Hampton Bayoutside solar lamps model #[protected]

1
S

On 23 Jun I purchased a set of six outside solar lamps Model #[protected]. I installed the units on 24 Jun and they worked fine but on 26 Jun one of the lamps was very dim. I tool it apart and checked and one of the batteries would only charge to .4 volts and the other would only charge to 1.0 volts. I put the batteries in a separate charger and had the same problem. I called the number [protected] and got a message all was bush to leave a message, I did. After a day with no answer I sent an email to [protected]@gpwarranty.com and the message was returned as undeliverable. I called again and left another message and have had no call back. In the time I was waiting for a call back or answer to my email I purchased a set of Ni-Cad batteries put them in the unit re-installed and Sunday night 2 Jul the lamps looked good but Monday night 3 Jul the same problem, needed a flashlight to see if the lamp was on. Something, have no idea what is wrong with the charging circuit as the new batteries exhibit the same problem. Since the web page and the email address listed on the warranty papers aren't available and the phone number I called doesn't return my call I Google Hampton Bay and arrived here. Can you get me a solution to my problem or direct me to where I can get a solution? Thank you.

My home at El Paso, TX. [protected]

Responses

  • To
    Tom G Sep 11, 2006

    I have bought Hampton Bay low voltage light fixtures. I have two complaints.

    First the bulbs have a very low life expectancy.

    Second the design of the low voltage fixture is a spring on each side of the fixture. Each time an fixture is removed from the ceiling it breaks away some of the dry wall. The problem is that the rim of the product does not cover the damaged drywall. I would suggest that your product come with a ring that would permanently stay in the ceiling and the fixture with then spring against this plastic (or metal) ring and not continue to damage the ceiling as the bulbs burn out.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chester H. Shon Apr 24, 2007

    I purchased a solar light set Model #10396 on 4-20-07 which consists of 6 lamps and 2 spotlights. I installed them on 4-23-07 and found one of the lamps to have a broken cap and a crack in the plastic lens. I called the warranty dept. this morning 4-24-07 and explained the problem and the person stated you don't stock parts and would take 3 months to replace. Home depot will not replace one light.

    Your warranty stats that you have prompt shipment of defective parts. I don't think 3 months is prompt.
    Please let me know what I can do about this matter.

    Thank you C. Shon

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenneth R. Briley Apr 26, 2007

    I have tried now since the end of March 2007 to get a starter solenoid for a ceiling fan, and both times I have called, the women that I have spoke to have been extremely rude. To this date I still dont have the starter solenoid that I need. If I don't get it this time I will take the fan down and go purchase a Hunter. I promise I will never by another Hampton Bay product.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Martin May 07, 2007

    Plastic stakes bend when you try to put them in the ground.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dev Rathi May 10, 2007

    Last year I bought 36 inch ceiling fan from Home Depot in Hollywood. This model takes regular bulbs. The numbers I see on the motor is 0091329 and 0606. I like the fan very much. Unfortunately, one week ago the fan stopped working. Since I needed the fan, I just bought the same 36 inch fan but this one takes special bulbs. I understand the fan has limited life time warranty. Is it possible you could replace the motor? I really do not have any complaint but I find it strange the fan quit in less than one year. I have other makes which are working ever since I bought these fans. Thanks.

    Dev Rathi
    5348 Fountain Ave #10
    Los Angeles, CA 90029
    323-461-7722
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doug bartlingsr May 23, 2007

    Out of a 10 pack of solar lights... missing 2 shafts and 2 anchors.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Kercher Jul 08, 2007

    This set of 6 solar lights. All work fine except for one. Very dim, barely lights. Hard to see at night. Purchased at Home Depot, Lebanon, PA July 1. They sold me defective product and i don't think that i will shop at Hampton Bay again!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    GADISTRESS Jul 11, 2007

    I bought thousands of dollars of fans for the house. The Gazebo Plus is an outside fan and the glass covering the bulbs is so flimsy it breaks in your hands or is already broken in the box. I have had 2 replaced so far after arguing with Home Depot. Also. my really expensive bedroom fan remote only now goes to med and low. My other BR fans remote did not work at all and they hassled me so I had to buy another... 40+ dollars. Buyer Beware!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Sherman Nov 25, 2007

    The plastic for the light housing becomes brittle after 2 years operation in the sun. All of mine have falling apart. I wrote to Home Depot, but did not get an answer. The problem is so bad that I'm going to post a blog at My site very soon at: http://botsmaker.blogspot.com/
    The plastic for a solar product should at least be sunlight resistant!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    MICHAEL LYONS Dec 27, 2007

    BOUGHT 16 SOLAR LITES, ONLY 4 WORK, WON'T SHUT OFF AND BATTERIES GO DEAD.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Feb 25, 2008

    I have bought chandeliere 350-192. There are instructions for mounting, safety, but no instructions for assembly. The picture does not even match my light. I have tried to assemble by looking at the picture but all the parts are loose (not secure).

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kim evanchik Apr 07, 2008

    I have been waiting for a replacement glass bulb cover for over two months. I have been told they are on back order. In the mean time I can't turn on the light because it is to glarry.

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    BDL May 13, 2008

    I have the same problems with LED lighting with Hampton Bay.
    After a year, 2 of my 12 units are dead. The batteries are fine. So, I soldered a new LED on the units and they both work great now.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph L. Scanavino May 26, 2008

    On May 21, 2008, I purchased 10-Outside solar Lamps from Home Depot. First night after instalation, three days later, two of the lights appear to be defective. I don't suspect the battery or low lights location the reason why one light stopped working and the second light is on the dim side. The source of the problem is in the wiring or circruitity within the housing. If Hampton Bay continues to receive comments like mine about product worksmenship deficienties, then Home Depot needs to get on the ball and contract a company that is capable of delivering quality products for a reasonable price. I paid too much for a product that is expected to satisfy the reason I purchased the product in the first place. Buyer beware of Hampton Bay Solar lights that have disappointing results.

    I like my current light arrangement in the backyard so I look to get replacements for those two lights.

    Thank you, Joe

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Brennan Aug 26, 2008

    I'm sorry, I just wanted to buy some extra lights w/o the solar panel, I need aprox 20 of them.
    The lights I bought were the 1 watt led spotlight with remote solar panel (256 091), can you please help me to get these?
    Thank you
    John

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russell Owens Aug 29, 2008

    On August 38, 2008 I purchased a six lamp set of model 79839 from vendor 11688 UPC No. 082392798390. Five of the outside almps were fine but the sixth one will not thread into the lamp. The threadsof both the lamp part and the shaft are messed up and were this way when I opened the box today. The warranty registration is in the mail to you as of today. Please send me one replacement lamp. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Niederhelman Aug 30, 2008

    I just bought one of your ceiling fans--M# 503 285. The glass is broken. It came out of the box this way. What do I need to do to get this replaced? Your cards that came with the fan said DO NOT RETURN to the store. I bought it at Home Depot.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JAMES LIBRIZZI Sep 11, 2008

    Last week I purchased yoy solar lamps model 27929. Vendor
    number 11688. SKU # 580-477. UPC #082392279295. I had to return the solar lamps because one of the lamps did not work. I bought another set and while agusting one of them the part that is spiked into the ground broke off. If the spike had been metal like the rest of the lamp it would not have broken. Bad Idea to make it plastic. Anyway my wife is crying and what do I have to do to get another part that goes into the ground...?

    Jim

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray Alex Sep 16, 2008

    I'm having the same problem with my set of solar lights (part #79339) They stop working at random, and I can find no way to get in touch with the Hampton Bay people. Looks like this will be the last of their product I will ever buy

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cat Sep 29, 2008

    I purchased 2 sets of 8 solar lights for my home and have found that even after fully charging my batteries four of the lights do not work... Is there anything that I can do to get them replaced withut returning one of the sets to the store that I purchased them from?

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brandi Oct 03, 2008

    In July, 2008, I purchased some Hampton Bay outdoor solar lights. All of them worked except for one. I called customer service and they said that they would send me a replacement light. It is now October and I am still waiting on my light. I am completely satisfied with the other lights, I just want the replacement one sent.
    Model number: 79839
    Vendor number: 11688
    SKU number: 235 927
    UPC number: 082392798390

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dalbert Williams Oct 13, 2008

    On Oct. 9, 2008 I purchased a set of 10 solar lights, model 27107. One of the lights does not work. Can I get a replacement without returning the complete set of 10 back to Home Depot where they were purchased.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Gardner Oct 27, 2008

    I purchased a 4-pack of the solar LED landscape lights #888 425 none of which work. I was going to return them for an exchange but after reading the complaints on this site decided to get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Pacheco Nov 04, 2008

    I received my out door lites as a gift and have no receit or information on the types. How can I order new lites etc.?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Nov 08, 2008

    My husband ran over my stakes for my lights with the lawn mower (he thought they were deep enough in the ground), so I clearly can't return them to the store now (and I threw away the box and receipt - d'oh!) so I'm going to try to make them work. But does anyone know how I would go about getting replacement stakes? None of them will stay in the ground now. :(

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Nov 17, 2008

    I bought a pack of six Hampton Bay Lantern type outdoor solar lights. After installing them and charging them in the sunlight for a day, I anxiously awaited to see how wonderful the new lights would shine on my front patio...I'm still waiting.

    Three of the six are extremely dim. The three that light brighter were disappointing, but I could live with it.

    I e-mailed the address provided in the packaging slip asking if there was something I could do to get better lighting out of the three dim lights. No response. I e-mailed again. A response came that I need to write a different e-mail. I did. I was instructed to provide the model number. I did. Then I was instructed to give the UPC code. I did that. After about a week of no reply, I wrote again asking for feedback. The reply I received was to re-send my original request. I wrote back asking if they "were kidding?". I provided my original e-mail request and have yet to receive any response. That was three weeks ago.

    I say...DO NOT buy anything with Hampton Bay on the box. Too bad; they have some pretty cool things. I will NEVER buy Hampton Bay products again.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Marmer Dec 03, 2008

    After assembling remote control fan the transmitter is way too big for the canopy it is to sit in. I have put together over 150 fans and am very mechanically inclined. The model is called midili 44"

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mimi Jan 03, 2009

    We bought a set of 6 patio solar lights for $60.00 from Home Depot. A few months later, no more than 6months and half of them won't work. We have tried putting new batteries in but they still don't work. Very disappointed in them, now we can't even return them to Home Depot.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mimi Jan 03, 2009

    We bought a set of 6 solar patio lights, Hampton Bay from Home Depot about 6 months ago and half of them haven't been working for about 3 months now. We have replaced the batteries but it doesn't make a difference. We paid $60.00 for the set and are very disappointed in the make. Now we can't even return them to Home Depot. Won't buy Hampton Bay again!

    1 Votes
  • Jn
    JNORMAND Feb 13, 2009

    I PURCHASED TWO SETS OF OUTDOOR SOLAR LIGHTS FROM HOME DEPOT AND THE CHEAP PLASTIC MOUNTING STAKES HAVE ALL BROKEN. HOME DEPOT SAYS THEY DO NOT CARRY REPLACEMENT PARTS. THE LIGHTS ARE USELESS LAYING ON THE GROUND WITH NO MOUNTING STAKES. I NEED 12 NEW MOUNTING STAKES. PLEASE SEND TO ME ASAP.

    THANKS JIM

    0 Votes
  • At
    ATEAM Mar 18, 2009

    I agree. I have two that have broken in the last 6 months I've had them. It should be under warranty. But I can't even figure out where to buy the replacement.

    Please help.
    Thanks,
    Adrian

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Mar 18, 2009

    Paint is bubbling and pealign after 1 season of use.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dansan05 May 19, 2009

    I bought a set of Hampton Bay Solar lights from Home Depot, model 79778 and they only work intermittantly, sometimes not at all.
    Oddly enough, If I cover the sensor and the solar panel inside in a pitch dark room, they work great. Outside, in the backyard, they only seem to work once in a while.
    I have tested the batteries and they all test good, so the recharger circuit is working..there is something defective in the sensor, I suspect.
    Can't find the receipt and threw out the box. Ironically, the cheap light I bought for $3.97 works great..not Hampton Bay.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swing arm wall sconce May 30, 2009

    Light won't stay on after repeated hits. Swinging arm wall sconce [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shera Jun 03, 2009

    I brought 14 Hampton Bay outside solar lights .6 of them were defective. I think Home Depot should start correcting these problems with their prducts. Instead of acting like these problems don't exist. Since Home Depot owns Hampton Bay. [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    groundskeeper willie Jun 06, 2009

    I bought 2 packages (4 lights per box) of Hampton Bay model 237-002 lights. 7 of the 8 initially worked, but after several weeks, ony TWO light up on a regular basis. Several are just dead, and some occasionally and randomly light up. 3 that were dormant lit up last night, but after a full day of sun today, no light at all.

    Thses are the WORST solar lights I've ever bought, and there are close to 80 (or more) in our exterior gardens.

    I will never by anything with the Hampton Bay name again.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeanette hios Jun 15, 2009

    I purchased Hampton Bay lights as well and none of them project any light at all!!! I am very disappointed and will never purchase another item from them again

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Dinan Jul 08, 2009

    Yes, I to have bought 4 sets of the Hampton Bay Solar lights over the past 2 years and at least 2-3 of them dont work after about a month or so. I wrote to the company and never got a response back from them. I have tried replacing the batteries and they still dont work, very dissapointing. With the economy the way it is now a days Hampton Bay should be ashamed of their products and try to please us buyers!!!

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    shannystreet Jul 22, 2009

    I also need 6 mounting stakes for the Hampton Bay outdoor lighting. All of mine are broken. If anyone could tell me where I could get them from.

    Thanks
    Shantell
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geo24 Feb 27, 2010

    Six years ago, I bought Hamilton solar lights and the batteries eventually quit, plus the contacts corrode. i replaced the batteries over time and they work. This week one light quit altogether. They sell a 2 pack for $23 which is way overprice. Home Depot has very poor customer service, so i rarely shop there anymore.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem