Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
LG Electronics

LG Electronics review: best buy refuses to fix 55

K
Author of the review
8:57 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Bought an LG front load washer and dryer from Best Buy almost two years ago. It shakes during the spin cycle, which I had specifically asked about before it was purchased. Within a month, we had a service man come and look at it. He said all we could do is purchase the rubber that go under it to reduce the shake. The Lg washer should not have been sold to us because it needs to be on a concrete floor. Best Buy, of course, would do nothing.

Now the washer is completely broken. The service man says it is unfixable due to the repeated shaking during the spin cycle. I still have three year warranty left, and Best Buy will do nothing. Says it is our fault for not having a concrete floor. We now have to purchase another washer, which of course will not match the dryer. We are out over $1000 for a wahser that is still under warranty, but Best Buy has weasled out of replacing or repairing it.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More LG Electronics reviews & complaints

LG Electronics - faulty control board 36
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
LG Electronics - lgmedsupply commits fraud! 15
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
LG Electronics - Top load washer 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
LG Electronics - dented refrigerator delivered
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
55 comments
Add a comment
G
G
Grumpy611
, US
Apr 15, 2016 11:15 am EDT

I wanted to share my experiences with folks out there who have or had the same problem that I had-a cracked drum on an LG dryer.
My model is DLEX5101W purchased on 10/2015. I recently discovered I had a cracked drum along the seam. I was alerted to this when the dryer was making a thumping noise. This problem is a well known issue, judging by the amount of complaints online. My wife called LG customer service @ [protected] two times. The representatives she spoke with-who by the way were in the Philippines and barely spoke English-said the drum is out of warranty (only 1 yr) there was nothing they could do. However, they were willing to sell us a 1 year warranty for $348 that would also cover the current repair. They offered a second warranty for $243 that covered the repair for 60 days-nothing else. When we asked the 2nd rep for a list of authorized LG service repair shops (we live on Long Island, NY) he said there were none on Long Island! So, does that mean Home Depot and Lowes sells a product that cannot be serviced by an authorized tech? That’s like buying a Honda vehicle with no authorized Honda mechanics available in the area you live. My wife asked him are you really sure about this? He replied that since he was in the Philippines, there was no way to be sure.
My wife then called the executive office in Alabama complaining about the obvious defect, and the rep there told my wife the same thing-there was nothing they could do. Offered the same warranty as the 2 reps in the Philippines. However, she did manage to give us a list of authorized repair shops. So, I called the first shop and they wanted $110 just to come out and look at the dryer and apply the service charge towards the repair. The call to the second shop however, changed everything for us.
I began the conversation by telling the owner of the repair shop that I had an LG Dryer with a cracked drum. He stops me in mid-sentence and tells me there is a LG Service Bulletin that acknowledges there is a defect with their drums and the warranty has been extended for the drum to 10 years from date of purchase-parts and labor included! The bulletin apparently covers several models which unfortunately he couldn’t tell me, but I confirmed that our model number was indeed covered. He was really angry that no one told us about this from LG. He told me to call back the executive office and tell them about this Service Bulletin. I thanked him profusely.
My wife calls back the Alabama office and gets a different rep on the phone. My wife gave the rep the model number and explained the problem. Before my wife could inform the rep about the service bulletin, the rep told her, no problem the drum is still covered under a special warranty! What?! My wife informs the rep that she called the same office the day before and was told there was nothing LG could do except offer the 1 year or 60 day warranty. The rep could not explain why none of the other 3 reps didn't see what she saw in their system-that there is an extended warranty in place for the dryer drum for certain models.
This situation was unbelievable as we were about to either buy the warranty, or pay for the repair, or I was going to replace it myself. If it weren’t for the honesty of the repair shop owner (who by the way, ultimately did the repair job under warranty), we would be out the cost of the repair. This almost sounds criminal in nature, as there were obviously no mailings informing owners of the new extended warranty covering the drum for certain dryer models. 3 LG customer service reps also did not inform us of this fact.
My advice for those of you experiencing the same predicament with the cracked drum is to call the executive office [protected]) and ask them to check for any service bulletins covering the drum. I would also call the authorized LG repair shops in your area and ask them to check for the service bulletins as well. I see too many people online complaining about this same defect and unfortunately some have gone ahead and did the repair at their own expense. It’s sad that LG could not do right by their customers, and apparently have chosen to still keep this a “secret”…….

J
J
Jayashree Ram
,
Jan 08, 2008 12:00 am EST

I have bought LG Washing Machine with 100% Drier.right from the day I have bought the Drier is not working properly.Everytime I complain the Technician comes and addresses the problem.Next time it is the same story.Now LG has come with the idea that I dont know how to use the button.I have lived abroad and know to use these gadgets.I have been requesting them to replace with the new one but they are refusing to do it.They dont want to accept that the machine has manufacturing defect.I am going to the consumer court to get justice.
Mrs.Jayashree Ram

T
T
Tyman
, US
Sep 21, 2015 12:52 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I bought a pair of LG front loaders from Conn's. They where 6 months old! Used them 8 - 10 hours prior to the fire! Lost everything in my home including my two dog who where trapped in the house! I am a single mother of four kids an all Conn's could say is sorry an LG. Will not return my calls. Let's me just say I had the hotel remove their LG TV before I would go to sleep with my kids in the hotel! Please don't but LG!

B
B
Bill Peters Jr
Nazareth, US
Jun 04, 2015 9:48 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Lg is total crap. Going on my second drum in the dryer now along with 3rd set of drum rollers. Washer stinks amd is on its 3rd pump. Refrigerator ice door does not close. New gaskets needed on it. Trays broken and are not available any more. I could go on and on. So pissed off its not funny. All 3 are about 6 years old. Thinking about starting a class action on the dryer drum issue. To think I liked their phones and I went all in for this Korean junk. NEVER AGAIN LG!

K
K
Kim Flood
,
Mar 27, 2007 12:00 am EDT

My dryer has a faulty weld on the seam of the drum and is coming apart. The dryer is only 1 1/2 years old. I called LG about this and they said "too bad" I called one more time because I am furious and I paid a lot of money and the woman told me she would talk to someone and get back to me the next day about possibly replacing the drum for me and she never called back. Also, regarding the washer it has the awful odor many others do (musty) this is also a manufacturing defect and I don't feel it should be my problem and that I should have to bleach the machine every month to get rid of the odor. The reason the water sits is a bad design on the part of LG and they should be held responsible! I will never purchase a LG product again!

S
S
swati.agarwal
, IN
Jul 21, 2012 11:01 pm EDT

Help in finding out the handset

E
E
Eddy57pc
, US
Dec 29, 2014 7:24 pm EST

I have the same problem. The LG washer is stink, no matter how much I clean it. Dyer drum is cracked at seam after 18 months, making bumping noise. I will never touch or recommend LG product ever.

B
B
Bama Rose
Tuscaloosa, US
Aug 31, 2014 11:14 pm EDT

Do not buy LG top load washer wt507cw

They did give me money back for the defected
washer, but now I have a dryer that will not match
a new washer. These washers cause rust
on the top of the machine. I have had washers last for years and
years. This machine lasted one year before it began leaking
and rusting out!
China made and horrible! Really why make this machine. It is a rip off!
! Report Spam

Z
Z
zippyzee
Perth Metro Area, AU
Jun 06, 2014 10:36 am EDT

2 nights ago i had my 8.5kg 4.5 kg dryer catch fire and completely burn up infront of my eyes. 6 firemen were at my house trying to get it... lg (lifes good) ... yeah right now whos gonna wash me washing...

D
D
DOLORES WARD
Mesa, US
Jun 26, 2013 1:34 pm EDT

I have had my LG Washer for 4 years and I will never buy another LG anything. My dryer seems to do ok but the washer does not clean my clothes. I am the only person in my household and my white clothes have turned dingy and grey. My wash clothes are disgusting. They come out of the machine looking like a cup of tea has been poured right into the middle of it. Thats not what they looked like when they went into the machine. I have tried everything LG has told me to do. Today I am pulling out the expense crap and buying another brand. I had read Consumer Reports before purchasing the products and they have LG a high rating. They need to put more research into the products they rate.

D
D
D.K. Campbell
, US
Jun 21, 2013 5:56 pm EDT

How can LG get away with selling such inferior products? Where is the government oversight for these problems? I just don't understand how distribution of these expensive, next to worthless, pieces of machinery continue to be foisted on us with no repercussions. Is this not a fraud that is being pulled on American consumers?
My son bought me a new LG high-efficiency washer and dryer and I love him dearly for it, but wish I had my second-hand, mismatched set that I gave away, back.
I wash every load twice, (and still don't feel like the clothes are clean), so that does away with LG's claim of "high efficiency" . If these clothes were getting clean in the washer, the amount of dog hair that I clean from the dryer lint filter would not be present. I think the dryer gets the clothes cleaner than the washer. My clothes also are pretty much just tied in knots when they come out of the washer. I've tried smaller loads, larger loads, doesn't seem to make any difference.
Although almost, but not quite, as bad as the washer about knotting the clothes, everything out of the dryer is very wrinkled.
I get upset every time I do laundry, and it just seems like there should be something we could do about this travesty.

J
J
jessmotherof2
del mar, US
Apr 09, 2013 2:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I went through all of the gesticulations of having my "defective" dryer addressed. The problem was a cracked drum which tens of thousands of consumers have had...a flaw, a lemon, not an accident. Candice and Willie in Executive Services, whom I got to after about 20 calls, mailing receipts to them, uploaded photos...said labor was my responsibility, even though they acknowleged a defect.

LG Electronics are criminals
LG Electronics screw American families
LG Electronics poses safety risks to children by manfucature defective, overpriced equipement that breaks with jagged edges and refuses to issue a recall.

LG Electronics is an immoral, unethical, poor-quality manufacturer.

PS. Type like above, making LG Electronic stand next to negative reviews to increase the SEO (Search Engine Optimization) of these criminals who are screwing Hard working americans who trust that when they purchase an expensive item it is not a lemon or defective, and if it is, that the maker would have the morals and ethics to issue a SAFETY RECALL!

Spread the word on SM and repost the time article and any other boards like this.

Hit em where it hurts!

P
P
Poppi
Springfield, US
May 22, 2012 4:45 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We have an LG Wave Force top loading machine, with a heat booster for extra hot loads. Our hot water runs at 122 degrees in our house, but no matter what temp setting we use, the water in the machine never gets above 70 degrees. We called LG and they sent two technicians to check it. They confirmed our findings but said that the machine is fine and that LG won't fix it. One of them laughed at us for wanting hot water. We called customer service several times and they were not nice. The machine specs say we should be getting temps of 80, 104, 122, and 158 degrees. When we told this to customer service, we got yelled at because "customers aren't supposed to have that information!" Another rep told us that we were supposed to turn off the cold water behind the machine when we wanted to wash in hot water. We sent a letter to LG. They did not respond until we sent it again via certified mail. The woman rep told us in the letter that the temp readings were off -- that the water was hot but cooled down when we opened the lid to measure the temp. Our LG cell phones were still under warranty so we returned them. I'll never buy from LG again. We're telling everyone.

S
S
sdy123
Grass Valley, US
Oct 31, 2011 5:49 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My LG Dryer model #2050W stopped working in mid cycle. The door light was on. I followed all suggestions to fix it. I finally called the LG technician. The problem was The Control Panel was shorted out. I had already spent $125 to diagnosis it. Now it would cost another $169 for the part plus labor of $159 to fix it. It would take 2 weeks to get the part as well with only a 90 day guarantee on that part.
Since I bought the dryer in June of 2010, I was shocked at this problem. I had already had problems with the sensors shutting off the cycle before the load was dry.
I decided with all of its problems not to invest anymore money into this machine which I had paid $800 for including the pedestal.
So, I did contact the company, no response yet. I also contacted Best Buy. I have to give them some credit here. Although there was nothing they could do about the warranty that had expired, they sold me a new washer below there cost, plus other discounts and a 4 year warranty, It eased the pain a bit. It is a new Whirpool Cabrio Steam Dryer.
I hope it will work but if for any reason I don't like it they will take it back no questions asked for my now 4 year warranty.
My advice is to sell your LG washer/dryer on Craigslist while it is still working and get a better machine. No washer/dryer should have so many problems within 2 years of purchase. Good Luck

S
S
susanu
Fountain Hills, US
Oct 25, 2011 11:34 pm EDT

My absurdly expensive LG dryer (model DLEX3875V) is less than 6 months old, and it has shredded (torn holes in) 2 shirts. I called LG and they said they'd had reports of this problem, and I probably didn't have the lint screen in correctly. The lint screen (which I clean every load) was in correctly. They finally sent a repairman who said the drum did not fit properly, and ordered a new drum. After 2 weeks, he came to gut my very expensive dryer and install a new drum. I've added photos of some torn clothes and the gutted dryer. I will certainly never buy anything from LG again, and will probably have to replace this piece of junk at my own expense, because I'm afraid to dry my clothes in it. I bought this at Best Buy, which should be ashamed to carry junk like this.

L
L
Ladyhawk76
Calgary, CA
Aug 03, 2011 11:31 pm EDT

Joining the drum weld split bandwagon... Our units are about 4 1/2 or 5 years old - but have been in storage for 3 years. Very irritated that it wasn't a problem when we carefully moved them into storage, and when we moved into our house - we had this issue right away with the first load.

On the smell front - During the time our washing machine was in storage the door was closed - so we of course, had a smell issue ... I have found, however - that by cleaning out the seal and leaving the door open between loads it is tolerable. We have also had this problem with a Maytag front-loader...

N
N
npts
Ramona, US
Apr 24, 2011 3:27 pm EDT

Yes I agree all LG products should be taken off the shelf with the short in the refer to the stinch in the washer and the crack in the drum its amazing they are still in business good thing i got smart on the dishwasher its a bosch
Mark Keller

L
L
Liliana Yerington
Lake F, US
Apr 19, 2011 4:07 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too will never buy LG products. I have had this front load dryer that cost me an arm and 4 legs and have had problems that have big repair costs. After an amount of time it stops heating. Is there any kind of recall on these machines?

A
A
AACMAC
Saint Johns, US
Mar 23, 2011 8:58 pm EDT

FOR ALL OF YOU WITH A STINKY LG WASHER OR ANY OTHER COMPANIES STINKY WASHERS. "HELLO" LOOK AT WHAT WE THROW INTO OUR WASHERS. STINKY, SMELLY LAUNDRY. NO WONDER WHY THEY CAN GET THIS WAY. WASH AN EMPTY CYCLE USING THE SOAK FEATURE AND POUR ABOUT A CUP OR SO OF BLEACH INTO THE BASIN AFTER IT FILLS UP WITH WATER. THIS SHOULD HELP KILL ANY BACTERIAS THAT ARE INSIDE OF THE WASHER. MAYBE EVEN WIPE OUT WASHER SIDES WITH FULL STRENGTH BLEACH OR USE SOME MOLDEX SPRAYED ON THE INSIDE OF WASHER AFTER EACH USE. YOU CAN ALSO USE VINEGAR IN YOUR REGULAR WASHING CYCLES & IT WILL HAVE THE SAME BENEFITS, KILLING BACTERIAS THAT CAUSE WASHER TO GET STINKY, SMELLY. IT WILL ALSO HELP GET YOUR CLOTHES CLEANER. BAKING SODA MIXED WITH VINEGAR IN WASHING CYCLE WILL ALSO WORK. TRY ALL OR ANY OF THESE SUGGESTIONS & GOOD LUCK TO ALL OF YOU TO GET A CLEANER FRESHER WASHER

W
W
weezie53
Schuylkill Haven, US
Mar 07, 2011 8:33 pm EST

I totally agree with everyone on this junk that LG sells. We bought the LG washer and Dryer (front load) and have had nothing but trouble. I called Sears which is where we purchased the machines and they say there is nothing they can do. I am now done buying anything from Sears and Never will I buy another LG product. Just so you know Kenmore products are now being made by LG so watch out. We spent over 2, 000.00 on the set in 2007. We are junking both the washer and dryer and buying new top loaders. Repairmen in our area won't even look at them. They cannot get the parts and told us they are not worth fixing. I am curious about the class action suit. Where do I go to sign up?

G
G
genesok01
Zion, US
Feb 20, 2011 3:49 pm EST

Had the same cracked drum problem. If that drum was properly welded it should NEVER crack. With a proper weld, the weld is the strongest material and stress cracks would appear next to the weld. It cost me $300 to have the drum changed. Regardless of what the warranty says, no one expects a main component of an expense item like this to fail. If the company had any honor, they would honored those cracked drum complaints.

S
S
Sean Clay
Yucca Valley, US
Dec 14, 2010 12:12 am EST

I totally agree that LG is short for 'Lousy Garbage', and I am never buying any product from their company. We have a front loading washer and gas dryer, and paid top dollar for them. The washer seems to work ok, and doesn't stink if you leave the door open. The dryer, however, takes FOREVER to dry a load of towels (3hrs) even when set on high. We also had a bad experience with our LG stainless steel dishwasher, where it shorted out. The tech said that the insulation was all eaten away from the wiring due to corrosives in the soundproofing on the door. LG has refused to fix any of this and the tech said he could repair it for $800. (I could buy a new one for about $750). Anyone researching LG and doing compares to other brands, please take my advice and buy ANYTHING ELSE but LG!

J
J
Just Bob X
Huntsville, US
Nov 27, 2010 7:49 pm EST

I own the LG Trom W/D combo. Top of the line. Nothing but problems. Crap design. When something breaks they're going to the landfill. What a joke product. I'll be going back to the classic top load designs and watching to join the class action lawsuits.

K
K
kbweaver
Maple Grove, US
Nov 26, 2010 6:10 pm EST

I have a 3 year old LG Gas Dryer model DLG8388WM and it's been a lemon since we bought it. The control panel was replaced under warranty during the first year. Since the warranty expired, the hi-limit thermostat has been replaced twice and just went again. This time the thermostat lasted less than 6 months, which is when I last cleaned our dryer vent. As noted in earlier posts, the lint catcher is poorly designed and doesn't work properly. Apparently, every six months as recommended isn't sufficient. The paper thin steel (or is it tin) drum just cracked as well. Our LG washer has also been problematic and received service under warranty. The last time my hi-limit thermostat went out I filed a complaint with LG and never even received the courtesy of a response. Clearly they don't care about quality, customer service or customer loyalty. Despite a household of LG products, I will never again purchase anything manufactured or sold by LG.

M
M
Maria Angeles Rogles
, US
Nov 05, 2010 3:06 am EDT

I have the odor problem with my LG front loader washing machine. However, I also have a problem with the washer and dryer in that the letters on the front display have washed away, and cracked in some places. I went through hell last year to have the display replaced, the manufacturer refused to fix the display, then I went after Home Depot -I had purchased a warranty that by now has expired...- and they sent a local repairman, who ordered the front panels. The first panel for the washer machine, he wanted to install it and had to argue with him in that the selections were not in the same location. He said it didn't matter. I said that it didn't matter if he also changed the programmer inside, because if I wanted i.e. a Gentle Cycle, the new panel had the wording where a totally different cycle was before, thus, I was not getting the type of wash I needed, and had no way of knowing where the location for any particular selection was, thus, I was washing clothes blindly. Well, after about a month wait, the part came and was installed. Soon after, the display started to erase again (problem is the manufacturer did NOT bake the panel after wording was placed...) so I decided to just put clear nail enamel over the words. Low and behold, now that has happened to my dryer, and I have a big problem. I don't know what program I am using to dry my clothes...! The LG manufacturer claims this is a "cosmetic: issue. My point of view is totally different, I don't care how the letters look, but I need to be able to READ THEM!

D
D
Dean R Yarolimek
St Charles, US
Aug 16, 2010 3:54 pm EDT

I, like many others, have experienced a broken weld on the dryer drum assembly. The district approved distributor has indicated that this is a very popular replacement part for owners of this dryer. Unfortunately my dryer is slightly out of warranty. It appears as if this is, or should be an issue of concern for LG and/or the Better Business Bureau. I will pursue both avenues in hopes of obtaining a satisfactory solution to the problem. Hiring a repairman to replace the drum assembly costs nearly as much as the dryer itself. Fortunately, I still have the where-with-all to replace the assembly myself. I just bauk at paying $100.09 plus $81+ shipping and handling for the replacement part. The following may soon become a national slogan: LNG (Life is Not Good)

W
W
WV76X
Ogd, US
Aug 09, 2010 3:31 pm EDT

I have a LG dryer about two years old that I paid $1300 for. You guessed it! Weld failure on the drum resulting in a crack. The repair guy I think guessed exactly what had happened from my phone call. LG refuses to do anything keeping me on the phone for 20 minutes while acting as if they would take care of it, until I asked directly. Of course they won't help with even the cost of the part. Ridiculous. LG sucks!

A
A
A.J...
Saskatoon, CA
May 28, 2010 12:20 pm EDT

I will never ever purchase an LG appliance again. We bought 6 different appliance 2 years ago and 3 of them have had problems. I have the WM2016CW front load washer and my god it stinks to high heaven. I clean it every time after I do a day of laundry and leave the door open and it still stinks. According to LG Canada there has not been one person who has called in about a stinky washer. I guess I am the only one. lol. Now to my range. One day all the touch buttons stopped working. So now I have no burns to use but I can turn the stove on but to shut it off I have to flip the breaker. I was also told by LG that no one has called in about that either. I had the LG approved repair shop and he tells me he has fixed lots of the same stove with the same problem and I only live in a city of about 200, 000 people. Then he told me it could be up 3 months to get the parts in. So I get to go up to 3 months without a stove with 2 small children. I guess it is pizza and McDonald's for me. If I could go back in time I would have never ever bought anything LG.

G
G
Gee-Pee
Lexington, US
May 21, 2010 10:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same problem here...LG dryer cracked causing a loud thump when it spins. My home warranty would not replace because they claim it is a manufacturer's defect. LG refuses to cover claiming it is past the one year warranty. LG need to stand by their product and start replacing all models with faulty weld. Whatever happened to product recalls, if LG is aware of a defective part on their product, aren't they obliged to replace it for free? or is LG above everyone else?
Also, I need to mention that my washer broke within the first year. It will simply not drain with an error code UE. Although it was covered by manufacturer's warranty, what an inconvenience!
I believe that their washers have a faulty design as it gets moldy (black) and stinks in the rubber gasket at the opening.
LG is NOT WORTH the 2k I paid for.

E
E
exp1orer
Concord, US
May 03, 2010 6:27 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have a stinky washer and and my drum and rollers have been repaired twice. This time the drum cracked. since it was out of warranty (I just read that the drum was supposed to be warrantied for 7 years) I just ordered another one from sears parts and put it in and it was out of round. Now I have to contact them to get another drum! AAAAGGGHHHH!

K
K
Kay Combs
Leon, US
Apr 15, 2010 8:58 pm EDT

I too have a LG dryer, first they replaced the roller's, that didn't get rid of the thumping, so they said it was a cracked drum. We had the extended warranty, 2 repairmen, to replace drum, the one that was sent was out of round! They would order another one. After 5 months of waiting on the new drum, they decide to replace the dryer with a new one! We went to Best Buy to pick it out, well they don't make the blue(that we have) anymore! So now we have a different (colored) blue dryer with a square door, the washer has the round door! Also we had to pay tax, delivery, and for another extended warranty, which we should of got a rebait for the 2 years left on the warranty we had already purchased? Since it is a known defect from the factory? Shouldn't there have been a recall? We haven't had trouble with the washer yet, I leave the door open until it is completely dry and wipe out water on gaset and drum, so far this has worked.

M
M
mybaddryerdle2515s
pottstown, US
Apr 12, 2010 7:36 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

LG has fixed my dryer. I found in my paper work the drum has a 7 year warranty. I initiated a chat an the LG web-site and within 2 weeks I had my dryer fixed. I had to send pictures and paper work to them but it paid off. It cost me $75.00 in the end but much cheaper then a new dryer.

W
W
WillH
Grosse Ile, US
Apr 09, 2010 2:42 pm EDT

I had a cracked drum and replaced it myself. I purchased the parts from Sears Parts. I spent $200 for the drum (under $150), new rollers and next day shipping from Texas to Michigan. If it fails again I will be purchasing a new non-LG dryer.

K
K
kcstroud
Abilene, US
Apr 09, 2010 1:01 pm EDT

I also have had my lg washer and dryer for 2 years. This was supposed to be top of the line according to consumer reports. We have the tromm version with all the bells and whistles. A couple days ago I also heard the loud thumping noise so I got on the internet to see if anybody else had the same experience and coincidentally this is common amongst all lg owners. I checked the drum on the dryer and lo and behold I have the same issue. I think that I will jump on the bandwagon like everyone else and file a complaint. Hopefully there will be a class action lawsuit for these paper thin drums that won't even last more than a couple of years. We shouldn't be required to spend an additional $400.00 every couple of years because of shoddy equipment parts.

N
N
N8Dizzle
, US
Mar 31, 2010 8:25 am EDT

I've had the same dryer issue. Our dryer drum cracked right around the 2 year mark. The weld is completely pulling apart and creates a loud banging noise every time it makes a rotation. I've contacted LG, Washington State Attorney General, and the Better Business Bureau and have gotten no where. It's time to own up to your ### equipment, LG.

M
M
mtd4444
, US
Mar 05, 2010 6:11 pm EST

We had our LG washer & dryer set almost 6 years exactly when our dryer drum cracked, making a terrible thump every time the crack hits the roller. I have no odor issue with the washer, but I leave the door open to dry out the machine after washing and don't know if that has affected it. We also live in a dryer climate than some. I lost 3 articles of new clothing that were irreparably cut by the sharp metal of the crack in the dryer. I ended up putting 3 large extra-stick rectangular cloth type band aids over the crack and so far they have held. Now I'm shopping for a new dryer & will NOT purchase one from LG or one with LG parts (see TIME Magazine By Michael Schuman | Seoul Monday, Jun. 21, 2004: "To avoid a repeat of that failure, LG was content until recently to supply other companies with appliances that sell in the U.S. under their own brands. Chances are, the average American may own an LG-made product but not know it. LG says it sells 43% of all room air-conditioners in the U.S., for example, but many under brand names like GE and Kenmore.") If you see a dryer drum that looks like an LG drum (say like on a GE, Maytag or Whirlpool machine, it IS an LG drum. Even if the machine says it is made in the USA, it may STILL be a Korean/Chinese made LG drum.) Do your homework and check out "cracked dryer drum" or "cracked washer drum" on the internet before you buy. We called a local appliance repair company and wanted them to fix our machine and they told us it wasn't worth it because the machines are not good quality and it would be throwing good money after bad. I also looked at replacing the drum & rollers ourself, but concluded buying a new machine would be a better move because of the cost. I had checked out Consumer Reports and talked with sales people before buying these machines and don't believe I can trust these sources now, due to the number of negative comments and complaints I have seen about this problem and the way LG as a company treats their customers.
Read more: http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0, 9171, [protected]-655464, 00.html#ixzz0hLejq0C6

M
M
mybaddryerdle2515s
pottstown, US
Mar 03, 2010 9:25 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also have an LG washer and dryer. I do not have the smell issues but I do go through various steps to avoid this. My dryer is the issue at hand. I have the dle2515s, which when I bought it was rated very highly by Consumer Reports (shame on me). My drum is cracked at the seam as well and I am now jumping through hoops trying to get resolution to my problem. As most of you have resolved, I as well will never buy an LG product again. I have found in my piles of paper work a product sheet that says there is a 7 year warranty on the drum. I will attach this information seeing it may some of you with your seemingly hopeless fight. I am currently looking into what steps would be needed to facilitate a class action lawsuit. I hope we all can be made whole seeing like most I do not have an additional $500.00 to spend on repairs, especially when it is obviously a defect in the product.

C
C
Christine Waterhouse
Orlando, US
Feb 26, 2010 3:07 pm EST

We have the LG washer and dryer; washer has smell issues due to the design and I clean it all the time. The dryer has a cracked drum and is pulling apart at the seam so this ruins the clothes, oh and it makes loud banging noises too! LG will not do anything about it, wouldn't return my calls when then said they would get back to me in 24-48 hours. I finally talked to someone after calling over and over and over who finally got back to me and they will cover the parts, but only if sent to a technician and we would have to pay for labor. I think this is absourd as we have already paid for a working dryer and we want it to work! Not only that after having about 3-4 people come out the fix the LG refridgerator it is now doing the same thing, but they won't cover that after it was fixed because of their faulty products. Never, ever will I buy another LG! I forgot to add that the lint catcher doesn't work properly and we have to constantly clean out lint from the laundry room and dryer so we don't have a fire! If you look on the picture I have attached you can see the split seem and if you look closely you can see the crack also. This is not by misuse, this is because of faulty parts.

B
B
Blazanator
Vancouver, CA
Feb 07, 2010 1:44 pm EST

Wow - well not only does our LG washer tend to stink (especially if we forget to leave the door open after every load), our dryer CAUGHT ON FIRE last night! It wasn't even on at the time. It was full of dry clothes and they all got destroyed. The fire inspector said there was a short somewhere in the electrical system. I wonder if a faulty drum had anything to do with it because how did an electrical spark get inside the drum when it wasn't even running!?! We're waiting to hear back from LG. It's only 1 1/2 old. but of cousre, not covered by warranty.

K
K
KAMR
Rolling Meadows, US
Jan 21, 2010 9:34 am EST

I completely agree...we have had our washer/dryer for 2 1/2 years and we just found out that the drum is cracked. It's going to cost $325 to have a new drum installed, which is so aggravating. I have had much cheaper dryers that have lasted for 10 years! I have called LG and plan on calling them again to complain. We also have the odor, but find if you take the laundry out asap and/or use baking soda, that really helps.

  1. LG Electronics Contacts

  2. LG Electronics phone numbers
    8800 200 7676
    8800 200 7676
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 8800 200 7676 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 8800 200 7676 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 8800 200 7676 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 8800 200 7676 phone number
    Russia
    +1 (800) 315-9999
    +1 (800) 315-9999
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 315-9999 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 315-9999 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 315-9999 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 315-9999 phone number
    India
    800 545 454
    800 545 454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 800 545 454 phone number 5 5 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 800 545 454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 800 545 454 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 800 545 454 phone number
    11%
    Confidence score
    South Africa
    80 054
    80 054
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 80 054 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling 80 054 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 80 054 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling 80 054 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    UAE
    +82 264 564 337
    +82 264 564 337
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +82 264 564 337 phone number 15 15 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +82 264 564 337 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +82 264 564 337 phone number 11 11 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +82 264 564 337 phone number
    15%
    Confidence score
    Head Office, South Korea
    +1 (800) 243-0000
    +1 (800) 243-0000
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 243-0000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 243-0000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 243-0000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (800) 243-0000 phone number
    United States
    +44 344 847 5454
    +44 344 847 5454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +44 344 847 5454 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +44 344 847 5454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +44 344 847 5454 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +44 344 847 5454 phone number
    United Kingdom
    +61 130 054 2273
    +61 130 054 2273
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +61 130 054 2273 phone number 5 5 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +61 130 054 2273 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +61 130 054 2273 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +61 130 054 2273 phone number
    Australia
    +1 (888) 542-2623
    +1 (888) 542-2623
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (888) 542-2623 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (888) 542-2623 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (888) 542-2623 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +1 (888) 542-2623 phone number
    Canada
    +43 800 080 040
    +43 800 080 040
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +43 800 080 040 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +43 800 080 040 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +43 800 080 040 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +43 800 080 040 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Austria
    +32 15 200 255
    +32 15 200 255
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +32 15 200 255 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +32 15 200 255 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +32 15 200 255 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +32 15 200 255 phone number
    60%
    Confidence score
    Belgium
    +42 810 555 810
    +42 810 555 810
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +42 810 555 810 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +42 810 555 810 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +42 810 555 810 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +42 810 555 810 phone number
    14%
    Confidence score
    Czech Rebuplic
    +45 78 796 454
    +45 78 796 454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +45 78 796 454 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +45 78 796 454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +45 78 796 454 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +45 78 796 454 phone number
    Denmark
    +49 180 611 5411
    +49 180 611 5411
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +49 180 611 5411 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +49 180 611 5411 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +49 180 611 5411 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +49 180 611 5411 phone number
    Germany
    +358 80 005 454
    +358 80 005 454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +358 80 005 454 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +358 80 005 454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +358 80 005 454 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +358 80 005 454 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Finland
    +39 199 600 099
    +39 199 600 099
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +39 199 600 099 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +39 199 600 099 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +39 199 600 099 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +39 199 600 099 phone number
    Italy
    +31 900 543 5454
    +31 900 543 5454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +31 900 543 5454 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +31 900 543 5454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +31 900 543 5454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +31 900 543 5454 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Netherlands
    +47 81 569 154
    +47 81 569 154
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +47 81 569 154 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +47 81 569 154 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +47 81 569 154 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +47 81 569 154 phone number
    Norway
    +351 808 785 454
    +351 808 785 454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +351 808 785 454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +351 808 785 454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +351 808 785 454 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +351 808 785 454 phone number
    Portugal
    +34 963 050 500
    +34 963 050 500
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +34 963 050 500 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +34 963 050 500 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +34 963 050 500 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +34 963 050 500 phone number
    Spain
    +46 770 545 454
    +46 770 545 454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +46 770 545 454 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +46 770 545 454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +46 770 545 454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +46 770 545 454 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Sweden
    +86 400 819 9999
    +86 400 819 9999
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +86 400 819 9999 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +86 400 819 9999 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +86 400 819 9999 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +86 400 819 9999 phone number
    China
    +852 35 437 777
    +852 35 437 777
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +852 35 437 777 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +852 35 437 777 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +852 35 437 777 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +852 35 437 777 phone number
    Hong Kong
    +81 120 813 023
    +81 120 813 023
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +81 120 813 023 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +81 120 813 023 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +81 120 813 023 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +81 120 813 023 phone number
    Japan
    +65 65 120 555
    +65 65 120 555
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +65 65 120 555 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +65 65 120 555 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +65 65 120 555 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +65 65 120 555 phone number
    Singapore
    +966 800 244 2929
    +966 800 244 2929
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +966 800 244 2929 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +966 800 244 2929 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +966 800 244 2929 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +966 800 244 2929 phone number
    Saudi Arabia
    +90 444 6543
    +90 444 6543
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +90 444 6543 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +90 444 6543 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +90 444 6543 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +90 444 6543 phone number
    Turkey
    +54 800 888 5454
    +54 800 888 5454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +54 800 888 5454 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +54 800 888 5454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +54 800 888 5454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +54 800 888 5454 phone number
    50%
    Confidence score
    Argentina
    +55 800 707 5454
    +55 800 707 5454
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +55 800 707 5454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +55 800 707 5454 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +55 800 707 5454 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +55 800 707 5454 phone number
    Brazil
    +52 53 211 919
    +52 53 211 919
    Click up if you have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +52 53 211 919 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have successfully reached LG Electronics by calling +52 53 211 919 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +52 53 211 919 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached LG Electronics by calling +52 53 211 919 phone number
    14%
    Confidence score
    Mexico
    More phone numbers
  3. LG Electronics emails
  4. LG Electronics address
    LG Twin Towers, 20, Yeouido-dong, Yeongdeungpo-gu, Seoul, Korea (South)
  5. LG Electronics social media
  6. Nick
    Checked and verified by Nick This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 17, 2024
LG Electronics Category
LG Electronics is ranked 4 among 125 companies in the Consumer Electronics category