The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Walmart BakeryDecorated cakes

I have been told by many that EBT not only covers simple birthday cakes but wedding cakes as well. I feel that, and many others, that this should not be allowed. Cakes at walmart range from six dollars to One hundred and fifty dollars, I can understand the purchase of a small cake for your child, however if you are drawing food-stamps you should ONLY be able to buy food. Take in to consideration of a family that is only allowed two hundred dollars a month, for example, and they buy a cake that costs half of that, these people are not in need of food assistance if this is the case. Please understand that I am strongly for those in need, however, they should not be able to take advantage buy purchasing a cake that feeds more than one hundred people. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Responses

  • El
    Elissa Maes Jun 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not everyone has a working stove, Sheree. We have a stove that just took a crap and we can't afford a new one since both our son's birthdays are in June and our money will be going to getting them gifts and having a party for them. People really just need to start thinking that not everyone is equal and that while yes maybe there are some people who abuse the system, most do not. Also that the ability to buy a birthday cake, which is food, is in a person who has been determined to need help through the state's right. It's not alcohol, cigs, or lottery tickets... that would be the only things I would ever be thinking "hmm I'm thinking they don't need assistance and are trying to fool the system".. just saying!

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherée Conn May 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Um, buy the ingredients or even a boxed mix and some frosting and say, MAKE A CAKE for 1/4 the cost...Seriously.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BrokenBones Dec 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a single mom, self employed and was in a terrible car accident. I will be unable to work and have no income. I also am unable to prepare foods for my children due to being stuck in a wheelchair, and the unbearable pain. It breaks my heart that I cannot cook for my children. Thank goodness for the temporary help that I am receiving and that my ten year old did not have to go without a birthday cake. Seriously, put a little thought into your judgements. I have been working very hard for my whole life, and will not accept EBT funds once I'm back on my feet.

    2 Votes
  • Wv
    WV_Student Mar 01, 2015

    @jaberwocky- any chance that EBT card (or cash assistance card) was their child support money and there was enough left over or they'd been saving for that xbox and controllers FOR THEIR CHILD? Keep judging people. Like I said, ignorant. But everyone knows everything, don't they?

    1 Votes
  • Wv
    WV_Student Mar 01, 2015

    You are ignorant. Plain and simple. I am a college student who also works and I still qualify for food stamps because it's NOT enough. Cake IS food. My children deserve a birthday cake that they will like and I have had to use EBT to help pay for this before. People also get child support payments and some financial assistance programs on their EBT cards so DO NOT always assume it's coming from the FOODSTAMPs. The fact is that NOBODY knows which side of the card is being used- whether it's cash or foodstamps but they are quick to see the card and judge! One day when I graduate and no longer need assistance, I will be sure to NOT be like you and people like you. Thank you for YOUR (lack of) consideration.

    4 Votes
  • Le
    les3 Jan 22, 2015

    I think you should be able to buy cakes on a ebt card not all people that have ebt cant find jobs some are disability and/or a senior so if they have a love with and they want to buy a cake why not on a ebt card its just a cake for an example you cant buy dog food with a ebt card because if you can afford a dog you should afford food but if you are a grandma and you grandchild ask for a birthday cake and she buys it just her ebt i dont think its nothing wrong with it not everybody trying to play the system

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rexgsd Nov 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree. People taking advantage of the system.

    2 Votes
  • squeakywheel Nov 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @anonymouscake-original poster of this complaint: You really are a callous, subjugating, hard, non-empathetic, sad, person who doesn't appreciate the state of our economy nor do you understand the full reason for using benefits on an EBT card. I could go into massive details about why people use this card. Many ignorant people such as you assume that only the indigent that refuse to work and want to stay in the below the 250% poverty level use these cards blatantly for their food and horrors-a cake. There are many other people that have access to these cards. Are you aware that Veterans have them also? Yes, Veterans. Those people that defend your country. So do people that were in horrible abusive situations that lost everything, including attempted murder victims. Oh the list goes on that our government helps. So as you are defiling that person that bought that cake, you are also telling them they aren't worth your time, which means they may have spent THEIR time defending their country so you could be free and spend your money on your foolish extra things that you do. That's a spit in the face to them, isn't it? Didn't think about that one, did you while you were getting your manicure and pedicure? And that women that you see who might be decently dressed, getting into a decent car, using an EBT card, well, perhaps you don't realize this, but her ex killed her children, along with her pets in the fire when he burnt down their home. She has to live with those memories the rest of her life. She doesn't dream of summer vacations anymore. She doesn't have dreams, just nightmares. Our government helps many people, in many situations. I hope you never encounter one of the horrible ones that put you in one of them. Because with your attitude? Karma is a ###.

    4 Votes
  • St
    StacetheNonbeliever_UrFakers Nov 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Are you kidding??? Are you really soo callous and RUDE you feel that an EBT card which BTW; covers any food item that is NOT already cooked/heated is covered by the card. Obviously you are RICH enough of B-ch that you and your well-to-do family doesnt need to be assisted by the gov't...unlike MOST now and days of America! And, why are you so worried about how some ppl are spending their EBT money? It's no skin off your bottom, you are rich and don't need help remember... You are sooo obviously one of the ppl that President NObama is making richer by making the rest of us poor poorer! You really are a sick person just like Toads said! To complain about something as trivial as a birthday/wedding cake shows your very LOW I.Q. level!! Maybe some people need a cake that large to feed a party wheather it's a birthday or wedding cake! Not all of us are rich LIKE YOU that we can afford to go out and drop a few hundred to a few grand on a cake!! And since I bought my son a semi-small sized birthday cake with my EBT card; I'll ask him to regurgitate it so I can return it, that some TROLL on a website with too much time on their hands had to complain about something stupid and I need him to please vomit the cake up so I can return it to make YOU happy!!! Oh and last question, being you BITE, CHEW and SWALLOW a cake- when doesn't that count as eating food? Last time I checked and rechecked to make double sure; a cake WAS a food item! Stupid, stupid, STUPID- geta hobby, getta job (which everyone I know who's on EBT has!) and mostly GETTA LIFE already!!! Complain about something actually worth complaining if you really need to, you are like I said only showing ppl your stupidity with your comment about cake!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    jaberwocky Nov 06, 2011

    you would be surprised at some of the things some people try to buy with food stamps. Sometimes it isn't even food, then they act surprised the system won't allow the item to go through.

    It isn't even food stamps, its also cash assistance cards. On many occasions, I would see customers using their cash assistance card to buy $60 Xbox games and game controllers etc., then go out and drive away in a new car.

    2 Votes
  • Qu
    Queen Basher Nov 06, 2011

    If you are really so concerened, contact your states congress and get things changed.

    -4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.