SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Kohl'stell me what's wrong...

1
D Review updated:

Okay...so here's the deal.

I work at Kohl's, and I'm quite knowledgable about any and all policies kohl's has. And I'm getting tired of reading all these random complaints about how Kohl's is "running a credit card scam" or "not advertising what they have". All that jazz.

So, leave a complaint here, about anything regarding kohl's. Anything that hasn't been good for you. And i'll tell you how to fix it.

I warn you, though, you may not like the answer. More likely than not, the fault rests in your hands.

But if you really do want your problems solved, just tell them to me. Remember, I'm here to help :)

- Your Friendly Neighborhood Kohl's Employee (FNKE)

Responses

  • G
      Aug 02, 2009

    wow, you are really dedicated to your job- for what like $8/hour? we need more people like you in the world:)

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Dec 07, 2009

    You must be a manager because your attitude reminds me of the BS run around I got this evening when I tried to return some clothes that didn't fit. Long story short: I asked the employee when I purchased the items what form of payment would be best for a possible return since I had to try clothes on at my home. I was told whatever was easiest for me... They have a hassle-free return policy. I decided to pay by check and verified again I could return items the following day. I was told no problem. That was 4 days ago... I tried to return some of the items and the associate called a manager because they don't accept returns until 9 days after purchase. I explained to the manager my check already cleared and showed proof (image of cleared check). A loss prevention guy joined the discussion and told me a check is only a promissary note and I would have to wait 9 days to return the item. I asked where their check policy was posted sincevthe back of the receipt mentioned nothing about having to wait 9 days. Instantly the manager and loss prevention employee asked me to leave the store and not return to their property. I tried as why, and how I was suppposed to get money back if I was not welcome to return to their store. The loss prevention employee stated he would call the police if I did not leave.
    Needless to say I still have $80 worth of clothing that doesn't fit and the local store will not give me information to contact their regional office.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Dec 24, 2009

    Okay...let's get started...

    1. I'm not a manager. I'm an associate who has worked with kohl's long enough to have experience absolutely every department.

    2. We have fitting rooms. Try you clothes on in the store to avoid fue situations like this.

    3. The easiest way to return something is after you purchase it with a Kohl's Charge. All you need as a bare minimum would be the item at the return desk. We can litterally look u your card, then look up the item through that card to return it.

    4. The term "hassle-free" relatively translates to "we will bend over backwards to try and help you out, but you gotta give us something to work with". I've returned broken coffee pots that were purchase back in 2006 for a full refund (it was store credit, but still) because the customer held onto the reciept.

    5. The rule about returns must be done after 9 days is new to me. It could be just a check purchase, but i have returned things for customers on the same day that they were purchased.

    6. Don't use checks to purchase things. They take a long time to fill out, they require a driver's license to be put through, and they create hassles like these. Use cash, credit/debit, or a kohl's charge.

    7. To get thrown out and banned from a store, you have to be pretty off-the-wall in the store. You would have had to make a big enough scene that would have had to involve you yelling, ranting, and raving in the store. Think back, and when you do, go over the events in your head. Were you upsetting to those around you? Did you curse? Perhaps you were throwing a fit? Regardless, be mindful of your actions. You, and only you, are responsible for getting kicked out and banned from any location.

    8. You can obviously use the internet, so do yourself a favor and go to kohls.com to look up any policies or contact information you need. It will also tell you where other stores are located in case you wish to return the items elsewhere.

    Sincerely,
    Your FNKE

    -2 Votes
  • K
      Nov 08, 2019

    @dirtycuban1211 wrong again child. to be thrown out of a store requires nothing more than a pissant clerk with a god complex having a tantrum when someone asks for their supervisor. in fact ive been threatened with the cops by bank managers for that exact reason. Butthurt power tripping [censored] abusing police resources to inflate their own sense of importance because they are embarrassed by their own uselessness

    0 Votes
  • F
      Mar 01, 2010

    I agree with the person who has the complaint. Lets see, do not use a check for it takes too long to fill out, use a Kohls charge card. Yea...

    +2 Votes
  • D
      Mar 03, 2010

    I also said use cash, or credit/debit. Checks are outdated in today's day and age. Why they are still used, i don't really know. When there is a long line, and someone starts writing a check, it takes twice as long as any other tender type. It requires a driver's license to be put through properly, which surprisingly a lot of people seem to leave in their car. If you simply insist on using a check, then at least write it out while you make your purchase. Save the people in line behind you the wait.

    The only reason to use a check is to make a payment on a Kohl's Charge. It's one of the only two options, the other being cash. And again, if you are going to make a payment, write out the check prior to getting to the register.

    Next time you wanna defend someone, make sure you have your facts straight, you idiot. Yea...

    -2 Votes
  • K
      Nov 08, 2019

    @dirtycuban1211 its obvious a mere sales clerk like yourself doesn't understand basic accounting principles. Why dont u advise Kohls Accounts Receivables Department that checks are mere throwbacks and a hassle and inform them of their abject stupidity because kiddo I can guarantee they would not use a credit card to pay for their goods and services. This new age robbery has only been forced on the individual consumer by brainwashing the idiot clerks into thinking EFT transactions and ACH transactions are interchangable. I encourage you to take a basic accounting course or at least invest in a legal dictionary and learn something that didn't come from a one hour, in house " customer service" training course full of disinformation

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Mar 13, 2010

    ### i work at kohls too, and you know damn well that kohls is ###ed up in every way. you cannot take up for that sack of ### excuse for a department store. i have never been treated so unfairly in a work atmosphere in my life. making you feel like a god damn robot from the get go. with the repeat after me GREAT ###. ### kohls in the ### with a splintery poll. 7.50 an hour. i do my damn job and go over the top for it and i get in trouble for trying to actually care about people. customers don't want a ###ing kohls card. the economy is no good for it. people are broke. there are no jobs. thats how i ended up in this ### job. you want them damn credits, stand at the door catch everyone who comes in. they just need some clothes, you don't need a card for every store you go in. we compeat with JC Penny and Sears... appearently wal mart too... no one can compeat with wal mart. no one. and they have cards as well. any costomer who has a kohls card has all the other cards too. no one is dedicated to kohls like you wish they did in your wonderland. they just want a good deal. no ###. and EVEN if you had a kohls card we can't always find your purchases appearently... so don't go for it.

    -4 Votes
  • D
      Mar 21, 2010

    Never said I liked my job. But it's work, and it pays me what i need.

    Other than that, thanks for not contributing to this conversation in any constructive way.

    +2 Votes
  • K
      Nov 08, 2019

    @dirtycuban1211 as opposed to the useless word vomit being expelled by a pissant clerk with a god complex?

    0 Votes
  • O
      Apr 06, 2010

    Under the return button on a a return register--customer service or the one register a jewelry, there is a lookup button. If you scan the card, including the kohl's card, that you purchaced the item on, it will find your original reciept.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Dec 04, 2010

    Just an observation. I do not shop at Kohls whatsoever but I did go to this store with friend of mine. I noticed that the Pillow Pets are "regular priced" at 24.99 and were on "sale" for 19.99. If you go into Target, Toys R Us, and even some grocery stores the REGULAR price is 19.99. You can also compare all theses store prices online. The grocery store had a TRUE SALE of this product for 15.99. I"m assuming, and correct me if I'm wrong, that the true regular price 19.99. I do not work in the sales industry but does Kohls purposely mark up prices just to place a "sale" ad to sell at it's true regular price. Just curious...I also noticed this on several other items as well, Pillow Pets as an example.

    +2 Votes
  • T
      Dec 13, 2010

    CORONA, every store marks up items and then sells them at a "sale" price. That's why technology is often so expensive, but quickly gets cheaper. With phones, the next one is usually already made, and they sell the "worse" one, so there's always something better to buy.

    The Pillow Pets you're buying probably cost about .40 to actually produce. Anything after that is a mark up. While Kohl's may mark their items higher, you need to keep in mind that Kohl's also features more (and better) discounts at one time than any other retailer out there - that's why they're doing better than every retailer other than Wal Mart in the stock exchange.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Nov 08, 2019

    @TheKyle now the pissant clerk is a stock market guru lolol lmfao

    0 Votes
  • C
      May 31, 2012

    I feel bad for person who attempted to try and defend Kohls and did such a poor job of it. Here are the facts:
    -if you write a check, kohls processes the check and when they do this, it hits your account with a pending charge. The 9 days is roughly the amount of time it takes a check to fully clear...or should I say for Kohls to get their money. The original poster is right about one thing...who the hell uses checks for anything other than payments? It is 2012 correct? Check floating is a thing of the past people.
    -kohls has a Yes we can policy. They will match anyones best price...best return policy in retail (yes better than Walmart). There are exceptions where a check is written and kohls hasn't received the money. They won't just blindly assume your check is going to clear...that would be dumb business. But just in case you doubt the yes we can policy...the managers do have the ability to take care of you and give you cash, either he chose not to because you pissed him off or he didn't know he could. Lol
    -lol at guy making 7.50 an hour and ### about management thinking he is worthless. Odds are he is not a good employee and is inefficient. Also, I you don't like them, go work somewhere else bum. Lol
    -prices do get mark ups due to price increases in raw materials. That's the only time things are marked up. Other retailers do the same.

    At the end I the day, the people who get the greatest deals are cardholders. Don't like that, go to Walmart and settle for inferior quality products.

    Thanks for your time.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Nov 08, 2019

    @ChuckY101 seriously go vomit in your own house not out in public. no one should be forced to deal with your regurgitation of disinformation

    0 Votes
  •   May 31, 2012

    I feel bad for the guy posting on a 3 year old thread.

    +3 Votes
  • C
      May 31, 2012

    I feel bad for the troll who is trolling a 3yr old thread. Lol

    -3 Votes
  • C
      May 31, 2012

    At least I can blame it on not seeing the date. What's your excuse...lol

    -3 Votes
  • L
      May 31, 2012

    It's the battle of the necro's.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      May 31, 2012

    Sounds like a real adventure.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 19, 2012

    I realize this is an old thread, but I feel the need to clear a few things up for anyone who might read it. Yes, if you pay by check, it takes 9 days for it to clear. During that time, Kohl's will typically not give you cash. Check clearing rules are the same at any retail establishment. However, the original poster was misleading in saying that she was unable to return the items. During that 9 day period, you can take a store credit (works like a gift card). You could also even exchange for the correct sizes. Lastly, the associate is able to issue a Corporate Refund. These take about a month to get to you, but barring any issues, such as a bounced check, Kohl's would send you a check for the amount that your returns came to. I disagree with the other associate who is trying to make the customer feel bad for using a check. It is still an acceptable form of payment, but the customer needs to be prepared to wait for the check to fully clear.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2013

    Your return policy sucks. I bought an item and was not happy w/it. When I bought it I spent about 30 dollars and in error was given Kohl's cash of $10.00. Now at time of my purchase I rec'd 20% discount. The item I'm trying to return was 19.99, now they only want to return me 5.99 as they say the 10 dollars kohl's cash was used. Yes it was used on a different purchase 3 days later and I have the receipt showing on what date it was used. How in the world can you go back and take it from my purchase the day Kohl's cash was issued not USED. I've called Kohl';s and all they say is that's policy. YOur policy to to screw me. The Kohl's case should be deducted on the receipt it was usesd on. I'm ready to get a hold of news channel to help me resolve this issue since my calls go unresolved.

    0 Votes
  • 1
      Apr 09, 2013

    So I brought back an item for return at the Kohl's in Sun Valley, CA. Cashier tells me that the tag (which clearly said Kohl's, SKU, and the price) was not found in the computer, so all they could do was give me 3$ for the brand new shirt i was trying to exchange/return. So after arguing with the manager and some random zombie employee I decided to keep the shirt - take it home and burn it. Yes, that is my opinion of Kohl's. NEVER again will I even think of going there.

    It's like a bunch of zombies work there, fanatical about "the process" but really missing the point the customer is trying to convey. A computer error overrides the common sense approach to a problem.

    These poor individuals get paid minimum wages but are brainwashed into defending the party line to the death.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Apr 09, 2013

    To Saenz, you never would have earned Kohl's Cash had you not made the original purchase where it was issued. Kohl's Cash is something where you have to spend a certain amount in order to earn it. When you make a return, if it brings you below the purchase amount to earn the coupon, you will lose that coupon value...either by voiding the coupon or taking the value of the used coupon off of the return amount. Think about what would happen if Kohl's didn't do this. Some customers would make large purchases to earn a high amount of Kohl's Cash, spend the Kohl's Cash, and then return the original merchandise so that they essentially were getting free gift cards.

    To Faast, if an item is no longer found in the computer, it means that you purchased it over a year ago. Without receipt, the most Kohl's can do is the clearance price that it was sold in order to rid the floors of that shirt. You can play the victim all you want, but the bottom line is you didn't have a receipt and were returning an extremely outdated shirt.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Apr 24, 2013

    This is a heated forum of comments! I just wanted to add that my one of my return experiences at khols was great and the manager went above and beyond to help me. I bought a kids world map that came with a small baggie of the items to place on the map (names of oceans, animals etc). It was for my 4year old for Christmas. In the rush and excitement of tearing gifts open, the baggie of stick on's was likely thrown away with the sea of wrapping paper. I went in to khols with all intentions of buying another whole set just for the lost bag of stickers. I decided to just ask and see if there was any way they had spares and the manager didn't even hesitate. He just grabbed another whole set and gave me the item I needed. I offered to pay a reduced amount and they said no thanks and merry Christmas. Needless to say I was pleased. This was the Encinitas CA store. I've also returned items that invalidated khols cash and that seemed fair enough.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Nov 11, 2013

    Someone I know was banned from kohls for shoplifting about 3 years ago, this person wants to go into another kohls to buy something they really want that only kohls has. What will happen if she is recognized somehow? Will they just ask her to leave?

    0 Votes
  • S
      Nov 29, 2014

    @hatekohlswithapassion, you probably couldn't get a better paying job because you're illiterate and have a horrible attitude. The only way/reason Kohl's is so messed up is because they even CONSIDERED hiring an idiot like you. Lol

    0 Votes
  • A
      Dec 08, 2014

    Looked at the ad. 25% of purchases today on most items. Purchased an item that qualified. Got the 25% off. Got Kohls dollars also! Thought this is a nice store, maybe I'll get a Kohls credit card. After all all the brochures offer 20% of your entire sale the day you open the card. Apparently not today. Since I already got 25% off, they would not offer the additional 20% off if I opened a card today! Not quite sure what the disconnect was between opening a Kohls account and buying something that was on sale. Checked out with my Visa card. Last year I purchased a large item at Sears! They honored the web price, ordered for me on line and said it would be delivered from the store the next day! They then asked if I wanted to open an account for an additional discount! Hmmm.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jan 19, 2016

    I work at khols, I love working here except for the hours and pay. I know it may seem like the original person hours and pay but I went from having 30 hours a week to none now when I heard of this I went home crying thinking what did I do wrong when I finally confronted the manager asking why don't I have any hours I was told that everyone's hours gets cut back. I was then told it was also based off performance now I took offense to this why was I not doing good i sat down for a while and thought what I could do better here as I thought I realized I was doing everything perfectly fine and I believe I would not be noticed for this I would pick up all the jeans and refold them to with that I also cooked each fitting room cleaned out and helped out when I was needed aka "back up at men's" I feel very unappreciated at Kohl's besides working there I love working there but it's things like these that I don't our cutbacks are terrible I relied on this to pay my bills and now I come home every night worried and crying what company would love to make their employees cry and leave them stranded without money Khols does I believe if they put more hours on the board the store will be running even better and be even clean instead of starting to look like Ross

    0 Votes
  • I
      Oct 02, 2016

    I am so trying to buy online. I've spent hundreds upon hundreds upon hindreds of dollars(Thousands in the past 9 yrs), with khols for the present/many past yrs. Decided to do online buy n ship. Wows, wow, wow, it sucks!!! I'm willing to spend $$$$$$ on a suck site. Im done kohl's and with your website you suck big time.
    I just saved thousands of $$$$$ for not buying your crap.
    Savings= unlimited by not buying khols crap, caca
    Stick a fork in me, never again

    +1 Votes
  • I
      Oct 02, 2016

    you are so right, I hate kohl's and how they treat their employees. I will NEVER shop their stores again. crap store

    0 Votes
  • I
      Oct 02, 2016

    you suck kohl's, big time. I've spent too much money in your store without quality items. online????? you suck even more. wow, im shredding my cards, never again albeit you're 1.5 miles from my home. this store is marked up beyond the quality of all items.
    CHECK OUT: AMAZON, EBAY, EBATES, ESTY, DSW, MAYCS, ...
    you suck big time. CUTTING UP MY CARDS. So tired of your crap that you sell. Stick a fork in me.

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Feb 07, 2017

    Returns: Heaven help you if you don't have a receipt. Most people that give a gift do not attach the receipt to it. When I went to return an item given as a gift...ooooohhhhh brother . On a clearly marked item exactly 39.99, ( and another exactly like it on the shelf) I was offered in store credit for a mere 8.90 ! ! What a joke. "But you have no receipt. The item might have been on sale for all we know when purchased." Well, you can bet your sweet you now what it sure wasn't on sale for 8.90 ! ! I will never accept another gift from that store ! ! Their attitude was like...oh well. Did they bother to look it up to see if it had been on sale, NO. They got their money from the one who purchased it, and that was all that mattered. While there another woman was having the same problem. Never, never would I give that place a red cent ! !

    0 Votes

Post your comment