The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Sears Calypso Washer / sear did not notify me of the lawsuit concerning the washer.

1 3139 Nottingham Ave.Markham, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 708-333-22-3

To Whom It May Concern:

On Thursday, December 6,2007 a qualified Sears technician serviced my Calypso Automatic Washer. During the evaluation on the washer while trying to determine the problem as to why the washer was not operating properly, the technician asked me was I aware of the class action lawsuit concerning the Calypso Washers. I informed the technician that no I was not aware there that had been any type of class action lawsuit with that brand. The technician further informed me to check the web site "calypso settlement.com" I was also informed by the technician that the problem with my washer was one of the reasons for the class action suit a malfunctioning "U-Joint Assembly". I further informed the technician that I have kept documents with previous problems with the washer since I had purchased it May 1, 2004. The following are the problems I have experienced with this washer: 1) June 2004 replacement of the Motor Pump , 2) August 2005 replacement of the Mico Computer Board 3) August 2006 replacement of the "U-Joint Assembly" ,Motor Pump and Wash Plate and now as of today Dec 6, 2007 replacement of the "U-Joint Assembly" AGAIN..

After being informed of the information about the Calypso Washers, I immediately made a phone call to Sears. I spoke with Jeannette (employee SJ314E) and she informed me that my Calypso washer wasn't in the group involved with the class action lawsuit. Jeanette was adamant that the lack of notification about my Calypso was due to "the fact " that my washer wasn't in this group . After further conversation with Jeanette I provided her with my purchase date, model and serial number but again Jeanette further implied and insisted that my washer wasn't in this group and that's why I was never notified of the class action law suit. I felt through the conversation with her that I wouldn't get any restitution. At that point Jeanette told me to ,"Contact Sears Legal Team @ [protected] and perhaps the Sears Legal Team can further assist you."

I am extremely disgruntled and upset with this matter. I am determined to get this resolved in a timely manner. I would appreciate your immediate attention to this matter. I am requesting to be included in this lawsuit . Please provide me with the necessary information and address for inclusion with this lawsuit since Sears did not care to make me aware of this pending case.

Washer: Calypso
Brand Name: Kenmore Elite
Model Number: [protected]
Serial Number: CP47 05155
Purchased Date: May 1, 2004

Thanking you in advance for your cooperation

Elaine Ferba
3139 Nottingham Avenue
Markham, IL [protected]

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Fr
      8th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes
    Sears / Calypso Washer - Electronic failure!
    United States

    Electronics will not operate the machine. Machine was a $900.00 unit that lasted 4 years and 4 months. Repair bill estimated $360. Machine would not even make a good boat anchor.

  • Ma
      24th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    I, too, am one of the thousands of victims of Sears and/or Whirlpool regarding the Calypso washer!

    I have experienced all of the problems: loss of about $1, 250 in initial cost, loss of clothing & linens, etc. ruined by the Calypson washer; loss of use of a washer for many long extended periods of time; loss of washer use altogether, etc.!!!

    It is unconscionable for these 2 large corporations to ignore the "HELL" they've created for their consumers for the past several years in dealing with this total travesty!!!

    I was not notified about any class action lawsuit! I wonder how many others of the Calypso multitudes have that in common?! I have a totally nonfunctioning washer sitting in my nice laundry room!

    My previous Sears Kenmore "top-of'-the-line" washer lasted for EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS!!! I bought this washer along with its companion dryer about 8 1/2 years ago and have had nothing but heartache with it to go along with the loss of $$$$$$$$, clothing & linens, etc.!!!

    Where do we turn to? It seems that consumers are all left to "muddle along" for themselves while these two (2) corporations - Sears & Whirlpool took our money & ran! There is no such thing as CUSTOMER SERVICE in today's world. It is all about GREED!!!

    Can we who have had this happen with no assistance file another lawsuit?

    Does anyone have any suggestions for moving forward against Sears & Whirlpool to seek a TRUE remedy for ALL affected consumers?!

    Margaret Kerr Beckwith
    136 Vector Avenue
    Elkins, West Virginia 26241
    (304)636-6440

  • An
      18th of Jul, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Elaine, Margaret,

    I also purchased a Whirlpool Calypso washer from Sears. My purchase date was April 25, 2004, so I should have been covered by the class action lawsuit, but never received any notification either.

    Have either of you been able to resolve your issues with Sears or Whirlpool or contacted a lawyer?

