Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks Synchrony Bank Closing accounts with 100% good standing - had for years
More

Synchrony Bank  - Closing accounts with 100% good standing - had for years

C
Author of the complaint
8:14 pm
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I had four accounts with Synchrony Bank. CareCredit, Ashley Furniture and a Sports Card and a card for an electronics provider. Initially, the card for the electronics was closed. I had actually never used this card, the limit was low ($1000) and I did not think much about it as I figured it was lack of use. HOWEVER, the Care Credit card came next! This credit account had initially been over $20k, was paid in full EARLY, with ZERO missed or late payments, and I have had the credit line for literally YEARS. After several years, the credit limit was dropped to $10k, as it had not been used. This was fine, it stayed that way for a long time and I figured if I needed it I would just apply for whatever amount over I needed. Then out of no where Synchrony closed the card with no notice or any valid reasoning. I eventually got a very disrespectful letter apprising me of the account closure, complained that the information included in the letter was both inaccurate and offensive... with no response at all. Next, The Sports Card was closed. Again, 100% on time payments, paid off early, $5k limit. Next, the Ashley card, again 100% on time payments, paid off early, $8k limit. Though my credit report CLEARLY SHOWS I have a 100% on time payment record on ALL of my accounts for years, with each account closure my credit rating dropped more and more... until now I am in the mid-low 600s! This is NOT due to any action of mine, this is specifically due to the available amount of credit decreasing rapidly. Within a few weeks! We are in the middle of a pandemic, and I have had to assist more than one family member by some financial means, which I have, out of necessity, done through other credit. The balances of open credit provided by Synchrony allowed me to do this without a severe impact on my credit standing, and being 100% forthcoming, my credit rating was still "good" when the initial closure of Care Credit was done. Then begins the spiral downward of my credit rating, 100% due to Synchrony deciding to close accounts I had maintained in good faith and honor. Each closure dropped my credit score, and not only had a severe impact on my credit rating, but in doing so severely diminished my options moving forward. This is how your company treats loyal and valuable paying customers? In the middle of a Pandemic when the impact is greatest? These practices are unfair and unethical, AT BEST. NOW, were I to simply "reapply" for any of these credit lines... I WOULD BE DENIED due to the higher credit score requirements I am aware are held by Synchrony to extend credit in the first place... yet it was the closing of these accounts (SOLELY) that affected my score! This is NOT a typical "risk management" decision, this is a deliberate and premeditated action on the part of Synchrony, which becomes even more clear as I look online and see the sheer VOLUME of other people this has been perpetrated upon.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 54 0
Share
Reply
90 comments
Add a comment
A
May 14, 2022 8:14 pm

Synchrony Bank is a FRAUD ! Just closed 10 of our accounts for no reason. All in excellent standings. How is this ethical and legal. TO RUIN my 840 score and 500k of income. NO Late payments in 20 years...There has to be a solution from the 3 major credit agencies to address this. Class action suit will follow.

Helpful?
4 0
A
May 24, 2022 8:14 pm

This just happened to me while buying a home!

Helpful?
0 0
N
May 10, 2022 8:14 pm

Same! I was wondering why? Now it makes sense! Karma will bite 'em

Helpful?
1 0
B
May 07, 2022 8:14 pm

Same thing happened to me! Good standing and paying customer - closed!

Helpful?
2 0
G
Apr 27, 2022 8:14 pm

Today they closed all my accounts 9 to be exact all low balances some zero balance. now what ? I don't understand why unless they are going bankrupt. That's the only answer I can come up with. Im more than P... off.

Helpful?
2 0
T
Apr 22, 2022 8:14 pm

Same exact issues. I was excited to be able to pay off my table that I paid on time and zero interest only to find they took my credit limit from $2k down to $250. WTF is this? And Rooms to Go...I owe $550. Had a $3200 CL and every few months they reduce my limit. Went from $1200 now to $780. They just closed my Ashley Furniture and Care Credit and I have never been late or missed a payment with them or any other creditor. Just relied on some cards heavier during the last 12 months.

I wish there was another alternative. Comenity Bank keeps raising my limits and this [censored] company keeps closing accounts.

So over them.

