The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Sears Dishwasher / refund on returned merchandise!

1 3001 Ming Ave., Bakersfield, CA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 661-833-530

On 11/20/2017, I ordered a dishwasher and paid for installation, as a christmas gift for my mother. The item arrived and a date was set for on or around 11/29/07, to have the item delivered and installed. The dishwasher was delivered and installed a few days after. Once the installation tech. Left, the dishwasher immediately began malfunctioning. Sears was called and a different man arrived to check it out. Once the man looked at the machine he said that the machine was faulty and that a new one would need to be ordered and someone would call within 24-48 hours. The call never came and after a few days, my mother informed me that she still had not heard anything from sears. I then telephoned the local sears in her town (Bakersfield, ca) and explained the problem. The young man I spoke with said that he would take care of the problem... He did not and after a few days, my mother again informed me that she had not heard anything from sears. I again telephoned sears and spoke with the store manager who told me that he would take care of picking up the machine and canceling the order... He did not. After several days passed, my mother informed me that she had not heard from sears. I then called pick up and delivery and they came to get the machine. They ended up not taking the machine due to the fact that it had to be "un-installed" and they only did pick up and delivery. The machine was then "un-installed" and sears was called back at pick up and delivery. On 1/5/08, sears picked up the faulty machine and we had the pick up delivery man sign off on our receipt that he had picked it up... The young man's name was signed as paul a. Diaz. I called sears to ask about my credit card being refunded and they informed me that it took 7-10 days for a refund to process. I waited until 1/14/08 and telephoned sears again and was told to call back on thursday 1/17/08. Just so the whole day would go by and they couldn't say that it was too early or late, I waited to call back on until friday 1/18/08. This time I was told that a new dishwasher was installed when they picked the old one up!! Not true. We did not purchase a new dishwasher. After all the problems, we told them to cancel the order and we would purchase one somewhere else, which we did and which we do have a receipt for. The new dishwasher was purchased at a local bakersfield, ca store named "urner's" and was installed on 1/3/08. Since the pick-up of the faulty machine, sears has called my mother at least three times to "schedule delivery" of a new machine or to "pick up a machine", which my mother has informed each sears caller that there is no order for a new machine and that the old one has been picked up.

It is no wonder sears is going broke!! I guess in order to get my $542.66 refunded back to my credit card I am going to have to dispute the charge on my visa... This has been a total nightmare!

Thank you,
Karla b. Sida.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Vo
      23rd of Apr, 2012
    0 Votes
    Sears Dishwasher - service repair no show
    Sears Dishwasher
    United States

    I was scheduled for a repair appointment for my dishwasher between the hours of 1:00 and 5:00 PM on Thursday October 6, 2017. Because my fiance and I both work, we had no one to be home during the hours from 1:00 to 4:00 (when I normally return home from work). I took a half day off of work on the 6th. At approximately 3:30 PM I received a phone call stating that the repairman was running late, but would get to me as soon as possible. As of today, I have still received no further notification from Sears about my scheduled appointment.

    To say that I am disappointed would be an understatement. When I called Sears today they informed me that really nothing could be done, and that they could not disclose the reason to me why the repairman never showed. They couldn’t even guarantee me a later time so that I did not have to take off of work again. Needless to say, I won’t be taking off of work to sit and wait for someone who may or may not show again. The dishwasher I purchased is not even 6 months old and was installed by Sears.

    The fact that it already has issues does not make matters better. I am currently in the process of selling my home, and this is not a bonus by any means to a potential buyer. We are building a new house, and we were planning on using Sears for items such as the garage door opener, knobs for the cabinets, appliances (washer, dryer, etc), but will now go somewhere else where customer service is better understood. We (my fiance and I) understand that things happen, but never contacting us, refusing to make a new appointment that helps to fit our needs, and saying nothing can be done is poor business.

Post your comment