SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ross Dress for Lessunfair employee treatment

1
A

I only worked at ross for a few months as a seasonal, which I did not even know I was being hired as until after they hired me and sent me home with the company ross packet, which in it stated my employment was only for 90 days, with a possibility of being re hired as a permanent after that time. I was trained for about two weeks, in which time my hours dropped from 25 a week to barely 10 a week, for not moving fast enough. The store manager told me she intentionally cut my hours because that was the only way she felt she could get through to me and for me to pick up my pace. I was enraged beyond all hell at that point but I sucked it up and made double effort to move my # even faster. But things didn't get any better. I was working on the stockroom team and I had the manager on my # at least twice because of merchandise being ran wrong or sloppily, even though I had not ran out the section that was done wrong. And if I slowed my paced momentarily to try and figure out where an item went so I could correctly put it away, I would get scolded by a stockroom team member who would tell me that we are pressed for time to get everything put away and it dosent matter. Not to mention that when running shoes, I was told not to organize only to put the shoes I had on the hummer away, and only to size and organize the section in which I was assigned for which I would have multiple customers come up to me and complain about the disorganization.in december of 2011, they finally laid me off for which I did not get a phone call, letter, email, or private meeting. I simply showed up to work one day to check my schedule and found my name was no longer on there, and when I went into the assistant managers office he told me that the manager was supposed to have told me about this a week ago and I no longer worked there but was still eligible for rehire at another ross. I'm telling you this company does not care about their employees at all!!!

Responses

  • 1l
    1luckygirl Jul 22, 2012

    Yes, this is what happens at Ross. They are dealing in dirty business practices. Ross does NOT take care of their employees in any way. They pressure the employees, deny them benefits that were rightfully earned and take away hours when asked about medical benefits. They do not provide their employees with a copy of their "review" as per law, and treat people as if they're just another number. Furthermore, Ross has a history of disregarding both the safety and the health of their employees. I am selling all Ross stock I own and will never shop there again. Next stop: how to report Ross for their corrupt employee treatment. Suggestions?

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tizzababe327 Jul 29, 2012

    I'm sorry all of this happened to you. I quit Ross a little while ago, due to very unfair treatment and harassment. I was promised quite a bit that I never received, and no one accounted for it. All of my managers knew what was going on and never did anything about it in fear of losing their jobs. I almost lost my job trying to defend myself. They made a coworker of mine a manager, and she had only been working there for a very very short period of time, in fact, I trained her. Once she received "higher power" she used it to boss everyone around, tell her MANAGERS what to do, and they still let her move on to the next store. I made a post online about something that had nothing to do with Ross and especially nothing to do with her, and she proceeded to harass me. I told my managers and they told me I could have her fired, but again, none of them pushed to do anything. I thought about calling their anonymous line, but I don't know if its even worth it now?
    Its sad that we as employees, past or present, have to suffer for the actions of poorly trained managers. And are at risk of getting in trouble, losing our jobs, lack of raise/opportunities, unless we go with everything they tell us to do. In fact, I posted a complaint on here about what was happening at my store because I tried telling my managers, and no one would listen. All of a sudden one day they pulled me into the office, because someone at HR is getting paid to find these and figure out who sent them in (I would love that easy job!) and they basically cornered me into admitting it. And then told me if I didn't take it down, I would lose my job. Doesn't seem right does it?
    Just a million other things too... like I cant tell you how many times they told me to do one thing, and one would tell me something else. Or they wouldn't do what they were supposed to. I more than deserved employee of the month, but my manager made sure I never got it. He made sure I never got promoted. Made sure to never praise me for my work, only nit pick and find anything he could to get upset at me for. He seemed like a nice guy, but definitely tried to get away with what he could. I was also worked so, so, so, so much, and kept so late (without a lunch, because I was SCHEDULED 5-10, so I wasn't given one, and we would end up staying till 11-12 cleaning, and wouldn't get one anyways), with terrible pay. Definitely couldn't survive off of the pay there. Horrible, horrible company. Do yourself a favor and stay away!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FrownUpsideDown Jul 30, 2012

    I was hired as a seasonal last year (knew this because I read it on the online application when applying) and was asked to stay. I love working at my store and my managers are all great. I am a full time student and this job is helping me pay my way through college! My manager is always willing to work with my schedule. I have now been here over a year, received a good employee review with a raise, and am becoming a back up manager. Yes, it gets stressful when the store gets trashed on a super busy day, when lines get long, or when coworkers sometimes do not show up for shifts and you're stuck trying to do a million things at once but what job doesn't have stresses? You just have do the best you can and I believe management attempts to do the best they can as well. Ross is not perfect, but it doesn't mean they are evil. I love the people I work with and in no way feel mistreated. I also love the customers, yes even the not so pleasant ones because it makes the day interesting and I am all about trying to make their experience at our store better. I am not sure what Vancouver Ross this post is talking about but the Ross on Thurston Way has great employees and management. I am proud to be TRUE BLUE.

    2 Votes
  • V0
    v0ice0freas0n Sep 16, 2012

    Here's the summary of this complaint: "Wahhhhhh, I was seasonal and a poor performer and the company didn't want to keep me! Wahhhhh, Ross sucks!" Please drown yourself.

    1 Votes
  • Po
    Portlandmommy25 Jan 31, 2013

    I worked for Ross a little over four years, u are under payed and over worked. They talk about moving up in the company which is a joke. If u do move up u don't even get a raise just more responsibility. If u work at a store with a good manager ur lucky, corporate doesn't care about there employee's they are all replaceable no matter how much u bust ur butt. Don't work for them if u want to keep ur soul. True blue my @ss.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Softballbby Feb 13, 2013

    Just because one store gave poor management does not mean they are all like that. I worked for Ross for a little over a year and I absolutely loved my job. I went from a cashier to a supervisor and that did include a pay raise. All of the people that worked above me wanted to see me succeed. I regret leaving the company. I saw many people come and go and many had the same excuses you do. But truth of the matter, if you are not working to their standards, you are replaceable. Especially in this economy. If you had issues with coworkers telling you not to worry about it, you should have taken that directly to your supervisor. It is no ones fault but your own for not bringing things like that to the managers attention. I got a copy of my Review, had no problem with hours once I asked about benefits, and never got treated like just a number. I love Ross!

    -1 Votes
  • Zo
    Zomonk May 02, 2013

    im actually working for ross right now and they fired me threw the phone and not even for something i could do, i went as far as to talk to the HR manger which was soo pissed off so i job my job back and slowly the mangers are still treating me like crap but a job is a job

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    ih8ross Aug 01, 2013

    This is a greedy company. They make around 80k some days and they still refuse to put more workers on a shift to save money. They don't even care about you, just your performance and of course, they look down on you. All they care about is to get the assignment done fast and on time so you can move on to the next assignment. The managers lack logic and all they love to do is tell you to hurry up, which in the other hand, all they do is stand around or walk around telling people to hurry up; why not at least help out in something instead of blabbing gibberish all the time. I made a huge mistake working with this greedy company.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment