Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Movement & Delivery UPS refuses to deliver to my house

UPS  -  refuses to deliver to my house

L
Author of the complaint
12:49 pm
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have lived in this house for 7 months now, it's a rental that is situated just outside of city limits. I'm not sure if this it UPS's "issue" of why they won't deliver packages to this address, even though I have a normal address and not a rural one. As soon as I moved in here I had ordered a new modem for my internet service which was sent via UPS. I waited and waited and waited some more before finally contacting the company who was supposed to send my modem. They had told me it shipped right away, 2 day service and I had been waiting for over 2 weeks for it to deliver. They could not tell me why it didn't deliver but after much searching on their part, they discovered my modem was sitting at the UPS "hub" located in Springdale waiting for ME to pick it up. UPS had notes on my shipment stating that I had declared that I would be picking it up. NO, I had stated that to anyone, and WHO would I have said that to? I never told AT&T that I'd rather pick it up, I never told UPS that I would rather pick up my packages at their very inconvieniently located hub in another town. There was never a notice from UPS, a call from UPS, nothing from UPS to let me know that my package had been hanging out at their hub for over 2 weeks just waiting for ME to pick it up.
I asked them to re-deliver the package, they stated they would the next day, next day goes by, still no UPS. Mind you, I am a stay at home Mom, so there is no way that they showed up to my house and they "missed me". I was here, they never showed up. I called the hub again and they said that it did go out for delivery, but it came back to the hub for me to pick it up, per MY INSTRUCTIONS. NO, those were NOT my instructions. All I wanted was my package to be delivered and they, UPS the delivery service, would not deliver to my house, no reason why other than they had "instructions that I would pick it up". No matter how many times I stated the fact that I had never, ever said that and again, to whom would I say that? I had to find the hub and pick up my package, now 3 weeks overdue. And I later discovered that AT&T had charged me $24 for overnight delivery! At least AT&T were understanding enough of this ridiculous delivery situation with UPS that they did remove the fees. UPS offered me no answers while I was picking up my own package and asked why it wouldn't deliver to my address. NO reply from the lady behind the counter. She just kind of shrugged me off, in that "I just work here" attitude.
Now I placed an order with Amazon.com and they use UPS in some cases. I've been waiting for delivery of a few packages and finally tracked the orders. They are once again sitting at the UPS hub, waiting for ME to pick them up after stating they had gone "out for delivery" last week. Here we go again...
I will NEVER use the UPS service if I can avoid it. I wish Amazon would offer a choice of shipping services.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More UPS complaints & reviews

13 comments
Add a comment
L
Jun 20, 2022 8:46 pm

This is NOT enough there should be a place to file complaints that will hold the driver responsible. My husband took off from work to wait for a UPS pick-up this sorry [censored] man got out of his truck went into the back of his truck and wrote a ticket saying we could take the item to a drop-off. Well HELL, that is his job! When I called in to report his behavior he told (UPS office) my neighbor has a dog, well hell so does BoBo, but I don't. Get this, UPS brought this package that I am now trying to return. He is a sorry lazy [censored] lie and UPS should get rid of him they already got enough complaints. No reason for this sorry-[censored] driver to lie.

S
Apr 12, 2022 3:23 pm

So a UPS driver left a $2000 louis vuitton bag on the front porch of my unoccupied house. Apparently, somebody got to it before my daughter (who, sadly, ordered it). Their own policy states that an item of that value requires a signature/handoff. Didn't happen. So my daughter (19) made a claim for the missing bag. UPS responded by blacklisting my address. No more deliveries, ever. So I had to cancel all pending deliveries as well as my Amazon Prime account. The UPS rep essentially accused us of stealing, despite their ownership of the problem, and told me to "have a great day". Clowns.

E
Apr 12, 2022 9:26 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

UPS does lie to cover mistakes and problems. Next time, cancel your credit payment directly with your credit card company citing problems with the transaction.

W
Jun 09, 2021 12:10 pm

We live in a rural area, about 1/2 MI. access road to our home. So many failed, delayed deliveries from Amazon! Many complaints to UPS. Was finally told by UPS mgmt today that driver has choice re: delivery due to ?damage to truck. (This goes on driver's record as an accident.) Trying to decide whether to cancel option of delivery by UPS. Some years back this was not a problem. Seems to depend upon driver.
I do wonder why I pay for Prime!

A
May 13, 2021 7:49 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

they suck! they dont deliver to my business either. first they said there was a lot of cases saying we didnt get items, then on another occasion they said theres too many names at the address. hmmmm i didnt know there was a limit to people at one location. and we never dispute any shipments so i feel they are just lazy because we get a lot of stuff because we are a popular tshirt business. makes me so sick because i need my items when i order and now i have to wait til 4pm to pickup at their location

I am happy to see that I am not the only person who is having issues with UPS and them not delivering my stuff. I work form and I have my desk in front of my huge three panel windows . SO I see the UPS all the time up and down the street. SO this particular day I received an email saying that an attempt was made to deliver my packages but was unsuccessful I was like what ? Needless to say I was beyond dumfounded, I was literality at home at my desk mind you.

Every time when I order things from amazon and they use UPS I have this issue to were I have to travel to town to the UPS store o get my package like I have to do today..

Frustrated is all I can say

A
Mar 01, 2019 8:31 pm

UPS. I had a package delivered to my home day before yesterday, a 90 pound metal queen bed frame that the driver propped up on my kids brand new basketball goal base that I had sitting out because I was putting it together. I was not home for this delivery because I was at walmart buying tools needed to assemble the basketball goal. The 90 pound box bent the base in and cracked it. I called UPS and reported this issue, sent pictures to them and then got the base swapped out so I could assemble it. The next day the UPS driver comes to my house without knocking, knowing my car was right there in the driveway. Without speaking to me he went on about walking around my property and looking at things. When I went outside he yelled at me told me I lied and told me that goal base was not damaged. When I told him he didn't have permission to be on my property when he was not delivering anything that he should have knocked first then I told him I had already replaced the base he said well it looks just like the one you had yesterday. I stated yes cause I got the same goal again then he stormed off. Now today I had another package UPS was suppose to deliver but I received a message saying it was ready for pickup in Abilene. When I called the 800 number told me I had requested pickup which I did not. The receptionist in Abilene called me and stated because I had a dispute with the driver they will no longer be delivering to me. I requested a manger who called and told me it was his boss who made that call not to deliver to me and I can go pick it up. That main boss was not available to talk today so I'm suppose to get a call tomorrow. I was told they don't know when they can get it to me or if they will and that there is nothing he can do to help me. I told him the driver can leave it at the end of my driveway without setting foot on my property and that was perfectly fine with me!
I have a car and no way to haul things at this time which is why I ordered these big things online and paid for shipping to my home!
They have now listed me as do not deliver because I reported the driver. They have 2 packages of mine with products totaling $300 and refuse to deliver them to me.

J
Aug 06, 2019 12:42 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hi Amanda,

Unfortunately, I am in a similar situation. I was wondering if you were able to have UPS deliver to your house again.

Cheers!

Jerry

E
May 10, 2021 2:10 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Yes UPS is the worst!
[protected] UPS Corporate Customer Relations

After a BBB complaint we were contacted by UPS (above). If UPS does not help you dispute your transaction and cancel your payment with your credit company. When ordering from vendors let them know that UPS has become a persistent problem and DO NOT SHIP UPS. If you have to put "DO NOT SHIP UPS" before your name on the address. Ordering from Amazon we have DO NOT SHIP UPS before our names on the mailing address. After dealing with UPS problems for 3 years and 19 packages not delivered, damaged or returned with no delivery attempt I am well aware of the games UPS plays. Telling lies is just the start for UPS. UPS has already paid settlements for falsifying records.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2015/05/19/ups-settlement-false-claims/27575327/

M
Jul 19, 2017 1:55 pm

Read the comments in Facebook under UPS a very lazy company. They do deliver all the big stuff but the small goods they put always to a hub and they do lie about that. But we can prove it. They refuse to bring us the small goods. It happened to me several times. And they do laugh at you when you tell them you would tell your lawyer that they did not fulfil their contracts they have with us. DON'T WORK WITH UPS

R
Jul 17, 2017 2:20 pm

I have a similar situation except that they always claim "exceptional weather conditions" as the reason they did not deliver. You know, there were some clouds on the horizon and it was a little chilly out. I spoke to the manager at our regional distribution center. He told me UPS' policy is that the driver has all discretion which packages they do or do not deliver. So if you live too far down the road and it is inconvenient for them for one reason or another they are under no obligation to deliver your package. So ultimately it depends on your local driver whether they try hard or not. I live almost 1 hr drive (each way) from their distribution center so it is a pain to have to drive down there all the time.
Since a lot of vendors don't give you an option which carrier they use, I asked UPS is they can just make it official and refuse any packages addressed to me, but no they said they will continue to take the money and the package and not deliver.
I'm flabbergasted by their indifference and will avoid using them at all cost .. I also don't do business with online retailers who ship UPS.

C
Apr 21, 2019 3:26 pm

Pray that Amazon gets their delivery service up and running, that will teach UPS and FedEx to appreciate their customers better !, they have already ordered a thousand trucks ! UPS treats customers like dirt, no respect for the public at all ! I won't order anything that comes UPS becasue they use the excuse the location is flagged or the address or bad roads . MANY PEOPLE GET LIFE SAVING MEDICINE SHIPPED TO THEM, UPS IS PUTTING SICK PEOPLE IN DANGER BY ALLOWING THEIR DRIVES TO NOT DELIVER PACKAGES ! IT'S TIME THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT STEP IN AND WATCH THEM !

F
Oct 12, 2010 1:51 pm

I will stop using UPS for sure!

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

1785 complaints
202 resolved 1583 unresolved

UPS contacts

(added by reviewer)
55 Glenlake Pkwy NE, Georgia United States
ADVERTISIMENT