Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unsolicited Phone Calls HSBC Holdings harassing calls!
More

HSBC Holdings - harassing calls!

V
Author of the complaint
2:40 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have 5 credit cards with hsbc (never again) I recently got hurt at work and need surgery. I have filed a claim with the disability section of the credit card company. I receive several calls daily regarding my late payments. I have told them on several occasions and even when I am being interrupted by the caller tried to tell them (although they don't listen) about the claim and that I am only making what work comp pays and that is less than 1/2 of what I make. so food and rent is my main priority right now. I have talked to several managers about what is going on and they state that they will put a note on their computer regarding that and that no further late fees will be assessed.

I am still receiving phone calls that ask for the money owed and I actually was able to send in some money and make at least the 1st month current. I am very pi*d off at this point and when they call I put them on hold stating that I am on the other line and just hit the mute button. I have a son overseas in iraq and the same info comes over the caller id when he calls, so I have to answer each phone call hoping that it is my son instead.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply
28 comments
Add a comment
V
Jan 12, 2007 2:40 am

I've been receiving calls [protected] about 4 times a day. I work nights and these calls start from in the morning and go through out the day. I know i am behind my monthly, but it is only for this. Sometimes when you answer the call no one talks. The time i have been able to talk to someone i inform them that i will make a payment this coming week but the calls do not stop.

Yours truly,

Victor m. Marrero

Helpful?
0 0
J

Long story short, went in and directly asked what would happen if I used my card overseas and was told no fees would be charged, and if they were, I would get them back. I went overseas, used the card, and got hit with roughly $20 in fees that I was told in the end is my problem. NEVER use this bank.

Helpful?
0 0
G
Jun 21, 2010 2:40 am

I can't believe they charged me 29.99% interest so I transfered balance to another card at 1.9% thieves aren't they.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jun 19, 2010 2:40 am

Want to know what they are doing with payments given no breakdown of all charges and fees made payments being riped off turned complaint to attorney gernerals office in westvirginia haveing attornet also checking this out for me being over charged!

Helpful?
0 0
S
Feb 10, 2010 2:40 am

I called 5 times today to get help with releasing a hold of a guests credit card from my hotel. They were all extremely rude and not helpful at all. This place needs to go out of business, they are a disgrace to even call them selfs customer service representatives.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Nov 25, 2008 2:40 am

These people call my boss every day asking to speak to him. He refuses to speak to them and I even hang upon them but they still call everyday. One day they called 4 times. Enough is enough ! These people who call need to get a REAL job.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Sep 21, 2008 2:40 am

HSBC BANK RIP-OFF! CROOKS! THIEVES! THEY ### ALL THEIR CUSTOMERS! THEY DON"T GIVE A ### ABOUT ANYTHING! YOU CAN'T EVEN REACH THEM BY TELEPHONE! SCOUNDRELS! ###S! SONS OF ###! SHEEP###ERS! DON'T EVER, EVER USE THEM FOR ANYTHING!

Helpful?
0 0
S
Oct 18, 2012 2:40 am

Sir I recived mail from HSBC BANK that I have won 300, 000.00 GBP plz explain is it fraud or real.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Apr 03, 2012 2:40 am

HSBC BANK INFORM ME I WON 85 LAC I SUBMITEED ALL DOCUMENT

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 27, 2008 2:40 am

They took money out of my account unauthorized! Beware all!

Helpful?
0 0
C
Jun 12, 2007 2:40 am

Calls on home phone and cell phone every five minutes 24 hrs a day!

Helpful?
0 0
D

From: HSBC BANK LONDON U.K
To:
Sent: Saturday, 6 July 2013 1:10 AM
Subject: Hsbc bank uk lottery claim of 85 lakhs

HSBC BANK LONDON U.K
Head Office, Collection Acc Head Office
Collection Account, London DSC, 2nd Floor,
62-76 Park St, Southwark, SE1 9DZ,
Phone: (+44) [protected]
London, London, U.K

Attention: Sir/Madam,

Your E-mail ID has won you the total sum of Rs 85 lakhs from the HSBC
BANK BOARD OF PROMOTION 2013, We are please to inform you of our yearly
promotion award program held on JULY 2013, your email id is been
selected by our automatic ballot computer Microsoft program (A.B.C.M.P)
and has pronounced Your email-Id among the 33 lucky winners of a total
sum of 85Lakhs From the HSBC BANK LONDON UK, CONTACT: The claims office
with your winning Serial-No: {[protected]} and fill the Details bellow,

Make Sure You Send Your Detail To:[email protected]

1.Full Name:
2.Home Address:
3.Mobile No.:
4.Country:
5.Nationality:
6.State:
7.E-mail Id:
SUBMIT TO:[email protected]

Mr. Edward Hudd (Director)
Tel:+[protected]
Fax:+[protected]
Fax:+[protected]
International Lottery Payment Department

Helpful?
0 0
X
Jun 21, 2009 2:40 am

Today 20 – June – 2009

I am writing to dispute a billing error in the amount of 259.82BP on my account. The amount is inaccurate because unauthorized charges were posted on account statement:
1) 3-Jun : Yahoo mail for 12.57BP
2) on 15-May from Total jobs Com Sutton GBR 247.25BP .

I am requesting that the error be corrected, that any finance and other charges related to the disputed amount be credited as well, and that I receive an accurate statement.
I do not have any evident of enclosed information, sales slips, payment records to be enclosed are copies to your to supporting my position. This is because I have no knowledge about the charges. Currently, I cancel my credit card, and Zero my Bank account to prevent further fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices in the marketplace. Please investigate this matter and correct the billing error as soon as possible.

On the 10-June, I already contact HSBC Web site and filed the complaint notice and phone contacted to HSBC customer and noticed them about the issue, and request cancel of my credit card. However to dispute a billing your customer told me that he will send me the complaint form, and that its, until today I haven’t received any form or document regards to this issue from HSBC.

TT

Helpful?
0 0
K
Feb 10, 2009 2:40 am

I HATE HSBC myself. I'm so sorry I ever received a credit card for them. Unfortunately, it got to the point I was getting nowhere with my minimum payments to them. I was unemployed for a few months and thank goodness I was able to get another job. But being paid minimum wage is barely enough to cover the payments they want.

I have since then signed with Greenpath (I've been with them for almost two months now) and they have helped me immensely. I pay 400 dollars a month (for the 6 out of 7 credit cards I have that are maxed out) and they projected I would out of debt in 4 years.

Honestly, it was the best thing I could have done for myself. To anyone considering debt management check the company before you sign! Check with your local BBB and see if they are a member of it.

Helpful?
0 0

My daughter was injured at work back in August, 2008. She applied for the disability portion of the card contract (for which she paid $5.00 extra per month for coverage). They made her jump through hoops and made ONE PAYMENT. She just returned to work on Jan 5, 2009. So they should have made five payments. I got into this mix because she does not have a telephone (land or cell) and my number was given for the contact number. I keep telling them I'll tell her when I see her and that this is NOT her residence. They have even called my on Saturday and Sunday! When she gets home from work today, I am going to contact her and find out all of the particulars. Then, I am going to contact the Ohio Attorney General's office as well as the Ohio Department of Insurance. Meanwhile, because I have Privacy Manager through AT&T, I have blocked their collection calls from Accounts Receivable Management which is an arm of HSBC Card Services.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jan 23, 2009 2:40 am

Be Very Careful with HSBC Best Buy accounts. They are sending a document which looks very much like junk mail to card holders telling them that interest rates will go up Feb 2009 unless you send a letter stating that you do not accept this change and have them cancel your card for future purchases. It is in very fine print and seem quite shady to me.
I also have a revolving home equity with them, (not by choice, it was sold to them by Beneficial) and they call constantly. Obviously I have been late with payments, but they are relentless and even called me 3 times on a day that I got caught up! "Oh i see you made a payment today" was the response for the ### on the other end. They start calling at 8 in the morning even on Sundays!
Steer clear of this company.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Nov 18, 2008 2:40 am

I have the same thing happening to me. I am unemployed and make payments, but not as much as they would like. Most people are nice about it, but one person actually asked me what I spent my money on and suggested that I spend all the money I get to pay off my debt.
It really made me mad that it happened

Helpful?
0 0
C
Nov 12, 2008 2:40 am

C.Sasivarnan
2/23, Chinnaya Street,
T.Nagar, Chennai – 600 017
Cell No. [protected] .

To,

The Manager,
HSBC,
Credit Card,
Chennai.

Sir,

Sub: Misuse of my Credit Card No.[protected] Reporting – please investigate
Required – Reg.

I have received your SMS stating that I have spent Rs.36458/-, I shocked to see the SMS, I called to your telephone banking credit card section, I report my complaint, I come to know through your banking staff not only one transaction there are three more transaction was happened in above as follows.

1.Shell KOBKIAT services on 4th Nov 2008 for Rs.36458.06/-

2.Pure021 MUENG NOKARNWAYOK on 5th Nov 2008 for Rs.6249.71/-

3.Shell KOBKIAT services on 5th Nov for Rs.35666.69/-

4.Sira services L.P on 4th Nov for Rs.1314.26/-

Please kindly investigate and expenses the credit on my Account.

Thanking You,

Yours truly,
(C.Sasivarnan)

Helpful?
0 0
C
Nov 12, 2008 2:40 am

From:- Date: 12.11.2008

C.Sasivarnan
2/23, Chinnaya Street,
T.Nagar, Chennai – 600 017
Cell No. [protected] .

To,

The Manager,
HSBC,
Credit Card,
Chennai.

Sir,

Sub: Misuse of my Credit Card No.[protected] Reporting – please investigate
Required – Reg.

I have received your SMS stating that I have spent Rs.36458/-, I shocked to see the SMS, I called to your telephone banking credit card section, I report my complaint, I come to know through your banking staff not only one transaction there are three more transaction was happened in above as follows.

1.Shell KOBKIAT services on 4th Nov 2008 for Rs.36458.06/-

2.Pure021 MUENG NOKARNWAYOK on 5th Nov 2008 for Rs.6249.71/-

3.Shell KOBKIAT services on 5th Nov for Rs.35666.69/-

4.Sira services L.P on 4th Nov for Rs.1314.26/-

Please kindly investigate and expenses the credit on my Account.

Thanking You,

Yours truly,
(C.Sasivarnan)

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 23, 2008 2:40 am

We are a corporate office for a VERY well-known movie company. HSBC continues to call multiple times a day for an employee who does NOT work here anymore. I have said this multiple times and they repeatedly call for the last two months. I have e-mailed a complaint previously and another just now threatening to contact our legal department.

Just an FYI: If you say to the person 'Please remove me from your calling list' the company is not allowed to contact you for seven years. It is against the law for them to contact you again, but these jerks don't listen.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Sep 23, 2008 2:40 am

I too have been recieving calls from [protected] which i'm guessing from their accents is in the usa!

i know why because i am just over my overdraft of which i was fully aware of at the time of doing it! once i get paid this week it will all be rectified!
i get at least two calls a day at first i was polite and said i will not discuss my bank details etc over the phone and please send me a letter which they said yes to but guess what the very next day i get the same phone call this has been happening over the past two weeks.is there no communication between their staff.
I tried to be polite but now i am at my wits end! what can i do?

To top it all off i got a letter two days ago telling me what i already knew.What a waste of paper!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 22, 2008 2:40 am

HSBC should be SHUT DOWN! I'm currently unemployed and have told them so, 100's of times. I will not pay them a dime because of thier calls. How can I fight back?

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jun 06, 2008 2:40 am

Hi,
This is regarding the complaint (#[protected]) I have raise on 16/04/2008 about the balance transfer of RS 16, 000/-. I clearly explained in the complaint what ever happend with me. I have not got any DD or check from HSBC regarding my balance transfer, becouse of that I haven't met my payment due till now. But still you people are sending monthly statement, and calling, torchering me to make the payment, where I never have been used your money. Its realy irritates me like nay thing. And even today aslo somebody called me and used rubbish language and asking me to make the payment. and he aslo told, if I wont met the payment he is going to murder me. this is realy raly very bad and shame on your part. please take severe action this and the person who scolded me.

With Regards,
Srinivasa Prasad

Helpful?
0 0
S
May 31, 2008 2:40 am

Dear Sir,

I have received a mil from HSBC Bank Iam herewith sending it to you to verify it.

e: Fri, 30 May 2008 11:45:12 +0000 (GMT)
From: "HSBC BANK PLC" Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Yahoo! DomainKeys has confirmed that this message was sent by yahoo.co.uk. Learn more
Subject: CLAIMS OF AWARDS/REQUIRED PROOF
To: [email protected]
From: HSBC Bank Plc
8 Canada Square
London E14 5HQ

To: SENTHIL KUMAR,
INDIA.

RE: CLAIMS OF AWARDS/REQUIRED PROOF

This office highly apologizes to you on our late response to you on your demand to transfer your winning amount to you. To enable this financial institution to transfer your winning claims, we hereby advise you to furnish or send the required documents in the EMAIL ATTACHMENTS below.

As soon as we receive those documents and the processing/administrative fees in the attachment below, we will be obliged legally to transfer your claims. So kindly view the attachment below and get back to this office immediately, for us to credit your bank account accordingly

Thanks for your anticipated co-operation.

Yours Faithfully,

Mr. David West,
Director of Payment,
HSBC Bank Plc, London

Helpful?
0 0
J
May 05, 2008 2:40 am

Check the number if you have caller id and then if you pick the receiver up and they say hold for an important call but give no name, you know it is HSBC. They are prohibited from calling you after 6:00 on Friday and are limited to calling a number of times during the day. Contact your phone company with the number and ask them to put everything in writing. Otherwise you can do a Do Not Call on them. Your phone calls with your son are important.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Apr 29, 2008 2:40 am

I too receive a ridiculous number of phone calls from the HSBC .. This goes WAY beyond customer service and into the realms of harassment. There's a delay when I answer often followed by NOTHING and when I actually speak to one of the lobotomised ###s they employ and train so poorly I discover they can't actually HELP me in any way with the issue they're calling about - just informing me of a problem/charge/penalty.

I feel very much like an errant child, the subject of poor parenting, given no advice or help and simply forced to stand in the corner feeling ashamed of myself.

Utter nonsense.

When asked for pro-active assistance they claim that they have no ability to view each case or transaction individually and yet I receive several dozen individual accusatory and annoying phone calls for even the most minor indiscretion. There's no objectivity or consideration and even less customer care.

Frankly the worst bank I have ever dealt with - which is why I am in the process of moving to a better one.
Good luck to all fellow HSBC-ers

Lou:)xxx

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 05, 2008 2:40 am

Hi! This is unfortunately a common practice that credit card companies are allowed to do. This is not considered a form of harassment since you have to sing an agreement saying they can call to collect the debt if you ever neglect to make a payment. Since you were late you will also see a higher APR which could be up to 30%. Whatever the balance is, it can make it almost impossible to pay the debt down with that high of a balance. My first advice would be if you get a notice in the mail that the APR is going to raise, call HSBC and opt out. This will close the account, but you can keep the APR that you currently have. Also, don't try to explain you situation to the collectors when they call to get a payment. Call customer service and ask for an internal plan. They will have you fill out some paperwork, but you should be able to get one with the given income you have expressed. If that doesn't work, and I would recommend this anyway, go to a company like Greenpath Debt Solutions (www.greenpath.com). They work with the creditors on your behalf and save you much more than the $0-$50 service fee they have. For most creditors they can get you 10% APR or lower. For most creditor's they can even request the account to re-age. This means that the account would be reported as being current after the third Debt Management Plan payment. To anyone reading this and experiencing the same issue, the most important thing you can do with your finances is to make sure you have at least a month or two in savings. A late payment will effect you credit for the next ten years and you want to avoid not paying at all cost.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Sep 13, 2007 2:40 am

I've been receiving calls from HSBC banks on 2-3 different numbers of theirs. It rings twice and then hangs... if I happen to receive they disconnects... strange way of doing business.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

367 complaints
171 resolved 196 unresolved

HSBC Holdings contacts

(added by reviewer)
PO Box 6125,, England, West Midlands United Kingdom
ADVERTISIMENT