UPS Canadapoorest customer service

1
S Review updated:

Ups canada sucks,
Poor customer service
High school drop out customer service,
Poor jokers.
One call takes 45 minutes to 1 hour to sort out issues or even 30 minutes to arrange pick up on phone.


Avoid ups canada by all means, it really sucks,

It is waste of time, money and peace of mind / .


Just avoid. . .

Ups sucks all the way,

Responses

  • Ro
    Ron Jul 04, 2008

    I shipped a parcel to a residence from Vancouver to Hamilton Ontario, the package arrived at the customers home (my Brother) opened and empty. You'd think the flunky driver would have noticed the package was opened and weighed next to nothing and was empty. Luckily, I will be able to extract some vengance if they don`t refund the price of the merchandise ( a mere $20), and the $24 for the shipping. I am the logistics controller were I work. We ship hundreds of packages with UPS a year, we also have a FedEx account. It is my responsibilty as to which company we use. Even if UPS is cheaper, I could call FedEx and they would easily match the price. I will costs them thousands of dollars because of their $44 screw up.

    13 Votes
  • Li
    lisa c Aug 05, 2008

    OMG!!! I COULDN'T AGREE WITH YOU MORE. IT IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. GET THIS!! TODAY, I WAITED FOR MY LAPTOP TO COME BACK FROM BEING REPAIRED. I WATCHED THE LAZY S.O.B. LOOK AT MY ADDRESS, AND DRIVE AWAY!! THEN, I LOOKED ON THE TRACKING ONLINE, AND IT SAID, "1ST ATTEMPT, CUSTOMER NOT HOME"!!! THAT LAZY LIAR ACTUALLY DIDN'T EVEN GET OUT OF HIS TRUCK, AND I WAITED ESPECIALLY TO RECEIVE THAT PARCEL. NOW THEY TELL ME THE DRIVER WILL COME BACK...SOMETIME BEFORE 8PM! I HAD TO LEAVE; WE MOVED TO ANOTHER CITY TODAY AND IF I WAITED ANY LONGER, WE'D MISS OUR FLIGHT. HOW IS THAT FOR A COMPLETE JOKE?

    18 Votes
  • Jo
    John De Gruchy Dec 18, 2018

    @lisa c I AGREE 100% THEY ARE TOO LAZY AND PUT DOWN ATTEMPTED, WHAT DID THEY ATTEMPT, THEY FOUND THE ADDRESS WICKED NOW DELIVER THE DARN THING...

    5 Votes
  • Aa
    Aaron Aug 16, 2008

    LOL, got pwned by UPS big time. Ordered my iphone from Fido on July 31, Fido gave Iphone to UPS on AUG 1st... and the last thing Fido got from UPS is the phone is on trasit on AUG 6th... and requires signiture. The Rep and Fido is kind enough to ask me whats happening with UPS... and this is the funny part

    Called UPS, gave UPS my tracking number (saying in a way so they dun misheard me...one -zulu-zero-three-yankee... ) and UPS claims the tracking number doesnt work, need to reconfirm with Fido... OK, so I called fido and the rep wth (literally) and confirms the tracking number is correct. I did my check on UPS web and it shows in trasit since AUG 6th as well... so I call UPS back, another peoson picks up.. gave him the same tracking number and they said the guy delivered on teh aug 6th and I was not home... and no one replied after 2 visits.

    How can that be possible? I work at home and I only have one contact number which is my cell~ 2 visits? I dun even have a reminder stick to the door~

    I never seem to have problem with Fedex, Perolator, or even the new-comer DHL... why does UPS ahve to stand out from the crowd sooo much - for being so suck?

    13 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris D. Aug 25, 2008

    UPS is definitely the worst courier service I ever had to deal with.
    My package arrived at the sortation plant just less than an hour away on July 27/08. It is now August 25 and I still don't have the package. Many, many, many calls with no explanation and every call resulting in an email to another call center and another and another, and on every call I was promised I would receive a call back. Of all the calls I have made(around 10) I had one call back. That was almost 2 weeks ago. They told me I should have the item the next day. What a joke.

    12 Votes
  • Mi
    Milorad Aug 29, 2008

    Yes, their service is horrible, i had to call them every day for 4 days, every time I gave them (the same) address to re-direct the delivery and they kept sending it to my home address (the original address). Every time they say: oh, we apologize, we changed the address and the following day the same thing - package goes to the wrong address... Unfortunately i had no choice because tigerdirect.ca uses UPS but chances are I won't be ordering things from tigerdirect in the future...

    5 Votes
  • Do
    Don Nov 19, 2008

    Ups what a company shipped items cod worth 400.00 missed 1 x on shipping label were there driver accepted and did not notice this still had a big red cod tag on item i assume the delivery driver never seen this or collected the money do these people not have to balance
    Called to complain asked if i had a concern $400.00 is not a concern it is a paycheque did not get anywere

    Never had a issue with canada post they screw up they pay

    I would hope ups decides to resolve this issue and refund me someday if sothey can contact tropical breeze in sudbury ont

    I shipped a item recently at a $30.00 cost they can take this of my refund cheque

    Don

    3 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Apr 06, 2009

    We just went thru the same sort of problems. Driver indicated he left the package at our door but we never go it. We re-ordered the item(350.00) and it's supposed to be delivered tomorrow 7 Apr 2009. The bell rings today (the 6 th)and we get a package, driver quickly drops it off on the porch and takes off. It's early I think... not so fast, I'm supposed to get 2 items, this is only 1 so I figure they scewed up again then notice the address is not mine! Sorry, sorry is all they seem to say. Now I have to wait around again so the driver can return(maybe today). It just doesn't get any better. We've been waiting for over 1 month for our package at this point.
    Peter
    Victoria. BC

    7 Votes
  • Wn
    wnpgr Jul 30, 2009

    UPS CANADA SUCKS - HONESTLY "NO OTHER" LOGISTICS COMPANY IN CANADA COMPARES IN THAT REGARD! TOTALLY INCOMPETANT LOCAL EMPLOYEES AND UPS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS DISCUSTING! -- PERHAPS ENGLISH ARE NOT THE DRIVER'S 1ST OR EVEN 2ND LANGUAGE, IS UPS' EXCUSE -- BUT IF THAT'S THE CASE, DOES UPS EVEN CARE AS TO WHO THEY ARE HIRING, AND/OR HOW THEIR BUSINESS PRACTICES ARE THE REASON THE ARE CONSIDERED INDISPICABLE TO THE AVERAGE CONSUMER WHO HAS TO ENDURE A TYPICAL UPS CANADA DELIVERY EXPERIENCE??!!! THINK NOT! WE THE CANADIAN CONSUMER REALLY ARE THE ONES TO TAKE CONTROL -- WHEN YOU ARE DEALING WITH AN ONLINE BUSINESS - FIRST INSIST THEY ADVISE YOU WHO THE COURIER IS -- IF IT'S "UPS" (CANADA/USA/INTERNATIONAL -- ALL THE SAME) ASK THEM WHAT ARE THE OTHER OPTIONS FOR SHIPPING, AND IF THEY DO NOT OFFER ANYTHING BETTER THAN "UPS" THAEN TELL THEM YOU'LL SHOP ELSEWHERE. IF THEY REALLY CARE ABOUT THE SELL, THEY'LL OFFER YOU AN ALTERNATIVE TO UPS! I ASK FOR INTERNATIONAL OR RIORITY POSTAL SHIPPING, UNLESS THEY OFFER ANOTHER COURIER COMPANY YOU TRUST (I LIVE IN WINNIPEG, AND I'VE HAD POSITIVE EXPERIENCES WITH THE SEVERAL OTHER COMPETITIVE "PRIORITY COURIERS" - CANADA POST, UNITED STATES POSTAL SRV/USPS, FED-EX, PUROLATOR AND DHL. AND, WHAT'S IMPORTANT TO ME - THE DRIVER'S ARE ON THE BALL - IF THERE IS A QUESTION ABOUT DELIVERY, THEY TYPICALLY WILL CALL YOU - THE MORNING OF - OR JUST PRIOR TO DELIVERY. SOUNDS LIKE GOOD COMPANY PRACTICE THESE DAYS, IN MY OPINION.

    REASONS "NOT" TO GO WITH UPS CANADA:

    ** UPS DRIVERS ARE LAZY AND/OR POSSIBLY NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE OF LOCAL STREET ADDRESSES, NOR ARE THE DRIVER'S PROVIDED A CELL PHONE (A RECENT 'SO CALLED ONLY ATTEMPT' TO DELIVER TO MY ADDRESS, WAS RETURNED TO THE DEPOT WITH HAND PRINTED SCRAWL -- "ADDRESS DOES NOT EXIST - THERE IS NO 3RD FLOOR" (AS ADDRESSED)...HMMMmmm.. I DID NOT KNOW THAT - GEE, MAYBE I RESIDE ON THE 4TH FLOOR? WAS - WOW JUST WHERE DID I WAIT ALL DAY FOR DELIVERY FOR DELIVERY - ON THE 4TH FLOOR OF MY 3RD FLR APT BLOCK?

    ** UPS PACKAGE RETURNED TO DEPOT AS "ADDRESS DOESN'T EXIST", DOES PROVIDE A LOCAL CONTACT NUMBER -- BECAUSE THE DRIVER DOES NOT POCESS A CELL PHONE, THE DISPATCHER ALSO SEES NO REASON TO CALL THE LOCAL CONTACT PHONE NUMBER FOR THE RECEPIENT THAT IS NOTED WITH THE DELIVERY ADDRESS PROVIDED ___ PERHAPS THEY'RE NOT PAID ENOUGH BUY UPS TO "THINK" OUTSIDE THE BOX??? "NO - CAN'T BE" ---- INSTEAD, THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY (3 DAYS LATER), THEY SEND AN UGLY POST CARD VIA CANADA POST TO ADVISE YOU BECAUSE YOUR ADDRESS DOES NOT EXIST, YOU HAVE TO GO DOWN TO THEIR OUT-OF-THE-WAY LOCATION (WITH FANTASTIC HRS - OPEN WEEKDAYS TIL 5:30PM LOCAL - CLOSED WEEKENDS & HOLIDAYS) WITH IDENTIFICATION ---- AND GUESS WHAT? WHEN THE POSTAL CARD IS RECEIVED THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS DAY (VIA CDA POST), YOU ARE GIVEN ONE FULL BUSINESS DAY TO PICK UP YOUR PACKAGE, OTHERWISE "UPS" WILL RETURN PACKAGE TO THE ORIGINATOR --- MY - WHAT FANTASTIC CUSTOMER SERVICES ---- "NOT!!!"

    **YOU RUSH DOWN DURING RUSH HOUR TO PICK UP PACKAGE BEFORE THEIR DOORS CLESE AT 5:30PM. THE GAL AT THE COUNTER TELLS YOU PERHAPS THE DRIVER IS NEW, AND SORRY THERE'S NO WAY THEY CAN CALL YOU IF THERE IS AN ADDRESS CONCERN AS THEY ARE NOT PROVIDED CELL PHONES (THAT'S WHEN A GUY NEXT TO ME, WHO DOES APPEAR NOT TO SPEAK MUCH ENGLISH, IS HANDED A JOB APPLICATION, AND IT'S VERY POSSIBLE HE WILL BE A FUTURE UPS EMPLOYEE.

    ** THE UPS GAL AT THE DISPATCH COUNTER HANDS ME THE SHIPPING INVOICE THAT IS TO INCLUDE ALL ADDITIONAL CHARGES - SHIPPING IF APPLICABLE (PRE-PAID TO THE ONLINE RETAILER), AND THE GST & PST AS APPLICABLE. I PAY THE TOTAL CHARGES GST, PST AND WALK OUT AT LEAST A BIT MORE CALM. NOT A SATISFACTORY EXPERIENCE, BUT AT LEAST I HAVE MY PACKAGE --- AT MY OWN ADDITIONAL TIME AND EXPENSE... KUTOS TO "UPS" LAZY BUGGERS WHO'VE ALREADY RECEIVED THEIR SHARE OF THE $27.50 U.S. SHIPPING COST PAID AT THE TIME OF MY PURCHASE WITH THE ONLNE RETAILER (SMALL PKGE, UNDER 1 KILO.).

    **UPS CUSTOMER SERVICE - IS THERE SUCH A THING? I DO NOT THINK SO - NO ONE FROM UPS HAS EVER ASKED FOR MY OPINION OF UPS - I GUESS THEY DO NOT LKE TO HEAR NEGATIVE FEEDBACK. IN FACT WHEN I RECEIVED MY UGLY POST CARD FROM UPS, IT WASN'T EVEN ADDRESSED AS FROM UPS. IT SIMPLY HAD THE STREET ADDRESS OF THE DISPATCH OFC LOCATED IN IDUSTRIAL WINNIPEG. I CALLED THE TOLL FREE NUMBER PROVIDED UNDER THE STREET ADDRESS, AND A VOICE MSGE SIMPLY STATED THAT "THE REASON I WOULD BE CALLING THE PHONE NUMBER WOULD BE BECAUSE I MUST OF RECEIVED A CARD IN THE MAIL, ADVISING THAT THE PACKAGE COULD NOT BE DELIVERED...BLAHBLALHBLAH...AND TO FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE CARD.” WHAT KIND OF COMPANY PROVIDES THAT KIND OF PATHETIC CUSTOMER SERVICE. COME ON UPS CANADA - GET WITH IT!!!

    ** UPS POSTS A LETTER TO MY ADDRESS (GEE, WHY DIDN'T I RETURN IT UPON RCPT - MARKED "NO SUCH ADDRESS - NO 3RD FLOOR" LOL!!! ANYWAYS, THEY IDENTIFYING ALL THE APPLICABLE CHARGES - GST AND PST AND GUESS WHAT!...ALSO NOW AN ADDITIONAL BROKERAGE FEE!!! LOL - CAN U BELIEVE IT!!! WASN'T IDENTIFIED WHEN I WENT DOWN AND PICKED UP MY PACKAGE DUE TO THEIR INCOMPETENCE - NOW THEY ARE ADDING IDIOTIC INSULT - BUY DEMANDING I PROMPLY PAY THE BROKERAGE FEE AFTERWARDS? THEY REALLY MUST BE A BUSINESS HURTING FOR $$$! COULD IT BE DUE TO THEIR INCOMPETANCE - OPERATING AS AN UNPROFESSIONAL PRIORITY COURIER COMPANY? OMG - IT'S SO FUNNY - NOW I GET WEEKLY PHONE MESSAGE (FROM THE MARITIMES OFC I IMAGINE), AND WHEN I ANSWER, IT'S JUST A VOICE RECORDING - NOW IS THREATENING ME THAT I WILL BE REFERRED TO A THIRD PARTY FOR COLLECTIONS, AND THAT MY ACCOUNT WILL DE TERMINATED (WHAT ACCOUNT - I AM NOT A UPS CLIENT - NEVER WAS AND NEVER TO BE!). THE FUNNY THING IS I WAS ONLY THE RECEPIENT TO RECEIVE THIS PACKAGE FOR AN OUT-OF-TOWNER WHO RESIDES OUTSIDE OF WHERE UPS DELIVERS TO! WHAT A JOKE.
    TOO FUNNY, IN WINNIPEG!

    7 Votes
  • Do
    Dobe Aug 09, 2018

    @wnpgr I agree 200% with your first and second paragraph about being lazy and writing attempt made and nobody home or doesn't exist, I just experienced that with my parents. Now my 80year old folks have to go to a pharmacy to pick up their box with no car 3 to 4 miles away. I finally had my lesson NEVER NEVER AGAIN UPS

    4 Votes
  • St
    Stormy1969 Oct 06, 2009

    Yes they do suck badly. I can't believe how unproffessional and unhelpful they have been so far for us. WARNING - if you are shipping to a "remote" location in Canada -don't use UPS. They won't tell you this when you ask but they hand your package off to Purolater and chances are Purolater doesn't deliver to your "remote" location either, so they in turn will hand it off to "Canada Post". We live less then 2 hours south east from Calgary and 45 minutes west from Medicine Hat. I didn't know that was remote, but next time I hitch up my dog team to sled to the market I'll keep that in mind!
    Somehow my package ends up taking nearly a month to get to me! To top it off it's a CPU for a blind person and it is broken and arrives in bubble wrap not the original box it was shipped in. So here we are trying to get some answers and help from the claims department and being ignored! They do not answer email even though the read receipt shows they read it - and they do not return phone calls. They say the delay was because the province was omitted by the shipper. Well duh, the rest of the address and phone number for the receiver were there - even I who live in the "remote" part of Canada have a phone! They say it doesn't make sense that a CPU shipped in the original manufacturers box should arrive without the box and wrapped in bubble wrap. Yeah, we think thats weird too - like - I'm making a stretch here - maybe the shipping company so badly destroyed the packaging that they had no choice but to scrap the whole box and wrap it in bubble tape instead. Meanwhile the blind fellow who needs his computer is left without it because it is broken and UPS is ignoring us. All we want to know is can we get it repaired while they take their sweet time (over 7 business days since the claim, over a month since it was shipped) to "investigate". They won't answer and we are worried if we fix the computer they will then say that they can't "investigate the damages" because we have altered it. THIS IS CRAP. I am so sure they will eventually try to blame the other companies, either Purolator or Canada Post. Either way, we are completely disgusted.

    4 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandydoleman May 18, 2010

    Just got off the phone with some [censor]ter in New brunswick, complete idiots, gave me the secretary to Mike Tierney, supposedly in charge in Toronto but based in York - an hour from downtown, secretary's machine picked up? WTF ? number is 905-676-6959 if any vicims after me want the #.

    4 Votes
  • Te
    Teddybearmiller Jun 18, 2010

    UPS via parcel shipped from USA to Canada. Local delivery company for UPS is Purolator Courier. We had a parcel shipped from the USA prepaid. It arrived at our door on a Monday morning with COD charges of $6.83 HST. The driver would not accept cash and since we don't have credit cards I told him to hold the parcel at the depot and I would pick it up Tuesday afternoon. Tuesday morning, the same delivery man shows up at the door with the same parcel - COD. I told him that I had said yesterday, Monday, to hold the parcel at the depot and I would pick it up. I called the UPS and the rep told me that they required either a credit card, money order or certified cheque for the $6.83 HST charge. Fine, I went to the bank and got a money order. Then, I found out that the parcel would not be back in the depot until after 5PM because the driver still had it on his truck. Well, I then told the UPS rep to have the package delivered to me on Wednesday and that I had a money order for the COD charge. I waited at home all day Wednesday and no one showed up. I called and was told that the driver had until 7 PM to deliver the parcel. So, I waited and canceled plans to go out. No parcel. Thursday, I called the UPS again and the rep told me that the records showed that the driver had tried to deliver the parcel and I had refused it. Bulls--t. I was home all day waiting. So, I asked the rep, What do I have to do to get my hands on the parcel. She told me that I could pick it up at the Purolator depot on Friday between 9 Am and 6 PM. Fine. So I call the person in the USA who sent the parcel supposedly all prepaid. She said she would contact UPS on Friday and pay the COD charge on her credit card. Which she did. Friday around 2:30 PM I receive a call from a UPS rep telling me that the COD charges had been paid by credit card and I could pick up my parcel. Great. So I went to the Purolator Courier Depot in Truro, NS, Canada to finally pick up the parcel. They had not received any confirmation from UPS that the COD charge for the HST of $6.83 been paid by anyone by credit card. Fortunately I had taken the bank money order with me. I gave the Purolator rep the Money Order and told her that my address was on the money order and when they got confirmation of it already being paid by credit card they could mail a reimbursement to me. Finally, when I got home, there was a message on the phone answer service at 4:30 PM from a UPS rep telling me that the COD amount had been paid and that they would notify Purolator Courier and that I could pick up my parcel on Monday. I agree, USP really SUCKS and now so does the service from their rep in Canada = Purolator Courier who delivers their packages. If this whole fiasco were not so frustrating it would be hilariously funny. I recommend using FedEx or Canada Post. Stay away from USP and Purolator Courier services.

    2 Votes
  • Wi
    williamliu Jun 23, 2010

    UPS CANADA SUCKS! HP shipped a package to me via UPS two weeks ago, but the package has not arrived yet. I called UPS many times, they told me that they could not find my address and asked me to wait for their calling. To avoid wrong address, I double check it. There is nothing wrong with the address. Then I called UPS again; they said they would call me to pick up the package in 1 hour. As they usually do, UPS did not call me back. I do not know what is going on with them. I am leaving Canada, but I have not got the package which I should have received two weeks ago. UPS Canada sucks! While other companies can easily find my address, UPS spends more than 2 weeks doing that. And I am not sure where the package is right now. What i said is ture. This is my tracking number 1Z6F40470401620599. I have no idea about the tracking information.UPS CANADA SUCKS!

    4 Votes
  • Ke
    KenToo Sep 10, 2010

    UPS made me wait for 1.5 hrs for nothing and driver refused to deliver!!!


    I just want to share another complaint toward the infamous UPS.ca.

    I ordered a mattress from COSTCO.ca, which unfortunately it would be delivered by UPS.ca. Firstly, they were at my building but refused to deliver because my name is not on building directory even the entry code was provided. (found it out later online) Not a problem, I called them back on early Wednesday to update it and was told it would be delivered for Thursday.

    On Thursday morning, I saw there was no update on its site and I called them to confirm if it is being out of deliver. The rep told me that they would have the depot to call me back in an hour. I waited and waited, and finally got a called back after 7 hours later (almost 6pm). The depot told me that she wasn’t sure where my mattress is… (oh well, things happened and wasted my whole day) They promised me it would be delivered tomorrow for sure.

    Friday morning, still no updated on its site and I really needed the mattress to sleep on. I called again and they told me that I would get a call back by depot in 15 minutes, but still no call. I actually lost my hope and didn’t expect I would get it today after passed the noon. To my surprise, I finally got UPS buzzed my entry code around 4pm, I opened the door immediately and rushed to balcony to see the driver unload my mattress off the truck and expected that he would come up in any minute, but not. The driver just stood by his truck and playing with his smart phone, I was thinking maybe he is just waiting for another co-worker to help him to move the mattress. After few minutes, I saw the driver put the mattress back into the truck and drove away. I was speechless and then I spoke to a supervisor about the event. The supervisor called me back and wanted me to meet the driver in front of the building at 5:20pm, because they said it is more than 70 pounds and would need my help to move to my unit. Fine, I went down to the main door in time and waited for the driver till 6:05pm. I went back to my unit and spoke to another supervisor about it.

    About a little after 8pm, the driver finally came and I went downstairs with my hand truck to meet him. The driver unloaded the mattress and tried leave me there alone. I questioned him that if he is going to help me to move the mattress, he replied by saying don’t you have anyone to help you out. I told him no and then he reluctantly to put it on my hand truck and made me to pull forward by taking up all the weight. That really got under my skin, I told him that I am not a big guy and I was supposed to be there to help him, not the other way around. And then he told me that he did me a favour for return. He jumped back on his truck and was ready to leave me alone in front of the building. I was completely shocked of his behaviour and I thought that they are supposed to deliver it to the front of the door. I told him that you cannot leave me like this, and then he made to say please. I gave in because I wanted the mattress so bad. Even then, the driver still made me to pull the hand truck going in front and left me and my mattress in the elevator and just left. Luckily, someone who lives in the building saw this and offered his help to move my mattress.

    Overall, I do appreciate the helps by the two supervisors, Jennifer and Sam, who helped me to get my mattress before the weekend. However I am very disgusted of the driver’s behaviour and attitude.


    Sept 10th, 2010

    2 Votes
  • Ol
    OLESY Nov 12, 2010

    UPS charges whatever they want to charge for brokerage fees. I am not referring to normal taxes and any applicable duties. Just an outright fee based on whatever they decided they could squeeze out of Canadians.
    I ABSOLUTELY AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT BROKERAGE FEE AND ON TOP OF IT WE SHOULD MENTION TERRIBLE SERVICE . THEIR RIGHT HAND DOESN'T NOT KNOW WHAT IS DOING THEIR LEFT HAND. VERY VERY SAD TO GET SERVICE LIKE THIS IN CANADA.

    4 Votes
  • Jb
    JBPeterson Dec 03, 2010

    UPS customer service on the phone is awful. Also, their brokerage fees constitute extortion, pure and simple. I hate ordering something from the US when the seller ships it UPS. I always recommend ANY other shipper. Impossible to reach on the phone. Lie about their wait time, which is really appalling, since if they told the truth at least I could do something else while I was waiting. I am spending my waiting time writing this complaint, and will continue to add to other web sites while I am on hold.

    7 Votes
  • Me
    meggz015 Jan 14, 2011

    Hi there,
    I had purchased from amazon and they sent out my package by ups.This order was sent out through ups and the worst service I have ever had. 2 different days they had told me my address does not exsit, and after speaking to their representative before my pkg was delivered they still screwed up. I then spoke to them right after the 1st day when they told me they couldn't find my house.I gave them specific comments towards my house- ie attached to a business no other house beside and christmas lights all over the deck.Once the 2nd time came through saying my address does not exsit I was angry at this point. I do not understand how a company like amazon uses UPS. THEY were rude and now I dont know if I will ever receive my package as they keep telling me my address does not exsist and I was told today by a LOVELY ups agent "Its not my fault you provided a fake address" FAKE ADDRES excuse me, I have lived in this house for over a year now and this house has been there for over 5 years. Its funny how my house exsists on google maps but does not exsit in genereal when involving UPS. I wish amazon would use better shipping companies, just knowing that they possible may use ups I will not Buy from amazon anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    altair11 Jan 24, 2011

    UPS is the worst courier company inexistence. They charge outrageous amounts in brokerage and fees of all kinds, and this AFTER the shipment has been paid for by the sender. You have to pay or you don't get your package.
    Now they have just outdid themselves by charging me $153.71 in fees for a replacement under warranty that was free from the sender. I had to pay to receive the part I needed badly.
    Even if i have all the paperwork that proves that this item has no commercial value, they absolutely refuse to reimburse me.
    They are just a bunch of crooks !

    5 Votes
  • Al
    altair11 Jan 24, 2011

    @ Stealth Pilot,
    Yes I do know that we get hit very hard with the customs, even though there is a supposedly-called "Free-Trade Agreement" between US and Canada.
    And since a couple years, on top of the federal tax, we now have the provincial tax here in Quebec that gets added to the bill. This is a blatant rip-off as a provincial tax is supposed to be applied to items sold INSIDE the province.
    But what I'm revolting against here, is the fact that UPS charges EXTRAVAGANT brokerage "FEES" and other nebulous charges just for brigning a package into the country !
    Their brokerage charge often surpasses the value of the item you imported !
    And don't tell me it's complicated to do the paperwork for this, I'm sure it doesn't take more than 30 seconds per package.
    I will repeat myself, they're CROOKS, the worst kind of profiteers, and here I won't go into their habit of regularly damaging or loosing packages, because it would be too long.

    5 Votes
  • La
    Lantern Mar 24, 2011

    I agree that UPS is a terrible courier. Today a package was delivered and since no one was home, the package was left by the door, in the snow.

    As such the contents were damaged.

    Another time, UPS was delivering a Wii. Again we were not at home so the driver gave it to a neighbour and had them sign it, with no directions to do such an act.

    Another time I had to go to their local office to pick up a printer. Printed clearly on the box is "Handle with Care", and they were dropping it on the counter carelessly.

    UPS here in Edmonton, Alberta, sucks.

    4 Votes
  • Me
    M. E. King Jun 01, 2011

    We purchased a laptop from Ontario. The first attempt to deliver was Friday. No one was home. Fine. They said they would make the second attempt Monday. They did not show up, so we requested that the parcel be held at the UPS station for pickup. One woman told us we had to wait until morning to place the hold for the same day (Tuesday). So, we phoned early Tuesday and placed the hold in hopes of picking it up. When I phoned to make sure it was there before driving to the frigging airport, I was told that the hold had to be placed the day before by 7:00 p.m.! Completely contradictory advice. She said it was still on the truck so I asked if a delivery attempt would be made and was told "yes". I have sat in my house for seven hours and again a no show. DO NOT USE UPS CANADA. The service is horrendous.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    justicewarrior Jul 01, 2011

    I told a friend I was getting stuff shipped with UPS from a store in Ontario and my friend told me the same thing I'm reading on this blog. I'm worried now! I should have done a search prior to shipping with UPS. If I had known this I would have changed the default option which of course is none other than UPS Canada. I better get my stuff! When I done a tracking scan my package is in Edmonton Alberta since 4:00 this morning and it's now been 12 hours sitting at that faculty when it only takes 4&half hours to 5 hours to drive from Edmonton to where I live. If I don't get it I'll likely contact legal aid and file theft charges on UPS and print this entire blog off as an example of evidence!

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Armyguy762 Jul 23, 2011

    UPS Brokeage fees is nothing but out and out theft. I wish everyone would pass on the word Ban together and stop using UPS. They will never get another dime from me the thieving ###!

    1 Votes
  • Up
    ups nomore Jul 27, 2011

    Spend $480 for welder from Econo Superstore and shipping from CA to Alberta. Parcel was dropped during shipping. Shipper is not replying emails and UPS wants me to send it back to shipper. Agreement is between shipper and UPS. So if I send it back I will never see money or welder again. UPS is only responsible for insured value if any. Beware. Had a problem several years ago with FedEx. No problem with them- they were excellent.

    1 Votes
  • Na
    natasha24 Jul 31, 2012

    UPS Canada customer service is very poor and rude .They charge you too much freight charge and all the other misc. charges comes to more then the value of the parcel.Never ever going to use UPS Canada service anymore

    3 Votes
  • Ly
    Lyn Harrington Sep 11, 2012

    I was out when they tried to deliver my parcel. I got the notice. Went to their depot at six thirty to pick it up. The depot closes at seven pm. The drivers get back after seven pm so I could not get it. Also I owe 2.92 and they would not let me pay it at the depot because the dirver has the paperwork. Now I have to sit and wait from ten thirty to two pm today because some idiot made it impossible to pick it up at their depot. This is beyond stupid.

    1 Votes
  • St
    stevo5800 Dec 11, 2012

    UPS is the worst carrier in the world period. I've had a package waitting for delivery I ended up staying home all day. My status update only for updated late at night by then I had already realized that my package was not coming. Then it told me they forgot the package at the warehouse, like really?? How stupid can you get? The package is in a city one hour from my house and it taking days to get here, but it crossed the entire USA in a day or two but it can't make it to my place witch is an hour away. Honestly will avoid them even if I need to pay more shipping it's worth it to not deal with monkeys.

    1 Votes
  • St
    stevo5800 Dec 11, 2012

    UPS is the worst delivering service in the world! hundreds of complaints and minimal positive feedback from this company. Wasted my entire day waiting for them. Then I check my status at night and it said it forgot my package at the warehouse witch is one hour away from me. So madning then it says it will deliver the next business day witch should be tomorrow(Wednesday, I ordered last week was suppose to be 1-2 days shippig max it's been 4 days still waiting...). I'll say like most others how can you be so stupid to forget someones package? Don't they check if there all there? Why have all these computers tracking if you can't even double check? Because they don't give a ### about there customers. Do everyone a favour and pick a different carrier on check out!

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Dont Use UPS Mar 28, 2013

    It has the poorest customer Service than any other courier services. They cannot afford calling a customer for a package delivery...UPS really sucks and I suggest everybody not to use UPS for any of your future shippings or any other thing. They should understand the value of customer

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    loolaa May 24, 2013

    My occupation involves logistics and I use UPS USA, TNT, and USPS on a daily basis and I have NEVER been treated like this.

    I was supposed to receive my package on Wednesday, May 22. I was home at about 430 and my buzzer code was visible on the shipping label. However, at 5pm I tracked my package again and read an update where it said the driver was unable to collect funds because I was unavailable I was home. The buzzer goes to my cell phone and I was home all day long waiting for this package. This means he did not even bother to deliver my package. Maybe even not go to my building.

    I call and speak to customer service and they direct me to the local UPS and they ask me when will be the best time to deliver. I tell them I dont have time to spend another whole day to wait for him again. I also ask the woman on the phone why he did not buzz me on wednesday and she says that there was no buzzer code on my label. That is why i asked for a copy. When I saw there was, it means I was LIED to!

    Anyways, I advise them I will be home before 3 or after 5 and she tells me she will tell the driver. I was driving on the way home and i see my buzzer ring at 430! OMG. So this is attempt number 2.

    It is FRIDAY now and I sincerely hope I get my package.

    I cant pick this up because the package is about an hour away and does not make sense for me to do it. Thats why it needs to be delivered.

    I am so disgusted with the service of UPS I will never use them again. I will wait 3-4 weeks with USPS even if I need it next day than to ever deal with UPS Canada ever again.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suzy Q. Sep 03, 2013

    In response to Lisa C. The same exact thing happened to me. I have been tracking my package since Friday. It was due to be delivered today. I called UPS and confirmed they were coming because I took the day off to make sure I was home to receive the package. I was by the door buzzer all day and never left the house. When I realised it was getting late, I checked the site and it was updated by the delivery person as "Customer unavailable for 1st attempt delivery"!! I was livid! I called UPS and followed their compaints process and then I called my service provider and complained to them about the treatment I got from UPS and asked how they could use such an unreliable service. It's happened twice before with my husband and now it's happened with me. The next time I order anything from any company, I will ask them who else they use to deliver packages because I will be avoiding them from now on. I refuse to deal with them anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Molly Whitehouse Oct 14, 2013

    UPS Canada is the worst Courier ever. Cleared a $30 M-Size shirt for $12.21. Ordered the same in XL, to clear it was $42.34. Absolute crooks, will never use them again.
    Anyone but UPS.

    1 Votes
  • My
    Myarocks Dec 03, 2013

    Ruined Christmas for me 2 years ago, hope to God it doesn't happen again (Grits teeth in angst) I wish I had a photo of the parcel when found, let me tell yaa I was not happy! I had ordered something from a catalogue and specified please send it Canada post as id heard how bad UPS could be, they sure didn't prove me wrong. The company ignored my request and sent it UPS anyway...rrrrr! (Wont ever buy from them again -cough lee- cough valley. I kept checking my tracking because the parcel was a present for my hubby. I was a stay at home mom at the time too so theres no excuse that they couldnt get a hold of me. I waited and waited it said the package was to be delivered that day, wait all day no package, then wait the whole next day nope, then the next day I start getting worried and I look online, package successfully delivered? so I phoned UPS and they then informed me that the driver can leave it and sign on my behalf? WHAT THE HELLS THE POINT OF HAVING SIGNATURE CONFIRMATION THEN????? (Yelling @ UPS if theyre reading this!) So Where the hell is it? Sure enough my hubby comes in from outside with a half soggy box as whoever left it put it in the snow on my deck. (YOU ###!) Thank-God it wasn't a perishable, or electronic! But there went Christmas because my hubby found it and it was his present. So story doesn't stop there, this year I order an apple product unaware they ship through UPS (Good freekin gravey!) I would have went direct to the apple store if id have known alas too late. So heres the most recent dilemma I have with UPS: Oh this time its the in-town distributer heres my google review on their company to tell this most recent story, and let me tell you next time ill make sure if any company ship UPS I'll never buy from them!
    (Toy store/ distribution center review:) As a UPS distributer these people should be taken off the list! I have a sick 3 year old at home and received an email that my UPS shipment is in, I work in the afternoon, this was morning time, I had just come from that area of town where Id seen the woman finish shovelling the walk in front of the store around 9am. The area was really dead so I knew the store shouldn't be busy. I tried to phone the store to ask a few questions about UPS, and see if I could come pick up my parcel as last time UPS delivered a parcel they shoved my package in the snow and signed off on it as delivered, I found it days later half melted so I don't trust UPS and didn't want this to reoccur. So I phoned like 5 + times within an hour, knowing that there's a huge snowstorm and no one is driving let alone shopping. This is the first business in town that has 1. never gotten back to me, after leaving two urgent messages 2. the answering system had many rings before the answering machine kicked in, then suddenly next time I called it was down to 3 rings, then suddenly straight to message, so now I know she's rudely avoiding me. I bundle up my sick little girl drive down to find an empty store, and a rude woman full of excuses, then she starts in on me like I'm the bad guy for being upset that she cant pick up a phone? Oh and that I have an attitude problem? How dare you! So she quickly looked through the parcels, its not here! She replies snidely, Do you have a yellow card? (No I don't and didn't know I needed one that's why I tried phoning you five + times to ask what I need to get my parcel. So I said ok I'll keep an eye out and check back, as I'm leaving and she replies in a snobby childish way, "You just go ahead and do that then." So I said Here if you're going to be rude I'm phoning your manager to complain about you! And she informs me she is the manager and in fact owns the place. Oh really, so that gives you the incentive to treat potential customers like crap? I worked customer service and the first words out of my mouth if there was a problem were; "I'm sorry it got a bit busy, how can I make it up to you, or how can I help you?" Oh and if the phone rang I would answer it and say; Can I call you back or put you on hold for a moment? In my opinion this is immature and inexcusable customer service especially for a distribution center for UPS and I think Fed ex? I also will never spend my money in their store ever. Even though I do not like UPS I will be complaining to them as well as that's a load of bollox, you cant get a hold of people with simple questions and concerns, and then you're treated like that?

