The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Verizon Fioscustomer service

Ordering Verizon FIOS has been the biggest mistake. I've wasted hours of my life on hold with customer service with them and I've only had the service for two months. The last frustrating incident started yesterday. I upgraded my cable box and after 1 hour on the phone with Verizon ordering the new one, I was told it was available to pick up at the Verizon TV Store about 20 minutes from my house. After getting to the store, I was then told that there was no record of me calling to exchange the box, even though I had a confirmation box. I waited at the store for 1 and 1/2 hours while even the Verizon support at the store was hung up on 3 times and put on hold for about 65 minutes of that time. Finally, they were so frustrated, they wrote me out a manual receipt and sent me home with the box and said call to have it installed upon arrival.

I called immediately and three hours later, and 5 different transfers, my new box was STILL not activated, and to top matters off, when I gave them to serial number for the set top box, they told me that the item was still in the warehouse for Verizon! Obviously that couldn't be the case if I just gave them the serial number and have it plugged in. By this time, I guess it was the end of the shift for the representative I was speaking to because they told me Verizon FIOS customer service was now closed and that I would have to call back in the morning.

Today, I called promptly at 9:00 AM and now, at 1:55 PM, almost 5 hours later, and my cable is still not on and I've spoken with about 10 different people, and feel completely helpless. To make matters worse, about half the people I spoke to told me this problem can't be fixed and that I will have to call back on Monday. I guess Verizon doesn't value anyone elses time, money, or patronage. If their customer support can't even activate the cable box they gave me, the company shouldn't even be in business! I'm am extremely saddened by the fact that companies just do not value their customers anymore.

Responses

  • Ja
    Jane Doe Sep 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    IT SEEMS THAT WHEN I ORDERED FIOS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR ME.
    WHEN THERE WAS A PROBLEM, IT IS AT LEAST A 30 MINUTE WAIT TO CALL FOR SERVICE.
    FOR THREE DAYS CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSONS TOLD ME I WOULD RECEIVE A CALL FROM THE SERVICE REPS IN THE FIELD.
    AWFUL!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FiOSHell Oct 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm now in my eighth day of no phone service - no 911 service, with two young children in my home. I had FiOS installed 8 days ago - I have broadband and TV, but no phone. I've called three times. The first two times, I was promised service within 24 hours. On my third call I was told it was my responsibility to call back tomorrow morning and initiate a "new service order."

    Absolutely unacceptable to tell a customer it's their responsibility to fix a problem, that's now 8 days old. If a home invasion happens (which has happened a lot lately in our area) or the house catches on fire, I guess I'll tell them to please hold off until I call Verizon for the third time to fix a service that I've been told twice already should will be working.

    The most frustrating thing is that no one at Verizon seems to really care. They just blame it on the "system." How can the management of this company live with itself. Hey mister customer that pays me $100+ month, you fix the problem - we're totally inept - blame it on the system.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Where does a dissatisfied Verizon Customer go to complain? I too have been given the royal run around and promised by 14 different Agents in the last 4 days that I would have The Secuirty Suite 3 added to my account and instead they removed caller ID and it has been absolute @#$%^ since Nov 11 and now I understand if they are routing our calls to where they use convicts it all makes since and I am willing to do what ever it takes to have Verizon be held responsible for their inability to take care of their customers, as one emailer stated it is a wonder why we are going down the toilet!!! Greed, Greed, Greed!!! that is all these companies care about get your money and run and who cares if we have complaints they just are not interested anymore, I pitty my grandchildrens generations. Add me to any class action law suit, I am tired of paying my hard earned money to a company that just dosen't give a "@#$%!*

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dissatisfied Jan 06, 2009

    I totally agree. Next time I see someone from Verizon managment I will throw dog feces at them for being so damn in competent and careless. They have the worst customer service hotline EVER. I am going back to comcast. Verizon is not worth the poor customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs BB Feb 16, 2009

    I received mailers regarding verizon fios "bundling" of home phone, internet and television. In mid January 2009 I responded to a flier by calling [protected] and spoke with a woman in a recorded conversation. I asked for phone/internet and no tv. I specifically asked this woman what installation was required and was told none. She then proceeded to tell me that my installation date was Feb 12, 2009. I again asked what installation was required and was told none. The "installation" date was just the date of my new billing. A few days later I came home to find a fiber optic line attached to my home without my knowledge or consent. I contacted verizon at the same number and was advised the information I had been given originally was incorrect. The installation is a new fiber optic cable, a new phone box which has to be plugged into a specific type of outlet, new wireless router installation in my home, wires run to the phone line in my home and installation of software on my computer. This was NOT what I had been told and not what I was interested in doing. I asked to cancel my order and was trasferred to another dept. The woman there would not cancel my order. I asked her to cancel it at least 5 times. Then she said "okay I have cancelled it". A few days later I go outside to find yellow paint on my driveway and red paint in my yard where someone from verizon has come and marked out where the lines/cables are. This was also done without my permission or consent. I have now had items attached to my home and had my property vandalized by verizon. I called again and this time spoke with Jody (male) in the Verizon Fios Elite Team in Tampa Fl call center, after waiting on hold for more than 45 minutes. Jody also would not cancel my order. He instead wanted to have a field supervisor come to my home and speak with me directly. Jody told me that Field Supervisor James Clinestuper was going to come to my home Friday Feb 13th after 2pm to discuss the situation. Jody also told me that our installation for Feb 12, 2009 had been cancelled and we would receive no more phone calls from Verizon. On Wednesday Feb 11, 2009 Verizon called to verify our installation appointment for Feb 12th. We read them the riot act and they understood that we were NOT having an installation on the 12th and that if anyone from Verizon came onto our property again without us being physically present and without our specific consent there were going to be real problems. Friday Feb 13th we get a call from someone with Verizon wanting to re-schedule our installation. Friday Feb 13 we are supposed to have the Field Supervisor at our home. He never shows up, never calls. Jody at the call center had told me that he personally would follow up with me on MOnday the 16th at my cell number which I gave him. He has not contacted me. I am still trying to get my order cancelled and get the fiber optic cable removed from my home.

    Now, I might be an idiot for not realizing the installation, but I did ask. TWICE!!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    burned in NJ Mar 02, 2009

    You're not the only one, they did this to us as well except we subscribed to the triple play offer. We were sent the wrong boxes (they sent boxes for a different state at first). We returned the boxes and were charged for the shipping. We were charged installation, and spent 3 days trying to get service turned on since they have multiple departments and they claim that they don't keep track of what each dept is doing!

    After 3 months and many issues with service being down we decided to cancel our services and had to spend another 3 days just getting to the correct people at Verizon. Terrible service, rude service reps and an awful experience. We are going back to Comcast, at least they don't lie to get your business.

    0 Votes
  • Yg
    YG19 Aug 25, 2009

    We have Verizon FIOS for internet which is related to my work at the Patent Office. I spent three hrs today of trying to get my bill statements sent to me via e-mail since my on-line account was deactivated for some reason. I was going through endless circles of changing numbers and the same routine of answering the same questions to the automate service. The result? The problem is not fixed, I still do not know which phoene to call to resolve it. Automated customer service at Verizon is a total mess. How can they provide a good network, if they cannot establish one for their own customer service?

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    Exit 9 Feb 18, 2010

    I ordered Verizon Fios back in Nov. 09. I live in a house that has an upstairs and downstairs apartment. My downstairs neighbors are allowed to have Fios cable but for some reason upstairs couldn't. So after dealing with their sales rep he said that they have partnered with Direct TV so I can have that with the Verizon internet and phone, discount his, discount that, in the end no discount, only a headache and a taste for blood.

    Well, the very next day the internet went out and was out for a couple weeks until a housemate fixed it. Verizon wanted a few hundred to check out the issue by using a tech. After a few months I still never received my rebates and I was also over charged for the extra box. After three months I ended up running into a housemate issue and thought it would be a good time to move in with my girlfriend. (Let me think, 3 other lazy dirty guy housemates or 1 hot girlfriend)

    So, I call Verizon and say that I would like the final bill to be sent to my new address and the current tenants would like to keep the services and have it turned into their name. Well, low and behold, it took several phone calls, two of which I spent on three ways with Verizon and a ex housemate for over two hours, and they said they would do it. It never happened. After talking to three different supervisors and finally getting an okay, it still never happened! WTF

    My credits never appeared, I wasn't even sent a bill. Direct TV on the other hand said they would the first time I called to check, same thing as Verizon I had to have a three way phone call with the ex housemate, but when I called back on three way the next day they said they would not honor the same and said that I could not transfer anything and would have to pay like a $400 cancellation fee ( because they bill separate and have a different policy). If I wanted to cancel Verizon it would be another $270 on top! Paying almost $700 bucks to cancel ### service after three months? Really, WTF. Do I look like I was born with reject ignorant douche-bag tattooed on my face? NO. I am a educated salesman with HR experience who has worked on campaigns for NJ. You can't ### a ###ter.

    Now we didn't transfer or disconnect the Direct TV so I could save money and the housemates have been paying it. But Verizon did transfer into the other housemate's name but instead of sending me the final bill like we asked and they said they would do. they billed him everything and then the next day shut off all the services. Less then a 24 hour notice.

    I hate Verizon, 0-10 in customer service! They lie and change their sales and stories around. The partnered with Direct TV which also lied in the deal and over charged and lied about the transfer. There is no consideration for the time of the customer spent on the phone waiting to actually talk to a human. All you hear is repeat automated bs. Between Verizon and Direct TV, I want to sue. If there are any lawyers willing to do a class action against them add me! Verizon and Direct TV can suck my Irish potatoes! Oh yeah, BTW, I love Cablevison and I've been a T-Mobile customer for 5 years, they rock and treat their customers like gold.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Road King May 23, 2012

    UNBELIEVABLE!!! I have never had such a miserable experience in my life dealing with any company. Verizon should re-label "Customer Service" to "CUSTOMER DISSERVICE." I have spent actual hours on hold only to be connected to the wrong department and required to spend more hours on hold. When I was finally corrected to the right department, I couldn't get an answer for them only a circular statement that ended where it began. When I was finally connected to a supervisor I was still given the same circular statement which provided absolutely no information to assist me in correcting the problem.

    My final decision...Verizon Fios customer service is so bad a person would have to be a masochist to do business with them. I decided to get my service from the local cable provider and exactly 9 minutes after I called them I was through, my service was courteously scheduled for connection the next day. I was dealt with in a very professional and friendly manner and my call was handled very efficiently.

    Rest assured, if you opt to go with Verizon service you will be made miserable by them because sooner or later you will have to deal with their "CUSTOMER DISSERVICE."

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whereamiat Jun 05, 2012

    You call and go through the blah blah blah menu and finally after 15 minutes of b/s you are told that due to the high volume of calls you have to wait for the next available representative and then the elevator music starts and periodically the friendly voice will come on telling you how much Verizon loves you and that a representative will be with you and all the time you are visioning the representatives sitting by the phone laughing their **bleep** off at you being on hold and all of a sudden out of nowhere there is a human voice giving you the friendly Verizon greeting and letting you know that the conversation is being recorded and then they go through the security check on your account and after that they say how may I screw you..whooops did I say screw sorry I meant how may I help you at that point you are so frustrated from going through the menu and being put on hold that you just want to scream go f...k yourself So you count to 10 and kindly precede with your billing or service concerns the representative listens because he/she has heard the same thing over and over and over from different customers after you spill out your heart the representative says hold on while I pull up your info on my computer screen Oh my I am seeing on my computer that you are paying blah blah for your service and I can sign you up for faster internet and a better fios channel package and I can add your cell phone and you will be saving money every month and you WILL NOT have to sign up for another 2 years of course everyone in their right minds is always looking for better deals and a better life so I agreed and that is the day I went to Verizon fios hell because over the past 3 months I have paid Verizon close to 1000.00 dollars and as of the 1st of June they have already posted my June 22nd whopper (bill) So I e mailed them and asked where my 250.00 dollars is for being a new customer because you are treating me as a new customer with a new account number and a new 2 year contract The representatives work for Verizon and of course they are not going to do but what Verizon trains them to do so you are not going to get any satisfaction so you are beating a dead horse and when you hang the phone up you are so **bleep** frustrated that you could run outside and stick your head in a mailbox and scream your lungs out Verizon is getting away with a crime and they are usually lying and stealing from people because we have limited choices when it comes to their product so they have the upper hand and if we don't like it we can do without or go to the other cable companies who eventually suck you down into their hell hole hopefully the federal government will start interacting somewhere down the road and keep a close monitoring eye on these thefts and start smacking their hands in the cookie jar Now thats my take I would love to hear yours

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Goehrig Sep 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was promised a FREE HD box upon sign up with FiOS triple play. Two months later I still never received the box. I called & after several reps & supers they finally acknowledged I was due a box. The next day I did receive a delivery from FiOS, but it was an adapter not a HD box. On 9/1/12 I again called FiOS & spoke to rep (JoAnn) & a super ( Danial) & explained their error & after some time they confirmed that I was to receive the HD box & as their note indicate, it was to be free, & therefore my account would be rduced $11.99 each month hereafter. They gave me a confirmation number & advised me to return the adapter to their Verizon store @ 100 Pemberton Rd. Browns Mills N.J. ( which is 15-18 miles away) & that I can pick up the HD box there upon the return of the adaptor unit. On 9/6/12 I called the Verizon store to advise them I would be there that morning to pick up the HD box. They acknowledged that they got the confirmation order number but they claim they cannot give me the box until their computer verifies it as a "Pick Up", & they claim that even if a FiOS super calls them on the phone they cannot release the box. To cut this short, I spent the next 4 plus hours on the phone with no less than 10 FiOS reps & supers ( I have names of each), several follow up calls to the Verizon store, with nobody able to remedy this simple situation: one that FiOS created, required me the customer to spend my time & expense to return their adapter to their store, for a mistake that they made. Then afte over 4 hours & a few Company hang ups or cut offs, they claimed that they could do nothing until the adapter unit was activated. I explained that it was still in the delivery box unused & all I wanted is the exchange. Thus they made me disconnect my present TV cable & do a set up of the adaptor on my TV cable to activate it & then disconnect it, & then I was directed to take it to the Verizon store with their new confirmation # & the exchange would be completed. I specifically ask if they were possitive that their store now had the authorization to provide me the HD box, & they claimed that there would be absolutly no further problems. Guess What? I called the store & they claimed no acknowledgement from FiOS. Well, I was so fed up I told my wife that I was going to the Verizon store & just dropping off the adapter unit & if they haven't authorized the HD box when we get there, I would then file a complaint with the BPU, which I should have at the start, rather than calling FiOS for 4 hours & 10 FiOS agents & getting no results at all. And note that not one of those agents would give out their direct # to recontact them.FiOS customer service & their exchange system is the worse I have ever encountered. I beleive that FiOS should be financially responsible for my time & costs in the process & completion of their liabilities, & that the BPU should look into these matters. If FiOS now fails to properly adjust my monthly billing the required $11.99 per month, I will submit a copy of this complaint to them. Thomas Goehrig 65 Charles Bossert Dr. Bordentown, N.J. 08505

    0 Votes
  • De
    dennls Jun 03, 2016

    God what a nightmare! I ordered FIOS 2 weeks ago by calling a telephone number advertised at Verizon. I spoke with "Abel" who then transferred me to "Bernard." Both seemed to have a similar accent. I placed the order and was assured there would be no problems. The following week I determined that the "porting of my present telephone number was not compelte" leaving me no choice but to cancel/reschedule. After 14 calls I was able to reschedule with the assurance Verizon would take the necessary steps to complete the transfer of services. The installation would take place between 8-12. Today I waited, waited, waited, until 5:40 only to find out the installation hadn't been scheduled! WT[censored] I had lost a days work and was no closer to having FIOS than 2 weeks ago. I called and spoke to someone who transfered me to an incompetent who wanted to record me agreeing to incorrect information. When I said no, the line went dead. When I tried to call back the office was closed. Tomorrow I will call Verizon and terminate the order and stay with my present provider at a much higher cost so as not to go through this crap again. I am in the people business and will make sure that I spread the word of how incompetent I have found their whole support system to be. What a nightmare!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions