SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Sears / Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer Machineterrible company!

5

Purchased Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer in April 2007. It is now Jan 08 and I cannot get the washer to work. I purchased Service Contract for washer at Sears and have called in that it is not working. Sears cannot get a service repair person to my home for at least a week. No one seems to want to help with this repair even though we purchased the contract.

Received Alywin Lewis's at Sear's mail address but did not receive an e-mail address. His mail address is: 333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estate, IL 60179.

  • Updated by SearsCare · May 19, 2011

    To JPSMITH,
    I saw your comment here and I wanted to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for the difficulties that have occurred with your washer. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. We would very much like to speak with you regarding your washer and make sure everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.
    My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (JPSMITH) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
    Thank you,
    Laura D.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Nov 02, 2011

    To R and J,

    I'm sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with your washer. I can certainly understand your concern with a pricy repair bill and your desire to have a less complicated machine. We do value your business with Sears and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns and to ensure you faith in our products. My name is James and I’m part of the Sears Cares Escalations team. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [email protected] In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (R and J) for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    James H.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Mar 19, 2012

    Dear Roninson,

    We have just come across your post and we would like to apologize for the multiple repairs you have encountered with your Kenmore Elite Oasis. We understand your time is valuable and having to continually put aside time for repairs can be frustrating. My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I would like one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and look into this. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your Kenmore Elite Oasis was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name Roninson for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    Stephanie L.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Sep 05, 2012

    To: disappointed/washer,
    We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced with your washer. It is our goal at Sears to provide our customers with the highest quality of service, customer service and products that exceed your expectations. This is clearly not the case for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you. My name is Dianne and I work for the Sears Cares Escalations Team and we want you to know we are here for assistance. At your convenience, please contact my office at [email protected] so we can further discuss your concerns. Please provide a contact number and the phone number the washer was purchased under and we will call you at your convenience. In addition, please include the screen name (disappointed/washer) that was used to post here in your email so we can reference to your issue.
    Thank you,
    Dianne D..
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Sep 28, 2012

    James_09

    My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I saw your comment and wanted to reach out to your on this issue. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down with the repair on your Kenmore Oasis and it is a re-occurring issue. Per our records, I do see that we have received your contact information via email. We have forwarded this information to our Case Management Team and will be in touch with you soon.

    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Support Team

  • Updated by SearsCare · Sep 28, 2012

    Dear James_09,
    My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Support Escalations team. We are a single point of contact for escalated issue which means that we handle issues start to finish with one dedicated case manager. We are very sorry that you are having continuing problems with your Kenmore Oasis washer. We understand your frustration with not wanting to repair a washer that will continue to possibly have problems. I know that I would also be concerned with googling this machine and seeing so many remarks similar to mine. We would like to offer our assistance to help you resolve this situation. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done.
    At your convenience please contact our office via email at [email protected] and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (James_09) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
    Thank you,
    Susan R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Feb 11, 2013

    carlitosway, I saw your post here and I want to apologize for the problems you’ve had with your washer for the last 6 months. We can understand how frustrating it is when something you purchased does not perform as expected. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and it appears we have not met that goal here. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (carlitosway ), phone # used at time of purchase to [email protected] .
    Thank you,
    Dianne D.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Mar 05, 2013

    Dear carlitosway,

    Thank you for your update. We appreciate your kind words and we are happy to know your experience with us went well. I will forward your information to your case manager and we thank you again for working with us.

    Thank you,
    Dee M.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Updated by SearsCare · Mar 07, 2013

    21...SADD, we do apologize for the ongoing issues with your washer. We can understand your disappointment with your washing machine’s performance and would love to help you! With your permission, we would like to connect you with a case manager to investigate and personally work with you to resolve your concerns. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [email protected] so you don’t have to be concerned by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the items were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (21...SADD) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.
    Thank you,

    Christine R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

Responses

  • Vi
    Vincent J. Feconda Jan 19, 2008

    I have the same washer with the same problems. It bunches all the cloths in a ball and shoots the water out onto the floor. I have had the repairmen out 3 x and they are comming out again on the 29 of january. All they tell me is to lighten the loads and only put one sheet in at a time.

    Also this washer has ripped my cloths, sheets and towels and has stained the others. They had to replace the fabric dispenser and the transmission and I've only had this washer for 4 or 5 months.

    IT'S A PIECE OF CRAP! DON'T BUY IT! THE WARRANTIES ARE USELESS!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nirit Swerdloff Jan 23, 2008

    Having problems with a 2 year old Calypso model. Sears wants to send someone in 10 days, and then they will probably need to order parts. I am cancelling my warranty (they will refund a portion of the warranty contract) and getting my own repair person. Hope I don't need a new machine. Sears warranty is useless.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelley Smith Jan 23, 2008

    We purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer in March of 2006 with the extended warranty. Within 6 months, we had repair people out at least twice. The washer would not drain. Sears sent the same repairman each time. He told us the first time he had not been trained on this washer since they were fairly new. He spent his time on the computer and with a cell phone glued to his ear getting advice on how to fix the washer. Both times, he ended up ordering parts and told us to call to schedule an appt. once the parts arrived. The "brain" of the washer had died and had to be replaced. One of the "brains" he ordered didn't work and we went for over a month w/o a washer due to waiting on parts to arrive. I think overall we've had to call Sears 3 times for problems. Now again the washer is not working properly. The lemon law states if you have a repair person out 5 times within a 12 month period, Sears will replace the machine. Well, lucky us, we keep missing that 12 month period. We've had it with the machine and we're buying a new washer this week. It will NOT be a Sears model. And Vincent, I agree with you. The machine bunches up the clothes and does not clean them. We can put a blanket in and it comes out DRY in the middle. A waste of money and our time having to run to the laundry mat to do our wash.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kristy clarkson Feb 03, 2008

    We bought our Oasis HE on January 22 of 2008. When I washed my first load of laundry I noticed there was a little bit of water on the floor underneath the front of the washer. It hadn't happened again until tonight-February 3. I am getting more nervous by the day. All of our clothes come out of the washer so wrinkled that if I wanted to air dry anything I would have to spend 30 minutes ironing a single item. I have pulled clothes out of the dryer that are still wrinkled. As a matter of fact, most of our clothes come out of the dryer wrinkled. My husband and I were very excited when we purchased the set at Sears. We even bought the tower that goes between the washer and dryer. I called Sears and of course they will take the items back but we will have to pay a 15% restocking fee. That's approximately $325.00. I feel like the Oasis HE is extremely hard on clothes even if you change the spin cycle to be easier on clothes. I don't think it is the spin cycle. I believe the clothes get so wrinkled and tangled up due to the washing action. My husband has played with the machine. He thinks we should try the "no spin" on the spin speed. Are you kidding me? I just paid $2400 for this set and I am supposed to use no spin for my loads?! I am VERY disappointed at this point. I absolutely love the look of the machines and the fact that the machines save water and energy. However, after trying to dewrinkle a load of clothes 2 or 3 times with no luck, I don't think we are saving any energy. My husband thinks we should give our machines a chance but.... I just don't see how the clothes are getting clean. As much as I hate to admit this-when the Whirlpool Calypso came out I told my mother I would love to have a set someday. She advised me against it. Mom told me to stay with an agitator. Should've listened to her. I think we should eat the $300 and something dollars, get our money back and go to Lowe's to purchase a new set. Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Becky Baker Feb 04, 2008

    I must agree with all the complaints here. I hope I can save one person from buying the Sears Elite Oasis Washer (Large capacity). I love the dryer.

    The machine twists and tears/weakens my jeans. I wish I'd never bought it. Does anyone know if the front loader has as many problems?

    My husband bought me the washer/dryer combo for Christmas. I wish I had my old agitator back..

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul & Pat - Suckers Feb 19, 2008

    We purchased our Kenmore Elite Oasis HE in May of 2006, and just yesterday had trouble with the washing machine working. After reading all the complaints on this machine, I must agree that the defective part should have been recalled by Sears. We trusted Sears with a variety of large purchases, but if they won't stand by a defective part that they are aware of, I will try to start a crusade of my own to not trust Sears again. We spent over $2,000 on the two machines, and if I wanted a throwaway that would cost me the same as the repair bill Sears will not see my business in the future. It seems to my limited knowledge of these machines, that the control boards are very weak, and very well could be the Time Delay switch is shutting down the whole machine. If I knew what wire controlled the Time Delay it would already be cut. I am going to contact Sears and see if they will satisfy me, if not their repair man will not touch this machine. Thanks to all for making comments on this disposable unit.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rocio Rodriguez Feb 20, 2008

    I purchased The Oasis He in April 2006 as an early wedding present to myself. This Washer is so horrible and extremely delicate. I had minimal problems for the first year and then for the last couple of months, my washer took a turn for the worse. It "beeps" throughout the ENTIRE cycle, that is if i can even get it to start when i want. When i press the start button, it automatically goes to the delay start option. I have to keep coming back and to attempt to press start throughout the whole day! Also i don't think it is washing my clothes right because sometimes they come out with a mildewy smell and i have to rewash them. I had a repairman from come look at it and he couldn't fix it, he said he has heard that these models are very bad and didn't want to experiment with my washer by attempting to fix it. He said that most Sears repair men won't know what to do either. He said my only option is to find someone that has experience with that machine or else replace it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARK LAWLEY Mar 02, 2008

    MY WIFE AND I ORIGINALLY BOUGHT THE MAYTAG NEPTUNE WASHING MACHINE FROM SEARS. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE. THE MACHINE WAS ALWAYS BREAKING DOWN. I LEARNED OF THE LAWSUIT AGAINST MAYTAG FOR THE NEPTUNE. I FILLED OUT ALL THE REQUIRED PAPERWORK AND WHEN MAYTAG LOST THE SUIT I CONTACTEDD THEM ABOUY GETTING MY NEPTUNE REPLACED OR REPAIRED. THEY TOLD ME I WASA NOT ON RECORD AND REFUSED TO HELP ME EVEN THOUGH THEY ADMITTED THEY LOST THE SUIT AND THE MACHINE WAS A LEMON. I CONTACTED SEARS AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY ON THE NEPTUNE BECAUSE OF THE LAWSUIT AND IT WAS A LEMON. WHEN WE BOUGHT THE NEPTUNE IT CAME WITH A TEN YEAR WARRANTY FROM MAYTAG AND A FIVE YEAR WARRANTY FROM SEARS. I GUESS THE WARRANTIES ARE ONLY GOOD AS LONG AS THE MACHINE IS WORKING. WE TOOK OUR LOSSES AND JUNKED THE NEPTUNE THEN WENT BACK TO SEARS AND BOUGHT A KENMORE ELITE OASIS. NOW THIS WASHING MACHINE IS FALLING APART AND IT IS ONLY A YEAR OLD. SEARS PRODUCTS ARE WORTHLESS AND THEIR SERVICE AND WARRANTIES ARE A JOKE. I THINK WE SHOULD ALL GET TOGETHER AND FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST SEARS FOR THEIR TERRIBLE SERVICE AND PRODUCTS.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fern Taylor Mar 11, 2008

    I am having problems with my Kenmore Elite toploading washer. The machine is not broken. The problem is that the technology doesn't work.

    Problems with Kenmore Calypso Top Loading Washer
    For 3 years, it has been a struggle to get our clothes clean. I often feel that I would be better off going to a laundramat. I am very disappointed with this machine. It does not work. Please read the following problems:

    1) Clothes, bedding and linens do not get clean. They do not get fully saturated during the wash and rinse cycles.
    2) After a complete washing, a twin size comforter is dry in many spots. After drying comforter, there are white spots all over. That is the soap that was never rinsed out during washing. The salesman at Sears said that the machine could wash a king size comforter. It can’t even clean a small twin size.
    3) During last service call, while observing the wash cycle, you could see that the clothes are not being tossed around enough so that all surfaces get wet and properly rinsed.
    4) I only can wash 4 towels at a time to make sure that they get clean. I also have to select an additional rinse and additional spin. The salesman at Sears said that you can was 12 towels in one load.
    5) Brand new towels have shredded. Lots of threads pulled out of them. I returned the towels (thinking that they were of poor quality). I bought new ones and the same thing happened.
    6) The towel problem happened since the machine was brand new. A serviceman came to check out the machine. He said it was okay and the problem was with my older Kenmore dryer. He said that the gasket was old and had hardened causing the towels to be damaged. The repair would be costly, so the repairman said that I might as well purchase a new dryer. I purchased a brand new dryer and that did not solve the problem. It was the washer all along. So, I did not need to purchase a brand new dryer.
    7) After washing dark clothes and drying them, there is white soap residue that remains on the clothes.
    8) The machine is supposed to conserve water and energy. Why should we have to select an extra rinse and spin cycle to get our clothes clean?
    9) Please note: We never overload the machine.
    10) This machine does not clean our clothes.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon S. Holland Mar 12, 2008

