Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges U-Haul International traffic ticket fee

U-Haul International  -  traffic ticket fee

J
Author of the complaint
12:26 pm
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Subject: U-Haul Phantom Traffic Ticket/Fee?

Interested in knowing if anyone else has experienced, after returning a U-haul rented moving truck back to U-haul, and after U-haul re-takes possession, later receiving notice that U-haul claims to have paid on your behalf a $25 traffic/parking ticket/citation (or any amount) with a $30 administrative fee (or any amount) and a $25 penalty (or any amount). Also you were charged an environmental fee. Basically, you know that YOU the customer did not personally receive the citation. The collection company hired by U-haul also tries to get the you to pay this alleged and disputed debt. No proof or validation of the actual citation, time, date, charges/grounds for the citation is ever produced.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

18 comments
Add a comment
D
Dec 10, 2021 1:24 am

Even more disturbing. I posted my experience with Uhaul and their suspicious Toll violation charges on 12/8/21. I still hadn’t paid the most recent charge. On the following day (12/9/21), I got a text thanking me for my payment with a confirmation number.
I never made that payment and don’t see it charged to my card either. Not sure what’s going on but, they need to figure this stuff out!

D
Dec 08, 2021 12:15 pm

I’ve been having a similar issue. We rented a box truck from 3/2/21-3/7/21. We were all done with using it on the highway by the night of 3/4/21 and turned it in early on the afternoon of 3/5/21.

At the end of March, I got a text w/link for a single
“Citation - Toll - 3/3/2021 @ 6:15 PM Violation number: AJ79339-[protected] Equipment No: TM7208M License No: AJ79339 AZ $3.33”. I paid it right away.

At the end of September 2021, I got a text w/link for an additional “Citation - Toll - 3/3/2021 @ 1:15 PM Violation number: B1531114383871-1Equipment No: TM7208M License No: AJ79339 AZ $12.00”. I paid it right away.

On December 1, 2021, I got a text w/link for another “Citation - Toll - 3/3/2021 @ 1:15 PM Violation number: AJ79339-[protected] Equipment No: TM7208M License No: AJ79339 AZ $8.00”.

I have not paid the latest one yet. I’ve been trying to reach a human. I want to know how it is possible to get 2 different Toll violations on the same exact day at the same exact time. If that’s even possible, why did they come more than 2 months apart.
Getting two different violations for the same day and time is definitely fishy in my book. Especially when they come over two months apart.

C
Sep 27, 2021 6:41 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My experience matches one above (Nicholas Anzivino): First they bill for small potatoes, then they COME BACK and want more. It's very suspicious that this same pattern happened with another customer. UHAUL won't disclose to me that the allegations stem from Pennsylvania (same State as Nicholas Anzivino), but I suspect that we were in Philadelphia at the time of the time-stamps. No LOCATION was provided to us, only date/time. And no documentation WHATSOEVER. No name of an Officer issuing a Citation for toll-evasion, no photos from a camera showing our license-plate evading a toll.

N
Sep 11, 2020 11:30 am

Getting multiple fees for tolls allegedly missed on round trip overnight Uhaul trip from N.Y.C. to Philadelphia.

First they wanted me to pay 6 bucks, so I paid it. Then they wanted me to pay an additional 13 dollars so I paid that. Now they want another 22 dollars for missed tolls. All of this on top of the money we paid in tolls there and back...which was around 15 bucks...It just seems really suspicious, even if the rep handling the case is from Uhaul.

M
May 29, 2017 7:52 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i rented a truck from them and was overcharged more over they went in my bank acct and debited another extra fee of @130.00 for a ticket I never got on the rental.
I requested proof when I a got my bank alert they had no answer it took 2 1/2 hr to get some answer. I am 100% sure I never got a citation due my rental was in a parking driveway during the time. I researched the citation and found the address on the ticket did not exisist and its causing me so much grief because I should not have to go thru this. Uhaul stated that I had to dispute the ticket when they are the owner of the title. I am still disputing the matter but I advise anyone take picture and be carefull not to get scam by these people.

N
Mar 14, 2017 12:20 pm

Got email citation fine from Uhaul saying they've charged my cc. Called to ask what citation was. Roy said he doesn't have access. He tried calling another department and said they told him it was an error. The scam is charge a small fee and hope customer doesn't bother disputing. Uhaul has shady business practices. Perhaps even criminal. BEWARE!

B
Apr 08, 2010 5:08 pm

U Haul Carterfield II should be avoided at all costs. The manager is a crook and will likely overcharge, then lie about the reasoning later. I had a bill for $74 for what should have been a $35 rental. Later attributed to 'refilling of gas' despite truck being filled 100 yards from the site.

T
Dec 05, 2008 1:02 pm

I was refunded $86.00 from U-Haul on Nov 28th, but on Dec 3rd I only received $29.04 on my card. Walmart owes me $57.00. My e-mail address is: [email protected] My Visa-Debit Card Number is: [protected] Thomas Siltz 27203.

B
Jul 02, 2007 12:00 am

U-Haul website - buyers beware!

The website does NOT explain that if you want to return any unused boxes or supplies, that you MUST return them ONLY to a U-Haul Service Center. You may NOT return them to any other dealers. A MAJOR discrepancy and pain in the patute!

E
Aug 30, 2014 3:29 pm

$50 citation I never got for what I don't know ( they keep changing story) plus $30 admin fee, planning to sue UHAUL for damaging my credit which until now was perfect curious has anyone else ever fought back this BS

D
Oct 10, 2013 8:52 am

yeah we just got the same problem only they bounced my moms checking account and took it out her account because she paid for the truck even though me and my husband were the ones driving the truck., we asked for a copy of the citation and they said u-haul got charged but that's ok because were calling the police department to find out if they have issued u-haul a ticket if not were getting someone arrested and pressing charges.

K

Three month ago I rented two trucks. I got a text telling me that $279.00 was paid out of my account for Tickets. I stopped and paid the $1.50 tolls as I can to them. I will be contacting the BB and filing a complaint.

I
Jun 20, 2012 3:02 pm

Take your cc # off the internet

I
Jun 20, 2012 3:02 pm

You want to take your cc # off the internet pronto

M
Jun 19, 2011 1:17 am

I rented in 2009 and paid a violation now today 6/18/2011 they are sending me a letter from their law office saying I never paid. Even though NYC shows the violation paid. Now I have to get NYC to mail me a copy of payment or tell me how I paid because my bank statements wont go back to 2009.

C
Jun 07, 2010 7:38 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

If you were charged an environmental fee, it might not have been legal. Attorneys from the law firm of Chavez & Gertler LLP are presently investigating the propriety of certain charges that U-Haul imposes on its customers. If you are a California resident and have rented from U-Haul in the past three years, you can get a free consultation about your rights by contacting us.

L
Nov 22, 2009 10:46 pm

Yes, My dad just received one in the mail. It has the names from what he thinks may be a law firm in Sarasota Florida on it, but does actually not say "law firm". If I am not mistaken, I thought he said it was for $50.00 plus a $30.00 administration fee.

T
Apr 06, 2009 1:38 pm

I got the very same letter. I'm now going through the hoops to find out what is going on.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

177 complaints
40 resolved 137 unresolved

U-Haul International contacts

(added by reviewer)
ADVERTISIMENT