    Anthony Uy
    6726 E El Jardin St
    Long Beach, CA 90815

  • Tm
      5th of Dec, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I also was not notify about this law suit and wished I had been notified of it. I bought my machine way back in 1998 and had to keep warranty from Sears each year because of all the time it broke down. I was notified by Sears that warranty was about to end and I called a month afterwards and found out that it was gone. I have had trouble with this washer ever year and most of the time twice or more a year. I read up on the Lawsuit and everything had to be mailed in before May 7, 2007. We are out of any type of luck on this. I hate this washer.

  • Kr
      9th of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    Same issues Mine is the 110 24086200 model purchased around 2005. Never liked this washers ability to clean clothes.

  • Ra
      17th of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    The whirlpool calypso was purchased 12/15/2001, I have pretty much hatted it sence the min. it strolled threw my door. Eight years later I hate it even more!!!

    Model No. GVW9959KQO
    Serial No. CL1910695

    I to was never informed about any kind of class action law suite, nor was I ever sent any kind of hay this machine is having problems here is a kit to fix it, if one was ever available.

    It has never cleaned properly, it sucked things under the disc, and about once a year I am paying for someone to come out and pull out the fur ball the machine could not cough up itself. About 3 months ago it complletly went TU, would suck everything under the disk, and it tells me that the load is off balance, funny thing is there is no clothing in the washer. Three months later all that is in the washer is a load of very stinkie water. I do not have the money once again to figure out what is going on, something more that a fur ball is going on. I am sick and tired of pooring money into a washer that cost 1200.00 to begine with.

    I to feel that we should open another class action law suit. I would be happy if they would just replace the washer with another one, spending money, and time at the laundromat is not my idea of fun.

    I also feel that I should just go dump this michine on Sears door step and tell them they figure out and pay to get rid of there miss. untill I can afford to buy another machine, I will be living at the laundromat.

    Thanks for listening, it is strangly nice to know that other people have had the same porblems that I have. Just whish we could get some kink of fare resolution.

    Port Orchard Washington

  • An
      11th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes
    Sears Calipso washing machine - does not wash
    SEARS & ROEBUCK
    California
    United States

    Calipso washer does not wash.

  • Th
      20th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    I too have been victimized by Sears. We purchased the Calypso "Elite" (what a joke) washing machine and matching dryer at GREAT EXPENSE. We made this decision because Sears had always had a great reputation for their appliances. We have had nothing but trouble since we purchased this terrible machine. We even purchased the extended warranty because we've had nothing but trouble. Unfortunately, the warranties don't cover the cost of the clothes that have been ruined by this lousy washing machine. Sears also never notified us about any class action lawsuit. I would have definately jumped on that bandwagon.

    My mother had Sears products all the years I was growing up and they had a wonderful reputation. Don't know what's happened to Sears quality but I will never buy another Sears product.

    We had another repairman out last week to repair the pump and he told us of the lawsuit and that there are pages upon pages of unhappy Calypso owners on the internet.

    If anyone knows how those of us who were never notified by Sears of a class action lawsuit can get restitution, please let us know.

    Tracy, California

  • Jr
      21st of May, 2010
    0 Votes

    I too have had nothing but problems with the Calypso Washing Machine. Was not aware of the lawsuit going on, nor was I ever notified. Clothes come out with gray streaks on them, knotted up, and after the cycle is finished, when I go to raise the lid, there is a lot of water trapped around the lid and then it falls onto the clothes. Then I have to run the load through another spin cycle to get the water out... Very disgusted with this product!!!

  • Sa
      8th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    In April of 2004, we purchased a Calypso machine and have since put up with smelly, dingy, extremely twisted, and wrinkled results. Since this was my first "top loader" type and was expensive to purchase, I continued to put up with the many aggrevations...until now. Sometimes the clothes come out with dry areas after the wash and often with degergent residue and grease looking streaks and small tears. Now I only get a digital displaysaying " CE" and it won't do anything. Sears was contacted, and very unhelpful... only interested in getting a technician scheduled for $129. Could not give any ranges for repairs estimates. As I have had very poor results with the machine, I wish that I have known of class action opportunities. Can anything still be done to get this LEMON situation resolved or some compensation?

    Thanks for any advice
    Sasho

  • P2
      16th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    Clothes getting sucked and lodged beneath the wash plate, socks continuing on through the tub holes and into the pump reservoir, socks then plugging up the pump intake ... seems like we all share a similar nightmare with this Calypso Washing Machine. We too have been victimized by Sears. Like so many comments before they have not informed of any class action lawsuit on this Calypso Washing Machine. We've spend serious money on having Sears technicians work on the piece of crap and within a few months the problem re-occurs. We will never purchase anything from Sears again. Should start a Facebook page to share our experiences.

  • Ve
      28th of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    It is refreshing to see that there are many others who've experienced the same problem with their Calypsos. I purchased mine in 2003 and it was a pricey purchase, but I thought it would last me most of my adult life - as my mother's washer has lasted her... 42 and still going. Anyway, almost immediately I had a tech out because clothes were being torn in the wash. He could not find anything, but replaced the inside tub anyway. I have also had clothes come out with grease streaks - no one in my home works with grease, so this was obviously coming from the washer itself. I had trouble with water on the inside of the lid dripping on the clean clothes once I opened the lid. I removed the cover around the bleach dispenser because water seemd to accumulate in there as well and there was mold and goo all inside. I cleaned it really well and have not had the water problem since. BUT in the last two weeks, my husband's favorite Polo oxford was torn right in the front - not a cheap shirt, and today my son's sheet came out with two large, matching dark grease spots with smaller ones around them. I now am faced with either spending more $ or being afraid of ruining my clothes in the washer. I did not know about the class action suit, but would love for there to some recourse for current, unhappy owners.

  • Al
      18th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    I too am really upset with the Calypso washing machine. There is nothing worse than putting in barely soiled stain free clothes in the wash and opening up the machine to find everything in knots with grey streaks all over it! I hesitate and cringe every time I put white clothes in, and I turn everything inside out just in case. The machine is so brilliant in its ability to ruin things that it still manages to streak both sides of my clothes. The cost of the machine + the cost of ruined pieces of clothing has added up to thousands of dollars over the years. I hate this machine!!

    My mom and I have been dealing with this for years; however, today I am really fed up!! I am documenting my annoyance so as not to allow it to just blow over again. I will no longer wash my clothes in this piece of crap, and I highly believe that I and all others deserve some sort of compensation or reimbursement for this machine. It should have been recalled! Granted this machine poses no safety risk; it does create extra stress and financial loss every time it is used. It is a risk every time one uses it; like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are going to get... grey stains, grease stains, knotted clothes, soaking wet messes, take your pick.

    My belief is, if you want to manufacture goods, than you should be accountable for your products, and accept responsibility if something is defective. I personally would not sell something to the public if I knew it was ruining their personal belongings and their emotional well being. From reading the above posts, it is not hard to gather that this line of machines has caused many families and individuals physical, emotional, and financial strife.

    Whirlpool needs to be held accountable to ALL who have had problems with this machine, not just the ones who were included in the last class action suit. We missed the last class action suit, but I firmly believe that we deserve some sort of compensation or replacement for this crap of a machine. It is obviously defective, very defective!!

    What do you want for your troubles with this machine? Credit, a replacement, to banish Whirlpool as a reputable, consumer friendly company!!

    I propose setting up a board or group of sorts, a place where people can post their concerns and stories, even pictures of ruined items, also a place where people can brainstorm ideas about remedying the problem. Results are obtained in numbers, the more people we can gather, the more we can assess how many people are still affected by this problem; thus, we can collaborate and reach a consensus course of action. Does this sound like a good idea?

    Check out pics of my latest clothing victims...

  • Ve
      21st of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    You'r right on - Whirlpool should be held accountable! We didn't buy an inexpensive machine and should expect the company to stand by their product.

  • Je
      3rd of Jul, 2011
    0 Votes

    I purchased by Calypso in 2006 and I have the same problems.

  • Jc
      25th of Sep, 2011
    0 Votes

    HAVE THEM COME OUT AND REPAIR PAY BY CHECK THAN CANCELL THE CHECK. LET THEM SUE YOU

  • Ka
      1st of May, 2013
    0 Votes

    I could be anyone posting on this website. My story is the same one. A couple of years ago the washing machine stopped working and this week the matching Kenmore Calypso dryer bought the farm. I was sucked in by a Sears salesman and a copy of Consumer Reports which he showed me that had a glowing article about this washing machine back in 2004.. I agree Sears used to have a good reputation with appliances and I always believed Consumer Reports. I have no faith in either of these institutions now.
    I, like everyone else posting here, did not receive any notice of a class action lawsuit. By the time my washing machine broke down and the technician told me not to put any more money into it, the lawsuit had been settled. I am out close to two thousand dollars for this matching pair of designed flawed appliances plus repair bills and the cost of a new washer and dryer. Sears, you are the rip off Kings of the Universe. I will never, as long as I live, ever buy another Kenmore or Whirlpool appliance. But be careful, their brands go by other names.

Post your comment