    This is the most I ever spent on a washing machine, over $1000. I tried to force Sears to take it back from the beginning. They led me through a long process of requiring service calls before I could return and then after I did everything they asked, I was told "Sears is NOT in the business of exchanging washing machines!" and refused to do another thing. I can't afford to buy anything else and this machine has literally ruined my life. It ruins anything washed in it, nothing comes out clean, clothes that have been washed together safely for years have faded all over each other - and I use cold water! Clothes instantly look worn and old after washing in this machine, if they aren't ruined outright, and I have had many things literally torn to pieces. Any thin material or anything with trim is guaranteed to come apart after a few or even just one cycle. Seams come apart and and lace is ripped off no matter what setting you use. There is no longer any such a thing as 'wash and wear'. No hope of just putting what comes out of that thing in a dryer and shaking and folding without having to iron like I've always been able to do with many types of clothing. Everything comes out tied in unbelieveable knots that are almost impossible to get apart, not just wrinkled for that cycle, but with permanent incredible creases that can't even be ironed out in many cases. They are trying to tell me this is less wear on clothing and linens? An outright lie and Sears knows it. Not only is it not less wear, even just one cycle in the machine makes everything look like it's ten years old. Nothing comes out bright or even smelling like it's been washed. I know these machines are tearing up everyone's clothes because they sent a service person to replace the center agitator or spinner with a newly designed piece, unsolicited. It made no difference at all. And the serviceman himself told me they had to replace all of them and that the machines are no good. If I want to save anything I have to handwash or send to the cleaners, which I can't afford. I just heard about a class action lawsuit against Sears, but it's too late for me to join it. I've always had mountains of laundry to do always because I have three sons, so the effect it has had on our life is unbearable. If you buy this machine you will own a big metal ornament and there is no rememdy, you are helpless to do anything about it. Sears is a dishonest thug.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jo Mar 29, 2008

    Same problem here. I'm actually looking into lawfirms that'd be interested in taking on Sears. Is anyone else looking into a class action lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephanie Notter Mar 31, 2008

    Bought a Kenmore Washer 5 months ago. Washer broke down. I called and scheduled service with Sears and even told Sears what I believed the problem was. They showed up as scheduled and sure enough the part that I said was bad, was bad. However the repair man didn't bring that part with him. Repairman said that he would order the part and have delivered on Thursday and do the repair on Friday. The repairman even gave me a printed document with the date of the repair service. The Wednesday before the repair, Sears called and said that they ordered the part and I confirmed that it would be delivered on Thursday and that they would be here on Friday to repair. Told yes. Friday came and went and no repair. I called and was told that I NEVER had an appointment and that they would reschedule for Saturday, between noon and 5:00PM. I said that is the Saturday before Easter and you need to be here today or tomorrow (Saturday) at 8:00 AM. I was told no. I asked who was going to pay the 5 hours of income that I am out because they didn't show. I work for myself so no paid vacation. They told me again that I didn't have an appointment. Asked them to call the repairman and ask him what the deal is. Never got a response to that. The store told me that I have to understand that I didn't really call Sears to do the repair that they hire outside companies and that it isn't their fault! You have to be kidding! I am not having Sears back in my home. I had someone else fix the machine and am cutting up my credit card and will not do business with Sears again.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kell Apr 07, 2008

    I was so excited about the Kenmore Oasis wash machine that I ordered it before it was even out, back in 2006. I saw the machine on Home Make over and was sold. Little did I know this was a HUGE mistake. One month before the year warranty the whole computer system went out. The Sears repairman said "This has happened, quite abit" Thank God I had the warranty because he told me it cost $1000.00 for the computer. It wasn't a month later that there was a foul odor coming from the detergent compartments. Again, I called the Sears repairman and he said it was water setting on the bottom "getting stail" I wash atleast 2 loads aday. How i the world could that happen?He took the drum apart and cleaned it After about 3 or 4 weeks the smell was back, I called him back. He came and the odor was so bad that he said it was sewer back up. Not the washer. So I called a plumber which said, it was the washer not flushing the rinse water and the water backed up. So I called the Sears man again. He told me that the machine was a lemon and to call a certain number. I called and the person told me that it was to late to declare it a lemon. What a Crock!!! I had the Sears repairman to call and tell of all the problems and yet no luck. So I'm stuck with a smell machine that I use the machine clean cycle almost twice a week to stop the smell.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deb Apr 12, 2008

    Oh My God! I have never been so dissapointed in any product in m life. I too purchase the Sears Oasis in 2006. I was so excited knowing I was getting the latest and greatest merchandise on the market. Well what a piece of JUNK...We all need to boycot Sears for selling such an inferior product and not backing it. I have a family of four and like others I wash clothes a lot. It is not convenient to pack up stuff and go to a laundry mat. Right now, I have a washer filled with clothes that's just STOPPED mid-cycle. I am so frustrated. This is the second time in less than 6 months I have had to call Sears to place a repair request. And of course, it at least a week before a repair person can come out. SO WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO!!! My husband was told during our last repair stint... that under your warranty you could get a loaner unit. I'm thinking okay... What that is - is you arranging to have a rental unit brought to you home... you paying the cost up front...and then getting reimbursed by Sears... RIGHT...
    I am so frustrated that I am going to INCURR another expense and buy another washers... I just want this washer OUT OF MY HOUSE...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Apr 14, 2008

    I purchased the Oasis washing machine and dryer 2 years ago. I did not purchase the extended warranty. My thought was that a $2000 set should last longer than a year. I thought they were wonderful at first. The washing machine needs to be recalled. IF I can get it to start, it beeps nonstop. If I do not unplug the machine when the lid is open, it will start spinning and spraying water. This could be very dangerous! It has happened when I am reaching in to get laundry. I will be calling Sears to see how much it will cost to fix, however, I don't think that it is worth fixing. I have been noticing a mildew smell also. I would love to find out the Sears is recalling the machines or that there is a class action lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Murtha Apr 14, 2008

    We purchased the oasis over a year ago with complaints from day one about the wrinkled clothes. The sears person told us we weren't using the machines correctly. We also noticed the large amount of lint and the foul smell from the washer(after long nose searching). We were back several times through the year warranty but the salesman said it wasn't the machines fault. Last week we were in the store and the new sales person said the owner (who sold us the machines) had had several complaints against him and they bought him out to get rid of him. Now it's my word against nobodys that this problem was never attempted to be fixed. I would join a suit against them.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrick Apr 16, 2008

    Our machine broke down after a few months. It was a sock stuck in the pump. The repairman said that the machines were prone to that. Now it has been over a year, and we are out of warantee. The same problem has occurred. Now I'm trying to figure out how to fix it. I love the capacity, but it looks like this design is really bad. Sears ought to cover these obvious design flaws.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathy May 04, 2008

    i brought my washer in april 2007 i did buy the extended
    warranty thank God but trying to get it repaired has been
    a true nightmare i have been without a washer since april 19th
    2008. they tell me the parts are on back order i have called
    repeatly. i called 1-800-549-4505 the customer service complaint dept. several times finally receaching a danille who
    stated that i could rent a machine at rent a center and be reinbursed however rent a center wants alot of personal information that i don't want to give out so now im stuck going
    to the laundry mat . i have dealt with sears for 35 years and
    have never had any problems with service . i agree this washer
    needs to be recalled i would also join in a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Al Abernathy May 10, 2008

    We bought the Oasis the first year it was available--2006. It ran well for 2 years and then the computer went bad. It runs through all the spin cycles as the machine is running and once it started running onits' own. The repairman was no help--"needs to be replaced".

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    judi May 11, 2008

    I purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis in March of '07 w/o the extended warranty. Since then, it has ruined $500 worth of our clothing. I didn't realize it was the washer causing the tears in my clothes until right after the 1 year warranty was expired. I should've listened to my husband when he said to buy the washer with the agitator! I will try to call Sears on Monday morning, but I'm not very optimistic. Any advise from anyone who has dealt with the customer service department before?

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joe May 28, 2008

    first things first-the oasis does have some issues, but the truth is, most people dont know how the machine should and does work.read the owners manual.too many people compare it to thier old machine they used to have.it operates in different ways.example--uses less water, recirucalets water on to clothes and starts a slow spin at the begenning of the cycle to do this.theese features are regulated by the goverment.someday you will not be able to buy a deep fill washer, due to water waste.the oasis is made by whirlpool corp and sold under the kenmore name.cabrio washer and oasis washer are the same machine just look a little different but performe the same.the calypso washer is like the oasis.very misunderstand machine.whirlpool did have some pump issues with the calypso washer, but many were consumer abuse.example--bra's go in a knit bag along with lingerie!problem is bra underwire loosens from bra and gets into pump.not the machine's fault.anyways back to the oasis its all digital and electronically controlled which is what attracts people, along with the the pretty color, and with that in mind all the people who sent negative remarks about the oasis need to remember how many times they have home computer issues, and dont know why.well its because its smarter than you and me, like the oasis washer is.read and understand the manual, and if you have a glass top watch the washer run.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Jones May 30, 2008

    I have an Oasis and they are junk. Reading the owner's manual has nothing to do with the poor design of this machine. It is terrible. My machine has broken down five times since I bought it in Dec of '07. It is such a pain to go to the laundromat. Mine isn't a pretty color and was purchased because we are foster parents and need a good washer to get large batches of clothes clean. I would like my money back to buy a quality washer. As of tonight my washer isn't spinning. Oh joy now I get to call Sears and wait, wait, wait. I hopr that there is a lawsuit in order to purchase new washers for all of us that trusted the Kenmore name. If you are researching this washer Don't Buy It!

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    C. Dodds May 31, 2008

    Bought mine Dec 06. It's May 08 and I've enountered my first problem. I get an "F1" error at the start of the cycle, but it does go away after starting/stopping the machine 4 times. The "F1" error occurs again after about 24 minutes. I've got to start/stop 2-3 more times and then the error goes away again. It requires monitoring the load, which is getting very old -- but right now it's better than dealing with Sears' service. At least the clothes are being cleaned.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    J. Boyd Jun 02, 2008

    I bought our washer in Oct. 06. And now we are experiencing the same problem as everyone else. We start the machine and then the famous "F1" comes up and you have to stop/start the macine four times. Painful. Then with 16 minutes left in the cycle the "F1" comes up again and it is stop/start time again. I guess I won't be leaving the house with the washer going. DON'T BUY THIS MACHINE!!! It will upset your life.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SAMMY Jun 18, 2008

    I too purchased the kenmore oasis washer and dryer set in November of 2006 thinking it was the greatest. I had never spent this much on a washer and dryer. I was relucdent but my wife really wanted it. The old washer and dryer was still in good shape after 13 years so why did we need a new set? After 358 days it stopped working. Lucky for us the warranty wasn't up yet. It needed a new computer board! WOW! Not even a year old. So of course we had to purchase the extended warranty just in case it breaks down again. And now we are just into June of 2008 and its making all kinds of loud noises. Time to call the repair guy again. If I can get it to last one more year I won't feel as bad when I throw this machine out the second floor window. What A Peice Of Garbage!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melba Matthews Jun 30, 2008

    The Kenmore Oasis Elite is the worse washing machine I have ever owned. It knots your clothes which caused wrinkles. It has torn up socks, underwear, T shirts, napkins and dish towels. When I had the repair man out he recommended washing small loads and using laundry bags for small items. Now I have to sort our socks, small pieces and personal items into bags which is extra time. Plus now the machine has torn up to the laundry bags. I give up. I am going to attempt one more time to have Sears out and see if I can traded in the elite for one that doesn't run your clothes. DO NOT BUY the KOE model. Dryer works fine .

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Royce Jul 01, 2008

    We bought our washer and dryer Nov. '08 and have had the Sears repair man out 7 times! The first repairman did not know how to fix our machine and actually damaged it further. We have had the computer replaced, the control panel and now it looks as if the water pump is broken. Sears tells me that 4 "extraordinary" items must need to be replaced in order to request a new machine under the lemon rule. She also stated that I should spend the $150 for the extended warranty because "in the long run it would be cheaper" or she would be "willing" to give me a $100 off a new washer... waiting again for the repair man. I regret ever buying this machine and will never purchase another appliance from Sears.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Eckley Jul 09, 2008

    We bought the kenmore Elite in 2006, now it decides to keep showing a F on it, and won't spin or drain the water. We called for service and told them the problem, so he should have had the part's with him. Well he didn't and has to order them and then we have to scedule another appointment. It has been over a week, and we haven't heard a thing. When the service guy was here, he told my husband you shouldn't wash your bathroom rug's in there because of the rubber backing. I said WHAT!!! Also when you wash bath towel's you should not throw the hand towel's in with them, HELLO, excuse me, why not? I am so sorry we bought those. I should have stayed with the old fashion set's, they were alot better. I had my old set for over 15 year's before I even had a problem. I am still waiting to hear something so I can get it fixed. We live in the country, so it take's a hour to get to a laundry mat. I am so disscusted with sear's, that I will never buy anything again from them. And also tell my family and friend's do not buy from sear's. They sure don't stand behind there product's!

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elsa Jul 15, 2008

    We first bought Calypso in 2004 and all the t-shirts we owned had a hole on them. I called Sears so many times that they gave me a new washer...THE OASIS>>>Great I thought...This one is even worse!!!Last week it made a big hole in my sons Full Conforter.Will never again by anything at Sears!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela Jul 28, 2008

    My washer is a NIGHTMARE. I have an Kenmore Oasis toploader. I have had it for 15 months now and it has been repaired twice and now is in need again. The washer has started turning on by itself and going through a wash cycle with nothing in it. When we try to turn it off, it won't respond. We unplug it and when we re-plug it in... it sparks. NIGHTMARE. Now with the sparking, I am afraid of a fire hazard. Sears will do nothing. NOTHING. They don't care. They just want to send repairman after repairman. I have for my entire life, and my parents also, have always purchased our major appliances from Sears. We no longer will...

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeremy Aug 04, 2008

    I to purchased the Kenmore Oasis HE washer October 2006. The washer has been a NIGHTMARE!!! On July 22, 2008, while washing clothes the washer flashed a code F50 with green light flashing. Of course clothes were wet!!! I called sears and guess what had to wait, wait, and wait a week for a repair man. The repairmen came and told me he had to order the part. I was like what the crap this part has malfunctioned on SEVERAL washers and sears has to ORDER it. Doesnt make since to me. Well today August 04, 2008 the repair came to install the new parts on the washer. I began to wash clothes after he finished repairing it and GUESS WHAT...It stopped mid cycle with the same darn F50 code. I called sears again and i have learned that these people just dont give a crap!!! A guy named Samuel told me that i would have to call back tomorrow at 0800 and request a new repair service. I hate this washer and hate sears. I will NEVER NEVER purchase anything from sears ever again has long as i live!!! I would like to find out information about if there is a lawsuit ongoing with this washer. If anyone body is researching this washer because your interested in purchasing it PLEASE take all of our words and DONT BUY IT. It will cause constant turmoil...

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Aug 05, 2008

    I'm right there with most of you about the problems with this machine, except the person that said to read the manual and that this machine is different from others. Well, yeah it's different. It's a piece of crap! Why in the world would you have to have a "plan" as to how much of what item you can put in it at any time? We have to babysit this machine because of the F1 error code... I don't even know what that means and when I called Sears they told me to unplug it and go through all these other steps and it would reset the machine. And then she politely said "these steps are all in your owners manual, so if it happens again, refer to your owner's manual." Well, I've read the owner's manual and if those steps had been in there I wouldn't have had to call the service dept., would I? No! There is nothing in my owner's manual about an F1 code. There's something on several other codes, but not F1. Well, these steps did nothing to help the problem. The repairman is due out tomorrow morning, so we'll see what he says, but I hate this machine... like the dryer fine. What happened to just being able to put your clothes in the washer, put in the soap, turn on the machine and walk away??

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Aug 12, 2008

    I spoke to a Sears representative in their recall department today. Sears is planning on making an annoucement to "update' certain part on these washing machines. When the annoucement is going to happen I do not know. My model number is 110.27062600. My machine is included in the announcement. Everyone who is having issues please contact Sears. The more complaints maybe the sooner the announcement! Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph Aug 13, 2008

    Well...I 've had this washer since Sept '06 and really haven't had the problems that most of you talk about. We've seen the error codes, but what I really have problem with is the excessive noise and how it easily goes out of balance by bunching all the clothes to one side. I went to Sears today and same woman that sold us ours still worked there. I was ready to buy another washer and sell this one for a great loss and she said there was an agitator problem with some models of the Oasis. Why doesn't Sears send a note to me if there's a problem? They don't seem to forget to send me a card to replace the water filter on the refridgerater every six months... that we purchased at the same time. Well I told her I would look on the net and see if there is a problem and low and behold look at all this. My wife and I have been tolerant of this machine so I hope there is a fix. Sorry to see so many people with these problems.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenny Aug 23, 2008

    We bought the Kenmore Oasis Elite Washer/Dryer Set (Quietpak 9-suppose to be extra quiet) in early 2006...THIS WAS THE WORST PURCHASE EVER IN MY LIFE. I will be contacting BBB to file a complaint on the product...it was supposed to be the CREME DE LA CREME...NOT TRUE...it is the WORST OF WORST. Customer Service Dept. was awful/salesman didn't care-he got his bonus already when we purchased the "thing". Sears even wanted to charge like $80 just to talk to a technician...the machines are beeping with all kinds of error codes that's not referenced in the manual. If you are not experiencing problems now...you are the lucky ones...however you will not know what the future will hold on those machines. I will NEVER buy another SEARS/KENMORE product again. THIS WHOLE THING IS A "LEMON". There should be a recall on the model but of course they will not because everytime you call Sears...the representatives denies any issues...if Sears do not admit to selling "lemons" ..then why would they recall the product. Hopefully if there are enough complaints to the BBB...maybe they will listen & do what is morally right!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sears Bad Aug 23, 2008

    I purchased the Kenmore Oasis Elite Washer 27087603 and Dryer 67087600 on 1/30/07 with 3 year MPA for $2728.24.
    The washer is junk. It Doesn't clean clothes ... just sort of whooshes them in 6 inches of water, gets clothes knotted into a twisted mass, then spins the heck out of them. It makes a better extractor than a washer.
    The dryer works quite well (for now).

    Just started getting the "F1" error ... have to babysit the washer...sometimes 8 start/stops are needed.

    Call Sears ... tell them problem...plus I want the yearly "Preventative Maintenance" performed on both machines, per my warranty contract.

    Tech shows up as scheduled ... runs a diagnostic test on washer, gets the F1 error ... then runs another test that proceeds thru steps C1 to C9.
    Does the C1 to C9 test again...Says " That reset the machine, may have cleared sand blockage, fixed other issues caused by power spikes, power losses, etc.".
    Sounds like a bunch of hocus, pocus to me...so while he is attempting a quick get-away, I start a "normal" cycle.
    As most thinking people would have guessed ... I get the F1 error immediately ... the "magic" diagnostic test didn't clear/fix anything.

    He says ... Ahh, I'm glad "we" did that !
    We ?

    Now...he has to order a computer module ... heaven forbid he actually carry parts so he can do "actual repairs " !

    No preventative maintenance was performed either ... that wasn't on his work order .
    Geesh !

    So, now waiting for 3-4 days for part to arrive ... then having to call to schedule another service call.

    Was the first appearance a "service" call ?

    I better tell the Sears representative to make sure he brings tools, hopefully avoiding additional wasted "service" visits.

    My business with Sears is done ... for good.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brittany Ford Aug 26, 2008

    We finally broke down and bought a new washer and dryer set and thought that Sears would be the place to go. My parents had always bought Kenmore appliances so we thought we would do the same. BIG MISTAKE!!! Within 6 months the dryer's computer kept flashing "check lint screen". I did this after every load, but I did it again. Finally, we had to have the repairman come out and after two weeks of waiting for the part, he came back and switched out the computer. NOW the washer is acting crazy. It all started in the middle of the night when I awoke hearing a beeping noise. I went all through the house listening for the noise and when I looked in the laundry room I see the lights on the washer flashing. I turn on the light in the room and the washer begins to spray water and spin WITH THE LID UP!! I had to unplug it to get it to stop. Now, it is almost impossible to get it to start at all. We have to keep pushing start, unplugging it, plugging it back in, push start again, walk away, come back and try again. My husband and I have thought seriously about going to the Sears in Louisville, KY (which is where we bought it) to stand in front of this set to warn people not to buy it. If you are interested in joining us...just e-mail. We'll set up a double date at the Sears!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marlene Lebel Sep 04, 2008

    Same story here; you may be interested that I've found many complaints about this washer & good suggestions here: http://www.fixya.com/support/t295790-kenmore_elite_oasis_top_load_washing. My husband just today after reading up on it got the thing to work from start to finish by using the BULKY setting.

    I previously had a Maytag Neptune, got shafted out of the class action lawsuit because I didn't report the problems earlier & didn't have a repair man dink with it. Then bought this piece of "art" work. After year warranty is up, F1 errors galore. I do think a class action suit is in order.

    I ordered a new control unit only to be emailed week after week, the part is back ordered & push out yet another week. Two months spending $40 a week at the laundromat could have bought me a working washing machine. :-(

    There is a Sears recall line 1-800-659-7026. I was told an official recall is in the works for October. Good luck everyone!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sears Bad Sep 04, 2008

    Follow Up to my post 12 days ago.
    The computer module arrived...and the technician was to arrive tomorrow(Fri.) to install.
    Also asked to have the preventative maintenance done at the same time.
    That is not possible according to Sears, it would be a different tech, another service visit !
    After almost an hour on the phone with them ... I ended up canceling the Service Contract.
    But for the Dryer only.
    I could not cancel the contract on the washer because I have an "Open Ticket for Service".
    Or I would have to send the part back, even though it was ordered while under contract.

    They make this whole process as inconvenient as possible to the consumer.
    The phone representative even got argumentative with me ... like I was being unreasonable
    to want the repair and maintenance done at the same time.
    I value my time even if they do not, and will not make multiple appointments for service that should be done in one visit.

    I even told them that as soon as the Sears tech leaves, I will still cancel the washer contract.
    If Sears thought they were going to strong-arm me, they were wrong.

    I installed the new module myself in about 15 minutes (not rocket science here), the washer now works without the F1 code.
    I'm not waiting for more excuses and delays.
    But since they insist on sending a "tech", he can accomplish the task of carrying away the old part.

    What a wasteful organization Sears is.

    What a shame Sears has become what it is ...

    0 Votes
  • An
    anissa williams Sep 16, 2008

    i'm highly upset with my kenmore oasis washing machine. i had a full load of clothing, when all of a sudden it just went out. now i'm stuck with a washing machine full of water. it does not make any sense that i purchase this machine april 19, 2007 and now it want work.now i'm back at square one. i must take my clothing to a washer service. i thought i made a good choice but i was wrong. also the lid is locked so you can't get your clothing out. i feel like it should have a emergency switch.

    0 Votes

Post your comment