The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sears Repair Departmentsears repair department in general

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

A copy of a letter i sent to Sears:

I'm sure this is nothing your company hasn't heard before as I have seen other posts concerning the service department at Sears. I'm sure I will receive a standard "Sears cares about you" reply letter. I called Sears about 2 months ago to fix my squeaky dryer, which cost me $130 to grease a bearing (20 minutes worth of work). I was given the 8 - 12 time slot, he showed up at 2 PM.

So now after 2 months my dryer squeaks again, so I called Sears again, luckily they have a warranty on their service for 90 days (A policy that actually does make sense) but the only timeslot which they guaranteed is 8-5 PM, and even on different days this is all she would offer me.

What in gods name kind of time frame is that! Do you expect people to take entire days off so we can wait around for your repairman to do sub par repairs. You might as well just say the week of March 19th. We can just take vacation and sit around waiting for your half ### service to show up.

I'm done with you Sears, and I will add my story to the thousands of other dissatisfied customers on the web, your stores are dirty, over run with vulture like sales people, and your service department sucks. I just hope when your stock hits rock bottom a good company buys you and turns you into at least something worth dealing with. RIP!

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Sears's response · Apr 21, 2011

    Mr. Timothy Warren,

    First allow me to apologize for the delay in finding this post. I hope you get a chance to see this response and reach out to my team for assistance. My name is Misty and I am with Sears Cares Escalations team. I’m sorry to hear about these issues you’ve had with repair service. I can’t imagine how this situation has come to be this convoluted. From what I read here, we should have done more to identify and resolve this issue for you. You are a valued customer and we want to keep it that way.
    At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this situation. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the garage door opener was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (Timothy Warren) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.


    Thank you,

    Misty H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Apr 25, 2011

    Dear TxFatboy,

    My name is Misty with Sears Cares and I am very concerned about what I have read here. Allow me to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for what happened with the service on your appliance. What you’ve posted here is not acceptable by any Sears standards and we would like to investigate this as well as resolve the issues. I am truly sorry that we have put you in such a frustrating situation and we would like the opportunity to make things right. When we set up a service call, we anticipate that we can get the service tech to your home and the service completed within the time frame we give you. It is our goal to get your appliances to run properly when servicing and to exceed your expectations. Waiting so long for service is not acceptable.
    At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so we can help. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the item (s) was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (TxFatboy) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Misty H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

Responses

  • Ji
    jinkyjoy Oct 23, 2012

    Went into Sears two days ago to look for an article of clothing and could not believe the change in their clothing line. Never have I seen such cheap clothes. I could go to a goodwill store and get much better. The trouble with Sears is they do not have good leadership and it always trickles down. All they had to do to save themselves was hire someone who knows what he/she is doing. People want to shop with Sears but they are driven away by their own stupidity.

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    ry505 Oct 08, 2011

    WOW, after reading all of the above complaints, i dont feel so bad now after waiting all day for the repairman to show up. Today Saturday 10-8-11 i had a repair appointment to have my two month old washer repaired between 8a-12 noon. At 11:45am just 15 mninutes before my appoinment deadline, i called the repair service to notify them of this. I was told that they would have the tech. call me to advise me when he would be arriving at my residence. Well the tech. never called me and @ 4pm i called the repair service again @ [protected] to tell them that the tech. never showed or called. The female on the other end of the line advised me that the tech. came to my home @ 3pm and no-one was here, she also advised me that he tried to call me before arriving and no-one answered the phone. That is all BS because i took off of work today so that i could finally get this piece of junk repaired and finally wash my clothes. I figure that the tech. must have wanted to go home early on a saturday and just claimed that his last appoinments were not home!!! SEARS I AM DONE WITH ALL OF YOUR PRODUCTS, AND WILL HAPPILY PASS THE WORD ON TO ALL OF MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE, Richard Ybarra Albuquerque NM

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelley Lan Aug 13, 2011

    I also have a complaint. I have AHS insurance on my appliances and apparently they contract with Sears. Almost five weeks ago my washer died. I smelled a burning smell. We called AHS and they assured us Sears would call. Three days later we called AHS back and they were astounded Sears hadn't called us back yet. So, they kept us on the line and called Sears. Sears lost the call order or something. They, then scheduled the appointment with AHS on the phone. However we had to wait about a week and a few days. So the guy shows up. The first thing he does is remind me I have to pay the deposit that day and goes down and works on the washer. He comes up and after talking about how hard it was to find the right belt he tells me it is finished. The old belt didn't look bad to me (he had it in his hand). He then mentioned I should fill out a survey on the site to avoid getting phone calls. So, I hurried up and filled out the survey as I work from home and can't get a lot of phone calls. This was a huge mistake. I go downstairs and start of the washer thinking I'll finally get laundry done. It didn't work! The website of course would not let me change my survey answers. We called back and the soonest they could get someone back was the next Friday. The next Friday comes and we get a different guy who, like the first guy, shows up near the end of the time window. He tells us we need a new motor, but it is hard to find because our washer is a Maytag. It has to be mailed. Great! So he says he'll be back next Friday to put it in. It should arrive by then. My husband takes off work Friday to be here. Near the end of the time frame we get a call from a recording service to call back and reschedule our appointment. WE call and they say it has to be rescheduled because we never called them to tell them the part arrived. The repairman never said we had to call. He gave us the time frame he'd be there. They then wanted to schedule us for the next Friday. However, we managed, after complaining a lot to get t hem to come out Tuesday. It's been a month without a washer. If I were not going through AHS I would have called someone else at this point. I would never "choose" Sears as my repair place. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone else.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Len Curry Aug 09, 2011

    m not a happy Sears customer and I think the customer service stinks at the repair location.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nanie Jul 29, 2011

    I will NEVER call Sears for repair service again.

    The Sears Tech tore apart my washer to determine its condition and to see what was to be repaired. He understood the age of the machine and did a complete examination of the parts required. I was under the impression that Sears would "Fix it right the first time" and would "Guarantee their work". As per their websites claim. It does not mention any restrictions on the age of the machine, its model nor any manufactures defects.

    After the Tech fixed my machine the first time, I proceeded to do a full load. I called Sears right away when the water level went bad. I managed to catch it before anything happened. The Tech came over right away, but HE determined it was just the knob. He never did check any further although I asked him to and pointed out what I thought was wrong. Had the Tech really took the time and checked it out properly he would have discovered the pressure switch failed. I wound up with a FLOOD in my home. I am not asking for much. All I wanted was some kind of compensation for my loss. I had to spend 5 days cleaning up the mess on my hands and knees and I am 79 years old...

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jollyreaper77 May 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yeah, Sears is a pretty miserable experience. Extended warranty, we call, it's a six day wait for fixing a dead refrigerator. No problem, it's not cramping our style or anything. Wouldn't be an issue if they weren't making promises they couldn't back up. If they didn't sell an extended warranty, they made no false promises.

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    TxFatboy Apr 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A little less than 2 years ago, my wife and I purchased a Kenmore washer, dryer and refrigerator all in the same day. We purchased Kenmore because my wife read in consumer reports that they were very highly rated. Well, a couple of months ago the washing machine started making an extremely loud noise during the spin cycle. I called sears repair line and scheduled an appointment for them to come out the following saturday between 12 - 4 pm, since we work all week that's the only time we are available. After numerous calls to find out where the tech was, he finally arrived at 5:30 pm. He walked in and looked at the washer, never ran it at all, as I described the noise. He seemed to know exactly what was wrong and stated he needed to replace the drum and outer basket...both were still covered by the warranty from Kenmore. We had agreed to purchase the 1 year warranty when I called the hotline the previous week but it appears we didn't NEED it. I decided to keep the warranty anyway as it might come in handy.
    We scheduled the repair visit for 2 weeks later because we had to wait for parts to arrive at our house, they arrived about 5 days later. The tech said he would schedule the appt. for between 7-11 am on saturday 2 weeks later. The week of the scheduled appt. I got a call stating I needed to schedule an appt. to have the parts installed. They stated the tech never set the appt. and the morning time frame was not available. They scheduled it for 12 - 4. The week of the appt. they called back and said no tech was in my area and I had to reschedule. I scheduled it for the following week between 7-11. The following week they called my on friday to tell me the tech was out sick and I had to reschedule again. They said they could set it for the next saturday but I told them I was going to be out of town that weekend. They then told me it would be 3 weeks before they could schedule it.

    By now I was quite angry and wanted to speak to a supervisor, they said I was speaking to the highest level available. I told them I wanted my extended warranty cancelled and they said if I cancelled it they would cancel the service visit and would NOT fix my washing machine. I tried to explain that it was not being covered by the extended contract but by the original warranty and was told that no it wasn't and I was not allowed to get in word after that. A minute or 2 later "Toshia" hung up on me!

    I will NEVER purchase another Sears product again and advise anyone else to think very hard before doing so themselves!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy Warren Apr 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wasn"t going to waste my time filling out a complaint about sears. I don"t like typing and I don"t like computers. So if you"re reading this then I'm really pissed. For a Chrismas gift in 2010 my brother bought me a garage door opener. I can read and follow directions very well, so when I look at the manual on how to install it, it was a piece of cake. Well getting the piece of crap to work was a different story.I called the "service department" twice they came by and replaced just about every piece on the thing. STILL NOT WORKING. Then I get TWO letters in the mail "Protect your Garage Door Opener against unexpected breakdowns and repair hassles" .It is april 20 2011 my garage door is still being opened manually and I feel like SEARS is saying "hey pay us $47.23 or you"ll continue to open it manully." Just another case of the bully trying to handle the smaller people the way they want. Do like I did and file your complaints so that people can read and judge for themselves how companies like this do everything they can to make a profit without caring about their own service or products. I will never shop at sears again and I'm sorry my brother wasted his money there.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnspain Jan 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My dishwasher quit draining so I called Sears for repair thinking $129 plus parts was reasonable to fix. First problem... I get a call from the service department about 45 minutes into the appointment window period telling me the repair man came to my house, range the doorbell, left a note on the door, and left me a phone message and they were wondering why I wasn't available for the appointment. I notified them no one had been to my house, called me, or left me a note. Finally, two hours late, the repairmen shows up saying he had the "wrong" number. I guess he range the wrong doorbell and left a note on the wrong door (if he is actually telling the truth). Second issue... after 15 minutes, the service man tells me it will cost me $350 to replace the pump. $350!!! Of course I tell him don't do it because I can buy a new dishwasher for that. I was then promptly charged for the $129 service charge. They didn't do anything but give me an estimate of repair. Don't call Sears for repair unless you know for sure you will pay whatever cost they quote you. They do not give FREE estimates. Not only do you have to pay for an estimate, they charge $129 for it. I will not be calling Sears Repair Service again.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Verydipleased Dec 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A week before thanksgiving our stove and oven broke we expected to have the whole family over for thanksgiving between 20-30 people. We found out our warrantee was up one year ago. We never had one issue with the stove and oven. When we called they took till the last min to send someone out; and we had to call 4 times that day just to find out when he was going to be there. He was 2 hours late which made me late for work. He had to order 4 parts 2 we needed 2 we might need and he said he put a rush on it for us knowing how important it was to get it done for the holiday. We spent 270 dollars for the extended warrantee and 55 dollars over the deductible for the parts we may or may not need. The two parts got here the day before thanksgiving but the 2 parts we aren't even sure if we needed. The 2 parts we definitely need still aren’t here and its a week after thanksgiving and we have been eating noting but microwave meals which took a big bite out of our budget and they don’t even have a tracking number for the parts we need this is ridiculous had I known that we weren't going to have it fixed in time for our holiday let alone indefinitely after I would have just taken my money and bought a new stove anywhere on black Friday and been fine by now my grandmother raised me to always trust sears for their products and service and I am so disappointed you can believe I won’t be raising my kids to call on sears.

    0 Votes
  • Dp
    DPrince Oct 14, 2010

    I will never, never ever again purchase anything from Sears and will never buy another extended warranty! Sears does not service what they sell!! Spend your money for large purchases elsewhere!! You would think in today's market they would try to maintain their customers by good service. What a ripoff Sears is- and to think they actually charge to just have a diagnosis visit from a technician who only has to reschedule to actually do the repairs! Consideration of their customer's time and inconvenience is not Sears' priority. They do not care if you take off work or have to to go weeks without use of your product! Every time I have rescheduled with them because a technician could not make it, I only receive a call to reschedule yet again...and it is always weeks away! SEARS SUX!!! They seriously need to be reported to BBB!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Douglas P. Miller Jul 27, 2010

    Sarah Palin was disgusted enough with our Government that she started what is known as the Tea Party. Maybe all of us ripped off disgusted Sears suckers should band together and run this sham of a Company out of businnes. They are not - "Too Big To Fail".

    0 Votes
  • Pb
    PBK Jul 02, 2010

    I have been a Sears customer for over 35 years. I called last Sunday and was scheduled for a repair on my dryer on Thursday, July1st. I did this over the phone thru an automated system. I was shceduled for the 8:00a.m to 12:00p.m. time slot. I had to take a day off of work. They never showed up during that time or called, I called at 1:45, and was told they would have a tech call me with an ETA. He didn't call. I called back at 5:00p.m. and asked to talk to a manager (Mark). he said that would would again ask the Tech to call. I asked if they would still be coming, and he told me yes, that they work until 9:00p.m. No one ever called me the whole day. I called back at 9:00 and was told they punched out for the evening. I was also told that the Tech called and came to my house. That is a total lie. My husband and I were here all day. I have caller ID, and no one called, I also gave them my cell phone number, and no calls on that either. I guess they can just lie, and not do their job and that's fine.. When I was asked if I wanted to reschedule, I could not get aother appointment for another 6 days. This is extremely frustrating! They have lost a loyal Sears customer, and I will tell everyone I know not to go to Sears. I still haven't been called. An added note, If I was to reschedule online, It said I could have someone come out the next day.
    They wanted my Sears charge account number to schedule an appointment for $129.00. When I scheduled over the phone I was told 75.00. Are the ones that schedule online the priority becsue they get more money? I am so dissapointed!

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    MFC - SANTEE CA May 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sears used to be a reputable company with great customer service and great repair personnel. We have always bought our appliances from. Having said that, we bought our Maytag washer and dryer from them. On April 28, 2010 their repair man came out to fix a problem with the washer. He had to order parts to fix the problem and arranged to come back May 12, 2010 to fix the problem. The parts were sent here and arrived 3 days after he ordered them. A new repair man came today and said the parts were not what what was needed to repair the problem and new parts were needed and he would have to order them and I should call them when they came in. So I am looking at another 2 to 3 weeks waiting for repairs on top of the the 3 weeks I have already waited. To add insult to injury this new man had to ask me what was the problem with my washer. He hadn't even reviewed the previous order or what parts had been ordered. It seems to me that Sears has become a joke when it comes to customer service or hiring and training their repair people. Right now I have been trying to get some answers and to complain and have been on hold for 1/2 hour and counting. This is unacceptable. Not only has Sears become a second rate store but their service people and their customer service people are bordering on 3rd rate. Now it is 45 min. and I am still on hold. I believe they do this on purpose so I will just quit and hang up.. Well, I am going to do just that. I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and I am calling the Consumer Protection Agency, etc.

    MFC - Santee CA

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flustered1 Apr 13, 2010

    Sears has very poor customer service...they say they are coming in the morning and don't get there till afternoon or dark! I have called them to repairs 2 times and each time they did not come till much much later then they initially had said. I called them to repair my AC/heater and 4 months later it was broken again...just a coincidence??? Maybe, maybe not. All I know is Sears will not be getting anymore of my business!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nash88 Mar 25, 2010

    SEARS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED INTO JUST HOW WRONG THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS, I CAN NOT BELEIVE THEY ARE EVEN STILL IN BUSINESS!!! I MADE A SERCIVE CALL BECAUSE MY FRIDGE QUIT COOLING SO THEY SENT A GUY OUT THE NEXT DAY WHICH WAS GREAT AND HE PUT A NEW PART IN (SO WE THOUGHT IT WAS NEW PART!) PAID $268.00 HE LEFT AND WE THOUGHT OL GREAT ITS FIXED. WLL, ABOUT 4 DAYS LATER IT STARTED THE SAME THING, QUIT COOLING. i MAKE ANOTHER SERVICE CALL SAYING HEY MAN I NEED SOMEONE TO COME OUT HERE AGAIN CASUE YOU DID NOT FIX MY FRIDGE AND I WANT IT AT NO CHARGE. sEARS COULD NOT GET SOMEONE OUT TO OUR HOUSE UNTIL 5 DAYS, AND THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE. WHAT THE HELL AM I SUPPOSE TO DO WIHTOUT A FRIDGE FOR 5 DAYS, IT WAS JUST CRAZY. I ENDED UP GOING TO AN APLIANCE PARTS STORE CASUE I KINDA KNEW WHAT THE PART WAS THAT IT NEEDED, SO I TOOK THE SO CALLED NEW PART THAT THE SERVICE TECH PUT IN AND TOOK IT TO THE PARTS STORE AND BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE FOR $21.00. GET THIS! THE GUY AT THE PATS STORE SAID, WELL THAT DON;T EVEN LOOK NEW, HE PUT A USED PART IN YOUR FRIDGE. SO I WAS FUMING AT THAT TIME AND PROCEEDED HOME AND FIXED THE DAMN FRIDGE MY SELF FOR $21.00. SO, I CALLED THE 1-800-4MY-HOME AND TOLD THEM I DON'T NEED YOU TO COME, I FIXED IT MYSELF, AND BEING THAT I HAD JSUT SPENT $268.00 FOR NOTHING, I ASKED FOR A REFUND CUASE THE GUY MISDIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AND NEVER FIXED IT. I WAS GIVEN A CASE # AND WAS TOLD, OK WE WILL SEND THIS FOR REVIEW AND LET YOU KNOW WITHIN 24 HOURS WHAT WE CAN DO, 2 DAYS WENT BY AND NOT HEARD ANYTHING SO CALLED AGAIN TALKE TO A DIFFERENT REP. I TOLD THE WHOLE STORY AGAIN AND THAT PERSON SAID THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE NOTES ABOUT THIS BEING REVIEWED, SO HE SUPPOSEDLY TOOK DEON THE NOTES AND SAID OK WE WILL SEND THIS FOR REVIWEW. ANOTHER 2 OR 3 DAYS WENT BY WITH NO WORD, SO I CALLED AGAIN AND TO MY SUPRISE, THAT REP HAD NOTHING IN THE NOTES ABOUT THIS IN REVIEW AND NOTHING ABOUT MY PROBLEM I HAD, SO BY THIS TIME I AM FURIOUS CAUSE THESE SEARS REPS ARE JUST BLOWING ME OFF HOPING I WILL JUST GO AWAY AND NOONE IS INVESTIGATING MY PROBLEM. i AM TOLD ONCE AGAIN FOR THE 3RD TIME "OK SIR WE WILL HELP YOU GET THIS RESOLVED" . i JSUT WANTED AT LEAST HALF MY $ BACK CASUE THE GUY DID NOT FIX MY FRIDGE, THATS ALL I WANTED AND SOMEONE FIANLLY CALLED BACK SAYING THEY WILL ONLY REFUND $60.00. THAT IS NOT ENOUGH, I WAS NOT HAPPY, SEARS ROBBED ME AND WILL NTO MAKE IT RIGHT AND GIVE ME AT LEAST HALF THE MONEY. THEY INSISTED THATS ALL THEY CAN DO. OH AND TO TOP IT OFF, THEY DID NOT EVEN TELL THE SERVICE TECH NOT TO COME TO OUR HOUSE AFTER THAT SECOND CALL WE MADE. HE CALLED ME 5 DAYS LATER AND SAID I AM ON MY WAY TO FIX YOUR FRIDGE AND I SAID WHAT!!! I DON'Y NEED YOU I FIXED IT MYSELF, TALK ABOUT SOME POOR COMMUNICATION FORM THE COSTOMER SERV DEPT!!! SO ANYWAY TO SUM THIS UP IN ONE QUICK SENTENCE "SEARS ROBBED US OF $268.00 AND EVEN PUT A USED PART TRYING TO PASS IT OFF AS A NEW PART AND WOULD NOT MAKE IT RIGHT FOR HARD WORKING MAN TRYING TO MAKE AN HONEST LIVING!!!" HOPE YOU PEOPLE CAN SLEEP AT NIGHT KNOWING JUST HOW MANY HONEST PEOPLE YOU ROB EVERY DAY, BUT DON'T WORRY CAUSE KARMA IS ###!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smarv Mar 22, 2010

    I purchased an extended warranty for all of my Sears appliances. They were quick to collect the monies to cover these warranties; however, they are not quick to fix issues. So far I have had two techs to my home and we are 20 days into my initial contact for them to fix my oven and it still isn't working. The first tech had to order a part (even though the initial appointment couldn't be set until a battery of questions regarding my oven and the problems were covered). I'll admit the first tech was very kind and apologetic (but that doesn't do much for me or cooking for my family). The second one shows up after UPS delivered the parts and stated the wrong part had been shipped. So 20 days later, still no oven and no fix in sight! Sears simply does not value their customers and in my humble opinion do not want my money. I had company here this weekend and was unable to cook for them since I had no oven. To top things off my husband installed a new hot water heater on Sunday and asked me to go online check prices and pick which one I wanted. I choose to go with a model from Lowes that was $80 more expensive to get away from Sears products. I Will NEVER purchase another thing from Sears!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smith nichole Mar 14, 2010

    I have read the complaints that customers have had with Sears, it is very good to see that I am not alone. Sears sucks, retail store sucks. I have purchased a washer and dryer both front loaders from the Kenmore elite line, this ### broke within one year, to top it off I donnot even use the washer and dryer that much, I am a single women with a live in boyfriend, no kids I can count ther number of times I use the washer and dryer in a month. Sears will go out of business, mock my words, no one is ever in the store and the ### that sears trys to pass of as top of the line is bull ###! I will never purchase anything from this ###in place again.The technicians ###in suck, the customer solutions ###in suck and your appliances ###in suck. I have hired a lawyer and contacted the Better Business Bureu regarding Sears, that is the only recommendation I can give to other dissatisfied customers because I am currently in litigation with Sears and currently working in my favor because I am going to get reimbursed for the washer and dryer, return on my 3year warranty each, settlement for pain and suffering and a new washer and dryer. The only downfall that the washer and dryer has to come from sears

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Bassett Jan 30, 2010

    I hate Sears customer service... I called a month ago because my because a part on my Kenmore diswasher wasn't working. We set up an appointment time... but the morning of the appointment... the office called and said the worker called in sick and there was no one to replace him. We rescheduled for today... which is two weeks later... between 8am and noon. The worker hadn't shown up or called at noon. I called the 800 number. I was told the worker was running behind and was only 10 minutes away from my house on another job. An hour and a half later... a very rude tech called and said the worker was gone home for the day due to inclement weather and I would have to reschedule. There is no inclement weather. The weather hasn't changed since he started out this morning until now. This is ###!!! I called back and filed a complaint. I don't think it's going to do any good. The worker is now scheduled to come on Monday. We'll see if he shows up. I am a television news reporter and I think this will make and excellent story. Perhaps with hidden cameras... we can do that in the state of Oklahoma. I don't think Sears is too big to be touched. If you recall in the 90's Sears automotive stores were ripping people off until they got busted on hidden camera. I will never make a major purchase from Sears ever again!!! I will also encourage the people I know to stay away from Sears purchases!!!

    Charles Bassett
    Oklahoma City, OK

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CM2 Jan 06, 2010

    "What in gods name kind of time frame is that! Do you expect people to take entire days off so we can wait around for your repairman to do sub par repairs. You might as well just say the week of March 19th. We can just take vacation and sit around waiting for your half ### service to show up."

    Yes, that's exactly what they expect you to do -- take the entire day off waiting for someone who, in all likelihood, will never show up anyway. Today my wife did exactly that -- she waited an entire day for the service person to show up as scheduled to repair the appliance for which he took our money two weeks ago and supposedly ordered the part. Sears didn't even call to say he wouldn't make it. Instead, nobody showed up.

    Did we call the service number. Yes, but the guy could hardly speak a word of English, and seemed totally baffled by what we were complaining about. Neither could he offer any suggestions on how to proceed. All I know for sure is that they've got our $170 and all we have is a promise from Sears that never materialized.

