Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Telecommunications Verizon never order fios service!

Verizon  -  never order fios service!

C
Author of the complaint
12:12 pm
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My saga with Verizon FIOS started on August 10, 2006. I went to a Verizon store in Plano (on Central Expwy) with the intention of learning more about FIOS service. I had been anxiously awaiting the arrival of FIOS TV since FIOS Internet had been out for a while. I wanted to get the whole package at once to make the conversion easier. Well, I liked what I heard so I went ahead and placed my order at the store. The store gave me a 4-digit order number which is an important fact. The rep ordered what they call the "triple play" - voice (phone), data (Internet), and video (TV). They like those orders best - makes it easier for the installer. The rep at the store then told me that Verzion would be contacting me in about 2 business days to schedule the installation.

About 3 business days later, a Verizon rep called me and said she would like to talk to me about ordering Verizon FIOS. I told her that I already had an order and I gave her the 4-digit number. Well, that is not a valid number. Their order numbers start with a character followed by 7 numbers. Okay -we are starting the bad thing now but I say to please place the order. I didn't know to ask for the voice part since I assumed it was part of the deal so I just said Internet and TV (uh-oh... the rep puts me down for only a double-play). She said someone would call me back to schedule the install. Oh, sure - I would believe it when it happened. Well, it did happen - about two days later they called and we set the date for August 28. Great!

On August 28, the technician arrives late - and I believe he only comes because I call to ask where he is. The install time range was for between 1 and 5 pm and I took that afternoon off from work. He arrives after 5 pm. This is bad because they say the install takes 6 hours! The first thing he asks when he gets there is whether I am sure I only want Internet and TV - don't I also want the phone on fiber too? I said I ordered all three (or so I thought) so it took a good hour of calls back and forth for him to confirm a triple-play order rather than a double-order. As the hours went by during the install and my husband got more and more weary, I told them to leave and finish the work the next evening. They (two other techs had shown up at this point) weren't too happy about that but finally agreed. So we did not have any service of any kind with the system partially installed - but we were tired!

On August 29, a different technician arrived at the appointed time and completed the work. He seemed to be a lot more together than the other three and noticed the sloppy job the others had done with installing the outlets in our office. I just wanted the work done and over with so I said I could hide or fix their mess.

Okay - fantastic - FIOS is up and running. We love our TV and Internet service now - it is spectacular!

Then the lightning hit us on September 17. Oh - and I forgot to mention. We kept getting automated calls (and letters) from Verizon saying how sorry they were that the FIOS installation couldn't be completed. I tried calling them back to tell them that we had FIOS service but the calls kept coming so I started ignoring them. Mistake. Okay - back to the lightning. It blew the Verizon box on the back of our house! But this day was great because I called FIOS Support (remember that for later) and Verizon came right out and not only replaced their fiber box but also the Internet router and TV receiver that the lightning strike had blown. Life was once again good. This was a Sunday.

Then Monday came. September 18. The first day of a week of our nightmare. We found that we had no dial tone on our phone - but the TV and Internet were fine. Fortunately, we have cell phone service (with Verizon) and so we called FIOS Support. That was an indication of our trouble because the automated voice told us that we didn't have FIOS and was transferring us to regular support. Uh-oh. We got to our first rep of about two or three dozen that we talked to (I have some of their names) that week. The short version of the story is that they got us back our phone service on Tuesday by sending a tech out who switched our phone back to copper. This then knocked out our Internet and TV. I can live without TV but not the Internet. I am on too many committees to have my main source of communication taken away. So the conversations got even more heated and frequent. My husband and I both lost many hours of sleep and time for other things by remaining on the phone for hours on end trying to find that one person who would help us. It took two more days until I finally reached that one person - an angel named Twan Nguyen based in Dallas, Texas. He saw what the problem was immediately. He basically told me that the store order was canceled. That cancelled status on our account was preventing the system from allowing our FIOS service to function. He removed the bad status and instantly everything worked! He told me that there was a service order scheduled for the following week to put our phone back on fiber - which in fact did occur. (We did have a supervisor in Florida trying to get this resolved for us throughout the week - she was great even though she isn't in the FIOS area. Her name is Toni and she was able to at least obtain credits on our bill for all the hassle we went through.)

Lesson Learned - do not ever go to a Verizon store (or kiosk) and order FIOS service! Only - and I stress ONLY - order it with their toll-free number (can obtain it on the Verizon FIOS website).

Commendation Earned - Twan Nguyen in the Verizon "Fiber Support" department.

Footnote: Verizon was continuing to bill me for my old DSL service even with FIOS on the same bill. That is finally straightened out so hopefully all issues are resolved.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Verizon complaints & reviews

Verizon - failure to waive early termination fee
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Verizon - bundle package: direct tv; internet and phone service for $99.00 a month for a year
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Verizon - wrongful termination and arrogant behavior
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Verizon - fraudulent practices
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Verizon - regarding common customer complaints
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
75 comments
Add a comment
R
Feb 18, 2016 7:19 pm

I have tried to order an upgraded router 3 times and have yet to receive the item. It has been added to my bill which have not paid, and phone calls the business office offer no solution. The Fios service is average at best, customer service and verizon.net email could not be worse.

G
Jul 23, 2009 5:35 pm

I recently signed up for the Verizon Fios internet and TV service. I made the mistake of providing them a credit card number at the time of placing the order. Verizon out of the blue charged me $198 and refuses to provide a paper bill. I have called them multiple times and each time they say the bill is being mailed and I would get it in 3 business days. They say that the orignal bill was emailed to me, which I never received. I have no clue why I was charged $198 bucks, when I signed for a $79.99 a month plan with no installation charges. Verizon definitely needs to stop this rip off or atleast they would have one less customer. I will dispute the charge with the credit card company.

J
Sep 28, 2007 12:00 am

I have had to call Verizon about my TV picture being dropped more than 12 times. Every time they do the same things to try and fix it and it works for about 2 days and then I have ot call them to reset it again. I have had the repair guy out and he left me hanging. The Verizon repair guy was suppose ot call me back with a solution, but never did. Several of the techs were nasty with me on the phone and it appears that they do not care about their customers. My signals are still dropping and yet another Verizon service guy is coming out this weekend. To wast another whole Saturday waiting on him. I may have ot cancel Fios all together. It just does not seem to work well, to many bugs in their system.

S
Sep 06, 2007 12:00 am

I want to may sure that this people are not assaulting me and taking my money without a valid reason. This people are charging me a bill for 450 dollars because they said that i own that amount to bell atlantic. If bell atlantic do not exits no more who come 11 year after they can send me a bill.

This is fraud!

M
Oct 17, 2011 2:33 am

On 1-19-09 I had a fiber optic bundle (TV + Internet + Phone) installed. Since then my bill has gone up by 60%, every time I call about my bill they start a new contract date that has a $300 cancelation fee. Finally at witts end I am cancelling all services but Verizon has removed the copper connection and refuses to reinstall it leaveing me with one of two choices. Either I can have Verizon or no Internet, so a bundle package is no longer an option for me. Is there any place I can go or what can I do to get this resolved, and don't say stay with Verizon !

J
Jul 11, 2012 4:26 pm

Failure to show for appointments

N
Nov 13, 2008 12:31 pm

The worse customer serivce I have ever delt with. I advise to think before ordering Fios

S
Feb 04, 2010 1:10 pm

I would advise anyone thinking about switching from Comcast to Verizon in the Portland area to beware!

This has been by far the worst experience I’ve had switching to a new service provider.

1. First, Nicholas, the door-to-door salesman sold me a package that does not exist. My total monthly bill for Cable, Internet and DVR was quoted at $80.00 a month.
2. Our install date was scheduled for 12-05-08. That install actually took place 12-22-08. (I ended up having to take a week day and miss work or I would have to wait several more weeks)
3. When I received my first bill it was $196.44 for 41 days of service. That is outrageous not matter where you get your service.
4. When I called customer support and spoke with Lisa to fix these charges, she said I needed to bundle my service, I did not know this before. She said that the sales man should have explained that. I was at this time told my monthly bills would be $95.98 a month plus $9.99 for the first 3 months to cover installation.
5. She said she could fix the charges and backdate the bill to make the corrections.
6. Lisa then said that a new bill would be sent out with corrections.
7. I went online and with Tech Supports help bundled my bill.
8. I got the new bill and it is for the same amount of $196.44.
9. I called billing today. They said I have to pay that full amount. The bill was never fixed and they would not offer to help today.
10. The supervisor of the woman I spoke with today got on the phone and said Verizon does not backdate bills or make corrections. I would have to pay in full. Oh, but not to worry, It will be fixed from this day forward and my next bill will be the correct amount of $95.98.

I have a hard time believing that. As soon as my bill is paid I will be canceling my service.

F
Sep 29, 2007 12:00 am

Here you go Verizon! I'm a new customer, just sign in for the three FIOS services. The installator comes to my door...

Verizon: Hello, where can I park.
I: You can use one of the Visitor parking spots... Oh, they are full. Well you can put out your orange cones and park where you wish.
Verizon: I can't work like this.
And he left. I called customer service and after navigating the wonderful world of computer answering loops, got put on hold for about 10 minutes.
Verizon: How can I help you... I explained.
Verizon: Can I put you on hold while I get with dispatch?
I: What is the number just in case we get disconnected.
Verizon: It is internal.
They put me on hold for another 7 minutes.
Verizon: You will need to ask one of your neighbors to move their car for the installer to park.
I Just laughed out loud.
I: Thank God I have 10 days to cancel this contract. Cancel it now.
Verizon: So you want to reschedule?
I: No, sir, I what to cancel the entire contract now. If that is how you treat a new customer that can still cancel the contract, I don't what to deal with Verizon.
Verizon: Is there anything else I can help you with?
I: Yes, please give me a cancellation confirmation number.
Verizon: You will need to call tomorrow for that.

I can't still believe it!

P
Dec 10, 2011 9:15 am

If you are trying to get Verizon FiOS please be advised to ALL aspects of your contract details in Writing before installing anything. After 12 phone calls in attempting this monstrous feat, I could not get my detailed of my contract. I was verbally promised an incredible FiOS triple play offers but, could not get a detailed description of the order in writing. I only got a general letter showing some of the costs agreed and to wait until my first bill arrives. Unfortunately, that would put me beyond the 30 day grace period.
All Government websites including: FCC http://www.fcc.gov/guides/getting-broadband & FTC http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/tech/tec17.shtm advise and request this. I decided to cancel my order and stay with Comcast. I never had any problems concerning my bill with Comcast. I wasn’t even left wondering why. After reading all the complaints – IT’S OBVIOUS!

I just spent 33 MINUTES on HOLD waiting for someone from Verizon cable to even pick up the phone. After he did, he FAILED to fix the problem, and even ERASED ALL MY FAVORITES settings from my cable box! Then he thanked me for my time and hung up. He told me there was an outage in my area and there was nothing he could do! Now I get to spend an hour putting everything back in! The jerk failed to check for an outage BEFORE he SCREWED UP MY BOX! Even I could see there was an outage while I was talking to him, because I brought it up on the computer! Since I was ordering Video on Demand I wasn't sure if the outage was related to this service or something else. As it turns out I knew more than this looser did!

On top of that he was impossible to hear, and even had elevator music playing WHILE HE WAS TALKING TO ME! What a complete JERK! He told me their phone lines were crossed! He refused to tell me his phone center location (even though he had full access to my street address and house number) and was obviously NOT anywhere near the community where the outage was going on! He told me his name was ARI and his work ID number was V883843.

If you are one of the VERIZON hacks who reads complaints and tries to mute them with invented stories about how wonderful the company is, you might want to report this incompotent no-knowthing of an employee when your done. The beauty of all this it that VERIZON will NOT credit the account for the outage unless I call the buisness office on Monday (where I'll probably spend another half hour on hold). When it comes to VERIZON, you pay the bill in full and they GIVE YOU AWFUL SERVICE! Do youself a favor and if ARI picks up, ASK FOR A REPRESENTATIVE WHO KNOWS WHAT HES DOING AND WILL NOT SCREW UP YOUR BOX IN THE PROCESS.

A
Feb 15, 2011 7:00 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Not only did Verizon illegally tap people's phones following 9-11 (mine was tapped), they over-market and over-promise what they provide and operate on the principle of "Let the buyer beware". They added services not agreed upon or wanted to the first bill. Then, when I complained about other issues, they said they would let me sign up for another service that was better, with the same pricing I originally signed up for--wrong! They slammed me to another service that was priced more, and again added things I don't use, and charged for them. Three times they promised to fix the bill. They lied. I've had to call far too many times and waste my time on them. I called Comcast about 3 times to complain, over 10 years. In just 6 months, I have had to call and complain to Verizon at least 10 times. Save money--get a T-Mobile GSM cell phone, get Direct TV satellite and get internet by USB antenna/service or just internet from Comcast. The 3-bundle with Verizon is a rip-off!

Fios bundle was supposed to save our office money. The bill has never beer right since the install and has been almost double in cost . I understand errors can be made, however Verizon has the apsolute worts customer serviced that I have ever had to deal with! I have spent MONTHS trying to sort this mess out and I have been transferred to 9 different people. Verizon is great at PASSING the buck. I am still dealing with this and I am getting a snotty attitiude on top of it all by the person that is supposed to b helping me. I will NEVER use Verizon after this ordeal!

J
Jan 06, 2011 12:56 am

FIOS is a good product to bad the people who work for verizon are so rude and stupid. DO NOT BUY ANY VERIZON PRODUCTES

O
Jan 05, 2011 4:08 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Ordering Verizon FIOS was a disaster. Nope, a catastrophe! Trouble starts from the lawn where I can see bare wires sprayed with orange paint hanging out. The untrained FIOS technician they sent over was a total mess. He installed the battery backup unit in the garage exactly where I didn't want it to -- it hits my car door everyday. The coaxial cable is drilled through the floor hanging out and not wired into an existing outlet on the wall. I have white walls so I asked him to put a white coaxial cable -- he puts a black cable instead. The installed HDMI cable does not support HDMI 1.4 i.e. no 3D. The technician also made a mess of wires going into central unit in the basement where all the coaxial cables go. I told him that I have Comcast high-speed Internet for backup and then he made sure that my Comcast cable modem stopped working. I asked him to fix the mess. He says "Call Comcast." Didn't install the FIOS Internet either saying the ethernet cable is too short and he didn't have a cable long enough that could reach my PC -- I had to do the FIOS Internet install myself. I called into the Verizon FIOS Service Center for a technician to come out for damage control -- they sent another person to come survey the mess and he refused to fix the mess saying he didn't do it. Verizon FIOS Customer Support is extremely rude and calling in won't help resolve any issues. DO NOT GET VERIZON FIOS -- unless you are asking for a nightmare.

P
Oct 20, 2010 10:28 am

I agree with everything. FIOS is awful! We decide to go with Verizon FIOS because we have Verizon as our cell phone provider. Customer service for the cell phone is great. I can't say the same for the FIOS. Every since signing up with FIOS, we have talked to Verizon 2 hours for everyday trying to get our packaged straight. Our package and price changes depending on which representative we talk to. I still can't figure out what packaged I am getting charged for or the amount.

S
Oct 09, 2010 9:55 am

Verizon FIOS customer service sucks [censor]! It took us 20 minuets just to talk to a human being so we could cancel a movie we ordered by mistake. I felt like we were being punished.

A
Oct 01, 2010 12:43 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Overcharged and Misusage of Old Account.
My previous account was never closed. May 2010, I paid a balance on my old acct at 17 Pharo Street in Neptune, NJ. I specifically told the representative that “I needed the account turned off June 1, 2010.” June 3, 2010. AT THE LATEST.”
(Pls forgive grammical errors I am very frustrated right now.)

June first, I moved into the new residence and phone was on. Unfortunately for the last three months I've had to pay at least three hundred dollars per month just to keep cable on. (I was told because I lived in Lincroft, I could take advantage of the bundle package which would cost me a mere $69.00 per month.) I questioned the billing dept, package dept, plus technical support dept, about my over charges and constant telephone problems. (For the last three months I cannot call out of my home from 8:00 am to 11:30 AM it’s ridiculous. And I’ve called numerous times about this complaint.)
On this occasion particular occasion August 26, 2007, is when technical support engineer found an interesting situation.

Upon researching my name he found that my account at 17 Pharo Street in Neptune NJ was never shut off and was still on in my name. And when we called my old # another woman’s voice was on the other line.
I damn near [censored]ted my pants. (This has been going on for three months.) The technical support rep found some other interesting problems with the wiring by FIOS AT NEW RESIDENCE. I'VE SENT NUMEROUS E-MAILS AND I DIDN'T RECIEVE ANY HELP UNTIL THE THIRD WEEK IN SEPTEMBER 2010.
I need these issues cleared up immediately and I need to be reimbursed for the overcharges AND LACK OF FULL USAGE WITH MY PHONE FOR OVER THREE AND A HALF MONTHS. More over I need to be compensated for the negligence of the billing department, lack of care, in turning off my old account in an efficient and professional manner, at my previous account.
I WII BE CONTACTING CORPORATE ABOUT THE POOR AND UNPROFESSIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESEVATIVES I SPOKE TO IN BILLING, TECHNICAL SUPPORT, COOPER WIRING & FIOS WIRING.

C
Jul 30, 2010 6:43 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was subjected to the veery same nonsense and had to go to my bank to get the charges reversed.Verizon is a nickle and dime outfit that specializes in alienating and ripping off their consumer base.

S
May 03, 2010 1:44 pm

Verizon FIOS' customer service is horrible...I was just on the phone with them for the last 40 minutes transferred 5 times to have them hang up on me. Other 800#s "non-working number", live chat "temporarily unavailable" and the online service advises me to contact the 800#. I STRONGLY dislike Verizon Fios, I usually don't care and have patience as long as problems are resolved but nothing. I'd like to go on and on to vent my frustration and sway potential customers away...but I believe the above posts justify the shadiness of Verizon FIOS. NEW CUSTOMERS BEWARE! Stick with whoever you had I strongly believe that they have a much better customer service resolution process.

J
Apr 05, 2010 2:24 pm

I just moved t0 Maryland and like a lot of custsomers may thought that fios would have been a really good idea, turned out not to be at all. I was on the phone all day thurday and friday putting my order in. A rep from credit informed me that the order had been approved and transfered me to the install line to set up a date at that time a rep informed me that someone would be out on Monday April 5th. I waited at home all day around 1pm I began to call I was transfered 4 times to speak to a lady who had informed me that they required a 400.00! deposit before the cable may be turned on! When was someone going to inform me of that! When I tried to speak to a manager there was none available at that time! I sill have not received a call yet in ref to the order ! By all means DO NOT SWITCH YOUR CABLE TO FIOS!

T
Feb 06, 2010 10:54 am

I spoke to a Verizon Fios tech the other day (I can't mention her name - she'd get fired) who told me the Verison security service could not stop viruses from coming through the browser. Guess they just pushed something out without looking under the hood.

R
Feb 02, 2010 10:56 pm

THANKS everybody. These stories are sad but hilarious. I had a good time laughing about the incompetence. I got all the way through the sales pitch and to the third pary verifyer who couldn't give me a confirmation number on the order verification. It was needed to track the order online. For that reason, I told them not to put the order through. Three seconds after hanging up, I had a message on my e-mail saying thank you for your order. It was the existing verizon e mail that I did not give them in the course of the conservation. I had given them an alternate e mail for contact.

I live in Maryland and was told they just started the service in my area. I will definately be on the phone in the am daring anyone to show up at my home. they are not only incompetent but dishonest.

J
Jan 15, 2010 1:39 am

I have problems with both T.V. and Internet. Neither are stable. Plus when they installed the FIOS lines, they nicked the electric company's cable. We had a major power surge and outage at our house and $500 worth of damage.
FIOS e-mail goes out and there is no posting of outages or problems on system status.
T.V. has a lot of interruptions. Frequently we can't get some of the channels.
As for customer service...Good luck!

J
Jan 12, 2010 6:56 am

FIOS is a RIP OFF. Signed up for the triple plan with (3 months of free HBO/Cinemax) to find that on my 3rd month when I called to cancel that I was charged for half the month of HBO/Cinemax on my bill...when I asked why they said because they didn't know if I was going to cancel on time or continue service. So I asked for a credit of that and for it to be canceled, I was told the credit would show up on my next bill. WHAT? I've never heard of charging someone off of an assumption in my life!?

Has about I send you half my payment for this month and if I continue service I'll send the rest of my payment next month? These people are a RIP OFF and their customer service SUCKS! They put me on hold for about 100 minutes, 80 minutes the first time and 20 next...waiting on a supervisor. AND I was conveniently disconnected after the 80 mins on hold when a supervisor FINALLY became available. That pissed me off even more.

DON'T WASTE YOU TIME AND MONEY...FIOS IS A RIP OFF!

B
Dec 19, 2009 8:11 am

Getting rid of Fios on Monday. also planning on filin a cowith the PUC. When we got fios we were told our bill would be $119 a month plus taxes, we added on our cell phones to the bundle to make it easier on us when we pay bills cell phone bill is $120 a month, Our bill every month runs $299 a month, more then I bargained for. My daughter called comcast, they offered a better deal on the bundle (phone, internet, and TV) $99 a month, we were going to go with them, but changed our mind. I went to use my land line phone 2 days ago, it was dead, verizon told us that comcast had bought our phone #, and in order for verizon to get it back, we had to pay this months bill.. ok no problem, and next months bill... a problem, Tha's over $700. They said after over 20 years of phone service, I'm a new customer TO GET MY PHONE # BACK!

Z
Nov 02, 2009 1:53 pm

Do Not get Verizon Fios the people do not want to deal with you and the guy that we called up Verizon Fios number and talked to Was Ruded and his name was Robert. Cause of a billing situation.

C
Oct 28, 2009 1:30 pm

This experience has been a nightmare. Salesman came to our house (actually 3 young kids) and quickly got us to switch our service to their triple package. No complaint with Directv other than their costs, and phone service always seemed shoddy with cable.

Installers came as scheduled and completed installation within an hour or two, didn't need to drill new holes, just used existing wiring.

Here's where the nightmare begins. DO NOT ever have a need to contact them, for any reason. Their customer service is extremely unknowledgable and they transfer you all around the country trying to get a resolution. Service was interrupted due to a late payment, and the only ones who can restore service is their billing department, who is only open Mon-Fri 8 am -6pm! So, if you come home Friday and find no service, no one can help you till Monday! Ridiculous! In addition to that, they said I had to renew my contract and send another $250 deposit. Our payment was 2 weeks late.

Their website is not functional, always running slowly. No way to access voicemail online. Can't even order DVR service online without submitting an online form and waiting for approval. DVR only works half of the time, and the remote is constantly freezing.

Flat out. They suck.

C
Oct 22, 2009 7:55 pm

I am very dismayed by Verizon's deliberate attempt to mislead and exploit its customers! I should have listened when I was warned about Verizon's shady business practices! I am being overcharged, disrespected and overcharged by this company who wooed me with all kinds of promises and then claimed I was the one who misunderstood the information given! So many people could not be lying! Let's spread the word out there: "Beware of Verizon. And note the name of any representative with whom you speak!"

A
Oct 20, 2009 11:38 am

Switched to Verizon to "save money"... Salesman said I could cancel in 30 days, no early termination fee. Wasn't happy with the picture quality ( we have a home theater projector) and the technician couldnt get it hooked up with HD. When I called in to cancel, the CS kept telling me I couldn't cancel for another 4 days because I had an order with Cablevision. When I called back 4 days later to cancel, they told me there would be an early termination fee of $200.00. and that the policy was in fact 15 days. Buyer Beware, it's all in fine print. Would never touch anything Verizon ever again... Verizon is the MCI of the 21st century.

J
Sep 29, 2009 9:44 am

I agree w/ all of these complaints on Verizon. It has been a complete nightmare since my installation in June. Most of the employees (some are very good) give wrong information when you call. I am transferred at least three times each time I try to get help and am on the phone for at least 30 minutes. And, there is no process for escalating to management - they don't care at all. I am considering just paying the early termination fee and gong back to comcast. At least I didn't have as many issues and the employees seemed to give correct information.

I which that a news channel or 20/20 could do a story on them so that maybe they would listen and try to fix some of the issues.

They are the worst company that I have ever dealt with in my life!

J
Sep 29, 2009 9:40 am

I agree with all of these complaints. I would really like to see Verizon take some public heat for their horrible service. It has been nothing but a night mare for me since installation in June. The equipment is not reliable, the employees (most of them) give completely wrong information. I spend HOURS on the phone just trying to get things fixed. The worse part is if you want to elevate to management or make sure your voice is heard in an effort for them to be able to improve their service, there is absolutely not process for that. When I speak to a supervisor, they don't have correct information either. I feel like all of the feedback falls on deaf ears!

I think a news channel or 20/20 should do a story on them so that they get the message! They are the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life! And, they don't care!

F
Jul 30, 2009 7:30 pm

I had FiOS installed Wednesday 7/15/09. The technicians left at approx. 12:30 PM - service was out by 5:00 PM. It went out 6 times over the next 7 days - no phone, no TV and no Internet. I spent hours (on my cell phone using my personal minutes) trying to get the problem resolved.

It has been a nightmare. I will have it taken out ASAP.

T
Jul 27, 2009 9:22 am

All I can say is thanks for the warning! I am due for a Verizon bundle connection on July 31, 2009 but after the numerous complaints that I just read, I'm cancelling that appointment. Why? Too many similar complaints about unprofessional representatives and incompetent technicians. I will take heed and suggest others do the same to avoid the headaches. Maryland resident.

T
May 25, 2009 3:18 am

Cable did fiber first -

Technically, the cable company is correct - they do run fiber optics on their network. However, that doesn't reach the subscriber - it only runs to the nodes. The subscriber lines off of the nodes are all coax.

FIOS runs fiber throughout the network, including to the subscriber's house.

Hi.

I see that Rwise44 indicated that if there was another fiber option available that the Rwise44 household would discontinue FiOS and switch to that other provider. I am not sure what are you all are in, but my husband and I were considering FiOS and after hearing nightmare stories from a few neighbors, we called our locan cable company and discovered that cable has run on Fiber Optics since around 1996. What Verizon is offering isn't a new technology only beholden to them... they just want you to think it is. So... for all those looking for another fiber option, call your local cable operator.

R
May 09, 2009 1:12 pm

I've had similar nightmer'e with Verizon service for Fios. The list is too long to include in this one post. Everything from them screwing up my order, not sending a tech that was qualified, but the most frustrating is the maze of automated hell you go through, just to reach a real person. Once you do, he barely speaks english and usually transfers you to the wrong department. This once happened to me over a 60 minute phone call, being transferred to 5 wrong departments. Last night I called up for service and luckily, I got through after 35 minutes, only to find out that their service input system was down and I was told to call back. Verizon Fios service support truly sucks. THis is the worst service organization I have ever seen in my life. When there is another fiber optic option, we are leaving for sure.

R
May 09, 2009 1:03 pm

Verizon has the absolute worst customer service in the world. Not even close. This has been the case for years but worse now. On several occasions, I've spent about an hour on hold, only to be transferred to 4 to 5 wrong departments. Last night it happened again, waiting 45 minutes drilling through a maze of automated hell, only to find out that verizon could not send a service rep to my house without charging me, because they have to trouble shoot over the phone first, but they couldn't even do that because their system was down. This is not the first time this has happend. My suggestion to verizon is to add staff, which they will never do. So My suggestion to anyone considering them, be ready for a nightmere when it comes to customer service. When an alternative comes along, I am history with Verizon. They suck!

G
Apr 21, 2009 5:33 pm

Verizon totally [email protected]@@@. Their customer service suck. They created so many bundle and never invest money in train customer people. I spent my whole day today to restore the services with Verizon and they transfer me more than 10 department and each time. They are asking me same question. They even do not have courtesy to transfer the information to the next customer support person.

They created One bill nuisance where they combine the bill, but do not have one department to handle it. If you do not have landline with Verizon along with fois, you will be treated as second class citizen and atleast got the transfer 5 times before you get to the right department.

I will be disconnecting the service the first chance I will get.

T
Apr 06, 2009 12:28 pm

FIOS SUCKS! My remote control is ridiculous. When I try to fastforward, it gets stuck and I have to turn off my FIOS box in order to get it to work again. I can't rewind, fast forward, or pause. When I click OK when attempting to watch On Demand, it also doesn't work and I click it several times trying to get it to work - when all at once all of the OK clicks I did work and I end up somewhere I don't want to be or ordered a show I didn't want to order. I tried to call their 24 hour tech support and that was also ridiculous. I used the web chat forum and was told to call an 800 number and if this solved my problem!? When I called the 800 number that they gave me after I went through the ridiculous phone tree, I got a message that the office was now closed! Can't wait till my one year contract is over so I can get this crap out of my house!

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1088 complaints
476 resolved 612 unresolved

Verizon contacts

(added by reviewer)
1300 I Street, NW, Suite 400 West, District of Columbia United States
ADVERTISIMENT