    1 Votes
  • Is
    Isla Victoria Dec 23, 2013

    The package I've been waiting came in at a destination depot already, supposed to be delivered the next day right on time. Suddenly the tracking says "Departure scan", then went to another province! WTF!!!

    My daughter who's supposed to receive it from me as a Christmas gift is leaving the night of the delivery date. Now I have to spend more on shipping.

    The package was here in the city already, how could some ###ic employee(s) do this?

    1 Votes
  • De
    debora mora Jun 18, 2014

    UPS Toronto is horrible!! Stay away from that service. I place an order in 4 different occasion and the stores only delivery through ups. I never got the package. In all 4 occasion UPS show in their web page that nobody answer and they attempted 3 times. what a lie!!!. plus they never leave a note. avoid ups service. is the worst and customer service is really really bad
    is safer and better with canada post. I order from all over the world and I have no problem with canada post.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    ADru Jun 23, 2014

    The think about customer service is, you are providing a service for the customer. The sad thing is you can't put those to words together within your company without it being a complete lie. You have employees that don't follow up on stuff, hang up the phone on customers, put slips on the doors that blow down the street, you provide a 12 hour window for delivery...lets think about what you are asking. The customer to take a day off of work to wait for UPS to show up...2 - 3 hours is reasonable, 12 hours is not "Customer Service". This is a company that is being run by the employees not the employer. I have been introduced to 12 people within your organization over 1 package and still have not receive it.

    I’ve talked to 11+ people within UPS 2 week spending 5+ hours of my time on the phone.

    Asia
    First call - Rob - Told me that a kindergarden kid could figure it out why couldn’t I…… he would reveal his employee number. (1.2 hours)
    - 2 minutes later.
    - Nicole - I asked her to repeat the information on my file and asked for Rob’s information. She told me she had no idea who he was and there was no notes on the file. After this I waited on hold to talk with a manger and that is when I met Clowie.
    - Clowie (MNL1DXM) I asked her if she was management or supervisor and she replied “Yes I ‘am a manager which is above the supervisor”. She explain to me that the package was going to be redirected because we got it before it hit the port. She also explain to me that Rob’s boss was Luis (MNLLUB) and she would have him call me ASAP.

    Then tracking the package I seen that it was going to Prince George BC which meant it was going to the wrong address. This is when I made another call to UPS to find out what was going on.
    - Erica (VBC1EJF) - I asked her what was going on with my package and she told me it is in route to Fort St John BC for delivery. I asked her for the information on the file and she said that there was no notes other than the issue I wanted to file about Rob. This means that Clowie didn’t do anything about this package after she said it was looked after and the address change was done and I should see it in Edmonton in a few days. At this point Erica transferred me to Raymond (MNL1RXS) which was supposedly a manager.
    - Raymond (MNL1RXS) - Thanking with Raymond he explain to me that Clowie was a supervisor not management and explain to me that they can’t re-route the package and it needs to go back to the supplier for them to resend. I explained to him with tracking # 1Z90630RDK97472143 was from the same company and shipped to the same wrong address was re-routed to Alberta from BC without any issues. Raymond then explained to me that Luis (MNLLUB) was Rob’s boss about the way he had talked to me on the phone, wouldn’t provide his ID# and then hung up the phone and Raymond had told me he sent an email for Luis to call me but I told him I would wait on the line After 38 minutes I talked with Luis (MNLLUB).
    - Luis (MNLLUB) - manager supposedly - I explain the situation to Luis assuming I would get somewhere with this but history repeats itself and after arguing with Luis for an hour he tells me “ I am going to end this call” and I told him he can’t hang up the phone on me…..the line went dead.

    And yes another call was made. I call the number again and asked to speak with Luis manger and while I was on hold guess who calls me back and acts oblivious to the conversation 2 minutes ago……Luis. I was flabbergasted, he told me that there was a request for a call back to my number. I told him “are you kidding me? you don’t pay any attention to whom you talk to?” Someone that argues with someone else for an hour and then calls this person back and has no recollection of the call 2 minutes ago is not looking after the best interests of the company. I told him who I was and that he hung up the phone on me and I quote Luis’s response……”No I didn’t” and then we argued about it for 15 minutes and he denied it the entire conversation so I told him I wanted to talk with his boss and that is when I met Francis (MNL1NEA).
    - Francis (MNL1NEA) (506-877-4386) After repeating myself about the same issue, Francis changed the information that Clowie was suppose to do days ago and then I seen the information change in 5 minute with the tracking number. Let’s recall that Clowie said it was done. Francis explain to me that he would have Clowie call be back in this issue and explain to me why she lied to me about what wasn’t done. 1.5 weeks later Clowie still has not called me back.

