmas Day to make sure everyone gets their deliveries in time. If FedEx and USPS have found a way to meet their delivery promises, then why isn’t it important enough to UPS to find a way to do the same?!

H
Jul 08, 2010 8:26 am EDT

I have been doing business with UPS for over 4 years now and I have started feeling though it boasts an array of technology advancement, it is falling short in numerous ways when looking from the receiver's prespective.

I called customer service of UPS to hold a package and was surprised to know they do not have a number for the location that holds the package. Also they never even told that it would be on hold for 5 days. They said someone will call and let me know in an hour on when to pick up. This all happened around 6:40 pm. I was waiting till 8 pm, no call came so then called them back. The person (Natasha) in the customer service this time told me that the package is still on hold and will be for 5 days and they will call me on this and I will be able to pick it up. I asked her how long is that location open, she says till 7:00 pm, then I asked her whats the point then telling me that I will still be able to pick it up today? She says some complex sentence which I dont even understand. Then she keeps repeating like a robot that "Sorry Ma'm, When you place a shipment on hold it will stay for 5 days". I seriously got pissed off by then and told her that she is not really good at this.

Gave it a rest yesterday night and called back today morning @ 8:30 am and this time a new representative picks up and I explain what happened previously and ask her if she can remove the hold. She said she can but tells me that I need to wait for one more day if it has to be delivered. How ridiculous is that? Then I asked her its so early in the morning I am asking her, what could possibly prevent her from calling the location, then she tells me there is no way to directly contact the location. I got totally freaked out at this point. I just told her the whole thing totally sucks. She responds that I have a good day and hangs up!

In short I still have to go to the location that has the packet on hold to get it. This is utrocious with the amount of technology advancement we have today! In the first place I am only the receiver in this case and I dont know WHY it is so tough. If the package that is in Hartford cannot reach manchester with in the same day what kind of service does UPS provide? Worst part is the customer service and the locations are not even connected enough for proper communication. This is just Ironic to the business of UPS itself.

F
Feb 02, 2010 3:40 pm EST

I just cannot figure out what is going on with this company (UPS)? They used to be one of my favorite means of shipping. I always received my packages 2-3 days like clockwork for years. Now they're just awful! The 3 out of 4 of the packages I had shipped to me this past month (Dec-Jan 2009) through them were "Rescheduled" and arrived late. From here on until something changes I will use any other shipping service possible until they get their act together. Most of these items I needed right away and it literally ruined my whole week having to wait over the weekend until the next week to get them!

P
May 25, 2011 6:31 pm EDT

UPS was delivering what looked like my order, but they said no not for my trailer number. I saw them deliver to my neighbor's trailer, back door (where I wouldn't see it?) and now I have no Zappos, and am out $200 and no one knows where my order is. I can't get any help from UPS b/c they say they delivered to porch. They just didn't say which!

O
Jul 09, 2010 2:05 pm EDT

UPS service in this neighborhood is horrible. The drivers claim to make attempted deliveries for which they have never come. They have also left packages at addresses which do not exist. I have been trying to have a package delvered for one month now. Every time I call, there is a different explanation; it is being held, it was mis-sorted, etc. I have never seen anything like this.

G
Jan 25, 2010 12:14 pm EST

When did ups start charging an out of area charge with each box. I went and shipped 3 boxes and thought it seemed rather high. The reciept they give you now shows a breakdown. The first thing I noticed was a 5.00 charge per box for out of area. Then the fuel charge which don't ever remember having to pay. I think if your paying for fule what difference if you are shipping out of area or rural. What the heck...

C
Jul 18, 2016 2:28 am EDT

UPS fails to delivers packages to my house about 5 or 6 times a year even though the directions are written on the package -- even though I have called and am waiting for their call back to give directions -- even though I have gone down to the office and given them directions.

It's the worst service I can think of.

K
May 12, 2009 4:26 pm EDT

UPS left no notice of their visit for attempted delivery. The only way I knew was they tried to call via my condo foyer phone which goes to my cell phone. The next day they aborted delivery even though I was home because I called to give an alternate address in case they missed me. What shabby service. I will now always ask a potential seller how they will ship before I purchase. I will never use UPS again.

S
May 07, 2015 12:17 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

After many unresolved complaints, we closed our account with United Parcel Service with a letter giving two weeks advance notice, with a registered proof of delivery. We continue to receive invoices, with late charges, even after sending 3 copies of termination letter.

T
Jun 19, 2010 1:53 pm EDT

I dropped off a package at the store near the Loop in Kissimmee FL only to have it delivered back to me. The owner was not there on Saturday and when I told him that he told me nastly that I should go to another UPS store! I will now be going back to the post office where I am treated with respect.

S
May 25, 2010 5:21 pm EDT

The UPS driver didn't actually notice me as he rolled through a stop sign as he was too busy texting on his cell phone. Not only does this have the potential for disaster but here in Austin it also illegal. This guy is a disaster and a danger to the people of Austin.

A
May 24, 2010 5:02 pm EDT

UPS Delivered two large truck tires on a rainy day; tires arrived at the door wet. Both of the tires was also full of fresh dog crape that I noticed after rolling them through my home to the garage. Soiling my carpet, my hands, and just stunk up home. It took me, my wife, and child three hours to clean up the mess.

B
Dec 16, 2009 8:26 am EST

UPS has lied about two delivery attempts they never made, and then sent the item back to the sender AFTER I have called customer service to ask why a second attempt was never made, and specifically requested for delivery the next day!

R
Feb 17, 2008 12:20 pm EST

UPS has a policy of manipulating shipments from infrequent users and adding back door charges for problems that do not occur.

U
Jan 03, 2014 11:41 am EST

There is a huge list of things to say about ups. But my main issue is 400 dollars of my pay is missing and as soon is I complained about that I was removed from their system and I can't check my stubs... My hours were never right anyway. And supervisors wouldn't listen to the hours you recorded either. Horrible place to work. If the get exposed the company will be sued or go out of business. Unless they pay people off. Which they must do to get away with making us work for 12 hours with only 1 15 min break

U
Jan 03, 2014 11:35 am EST

They shorted my pay and took me out of the system as soon as a mention it so I couldn't go back and check. I got cursed out by drivers sorters and supervisors. I got pushed around by te ### that works on slide two. I would work 12 hours with only 1 15min break. They had me in a dog house with no heat loading packages for weeks. There were icicles forming as we worked, I would punch out and 3 or more hours would be missing off my day. Their excuse that it is because we start before midnight is complete bul cause from 12 to 9 isn't 8 hours.. There are pages of unsafe things I can say about the system there and almost getting seriously hurt as well. I know enough to get the branch I worked at shut down and sued..

B
Jan 02, 2014 5:07 pm EST

Just wondering where to write to complain about the most hateful counter person in the entire UPS system. I have been putting up with her attitude for 13 years and am sick of her snide remarks and hateful looks. Today was the last straw. I am using FedEx from now on! (Statesville, N.C.)

J
Jul 27, 2013 1:36 am EDT

My husband was fired today, well actually forced to resign, for something he absolutely did not do. He is the 4th consecutive mechanic this has happened to. We are trying to decide if it is worth fighting. I am due with our first child in less than a month and will now have no insurance. He had been with the company a little over 5 years, and has nothing on his record and was an amazing employee. Never called in sick and would bend over backwards for the company. I am in total shock over the entire ordeal.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1789 complaints
202 resolved 1587 unresolved

UPS contacts

(added by reviewer)
55 Glenlake Pkwy NE, Georgia United States
ADVERTISIMENT