Resolved Verizon Wirelessforcing internet service on media phones

Verizon Wireless is forcing people to pay for internet service on certain phones.
Kids like the phones with touch screen and mp3 music, but they recently just added this charge. I upgraded one of my daughters phones to a Chocalate without the charge, two weeks later my other daughter wanted an LG Touch, we were told they added this new charge.
Sure they tell you up front there is a 10.00 charge but the usage is only 25mb. What can you do with 25mb a month?
They told me mobile email was free. when I went to download the email program it said it would charge $5.00-free with data packages. I wasn't sure if it would charge me so I went to verizon and a sales person said "Yes it would charge you but I wouldn't recommend using email because 25mb would be used up quick, you need the $30.00 package." I said "Then what good is it? I was forced to have $10.00 added to each phone, I can't afford adding $30.00 to each phone because I have 5 phones on my account."
He started stuttering and couldn't find any words to say then finally shook his head and said "Sorry sir" I thanked him for his help and walked out. I realize it's not the fault of the salesmen. I could tell he knew I was right and that it is wrong.
A few days before this happened it was in the news that Verizon lower its higher end package to $30.00 to be competetive but that part of the market is a small percentage.
So it apparent to me that they are making up the difference and then some by adding $10.00 to a larger percentage of their customers on a lower end.
Just another one of their money making schemes.

Responses

  • Ha
    Hakley Feb 12, 2010

    Verizon wireless is uncaring and does not present themselves with pride!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kipster Feb 14, 2010

    i have worked in the wireless phone industires, and i can tell you the whole thing is a sham. It is possible to get a data phone w/o internet. As a former sales rep. i can tell you that i was threaten with "corrective action" if i didn't lie to the customer. I can give you stories, upon stories of things i've seen, and exp.It ultimately comes down to making money for the company. he company doesn't care about the consumer, or the employee.

    1 Votes
  • Em
    emwolb81 Feb 24, 2010

    lets just say, I don't know what to say when people ask why vzw charges it (employees are required to take a training on it, and still can't explain why it is needed), cause honestly if I got a phone like the env3 for my mother so she could text easier, I know she wouldn't go on or need the internet... honestly the internet sucks on those device, email capabilities aren't that bad, but you NEED the 30 package

    2 Votes
  • Al
    Alteran Feb 28, 2010

    All you have to do to remove those data packages of 9.99 is call customer service and get a rep willing to try so tell them to add (payu mb evdo) feature its the pay as you go feature and if you throw that on a line the 9.99 will hope right off

    1 Votes
  • I went to the store in Mansfield, OH 3 times trying to get my son an ENV 3 and everytime I went they said they were out. Finally I went the Saturday before this new charge was added and they told me that if I order it online that day I would not get charged the DATA fee since I had ordered it prior to the date the data charges were being added. Needless to say when I got the phone and tried to program it I had to call Verizon to get it set up. They informed me that I had to have the $10 fee and there was nothing I could do about it, it didn't matter when I ordered it but I could return this phone and get a different one. I took the phone back to the store and was told that I would be charged a $35 restocking fee to exchange the phone. I was a little upset and had a few words to say. Another associate overheard and told me that they had received an e-mail explaining what I was told the first time, since I ordered the phone before a certain date I would not be charged the fee. They programmed the phone for me and told me I would be charged the first month but it would be credited. Now I got a new bill and I have been charged for two months. I called verizon and was told the same thing again, if I want this phone, I have to pay the data fee or I could have it blocked and my son couldn't receive picture messages (ok, then why am I paying for it with the text messaging...). This company is a rip-off.

    1 Votes
  • Cs
    CSWv1 Mar 08, 2010

    This is an ongoing problem. I found a blogger who is writing about his expereience with this issue - to the point of contacting the BBB. Visit the following link:

    http://gaffi-rantomness.blogspot.com/search/label/Verizon

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    clubsudz Mar 09, 2010

    Verizon offers free blocks for data services yet they are forcing everyone to pay $9.99/month for 5 MB of data services as a "service" which their customers "requested." The real problem here is the lack of choice so that the 50% of their customers who don't want to pay $1.99/MB can elect this $9.99/5 MB/Month service and the other 50% of their customers who don't want or need data / Internet services on their cell phones can "opt out". In my case I have the Verizon WiFi device and a Droid phone with the $29.99/25MB/Month so I don't need to pay $9.99/5MB/Month for my other 3 phones on my Family Share Plan.

    -2 Votes
  • Al
    AllenM Mar 10, 2010

    Yes it is a complete rip off, I used almost 30 MB of Data in 20 days checking my email, it's only $0.05/MB over 25, which isn't bad, but still. I took the phone back for a refund and went right back to my old Alltel plan. Verizon offered a 69.99/month connect plan which featured unlimited text messaging, unlimited data, and 450 minutes, but when I went to get a new phone they had yanked that plan out of their system. Wonder why, but just think this is also the "Genius" company that was offered first dibs on the iPhone and thought it would be a flop. I have noticed now though that I have no unlimited text messaging, that I get duplicate messages quite often, when I had unlimited I didn't get that.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Wompa Mar 11, 2010

    Love all the misinformed people here.

    1.Reps are not told to lie to people to sell any features on a phone
    2.The 9.99 was brought in due to the fact the majority of people were using data and ended up paying more than 9.99 for using data so Verizon figured well hey we will make a plan put it on phones so everyone can enjoy it, don't want it that's fine you have other phones that don't need it.
    3.25 mb will not go fast you DON'T need 30 dollar package you don't need to pay 5 dollars extra for Mobile email if you have the 9.99 data package

    Perhaps you may not like what Verizon is doing, but look at it from their point of view they're trying to help people save money for a feature majority of people use and even those who claim they never use it for the most part do (i for example had no intention, but hey im on a BB Curve now and love using internet)

    -2 Votes
  • Ka
    kaylie'smommy Mar 11, 2010

    The nature of my complaint is based on the fact that Verizon Wireless is now making people pay for a data package on a majority of their phones. I don’t feel that it is right for a cell phone company to dictate how a person uses a phone, or dictate what phone a person can get based on them being able to afford to pay for a data package.
    My problems began in December when I was looking to upgrade my phone. I went into a Verizon store and was looking at the Blackberry Curve. I really wanted a Blackberry based on the fact that I needed an extensive calendar on my cell phone for scheduling numerous events (surgeries- husband has some health concerns, appointments- I have a young baby, school stuff, etc.) However, after finding out that Verizon Wireless required a $29.99 data package on their Blackberries, I found a different phone. The phone I chose was the LG enV3. It is a nice phone, but I still settled. It definitely does not have the nice calendar that I would have had if I had a Blackberry. Now after having my phone since December 27th 2009, I have found out that my phone now requires a data package. I currently am not forced to pay for the data package because I am “grandfather in.” However, if I make any changes to my account, that will change and I will be forced to pay for a data plan. In addition, if my phone breaks and I replace it with the same phone, I will be forced to pay for the data plan. I think that this is a very unfair practice. I now use my phone in fear. I do not want to have to pay for a service that I don’t want or won’t use. A consumer should be able to make their own choices about what phone they choose, what plan they choose, and what extras they choose. A cell phone company should not have the right to force a person to pay for a data plan by pairing a data plan with any decent phone. All the phones that don’t require data plans are base model phones. On these base model phones, a person doesn’t get a descent camera or the ability to have the QWERTY keyboard for texting (they have only one phone with a full keyboard for texting). And when I asked the Verizon employees why we have to have a data plan when we don’t want it, they answered by saying: if you have a smart phone that is not connected to a data plan, that the phone is not being used to its capabilities and thus there is no sense in having a smart phone (this was what I was told when I wanted a blackberry). So, are you telling me that I can’t own a Porshe because I won’t drive it at 100 MPH????? This practice of forcing people into something they don’t want is unfair. I have read numerous blogs and chats where people have complained about the same thing that I am describing here. Some of the people were even tricked into a phone and now they are being stuck paying the data charges every month. This practice should not be allowed and consumer rights should be protected.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Wompa Mar 11, 2010

    Maybe you should drop the conspiracy theories put down the tin foil hat and realize Verizon isn't out to screw everyone and trick people and force people into data plans.

    0 Votes
  • i think if you dont want to pay it GET A DIFFERENT PHONE. its that easy stop whining about the charge. as an employee we have to pay it to but only if you get a phpne that requires it. as far as getting a nice employee to remove it accidently. we could be fired for that. i personaly in not so many words would have told you to suck it up.

    -2 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Apr 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with the complainant. A customer shouldn't have to pay for a data plan just to get the other nice features of a phone. I also agree with the complainant about being told there's no sense having a smart phone if you don't use it to its full capabilities. I also have a CD burner on my laptop. Should I not be allowed to buy a laptop with the other features I like, if I'm not going to use the CD burner?

    I had the exact same thing happen to me. I cannot AFFORD to have a data plan, don't have the time to use one even if I could. So I had to settle for the env3 when I really wanted a different phone. I wanted the other features. I don't like the calendar on the env3 either.

    As far as Verizon "not being out to screw everyone and trick people and force people into data plans, " perception is everything and Verizon is perceived to be doing this.

    As to the complainant "whining, " it's not whining! This is a complaint board and the person is complaining.

    As to being told to "suck it up, " so...is that the advice you give people who are being scammed by companies refusing to stop charging their credit cards for product subscriptions they've canceled? Suck it up? Please!

    This Verizon practice is questionable at best.

    -1 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Apr 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a better analogy. I need a laptop, but I don't want to connect to the internet. Should I not be allowed to buy an internet-capable laptop because I don't want to use the internet?

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BadPeopleSuck May 14, 2010

    We actually had an EnV3 purchased just before Verizon's new "forced data policy" that did not have the data fee. Unfortunately we had 2 phones that needed to be replaced and could not replace them with comparable models without incurring the data fees even though we had the data service blocked on all of our phones. We took our 5 lines to Sprint.

    0 Votes
  • On
    onemadmamma Jun 28, 2010

    If i go to buy a television at lets say, BESTMART, and the cool flat screen television I want is $900.00 discounted to $450.00 that's a good deal, right?
    Lets say I buy that television for only watching DVDs at my remote home in the woods and when I get to the check out I am told, "Hey, this television gets cable! You can get cable on this television! Lucky you, your television is cable capable!" Lucky me. But guess what? I don't WANT cable, I don't NEED cable, I can't access cable from my remote cabin in the woods. I am told, "Awe, that's too bad becauses. . .this television is cable capable! You can access the cable television on this discounted television. And, guess what? Because we offer this cool flat screen television to you, we are going to charge you $9.99 a month for the cable you can get through this television! We know you won't use it, or even want it, heck you can even call and have it blocked so NOBODY can get the cable on this t.v. but guess what? Your still going to get charged $9.99 a month. You don't like having to pay $9.99 a month for cable if you're not going to use it or want it? Then here you go, you can buy this big clunky black and white television. You can still play your DVD's on it, it works fine for your needs and you won't have to pay the $9.99 a month cable fee." BestMart is offering you a choice. Get the snazzy, cool, better picture television but pay an extra monthly fee for something you don't want/need. Or, get a crappy, run of the mill lesser quality television and don't pay the monthy fee. People would be outraged at this. Yet, the people seem to be taking it from Verizon Wireless. Complaining, yes. Doing anything, no.

    2 Votes
  • Ek
    ek1962 Jul 07, 2010

    It is just plain frustrating... I use a smart phone for all of the features except wireless data transfer. I use the outlook sync to my desktop pc. I have a desk job and use the phone sparingly. When I do, it is for personal appointments and emergency phone calls / txting.

    Since my phone is work related and on a corporate account, any change to my phone plan now incurs a !#[email protected]!% $45/mo extra charge (the guy at the verizon store told me the new data phones require it to even work I told him baloney). Where do they get off thinking that they are saving me money by charging me for ~ 600/yr for services I do not use now nor do I intend to use in the future.

    My wife's phone is almost at it end and I am anxious to see what that is gong to do to me as well.

    1 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, what I plan to do is switch back to Sprint when my contract is up. That's about all you can do.

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    Verizon Wireless Lies Jul 09, 2010

    Reed more about Verizon scams & rip-offs at http://www.verizonwirelessliestocustomers.info

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 11, 2010

    Don't want to pay 10 don't get a multimedia phone, god some of you are dense

    ITS NOT A HARD DECISION, DON'T WANT IT DON'T GET A PHONE THAT NEEDS IT

    -1 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MartMart: Obviously YOU'RE the dense one!! We want the OTHER features these phones have. The phones that don't require the data plan are CRAP! The whole POINT of this thread is that we shouldn't be forced to buy a data plan in order to get the cool features. Sheesh!

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 13, 2010

    You want "cool" features get a data phone.


    Once again not a hard one to figure out, call me dense all you want but its not me who can't grasp a simple concept.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MartMart: Oh, I grasp the concept quite well. If I want the cool features I must suck it up and pay additional for a data plan I neither want nor need. Obviously you see nothing wrong with this, so why are you here?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 13, 2010

    So if you don't want it or need it stick to a simple phone you can't have your cake and eat it too, guess what i want cool features so what do i do...i get a Blackberry and soon a Droid and pay 30 dollars for and yet you don't see me crying. And as to why im here, well clearly you need help as this seems to be rocket science for you and secondly i find the complaints here amusing.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MartMart: I'm happy for you that you are so easily amused. You are fortunate that you can so blithely throw away $30 every month. My question is why would you let a company gouge you that way? There are many who can not, or more responsibly, will not. Verizon would do well to heed these complaints. Remember the days when people got tired of paying by the minute and switched to a company that offered unlimited calling plans? Then switched again when another company offered the same unlimited plan for less. Same thing with text messages...a company offered unlimited text and people switched. Now you have Sprint offering unlimited data along with texts at a reasonable price. Forcing people to pay for something they don't want or need is bad business practice in the long run. When people start leaving because of what they perceive as unfair pricing (gouging), Verizon will pay attention. They do ask why a customer is leaving. So...Verizon...if you monitor this board, know that this rocket scientist will most certainly be leaving you as soon as my contract is up. And that's what really matters. Amusing you, MartMart, is a bonus.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 14, 2010

    Verizon isn't gouging me in anyway i chose the Blackberry knowing full well i would be paying 30 if i didn't think it was justified i wouldn't be getting it so clearly because im paying 30 a month for it im content. And you need to stop thinking just because YOU and a few others think its unfair you will have just as many if not more who have no problem with it, so what makes your opinion better than those who have no problem, if we see no problem with the 10 or dollar fee why can't our opinion be the greater one???

    And trust me you can leave Verizon and they won't care, because just as quickly as you leave they will gain another customer. And im sure they rather haver a customer who sees no problem paying the 10 or 30 over one who for some reason feels they're above paying anything and that just because they don't want to they shouldn't have to...yeah great logic, hell i don't want to pay taxes perhaps i should write a letter and state i don't to because well...i shouldn't have to im sure that would do wonders...

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    MartMart: If people want to be blindly led down that path like lemmings, then so be it. Doesn't mean I have to. It sounds to me like you're paying for something you WANT and USE. So this complaint thread really doesn't apply to you. And you are making comparisons between the government and the free-market system...two different things.

    What I don't understand is this: you come on this board and attack me for registering a complaint, call me dense for not grasping the concept, when maybe, just maybe, my efforts (and others) may benefit you. Wouldn't you like to have your precious data plan WITHOUT having to pay that additional $30 a month?

    Why is it you think that because some people don't mind paying for a data plan that they actually use, I need to stop complaining about HAVING to pay for a data plan I DON'T want or use. That makes absolutely no sense. You say that I think my opinion is better than anybody else's? This complaint thread is for just that purpose and I didn't start it. YOU are the one that came on this complaint board to tell me to STOP complaining because YOU don't mind paying the $30. Sounds like you don't need to even be here and I still don't understand why you are. You are basically saying that because YOU have the extra money, those of us who don't shouldn't complain.

    In any event, my gripe is not with having to pay for a data plan if I want it. I just don't want to pay for it if I don't want it, just so I can get a phone with a better calendar or whatever...and I'm not talking about a Blackberry. The phones available without a data plan are low-end phones and have gotten lower over the last few years. And they're doing it on purpose. I shouldn't HAVE to pay for a data plan in order to get a phone with decent features that do not involve internet usage. Period. I repeat...if I wanted to use internet on my phone, I would be content to pay the extra fee.

    As to Verizon not caring...I doubt that. Another example of gouging comes to mind: Blockbuster video and their outrageous late fees. When I complained about them to a worker there many years ago, they told me they had lots of complaints but the only way to get their attention was to write to corporate, which I did. Obviously many others did as well. Couple that with the realization that they were no longer the only game in town, and they stopped charging those outrageous late fees.

    Whether Verizon is paying attention to the complaints or not, rest assured OTHER companies are. They want to lure away Verizon customers. And they know that for every complaint actually registered, there are MANY other equally discontented customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 15, 2010

    Firstly those who have no problem paying 30 aren't doing so blindly or are lemmings, like stated before we know full well we have to pay 30 dollars a month, hell today i got the new Droid X total cost 357 dollars and its another 30 dollar a month phone, but hey clearly im blind because i pay that much right??????

    As for my analogy sure two different things, though the end result is the same, just because you want something doesn't mean you're gonna get it, if this were a perfect world everything would be free, but guess what reality is a [censor] sometimes. So though it would be nice without it, i fully realize if i want to use such features i gotta pay...makes sense to me. And funny how you can attack Verizon yet when someone attacks you, you get all defensive don't like that do you oh wait you see no wrong with your logic...guess what neither does Verizon, funny how that works.

    As for your gripe im not sure any other way to explain this, you for some reason feel that because you don't want a data plan you should be able to get a phone that requires a data plan without a data plan, i don't get where you get this logic or why you think that way when its obvious you have choices and if you want a data phone you gotta pay a little more just like anything in life the more features more money take cars, stereo systems, computers etc for example want more pay more, its been like that for years.

    And Verizon isn't gouging that's the thing you for some reason have this grudge against Verizon and think they're gouging you which is laughable and for Blockbuster well maybe if people brought their product back late fees wouldn't have been so high, its not gouging maybe if you took a step back a second and looked at it from a company perspective you could see why the late fees were "outrageous" of course as you pointed out that didn't matter you wanted to get your way and took time out of your life to write a letter to corporate cause yeah of all things in life that hit us hard its blockbuster late fees, which btw im wondering if you returned your movies on time you wouldn't encounter them so let me ask how many times you screwed over BB by keeping movies past the due date, cause im sure you wouldn't be complaining about late fees if you weren't one of the many who resulted in late fees.

    Whether they or paying attention or not those other companies can have you and it won't leave a mark at all, you remind me of one of those customers at a Target or Walmart standing at guest service screaming at a manger telling them you will go elsewhere guess what nobody cares if you're gonna be stuck in your stubborn ways you have no one to blame, but yourself and no one will care whatever you do as a result.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You started out making a semi-reasonable argument then digressed. You're not blind if you're using the plan. I refer to those who are willing to shell out the extra $30 (a month) just to get the phone when they don't want or need the plan. That's fine. If that's what they want to do, they should go for it.

    Since you mention it, yes I was late with my Blockbuster videos...racked up a whopping $60 in late fees. It wasn't so much the lateness...they weren't that late...it was the number of videos rented. When I first called corporate they offered to WAIVE the fees. (Why would they do that unless they cared about what EACH customer thought? They could have taken a hard-line approach with me.) I actually DECLINED their offer because I WAS late after all. I paid my late fees because that was the policy at the time. I simply wrote to the company and lobbied to change the policy and declined to patronize Blockbuster they did, as is my prerogative as a consumer. How will companies know what their customers want if they don't let them know? People do not have the right to disobey the rules. They do have the right to lobby to change them. As I said, they ultimately stopped charging them. I already mentioned how billing has changed for cell phone use over the years based on customer feedback.

    Why in the world would I step back and look at it from the business perspective?? I am a CUSTOMER. The business must step back and look at it from MY perspective, because without its customers, a business would be nowhere. Making their customers happy IS their business.

    And I have never screamed at a manager or worker in my life. It's tacky and low class. And it's pointless. I did not scream or yell at the Blockbuster employee either. I told her I wasn't happy with the fees. She gave me a suggestion on how to go about making my concerns known. I did so.

    You criticize me because I attack Verizon, a consumer-based ENTITY while you attack me, a PERSON, with impunity. There's something seriously wrong with your logic.

    I don't know of any other way to explain this to you. I am willing to pay more for the PHONE. It's a better phone. I am not willing to pay for the data plan if I don't want it. Duh! So I got a crappier phone and am now lobbying for change. So, I came on a consumer complaint board and did just that.

    You have the gall to attack me because I'm not willing to shell out this extra money without knowing my circumstances. They do not allow me to pay more for something I do not want or need. I need to help pay for my elderly parents' medical expenses. I have other life situations that govern my spending decisions. But that is irrelevant to the argument. Nobody should have to pay for something they don't want or need.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 17, 2010

    Well obviously if people are willing to shell out 30 for a Smart phone they may not need it, but they clearly do want what the phone offers feature wise otherwise they wouldn't be getting it to begin with now would they.

    As for Blockbuster i don't get why you called corporate or wrote to them you rented the movies and didn't return them on time obviously if you returned them the whole scenario could have been avoided i just don't get why this was an issue at all for you. And as for companies not knowing what consumers want hmmm i wonder could those who work for these companies be consumers as well?????? of course they are we all know what we want thing is when you run a company you gotta draw a fine line and balance it out you want the customer to be happy, but you have to make money and run a business as well, but you're above that because you feel you have no reason to look at things from a business perspective cause you're *gasp*...A CUSTOMER!!!
    Please that's no excuse to play the ignorant card hell the business, the customer and the employee all play a big roll in keeping a business going sure you may be the customer, but without a business for one to go than how does one obtain what they want sure you could go to others, but what if those weren't options at all. Im sure you will see no reason to agree with me on this issue seeing as how you have a might high horse you seem to be on and think as yourself as top priority, but you should try it sometime maybe you will have a better understanding of business ethics and will spend less time complaining to companies that don't keep a smile on your precious face.

    As for my logic, why must the customer be always the one that has to be right, why should you always get your way, the business isn't always the bad guy its just the screwed up logic that people like you have that feel anytime you don't like something you should complain about it till it gets changed. Life isn't all about sunshine and lollipops it sucks at times and not everything will work the way you want it to apparently you haven't realized or learned that yet. And if your circumstances prevent you from spending extra money on a phone you have options...go buy a simple phone...see now no one is forcing you to get something you don't want now are they???

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Since most of your post is just a rant with run-on sentences and no new arguments, the only thing I'll answer is your question: "Why must the customer be always the one that has to be right?" Because maybe you've heard of the successful-business motto: "The customer is always right."

    Yes...(gasp!)...I'm a customer.

    The way you sound, the customer should just suck it up and take it up the ***. I don't happen to agree.

    I stand by my post.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 18, 2010

    No im not saying the customer should just stick it up the ***, but i am saying the customer ISN'T always right and yes...(gasp!) im a customer too i just don't believe in such stupid crap like that business motto, i know how things in the world work which helps me better understand things and its easier for me to accept things for how they're and doesn't result in me complaining when i don't get my way, you want to continued standing behind your stubborn ways go ahead, but realize this...you're not always right no matter how much you say it.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irishlady Jul 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well it's a very good thing that not everyone feels the way you do, otherwise there would still be slaves and and be part of the United Kingdom.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Jul 19, 2010

    lol yes cause that's EXACTLY what would happen if everyone was as relaxed and chill as i am we would all be slaves...except for the whole fact the scenarios are 100% different, but sure whatever you say.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Ready to Leave Verizon Aug 06, 2010

    I regret the day that my familiy and I switched to Verizon. It has been one year now and we have had nothing but frustration with this company.We have yet to have a billing cycle that was not incorrect. Every month either myself or my wife spends at least one hour on the phone with a csr and get a big run around before being transfered to the "deescalation representative". Every one gives you different information and then tells you that the other person you spoke was incorrect or that they don't believe that someone would tell you that. It would seem as though no one there knows what they are talking about. The phone service and equipment are horrible and their customer service is even worse. As far as I am concerned Verizon is a predatory company. My family, my wife's family, and everyone we know have left Verizon for the exact same reasons that are being discussed on this board and others just like it. So go ahead Verizon keep playing your games and making your millions. Eventually, even your most loyal customers will will leave your company. After this last overcharging issue that I had to deal with you can bet that I will be contacting my State's Attorney General's Office and will continue to tell anyone who will listen not to sign up with Verizon.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marcelous Oct 01, 2010

    I think al the smart phones should have the pay as u use, because most of us dont use phone for internet access. an most of us have a lap tops or desk tops.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Oct 06, 2010

    Who the hell buys a smart phone, but doesn't use internet...THAT'S THE POINT OF A SMART PHONE

    0 Votes
  • I0
    I've had all I can take! Oct 14, 2010

    I have been a loyal customer for 10 years and I too am being told I have to purchase the data package when I don't want it. Shame on Verizon wireless for forcing people to purchase something they don't want. I'm waiting for my contracts to expire and moving my 5 phones to another provider.
    AT&T has the same plan I have for $30.00 a month cheaper!
    Verizon doesn't care about its customers or their satisfaction. Too bad...I'm moving!

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MartMart Oct 14, 2010

    Have fun with AT&Ts service

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    ken90004 Nov 10, 2010

    It is wrong, pure and simple, to piggyback any add-on services for ANYTHING. So Verizon is know deciding what is best for their consumers by forcing additional services on them whether they will used the service or not? So all phones have text messaging, maybe they should also force you to get a text plan.

    I'm going to dig out my ethic text books because I remember something on a test, many years back, that says this is illegal, on a federal level. That means, if we don't like it, call the FCC and your state's attonery generals office and file a formal complaint.

    0 Votes

Post your comment