Having problems with Sixt?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Sixt reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Jul 1, 2008. The latest review Sixt rental car billing. was posted on Jun 15, 2021. The latest complaint reembolso reserva cancelada was resolved on Apr 04, 2017. Sixt has an average consumer rating of 2 stars from 220 reviews. Sixt has resolved 42 complaints.

Sixt Customer Service Contacts

+1 888 749 8227 (United States)
+44 844 248 6620 (United Kingdom)
+353 12 352 030 (Ireland)
+43 810 977 424 (Austria)
+32 70 225 800 (Belgium)
+420 222 324 995 (Czech Republic)
+45 32 481 100 (Denmark)
+39 665 2111 (Italy)
+31 235 698 656 (Netherlands)
+351 217 998 701 (Portugal)
+40 372 372 005 (Romania)
+41 848 884 444 (Switzerland)
+973 17 711 770 (Bahrain)
+966 12 197 171 (Saudi Arabia)
+65 64 239 566 (Singapore)
+27 112 309 990 (South Africa)
+82 234 520 001 (South Korea)
+94 112 870 870 (Sri Lanka)
+66 27 932 300 (Thailand)
+54 114 815 2223 (Argentina)
+59 829 032 267 (Uruguay)
Zugspitzstraße 1
Pullach
Germany - D-82049
United States
1501 NW 49th St, Suite 100, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309, USA

United Kingdom
Durrant House, 47 Holywell Street, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, S41 7SJ

Ireland
Rochestown Ave., Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland

Austria
Ortsstraße 18a, A-2331 Vösendorf

Czech Republic
Jankovcova 2c, 170 00 Prague 7

Denmark
Kystvejen 42, DK - 2770 Kastrup

Finland
Työpajankatu 2, FI-00580 Helsinki

France
42, Avenue de Saxe, 75007 Paris

Italy
Viale delle Arti, 123, I - 00054 Fiumicino, Rome

Netherlands
Kruisweg 791, Postbus 253, 2130 AG Hoofddorp

Norway
Dronningensgate 49, 4608 Kristiansand

Poland
ul. Warszawska 1, 05-820 Piastow, Poland

Portugal
Avenida Dr. Francisco Luis Gomes, 1, Piso 3, fracção 8A, 1800-177 Lisboa

Romania
145 Soseaua Bucuresti-Ploiesti, 1 Bucharest, 013686 Romania

Russia
Leninskij prospect, 113/1, office 706C, 117198 Moscow, Russia

Spain
Calle del Canal de Sant Jordi 29, Local 2, Poligono son Oms, 07610 Palma de Mallorca

Sweden
Lokgatan 9B, SE-211 20 Malmö

Switzerland
Euroairport Basel, CH-4030 Basel

Turkey
Cumhuriyet Bulvari № 141a, 35220 Alsancak, Izmir - Turkey

Bahrain
P.O. Box 75104 Manama - Bahrain, Kingdom of Bahrain

China
Room 2316, Jiaxin Building, Jinsha Road № 92, Jinping District, 515041, Shantou, PR China

India
Kochuveedu, H. №AMC/13/680, Chandanakkavu, Pazhaveedu, Alappuzha Dist - 688009, Kerala State, India

Qatar
P.O. Box 8173, Doha, State of Qatar

Saudi Arabia
P.O.Box 19953, Riyadh 11445, Saudi Arabia

Singapore
1A Kuo Chuan Avenue, 426888 Singapore

South Africa
206 West Street, Durban 4001, South Africa

South Korea
1F, HanAvill B/D, 619-13, Yeoksam-dong, Kangnam-gu, 135-080 Seoul, South Korea

Sri Lanka
234-238, Pannipitiya Rd, Battaramulla, Sri Lanka

Thailand
2222/9 Ladprao Rd, Phlabpha, Wangthonglang, 10310 Bangkok, Thailand

United Arab Emirates
P.O. Box 37817 Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Argentina
Ruta Panamericana Km.35.5., Tortuguitas / Buenos Aires, Argentina

Chile
Av. Presidente Kennedy 8020, Vitacura, C.P. 7650487 Santiago de Chile, Chile

Brazil
Av. Pacaembu, 760, 01234-000 Pacaembu, São Paulo - SP

Mexico
Ave Vasconcelos № 210 Piso 10, Residencial Sa Augustin, San Pedro
Garza Garcia, Nuevo León, C.P. 66260 Mexico

Peru
 
Av. La Paz Nro. 745 Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
 

Uruguay
Mercedes 1422 Bis, 11200, Montevideo, Uruguay

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Sixt Customer Service. Initial Sixt complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Sixt above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Sixt. Discuss the issues you have had with Sixt and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Sixt Complaints & Reviews

Sixt.comsixt car rental phoenix az

Booked car over a month in advance Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and nothing in the class was available when we arrived after our 5 hour flight at 9AM. Due to the scope of our trip I upgraded.
Problems:
1. I declined additional coverage and was charged for it. After numerous emails with Customer service they refunded the monies.
2. On the second day of our trip 180 miles out of Phoenix the gas tank came on as being empty. We had just filled and traveled only 60 miles. In the middle of the dessert. I called in and was told to keep capping off the gas it probably was the gauge they could not bring a car to us. We did that throughout our 6 day trip.
When I returned I asked that the upgrade fee be waived and I just pay original rental agreement fee $795.
Several days latter I was advised by local branch there were no mechanical problems. I requested a copy of the mechanic report and emailed corporate. Corporate advised me the problem was found and the car was repaired.
Regardless they would not adjust my upgrade fee.
Several problems
1. No car available in my class after booking in advance.
2. Added coverage when I did not book it with reservation a month earlier and declined it at desk. Staying I had coverage on my car's insurance
3. Not able to provide a car replacement when mechanical problems were called in, when we were in the middle of the desert during rental.
4. When at the desk for rental the counter person demanded the upgrade car 4 times to SIXT garage. Did they know about problem?
5. Upon returning car I was told the following week the car was checked and had no problems. It wasn't until I pursued it with corporate asking for mehnical report, they advised me car was repaired.
To date I have been credited with additional coverage fee but not the upgrade fee I requested. You think they would wave all the fees given they did not replace a car with mechincal problems and had no concern for safety issues of our travel.
Less than ethical business practices at SIXT Sky Harbor Airport Phoenix.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Sixt.comrental [protected] in tampa 04/15-04/22/2017

    The car was filthy, smelled as burger grease and french fries the whole week we had it. I don't believe it was washed before handing us the keys to it.

    We were looking for a Toyota RAV 4 or equivalent we got a Chevy Traverse, a gas guzzler, two classes larger.

    The reservation clerk was nasty. His exact words were, "You should be happy, this car costs $30K more than the Toyota..

    The shuttle service to Tampa International was pretty dismal we almost missed the flight, no loading/unloading markings where the shuttle stops, not even in the rental's place return parking lot.

    There was no mention of tolls to be paid, additional to the advertised rental price of $359.44, $134.66 was added for Taxes and $37.82 for tolls.

    Considering how bad this experience was at least the toll fees should be waived. As a matter of fact I also contesting those toll charges with Amex.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Sixt.com — always trying to downgrade my rental. never available as advertised.

      I recently sent in a complain to sixt car rental. If sixt decide to reduce the fleet on the mercedes gle and...

      Sixt.comcar rental

      In July of 2016, my wife and I traveled to Texas. We found what we thought was a good deal on a rental car from SIXT Rental. The car was to be picked up and returned at the Dallas airport. On the day we returned the car returned the car the traffic was terrible due to a tragic shooting that had occurred in the city. We were preparing to leave when the gentleman from SIXT, stated the car had been in a collision and I needed to sign a paper he handed me. We inspected the area of the damage on found a very small black mark on the rear bumper the mark was less than a centimeter in length and diameter. It was the size of a small fly and appeared to be a smudge. I told him there was no collision, no scratches, no dents, just a small mark which had to be closely looked for in order to be found.
      He had difficulty speaking English and kept repeating the same phrase, you had a collision sign he paper. Even though we were running late due to the traffic, I went to the service desk and waited to speak to someone. The lady was very polite. I explained what had occurred and she went to her computer. After searching for an extended period she stated, “Everything is ok.” I asked her for reassurance and she once again stated everything was fine. We raced to the shuttle and barely made our flight.
      In October, I received a letter from SIXT claiming I owed $1068. I was asked to fill out papers regarding the collision and “damage”. I explained what happened at the airport and the absence of any collision. I asked someone to please investigate the claim, the amount of the cost, which included four days of rental, that the car was “out of order”. The cost of the spot was over $600. The mark as so small it could have been covered up with a dab of model paint. I did not receive a reply only a demand for payment. I sent four letters asking someone to please review the claim. After my fourth request, I finally received a response from SIXT. I got four separate form emails, which were not specific to my claim. The emails were general in nature and stated only damage was discovered and I owe the money.
      They were kind enough to allow me to pay over time. Upon researching, I found similar stories of rushed senior customers who after returning cars were notified by mail they owed money. A lack of personal communication was also a common factor. I cannot verify the veracity of their claims. I did find a consumer report that noted the average cost of repairs for damaged rentals was significantly higher for SIXT than any other rental car companies.
      I will avoid lesser known rental companies in the future. I will allow extra time to thoroughly inspect every inch of a rental car and note any small mark, scratch or any anomaly. I will further do some research before I accept any rental offers which appear to be great deals for seniors.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Su
          Sunny Kumar1 May 13, 2017
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          This is a scam, just dont respond to their claims. You responded back that you did not notice any damage when returning so you have in writing your response. Do not pay the damage they claim.

          0 Votes

        Sixtmiscommunication of incorrect information

        Morning Sixt,

        Noted as a valued Sixt customer, I have had miscommunication from Sixt (Adam) in relation to picking up a vehicle at 1am, that a previous customer had been able to pickup vehicle after 11pm. I then confirmed my booking, but I was told by Sixt it was not achievable and it caused me to reschedule my flights, incurring addional €140. Spain (Majorca) airport are not being supportive enough in resolving this error, and I have merely asked for a discount in my vehicle booking without any promising reply.

        I have sent proof of additional cost of reschedule flights, and then told by email that I can actually pickup a vehicle at 1am.

        Are you able to assist or provide a route to escalate please ?.

        Reservation No: [protected]

        Best regards,

        Kamil Erkadoo
        Tel: [protected]

        miscommunication of incorrect information
        miscommunication of incorrect information

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          Sixt Rentalyo estoy asiendo un complain

          El 3/25/17 yo rente un carro en la ciudad de León Guanajuato el carro lo regrese el 4/26/17 y resulta que primero me sacaron 2, 500 dólares yo regrese el carro la fecha que de estoy indicado arriba el día 5/05/17 me volvieron a sacar 1, 600 dólares de mi cuenta de banco sin me consentimiento y el banco me está cobrando recargos quien me va apagar ese dinero o les gustaría que publique que están asiendo gradué para que nadie vuelva a rentarles

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Sixt.comcustomer service

            I emailed for some information as I have never hired a car in the US before. Firstly, I was greeted with Mr, which I am not. If your not sure, just don't use anything. I pointed out I wasn't a Mr (with the hope they would stop using it) This continued, so I was already getting a sense of rude customer service. I continued for information which I feel like I wasn't actually getting all the while being greeted with Mr! Eventually I received a reply offering 'special rates' if I provide some general information - I replied with the assumption I would be told these rates for me to then make up my mind. No, after being greeted with Mr for a 6th time, I also received a booking confirmation? Wait .. I didn't book anything! They took it upon themselves to pick our pick up & drop off, what class of vehicle and didn't even tell me how much this was going to cost.

            Dear Mr. X,

            Thank you for your e-mail.

            We have created a reservation according to your requirements with the number XXXXXXXXX.

            Further information on your booking will be sent to you within the next few minutes by email.

            We wish you a safe journey and thank you for choosing Sixt!

            Best regards

            Just steer clear unless you want rude customer service and bookings that you haven't made!

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Sixt.com — recent car rental in saint petersbourg 11-19 april, rental agreement №00825-17

              After our car rental, Russia office is asking about extra charges for wrongly verified scratches. - First...

              Sixt — rental car bait and switch

              I flew into ATL on 4-20, weeks prior to that I clicked on a Mercedes GLA because of the GREAT DAILY RATE...

              Sixt.comadding 200 euro protection without notice

              my issue with sixt company in Madrid that I reserve a BMW car from the website however when I reach Madrid airport the employee add 200 euro full package protection under my bill !!!
              I did not noticed the issue because the deduction amount included the blocking amount I received the detailed bill when I reached Dubai only
              there is no transparent in the communication and I did not recommend any one to deal with this company again

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Sixtsixt car rental dublin

                Dear, customer services of Sixt,

                I rent car from sixt car rental many times last year. At the last times since I rent car from sixt, one of your staff who work in dublin city centre branch which address is : Q-park, Marlborough street, dublin. offer me a contract to pay 42.75euro per day for rent the car, no matter summer busy time or quiet time. I did sign the contract. Yesterday afternoon, (7th, april, 2017) I called dublin city centre brunch at 16:45, which work phone number is [protected]. The staff who called joe(may wrong spelling)answered my call, I explain the whole situation to him, and try to rent a car from 9th, april, 2017 to 17th, april, 2017. He said will find out what's going on, and call me back in COUPLE MINUTES! I waited until 17:30, and called back to the branch 5 times, nobody answer my phone call. I know the branch will close at 18:00. And this morning (8th, april, 207), I start to call from 10:00am, another 5 times, still nobody answered the phone.
                So I called the sixt customer service on [protected], one of the staff answer the phone, I explain to him again, and he transferred my phone call to another staff who said he is the ireland area manager of sixt car rental. He told me his name is, and he is the Ireland area manager of sixt. I did explain the whole story to him again, he said, they won't give such offers to customer, and won't let customer to sign any contracts or agreements with individuals. I said, I understand, but I did get the offer, and I signed a contract already, that's a little bit confuse me. He said, they don't care about the contract, book it online!

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Sixt Rent A Carreembolso reserva cancelada

                  Es para dejar saber mi sentir ya que hize una reserva en sixt rent a car y efectue la cancelacion en el momento de hacerla y me indican que no hay reembolso alguno de mi dinero ya que es de tres dias y ni tan siquiera ha llegado la fecha de la reserva esto es un soberano robo. No recomiendo sixt por nada del mundo asi que aquellos que no quieran ser robados no reserven con sixt.
                  En ningun momento al hacer la cancelacion indicaba que habia penalidad alguna, si asi hubiese sido no hubiese solicitado dicha cancelacion y hubiese movido la fecha de la reserva

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    RESOLVED

                    The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                    • Sixt's response · Apr 05, 2017

                      Hola Hector,

                      Gracias por tus comentarios. En Sixt, ofrecemos a nuestros clientes la opción de reservar con o sin una cuota de cancelación. Por supuesto, entendemos que situaciones imprevistas surgen, por lo tanto nuestros clientes pueden hacer cambios a su reserva prepaga. Sin embargo, si nuestro cliente elige cancelar su reserva prepagada, entonces la tarifa de cancelación es aplicable. Su confianza en nuestros servicios es importante para nosotros porque deseamos darle la bienvenida de nuevo como un cliente satisfecho.

                      -Paula

                    Sixt.com — sixt kuwait rent a car

                    I have rented a car with Sixt Kuwait Airport Office office on 16 June 2016 for two days. After I returned the...

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Sixt.comcar rental lisbon agreement [protected]

                    On March 11 2017 we, Terrance and Diane McInnis rented the following car in Lisbon, along with Ron and Carol Sweet. When we picked up the car we made your employee look at the car with us and pointed out the small dent in the car which he noted on his papers. When we returned the car to the Lisbon airport we were not allowed into the parking lot but were told by police to give our papers to the employee and proceed to the airport. Then we got a bill for $600 euros for the dent we pointed out two weeks earlier to your employee. No way is this fair and I want you to to reverse this charge immediatly, this is one giant ripoff and only the beginning. I will be posting this on your blog and being in contact with other officials and posting a complaint with Portugal’s Better Business Bureau and Portugal Tourism. How dare you!
                    I await your swift reply to this notice.

                    Terrance McInnis

                    Reading these complaints something smells fishy in Lisbon SIXT.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      RESOLVED

                      The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                      • Sixt's response · Apr 05, 2017

                        Thank you for contacting Sixt.

                        We are sorry to hear of your negative experience with one of our branches and would like to review the matter further. We kindly ask that you have the renter listed on the contract email us directly at [email protected] with a summary of the dispute and the following information:

                        1. Sixt Reservation number (generally, a 10 digit number starting with 98********).
                        2. Sixt Rental Agreement number (generally, a 10 digit number staring with 93********).
                        3. Date of rental pick-up, Main driver's name, and pick-up location.

                        Once received we will further investigate and obtain root of cause for resolution.

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Sixt.comrenting car brand/type that they don't have / never purchased - scam

                      Booked a toyota corolla, for 22 days rental, and when arrived at the airport. The agent mentioned that it is not available and will provide a similar car. Anyway, took another car of a unknown brand and type "creta", with the promise / commitment that they can change when the booked corolla car becomes available. Received the car extremely dirty and the car was lousy drive and cannot use for 20-days. Calling the agent to replace / exchange with my booked car, he just mentioned that they don't have any toyota corolla in their entire fleet and the company never had or bought any toyota corolla.
                      How a rental company sell you contracts for car type that they don't have at all??? This is not just a scam, this a complete fraud. Even customer service don't answer back or response to my change request.

                      Rental agreement [protected]

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        RESOLVED

                        The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                        • Sixt's response · Mar 21, 2017

                          Dear Mr. Morsi,

                          Thank you for contacting Customer Service, US.

                          We value your business and appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.

                          We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and apologize that your request was not completed to your satisfaction. We have escalated this matter to our management team in Kuwait as it still appears you have the rental and have asked that they urgently reach out to you directly to assist with resolving this matter. You should be receiving contact from them directly to either the e-mail or phone number on file soon.

                          Thank you for your understanding and we hope you have a great day.

                          Best regards

                          Sixt
                          Customer Service Department

                          e [email protected]
                          o + [protected]

                          SIXT Rent A Car, LLC
                          P.O. Box 460967
                          Fort Lauderdale, FL [protected]
                          about.sixt.com | sixtcareers.com

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Sixt — unethical behaviour - rental # [protected]

                        Never ever hire a car at Sixt in San Francisco airport. I did this mistake in the beginning of January 2017...

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Sixt Car Rental — unethical behaviour - personal items stolen from vehicle

                        Julia kolodziej grissom Jan 14 (3 days ago), rental: 01/08/2017-01/12/2017 (5 days) Chev traverse u...

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Sixtcar rental

                        I rented a car for two weeks on a road trip and upon return they claimed that this loose piece of plastic that was sort of underneath and behind the bumper was loose and therefore cost 570 dollars to fix. It was a part of the car I never in a million years would have thought to check before renting and even when they pointed it out I couldn't tell that it was even damaged. I also didn't have any incidents on the road that would have caused it. I refused to sign the paperwork admitting guilt and assumed they had dropped it. Then two months later they charged me. Just past the amount of time that my credit card insurance would have covered it (I think this was on purpose so they wouldn't have to deal with the insurance company). These people are total scam artists. Do not rent from them!

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          RESOLVED

                          The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                          • Sixt's response · Jan 20, 2017

                            To whom it may concern,

                            Upon further review of your complaint, our colleagues in Iceland have advised that the damage in question was not previously noted and was observed upon return of the car. At that time it is not that you were informed of the damage but refused to sign any documents. As a result, an authorization was taken from the credit card presented upon arrival and charged after 20 working days as per credit card regulations.

                            Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and giving us the opportunity to review it.

                            Kind regards,
                            Thomas B.
                            Sixt Customer Service Supervisor

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          Sixt.comrental car billing

                          I arrived at the Sixt location twice; the first because I forgot a credit card and only had a debt card to pickup the car; I was informed by the attendant that I would need to go home to get a credit card, in which I did (hour away); the second time I arrived back to the Sixt location, I was told by another attendant that I needed two credit cards regardless if the rental was prepaid.

                          The attendant had told me that the manager just cancelled my rental at 12:00pm, but no one bothered to call me or inform me. I was turned away for not having two credit cards which it does not state on any itinerary. Was billed for a no show because of discrimination.

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            RESOLVED

                            The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

                            • Sixt's response · Jan 04, 2017

                              Dear Customer,

                              Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and giving us the opportunity to review it.

                              We are happy to look into this matter for your and ask that you forward your complaint to us directly at [email protected] along with one of the following information:

                              1. Sixt Reservation number (generally, a 10 digit number starting with 98********).
                              2. Sixt Rental Agreement number (generally, a 10 digit number staring with 93********).
                              3. Date of rental pick-up, Main driver's name, and pick-up location.

                              Once received we will further investigate and obtain root of cause for resolution.

                              Kind regards,
                              Thomas

                            Sixt.com — extra charging from credit card

                            Hi. Reservation no:[protected] Car Plate No: 40-29308 I rented a car through sixt.com and received my car from...

                            IN THE NEWS

                            Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                            If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                            One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                            A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                            ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                            You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                            Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.