Helpful?
1 0
T
Apr 26, 2022 8:14 pm

Same here. I had 7 cards from them. Lowes had 10k limit care credit had 8500 and car care had 10k also. Had the cards for YEARS and never had a late payment everrrrr. First the cut the available credit to right around the balance amount I had so now the cards showed up on credit report as maxed out and my credit scores took a beating. Now they have closed have the accounts for no reason and no notice. Synchrony bank SUCKS PLEASE NEVER USE THIS BANK BECAUSE THEY HAVE ZERO CUSTOMER LOYALTY! I wish I could grab the head of this bank and teach them a lesson.

Helpful?
3 0
C
Apr 18, 2022 8:14 pm

They closed 4 of my credit lines (Care Credit, Amazon, Living Spaces, PayPal) all in one month and the letters they sent me explaining this said it was due to not owning real estate. I do own real estate and I have no idea what that would even have to do with anything!

Helpful?
5 0
S
Apr 14, 2022 8:14 pm

I had the following cards that i applied for in 2019 always asking for credit line increases and got them for two years only to wake up in June 2021 to every last one closed after i paid off all of them except two: mickey shorrs, lowes, old navy, care credit, car credit, truck credit, value city furniture, lenscrafters.. but what happened to me when they closed them it improved my score idk how mayb bcus there was no balance do it didnt cause any utilization increases except for the last two that totalled about five percent.. if there was a lawsuit to make us whole i would join it.. they sent all the letters thst said i was a credit risk lowes and value city furniture had 48 month financing and i paid them both off in a year i guess they didnt like not making interest on me hoping i would go over the 48 months.. ive applued several times since esp for care credit .. i read i could reapply after a year so ill try in july bcus everytime i apply they say recently closed accts.. i never missed a payment and paid off my accts early

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
2 0
J
Apr 04, 2022 8:14 pm

When I needed Synchrony to pay for my dogs surgery they issued me $500. I paid it back didn't need to use it for the dog again they dropped it to $250 they closed my account messing up my credit score just because I didn't use it. Also don't be late high fees

Ridiculous don't get this card it's mo good!

Helpful?
5 0
K
Apr 15, 2022 8:14 pm

Last night, same as every night, I checked my USPS Informed Delivery Account, Saw that a Synchrony lettter addressed to me is headed this way, Since I heard that they have been busy sending out a flurry of these kinds of notices, I made a preemptive strike and closed my Amazon account before they could get the jump on me. I hope that my three remaining Synchrony accounts, all with quite low balances, will escape the chop. But, as you say, I had no missing or late payments in the decade since I became their customer. Guess they waited until the pandemic was considered old news and started cleaning houae. Interesting that all this is happenijng just as their TV ad denouncing Cngressional action to erode Amazon's ability to offer 2 day shipping is getting so much air time. If this is the thanks we get, I hope they have to go back to being a B-list book selling outfit or are even forced to shut down.

Helpful?
2 0
M
Apr 04, 2022 8:14 pm

I'm appreciative of the opportunities provided by synchrony Bank allowing access to credit limits and as a result improving my credit scores. But just the same, synchrony Bank does not allow flaws. If there is an instance of a returned payment your account will be closed!. Due to changes made with my financial institution, my drafts were being changed from one account to another. Although the payments were called in over the phone, the ACH draft continue. There were multiple calls to synchrony Banks representative as well as emails to customer service. Without regard, the accounts were closed. The reflect on the credit scores were major! I would encourage anyone to use synchrony Bank but don't expect the loyalty that they want from you! One issue, yeats of progress DESTROYED!

Helpful?
1 1
A
Mar 27, 2022 8:14 pm

Same here , they closed by 0.00 balance FanCash Fanatics account. 100% paid in full each month 1200.00 CL….. closed for no reason

Helpful?
1 0
M
Mar 23, 2022 8:14 pm

The same thing happen to me. I just got off the phone with CS about closing my account that are in exceptional standings! All the can say due to recent credit inquiries on my report they closed my account! And yet still want me to make payments! My credit has dropped considerably due to no fault of my own. I open my account on Feb 2021 and have been paying faithfully without fail. I did not apply for any increases so I am confused to what they are monitor my credit? This is predatory practices. There is nothing in my contract stating credit will be monitored and if my overall debt increase with my other revolving accounts (non synchrony accounts) will be closed and I will still make monthly payments on a closed account with a derogatory rating due to no fault of my own. I don't owe much but I am not going to allow my credit to go down the drain literally for nothing!

Helpful?
3 0
M
Mar 22, 2022 8:14 pm

Last fall I applied for a lowes card to help pay for a deck we wanted to build. They approved the card and we built our deck. We set up automatic payments and was never late. I received a letter saying that my credit score had dropped during a review and had closed my account that was in good standing. My score did drop a little since I maxed out that card but have never been late and my balance was very low. They said they understand that I never missed a payment but it doesn't play a role in there decision. I have never heard of a bank punishing a loyal ontime customer by canceling an account. I will never do business with any of there affiliates ever again.

Helpful?
8 0
C
Mar 21, 2022 8:14 pm

They closed about 20 accounts I had with them all paid on-time and in full monthly..They closed all in same day..

Helpful?
12 0
T
Apr 26, 2022 8:14 pm

Synchrony bank is a bunch of scumbags!

Helpful?
2 0
K
Apr 12, 2022 8:14 pm

This literally just happened to me - 6 accounts with over $60k in credit availability - Long term accounts, never late, don’t keep high balances and they literally just closed them all and I am in the middle of trying to buy a house, in which now I will not be able to do - this has ruined my livelihood! No one to explain and no one to talk to that can help - I don’t know what to do

Helpful?
5 0
Y
Apr 12, 2022 8:14 pm

This just happened to me and I’m very upset. I unsure how my credit will recover from this. I know it’s just credit but I really worked hard to maintain my accounts. I’m just sad and disappointed.

Helpful?
6 0
M
Mar 07, 2022 8:14 pm

Please apply for Synchrony Bank issued credit cards with caution; they will close your account for reasons that make no sense at all. Based on my own personal experience if you have high credit limits with them and you keep a zero balance, you are in jeopardy of having all of your accounts closed. They will eventually send you a letter stating that you were a "High Risk" customer, which is totally BS! Also, they will encourage you to immediately Re-apply... This bank approves many applications for credit and credit limit increases only to ruin your credit history and scores! Please avoid Synchrony Bank at all costs!

Helpful?
18 0
N
Apr 27, 2022 8:14 pm

Omg Yes! Same exact thing happened to me!

Helpful?
1 0
A
Feb 17, 2022 8:14 pm

I have EXCELLENT credit. My Amazon card account was closed. Was I was told it was due to inactivity, via chat support... Pretty BS move by them.

Helpful?
7 0
C
Feb 09, 2022 8:14 pm

I had my account closed just recently. They did send me an email and they gave me these bullet points as to why.

• Lack Of Real Estate Secured Loan Information

• Balances On Accounts Too High Compared To Credit Limits And Loan Amounts

• Too Few Accounts Paid As Agreed

• Not Enough Balance Paid Down Over Time On Installment Accounts

They never told me before how much I had to pay each month over time and I was just doing my job paying off my payments little by little as I should do. Because they are "unsatisfied" with my payments, they just closed it down and won't consider opening it back up until everything is paid off. Plus, they gave me an incredibly low credit limit to start out with and when I requested to have it raised, it was IMMEDIATELY denied. I only use this card to pay off my purchases from Sweetwater and that's it. I only used this card 2 times throughout its life cycle to pay for things so I definitely don't abuse it.

I don't get why they are so picky about it when I have been on top of my payments each month. I did however did miss a payment once, but that was over a year ago and I have been doing well staying on top of it. If this somehow affects my credit score significantly because of their "decision", then I'm never using Synchrony Bank again after I pay everything off.

Helpful?
8 0
T
Feb 06, 2022 8:14 pm

They actually did this to me in April of 2021, my credit score has been steady of over 700 for a couple of years. I had about 12 synchrony bank cards, 97% had no balance, only the amazon and one other card has a small balance. It took my credit score down by 50 points and I lost over 80k of available credit. Luckily over the last year I have been able to get back to where I was last year and surpassed my old credit score. I would think stores like Lowes and JcPenneys would be looking for other credit card vendors if we all started boycotting their stores for doing business with Syncrhony

Helpful?
6 0
Y
Apr 12, 2022 8:14 pm

Thank you this was helpful! Knowing that it’s some point I can bounce back. I just hope my other account won’t be affected.

Helpful?
2 0

I know many of you had this happen during the pandemic. The same bank did this to me with my J>C> Pennies or whatever the store was as well as my Lowes card which I did business with. I had several problems with them before this however due to them sending my mail to my previous address even after calling them to correct my address every time. I even paid my associated late fees even though it was the issue of their person or computer. Finally they reduced my credit to 100.00. Ok no problem because I still played the game and was able to pass the 5% discount to customers. Then they sent mail to my previous address again without notifying me and I even paid their fees for going into default. Each time the issue was on their end and they refused to take off their lawyer fees. Then all of a sudden after multiple complaints to them on the matter they discontinued my cards all together. I let it go at the time because I am only one person but I have since gotten many people to discontinue using any credit with retailers that use them. I am happy to say that sometimes people listen and care about how their family or friend was treated still. Especially when they found out they injured my credit. Dear employees of said bank. If your reading this you know someone you know has also read it. They don't like you as much as they say they do due to you working for a company that screwed them. We understand you need a job but you might as well be working for a mobster. Difference is they are a legal one. I wouldn't put water on you all as a company if your were burning unless there was innocents inside.

Helpful?
1 0
B

Synchrony closed our Lowes and Sam’s and said we are high risk of failure to pay. We have never missed a payment. We have always had good credit rating. We want a lawsuit against them too.

Helpful?
17 0
T
Apr 28, 2022 8:14 pm

Just happened to me also - apparently they do not like people with good credit using the card and paying it off to gain rewards. They literally closed ALL of the accounts I had with them with the reason that I am 'high risk'. BS, I've had the accounts for YEARS, NEVER late, rarely ever have a statement balance because I won't pay their outrageous interest. It seems this started this month after I paid off something that was 0% interest along with several hundred dollars of rewards they had to pay out to me on my Sam's account.

I don't care so much about the cards, I really use them for the rewards BUT the impact to my credit score AND the embarrassment of trying to use a card and being told it was declined is TOTAL B.S.! I'm reading stories on here over and over with other people that have had the exact experience, good credit scores, never late on payments, the type you would think would be considered a good credit consumer yet our accounts have been shut down with no actual reasoning...I mean I guess the reason is that we are not a good investment for Synchrony as they are not making $$ off of interest with us.

HORRIBLE company and I totally agree that there should be a suite on them, it's like defamation of our credit scores which really is part of a persons reputation!

Helpful?
3 0
K
Feb 03, 2022 8:14 pm

Same, I would like to join a class action. I had this same experience. My account was always paid in full and on time. I used it for the rewards. The bank closed the account without any notice which had a significant impact to my credit score. This should not be allowed.

Helpful?
19 0
S
Feb 01, 2022 8:14 pm

I just received a letter they closed 2 of my accounts as well. I want to file a lawsuit because no where in their disclosures does it say they do this knowing it will have a major impact on your credit

Helpful?
11 0
R
Jan 30, 2022 8:14 pm

Same thing here. I wish we could find a lawyer! My husband had the Home Card, Dobbs, Care Credit, PayPal, and Amazon. The Home Card was 10 years old and had regular increases. Then one day, decreased by half, the next closed. The rest followed. Automatic payments, paid off during promotional periods, etc. The letters received did not have a reason listed! It was blank! Just said they closed the account based on credit reports and under the following reasons, nothing was listed. Not one other card carrier has done this to us. And how convenient this happened to many of us during a pandemic. It only hurts the businesses (some that are already struggling). We went to sleep number today and were denied credit from Synchrony. I told the sales guy we would be. He was floored when I showed him this board and all of the complaints. He was 'so sure' we would get approved and it was priceless when he was wrong.

Helpful?
3 0
L
Jan 27, 2022 8:14 pm

Synchrony bank closed 4/5 accounts at random. Never late, always paid double/triple minimum due. Out of nowhere, they closed my accounts. This has had a huge negative impact on my credit score. I wanted to re-fi my home but now, my score is too low. They are the devil! I will never recommend them to anyone!

Helpful?
5 0
J

if there is a law suit i need to be a part of it.

joyce from cypress, texas

Helpful?
12 0
N
Jan 11, 2022 8:14 pm

Sign me up for the lawsuit. They closed all my cards for no reason in good standing. Ruined my credit. Went down 200 points. Had to back out of buying our new home. Now we're paying rent in the tunes of $4500 a month. All we could find last minute was this apartment. We're going under now. Ty syncrony bank. During a pandemic to boot. I'll tell my 6byear old daughter you said no problem.

Helpful?
8 0

So I have a Paypal line of credit for business, I made a payment, but Paypal/Synchrony Bank noted on my account received than rejected. I'm thinking I did something wrong so I do it again directly linking my account to account not to manually put it in to avoid mistakes, once again received than rejected(assuming they are saying balances not available). Now, I'm super puzzled, because the money is in the bank and no entry has ever hit my account. I go online to check on the account and boom account closed, I'm just blown away. I'm still not sure why the payment never hit my account. Why was my payment continued to get rejected, but never hit my account as an entry? Things look shady, if I realized that this bank was the same one that backed store cards, I would have thought twice. Cards that back stores are famous for playing with credit limits. If you ask me cash is becoming king again. If we don't pay attention better there will be only 2 classes of people the rich and the poor. If credit wasn't such a valuable asset I wouldn't be so upset, what are they doing to people.

Helpful?
3 0
J
Dec 23, 2021 8:14 pm

This just happened to me now. Amazon secured card for Christ sake. Good standing and they randomly closed it without any reason at all.

Helpful?
0 0
L

They slashed my Lowes credit line in half in November and today, closed my Care Credit which was only used once and paid off. I'm afraid to even look at my credit score now.

Someone else commented that by ruining our credit scores our other creditors could raise our interests rates. Maybe they need to be investigated to see if any big wig at Synchrony is also a stake holder in any other creditor and is therefore tanking our scores to increase profits with the other creditor? Seems like that would be racketeering?

Helpful?
8 0
J
Dec 17, 2021 8:14 pm

I am not happy that we all are going through this, because no one should be subjected to being extended credit, then having it taken away for no reason at all. I had (2) accounts with synchrony, Amazon and a HVAC replacement, I was paying on time as expected, and I would pay my payments early, but for no reason at all they closed my accounts. This just happened to me December 2021, so yes I can’t wait to be a part of the the law suit.

Helpful?
2 0
J
Dec 03, 2021 8:14 pm

I thought I was the only one! They closed all 7 of my accounts and said that I was high risk of failure to pay.. All of my accounts were all paid on time for the last 4 years and my usage was less than 7% on each card. I sent a letter to Corporate Headquarters and received a call from them almost a month later stating there was nothing they could do... There has to be something we can do...

Helpful?
4 0
A
Dec 01, 2021 8:14 pm

They closed all 10 of my accounts with them. Never a late payment. If someone is getting together a class act law suit count me in! Yea

Helpful?
4 0
S
Jan 01, 2022 8:14 pm

They didn't the same to my accounts and my wife's accounts I lost 22 points on my credit from 1 card through them my wife lost almost 50 points I'll gladly go in on a law suit!

Helpful?
2 0

Same thing happened to me too! I would be willing to get in on a law suit also!

Helpful?
3 0
T
Dec 05, 2021 8:14 pm

I had 11...never late on any. I want to see if there is a a way to file a law suit for the damage that it will possibly cause to me financially due to the impact that my credit score will take.

Helpful?
3 0
A
Nov 27, 2021 8:14 pm

So unfortunate. Happened to me as well. I'm in the middle of buying major property. Never missed a payment. Always payed 2.5x more than minimal payment and they just lowered my limit to what I owe. Thus making it show a maxed out account. Double edge sword. If I pay it off completely it hurts my score and if I pay what's now maxed back down to 20% they will just lower my limit again. Please update me if there's any legal action we can do! Surprised this isn't class action lawsuit material.

Helpful?
3 0
M

My credit line was closed as of last week. I called and was told TransUnion alerted them I was high risk. Interesting considering I have a zero balance for several months, never missed a payment and account in great standing. I'm confused I have a 660 credit score. This is crazy my score dropped 40 points... Something needs to be done.

Helpful?
1 0
S
Nov 05, 2021 8:14 pm

Happened to us on October 26th 2021 they closed 8 good standing accounts all at once 50, 000 dollars in credit. Never a late payment and husband had a 749 credit score. Something needs to be done to remedy this I also paid for card security to protect my account that cost a lot and still with no notice or good reason all gone on same day which will destroy our hard earned credit history. So frustrating and unfair practices!
Stephany
Utah

Helpful?
1 0
Z
Dec 08, 2021 8:14 pm

Exactly same thing just happened to me… no logical explanation and I’m financially stable with great history and over 700 credit score.

Helpful?
1 0
A
Nov 01, 2021 8:14 pm

On October 25th, 2021 (this past week), Synchrony suddenly, without any notice or indication, cancelled and closed ALL 10 of my retail accounts for almost $90, 000 in credit limits? I have a PERFECT credit history with them, no late payments, and continual credit limit increases granted as early as 2-3 weeks ago! Yet, for some unknown and offensive reason, they’ve closed ALL my longstanding accounts with companies like BP Amoco, Verizon Visa, Lowes, Newegg, Athleta, Amazon, etc.. I had a 737 FICO score on 10/25/2021 this week when they closed them, no late payments ever, and, in fact, had been rewarded with additional credit. Now, they're ALL CLOSED AT ONCE?

In fact, if you look online at websites as I have such as The Complaint Board (here) or MyFICO.com forums to name just a few, it appears Synchrony Financial / Bank is treating MANY good standing and creditworthy customers that shop with companies the same way? I have reached out to a few so far myself and am finding the companies Synchrony is ‘partnered’ with to provide credit and financial services know NOTHING about this brazen and damaging action – if they did and endorsed it, they’d be both complicit and hurting themselves (obviously) with your own customer base?

I have now spoken to four (4) separate consumers like myself and yourselves on here and so far who’ve had the same recent experience with Synchrony Financial treating them so disrespectfully and potentially harming their credit as mine too, with all these accounts closing at once and saying “Closed by Credit Grantor”. I am seeking legal counsel on this matter against Synchrony too and am discussions with a major law firm. If you are interested further, let me know by posting here or sending me a message on this site by your choosing. I fear there are MANY who are impacted by Synchrony's egregious and harmful actions using OUR consumer vendor accounts and longstanding loyal relationships (chosen by us).

Helpful?
11 0
K
May 26, 2022 8:14 pm

I would definitely like to be added to this lawsuit. They closed two of my cards. Both were paid off. Just paid off the Lowe's card, so I am expecting that one to be closed as well.

Helpful?
0 0
C
May 17, 2022 8:14 pm

I'm interested in moving forward with legal representation as well. Please contact me at [email protected] Thank you.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Apr 18, 2022 8:14 pm

They closed 4 of my accounts for the same reason, not owning real estate. The thing is, I do own real estate!

Helpful?
2 0
Y
Apr 12, 2022 8:14 pm

Count me in too!

Helpful?
1 0
F
Mar 27, 2022 8:14 pm

Honestly I thought I was the only one. I received a letter from Synchrony Bank stating they closed my account because I did not own any real estate. I did not own any real estate when I was approved. The approval was for 60 months of 0 interest. I was never late and paid my the bill each month as due. Suddenly, they decided to close my account. I've reviewed my contract, no where does it state that I have to own real estate. My credit has increased drastically since I received the Synchrony approval. No valid reason for this closure. I plan to dispute this closure with the credit bureaus and request a removal of this fraudulent account. I also would like to be a part of this lawsuit or whatever legal action anyone is considering. I also plan to look for a lawyer that can assist as well. I am still amazed that this is happening to so many consumers.

Helpful?
4 0
C
Mar 21, 2022 8:14 pm

They closed about 20 of my cards in one day all with no late payments and paid in full monthly.

Helpful?
2 0
S
Mar 13, 2022 8:14 pm

I want in on the law suit. Synchrony closed two of my accounts that were in perfect standings. I had the accounts for 3 years

Helpful?
2 0
J
Feb 28, 2022 8:14 pm

Please count me in as well. I was in good standing and found that my account was closed (no notice) earlier this month. When I was trying get gas! They claim it was because my credit score dropped.

Helpful?
2 0
A
Feb 14, 2022 8:14 pm

Count me in the class action suit.

Helpful?
2 0
K
Feb 08, 2022 8:14 pm

Count me in - just lowered my limits and payments on time

Kim C

Helpful?
1 0
Y
Feb 06, 2022 8:14 pm

Uh, Synchrony is formerly GE Capital...the people took no one out.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Feb 02, 2022 8:14 pm

Hi
Synchrony closed 7 account yesterday
For no reason at all ! All my credit score are 700 plus
What can we do

Helpful?
1 0

I was just told because it was due to my inability to pay. He also told me that they made the decision based on accounts that have been closed for more than 2 years which were paid in full then closed. He also said that it didn’t matter if we where one day late or 30 days. This guy just kept saying that the decision was made by a computer and the algorithm that is used. I am so pi$$ed right now that can barely type.

Helpful?
0 0

I am interested too. They just canceled my account and I still have a balance on it. They say it is a matrix that is used to decide who gets an account and who doesn’t. I am currently waiting on hold to speak to a supervisor for an answer.

Helpful?
2 0
D
Jan 18, 2022 8:14 pm

Count me in! This is just unprofessional and underhanded. Something is up with this bank and it should be shut down! I say close them Down for good

Helpful?
1 0
T
Jan 12, 2022 8:14 pm

Count me in, they need to have some repercussion for the damages they are doing to their customers financial well being

Helpful?
1 0
M
Dec 15, 2021 8:14 pm

I'm in.
My email is [email protected]
Please include me with any legal action.

Helpful?
1 0
T
Dec 05, 2021 8:14 pm

I had 11...never late on any. I want to see if there is a a way to file a law suit for the damage that it will possibly cause to me financially due to the impact that my credit score will take.

Helpful?
2 0
C

Hi this exact thing happened in October a elk I found in my research it’s like a global hit in October thi year all the complaints are the same. My email [email protected] let’s sue these [censored] ! And call the news
Caroline B

Helpful?
1 0

Not sure I understand, send me a message within this site to connect? My email is [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
A
Nov 19, 2021 8:14 pm

I’d be interested in hearing from you. Can you send me a message within this site to connect? Lots happening….

Helpful?
0 0

This website cut off my reply. Anyways as I was mentioning, my alter ego calls himself THE CORPORATE CRIPPLER, and he is hell bent on bringing Synchrony down. I am sitting on HARD COPY EVIDENCE of internal fraud with recorded conversations and a letter of apology that backs up my allegations. Synchrony is just GE CAPITAL ALL OVER AGAIN. and since I closed my paypal credit line and paid it off, which they purposely have not reported that $2600 payment to the credit bureaus yet, I am not bound by their silly abitration clause. I want to see a petition drafted and signed by everyone around the world that has been negatively affected by Synchrony Bank . Posted on every social media platform and complaints websites, etc, . We can then demand a formal indictment. The people took out GE Capital, and the people can take out synchrony bank also, Synchrony Bank was GE Capital taken down back in the 80's for playing the same dirty pool as Synchrony has been doing, they havnt changed a bit. Bunch of capitalist crooks, personally I would rather see their building drop on their heads, being that McVeigh is a martyr to me, sorry all bleeding hearts type of people out there, but sometimes diplomacy just doesn't cut it, and more drastic measures need to play out to let these swindlers know we are not playing. Even military battles all begin with diplomacy, but when that diplomacy fails, here comes The bombs. Synchrony is a shadow corporation who thinks it is legally untouchable. I do not know anything about how a petition campaign is started and what requirements are involved. Somebody out there must though. I am all for it.

Helpful?
6 2

I am totally interested, I expect Synchrony to close my Sweetwater account, they have been running unnecessary inquiries on my credit reports and even pulled a credit score report. as I could care less about a credit, Im 54 yrs old and just looked at my credit reports this year for the first time ever, my life has never been impacted by a credit score as I have always been a cash consumer. I am however a militant minded eye for an eye type of guy, with an alter ego who calls himself

Helpful?
0 0

same thing happen to me today 11/1/2021. all accounts closed without an excuse!
I will never apply for any of their accounts again (pissed) all accounts closed!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Apr 27, 2022 8:14 pm

same thing happened to me today Im screwed for sure. I had excellent credit ratings. They must be going bankrupt

Helpful?
0 0
A
Oct 28, 2021 8:14 pm

WE ALL need to band together with this experience, DEMAND accountability of Synchrony through the various vendors we buy products and services whom have chosen SYNCHRONY FINANCIAL to be their finance partner? Ultimately, Synchrony only cares about them as their customers - not us?

I would file a complaint with the CFPB in Washington, call your US Representative or US Senator, state's Attorney General, and demand accountability and communication from these [censored]S as I have. U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren also is a consumer advocate who does NOT like these companies or credit bureaus either...

As a conservative, I am not for more regulation, but this is an area needing it along with more accountaiblity -

Helpful?
3 0
I
Nov 20, 2021 8:14 pm

How can I contact you. Same happened with me. Good standing no late payments

Helpful?
0 0
K
Oct 28, 2021 8:14 pm

ok i am almost relieved to find out that I am not the only one in the same predicament.

Helpful?
3 0
B
Jan 19, 2022 8:14 pm

They nust closed all 9 of my cards on 01/18/2022
My score 739 waiting to see what it will be after this when i call they are mean tell me i have bad credit [censored] thos is not ok

Helpful?
1 0

No, there are thousands of us ..

Helpful?
1 0
A
Oct 28, 2021 8:14 pm

You are not the only one...they just closed 8-10 of my Synchrony accounts, with perfect payments and record, on 10/25/21 without notice or explanation!?!? Expecting rapid decrease in my scores...

Helpful?
0 0
I
Oct 26, 2021 8:14 pm

This was just done to my. Synchrony Bank closed both my Ashley Furniture and Care Credit accounts that each had a high limit and neither had ever been paid late. I had zero balance on each. The whole credit scoring system is a sham that allows banks to lower your credit score without any fault of your own. This forces you to pay higher interest. Synchrony does not have to worry about me any more. I will close all of my cards with them and never apply for one of their cards again.

Helpful?
1 0
L
Oct 25, 2021 8:14 pm

I share your frustration. I too have Ashley Furniture, Car Care, Mattress Firm and Sams Club —all through Synchrony. I’ve NEVER been late on ANY payments, have always paid double - triple, in-full of minimum payments. Out of nowhere, Synchrony (sneakily) lowered my credit line on my Ashley card (I only had a $50.00 balance on it). Then a couple weeks later, it lowered my Car Care Credit card. Shortly after that, it lowered my mattress firm limit. Today, I go to check my accounts, and they closed my Car Care Credit card without warning. Already, they damaged my score by lowering 3 lines and now closing! I am so offended, angry, confused, as to why they’d do this to consumers. My score took a huge 100 point hit and this is so very unfair!

Helpful?
1 0
L
Oct 25, 2021 8:14 pm

I share your frustration. I too have Ashley Furniture, Car Care, Mattress Firm and Sams Club all through Synchrony. I’ve never been late on ANY payments, have always paid double minimum payments, out of nowhere, Synchrony (sneakily) lowered my credit line on my Ashley card (I only had a $50.00 balance on it). Then a couple weeks later, it lowered my Car Care Credit card. Today, I go to check my accounts, and they closed my Car Care Credit card without warning. Already, they damaged my score by lowering both limits and now closing one of the accounts. It makes no sense. I am now in the process of paying all Synchrony cards off and closing - they don’t deserve good customers business.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Oct 18, 2021 8:14 pm

Synchrony bank closed all of my accounts without warning ruining my credit score I had an exception payment history and never missed! I would love to sue them do I have grounds?

Helpful?
0 0

I think they are getting away with it on the 'terms and conditions' portion of their credit agreement. I got someone on the phone this weekend, and they said to look at my credit reports, and I countered with - "You mean the credit reports that show CURRENT ON ALL MY ACCOUNTS?! They didn't have anything to say back except some stuttering, then she transferred me to someone who forwarded my call to voicemail.

Helpful?
0 0

Same thing happened to me, I had one account that was only a few days late as an oversight and I’ve paid them in full several times over. Perfect payment history and all accounts with them have been closed. They are evading phone calls and blocked access to some of my online accounts! My new care credit account is closed too. Never a missed payment!

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

230 complaints
1 resolved 229 unresolved

Synchrony Bank contacts

(added by reviewer)
950 Forrer Blvd, Ohio United States
ADVERTISIMENT