    The package at this point continued to the wrong address and then I called again
    - Amber (Canada 3473 Chain Manager) She explain to me that even with the address change they couldn’t change it because it had not stopped in the canadian port and it was continuing to be delivered to Fort St John BC. She also told me after I explain to her the above information over the last week that she would note this on the file and get back to me. After the conversation on phone today, none of this information was put into the file and none of it is being dealt with.


    The one thing I have learned about UPS over the last 14 days is they play telephone tag with the customer until he gets tired of the ### operation that is being run. There is absolutely no accountability and no follow up from employes to management. I have come to a conclusion that everyone within the company is covering all the negative information up to prevent the cooperate level from seeing how incompetent their people are within the organization. To prove this several hours were wasted over “1” tracking number and this is better know as non-productive time. When you are having website built so people can go voice their experiences with UPS and it’s all negative that’s not a good way to keep a company running. You all tell us to send your concerns to UPS and things will be done……..100’s of thousands of complaints are on the websites and nothing is changing. Do all these email’s get re-routed to the trash as spam? If you do see it I guess you don’t have to deal with it.

    1 Votes
  • Jp
    JPoor Oct 29, 2014

    Same here UPS wanted to charged me $42 brokerage fee for an item that costs only $38. I called UPS and said I will clear my item myself. They were not happy. Any way I cleared the item and I sent them the clearance form. They confirmed the receipt and said that they will deliver my item next day. But they did not. I called again and they said again will deliver next day. They did not. So it is more than 5 days that they tell me they will deliver next day. Has not yet delivered. Apparently they do this to any one that clear his item so telling them in away if you do not pay us we will delay your item delivery. I have not seen such poor service. Funny thing is that when I track my item through their website it says that customer requested that it will be picked up by customer. When I talk to UPS Canada about this they say sorry the info on website is not correct. Is almost 20 days that my item has been shipped (supposed to be a 4 days delivery) and they have not yet delivered.

    1 Votes
  • Ry
    ryan33 Jan 08, 2015

    Wow what is wrong with UPS! My package had the 1st delivery attempt on Monday, the info notice said 'no buzzer#', so I called UPS and provided my buzzer #, and was told that I could choose for it to be delivered at a certain time of day which I did. Tuesday it wasn't delivered at the specific time, and again said on info notice 'no buzzer#' when I already called and provided it. So I called again and was told they don't deliver at specific times for anyone, and that they don't know why someone else told me that. So I asked for it to be delivered to a local UPS facility but wasn't allowed to have that option because I owed a COD fund, which can only be paid to a driver. I asked fine where can I pick my package up, they gave me an address an hour from where I live, and with the time to pick it up directly coinciding with my work hours making it impossible for me to receive my package. So I finally decided to give them an alternate address of a friend thinking this was all solved finally. Wednesday they made a 3rd delivery attempt at my address even though I gave an alternate address, and the info notice said again 'no buzzer#', which I already called 3 times about and gave them, and I was home and could have received the package if the guy had just buzzed me up, but he literally just walked to the door and put the info notice on it. I called UPS for the 4th time and was told that any new info about the package takes 1 business day to process, and that it would be delivered Thursday. It's Thursday today and I just looked at the tracking progress and it says there's a delay because the package was wrongfully sorted at the facility, and will have 1 business day delay. Every time I've called UPS its so hard, have to go through 5 min of listening to a machine just to get to a person, and the customer service people are so quick to get off the phone with me even though I'm polite and understandably frustrated that nobody can give me any real information or process anything I tell them. UPS has made it impossible for me to receive my package, I'm actually so shocked at this I want to punch that driver in the face, and file a formal complaint against UPS, this is ridiculous!

    1 Votes
  • Di
    DIVA dee Feb 18, 2015

    Where can we complain to make a difference? Anyone know? If yes, please email me at [email protected] I had a small shipment that I had for one of my clients who is a bride, I ordered my package from New York for priority pricing. I did not consider that UPS would be closed down for family day on Monday February 16, 2015. But my client is getting married on Thursday Feb 19th, 2015 and she is a very loyal client who brings me alot of business, so I wanted her to be satisfied with my continued service, to be told several different stories from the clerks in the actual depots, to the operators on UPS hotline to the supervisors and managers...IT WAS CRAZY! I was told so many stories how it is at Fort Erie but online it shows that it was at the concord brance near to my business, then it was in a warehouse at Pearson in Mississauga, the evening staff are there not for looks and not assisting clients, we were all irate, tired, tired of waiting, tired of all the lies from all the staff, tired of the "I don't know where it is?" when you fully have a sophisicated system that can track all packages?

    The day staff was awesome with the little staff that they had to work with, overwhelmed with the complaints of irate customers that were there the nite before but got the job done eventually, cause some of them have a heart and a conscience. IT IS REALLY CRAZY. So after 2 days of fighting with them, writing all their lies and excuses, finally one of the staff found my "priority" shipments, on a skit into a part of the UPS warehouse that is not used as frequently as others on a skit abandoned by an open back door? So it seems like one of the staff was trying to steal my package. All is well, my bride is beaming, she looks beautiful, another satisfied customer but I think I got 10 grey hairs in the process. I just got up for I was exhausted after all that drama.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sara2015 Feb 26, 2015

    UPS Canada is absolutely the WORST service EVER! I stayed home all day waiting for a package, I called in the morning to give them my apartment entry code to make sure the delivery man would have it and he still didn't bring the package to my door. Instead, he posted the notice on my mailbox. I've tried to file an official complaint but no one at UPS will help me. I paid so much money for home delivery and didn't get it. I had to go an pick it up from their location. UPS delivery is LAZY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shayna G May 20, 2015

    BIGGEST RIP OFF OF ALL TIME!! Ordered a DUTY FREE item from the US to Canada. Value of said items was $22.75 USD. I was nailed $23 CDN in f*&^ng BROKERAGE FEES??? You have got to be kidding me!! ‪Called 'customer service'. LOL what a joke. Said that by my paying, i agreed to their TOS and too bad so sorry. Oh but I could feel free to drive to Ft Erie and clear it myself!. What started out as 2 $11 USD items ended up costing $36 CDN EACH!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem