The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sears / Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer Machineterrible company!

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Purchased Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer in April 2007. It is now Jan 08 and I cannot get the washer to work. I purchased Service Contract for washer at Sears and have called in that it is not working. Sears cannot get a service repair person to my home for at least a week. No one seems to want to help with this repair even though we purchased the contract.

Received Alywin Lewis's at Sear's mail address but did not receive an e-mail address. His mail address is: 333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estate, IL 60179.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Sears's response · Mar 07, 2013

    21...SADD, we do apologize for the ongoing issues with your washer. We can understand your disappointment with your washing machine’s performance and would love to help you! With your permission, we would like to connect you with a case manager to investigate and personally work with you to resolve your concerns. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to be concerned by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the items were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (21...SADD) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.
    Thank you,

    Christine R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Mar 05, 2013

    Dear carlitosway,

    Thank you for your update. We appreciate your kind words and we are happy to know your experience with us went well. I will forward your information to your case manager and we thank you again for working with us.

    Thank you,
    Dee M.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Feb 11, 2013

    carlitosway, I saw your post here and I want to apologize for the problems you’ve had with your washer for the last 6 months. We can understand how frustrating it is when something you purchased does not perform as expected. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and it appears we have not met that goal here. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (carlitosway ), phone # used at time of purchase to [email protected] .
    Thank you,
    Dianne D.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Sep 28, 2012

    Dear James_09,
    My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Support Escalations team. We are a single point of contact for escalated issue which means that we handle issues start to finish with one dedicated case manager. We are very sorry that you are having continuing problems with your Kenmore Oasis washer. We understand your frustration with not wanting to repair a washer that will continue to possibly have problems. I know that I would also be concerned with googling this machine and seeing so many remarks similar to mine. We would like to offer our assistance to help you resolve this situation. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done.
    At your convenience please contact our office via email at [email protected] and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (James_09) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
    Thank you,
    Susan R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Sep 28, 2012

    James_09

    My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I saw your comment and wanted to reach out to your on this issue. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down with the repair on your Kenmore Oasis and it is a re-occurring issue. Per our records, I do see that we have received your contact information via email. We have forwarded this information to our Case Management Team and will be in touch with you soon.

    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Support Team

  • Sears's response · Sep 05, 2012

    To: disappointed/washer,
    We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced with your washer. It is our goal at Sears to provide our customers with the highest quality of service, customer service and products that exceed your expectations. This is clearly not the case for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you. My name is Dianne and I work for the Sears Cares Escalations Team and we want you to know we are here for assistance. At your convenience, please contact my office at [email protected] so we can further discuss your concerns. Please provide a contact number and the phone number the washer was purchased under and we will call you at your convenience. In addition, please include the screen name (disappointed/washer) that was used to post here in your email so we can reference to your issue.
    Thank you,
    Dianne D..
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Mar 19, 2012

    Dear Roninson,

    We have just come across your post and we would like to apologize for the multiple repairs you have encountered with your Kenmore Elite Oasis. We understand your time is valuable and having to continually put aside time for repairs can be frustrating. My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I would like one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and look into this. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your Kenmore Elite Oasis was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name Roninson for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    Stephanie L.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · Nov 02, 2011

    To R and J,

    I'm sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with your washer. I can certainly understand your concern with a pricy repair bill and your desire to have a less complicated machine. We do value your business with Sears and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns and to ensure you faith in our products. My name is James and I’m part of the Sears Cares Escalations team. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (R and J) for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    James H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Sears's response · May 19, 2011

    To JPSMITH,
    I saw your comment here and I wanted to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for the difficulties that have occurred with your washer. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. We would very much like to speak with you regarding your washer and make sure everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.
    My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (JPSMITH) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
    Thank you,
    Laura D.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

Responses

  • Jo
    Joel palatnick Nov 13, 2020

    I want to cancel my subscription for a water filter Kenmore My name is joel Palatnick
    [email protected] Com I can’t find your phone number to call please advise

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franklin45 Jul 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also hate my Oasis Elite washer. It does not get my clothes clean.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    %Jm1965 Apr 28, 2016

    The Kenmore Elite is a pile of garbage and a waste of money. Kenmore who is owned by Sears should be held responsible for this fraud they call the Oasis Elite. It's time for Sears/Kenmore to be put out of business. Even if there's a class action lawsuit, nothing will happen. They might be forced by the court to hand out a low value voucher for a new washer and dryer but that will not change anything. The best way this should be fought is for us as consumers never shop at Sears again and tell our friends. Hit them right where it counts, in their wallet!. So get on social media and Yelp to combat this travesty.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danny Turner Mar 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sears is poo poo

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danny Turner Mar 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    died! not even 3 years old!!! repairman says the "control computer " is bad, , , , and it costs $329---the whole machine was only $349!!!
    Kenmore used to be a good and trusted name in appliances...not any more.. ...IT IS JUNK!!! AND... I'm out an additional $100 for the repairman!
    It is the last Kenmore ANYTHING that i will buy.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John R Kronenberger Nov 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issues and agree with all comments above. Several service callsand no permanent resolution. The operating buttons still require multiple pushes, its to the point a screw driver is required. Solution: we are dumping this "Elite" POS today and buying a Samsung - larger capacity, better warranty, and on SALE.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RollTideTN Dec 28, 2014

    I have been having the dreaded F51 error on my Oasis HE washer. I have had the control board replaced years ago under recall/warranty (but that was not the source of the problem). I have replaced the tub suspension rods (which seemed to fix the problem for a while). But today I think I've found the source - the rotor position sensor connector was not making complete contact. Thanks to a comment by "amadon" from 2007 on the "fixya" site it is working now (1 small and 2 very large loads all back-to-back without a single error! - the load before the fix got 25-30 errors). "amadon"s comment was: "Disconnect three prong rotor position sensor harness located under machine clean connectors crimp harness to fit tighter and it should fix problem if not then replace control board i am a sears tech and i see about 5 a week 90% of time its a loose connection to rotor position sensor" - I CRIMPED the connection (be careful it is plastic) and everything is now good!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maureen Hamilton Feb 17, 2014

    We purchased a Kenmore Oasis washer and dryer in 2009. problems with the washer (F1 error) started in 2013. I found the recall letter regarding the control board online but did not receive one myself. I called Sears who asked me to forward said letter to them so they did authorize free replacement of control board which was installed two weeks ago. February 14, 2014 the machine started to pump out water from the back or underneath the machine flooding my laundry room, kitchen and bathroom. I now have an expensive insurance claim and my house full of machinery from the restoration company trying to dry out the three rooms after which floors will have to be replaced and walls repaired. If there is a class action lawsuit in Canada could someone let me know? Why was this machine still being sold after all the problems were reported?
    Maureen Hamilton
    BC, Canada

    0 Votes
  • Ls
    lsk1 Jan 17, 2014

    We purchased our Oasis washer in 2007 and it's been a nightmare. Within a year we started having problems so we called Sears. I was told they would replace the panel at no cost to us. The repairman came out, took everything apart, called someone, then told me that it would cost $145.00. I called Sears and was told that he would put the old part back in and leave if I didn't pay. What choice did I have? Within 2 months the same thing started happening. (Everything everyone is talking about here). We've been dealing with it since. Whoever got the choice of choosing another washer consider yourself lucky. We haven't bought from Sears since and never will again. We should have just burned the $800.00 the washer cost us in our wood stove, it would have gone further. Sears obviously isn't the store it used to be.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    LLHouse Oct 29, 2013

    Our oasis washer is only 2 years old but last night it repeatedly turned on by itself and gave us all sorts of error codes including c1. The basin started filling up with water all on its own. We had to run a drain and spin cycle to get the water out and then we just unplugged the machine. I'm afraid to use it now because I don't know if it's capable of functioning normally now.

    0 Votes
  • So
    So-Overwhelmed Apr 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are totally dissatisfied with our purchase of the Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer and Dryer that we bought from Sears in 2007. The machines do not stand up to the standards or quality that Sears made them out to be. We are totally surprised that "Kenmore" would construct such faulty machines and that Sears would sell them. We have always has faith in Kenmore products in the past and have always supported same. We have also always loved Sears products and had much faith there also. The Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer and Dryer have been a horror story in our house. This was a dreaded nightmare to have purchased these items. We purchased the extended warranty in the beginning and have since purchased 2 additional extended warranties to no avail. Between the "UL", F1, and F51 codes we don't know what to do. This has been a constant issue with the washer since we've had it and the dryer doesn't dry the clothes so we end up having to hang clothes all over the house to dry. We have also had to spend countless hours and tons of money that we don't have washing at a local laundry spot which takes up all of our time for a family of 5. This is quite shameful of Sears and Kenmore to advertise such machines that they know do not work. Research show a tremendous amount of complaints on these systems and that they have faulty bearings that should have been recalled to Sears never did do a recall from what we've read. If there is anyone out there that can point us in the right direction to get some relief from these heartaches we would be forever grateful. Please HELP us...we are so overwhelmed. We just want a washer and dryer that works Please!! Thank you. So-Overwhelmed

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carlitosway Mar 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just want to say I think Sears is a great company. When I purchased the Oasis washer and drier set I did so because the manufacturer of these is actually Whirlpool...yes, that's right, they were made by Whirlpool and sold under the Sears Kenmore brand. And yet, when the washer broke less than 5 years later it was Sears that stepped up to the plate and offered a discount on a new washer of my choosing, or a discount on repairs. Nevertheless, the manufacturer is Whirlpool, which has always gathered great attention based on the quality of their products and reliability. Hope we remember that before choosing to shop at Sears again as I've always felt they sell great products at great prices. Plus, it's a classic American company that's been around for many years. I hope they don't get replaced with some company from communist China... Buy products Made in America, for our Country's sake, please. Thanks for reading my rant.

    0 Votes
  • 21
    21...SADD Mar 02, 2013

    It should put enough water on the clothes that they get wet...Also the rotten egg smell at start up is crazy stupid...Has damaged many clothes by twisting everything into a ball of mess...Actually has put black stuff on some clothes while in the wash...Yes, the clean machine cycle has been used many times...this machine is just a lemon and we should get some help on this...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carlitosway Feb 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As much as I like Sears, it's too hard to ignore all the negative comments. I too have a Kenmore Elite Oasis washer/dryer that I purchased in 2007 and have been having problems with the washer for the last 6 months. I've also been getting the dreaded F1 error code but have found a way to get around it. I was told it had to do with a water temperature sensor so I simply turn the hot water on in the faucet and once the hot water begins to pour, I start the washer. Usually it only takes several tries as opposed to the dozen or so tries required when I don't do this. Oh well, guess Sears won't be getting my business on the next washer I purchase because karma. However, I still am very happy with all the tools and great deals I got on them. Kenmore on the other hand, I don't think so...

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Unhappy100 Jan 24, 2013

    Purchased an Oasis Washer in 2008. Having many of the same problems discussed here including clothes not getting clean, smelly clothes, and now the spin cycle is so loud you can't hear anything when it's spinning. Done with this hunk of junk, going back to the old style washer. Sears should stand behind their product and recall these pieces of ...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    c&p Jan 05, 2013

    We purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis in May of 2007, and have had problems with it . We are getting the error code F1 . I was told there was a recall on it but is being covered under what they call a upgraded at not cost . I made a call today @ [protected] and spoke with a rep, she took all my information and I explained the issue, she told me I no longer have the extended warranty and there is nothing she can do, however she gave me a couple of websites to go to troubleshoot the issue . I explained I was very disappointed with this washer, and the set was not cheap and at the time I thought I was buying top of the line . If there are so many problems with these washers then why isn't something being done ? I am now at the point of do I put more money into this washer or do I purchase a new one . If the decision is made to purchase another washer it won't be a Kenmore . And I will think twice before I purchase anymore appliances from sears . Had I read reviews on this set I would never have purchased it . But I will do reviews next time . When you are spending that kind of money you need to make sure you are getting what you paid for . Very Disappointed !

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judith Davis Dec 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the Oasis set in 2009 plus paid dearly for the extended warranty. Just made my third call for a dryer repair. Could have called several times prior but I stood there waiting for the clothes to dry and manually opening the door after pushing the "stop" button. The time would go from the original setting of 48 minutes and go as high as 93 minutes...never to come back down even though the clothes were DRY!
    Had had no trouble with the washer until today. Could not get it to stay set on "normal". For the price I paid, I could & should rightfully expect better service. Called for repair and a tech will be here in 2 days. All well and good; however, I want rid of these lemons. Feel that some restitution should be forthcoming. We will see but I will be an EX-SEARS CUSTOMER if something isn't done. Judith Davis

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susan zezzo Nov 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    all these complaints, what if anything can we do? my oasis is dispensing rust on my clothes from the blistering on the drum, it is only 3 years old [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James_09 Sep 27, 2012

    This is terrible. I am now running into the same issues. I have a Kenmore Oasis washer and I am also getting these L1 codes. The washer itself smells. I bought this unit back in 2007. Now they are wanting me to pay an arm and a leg for a repair. I would not have a problem paying for it, but this is a reoccurring issue with so many people. I do not want to have to pay for a repair that will only fix the equipment temporarily. I do not want to pay for a reoccurring issue. If I was the only one or even a few people having this issue, I would pay. But when you can sit there and google this machine and on the first page you start seeing the how to repair, class action lawsuit, and low ratings, then there is a bigger issue than just a few machines breaking down. I have talked to so many people from India today, I am about done with Sears. Have a hard time understanding them and it makes it even more frustrating when they can not help you. Plus it is pretty bad when their own sales people can tell you about the issues with that type of machine. When is Sears going to own up to the fact that they have sold a defective product.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disapponted Aug 30, 2012

    My husband and I purchased the Kenmore Oasis Elite Quietpak4 several years ago and we absolutely hate the washer. It can't any load of any size . . . I have to wash my sheets separately . . top sheet and maybe the pillow cases and then the bottom fitted sheet separately. Even by doing this the machine sounds like it is going to go through the laundry room wall!!! I've never heard such noise. I absolutely hate the machine. It takes the least thing to make it get off balance and I'm constantly having to run to the laundry room to reposition the load. It will twist a sheet until it is almost impossible to straighten it out. And some loads it looks like a big mushroom when I open the lid. I never feel my clothes are clean. I am 65 years old and I've had Sears products all of my 45 years of marriage and I've never had a washer as much of a lemon as this one!!! I cannot believe the Sears has fallen this low to sell a washer as bad as this. I just wonder how many of these have been sold to people! My husband and I went to the store where we purchased ours with pictures shortly after we bought it and the sales people there didn't seem to care and made every excuse they could.

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cdcleer Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOW, I am having almost all the same problems. The F1, ordered a new board for $200.00. Replaced it and the F1 went away. Now the Sd code, so we followed a technicians directions by pouring half a a gallon of vinegar through a wash cycle and now it stops at 12 minutes and not completing spins out. When it slows down to stop it sounds like your downshifting. We have spent too much money already. It is gonna cost $130.00 for a sears technician to come out, not including any more parts its needs. I will never spend another dime at Sears again. My next machine will be an LG which rates very well and is only $750.00, not $1000.00 like we spent for this one that only lasted over 4 years. Very Very disappointed with this company and products.

    0 Votes
  • Hk
    HKDollar Jul 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with you all. These machines are GARBAGE and the Sears Customer Service is WORSE!!! I bought the Kenmore Oasis HE washer and matching dryer in 2007 and started having problems with the machine (UL error) since 2011. Since my machine is not on the recall list, although from these reviews it sounds like it should be, Sears will not repair the machine nor provide the parts for it to be repaired. I would not recommend this machine nor any other appliance from Sears to anyone!

    0 Votes
  • El
    ElementsofLife_1982 Jun 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, I am having the same EXACT issue just like everyone else!!! I had a technician came to our house Dec' 11 to replace a part. Then now I am receiving a F1 error message. I have to keep hit cancel then start...cancel then start...cancel...the start...I guess you get the point. Now a new error message appears right before the rinse/spin cycle. The washer machine also tears my towels and clothing. I would suggest to anyone please do not by Kenmore Elite Oasis washer machine. The Sears Customer Care Dept. is no help; they can help you become more frustrated. Finally, I called Sears Customer Relations Dept. a tech. is coming to diagnosed my washer machine. The Customer Relations Dept. also waived my service charge fee.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    durrer6 Jun 02, 2012

    wow!! Just woke up to water everywhere. Bottom of washer is leaking. have replaced the board, balance rods etc. why don't they make washers like they used to. Sears used to have quality washer now they are junk!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roninson Mar 18, 2012

    Hi we bought Kenmore Elite Oasis he in 2007 it is now 2012 and I have had every part of this machine fixed twice every 6 monthes I have to a servece man in these machines are crap.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    R and J Oct 28, 2011

    Our Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer is losing its mind, not completing wash cycles. We dread the potential repair bill. We'd like to buy a simple old-school mechanically controlled washer -- enough with the flimsy electronic controls!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeffff Aug 31, 2011

    this is a new low for sears this is our 2nd hunk of junk from them now this one has more problems then the first but this is were the story gets good I called them on 8/29/11 and they told me to put extended warranty on it so like a dummy I did then they came out to look at it and sais they could not get parts for it anylonger and it was junk and no refund on the new warranty.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cadamson Aug 30, 2011

    This is the response I got after going through BBB for my Sears Kenmore washer.
    Dear Ms. Virghes:
    We have completed our investigation of Ms. Adamson's complaint regarding her washer. The reality exists that no matter how high the quality is on the items we sell, the potential always exists for a product to fail. We also understand how frustrating this can be to a consumer, especially after the manufacturer's warranty has expired and covered repairs are not an option. This industry wide lack of coverage after one year is one of the main reasons we, like most other retailers, offer all of our customers the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty. It is always the customer's choice on whether they would like the peace of mind that would come with having an extended warranty.
    Ms. Adamson purchased her washer on June 9, 2007, which had a one-year manufacturer's warranty for parts and labor. In March of 2008, we notified customers who purchased Kenmore branded Oasis washer that they may be eligible for free, upgraded control board which featured new software designed to improve the washer's spin performance. At no time has the manufacturer or the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission issued a recall of the Kenmore Oasis washer. Based on the model number and serial number of Ms. Adamson's washer, it does not qualify for a free repair since the serial number was not recorded within the specified range. This means that the washer had already received the upgraded control board and it is likely why Ms. Adamson did not receive a direct communication from Sears in 2008. Ms. Adamson has been financially responsible for the maintenance and repair of her washer since June 9, 2008, and therefore, we are unable to reimburse her incurred repair costs.
    We apologize to Ms. Adamson on behalf of Sears Holdings Corporation and we appreciate the opportunity to review this issue. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or concerns.
    Sincerely,
    Leslie Daley
    Regulatory Complaint Specialist
    Sears Holdings Corporation
    [protected] x 87742
    [protected] direct
    [email protected]
    The reality exists that no matter how high the quality is on the items we sell, the potential always exists for a product to fail...????? Seriously??? SEARS have you been on this website...? Have you check out the other 10 to 12 that are dedicated to this problem???

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Preet007 Jun 25, 2011

    I agree with the above complaints about this Kenmore Oasis Washer. I bought this in May 2006 and have all the above problems including the LF(low flow), UL(uneven load), F1, F51. The recall number is a joke too. The part is only warrantied for 9o days. I have had the control motor assembly unit replaced 2 times within 28 months. That's too soon! The inside of the machine is rusted. The rust showed up within 2yrs. Pretty bad craftsmanship, flawed mechanics, buggy motherboards. It's going to the dumpster as soon as I purchase a new washer from Lowe's. I'm going with the Whirlpool or GE brand this time.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    ReginaMar Jun 10, 2011

    Three years old and this is the first time I've had trouble, but it's big trouble. Of course my service contract recently expired and the warantee doesn't seem to cover anything. Sears used to be good about this and let you buy a new service contract at the time you needed service, but no more. Now they're as useless as everyone else...waited a week for someone to come out to even look at it and I am told it will be two weeks before he's back with the parts and it will cost almost $400 to repair. This was not a cheap machine. Add the cost of the expired service contract and the $400 repair and I could've bought 3 regular washers. I am very disappointed in Sears and this appliance. I won't be buying Kenmore ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    JPSMITH May 19, 2011

    The Sears Oasis Elite Washer is terrible! It's Energy efficient because you can't run it! It's been out of service for 4 weeks, again! This happens once a year. It takes two weeks before any service repair person will come to the house - then they diagnose the problem and order parts. A new technician shows up, diagnoses another problem orders more parts. Wait two more weeks for service - Still no washer. When I call the 800# I get the usual, "I am sorry, mam. I understand, Mam. Is there anything else I can help you with Mam?" DO NOT PURCHASE THIS WASHER, OR ANY WASHER FROM SEARS!

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmrobinson Apr 27, 2011

    I was just trying to research about how much is will cost to replace the computer in the same Kenmore Oasis Elite Washer Machine, that I bought in 2006 for all of the same reasons everyone else did. Energy /water savings, quiet system, large machine. To only end up with purchasing the warranty for 3-years that I never had to use, until after it was over. Called for a service call - paid around 150.00 for that. Now, 1 -ydar later, not under warranty anymore - the computer system is out. I use to really like my machine - but owning a washer machine should not be this expensive. My mom has had the same washer for over 10-years with no service calls needed. I spent well over $1K for a machine with warranties and all and just spent my Sunday after noon in the laundry mat washing. Yes a law suit is in order. I have my receipt and I now need to have someone come and remove the machine - that will not turn on - since the computer system is out, and is smelling badly - since there is water left that has not drained out. Truly a nightmare! This machine needs to be recalled.

    0 Votes
  • De
    denchris1210 Mar 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis top loader on July 30 2006. Have not had one single problem (thankfully) until about 4 months ago when every single load of laundry would go unbalanced and it would give the UL code. I would stand there and babysit the washer to make sure it would finish the cycle so the clothes could finally go in the dryer. My husband and I did a rinse/spin cycle without anything in the washer. The washer was COMPLETELY EMPTY and yet the drum started rattling and shaking all over the place and started beeping...there's that UL code again..COMPLETELY EMPTY. We've checked to make sure the balancing rods are still all in one piece since this damn thing sounds like its coming through the wall at times, yep they're fine. The washer is 100% level. The washer has gotten progressively worse throughout the last few weeks. The load that just came out of the washer has taken 2 days this time. I get so excited when I see that little green light lit that says clothes clean I think I'm starting to lose my mind...I came across this website and someone posted the 1-800 recall number. We never received ANY notification from Sears that these machines were under recall. So a few hours ago I called the number and found out that the washer is in fact part of the recall and they are sending out an "upgraded control panel" that I should have within the next 3-5 days. Then I have to call back and let them know I received it and schedule a repair tech to come out to install it. After reading all these posts with all the problems others have had with this machine I am thankful mine has been fine up until recently, however if this "upgraded control panel" doesn't fix the problem, I will be taking a sledgehammer to this washing machine I paid $1500 for.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Prosperity 2011 Mar 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had the same problem, ordered the part from the Sears # AND made the labor arrangement through another phone # provided. I do not have time to find my original post but it was about 3 months ago under prosperity.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smartmatt Mar 15, 2011

    I agree with all of the complaints against Kenmore. I have a Kenmore Oasis Elite washer and dryer. When my wife and I moved into our home the machines were already there and were pretty new. For the past several months we have been getting the F1 error which from what I found out is a bad control board. I read on forums that my model # and serial # should be covered under the Kenmore recall as they found these machines to have defective control boards. After speaking with someone from Kenmore I found out that my machine was not included in the recall for this board and there was nothing they can do for me. I then tried calling Sears Customer Care and they agreed to send a tech to our house to see what the problem was. After the tech checked out our machine and looked in his computer under our model # and serial # he also researched the control board # and found that there was a recall from Kenmore on this part. The tech proceeded to fix our machine by replacing the control board free of charge for the part but Sears still insisted on getting paid the $129 labor and travel fees. I always thought in this country when there is a recall on a product like a car that the consumer doesn't pay for labor when the company finds that a part in a machine they sell is materially defective. Unless I am mistaken Sears should stand behind what they sell and not charge customers for a service that should plainly be free. Any ideas on how to get back the $129 I paid out to the service company?

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Art Hagen Mar 11, 2011

    Its obvious the Oasis Washing machine is not a good product. Our machine was purchased in March, 2006. In January 2008 the first problem was a bad bleach dispenser that had to be replaced.
    In February 2008 the hinge on the lid broke.
    In January 2009 we started having problems with the machine going off balance. Service man said we were putting the cloths in wrong, one of the stupidest statements I have ever heard. The service man ran the machine without any problem.
    Since then it is a very rare time when the machine will go through a complete cycle without shaking to the point of jumping several inches and shutting down during the spin cycle, knotting the cloths into a tight ball, failure to dispense the appropriate product, etc.. I will not call for service again, the next step will be a trip to the junk yard with it. I will not purchase any more appliances from Sears in the future. Period.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alanmoote Mar 09, 2011

    Our Kenmore Elite Oasis displays the UL code prior to going to the Spin Cycle on almost every load. The machine is perfectly level and the loads are distributed evenly. From reading the comments posted on several forums it looks like we bought an expensive bad machine and are stuck with it. I checked the recall number and our m, achine doesn't qualify.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    raymond riley Feb 14, 2011

    Purchased machine in 2007 and still having problems. I'm better off getting another machine. My warranties are up and I'm having the same problems and the washing machine can never be fixed.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    kurt_30 Feb 09, 2011

    WARNING! DO NOT STAY IN LAUNDRY AREA WHILE IN SPIN CYCLE- OUR MACHINE TORQUED ITSELF APART! We bought the machine in 2006 and had periodic beeps when not using it. I never saw any error codes but the pump would run on it's own when the lid was up and the machine was turned off.
    On it's final run (one set of queen sheets) it was in a spin cycle (I called it the wrinkle cycle) the thing EXPLODED. The sides are blown outward, the plastic tub is in shreds ant the entire top of the machine (control panel and all) were sitting on my dryer. It also managed to tear a hole in my drywall during it's death throes! If someone had been near it they could have been killed. There was no warning of unbalanced load or anything.
    Of course we are having the same run around since we didn't buy a maintenance agreement. After explaining the seriousness of the failure they have graciously agreed to send a tech out to 'repair' our machine and have sent us a control board. We told them that a new control board wouldn't quite do the job but our situation doesn't fit into their flowchart of denial of service. The repair guy comes tomorrow and I can't wait to see his face on this one.
    I hope Sears takes this problem seriously. If someone gets hurt or killed by these time bombs Sears will go down in flames a lot quicker. If any attorneys want some supporting doucments and a blown up machine for a case- I've got one available.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wanted clean clothes Feb 07, 2011

    I have had nothing but DISAPPOINTMENT with the Kenmore Elite Oasis washer and the dryer. Do not buy these machines. We've had service here who can't do anything to correct the problems. It's "just the way the machines are made."
    1) Clothes, especially sheets, come out so tangled, I spend several minutes trying to get them out of the machine and untangled
    2) I can't wash anything on the warm cycle. Water comes out either hot or cold, so in order to get warm water, I have to run back to the machine as its filling and change the temp setting to hot.
    3) The washer is very hard on clothes. I've experienced ruined clothing and towels.
    4) the dryer wads everything into a ball. My clothes come out so wrinkled and/or still wet in the middle of the ball.
    Energy efficiency is a joke. I end up re-washing and re-drying loads of clothes.
    In 30+ years of doing laundry, I've never had such laundry problems. If I hadn't paid way too much for these machines, I'd drop them out on my curb for the garbage collector. I couldn't in good conscience re-sell them to anyone by listing in the want ads.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.