Enterprise Car Rentalrecieved a ticket for stolen tags!!!

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

To Whom It May Concern,

On October 17, 2008, my spouse and I rented a vehicle from the Enterprise @ 614 Cobb Parkway South. Once leaving the lot with the rented vehicle I proceeded with my plans of going out of town. We didn’t even make it out of Metro Atlanta Area before I was pulled over by Dekalb County Police. Once Dekalb County pulled me over my license and registration was asked for. So I gave the officer my license, rental registration, and my insurance card, which he didn't ask for. Next, when the officer returned to the vehicle, we were told to put my hands where I can see them. Mind you it was raining all day October 17, 2008, and I also had a 20 month old toddler in the car going out of town with me in my care as well. I asked the officer, “Well, what is the problem” and he replied, "The tags on this vehicle is registered to a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu." I was driven a 2008 Nissan Altima. The officer then stated "The tags on this car is basically looking like the tags are stolen and don't belong to this car." So after being embarrassed and humiliated I received a citation summons to appear in court. The only reason I feel I am not in jail or went to jail is because I had the signed paper work from enterprise with the vehicle being rented from them on that day. After speaking to Sara Lloyd (Assistant Manager) I was told to return the vehicle to the airport location on the other side of town. As I arrived at the airport location, I then had to wait an hour to be placed into another rental vehicle (Nissan Maxima) which was just being returned and not even clean. At that moment I was so frustrated that I just took the objectionable car. After making it back in town I went to return the rental vehicle and I was still charged a deposit of $250.00. However, the vehicle deposit of $250.00 was reimbursed to me, but what about this ticket? Now I have to miss a day of work to attend court, three days before Christmas. So here it is November 4, 2008 and I haven't received a call back about the ticket and handling this situation. I had to make an effort to find out about this ticket and also found out that it's mandatory that I appear in court. So after getting the run around I finally get to talk with Jason Daluca (Regional Rental Manager) and he states, "Well, this is the first I am hearing about this and I will have to look into this. He also stated, “I also pulled up your contract and your name is not listed as an additional driver." At this point I am beginning to become livid and feeling like Okay Ok Okay!!! When receiving the vehicle my ID was taking and a copy was made because I was an additional driver. Therefore, my question is WHY WOULD ENTERPRISE NEED A COPY OF MY DRIVERS LICENSE IF I WAS NOT AN ADDITIONAL DRIVER??? I didn't make the reservations my significant other did. Now, I'm still waiting on an answer from the company about who is going to have to be with me at court Dec. 22, 2008???

In conclusion, I would like for this citation to be taken care of or someone being with me in court on December 22, 2008 @ 2:00 p. m. I am also planning a trip for November 26, 2008 thru December 1, 2008 to Houston, TX for the holiday and would love to continue to use Enterprise as my rental car company.in the end all I am requesting is that someone assists me in handling this citation and possible comp for my upcoming trip. I think I have been very patient with this matter considering it has been THREE WEEKS since this incident has occurred with no response from anyone within your organization…

Responses

  • Go
    go to the better business webs Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a former Enterprise Employee and I will tell you that what happened was that the tags on the Altima were just place on that car by mistake. They get in many new car stock on a daily and weekly basis and just failed to put the correct tag on the Malibu and instead it was place on your car (even though it should have been checked by the employee checking you in as the plate # is on the contract!!!). The plate for the Malibu probably came up stolen because someone in the branch flagged it. Please note that it should have been resolved immediately upon the officer pulling you over (the VIN # could have been used to confirm the cars idenity and mix up...shame on the officer!). Basically if the officer would have given you the courtesy to call the branch or the main number...airports locations are usually open 24/7 if all else fails...then they could have simply cross checked the tag that belonged to the Malibu but was mistakenly put on your rental then the issue could have been resolved immediately. I feel your pain and it is one of the reasons I'm no longer an employee. My suggestion is to keeping calling and bothering Jason everyday until they can contact the authorities so you do not have to appear in court.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.