Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Flooring Installation Home Depot staineasy carpet
More

Home Depot - staineasy carpet

S
Author of the complaint
1:33 pm
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I absolutely concur with the thayers, as well as glenn rawsky. It doesn't seem to matter where you buy your carpet, just so long as it's not a stainmaster® (A. K. A. , invista, gulistan) carpet. After more than a year of research, i purchased a stainmaster xtra life® carpet from a local flooring retailer with two locations in my area. I followed all instructions and recommendations, from the diy and hgtv networks to consumer reports and various independent websites, when it came to choosing both the carpet and the pad. I relied on the fact that invista (Stainmaster®) provided accurate information about its product to retailers through which it sells its product and to customers via its website.

As it turned out, i was a sucker. If there's a sucker born every minute, then i've been born over and over in billions of minutes.

While it states on the invista (Stainmaster®) website that the carpet tufts are "engineered to retain their original appearance, " and "will hold their attractive shape and won't burst, bloom, open or lose their twist", this is not the case.

In fact, i noticed less than six months after purchasing the stainmaster xtra life® carpet that in addition to the tufts not holding their shape and losing their twist that the backing or lamination of the carpet has become very dry and brittle (Since i live in a suburb of phoenix, ariz. , surely a carpet manufacturer would expect that the weather would be dry here especially since people are constantly insisting: "but it's a dry heat!") .

Simply vacuuming the carpet (With a fairly new oreck vacuum that i used without problem on a less expensive carpet in my former home) as instructed in the pamphlet that accompanies these cheap invista / gulistan products causes tufts to come out again and again and at times even pulls up the carpet along the baseboard, where thin strips of the backing / lamination just tear right out. Only the fibers are made by invista / stainmaster®, so when i called about what was initially a tiny hole in the carpet caused by tufts coming out, i was referred to gulistan, the "manaufacturer" of the carpet itself.

Gulistan sent an "independent inspector" out here who, almost immediately upon lifting a corner of the carpet (Very easily, by the way, which was never the case in previous years with other cheaper carpet brands) and despite my pointing out to him that "hey, should that long, thin part of the back peel right off so easily?", concluded that the carpet was fine and that the peeling of the backing was "normal".

While that was great to hear then, i wish someone had told me that the carpet backing coming apart and the tufts falling out and "jumping out" on their own was "normal" before i purchased the carpet, whose xtra life® moniker i presume means "more than the average lifetime of an invista / stainmaster® / gulistan carpet, " which seems to be about three months. I live alone, am not a giant, don't go out and roll in wet mud or dirt and rarely am visited by anyone, so my carpet is lightly used.

Thanks to following expert advice (Which can also be seen on the diy and hgtv network websites, etc.) on how to easily repair the initial tiny hole in the carpet by patching it, which i have successfully done quite a few times in my life in the past, thanks to the dry, brittle backing so easily tearing, the tiny hole is now a much larger square.

Not only is this carpet definitely not made for a dry climate, as one might find in the desert, it is not made to walk on, because my lightly touching a tiny area near the small hole with my pinky finger caused the dry, brittle backing / lamination to begin to tear in a straight line and continue to tear about 3 inches out from the small hole. No matter how careful i was in trying to repair the hole according to detailed instructions, putting even the slightest pressure on the carpet in any area near the small hole caused surrounding areas to tear out in smaller strips (Which would have been longer had i not put carpet tape beneath them) as though the backing / lamination of the "carpet" was laid down like black plastic beneath desert landscaping.

I actually have a sample of the stainmaster xtra life® carpet (The size of a throw rug) that i got from a dollar store and the backing / lamination is nothing like the one on the carpet i purchased that supposedly is the same brand. I have seen photos of carpet samples that are supposedly stainmaster xtra life®, but i know they can't be because the tufts remain on the backing.

I would say that perhaps the retailer from whom i purchased the stainmaster xtra life® sold me a different type of carpet, but the inspector sent by gulistan said the carpet was definitely stainmaster xtra life®. He also related to me that it's "normal" to feel the tacks from the tack strips but that most people don't and shouldn't because the tack strips abut the baseboards, and neither people nor animals ever sit or lay down near baseboards. I haven't heard that much bull - - - - since my mother gave me a long list of pointless reasons for why i ought to get a college degree (Which was worthless) .

At this point, i want to warn others not to do as i did and waste their money, their time and their energy and just do what everyone else in america is doing, probably because carpet and carpet pad manufacturers make such lousy products for which they will assume zero responsibility: buy and install on your own wood style laminate flooring or wood flooring. Just remember that it's very slippery and that the more this trend continues, the more head, neck, back and spinal injuries will occur. But that's ok because our government can afford for everyone in the u. S. To be on disability and eventually all the carpet and carpet pad manufacturers like invista and gulistan will go out of business.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 1
Share
Reply

More Home Depot complaints & reviews

Home Depot - dishwasher won't clean dishes
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Home Depot - employees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Home Depot - buyer beware
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Home Depot - unfair installation charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
78 comments
Add a comment
L
Mar 20, 2008 1:33 pm

Purchased carpet from home depot, among other products that were either seconds or reconditioned merchandise, but marked as new. Anyway back to the carpet. It started to pill and you can see all the seams. I have tried on 6-7 separate occasions to get someone down to inspect my problem. I have been calling since Dec, 07 to no avail.The store is located at 1030 Sunset Blvd. They are the dumbest, the rudest, the crudest, people I've ever had the pleasure to do business with. The answer to my complaint was to threaten to call the cops on me because I complained loudly one day about how their products and services are inferior. BY THE WAY A FRIEND OF MINE WHO ONCE WORKED THEIR, THAT I RAN INTO THE OTHER DAY, TOLD ME THAT THEY DO PURCHASE SECONDS AND RE MANUFACTURED MERCHANDISE AND SELL IT AS NEW... AND THEY WONDER WHY THEY'RE CHAPTER!

Helpful?
0 0
S

bad home install on door with frame three different installers from different contractors used inhouse were sent and two were no longer contracted by home depot.
if you like your installion done over three times use them.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Apr 19, 2014 1:33 pm

We bought masterbath cabinet from the company Home Depot. It was expensive, and one drawer was warped. We returned it and the seller provided another one, and it was also defective. When we called the seller again, he refused to change it. He was furious and told us that it was out fault. I will never again buy from this scamming company. I wonder if there are other people, who had the same experience. Let’s share views about this company.

Helpful?
0 0
J

My grandson purchased an electric generator in Aug 2012 in anticipation of electric failures in winter 2012. The nee was Oct 29, 30 2012 during storm Sandy. The generator failed to start . After several attempts, an auto mechanic discovered the inter of the gas tank was coated with rust. I contacting the store for a replacement, he was informed that the warranty was good for only 30 days from purchase, however they would repair same. Under the circumstances I would think that the store should replace the unused unit with a new one. What recourse does he have?

Helpful?
0 0
J
Oct 13, 2010 1:33 pm

I recently paid $345 for a new water heater from Home Depot which included $319 installation fee. As if that wasn't enough, when the delivery man came to install it he charged me an EXTRA $193 to "bring it up to code", ( to replace a saddle valve ) so the total price of the water heater is now $893! What a scam. THe alterations needed were VERY minor.

While the agreement says additional charges might occur to bring things up to code it is still MUCH cheaper to have a local plumber install it. However Home Depot and its sales people make big bucks fleecing customers by having these scam installations where you get nickeled and dimed for using their services.

My advice NEVER use a DRF Total Home Solutionsas an installer. You will be charged MUCH MUCH more than is reasonable.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Dec 14, 2010 1:33 pm

Ordered Kraftmaid cabinets through Home Depot. They sold me a style where the drawer fronts and door fronts do not in fact match. They never informed me of this fact and refuse to exchange either item. Expensive purchase, terrible customer service. The Kraftmaid cabinets are actually very good quality, but I would definitely order them somewhere else. Anywhere else.

Helpful?
0 0
O
May 28, 2010 1:33 pm

Home Depot, I am a contractor in Billings Montana and when I got a commercial account It was in agreement that I would recieve 10% off purchases to offset expenses for using the account for buisiness. Since that date it has been a hassle to recieve the discount and now they say it has been discontinued all togethter. It makes it difficult to buy items and cover gas and time when my customer can buy it at the same price I can and they expect me to pick itams up. You will continue to lose buisiness if these policies don't change!

Helpful?
0 0
V
Jul 25, 2008 1:33 pm

I used to shop at home depot all the time. 2 years ago, I painted my whole house with gallons and gallons of Behr paint--good deal because of the rebates. What a rip off! Then I find out from friends this happens routinely. Rebates are DESIGNED so that you never GET the rebate. It’s a carefully planned, deliberate ploy to rip off customers. I did everything BY the BOOK. Didn’t matter--I never got hundreds of dollars in rebates. I WILL NEVER set foot in a home depot again. And THEY think THEY ripped ME off. They lost a lot of business--from my family and all our friends. Word of mouth counts.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Dec 18, 2009 1:33 pm

Recently the water heater unit at my condo broke down. I called a dozen of plumbing companies that would replace the failed unit within a few hours. Their quotes including workmanship were between $850-1100. I decided to go with HomeDepot, which quoted $670 for the new unit, professional installation and inspection. I ended up staying at home on a work day waiting for the technicians to show up which was scheduled for 8:00am. They did not. In the afternoon we called to learn the dispatcher had forgotten to inform them about the work. So we had to reschedule for the next morning, first day of long weekend. They again did not show up till 2pm and they quoted me additional $500 to replace a 2foot long aluminum pipe! I got pissed and sent the equipment back despite the risk of having to take cold showers for another couple of days. Moerover it took 3 hours of phone tag to get our money back. At the end I had a plumbing company install the same unit HomeDepot sells for $700 overall within 3 hours.

I think HomeDepot exploits the consumer for in equipment installation. They made us wait one full work day and a long weekend day to quote and additional $500 for a pipe. This is absolutely burglary on my book. As of now, I will never use HomeDepot services and certainly davice the people I care about against it.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Apr 17, 2008 1:33 pm

I was shopping today at The Home Depot on Rte 66 in Neptune N.J.& was appalled at the treatment my sister and I received from an employee named Jeanie. I work in customer relations as does my sister and neither one of us would treat a customer the way we were treated. The only saving grace the store has to offer is the store manager Josh. He is a very pleasant man that not only takes pride in himself but also in his store. The Home Depot is very lucky to have Josh as an employee. He took an uncomfortable situation and turned it into a comfortable one. He is very professional and a pleasure to deal with. Because of Josh I will continue to shop at The Home Depot.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Sep 01, 2016 1:33 pm

I purchased an item and wanted to exchange it for another similar item. Was told I could get a store credit refund only. The problem is I have the original purchase receipt showing the purchase price, which matches the current purchase price of the very same item that they have in stock. AND I was NOT given a full refund, for store credit. The cashier knew I only came to exchange one part for another. And he knew that the company would still get to keep the money. Yet he insisted that he could not give a full refund, so I would have to take a loss on my refund for the brand new never been used item that I was returning. Just to purchase the same item that bends to the left instead of to the right.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Aug 18, 2016 1:33 pm

Never, ever, ever have a bath remodel done by Home Depot . We should have known by the high pressure, misleading sales person that arrived at our home. We had a simple shower remodel that was not good from the beginning. We had to have the entire thing redone, which turned into another nightmare. They do not do their own work, but contract it out, so it is the luck of the draw on who shows up.

After talking to a number of people who do the same type of work, we were charged about double the standard industry rate. If I knew a way to try and get half my money back, I would try.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

I'm very disappointed in the new Super Wal Mart in Gilroy, Ca. The check out lanes in this Super store on Dec. 12 were 3, one was 10 items or less. We stood in line longer then it took us to shop and this was after work on Wen. 6:10 PM dinner time. My daughter had her 1 year old she fussed through the whole thing not to say she needed her pants changed. The rest room was being cleaned as always and it had a line. The clerk name, Victor P while checking me out was looking all around the store...By then I had, had it... I said if you would pay attention to what you were doing this long line wouldn't be as long. You see all of these people here well they are waiting on you. Get this, he said, " I'm tired" I said well then you need to go home...On my way out I ask to speak to the manager. I waited another 15 min.! My daughter went to the car with the baby.

I told the manager I had had it I wasn't going to shop here again and I have friends that say the same thing. I was just at Super Target and all check lanes were open and I was check very fast and the cashier ran me through with no problem and was very up beat. The manager said I'm very sorry and I will put more cashiers out. She said they just had a meeting and hopefully this was going to change. I said well I want you to know I have been in here several times and it has not changed, it's a new store I have gave it a good chance to changes and this is the worst I have seen it... What ever happen to costumer service...I'm so surprised with the work force and the pride people have for there Jobs.

I feel better for telling on them.! Thank you for allowing me...

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

It has now been 13 months since I signed a contract to have cement fiber siding, facia, and soffets installed on my house. I was promised it would be finished in 30 days. They hadn't even finished ordering the materials in 30 days. Over the course of the next 6 months, they had three different crews out here, the second one tearing off what the first one botched, the last to supposedly fix the mistakes of the second. Nothing lined up, there were huge gaps, soffits with holes for aeration were nailed over the old wooden ones, preventing any possible air flow, boards were even installed upside down. I kept being promised that it would be fixed. It got closer, but when it finally was too cold to finish, I was promised it would happen first thing in the spring. It is now July, and I don't even hear from them anymore, although I keep writing. The service manager asked me to sign off on the job, subject to a list of items still to be completed, in November, so he wouldn't lose his job. I did. What a mistake. He changed his story after that and says now that that was only a wish list on my part, not anything they agreed to. DO NOT HIRE HOME SERVICES from HOME DEPOT. I thought a big company like this would stand behind what it promises to do. NOT SO! They are not what they appear to be!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

Home Depot
955 Bloomfield Ave
Clifton, NJ 07012
[protected]

Website misleading and confusing. I was looking for a "Ryobi 18-Volt The Works 8-Pack Cordless Combo" SKU # 167-144. I first discovered this item their website. It said it wasn't available online but it is available in stores so I go to the store and they didn't have the one that I was looking for but it did have something very similar:

"Ryobi One+ Renovator Plus Combo" also with the same SKU # 167-144. This combo kit had less tools then advertised on the website.

Also the website said the "Ryobi One+ Renovator Plus Combo" was only available online and, at the time of this writing, it's out of stock.

I go back to the website to make sure I copied the right SKU# and click on the "Online & Store Products" tab on the top left hand side. Use 07003 as the zip code. Then type "167-144" in the "Enter Keyword or SKU" text box and you will see that it pulls up two items but they are different combo kits. Clicking on both links does indeed show the same "Store SKU" of 167-144. I don't understand how did the "Ryobi One+ Renovator Plus Combo" get to the stores if they website says "Online Only" and the "Ryobi 18-Volt The Works 8-Pack Cordless Combo" is no where to be found? I search four different Home Depot stores and they all had the "Online Only" version, which had less tools for the same price ($199).

I contacted Home Depot about this and was informed that "The Works" version is discontinued and I should look for another product but yet the "discontinued" item still shows up on the website. This is very misleading and feel they are trying to get me into the stores to pay the same price for the less tools because of the same SKU # they are using.

Helpful?
0 0
A

The store management does not seem to understand that the air conditioning is imperative when it is 95 degrees outside. The store is huge and extremely stuffy. I almost fainted while sitting with a salesperson putting together the paperwork for the appliances purchased in this store (over $3, 000 total). I understand that the management probably wants to save money on electricity bills but it is wrong to treat customers that way. After all, if a patron gets a heatstroke or heart attack, the financial consequences could be much worse.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

On May 16, 2011 I went to Home Depot to buy 3 toilets which would come to a total of about $1000.00 with tax. When I informed the clerk that I wanted 3 toilets (Kohler - Sta Rosa) he was not at all enthusiastic. Then he found out that the store only had 2 toilets and one was the display which he said he could not sell the display. When I inquired which other stores had 3 toilets he pointed me to Woodland Hills (WH) which is about 30 miles away. Since WH Home Depot only has 3 toilets he said they may not sell me all three because one would be the display also. If they give the display then they can not show (display) a product that they do not have in stock. He also informed me that the store will not transfer the toilet to them since the WH store will not get credit for the sales. Then he proceeds on to tell me that they will charge $70 delivery service for each toilet. This Home Depot helper was just doing about everything in his hands not to sell me the product. I could not beleive it. I ended up buying the toilets on line at Home Depot. Am now awaiting for the delivery, so far they already gave me a delivery date that is over the days stated on the website. I think the toilets are coming from the moon. The tracking service of the delivery company (non-stop) does not state where the items are. This is so frustrating.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

I live in Waveland, MS and after last years massive hurricane season you would think that the local corporation that flooded the airways with “we care” commercials would really set up their hardest hit stores on the Gulf Coast, Louisiana and Texas coastal areas with staff members who could help. Not only had Home Depot failed to provide any type of customer service, but their management team and staff members could actually care less about providing any. We along with thousands of other homeowners on the Gulf Coast need new everything, from kitchens to doors, windows, lumber, plumbing fixtures, lighting, roofing, insulation. Everything you need. You would think the corporate offices would send more merchandise to these hard hit areas to help with the rebuilding. Would you believe, they have not? It is virtually impossible to get lumber, insulations, windows, doors or even kitchen products to help with the rebuilding our homes in our area. Since July 2006 after placing an order with the Gulfport Store and paying for it as required. Our order was NEVER PLACED. We had to deal with the kitchen and bath staff, because the corporate office in Atlanta, GA thought it would be a great idea to stop stocking the in-stock kitchen cabinets, that homeowners could come in purchase, take home and assemble themselves. How dumb was that, according to the letters sent to corporate, very.

They (Corporate Home Depot) still do not see it that way. See you can walk into any store on the East or West coast and get those cabinets, in towns that were not affected by Hurricane Katrina. Why is that? Wouldn’t it make more sense to send that stock to the areas that need it? Needless to say after a year and two months our home is still without the necessary supplies to complete it. Monthly FEMA stops by to ask when they can pick up our trailer, we cannot release our trailer (because we cook and use the facilities in it) until our kitchen and bathrooms are complete. The other complaint we have is we cannot get any special order kitchen cabinets because there are not enough contractors at this particular Home Depot to install the counters. We cannot just order the counters even if you are a licensed contractor for the State of Mississippi and install them yourself only a certified contractor hired by Home Depot call and will install the cabinets. How come? Why can’t the home owner who is rebuilding his home install his own cabinets? The manager at this Home Depot has refused to take our calls or discuss this with us further. The customer service staff in Atlanta cannot get a hold of the store to assist us with this mess and we are stuck in limbo trying to keep our sanity as we rebuild our home.

We will NEVER recommend or use Home Depot for any of our projects; they are not reliable and have fallen very short with the customer service. In their hast to dominate the Home Project market knocking our Hechinger, Home Quarters and Lowes they have turned out to be a waste of consumers time and money.

No one to date has even offered to resolve the problems we have encountered with Home Depot.

Helpful?
0 0
Y
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

We purchased a Pegasus kitchen faucet from Home Depot about a year ago. It supposedly has a lifetime guarantee. About a week ago, the sprayer activation lever broke off. We went back to Home Depot to find out how to get it fixed. We were told to call the manufacturer, which we attempted to do on 3 occasions. After some effort, we found a tech support number, at which we always got voice mail. We left messages twice, and never a call back. Then tried emailing Home Depot about our problem. Never a response from them. I won't buy any plumbing products from Home Depot again, unless it is a Kohler product. Buyer beware!

Helpful?
0 0
K
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

I would like to express in the strongest possible terms my disappointment and outrage at the low level of service I received at your Home Depot store in El Escorial shopping center in Carolina, Puerto Rico (Store no. 6402). The management of this store not only has chosen dismal-quality subcontractors to do vital service operations, but also has shown to me a shocking insensitivity to the needs of handicapped persons. On Friday, June 10th, I went to the above mentioned Home Depot store to buy a portable generator for my aged parents, who reside in the Island.

After finding the right model (thanks to the help of a friendly and attentive employee), I made my way to the customer assistance counter where, again, I received friendly and competent service regarding the generator’s installation service. The problem started when I went to the contractor’s services counter, to arrange for the delivery of the item. First thing I noticed was that the lone (working) Home Depot employee behind the counter was a young woman on a wheelchair. I was shocked to see her having to prop herself up from her wheelchair in order to reach the register, the computer and the printer, since none of the stations there were adjusted to facilitate her use.

Despite her kind assistance, I could see that she was obviously greatly inconvenienced and pained by this situation. I thought it was ironic that a chain that boasts such a passion for remodeling cannot do the proper physical adjustments to accommodate their less body-able employees. I asked her if she was aware that by disregarding her needs, Home Depot was actually violating the disabled persons act and could be cited for being out of compliance. She nervously looked over her shoulder and did not answer, but her expression was all the information I needed.

I think that it is unacceptable that in this day and age someone has to fear losing her job for just demanding basic human needs already guaranteed by law. I would like to see that your chain corrects this situation with all due speed without it resulting on this young woman’s losing her job or suffering any retaliation by management.

My second shock came when I asked this Home Depot employee about the delivery itself. She explained to me that the store contracts these services through a private contractor, and that they do only deliver merchandise to the sidewalk. This is understandable for a pallet of cinder blocks, but not for a portable generator that could be easily carried on a dolly or a similar manual equipment. I explained that dragging a generator from the street would be not a possibility for a couple of disabled elders or their caretaker, as I do not reside in the Island, and all my able-bodied relatives work. She apologized but did not know what could be done.

I asked the young woman to call the company on my behalf and see what were the options, if any. It took a lot of back and forth over the phones and hour and a half before getting an answer from the company. They said that since they would have an additional person in the truck, it would cost me a double rate, or $158.00, to have it delivered to my parent’s doorstep, and into a storage room in the house. I asked to talk to her Home Depot manager and he vaguely repeated what the young woman had told me, and that nothing could be done. “They only use a mechanical finger when they deliver”, he offered as some sort of explanation, “so that’s why”.

I retorted how in the world could old, disabled people then receive delivered goods from his store. He simply shrugged his shoulders and offered no answer. I demanded to talk to the delivery company itself but I was told that they were an internal service and I could not do that. At this points I was upset, I asked the employee to keep my item in the store until I could find someone to pick it up and she was kind enough to accommodate me.

Let me be clear that I understand where this is coming from. I am Puerto Rican. I understand my culture. We have been a colony for all of our history. As such, people are usually not likely to complain or stir trouble. As a result, shoddy practices like the ones described above occur daily, even in open defiance of established law. I would like Home Depot to understand that I just invested almost $800 of my family’s hard-earned money in their company and yet not only received shoddy service which caused great inconvenience to me and my relatives, but I also had to witness an episode of unacceptable on the job discrimination. Plus, I was expected to spend an additional $158 for this!

I demand to receive from Home Depot the satisfaction and the assurance that the level of service and employee protections in that store will sharply increase as soon as possible, even if this implies changing subcontractors for others who meet acceptable standards of service. I have been a loyal customer of your chain both in the US and in the Island and I sure will take my business (and that of everyone I know) elsewhere should I not receive it nor hear from you.

Helpful?
0 0

This note is from a couple of old disabled fools that thought this pressure washer could make our lives easier. The only two things that were easy, was driving to Home Depot and just handing over $169.00. Home Depot should be ashamed! This product is the cheapest made plastic tool we have ever purchased. It has only been used 4-5 times and we cringe at the thought of even bringing it out to use.

Helpful?
0 0
A
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

Cashier in garden center 1:52pm 3/16/07 was playing with & being loudly distracted by another associate in a power wheelchair. While cashier boy was counting the items I bought, his boyfriend was yelling out random numbers to distract him, hollering instructions, & slapping at the page of the UPC book he was scanning (I bought 9 concrete pads which do not have UPCs) so that I discovered later that he had only rung up 8. I was not the only angered customer. The cashier was eminently inept, unhelpful, & unconcerned; his boyfriend is clearly much too immature to be employed there. A female associate who brought cashier boy some cash for his till asked Casanova "What are you doing out here: helping?"
Obviously not. I called the store to pay for the 9th item, was told by a cashier supervisor that she had "a million customers right now" & could not assist me. She put me on hold ostensibly for a senior mgr. After 10 minutes I gave up, which was her intent anyway. Welcome to Home Depot: You can do it, but not with OUR help. The rest of my purchases for this 10x12 deck & 12x12x10 shed will happen at Lowe's & McCoys. As for your Woodward store #6542, it is a cesspool, a real dive. I certainly was NOT welcome there, as usual for this location: I only go there as it is close to my job & I can pop in on my lunch hour. As it was, 20 minutes in checkout blew that idea. What a waste. I returned to the store on Monday & paid for the 9th pad.

Helpful?
0 0
G
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

The Home Depot uses unethical sales practices. Throughout the ‘black friday’ sales event, there were no appliance packages available. Nor on Monday. Tuesday, every item was available at the higher prices. I was a dedicated Home Depot shopper until now.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

I’m the supervisor of Berlitz language center Aguascalientes Mexico. My director purchased an air conditioning unit that could be split between two rooms.

After the instillation the neighbors complained that the excess water from the units was dripping on their roof and causing a puddle to accumulate.

Also, the piping they installed is ugly and not professionally or correctly done. My director asked that Home Depot redirect the piping to look neater and also not be dripping on the neighbor’s roof.

Home Depot fixed the leak but said that Berlitz would have to come up with another 200.00 dollars for more material so the job could be done properly.

My director explained that it wasn’t our fault and that Home Depot should pay for the added material.

Home Depot refused and so the job isn’t corrected. In doing so Berlitz will not purchase the other units that were to be bought.

Home Depot lost a lot of money by not making sure the job was done correctly.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

Home Depot offers $60.00 rebates for delivery of their appliances. I have bought twice but never received the rebate check. The rebates were mailed the same day as the purchases so they can't claim it was late. I will not deal with Home Depot in the future. I suggest that you do not fall for deceptive practices either. I have found Lowes to be more honest. Also I noticed that the products Lowes sell are first line, and not seconds.

I hope this helps, JTR.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Aug 15, 2016 1:33 pm

Ipurchase a toro leaf blower today 11/30/2010 @10:30am on my way to work, upon returnig home I opened the box and found that this product was used the leaf bag still had leaves in it and hole unit was dirty obviously someone purchase this item used it and return it to the store and the people who checked it back in never checked the unit for use.This is the second time this year

and the first time complained to store manager. As far as I'm concerned I 'm not going to purchase anything anymore from any home depot.There are a lot more better quality stores in my area to deal this is the end.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 04, 2016 1:33 pm

Hello all, well I have a serious issue with various stores like Home Depot, Walmarts and Shoppers Drug Mart with service at the cash. Every time I go into a Home Depot at prime contractor hours which is early morning, there's 18 cash registers but only two are being used. At those two there's a line up of elderly people with cart full of plants and we are on a tight daily schedule. Basically from the time I walk in and get my materials and walk to the cash, it might take me 15 minutes but then it takes much longer to pay for my items. That makes no sense. Service with a smile, ya right, it's not a smile, they friggin laughin at us idiots waiting in line. I have a lot of respect for the elderly but you know, your retired so shop after 5pm for you damn flowers. I'm trying to work towards a retirement plan here. Anyhow, it's not their fault. At Shoppers, there was a line up practically down an isle, I told the cashier to get on the horn and call for the other cash to open. I just don't get it, well lets not even talk about that damn sku that's missing when you finally make it to a cash.

Helpful?
0 0
H
Jul 27, 2016 1:33 pm

November 16, 2012 I went in and scheduled someone to come to my house to measure carpet (that was in stock at thee store), which went fine, they showed up 3 days later, thee following day after thee measurement I got an email withe thee estimate and a phone call, this was on November 20, I paid for thee carpet, and they said that a home depot rep. would be contacting me regarding installation on Nov. 23, we never got a call. Initially while purchasing carpet, we were told that it would be installed thee week after thanksgiving, and that if there was any sealing that needed to be done that we would have to do this, which we tore up our carpet and did ). After waiting until thee 29the, I called thee Eugene Home Depot and a sales rep informed me that thee contractor was having scheduling issues and that I needed to come in and talk withe thee rep that initially took our order. We went in thee next day and were told that they were "so sorry, that they would have a talk withe thee manager and see to it that someone contacted us immediately regarding our installation". The next day thee customer rep calls at 8pm, and speaks withe my husband and says "well I spoke withe my supervisor and we're going to get this handled as soon as possible" Today is December 4the, 2012 and I still have not heard one word from anyone withe regards to scheduling my carpet installation (which is only 42 sq ft.), I'm beginning to feel that I've been ripped off by Home Depot! In my visit to thee store on thee 30the I asked thee clerk about thee refund policy regarding my purchase that I never received, and told him that if I didn't have it installed or a date set within a few days that I'd be coming back in to get my money back, and he assured me that if I was unhappy that I could go in for a refund withe no problem, I still have no carpet, I guess I'll go see about having my money refunded and go to Lowe's to see if they can handle my simple order.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Jul 26, 2016 1:33 pm

we bought a John Deere Riding lawn mower on Sept 2/13 we were led to believe that we could get the lawn mover $100 cheaper is we paid for it then or pay the extra $100 and get payment deferred for 18 months months, and no payment til that date. Which is March 2015. Today I got a letter saying I was behind in payments and that they were charging me $102.00 interest. This is bull. Deferred is deferred is it not

Helpful?
0 0
F
Jul 25, 2016 1:33 pm

I was at these home depot locking for floor material and i found in another department a open box of the floor a was locking for i call a employee name damien supervicer of lumber department and ask him about the price of the floor box he say he dont make the decision obout and told me that talk to tony in flooring department these guy was the nasty person i ever meet in my life he was very out of control saying that nothing wrong with the box and is no discount on the box hes not even a manager he was not dress like and employee not having a name tag he was very loud the worst person in the home depot of new rochelle looks like from puerto rico maybe never went to any school no manors i think a homeless is better person the these guy name tony in flooring department. Finally the cashier gime the 20%b discount some how he agree with me. I dont knoh how the get people like tony in flooring department the nasty employee in home depot of new rochelle i would never come back again to these location.

Helpful?
0 0
G
Jul 20, 2016 1:33 pm

Home Depot Store in Matterson Il. While attempting to load my grill I had just purchased, the sell associate that was assisting me drop the grill. I asked for an exchange and while preparing to service me, by getting some wrap to prevent the item from being damaged another associate by the name of Lester, detain Brad as if I was stealing or asking him to help. how stupid could one be seeing I had purchased the item. He then attempted to ask me why I did not want the grill. I lost out seeing it was on sale a close to my home seeing I had rented their rental truck. Never could I ever see myself going into another home depot!

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jul 15, 2016 1:33 pm

I have tried on several occassions to make purchases at Home Depot located in Westbury NY and Jericho NY and they both seem to be poorly staffed with sales help.On one occassion I attempted to purchase and have installed floor tiles.I could not find an associate to help me. I waited 15 minutes while the cashier associate tried to page someone to help me. The person never came.I then attempted to contact the store manager, who I finally got after another 10 min wait who also tried to page an associate in that department. The sales associate who finally came, told me he was busy with another customer all this time, and would be with me shortly. I waited another 10 mins and finally gave up and went back to the manager as I was leaving the store to tell her they needed more help.She made no comment and just looked at me blankly.

At this point I decided to go to the Home Depot located in Jericho. To my astonishment I had the same experience.The Associate I saw in that dept said he was busy and would help me when he could. Meanwhile there were two other associates sitting at the dept desk apparently doing paperwork while I waited for the first Associate to finsh what ever he was away doing. I stood at the Flooring Dept desk for about 12 mins.The other two associates never even looked up to say "can I help you or are you being helped?" I then said to one of the two " is there only one person working in this dept"? And her reply was "Oh I thought you were waiting for some one else." At this point I decided to see if I could get better service at LOWE'S. And I might add that neither store was crowded. More recently I saw a Labor Day weekend sale advertised on my email from Home Depot on Entry Doors. I went to the Westbury location and went immediately to the customer service department to tell them I wanted to buy and have installed A new entry door and Storm door. I waited on one long line that had 5 associates standing behind the counter .They all except the one who was helping the long line, appeared to be busy doing something else. Finally after 5 min one of the others asked me "what was my problem? I said I don't have a problem I want to buy and have a door installed.It took him a few minutes to find out if they installed the doors they sell. He finally told me I had to go to the Dept and see the associate there. Knowing from experience I asked if there was a sales Associate in that department who could help me. He said there was but when I got there He was too busy to spend much time with me. So I again went to Lowe's.You would think that prior to a Big sale the store would be prepared for a crowd of people and again at the time I went there was not a crowd.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jul 15, 2016 1:33 pm

If you buy a dishwasher and are expecting Home Depot to install it know that the contractors are not licensed plumbers. If you have PVC piping or the connectivity is not straightforward the delivery people will not install it. If you are this category and insist on purchasing a dishwasher from Home Depot, make sure you can either install it yourself or have a licensed plumber at hand. Next best thing to do is buy the dishwasher from Sears, they send licensed plumbers to do the installation.

Helpful?
0 0

Tried to Purchase Maytag Dishwasher at the Vallejo Home Depot Store. Was told to take paperwork to cashier for 10 Percent veterans discount. waited in line for several minutes told this could only be approveed at Customer service when I shave bought things there befoe a 10 discount was taken off by cashier. I found the manger of appliances in the apliance section explained to him what was happpening. He asked me what register I was at I told him Number 6. After waiting for him to show up I had to go looking for him. he was no where to be found. I then proceeded to Customer service
where I was told yes you can buy it but we simply do not know how to ring this particular dishwasher up to give you the 10% discount. This was a new product on the floor. After about ten minutes of stalling and wasting of my time this diabled american veteran left went to Lowes they honor vets there.

Helpful?
0 0
I
Jun 22, 2016 1:33 pm

I had kitchen cabinets refaced in August, after they were installed the installer said to move my toaster because the heat will warp the facing, the consultant that came to my home said the product is very durable and how strong the material is, Since the installation the maintenance has been back 4 times, I asked them to decuct $400.00 from my bill, they offered me a $200.00 gift for their store. The contract #is 997990, I live in Camden NJso I wrote your office in Trenton and they wrote me and said to contact you office. I am still paying for this and it costs $4300..00

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 26, 2011 1:33 pm

I purchased a patio furniture set online through home depot.com. I received my package and the box looked as though it was dropped from about 20 feet and massively taped not to mention that the parts inside were damaged. I called customer service to only be told that they could send me a replacement but I would be charged again and would be credited for the original order once it was recieved back to them. I also drove out of my way because I was told that a store in DE had 4 left to only find out that they had shipped the 4 a week before to another location in DE. So I am very dissapointed in Home Depot and I cannot wait until the Lowes is done and built right up the street from me. Hurry up and build it.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Jun 16, 2011 1:33 pm

I purchased a $14 item from Home Depot and they convinced me that I should sign up for one of their credit cards. I never received a bill from them and forgot about it. Some months later I received notice that I owed them $80 for a past due account! I paid the $80 charge. I recently recived notice from Experian and Equifax that I had another past due charge of $53. I called Home Depot and they said it was a mistake and they would cancel the charge. I want this removed from my credit record. I would also like if possible to get a credit from Home Depot for $64-the difference between the item I purchased and the penalty they charged me. James Roberts

Helpful?
0 0
H
Jun 27, 2014 1:33 pm

bought a new tool chest combination about a year ago and the draws started falling out called the store and they said there was nothig they could do to call husky who made the box and they would send me the parts to repair it which they did the probleum is this is the third set of glides in less than two months called husky they cant replace box advised me to try returning it to store so not wanting to empty this two piece box i called the store manager offered store credit so i went someplace else to buy a new box switched over all the tools return husky box back to home depot they now tell me they cant get this box and i explain that i already bought a different one why buy another piece of ### and they then tell me that there is nothing they call do that i am stuck with a tool box that only half can be used i make my living with the tools in this box and they just luagh it off i will never shop at any home depot again then they wouldnt even help me reload the damn thing

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jul 06, 2014 1:33 pm

Been a loyal customer with Home Depot for years went by store found a dishwasher we needed paid for was set to be delivered the following Saturday, Saturday came the delivery people called they had crushed it and already reordered it they said Home Depot would call us to arrange a new delivery date a week later did not here from Home Depot so called them they could not tell me any information they said they will call us back still they could not tell us any information evidently Home Depot does not stay on the same page as their delivery people they kept putting us off and at this point we still do not know when or if we are going to get our dishwasher? Very dissatisfied with this process not a happy camper still waiting on replays should just get our money back and shop somewhere else do not know who else to talk to the manager at store said it was just reordered it that is twice I was told this but no date I offered to just go pick it up myself he could not tell me when they would have it at store I am very unhappy with Home Depot now the dishwasher is off sale there and at the other two places I could have got it. Still waiting? Need dishwasher!

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jun 01, 2010 1:33 pm

Well I have an EMCO storm door that had a deadbolt lock in the closing position and I couldn't get the door open. I had to unscrew the jam on the outside in order to get the deadbolt to retract by pushing it in. It started to have problems sticking after the warranty ran out. I consider this a very hazardous condition and I would never buy one of their doors for this reason. Their customer service seems to just want you to buy parts, while the engineers who design their doors should probably find another line of work!

Don't make the same mistake I did, avoid these doors.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1797 complaints
222 resolved 1575 unresolved

Home Depot contacts

(added by reviewer)
2455 Paces Ferry Rd SE, #B #3, New Jersey United States
ADVERTISIMENT