    SEARS SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norbert Dolabaille Sep 09, 2009

    My complaint is about a tv that I bought on 7/4/08 with an extended warranty, and stopped working on 8/25/09.
    A serviceman has been to my house twice. First he discovered that the power-box had to be changed and that the part would be delivered in a day or two by UPS.
    The part did arrive in a week's time and after making another appointment, the same serviceman returned
    only to discover that another part was bad and had to be ordered. The person making the appointment could
    never give you a reasonable window of time--- it's 8.00 to 5.00, which means that a whole day has to be lost.
    Today, is 9/09/09 and I just called t0 see if a rush was put on my part, only to be told by Mike that the part
    will be arriving on 9/11/09 ( as if I have not had enough problems with 9/11.)
    I would like to add that no paper work was left by the serviceman on his first visit but he did leave me a
    printed paper on the second visit with the model # and serial # of the tv, with no indication of his findings.
    So here I am on my third week without the services of my tv, but as a long time customer of Sears I would
    like to state emphatically that this is the end of the line with them..
    In all my years dealing with Service companies, I have never experienced such callousness displayed by
    anyone. NO MORE SEARS FOR ME! I HOPE CUSTOMERS READING WILL TAKE NOTE.

    0 Votes
  • Ls
    LSabousky Aug 11, 2009

    Sears has def disintegrated since the old days... I have a repair service set for tomorrow and was told that it would be a flat rate of 129.00 for the repairman just to look at the stove.. Mine too, like the other posting, is just an igniter I think... So, now this 10 min job is going to cost me 129.00 plus the part? No more Sears for me... Too bad - they once were a reputable company to deal with...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick in the Valley Jul 04, 2009

    My new Kenmore water heater stopped heating water. After a vveerrrryyy cold shower, and a long time on hold, I was scheduled for four days later. After trying to speak to a supervisor, we have been hung up on rrepeatedly, given to different numbers who referred us back to the original made in india phone center, and never spoke to a supervisor. We were finally told that we weren't ALLOWED to speak to a supervisor. HEY SEARS! YOU JUST LOST ANOTHER CUSTOMER! - signed, "stinky"

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sears Sucks May 23, 2009

    I bought an electric water heater from Sears and bought the "Extended Warranty", My water heater started leaking on Saturday May 16th. We called the "24 hr" service line and the phone lines were screwed up so we had to call at 8:00 am the next day and I was told that the earliest emergency appt. I could get would be on Wed May 20th, I was then told to hold on so the [censored] I was speaking to could make an appt. for someone to come to my home on Mon May 18th. Guess what folks, he couldn't get in touch with the routing dept. so we had to call on that Mon to speak to yet another person---after speaking with 5 DIFFERENT PEOPLE AND A 1/2 HOUR LATER they finally gave me an emergency appt. for WEDNESDAY MAY 20TH I needed to make sure I answered the phone when the repair person called or they would assume I no longer wanted the appointment and the time slot was from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

    The service person got to my house promptly at 12:00 pm I would like to let him know I sincerely appreciate his arrival. Long story short, he called in to order a new Water Heater, we picked it up and installed it ourselves...everything works except for the HOT WATER!!! We then called to have someone come out and take a look at it and were told we had an appt. for the next day, time slot again was 8 to 5. We called at 4:10 pm to confirm that someone was still coming to look at and we were told that "The Technician is in the area he is just running behind schedule but he will call us and be here" We called back at 6:00 pm and after an 1 hour on the phone of talking to numerous people, we were put in touch with the Home Office and then we were told that IN FACT, THERE WAS NO APPOINTMENT FOR US IN THERE COMPUTER. We were told to call first thing the next morning so we did. I spoke with someone named KEVIN and I was told that they could have someone come out to my house on May 29th and that is the earliest appointment because the technician is already over booked but they will squeeze me in on Tuesday May26th. At the end of this phone call they actually said: Thank you for using Sears!!!

    They understand my frustration but will let me go without hot water for 2 weeks

    I will never shop at Sears again and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    jls Apr 21, 2009

    I will never, ever buy another thing from Sears. I just wish I had read these comments prior to purchasing our Oasis washing machine and dryer. The washing machine is a complete piece of garbage, again I purchased it on Consumer Reports' recommendation. Those two must have some kind of deal going. Anyway, we are currently in an ongoing, 5 week game of phone tag to try and get a service repairman to our house somewhere between the hours of 8-5pm. They won't even commit to schedule a time of 1-5pm and just show up. They have to phone first and just once, which in my opinion just gives the repairman another out for skipping the appointment and getting home early if for some reason you can't get to the phone when he makes his single call. Their customer service staff is rude and unhelpful, and generally does nothing more than make me angry. I am completely done with Sears! I am telling anyone and everyone that will listen to NOT BUY FROM SEARS! I sincerely hope they go belly-up and every one of their employees has to get in line at the unemployment office! It is unbelievable to me that in today's economy, Sears does not see the value in good customer service. My only hope is that it will all come around to bite them in the end!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mizzy Apr 13, 2009

    Well people, I certainly can agree and sympathize with all your complaints. I bought a new gas stove and it was installed on time by two very nice technicians on 4-10-09 (Good Friday). While performing my install, the tech noted that my shut-off valve may be bad but he was fixing it. Okay. He did what he had to do, hooked it all up and woohoo! I had a new stove. My Easter ham was thawing, my daughter was going to bake a cake special for us and we were good to go...so we thought. That evening we went out to dinner and came home to a home smelling of gas. So I called the Sears store and they gave me a number to call 1 Source and told me to turn off the gas supply to the stove, which I did and I no longer smell it. I called 1 source who informed me that i was on the work order list and will be called in the morning with a time. I don't really need to tell you how that went because it all happened to me what happened to you all. No one ever showed up. No matter who I called, I couldn't understand them. At one point a guy told me that he had talked to an installer, who was on a job and was 15 mins. from my house and would call and be there within the next two hours. Of course that didn't happen. So when i called to see what had happened to this guy, I couldn't get an answer. Long story short, I had to cancel my Easter dinner for 10 people and I spent most of Saturday arguing and crying over all this. I did get the standard call to reschedule and now I'm wondering if that will happen! So I have a brand new stove sitting in my kitchen that i cannot use. I bought this because of their reputation and my brother-in-law works for Sears and cannot believe what has happened! I will never buy another appliance there. I wish now I would have gone to Best Buy...

    0 Votes
  • Gc
    G. Crisler Mar 12, 2009

    I perchased a kenmore elite refrigerator and the ice maker broke, called sears and got no help. Now the light assemble in side over heated and melted so bad it would of cought on fire. Lucky me i opened the door and found it before it did. Called sears again got nothing but the run around. If this is not on the recall list it should be. Bottom line is
    sears SUCKS and I'll never buy anything from them again.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    hildies Dec 31, 2008

    I am so incredibly mad at these ###s!!! I will never ever purchase anything at sears again!!! NO way! I bought a front loader washer with them in April... well by november the stupid washer was acting up... and then started smelling like something was burning when it was spinning, well on Dec. 22 I called for a service and they did not give me an appt until Dec. 30 well the idiot technician never showed up or called so I called again and they wanted to reschedule for Jan. 8 WTF? what am I suppose to do with all that laundry ughhh..

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Monica Aug 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OH, HOW I AGREE SO MUCH WITH YOU. I HAVE HAD A NIGHTMARE OF AN EXPERIENCE WITH SEARS OVER A NEW REFRIGERATOR. THEY SURE KNOW HOW TO TAKE THE MONEY FROM YOU, BUT BOY WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG, IT IS LIKE A FULL TIME JOB TRYING TO GET IT RESOLVED. I KNOW I WILL NEVER, AND I MEAN NEVER AGAIN BUY ANOTHER APPLIANCE FROM SEARS AGAIN. THE EMPLOYEES ARE NOT CORRECTLY TRAINED ON EVEN TAKING SERVICE ORDERS. I RECIEVE MY NEW FRIG. ON THE 7TH OF AUGUST. AFTER TWO DAYS HAD GONE BY, I REALIZED THE REFRIGERATOR SIDE WAS NOT COOLING PROPERLY. I CALLED TO HAVE SOMEONE COME OUT TWICE AND BOTH TIMES AFTER THE TIME FRAME THAT THEY HAD GIVEN ME WENT BY I CALLED THEM TO SEE WHERE THE TECH WAS BECAUSE NEITHER TIMES DID ANYONE SHOW OR CALL, THEIR ANSWER WAS ON BOTH OCCASIONS, "I'M SORRY MAM, BUT I DON'T SHOW THAT YOU WERE SCHEDULED FOR SOMEONE TO COME OUT." NOW I AM GOING INTO THE THIRD WEEK AND STILL NO TECH. MY FOOD HAS GONE BAD, WHICH THEY DO NOT COVER UNDER A NEW FRIG. WARRANTY, GO FIGURE!! TOMORROW THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO DELIVER A NEW ONE AND THEY SCHEDULED IT TO COME DURING THE TIME THAT I WILL BE AT WORK. I TOLD THE WOMAN ON THE PHONE THAT I DO NOT GET OFF WORK UNTIL 2 PM, BUT WHEN DID SHE SCHEDULE IT FOR, BETWEEN 10:30 A.M. AND 12:30 P.M. SO I CALLED THEM AFTER I RECEIVED THE EVENING CONFIRMATION CALL, WHICH AT LEAST I GOT ONE OF THOSE THIS TIME, SO I KNOW AT LEAST IT IS IN THE SYSTEM, THAT SOMEONE IS SUPPOSE TO COME WITH A NEW REFRIG., MORE THEN WHAT I RECEIVED THE OTHER TIMES, WHEN NO ONE SHOWED UP. ANYWAY, THERE IS SO MUCH MORE TO THIS ISSUE, BUT I AM SO EXHAUSTED FROM FIGHTING THIS NIGHTMARE ALL DAY TODAY, AND I MEAN ALL DAY, THAT ALL I CAN SAY, DON'T GO TO SEARS IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO. I KNOW I WILL NEVER AGAIN BUY ANOTHER APPLIANCE THERE AGAIN. I AM SOOO DONE WITH THEM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Aug 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sears is one of those companies which has the worse customer service.

    We bought a washer from Sears with an extended warranty & paid $100.00 every year for 3 years. We didn't have any problem with the washer for first 2 years but the 3rd year we started having problem with the machine. We called in for repair and they schedule the appointment.

    The tech guy shows up to repair without any parts to repair the washer. (How the #### you go to customer without any repair part) He tells me he has ordered the part which will arrive next week and he made an appointment to come in next week to repair the washer.

    Part took 2 weeks to arrive and when the part arrive i called Sears to confirm that part has been arrived so the technician can come in to repair.

    The Sears customer service told me everything is scheduled on friday and the technician will come in to repair around 1 & 5 pm. The guy never showed up, when i called Sears to confirm whats going on with the technician, they told me they were waiting for part arrival approval (my ###). I called them on monday & approved the arrival & still its not in their system.

    I went thru 5 different Sears customer service agents to fix this issue but everytime these agents told me to hold and hung up, one told me she will transfer me to supervisor & she hung up as well.

    We paid $100 every year. Called them only once in the last year and we recieve ####### nothing from them, the calls ####### transfer to India where those people have no ####### clue what we are talking about & when they realize they can't help you they hang up on you.

    SEARS IS ONE OF THE COMPANIES WHIC HAS THE WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER.

    DONT EVER BUY ANYTHING FROM SEARS

    SPECIALLY THE WARRANTIES, CUZ YOU ARE NOT COVERED EVEN IF YOU PAY EXTRA.

    FRIENDLY ADVICE TO ALL...

    DO NOT BUY EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM SEARS, ITS JUST WASTE OF MONEY. YOU DONT GET ANY SERVICE FROM THEM.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Jul 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today I was once again reminded as to why I hate Sears. I have a Sears Rear Engine Riding Mower Model 502.256220. The drive belt went bad so I went to my local Sears store to get a replacement. As I suspected (because it is ALWAYS this way with anything you buy from Sears). The store does not carry the part. The salesman went online to identify the part number and to order it (something I could have done from home myself). He located the part listed for $10.97, but then went on to tell me that the shipping for the part would be $8.00. The part would arrive at my house by UPS on July 28th (11 days from today). At that time I informed the salesman that was simply unacceptable. I'd have a hay field to mow in 11 days. I will measure the part myself and get a generic belt from Advanced Auto. I truly have had it with SEARS. Your business practices suck and I will not be one bit surpirsed when Sears goes under. As for myself, I will do my part to make that happen by NEVER buying another thing from Sears. The real joke of it all is this quote from the back of the mower service manual. "Your Sears merchandise has added value when you consider Sears has service units nationwide staffed with Sears trained technicians. Sears technicians have the necessary PARTS (really???), tools and equipment to meet Sears pledge, "We Service What We Sell"." It should read "We Sell It, You Buy It, and You're Screwed".

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    "Sorry I bought Sear' Jul 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today I just received "the call, " Yep ... "the call" saying I had to reschedule my mower/tractor repair, for whicih I paid $900 last year in order to cover three more years of constant breakage on this Sear's riding lawn mower. By the time they get here next week ... IF they get here next week ... to finally fix this thing, I will have waited FIVE WEEKS for the repair. This during Missouri's rainy season where our grass and weeds are now taller than I.

    Never again. Never again will I buy from Sear's! Too bad, because prior to this latest fiasco I was looking at very large refrigerators and freezers at our local Sear's store. Why would I ever go back?

    Lowe's, here I come, with money in hand!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeffrey Smythe Jul 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I contracted for a kitchen remodeling job with Sears Home Improvement, 1024 Florida Central Parkway, Longwood FL 32750 and had cracked and defective cabinets installed. My wife discovered the cracks when she was cleaning them and the putty came out of the cracks of two cabinets. I called and complained to Pat Moyer, the salesman, but an obvious deception has been perpetrated here by concealing defects with putty. I am financing $13, 000, $230 a month payments, and find that defective merchandise was installed! This is Sears - and I feel let down and cheated by this! Sear's contractors are an extension of them. These two cabinets will need to be removed, my microwave reinstalled, and this will require my wife and I to be inconvenienced also.

    I will email pictures to anyone who is interested!

    [email protected]

    SEARS of all places!

    Jeff Smythe

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LIED TO TIME & TIME Jun 22, 2008

    WELL FOLKS - IT'S APPARENT SEARS PRESIDENT AND CEO COULD CARE LESS ABOUT OUR
    COMPLAINTS - LISTEN TO MINE. I AM INJURED AND NO ONE AT SEARS 'CAN HELP'

    I purchased a Kenmore Dishwasher and Stove from Sears in Pleasanton, CA. I paid Sears
    for delivery and installation. They were both delivered and installed on June 4, 2008.

    The stove was improperly installed and unuseable for over 6 days!!! They installed it and I
    could NOT EVEN OPEN MY KITCHEN DRAWERS - I had no use of my kitchen and I am on
    a particular diet for my health.

    I am a Senior on Social Security - Disability.

    I have spoken to 37 people at Sears, including the Manager, Suzanne, of the Store.

    No one can help - EVERYONE PASSES THE BUCK. These are the Most Rude and uninformed
    employees I have ever spoken to - in my life.

    You can't reach anyone in Sears Corporate Office - you call there and are connected to
    a so called : "Corporate call center" - a REAL JOKE. They have no authority and offer
    NO HELP. I HAVE 37 names of people I have spoken to and their departments and phone
    numbers. THIS HAS BEEN A LIVING NIGHTMARE FOR ME.

    My foot was INJURED - I have pictures of my severly bruised and swollen foot.
    The stove bottom drawer was NOT INSTALLED AT ALL and when I opened it to put
    my pots inside - IT FELL OUT ON MY FOOT.

    That injury happened on 6/4/08 and it is NOW 6/22/08 and I have received
    ABSOLUTELY NO HELP. I was told I could spend my own money to see a Doctor!!!
    Are you KIDDING!!! I don't have the money to see a Doctor! My foot hurts and is
    still very swollen.

    This gets worse, if, you can believe it. I was referred to a company that Sears contracts with
    to handle their 'incidents.' Get Ready and AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS. THEY ARE
    A FRAUD. They have no authorization to do anything. The company is: SEDGWICK CLAIMS
    MANAGEMENT SERVICES, INC. P. O. BOX 14448, LEXINGTON, KY. 40512.

    First thing they did was send me a Form Letter - with a lie on it. Quote: "they couldn't reach
    me by phone." Strange isn't it - over 30 other Sears employees have called me/returned my
    calls. Believe it or not - one call from Sears trying to sell me a warranty on my stove. Good Grief!
    Anyhoo, back to Sedgwich. I left several messages for a 'claims professional' NO RETURN
    CALLS. FINALLY 4 DAYS LATER, he returns my EMERGENCY CALLS.
    Mr. Aikens, tells me - I have to spend my own money to see a Doctor. Sears will pay.
    I replied, then just settle this claim and send me the pennies you plan on offering me and I
    can use that money to have X-rays done and see a Doctor. I'm sure my toe is broken!
    No, he refused TO DO ANYTHING. He will call the installation department and get back to me.
    That's a real help to me and
    THAT WAS OVER 4 DAYS AGO.

    SOOOOO FOLKS, SEARS COULD CARE LESS - IF THEY CAUSE A SENIOR, DISABLED PERSON
    TO BE WITHOUT THE USE OF HER KITCHEN FOR OVER 6 DAYS AND THE FOOD SHE IS TO
    PREPARE.
    SEARS COULD CARE LESS ABOUT INJURING A SENIOR, DISABLED PERSON - THEY ARE
    OVERJOYED TO REFUSE TO GET ME MEDICAL ATTENTION.

    IN CONCLUSION - WHEN I CAN GET SOME HELP - I WILL GO TO COURT.

    Furthermore:I WILL NOTIFY EVERY SENIOR ORGANIZATION THAT I KNOW OF.
    I WILL CALL RADIO TALK SHOWS AND WARN SENIORS - SEARS WILL NOT RESPECT YOUR
    BUSINESS OR HELP YOU WHEN SOMETHING GOES WRONG. THEY HIDE BEHIND SO
    CALLED : 'CALL CENTERS' staffed by Rude, untrained, and unauthorized personnel.

    I hope this AWFUL NIGHTMARE doesn't happen to President Bruce Johnson's MOTHER
    or Mr. Edward S. Lampert the Chairman's Mother, but then again, maybe, if, it did they
    both would pay attention to Sears Discriminatory Treatment of Seniors and Women.

    I apologize, if, my report is not written well but I get physically sick everytime I think
    of how I have been treated and the unfairness of it.

    PLEASE FOLKS SHOP ELSEWHERE. THANK YOU FOR READING MY COMMENTS.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MICHAEL Jun 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I TOO WILL NEVER SPEND A DIME AT SEARS. WE BOUGHT A STEARNS & FOSTER MATRESS AND BOX SPRING 1 MONTH AGO. INITIALLY THE NEW BOX SPRING HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS WARPED. NOW THE BOX SPRING IS COMING A PART. I HAVE CALLED THE SEARS STORE SEVERAL TIMES AND HAVE GOTTEN NO SATISFACTION. THE SALESMAN AND THE DEPARTMENT MANAGER HAVE NONE NOTHING. TODAY I CALLED THE STORE MANAGER THINKING SHE WOULD HELP. I WAS ASSURED SHE WOULD CALL ME BACK, HOWEVER THAT HASNT HAPPENED. I JUST MAY WRITE A LETTER TO SEARS CORP. BIG COMPANIES LIKE SEARS WONDER WHY THEY ARE HURTING. THIS IS JUST 1 EXAMPLE.
    HAD THEY TAKEN CARE OF ME I WOULD SURELY CONTINUE TO SHOP AT SEARS. AS FAR AS IM CONCERNED IM DONE WITH SEARS!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Flack Jun 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    6/5/08
    Today I called Sears service deptartment to schedule an appointment to repair the shattered glass on the dryer door.
    I was connected to the everlong maze of the telephone numbers game. After trying to answer verbally to the questions, I was always told to punch in the answer using the telephone key pad. Why they don't just do that in the first place I will never understand. After this painful and frustrating process, they announced that I could go on line to make the appointment. Finally I spoke to the agent;
    The dryer is 3 years old. All I was doing was drying towels. The service agent said I could have someone come out on Wednesday between 8am and 5 pm. I said no, I needed a smaller window so he made the appointment for 8am to 1pm. It would cost me $75.00 for the visit plus parts and service. He offered me a special deal of $198.00 for a year warrenty that would cover everything including Wednesday's visit, future parts, service and 100% of any expenses for a year. He wanted my credit card # to make the charge right then, or the offer would not be available for a future appointment. I asked him if he thought I could replace the door myself, and he said I would have to consult the manual.
    I decised to cancel the appointment and asked him for the number to the parts department and he hung up on me. After I suffered through the automated phone service!
    Put out by this, I went to the "online survey" address to take the customer satisfaction survey and be entered for a chance to win a $4, 000.00 Sears shopping card and the on line address did'nt work. The only survey on the Sears site was for the Carpet department. That is how I found this website.
    I will not be using Sears for anything else, EVER. I am fortunate to have gotten off with this warning!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roger A. Wehage May 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    From a Former Sears Customer.

    Eight years ago I purchased a Hotpoint range from Sears for around $375. The oven just stopped working, so I called to schedule a repair visit. I suspected the problem was the oven-igniter, listed as $77.18 on their website. The Bangladesh 800 operator advised me there would be a minimum $65 charge if a service person come out, whether or not I had the oven repaired. I was concerned that the repair cost would be more than the oven was worth. She wouldn't give me an indication of what the cost would be, but assured me that I would receive a $65 rebate coupon if I didn't have the work done.

    The estimate was ridiculous: $245.45 to replace the oven-igniter. They would charge me $104.19 for the $77.18 oven-igniter. And they would charge me $138.00 to remove two screws, disconnect a plug, reconnect a plug, and reinsert two screws. I said NO! and was handed a bill for $65 and a coupon for $65 off on the purchase of a replacement appliance at Sears within two weeks of the service date. That Bangladeshi led me to believe that the rebate coupon would apply to the purchase of a replacement oven-igniter, not a replacement appliance at Sears. I purchased a new oven-igniter for $77.18 at a local Sears Parts Store and replaced it myself.

    Now I'm trying to get my wasted $65 back from Sears. I have been purchasing products from Sears for forty years. I'm in the process of building a new house, and if I don't get back the $65 from Sears, they can be 100% sure that I will never spend another penny at Sears.

    Sears, I DO HAVE CHOICES!

    1 Votes
  • Br
    brenda pigott May 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    well it has been 64 days since i first called about repair on magavox/phillips tv...i have paid at least 2400 dollars in contract service in the past 8 years for this tv plus the price of the tv itself...1800+...i would like to see this fixed or replaced as i think it has been way too long...brenda

    0 Votes
  • K
    k May 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i recently (Jan 07) bought a frig and stove from sears(old one was from 1970) so proud so happy got the extended warranty paid dearly but figured i would be safe. Have called 4 times for service to frig it freezes everything now it makes noise like a freight train still freezes everything missed 4 days of work full days because of the we 'll be there between 8 and 5 not to mention arranging rides for children now the stove- first time i wanted to use warming oven ball bearings shot all over and drawer is stuck all the way out i can not cook i cannot walk i cannot hardly get frig door open or dishwasher because of this drawer sticking out but the soonest they can come is in 3 days again between 8-5 and if i miss call i will have to reschedule and again they will have to look at it and determine they need to order parts and another week and another day of work is gone i have asked for a mediator and claim sheet or whatever to start process of getting a new frig but am very rudely replied to that 90 days has passed what the">0# what about my calls for repair in first 90 days and still no satisfaction what about that expensive extended warranty I am an average housewife struggling i do not deserve this sears promised me the world i feel the salesman should bear the brunt of service calls and go to bat for me but he just hands me their phone and right back to rude speaking representatives
    my husbands father owns several construction companies and i have informed him about this and he is instructing all contractors that work for him to not put any more sears appliances in houses he is building over 850 homes scheduled for next 2 years not what i wanted to do but i cannot recommend sears anymore

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dawn Diener May 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We went to sears the yesterday, bought a lawn mower, took it out of the box, added gas and tried to start it, it wouldn't even attempt to start. The pull cord wouldn't even go past my thigh. Called Sears and they told us to bring it in. We did not that it did us any good they would fix it in 2 weeks, (that will cut my lawn). Fix it I said it never even started to begin with why can't you give me my money back and I'll be on my way. Thats not our policy so they sent it in to FIX something that their trying to blame us for. How could we break something we never even got started... any now it's Saturday and of course there's noone there that can help us.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.