The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

[Resolved] Airtel India / airtel bangalore customer care sucks!

1 India Review updated:

Airtel customer care sucks! Airtel is useless. They don't respect their customers. Airtel is really bad. I was an airtel pre-paid user. Airtel guys called me a lot of times to get a post-paid connection. After a few days, I decided to go with their best scheme in post-paid with the highest rental plan.

It was called india-roam 399 plan. The airtel guys came to my office to collect the deposit and required documents. After a few days again there were a couple of guys from airtel there at my office for address verification. Everything went well. They promised to get my phone working in 4 working days and finally these guys managed to get it working in 8 working days.

After around 10 days, when I wanted to go to some other state, maharashtra to be precise, I called up airtel to check my roaming status and they said, it was on hold as the address verification was not done. I was shocked to here as the address had been verified a long time back. They registered a complaint for that which was stupidity.

I had told them my concern. I was going out of bangalore for 15 days after that. I wanted my phone working.

My roaming was not activated. I was without phone for 2 days. Then they activated my phone only for incoming calls. I registered a couple of complaints again after that. For all of them, they changed the status to "closed". Then again I get another shock of my life. They inactivate my sim. All incoming and outgoing calls are blocked. I had requested in my complaints for a call back from a manager. No calls!! And my cell phone is not working. The customer care doesn't register my complaint. My phone is still not working for 10 days now. Number - [protected].

Airtel customer care sucks. They treat customers as dirt.

Suggestion for new guys: avoid airtel. Your phone wont work when you want it the most.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Bharti Airtel Customer Care's Response, Sep 29, 2013

    Namaste ( Anny888),

    This is with reference to your post dated 28 September 2013.

    We would like to acknowledge that we are working to address your concern as soon as possible.

    We will connect with you to get additional details, if required, to resolve the concern effectively.

    You can also get in touch with us at airtel.presence@in.airtel.com


    Regards
    Rakesh Kumar
    airtelpresence (airtel customer service team)
    bharti airtel ltd
    airtel.presence@in.airtel.com
    Connect with us 24X7. We will be happy to assist you with a swift resolution to your queries on all our products and services

    Twitter - www.twitter.com/airtel_presence
    Facebook - www.facebook.com/bhartiairtelltd
    LinkedIn- http://in.linkedin.com/pub/airtel-presence-bharti-airtel-ltd/1b/119/a33

  • Bharti Airtel Customer Care's Response, Oct 01, 2013

    Namaste ( Anny888),

    This is with reference to your post dated 28September 2013. We tried calling you multiple times to get additional details to enable us to address your concern. However, there was no response.

    We will appreciate if you could share your alternate contact details / convenient time to call. Please write to us at airtel.presence@in.airtel.com
    Look forward to hearing from you.
    Regards
    Saurav Ahlawat
    Airtel Presence (Airtel Customer Service Team)
    Bharti Airtel Ltd
    airtel.presence@in.airtel.com

    Connect with us 24X7 and we will be happy to assist you with a swift resolution to your queries on all our products and services
    Twitter - www.twitter.com/airtel_presence
    Facebook - www.facebook.com/bhartiairtelltd
    Linked- http://in.linkedin.com/pub/airtel-presence-bharti-airtel-ltd/1b/119/a33

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Le
      17th of Oct, 2006
    0 Votes

    Recently i had worst experience at your so called well equipped call centres. They render to be redundant. You just spend money for service which which they are worth not it. I request u to close those useless rc in dombivili mumbai.

    My experience:

    I was having airtel postpaid card: for above mentioned no. I wanted it to convert to prepaid. So i visited dombivili rc (tilak telecom). For the same. The interaction which should complete in exactly 5 mins. Has been taking place for last 4 weks. They asked to fill a prepaid form asking for conversion of plan. I have completed the form details.and have given necessary credentials by which they are satisfied. And have chosen a plan (yearly plan) i have paid 3449/- against new sim and refill (bill no:18623 dombivili rc dated 7-10-06). So they promised me my service will get active in 48 hrs. Ok satisfied.

    First instance incompetency from airtel:
    Some one calls at my different alternate no ; 09892610963 tells there is a pending of some amount against my postpaid for which i have to go again to rc to clear the same

    Second instance incompetency from airtel:
    I have called postpaid customer care to confirm and request some alternative to for payment like deduction from amount which was due from airtel which was supposed to transfer to prepaid or deduct from prepaid account. They said they cant do it. I have to visit rc. I would like ask,can't rc people check any bills pending at the time of transfer of account. If there is any delay in system upgradation cant there be provision for automatic deduction of amount from some other source from which customer has requested. Thereby saving customer valuable time.

    Third instance incompetency from airtel:
    I have visited airtel rc next day. The people at rc were busy attending personnal calls on their mobiles, having long lunches, going to wash room after every customer interaction. I have asked to wait for my turn which took long 2 hrs. After which the person jayna checked the system status and said since my case was previously handled by bhavna since she is on weekly leave i have to come on some other day. She has no access to her cases. This seems pitiful where there is no acces to customer records for your own personnel. And worst part i got this infy after 2 hrs of long waiting taking leave from office. So pityfull.

    Fourth instance incompetency from airtel:
    I again visited airtel rc next day with lots of hopes. The people at rc as usual were busy attending personal calls on their mobiles, having long lunches, going to wash room after every customer interaction. Luckily that female bhavna who has taken my case was present. I was asked to wait for two hrs. Then my turn came she invited me one long false smile she said there is balance of rs 114/- which i have paid immediately. But your cashier chetna was busy calling her some dear one she was busy next 15 min. Then she has taken.and promised my servive will get activated in 4 hrs. I thought my struggle is over. After 12 hrs my service got activated. But this time with no balance so i cant make any calls nor receive them. Customer care to visit again rc and 2 hrs for your turn since he cant do anything

    I would like to ask if you cant resolve customer query in single shot when u have got best technology. Your service is worst than public sector bank which is near by which are rated worst for their customer orientation. The service of unqualified rustic person in public bank service is hundred times better than your well qualified service person. Even traffic police who caughts u for breaking laws solves matter in 2 mins by taking some bribe. U were worst than that.

    Today i am visiting again rc. For fourth time hope, i case gets solved

    I would like u to return my entire money today if u cant provide me simple service which u have promised, i will take all my money and take service from other service provider. No problem thereafter i would request all friends not to approach so friendly customer friendly servive. "you cant express yourself to your customer needs so u have no right to keep punchline "express youself"".

    Also i would like u to close your dombivili rc and all its member jayna, bhavna, chetna to be fired who are so incompetent who after sufficient exp discuss discuss what action to be taken in a particular case in every case.

    Lastly i dont want "beauties with no brains" to sit to assist me in customer care i want simple people who can understand what customer might need next and suggest course of action befores customer realizes he is in deep pit. Technology must assist people but should not be problem. The office boy at dombivili rc is far better than your staff ateast he solves some problems from his side so as to reduce burden.

  • Sn
      27th of Oct, 2006
    0 Votes

    For the past 3 months I'm having problems regarding the networks so much so dat i dont get networks in my residence.I'm into marketing n due too d bad service I'm loosing many of my clients. I called several times @ ur customers service in Pune but i dont get any feed bak nor anybody is ready 2 give a conformation as 2 wen d networks r going 2 b fine. I'm really screwed about all thats happening. This problem is in south Goa in a taluka datz Sanvordem / Sanguem. I got a friend who's into this sim card business n he was telling me dat there r many people who switched on 2 other netwrks like idea n hutch. I was in mumbai n also in calcutta n i liked the airtel networks o're there but sorry 2 say networks of airtel in Goa r ###ed n its all bcoz of the poor customer service centers ur'll have.

  • Al
      14th of Nov, 2006
    0 Votes

    I am subscribe the offer of 49 paise A2A in aug. But after that i have given so many request to deactivate that offer as iam not able to avail other offers. well every time when i used call the customer care they used to tell me that next day it will be deactivated, but it never happened.after 15 to 20 calls. i have made customer care people to pass this call to higher authorities. After talking to them, he told that changing from that plan is not possible. and you have to be in this offer only as there is some problem in there technical side. Till know they are just fooling the public. They are cheating and i want everybody to know well about before availing any offer... if someone can help me regarding this please contact me...

  • Sh
      14th of Nov, 2006
    0 Votes

    My name is Sheetal Rane, I have taken a Post paid connection in Airtel Bangalore. I visited to Airtel Banarkatta (Bangalore) office to make the payment and to request to keep my number in custody for 3 months Since I was going out of India. I have made the payment of 6000 rs included bill and custody charges for three months.

    The executive gave me a receipt but asked me to call and confirm after two days. Since I was not in India to call customer care he gave me his name and number. From Canada I called him, in first call he told me that he have not paid the bill and recollect the payment after coming to India. After coming to India I am calling him, but now he is disconnecting my all calls.

    I have registered this complaint in Airtel, they are not taking an action since that guy is Airtel executive .

    I lost my 5900 rs. I have discussed in my network, I found many people who got cheated by Aitel in different way. Many people are crying because of these cheats.

  • Pr
      27th of Nov, 2006
    0 Votes

    Sub: Airtel Hero Honda Handset Bundle promotion regarding:-

    I have purchased Hero Honda Pleasure on 5-11-2006 with Engine No. 06G1AM03546, Chassis No. 06G1AM03541 from Majestic Mobikes (P) Ltd., Majestic Plaza, No.125, R.V.Road, Bangalore-560004.and Selling dealer code 10108, Phone No. 26606025-30 and TIN 29950051724, dated 1-4-2005, CST No. 90750524 dated 27-9-1999, under the Sub dealer Indian Motors, Yelahanka, Bangalore.

    In purchasing offer we received Motorola Cell phone with Airtel Sim along with Rs. 2,000/- talk time free and 1,000 free SMSs with one year validity. From past 20 days I tried to activate the cell phone, with all enquiries with Hero honda dealers and Airtel Office I could not Activate the cell phone. I enquired Airtel Office, 1st Block Rajajinagar, near Navrang Theatre. At first they told you should recharge and it will be activated but after recharging (Spending Rs. 210/-) it showed only balance amount and validity period. But I am not getting the benefits in Motorola C117 Handset. Airtel Prepaid SIM with Rs25 Talk Time, 2000 minutes Airtel to Airtel Local valid for 12 months 1000 Local Airtel to Airtel SMS valid for 3 months Free Hello Tunes subscription for 1 month with Hero Honda Tune. Then again I enquired in the above said Airtel Office, then they contacted Airtel Call centre, then they told that Hero Honda Office in Bangalore has to clarify in this regard and Hero Honda ,Motorola and Airtel Companies MoU is not clearly known to us and therefore they asked contact your Office.

    Details of the Handset given to me as purchase offer is as follows:
    The Airtel Mobile No. 9900574636,
    SIM No. 89914500020009648709,
    Hand set Model Motorola C117.

  • Ir
      5th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    I had received a message from Airtel of 1Month validity on recharge of Rs 250/- & talktime of 123. But after recharge i had notice that the validity period is of only 15 days. This is what Airtel has offered me. Cheaters!

  • He
      18th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    Sub: airtel cheats/deduct roaming charge without any utilization.

    Hi friends,

    Last saturday we went for picnic at hoggenakkal at tamilnadu.that time there was no coverage from airtel.
    And i didnt even made a single call or received a single call,even though airtel ppl deducted 25 rs as roaming charge from my prepaid account.
    I traveled maharashtra before this but they never deducted any such amount.when called to airtel cc they are not responding properly.this is clear cheating !!!
    And there is not place to escalate this issue.
    So anyone using airtel and going to any other state for one day,please switch off your cells and dont use the airtell service else you will be cheated by airtell ppl like me.

  • Mu
      20th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    I am customer Airtel But i am very sad to buy airtel sim card. I have bought before 3 month. I recharged in this month date : 18-12-2006 200Rs. & 333 Rs. topup. I called every where to my friend but after one hour my mobile barred (incoming & outgoing are closed) when i went to airtel office (jamshedpur) they said to me that your address proof didn't submit in main airtel office so your line disconnected when as i have submitted already my documents to retailer shop. Now I am harassment in this time I have submitted again never the less my service is disconnected. Please I am requested to Airtel office Manger Please Sir On My Service I will be obliged to you.

  • Si
      4th of Jan, 2007
    0 Votes

    Airtel Cunningam Road Branch in Bangalore really sucks in service.....I think its better to close the service in that branch. I had raised 4 requests so far. Not even a single request had been cleared. Don't know what the people do inside the office through out the day. I have raised so many complaints against them. But no use........Frustrated in life .........

  • Ni
      19th of Jan, 2007
    0 Votes

    Please someone tel me how to sue these guys or anyway we can file a PIL?

    I too have issues with Airtel and I'm really frustrated.

  • Bi
      10th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am an corporate employee and took a post paid connection pack from airtel agent mr. sam. he said office verification is enough for me. so i gave rs 500 as deposit and all the official documents along with my photo id card of my company. within 2 days my connection was activated. but since my connection airtel could not complete my verification. i lodged so many complaint regarding this. whenever i call the customer care they says we are helpless. what they do is, they close the earlier call and open a new request immediately. and keep on hold for another 7 days. So till now no verification has been done from airtel end. now after harassing so many times i am feeling helpless too. I found these customer care girls/boys are good for nothing. Specially the last customer care lady.

    Now my incoming and outgoing calls are barred. Even registration has been cancelled too without giving any notification.Therefore, under this circumstances I am throwing airtel seem card and has no other option other than taking a new connection sim from HUTCH.

    Also I took broadband connection from airtel & verification and connection has been over within 3 days. But airtel post paid section is not able to complete the verification. If that is the way of service airtel is going to give then i strongly believe that airtel will lose so many prospective customer like me.

    Lastly, I want to say that if they continue this approach, then I am sure that so many customer will leave this connection like me. At least I will not going to recommend to anybody for asking airtel as post paid connection.

    If it is not solved within saturday then I am going to take a new connection from hutch on sunday.

    Thanks you very much for your bad behavior.

  • Sh
      26th of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am Shalet & an Airtel Prepaid Customer. My concern is few days back I had got a message from the Airtel stating that if I recharge for Rs.360/- I would get the full talk time. The message goes exactly like this:

    "No processing fee! Recharge with Rs. 360/ above & get FULL talktime (excluding service tax of 12.24%). The talktime will be credited IMMEDIATELY after recharge."

    I had received the message on 9th of March. I recharged for Rs.360/- on 10th of March. I was not aware of the fact that they are going to withdraw the offer on 9th of March itself. They have sent me such similar messages in the past also. But with clear information of the last date to recharge.

    Since I recharged it on 10th, I have received only Rs.167/- I have been interacting with the AIRTEL customer care executives from 10th onwards. They just kept registering my complaint, but nothing happened. Later when I asked for their senior person to talk to, the matter was escalated to the supervisor by the name Ms. Anuradha. She promised me that by 20th of March I will get my full money back. After that when I called her she asked me to visit their airtel office & show them the message. I did that also. But nothing happened on that here also. Today, when I called the customer care, I got the call transferred to Mr. Chayaprakash, unit manager who does not even have the manners to speak to the customer, said that at any cost i will not get my money back.

    Though Rs. 150 which i lost is not a big amount, I am concerned about AIRTEL cheating their customers in this way.

    Since I have no time to run behind the consumer courts etc. I have decided to persuade each & every Airtel customer whom I know to switch to HUTCH or other connections.

  • Mo
      5th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Good that you are raising your voice against misconduct that will surely help many. But posting here will not suffice your ultimate goal should be to bring it to notice of regulatory bodies and have them take relevant action. So in addition to posting your complaint here do mail them to:
    trai@del2.vsnl.net.in

    and follow up. Things will work.

    Lets make india better.

  • Mo
      5th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Guys you have done a great job by putting your complaints here. At least it will stop some customers from opting airtel.

    I am on airtel for more than a 3 years. Oflate i have been roaming a lot so did not have enough time to pay my bills so abruptly my outgoing was cut. I have no problems with cutting my outgoing calls, my problem is why not they informed me. It seems airtel people are a bunch of shy guys :)

    Now i am raising a complaint with TRAI for airtel's behavior. You also can

  • Th
      5th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have applied for a PCO Coin box and I feel that I have been cheated. He has collected Rs.1350/- and he hasn't given any instrument for that. Customer Service Persons told that he must give an instrument and Rs.1350/- is a wrong payment. it should have to be lesser than that.

  • Lv
      31st of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am an airtel customer for last 4 years. My number is 9845123464. Somehow i am not satisfied with their service. First they promised variety of services for which i took one more connection. Now i am really repenting. I face problems whenever i go roaming to Chennai etc., I have problems in their billing also and discussed with customer care people. They people not respond properly.

    THEY REALLY SUCK!! AIRTEL IS USELESS.

  • Su
      5th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    Airtel bangalore cunningham road sucks, Airtel Hyderabad Ameerpet office sucks, and i guess the case with most Airtel direct customer care(less) offices. They dont give a rats a## for customers problems. I got Airtel prepaid card from Cunningham road on a friday and they promised it would be activated that evening. But it didnt get activated that night and when i went to meet them on saturday they gave lame excuse saying the cell phone for activation is locked and they dont have the key. I dont know why they are open on saturdays. The cell phone was activated on monday that also when i went and reminded in the evening.
    Everytime you go toe customer support centre they say server is done, its common across all airtel outlets. Its useless to go there, so i went to a retail outlet and get my prepaid card charged. I was so frustrated by them that now i have shifted to Hutch connection. Airtel is USELESS when it comes to customer support.

  • Vi
      8th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    Airtel India-One plan sucks. They deactivate the service due to some technical problem on their side and they would let the customer suffer. This happened three times to me and I have been with them for less than a month.

  • Si
      11th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    Not only Airtel, we have too many problems with the Service Providers in India. Even I had a similar experience with Hutch. Its high time that TRAI enters the scenario and have some regulations set for customer service, these things are ridiculous and people should not waste their whole day in a stupid thing like mobile connection problem. Airtel is now the largest among the service providers, and they have to realize they can be the smallest if everyone feels bad about the service. Even now days the coverage in the main areas like banjara Hills is getting a lot of disturbance. Airtel has to solve these small but really decisive issues for them. The customer care of any of the Service Provider is not that great, but if we take the worst ones, Airtel would be the first one to mention about.

  • Bm
      26th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    I am having the received copy application and legal notice which i have given to airtel Dealer at Etawah for surrender of my sim card and refund of my security. The application which was received was dated 8.1.2007, but till today my security is not refunded.

    B.M. Das Agarwal
    8,kothi old city

    Etawah.

Post your comment