The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Maytag Performa Washing Machinei'll never buy another maytag product!

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a Performa washer and dryer in October of 2006. From the beginning, it clatters and dances across the floor as if the load was out of balance, but the clothes have not shifted. This machine does a good job of getting my clothes clean, but it shakes the house! I thought that the quality would be better than this - it is made by Maytag, but I was wrong. I'll never buy another Maytag product. I should have purchased the Whirlpool...

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Jan 17, 2013

    Hello Washer Duties. My name if Melanie, and I am with Maytag. We understand your washer is not working properly. I have provided a link that will help with any troubleshooting you may not have thought of to help. Please feel free to reach out to Maytag if you have any further questions.
    Sincerely, Melanie

    https://www.maytag.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/OCProductHelpSearchView?catalogId=10562&langId=-1&storeId=10212&krypto=m3wLp9EUOpUUfCAXtvB5kw%3D%3D&ddkey=http:OrderCalculate

  • Updated by Wp2008 · Feb 27, 2013

    Hello Washer Duties. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We apologize about the frustration you have experienced with your washer. If you would like us to look into this further, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard), your user ID name (Washer Duties), your phone number, your address, your ticket number (29777), the model and serial numbers, and email the requested information to [email protected] We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Amber.

Responses

  • Te
    Terry12345 Jun 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Maytag Performa has been dancing off it's concrete pedestal and knocking my sink to pieces. I was blaming everyone in the household who used it since I bought the thing, but it did the same thing when I finally used it. This washing machine is a piece of crap.It's no good if you have to baby sit it all time. It most definitely has an inherent load balancing problem. Just one shirt will make it dance silly. Everyone has told me that Maytag makes a bad washer and that I should not have bought one. Sure now they tell me.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Washer Duties Jan 17, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I FOLLOWED YOUR LINK AND SEARCHED WASHERS AND TOP LOADERS WITH NO SUCCESS. MOST PROBLEMS THERE ARE RELATED TO BALANCE ISSUES. THIS I WOULD BELIEVE EVERYONE HERE REALIZES AND UNFORTUNATELY NEITHER WE NOR MAYTAG HAS FOUND A WAY TO STOP THE ISSUE. BEING WE ARE THE "BUYING PUBLIC" I WOULD GUESS THE SHAME REMAINS ON MAYTAG'S SHOULDERS. I CAN SEE SEVERAL UNHAPPY CUSTOMERS WITH IN THESE PAGES WHO WILL NEVER BUY MAYTAG AGAIN... SHAME ON MAYTAG!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Washer Duties Jan 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a used Maytag Performa through Craigs List in New York State. I paid $125.00 for it and the seller saved me a trip with my box trailer and even delivered it. (Little Did I Know) The unit was like new looking and I was impressed. Oh boy what a mistake!!! From the first load this monster traveled a minimum of three and a half feet and no matter what I've done still reacts in this fashion. I considered bolting it to the cement floor in the basement but what the heck it will probably pull out the masonry bolts. I give up. I now run it with a full masonry block on top for weight. This is a piece of junk and Maytag should have been really red faced when this machine hit the street. Hopefully it will find a place of honor in our city dump some day.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jaybird0582 Apr 03, 2012

    I have read all of the other comments, but the one I found most useful for describing the root of the problem is "thesedaysanengineer" posted 11 Dec 2011 . We bought a Performa in the fall of 2004 and have had decent performance out of it, but I'm in the process of replacing the pump, which is making a lot of noise. We too have the "dancing" problem, but it hasn't been a real problem until about the last year or so. At first, it worked pretty good, but over time the "unbalancing problem" become more and more noticeable. It only walks and dances during the spin cycle when it becomes unbalanced and it really starts banging around. I'd say it nows becomes unbalanced 90% of the time no matter how evenly you place the clothes. With heavier clothes like blankets and towels, it will always unbalance. We stop it and reposition the clothes (sometimes several times) before you can continue. We don't dare get out of earshot while while doing the laundry and take turns "babysitting" it. When in the wash and rinse cycle, it is fairly quiet. We haven't had a problem with it not draining completely or othe type of problems up until now (March 2012). I'm going to fix it this time and live with it for a little while longer as new washing machines are so expensive. The next time it needs a repair tho, we will buy a new one.
    BTW, the matching dryer has been doing just fine.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maytag misery Dec 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We also purchased a maytag perform 3300 agw secondhand from a lady who said it was a great machine, we have had the same problems as everyone else with it violently bashing its way around the laundry when it only has a few things in it or a lot of things in it it constantly goes out of balance and you cant leave the laundry for fear it will be destroyed by the washing machine. I hate it and cant wait to get rid of it but i will not sell it on as i would hate for someone else to go through what we have gone through instead i think i will just bury it in the backyard never to be seen again ha ha.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thesedaysanEngineer Dec 11, 2011

    I have a Performa too. It is an awful Machine. I used to be a Maytag repairman back in the 70s, when Maytag was the best you could buy. Not with this piece of junk, however. The trouble with it coming unbalanced is obvious, after I looked at it closely. Because the tub is cheap, flexible plastic, it distorts (changes shape during the spin cycle) due to the centrifugal force of the water spinning inside the tub, then the tub's inertial moments (rotation force-torque) alone takes over as it empties. The tension springs (something Maytag would never have used) will not stop the tub from distorting, they only make it worse. This is what happens when a company tries to save production money by using cheap material (I hear Norge actually made the machine not Maytag). It can not be fixed by a repairman. The tub may needs baffles built into the inner walls and buffer absorbers glued into the shell walls to absorb the force of the gyrating tub; And stronger springs with a rigid metal tub. This is an engineering/production problem. I suspect repairmen know this but have been told to keep their mouths shut to avoid a recall, or class-action suit.

    0 Votes
  • My
    Myron T. Gray Apr 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's nice to know that my wife and I aren't the only ones who have had problems with the "dancing" Maytag Performa washer. You can't walk away from the washer for fear of the damage it might cause to hoses, pipes, the dryer, wash tub, or anything in its path. Our "language" development has reached new heights with this washer. The famous call in our house is "The washers moving. Stop the washer!" In forty-four years of marriage, we have never had a problem with a "dancing" washer. We have actually considered contacting the producers of "Dancing with the Stars" to see if they would consider having our washer as a contestant. We will never even consider a Maytag in the future. I can't believe there hasn't been a major recall on this washer.

    0 Votes
  • My
    Myron T. Gray Apr 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's great to see that my wife and I aren't the only ones that have problems with the Maytag Performa washer. This washer moves more than those Magic Finger beds that you needed a quarter to get the bed to shake. We will never buy another Maytag. We have never had the shaking problem with any other washer we purchased in our 44 years of marriage. You can't walk away from the washer for fear of the damage it may cause to anything in its "dancing" path. I'm actually thinking about calling the producers of "Dancing With the Stars" to see if we can get the washer entered as a contestant. Does anyone know of any recalls?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Life is funny Jan 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have had the same problems with our Performa! We had an Jc Penney washer that lasted for 22 years. We replaced parts but it was a great machine until the inside got a little rust spot. I was excited about getting a new machine but as soon as we got it I noticed that if you touch the top while it is in use it growls. It slowly got louder and more active. Then it started dancing across the floor on spin. My husband opened it up and underneath the transmission housing has hairline cracks all over it. We only got 4 years out of this washer. Today we are going to get a new one...not a maytag for sure!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laundry Lady Jan 03, 2011

    Oh, thank God. My husband has been telling me that I do not know how to use a washing machine, insinuating that I must be some sort of incompetent nincompoop of the laundering world ever since we bought this washer. The real disappointment is that I trusted Maytag, having owned a few Maytags in the past and found them to be outstanding. Not this one, for sure. As others have repeatedly noted, the machine is possessed when in cycle. It humps and bumps and jumps and throws itself around, thrashing and demanding attention like a 2 year old having an uncontrollable tantrum. You have to drop everything regardless of where you are or what you are doing in the house (and you had better be home, or it WILL unplug itself or jeopardize/ruin your plumbing connections).
    I can't wait for this thing to just break so that we can go and spend another bunch of garganzos for a machine that maybe will provide peace of mind (and house).

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fedup mom Aug 20, 2010

    i wish that i did my reseach first on this brand before i had bought it 2 years old .cause now i need to replaced the hose on the washer and i just replace the heat cord on the dryer just 6 months ago. i had never had so much problems with my other washer n dryer set and i had that set for 7 years

    1 Votes
  • De
    degelmom Jul 06, 2010

    I totally agree with all that has been said!! My Maytag Performa travels 3 feet when spinning, even when doing a gentle load! I have never liked this machine. My Sears lasted 20 years & I really liked it. I was excited to get the new features of bleach & fabric softener dispensers, & the 2nd rinse feature. But soon after I got it I quit using all three. The fabric softener dispenses during a spin & it spotted my husband dress slacks! The bleach gets dispensed right away, as soon as the cycle starts. The bleach bottle says to wash for at least 5 min. before adding bleach, because it will interfere with the laundry detergent. And the Fabric softener, of course gets dispensed with the first rinse, so what good does the 2nd rinse do me? My repairman also recommended that I get the extended warrantee because I would need it. I did & I did. I also felt that my clothes came out with much more lint than my old machine. I don't think I can stand it any more, but I'm not sure which other brands would be better these days. I would, however, NEVER, buy another Maytag in any appliance!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Maytag Mayday, Mayday Jun 02, 2010

    Jesus Christ, you people make me feel so good...I thought I was going insane...I keep calling the repairman to come and take a look at my Maytag Washer Performa because it shakes, rattle and roll. All these [censor]s are saying is..."you're floor is not level" Well my floor is level and I added a sheet of plywood to levelled it but it still vibrates like a 750 Harley Davidson...I have had problem with that washer from day 1 and I bought it 5 years ago...every 6 six months or so, I have to move it a little across the floor because its legs have pierce the floor...so I ajust it with wood shim, move it a little, switch the front legs height, tilled it 45 degre from the front and let it fall backward exactly like the instruction manual says but this thing just doesn't work and I have a feeling that the store that sold it to me had a pretty good idea about it because they kept pushing me to buy other models, other brands...but I stick with that one because its price was fair and let's face it, their publicity for years was that you will never see the repairman because these Maytag supposedly never break...what a bunch of [censor], I bought a [censor]ing lemon and now I am stuck with that piece of crap. There should be a class action to reclaim our money, we have been robbed!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris in Texas May 30, 2010

    I bought my Performa front load about 5 years ago. It seems to get out of balance so easily. Also, I noticed every time I do my laundry, I come back with a bloody hand. The inside rims of the washer are very sharp and if your hand scrapes against them, it will cut you. The clothes do get clean, but I have to stand over the machine and babysit it. I would NEVER leave the house with the washer running for fear it will get out of balance and shake the house down. I'm not a fan.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WizJ Mar 23, 2010

    I fastened a chain on two corners of the machine to the wall. Now I have no problems...Well, there is that thumping noise!!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    Jc51 Feb 27, 2010

    THIS MACHINE WAS ABOUT 2 YRS OLD WHEN I BOUGHT MY HOME IN 2002 AND THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT I HAVE HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT AT ALL IN 2010. IT HAS BEEN GREAT. I WAS TOLD THAT THE PUMP HAS GONE OUT. IT STARTED MAKING NOISE WHILE WASHING AND FINALLY JUST STOPPED ONE DAY. MAYBE PEOPLE ARE TRYING TO WASH TOO MUCH IN THE WASHER. I HAVE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH IT. 8 YRS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS IS GREAT! THE PHOTO ABOVE IS EXACTLY LIKE MINE.

    0 Votes
  • Kj
    KJElliott Feb 22, 2010

    What a piece of junk...had our washer for less than 3 years (1 year warranty-what a crock!) before the TRANSMISSION needed replacing! Seriously?! According to the serviceman, it "agitates AND spins" and isn't supposed to do that during the spin cycle. It wouldn't spin clothes dry enough and leave them soaking wet. He told us it would cost over $500 to fix...so we're buying a Speed Queen instead and throwing that one out the door!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seriously29 Feb 11, 2010

    I agree they are Maytag makes terrible washers and dryers. Buyer beware!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seriously29 Feb 11, 2010

    Same problem with the Maytag Performa. Piece of Crap. I had my other Maytag Washer & Dryer for 20 years. Was I surprised. Maytag was out many times and each time the "Maytag Repairman" said you had better purchase an extended warranty because you will need it these are not really Maytags they are a cheaper machine that Maytag put their name on. I will take a polygraph on this. My machine goes across the floor for no reason. It is in the same place as the old one was. I called who ever purchased Maytag(might be Whirlpool) on several occasions and they dont care either. If I knew h ow to post my walking washing machine on you tube I would. You know I am going to start asking friends how to do this. People should not purchase Maytags as they are not worth it and the company does not stand behind its product!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dopey1 Feb 07, 2010

    I totally agree with everyones complant about this washer. you have to litterly stand in front of the washer to make sure it doesn't start bouncing and when it does take out all the clothes then shift them around so it doesn't bounce at the 1st spin, then do the same all over again for the 2nd spin.
    Someone please tell me is it worth the money to get this piece of crap fixed or is it more wiser to shell out the money to buy another washer but not this brand or name.

    0 Votes
  • Jy
    Jyeomans Jan 09, 2010

    All of the previous posts have missed Maytags' purpose in building this fine quality machine! People, people, people...don't you understand that this versatile invention performs miracles? - hence the name Performa. Our wonderful spinner has a multitude of features; you'll only need to explore the possibilities with yours. First, a little soap, water and walah- clean clothes (opinion here, not fact). Second, often times we add our favorite flavor of ice cream, milk, assorted additives, ie chocolate chips, assorted cookies...run a full cycle and presto a great milk shake...light airy and extra creamy smooth. Third, get ready for fiesta days with your Performa. To the tub, add ice, lime, tequila, a dash of orange juice and set preferred cycle. Select gentle I you prefer a margarita on the rocks. If you like the slushy type, hit it full blast on regular. This machine is able to create drink for large groups. Be creative and fun! So all of you who have missed the purpose of this dream machine-- please try one of my suggestions. If you come across some alternative uses for this machine please post them at this site so we can all revel in the attributes of this engineering marvels.

    1 Votes
  • Sg
    sgbdc1 Jan 05, 2010

    just found this thread while looking for recall info on this piece of crap - have had the same problem for years with this machine (performa pav2360aww). because of the constantly unbalanced tub it has chewed up my floor and has also caused the hose that measures the water level in the tub to break off so it just keeps filling and as a result we have had a flooded laundry room on three occasions. i'm sitting here right now with the wet/dry vac running to clean up the mess again. moving soon and will most definitely not be taking this machine with us.

    1 Votes
  • Kh
    khop Dec 23, 2009

    I didn't have the same issue with the piece of junk Performa that I bought. Instead, after having the machine for about 6 months it started making a grinding noise. Had a tech come and look at it and he couldn't find anything wrong. Only had the machine for 4 years and it had to be replaced...the cost of repair was not worth it.

    1 Votes
  • Td
    TDB Aug 24, 2009

    Well I am glad I checked this out. I stop the washer and reshift the load for almost all but the lightest weight mini load. I thought it was the floor - or me losing the ability to load a machine right. It appears it is just another quality issue...Mom's maytag lasted years, todays manufacturing is intended to drive one crazy or just replace, replace, replace.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joggme3 Aug 01, 2009

    so I guess there is no way to repair it or get rid of the problem besides getting rid of the unit entirely...My wife cant even leave the room till the spin cycle is done because it might go threw our wall..thougt Maytag was top notch...They should bring the Maytag out of retiremnt because hes got alot of washers he could be working on..

    2 Votes
  • Te
    teachone Jul 29, 2009

    Wow! And I thought I was the only one with this problem. If I had the money to replace it, I would open the laundry room door and let it "walk" right out the house. I'm very disappointed in Maytag!

    2 Votes
  • Th
    ThumperOwner Jun 05, 2009

    I bought the Maytag Performa because I thought it was a good brand. Unbelievable that this washer doesn't have an unbalance switch, particularly considering how prone it is to becoming unbalanced. Depending on it's mood on any given day. this bad boy is either trying to pull itself loose from the water/drain hoses or break the plumbing to the innocent utility sink beside it. I'm afraid it's next plan is to knock the TV nearby off it's stand and start the house on fire. Luckily for my neighbors it hasn't learned to climb the stairs out of the basement yet.

    Keep this thing on a short leash.

    2 Votes
  • Fl
    FL farm mom Feb 16, 2009

    We purchased the matched set from Lowe's for $1300, and it traveled so far that we had to replace the wall opposite and install wainscoating for protection . I have replaced the motor twice in the Performa, and now the water pump seems to be going out because sometimes it drains, other times it doesn't. It has also started to just decide to quit altogether like it doesn't have to work any longer. I guess Maytag buys products made on Mondays or Fridays and slaps a sticker on them. The elcheapo GE we use for farm/truss plant clothes works like a charm, and even says "Give me your cruddy, your dirty, and your nasty and I will get them clean." And it does exactly that. Guess which brand I'm buying tomorrow...

    2 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely 100% agree with you. We bought this piece of junk in the Summer of 2005 and within 3 months this garbage started to cause problems. Moving across the room was a common thing. Banging and moving, I finally called Maytag who then sent some incompetent technician who upon testing it didn't see anything wrong with it. Then I finally videotaped it while it was dancing across the room, which got them to believe me. Apparently there was a recall on so many gazillion parts on this junk (like they couldn't tell me that before!?!?!?) so they replaced everything fromm the base, to the springs but the problem didn't go away. now 3.5 years later it completely died on me and I have to purchase a new one because the cost of repairing is not worth it. The transmission is gone! What a piece of garbage!!! I won't give my business to them again.

    2 Votes
  • No
    Norman Reynolds Mar 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree... We have had our Maytag non-Performa machine for 3-4 years... What a piece of junk... We call it "Fred Astaire" the way it waltzes across the floor banging and clanging away in ever unbalanced bliss. It has attacked my wife several times and she unplugged it before it got out of hand. The wash tub water level tube has broke 3 times causing the tub to overflow and flood the basement. I do my own repairs and the problem is both a cheap frame and a plastic tub. It is not even a Maytag but a Norge... It takes the word automatic out of washer. You have to watch it like a 2 year old infant in a china glass shop.

    Finally, we bought a new Whirlpool and this weekend I will have the pleasure of taking a post mall to the the old unPerforma

    Norman Reynolds

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.