Targetemployee treatment

1
A Review updated:

I can attest, after working there for 4 years, that Target Corporation cares nothing for it's employees. While they play big shot, donating this and that to different charitees, if an employee needs something...like a living wage...or enough hours to live on, you get the shaft. Yet the management higherarchy at store level, which in my opinion, there are far too many of them at this store, loaf and get free meals. Which they stuff their faces infront of everyone else in the break room, that have to eat ramen soup just to survive on what they pay...or worse case senario has nothing to eat PERIOD. That aside...Where is the charitee to the backbone of the corporation? The people who make the store work, that if they weren't there, they wouldn't have a business.

Their ideas of simple thanks have to do with thank you cards for a job well done...Which may I add is just a ruse to curry favor among different castes of workers. Most of the time management compliments no one.

Will the employees of Target have a Happy Thanksgiving? Not very likely. Can you believe that they do not even give out a coupon for a free turkey or anything...to their unvalued empoyees.

Target...'Charitee begins at home'. Until you take care of your own all this FALSE caring that you push on the public won't even count.

Sincerely,
The Watcher

Responses

  • Im
    ImRightYouKnow Nov 24, 2008

    If you knew how to spell the word "charity", you would appear much less stupid.

    -5 Votes
  • St
    Stella V Aug 20, 2009

    No employee has any guarantee of hours or employment at Target. When I left, every employee was only given less than 10 hours a week even as the store sales exceeded plan and we were promised more; most people were forced to apply for partial unemployment. If you ever work for Target, expect to have very very few hours from January until at least May every year. There were also several people who were fired in the most unethical ways I've ever seen. You can be fired at any time for any reason, and now that the economy is bad, they value employees even less.
    The money that the store allotted to provide occasional events with food for us was never once used for the employees. They also would not even provide water for us even after multiple meetings about these issues.
    After being promised certain days off for Thanksgiving and Christmas, we were all scheduled for those days anyway. We all worked on Thanksgiving- we weren't even given any food and were forced to stay hours longer than promised. People were even scheduled on Christmas day. I suppose the bottom line is that managers will say anything to appease the employees- but after years of working there, not a single manager ever followed through on any promise. I really tried to make important issues known to the managers, but even if you're obviously right and clearly intelligent, your voice will never be heard.
    After being hired I was told that the store was being shut down for remodeling and we would all be moved to different stores. I wasn't happy but I was prepared. Unfortunately the other stores in the area refused to take the employees from our store and over the course of almost a year we were all shuffled around, losing an extremely large percentage of our hours. We were promised by the GM that we would be reimbursed for gas because of the different stores that were inconvenient for all of us, but even after many follow ups trying to be paid, no one ever was. Also be careful about "punch corrections;" there was about a weeks worth of work that I will never be paid for because someone in an office somewhere didn't do the paperwork and future HR managers didn't believe that I wasn't paid. If you do a punch correction, there is no evidence that you worked at all and you can easily be taken advantage of.
    If you ever work for them, be prepared for hassles, disappointment, and the lowest quality treatment they can possibly get away with. The charitable veneer of Target is sadly such a sham. It really explains why so many people have customer service complaints.
    They definitely do not value your opinion at all unless you're a manager. Target even cut many people's pay, including mine, in a very shady way. What ever they do- you can't fight it. If you find out that they treat you badly, find a new job right away; it won't get better.

    8 Votes
  • Ih
    ihavenoclue77 Aug 20, 2009

    Ah yes the famous punch corrections..How many i have filled out, yet have not been paid for. I have no proof that i filled them out. Once they are handed in who knows what they do with them.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tito Puente Sep 04, 2009

    Get a Mcjob and tell me they give you a free turkey.

    -3 Votes
  • Sa
    safetyfirstisBSatTARGET Jan 08, 2010

    Target is in for a rude awakening--------

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    safetyfirstisBSatTARGET Jan 08, 2010

    How is it that they-- can have ---- on thier Safety Checklist for equipment----- yet they fail to ---- have regard for--- in emergency situations?

    2 Votes
  • Gl
    Glenda the Good Witch Jan 26, 2010

    I have been working for Target for several years. I have a college degree and extensive management experience. Presently, I am a mid-level manager/ Team Lead. Several of the ETLs in our store are straight out of college and have little to no management experience. Preferably, Target seeks out these recent grads with bull-dog like personalities that they can "groom, " and individuals that are looking to move up quickly - no matter what the cost. The Target Leadership handbook stresses being a sincere, and meaningful leader and that "humble leadership must be earned." Instead, what they promote is bullying, and chiding criticism and general lack of respect for their employees.
    The job market is tough so many people stay at Target out of necessity. Once this changes, you will see a movement out by many employees whom are tired of the crappy treatment that Target overtly promotes.
    If you are seeking a professional career in management, where you will be treated as a professional, do not seek out employment with Target.

    8 Votes
  • Di
    dis_jj Feb 11, 2010

    I agree with you 100%...one of my ETLs at the store I work at for no reason switched me from the store presentation department to the lowest level at the store, Overnight Unload/Push. I was told it was because i had a few mistakes on the store's revisions, and that i had many absences, I had to correct the ETL when i told him that I only had 2 absences and both of those absences had notes from my doctor. Also, my former Team leader had assured me prior to this that i was doing a great job and that i had progressed faster than others...then i suffered a panic attack at work, and they percieved that as me walking out on my job. I was coached for this by the then overnight remodel ETL (who was later fired) and told to start being a team player and to be more effective, and with that i thought i was okay. Yet, one week later i learned that i was demoted, but i did not know about this until almost two months later. I was told that they did not fire me due to the lone fact that i was past my 90 days...Now i am working at a position that i was not 100% trained for, and now i am threatened termination because of some mistakes i did and my slowness rate...Target is not the fast, fun friendly place it claims to be...as soon as i can get another job i am leaving...I don't recommend working there for anyone

    8 Votes
  • Lz
    lzydude Mar 15, 2010

    Hi i have been working with Target for exactly 3 years now. It was a brand new target i got hired at mass hiring and stayed with them. I was loving my job in the back room as a day-side puller, worked Monday-Friday. After about a year or so my hours were getting cut but i didn't really care since it wasn't just me and it was a vast majority of the team members, but then i noticed that none of the team leads hours would get cut. I thought to myself i don't know about other stores but at this store majority of the team leads don't do anything and just stand around and chatter all day. When something goes wrong everything is blamed at team members for that department. Which i think its BS but i needed the job at that moment so i kept my comments to myself. About 2 years into working at target i decided to switch over to the flow team to take advantage of the hours. In which it worked out great for me since i found another job i can go to target early in the morning get off and go to my next job. Everything was great i was tired a lot due to the amount of hours i was working but it was great. about 3months ago our team lead for the flow team put her 2 weeks in because she was getting fed up with the BS they were giving her and at the same time our Logistics ETL also put in his notice. When we got the new team lead and ETL in which they have no experience with target all hell broke loose. We would rarely beat our unload goal. As for me they made me scan the trailers which i didn't want to but just decided to do so since she is my supervisor and what can i do about it. during our monthly chat session with the STL and the ETL-HR we would complain on how things are running and how unhappy we were. its been 3 months with the same complaints and nothing has change. Why is that the only thing I can think of is they simply don't care what the employees think as long as the work is done. About a week ago I got written up for the first time in 3 years. I over slept and came to work late once and now I'm on corrective action, once in 3 years, I asked why am I being written up and not the others. The new ETL told me because now there going to start writing everybody up for there actions. I replied “Ok what ever!” and sign the papers. 3 days later I get called into the office and was told that this is a coaching and not a write up this time. I wasn't late I didn't have a negative attitude I come to work I do my job what am I getting coached for I asked. And I don't know how some of the other target's flow team unload there trailers but if this is wrong or right please let me know. I was told that because I was the scanner for the trucks that it was my duty to tell the unloaders and the team members on the line that they need to stop talking and get to work or that there not working fast enough. …... my mind went blank excuse me I said isn't that a team leads jobs. If it isn't then why do we even have a team lead. At the moment I work at target 3 days a week bout 4 to 7hrs per day as a part-time. And was told if I don't start telling the team members that there not working fast enough I will get written up for it. Now is that how other targets work because I am very confuse. Today I gave my 2 week notice to them I'm just tired of dealing with the stress from here. And to be honest that's not even half the stuff that's going on at our target. Please let me know if you think this is right or wrong


    Michael Moore
    [email protected]

    3 Votes
  • Ca
    cannot sign name Mar 26, 2010

    I work for Target at one of the distribution centers.I have been in my position for almost 4 years. I have been through 4 group leaders(they switch them out after 16 months or so). The first one that I was under really had issues with me.That person went so far as to call me a bully, accuse me of intimidating others and run daily rtps then ask me why I had downtime of 10 minutes here, 8 minutes there etc. I was literally bullied by this person, but nothing I could do.I was afraid of losing my job.The company has NOW put this particular group leader into HR ! We as employees are supposed to be able to go to HR with our concerns etc. I cannot due to the fact that this person is now in that department. How is that not a conflict of interest? When I started at target they had employee handbooks available in the breakroom for us to review( they did not give them to us to keep) they now have those books locked up in a cabinet upstairs in the offices. We get "flexed" to other departments without being trained, I have brought this to group leaders attention and still get sent out. You name it, it is happening . I am so stressed out that I literally get sick in the morning before I go to work but I need the job right now . Now I am being threatened with corrective action as a no call no show for not coming in on an assigned mandatory overtime day and I had vacation prescheduled which is supposed to exclude you from working o.t.What the heck do I do?

    Cannot sign my name big brother watches everything

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    freedomfrom Target Apr 30, 2010

    The Target store in Daphne is run by a woman who smiles like shes the happiest person on earth, when in actuallity she has fired almost everyone in the store because she can and replaced them with whoever her and her other executives feel don't know whats going on in the store. Yet the so called HR young adultress is sleeping with the other male married executive, which is against company policy, but thats ok they are the bosses and can get away with breaking the company rules. Just fire whoever goes above them . Then theres this no retalilation if u turn in to corporate office any wrongdoing. Wrong . You will be harassed until these executives make you quit or fired if that doesnt work. Come on Target whats going on in your Daphne, Ala. store. These team members were the happiest group of team members until Ms. Tammie and Ms. Desiree came into the store and caused all the hardship on everyone they could, while they just smiled and made the big salaries. How many lawsuits are pending because of the decisions these so called Target exectutives have enforced on the team members of this ridiculously run Target store?

    3 Votes
  • Wh
    What's your problem? Jul 17, 2010

    I work for Target for more than three years on flow and I would show up early (usually the first one there). I was assaulted by several employees (LOD, flow, Team Leads) since I got tired of doing their job and they tried to get me arrested claiming I'm stealing, I buy my stuff before I get to Target since I have another job keeping my receipts on me. Malis-- threatened me with a box cutter and everyone that night ran to the other side of the store and let her come at me for the whole night. The LOD blamed me and told me to "GET THE FU-- OUT AND DON'T YOU EVER COME BACK!" He tried to grab my are and I pulled away.I looked at him in amazement trying to find out "s he really that stupid?" I called the Target Hot-Line and still they act up. Everyone should be careful of what they say and do since they don't know who's watching or recording. I use to brush off the comments of certain team members claiming I'm a thief, now they steal from me and play in my food. I know since I caught them and they follow me around all the time and threaten me, "You need to pay for that. Did you hear me, I'm going to have you fired!" Hello nasty you are the one who rang me up so you employee number is on the receipt. The LOD got in my face and cursed me out since several employees said I'm making them look bad by working to hard. I want to get out at a reasonable time or earlier and get the job done. They try to waste time until its time to go leaving me to help the Team Leads and LOD.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nonameplease1 Nov 04, 2010

    I have worked for Target about 4 yrs. Over the last year, things have really hit rock bottom at the store I work at. They hired a STL that has only one year of experience working at Target and it was only as an AP ETL. Also, she is only 25 and has only been out of college for about 2 years. She has no clue of how to run a store. She has had several complaints filed against her to integrity mostly for bullying employees and writing people up for petty things such as not taking their breaks on time, having punch corrections, or talking to employees while working. Most notably, she moved one TL who was the softlines TL that has over 15 yrs of retail experience to Target Cafe, which I see as a demotion, and moved the Target Cafe TL to the sales floor to replace her while he only has 2 yrs of retail experience.
    Also, we had a recent TL transfer to our store, and as soon as she came there, she immediately started insulting other employees and said all the workers were lazy and refused to follow instruction of her superiors such as Sr. TLs and ETLs. She had several complaints filed against her as well, but she still has her job which makes no sense and she is even praised for her work over others.
    Also, people have been quitting at a record pace with 29 people quitting in a 30 month period including one ETL that has worked for Target for 12 years.
    Things have improved somewhat after so many complaints, but still there are too many problems that do not belong in the work place

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    can't say will be fired Dec 03, 2010

    I thought it was the Target here in Idaho that had these problems yet I guess it is system wide...how disappointing. The underhand way they (management) deal with the Team members border on illegel and discrimatory. One example is threatening an employee ( after pulling them outside the range of secruity cameras) for applying for partial unemployment because of cutting hours to over half of previous hours. This employee was threaten to withdraw claim or they would be terminated if they didn't withdraw their claim. Another time the Team leader spread personal information to others about a team members cancer diagnosis which was not to be talked about per employee/family. Their treatment of those with disabilities is a shear disgrace and also downright discrimatory and illegal. They do this on a frequent basis with no recourse from the employees. These few examples are happening to employees that have been there a number of years. Please continue to report these issues to corporate. It really seems they don't care, which seems to be the case, but all the same something has to be done for their illegel practices.

    1 Votes
  • Wo
    wolfmadien Dec 17, 2010

    I agree with you, I thought that Target was a family oriented business. But I had gotten fired because of calling out due to my kids being sick and could not take them to a daycare. That is not being about family. They only want people who have no life or people who have no kids or their kids are grown.

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    What's your problem? Dec 18, 2010

    I was assulted and everyone ran for their lives. Target corporation better get their act together, the so calle STL and ETL are stealing and blamining it on everyone else. Maybe they are doing it for those in Target corp. Hin, hint! They tried to blame someone who was on leave for items they stole. Look stupid, all your names are on the paper work and schedules, and most of all you all BRAGGED ABOUT IT! They let a trail and time is running out to hide, Target Corp will let you burn to save it self in a heart beat witthout a thought. Of course those in charge know that.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Polly Not-Perfect Jan 23, 2011

    Don't dare call in to work with any medical issue as you will be snubbed by the ETL and LOD's and treated like a piece of ----. Anyway, if you are not as [censor] kisser - you will not make it at Target. Everyone that has "succeeded" at Target kisses major [censor]...

    1 Votes
  • Go
    gonnagetalawer Mar 10, 2011

    Been with Target 8 years. They hire young fresh out of college executive who have no responsibilites, bills, or families to take care of. older Executives are being weeded out to make room for the cheaper paid college kids...older employees are harrased into quitting so they can hire at min wage and save money. Team members are made false promises. An excellent Team member just got fired for stupid reasons that no one else is held accountable for. She is a full time college student and single mother who was told that she didnt have to work more than 20 hours a week and they would work around her schedule. When the HR left (as they swap executives in and out constantly) the new Hr did not follow through with the promisies that were made.. They would not approve her school/child care schedule and scheduled her 30+ hours a week. This forced her into exhaustion from work, school, homework, and household duties. Not only did they give her more hours than what was signed off on in her availability, they scheduled her a closing shift (10:30pm) with the next shift at 7am the next morning. They did this twice in one week causing her to oversleep and get fired. Not to mention she has a medical problem which she decided not to share with her boss or HR because she was afraid it would not be confidential, due to the amount of gossip between Executives in the store...Really messed up

    2 Votes
  • Go
    gonnagetalawer Mar 10, 2011

    WOW! lets take this crap to the media!!! Michael Moore perhaps?

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brookes Jun 25, 2011

    Don, t think Target will last much longer in a lot of towns Turn over is much too high at these stores. You would think that corp. would take there employees more seriously when they have complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DisTheRed Jul 19, 2011

    Target has a belief that they CAN and WILL turn over Team Members at will, even those that go above and beyond. I've seen Team Members terminated for not making it to work in ice storms or wrongfully terminated because they didn't 'fit' the Target mold. Countless Senior level ETLs have been replaced by college graduates at much lower salaries and promoted because they are young and attractive. Crazy indescretions! No more shopping at Target.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    The Target at Target Jul 20, 2011

    Columbus Ga Target is NO Better people. We had a meeting with ETL and team members to discuss unappreciative behavior by the New LOD who takes credit for work of team members. The understanding for the meeting was to discuss our feelings about things and make suggestions. Everyone was suppose to walk away with a better understanding. We were told there would not be any consequences, yet all those who attended and spoke their mind are now being treated worse (if thats possible). The pay is as sad as the treament we go through. They just care about the Fast part NOT the FUN or FRIENDLY. P.s It would have been smarter to hire more team members then LOD''s if you wanted to get more work done.

    2 Votes
  • En
    endcard Aug 28, 2011

    My fellow associates are always badmouthing others and not working. One day, I stood up and said "Stop badmouthing! She's not like that and he's not like that blah, " and then I was targeted. I told them to stop. And I went to see a human resource manager. The human resource manager sided them...who were always so sweet to him when HE WAS AROUND. His way of handling a case is to ask those "bullies" directly saying I COMPLAINED about them. You know the result. Now, they are like "I can't believe it! He complained about us! He SAID I WAS MEAN TO HIM. Can you believe it? He's @$^#%$!!" Their age are my grand parents' age! Thanks, new Human Resorce manager who were just graduated from the local collage! Thanks to you, everything went worse. Oh, and thank you for saying it is nothing to lose one's relatives in incidents like 9/11s because it happen long time ago so it was OK for them to make fan of me about it!!! Are you not from the middle east?! I thought you would show some sympathy for this kind of matter! I thought you would dislike ignorant people. I'm so emotional even now. Forget the grammar. I was so upset and could not breath when you said it was nothing. I kept my cool on the surface and left there. But I was so angry and if my friend was not there for me to wait, I was probably crying. Yeah, I'm sorry. But it would make me cry not because I'm sad but because I'm sooo angry!! The previous human resource manager was nice and smart. I still had some faith in Target because my boss is cool. Most managers are great. But, now I don't believe them anymore. This many people complained and Target did nothing?! I was thinking about sending them a formal letter complains. But it's useless.

    0 Votes
  • En
    endcard Aug 28, 2011

    >recent grads
    Yes! Why hire a kid with a little to no retail experience for a human resource manager?? Why they got rid of our human resource manager who had experience and was older? Why switch the store manager? Why you got rid of couple good managers with EXPERIENCE? Why? On the feedback session, the human resource manager's favorite "bullies" were complaining. They got normal hours, but others who complained are no longer in Target! Some said they got no hours! Why? They were good workers. They didn't bully people. When I told the human resource manager those bullies' comments were bullsh...I mean lies, he said "I don't think so. They must know something." Something of what? The fact you are always following the store manager and talking with those bullies because they are "nice" to you when you are with them? Oh, and this recent grad manager DOES NOT SAY "HI" to me. I have to say "Hello, HRM(his name)!" straight to his face in front him TWICE to get a response. WHY YOU IGNORE ME?! Sorry, I "complained" about your bully friend!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Another Day Sep 10, 2011

    Target is a place that takes advantage of your ambition when you first start out and basically tries to use you to do the ungodly tasks that the inexperienced team leads and ETLS dont want to do. The more you push yourself to prove yourself is the more labor these idiots squeeze out of you because we all start out as seasonal help and therefore need to work hard to make a name for ourselves when in truth we are just conforming to the common ### that Target knows they can get from anyone else and if you dont like it they have a pile of names waiting to take you place in the dog cages that Target has so thoughtfully supplied for you. Supposedly Walmart is the so called "mistreatment capital in retail" when in actuality Target is just as bad but, ten times better at covering it up with assinine Target jargon. I worked in that hell hole of a company throughtout my college years, parttime just basically to have some spending money but instead got sucked into the company as a fulltime worker while being a fulltime student as well. Target didnt care I would tell them and tell them time and time again my availabilty but they still would find a way to scedule me during classes and although i did more than I had to on my end, I was ultimately responible for my shift. Ive never experienced micro management on the levels that I experienced at Target anwhere else. I would usually open as a backroom day team member and I was usually shafted with backstocking the cooler freezer for a few hours when the store has overnight guys who were supposed to do it, all with trying to do my actual job. Its a shitshow and I would recommend it to anyone unless your okay with be welcomed to the machine. (Pink Floyd)

    2 Votes
  • Wh
    What's your problem? Oct 03, 2011

    True and thats a good one, "It would have been smarter to hire more team members then LOD''s if you wanted to get more work done." Thanks.
    Comment quoted from The Target at Target

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilkin Oct 06, 2011

    They also do not give you breaks they are required by law to do so. I am an employee and I have been talking to management about it and nothing has been done. I have also had to deal with a certain manager who tells me that I cannot do a certain thing and then another team member or a GSTL or LOD get to do it so I have talked to her about it. I am pretty sure I have challenged a lot there and am trying to currently get the situation for management better. When I challenged the manager the rest of my shift was miserable. No one would talk to me and they all were very rude. I dread going into work every day because they do not care about their workers at all. I have told them when I was interviewed and just now that I will be leaving for 2 weeks in December to go home and visit family since this will be the only leave the Army will let my husband take for a long period of time to do so and I was told well I dont think that will happen because there are black out dates and you are not the only military wife or spouse that works here so dont think you will get special treatment. I have had to hold back a surgery for 5 months before I could get time off. I am nervous on how the next few weeks and months will go with me challenging management like I do.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whatittoyou Oct 12, 2011

    Target has it up and down, im currently employed at target and after 1 month i already feel like quitting. they hire the most unrealistic ETL ever. i work at the Northridge California Target for about a month. and so far there only 2 higher up that are piece of ###. 1 ETL which is Juan Ham. He makes all salesfloor member work at an unrealistic pace. example i was pushing a tub that had chemical on it a full tub i couldnt even see over the boxes. he goes since your heading to chemical and you "PULL" another tub to pets. of course i responded "Pulling Cav/f is against regulation" he response there only 5 items on the cav/f it shouldnt be long. Now the pet food were 35lb each. so im like ok whatever i pull the cav/f i didnt wanna talk back to my superior but as soon as i left the cav/f hallway i got lectured by my TL that im not allow to pull cav/f. i responded hey Juan Ham told me i should grab it, So my TL calls Juan on the walkie, Operator response he clocked out already. So of course he doesn't get the blame and my review for that day was bad. a few weeks ago i request to be certified to use the Bailor, Juan shot me down and says No. So i asked another ETL and they accepted the request. While being train to use the bailor, Juan saw me and ask what i was doing i said being trained to use the bailor, i knew for a fact on his face he was pissed.Now another employee TL Najiba ok she a piece of work she give the most unrealistic time to zone an aisle im talking 5-10mins max on HBA/TOYS/Stationary. even though i zone it completely they notice little things such as "rubber peg hooks need to be move up front". that day i asked another TL to look at my zone and that TL said good work lets move on to next zone. So the feeling is neutral ive met long employed member that help me through my rough days and turn it into a good day. During break id sit there having my lunch with other that experience the same treatment. No one says anything since Target is the easiest job to get hired, so no one want to get fired. i really wish i can write an anonymous review on TL and ETL without printing my name. Just so the store manager is aware of what is going on. but i guess that impossible.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Red Rader Jul 10, 2012

    The position that Target has taken over the three years that I worked at one of their stores, is that they are strong on community involvement. That they care about the environment and education of our youth. They say they offer great jobs at competitive wages with competitive benefits. That being said, why is it that as an employee I have put my best foot forward, received great evaluations with the exception of this year, which was labeled as "average." and STILL make under eight bucks an hour. No write ups, no counseling and let's not forget the new accounts that are set up on a daily basis. Their concern is their public image and not the mental and physical well being of their employees. If the well being of their employees mattered, then you would see benefits (medical, vision and dental) return instead of employees having to settle for HRA or HSA accounts. Our health and well being and financial stability was not, is not and will never be their concern. Trader Joe's out in the western U.S. is praised for their treatment of employees, because they strive for fairness and delivering on what they promise...fair wages and benefits. People in the store are getting sick from worrying about being sick, and that is never a good thing. I'm going to school to earn a degree, and once I get through graduation, it is my intention to get a better paying position to support my family. There is a reason (or so I surmise) that Target frowns on the unions and that is most likely that Target would be forced through arbitration to come up with better wages. I don't feel that Target is the place to stake your future, because in three years of disappointment, stress and financial hardship, they have failed to convince me otherwise. I prefer to remain anonymous so just think of me as

    Seeing Red

    1 Votes
  • Ai
    Aiden_Thorne Aug 26, 2012

    This is completely ridiculous, I've worked at Target for years and this is one of the best jobs I've ever had. We consistently have employee events including our STLs coming in on their days off to cook barbeque for everyone. If you are a GOOD employee and ask for more hours, they will give you as many as you want as long as you change your work center.

    You sound like a fickle, lazy and egotistical employee. I truly hope you don't take this attitude into every aspect of your life or I imagine your food commonly gets spit on at restaurants. They also specifically tell you to not delete your Punch Correction response message (Which is automatically sent by the system) so that you could use that as a reference in case there is a problem like you stated above.

    Any and all issues you had were YOUR fault, not Target's.

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
    MANNY FTL Mar 16, 2013

    I dont know where u all work but my store is nothing like what all u are describing I am a Logistics Team Leader Key Carrier -Flow I got promoted for my hard work from an 80 million dollar store in region 200 high volume we tretall our team members with respect and we always equisition food for themunload 2700 p trucks in an hour with elevatorsand push with only 17 team members and were clean by 6 our ETL LOG buy us outside food once a month and we pick our. Have pride work hard show up to your shifts. Proud Target TL AND ALL THE OVERNIGHT LEADERS WORK HARD IN MY STORE BECAUSE WE LEAD BY EXAMPLE WE UNLOAD WORK THE LINE N BOWL WITH OUR TEAM MOTIVATING THEM THROUGH THE NIGHT. AND PUSHING WITH THEM AND HOLDING EVERYONE ACCOUNTABLE1 MINUTE A BOX N 15 MIN A CART MAX.

    -1 Votes
  • Oc
    Ochi Apr 18, 2013

    Hello, Can anyone describe Target's hiring process ? ( Orientation/Training).

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    manda437 Oct 17, 2013

    I worked at Target for 7 years before I got fired for doing my job. I started as a cashier but soon after I was trained at the service desk. I was the go-to person for any questions about returns by both team members and team leaders (including out STL). If any of you work the service desk you have likely dealt with electronics returns and you know that you have to open the boxes to check the contents before you process the return. A lot of times if you break the seal on the box they tell you you can do a repackage to lower the price because its an open package. I was working one day when someone returned a camera lens, I didn't process the return but I checked the contents and marked the price down. Another team member then used the PDA that my team member number was logged into to change the price again and later purchased the item. I was accused of intentionally lowering the price so my coworker could purchase it. Not the case. Months later I purchased a blu-ray player for my dad for fathers day that had a repackage sticker on it...what I did not know was that it had been returned the night before by the same coworker that had marked down the camera lens for herself under my login number. I was accused of having her mark down the price for me so i could buy it. I wasn't even there the day she did the return. Months after these occurrences I was pulled into the office by our executive team leader of assets protection and a female witness where he essentiallly accused me of running some kind of crime ring; kept asking me who i was working with and who was involved. I was so shocked i could barely get a word out. They gave me my last check amount in cash, took my name badge, my team member discount card, and walked me to the door. They advised me to apply for unemployment benefits AND THEN THEY DENIED ME WHEN I DID IT!! I gave Target 7 years of hard work and they showed me the door and slammed it behind me. I didn't get a chance to even talk to anyone before they made me leave. All of my fellow team members complained about the way I was treated so unfairly but to no avail. You can bend over backwards to accommodate Target but at the first chance they get, they will throw you under the bus.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katerina p Dec 07, 2013

    I agree!!! I have been working at target for 4 months now and I'm about quit! I'm SOS sick and tired of their bs. One of the ELTs keeps giving attitude to a lot of the cashiers but not all. I've asked a number of times about getting crossed trained so that I could get a few more hours than I'm getting and nothing is changing. I'm still stuck at the register and it's killing with my health problems. I have PTSD and they wouldn't even let me step outside!!! They have me a strike on my attendance because I had to leave early from work for being extremely sick at my stomach! My hours went from 20-25 to 15-17 hours. And then all of the sudden I get 30 hours!!! I can't handle that with my health just being on the register standing the whole damn time!!! I'm so fed up with them and I'm about to quit but I can't find another job and I need money, that's the ONLY reason I'm still there

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kevinscott74 Dec 11, 2014

    Target race hating company
    Target white Team leaders make sure there white employee's get 32 hours but Spanish black's get 20 hour's specially in New JERSEY STORE 1823 Howell New jersey

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Target stores Jul 15, 2015

    I work for target now for 10 years. Recognition is a joke! Some of the same team members get target hero of the month over and over when others deserve it. Target is not about families! I have been denied a vacation to visit family I haven't seen in years. I have only taken 2 weeks so far this year. But I have been told I take too much time off. I'm not being fair to letting others take a vacation. What? Anyone can put in for vacation at anytime, I can't stop them. I put in my request 6 months in advance. The store leader demeaned me saying shame on you for not giving us notice. I said what the hell are you talking about I just gave you 6 months notice by requesting it off now. I was told no one in the store gets off from thanksgiving to Christmas, that is bologna, many people have now and in the past. There were only excuses one after another. My supervisor even lies to the customers every day, out right lies and tells me she lied. 10 years working for them means nothing! Not appreciated there.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer33178 Nov 03, 2015

    Three Target Customer tried to Rob me in the Parking Lot and the Beaumont, Texas Police lied on me over the three white thugs being peasants robbers.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drac06 Dec 13, 2015

    I have been with Target a little over 2 years and 2 stores. The first store I worked at I wont lie, I loved it. I Was on the flow team doing unload or break out and always had a blast. I had a great work relationship with all my TLs and ETLs and was actually in management training when i had to move back home and transfer to a different target. At first I told myself that it wouldnt be the same so try my best to adapt to how this store did things. In my opinion, I gave it more than a fair shot but was always treated with such disrespect. My management training went right out the window and they stuck me in the backroom which up until that point I had very little experience from my previous store but it was enough to know that they were not doing things properly and efficiently. I always butted heads with my logistics ETL because at that point I was with the company about a year and a half and she was there for maybe 3 months and just always seemed out to get me. One time we were unloading the truck and all I did was grab a box that was at my eye level. What happened next? She pulled me out of unload, harrassed me and wrote me up for it. Then another time she actually threw the step stool at me, I almost turned around and clocked her in the face because the stool hit me in the back and hurt like hell. Eventually it got around that i didnt care for her and did not respect her so things got worse but I dealt with it. Towards the end of my first run at this store i put in an availability notice to go down just to truck days which was mon wed and fri because i got another job and was helping my father who has just about every health issue you can imagine. My request was accepted but i was still always scheduled 5 days when i had other important things that I had to do. So after 6 months of being a work horse and getting nowhere with my training i put in my notice. About 3 months ago I decided to go back since that ETL was gone but somehow everything got worse. Im back to being a work horse in the back plus im expected to do the jobs of what seems like 3 people and always get those oh you didnt get all of this done looks and comments. They just treat all of the backroom workers like total crap and as of this moment our back room is flooded with product that hasnt even been worked because the truck team is so understaffed they didnt finish any of the trucks this week. I cant make any headway on the mess that is our backroom because once 4 a clock hits sales floor stops working pulls so they by the time everything is pulled i had 10+ pulls on the line plus mountains of backstock that I am expected to get done. Another thing that i noticed someone else said about sexism. Its the same here all female team leads that in my honest opinion, three quarters of them dont do a damn thing. I really used to love working at target and being a part of an effiecent team that ran like a well oiled machine but now everyday it feels like im walking into the 8th level of hell only to get harassed at for work that i just dont have enough time to get done. I used to recommend people to work at target but not anymore, I just tell them to stay away and keep their eyes open for better opportunities. Lastly, I know a lot of people on here have it much worse than I do but I just really needed to vent because it was just eating at me for so long. I hope everyones situations are resolved, will be resolved, or they find better work where they can actually feel like they are accomplishing what they need to be because no one deserves to be treated the way that we all have been treated.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unknown person 2016 Aug 30, 2016

    I work for target. I went in to tell them I have a concussion and was advised by the doctor to rest for a week with no work. The HR at my store just watched as a security ETL intimidated me and treated me with disrespect. The security ETL had little regard for my concussion and asked me to remove my sunglasses, that where helping me from the light sensitivity in my eyes. They ETL countinued to ask questions in an aggressive manner, but whith my slow response repeatedly cut me off. HR and the ETL both made it very clear that I was in the wrong doing and should have informed a fellow ETL or The main HR that I was going to see a doctor. Unfortunately I did not know, I only notified an HR team member. Unfortunately I see now that target does not treat their employees with respect.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Meridy Niederkorn Nov 14, 2018

    Yesterday LOD Eric and GSTL Hannah both yelled at me. I work at Store 0833 in Vernon Hills. I had to initial something that I do not beleive is my fault. I know that I am supposed to have my lunch break before noon when I start at 7am. The problem is, I rarely get the schedule for my breaks. They either forget or there are too many call offs. Frequently Hannah comes and says "Go on break NOW!!!." (It is not what you say, it is how you say it.) Also when Eric comes up to "help" at Guest Services he does not put the stickers on the item or put the item in the sorted area. This is a problem because we do not know if it is defective, an on-line orders or toss.There is a wonderful plan at my store since the renovations this year. We have red bins and three tiers to sort the merchandise. The problem is no one comes up to take the merchandise once it is sorted. You can call out "Hardlines you have 4 carts of reshop", yet no one comes. Softlines is even worse because we are expected to put all the diapers, shoes, folded clothes and accesories in a very small bin. If the Softlines team came up in a timely fashion, this problem could be eliminated. I still think some merchandise does need to be on a three tier. We are repeatedly told to not put any softlines on a three tier.The other problem at Guest Services is that we are expected to do the on-line pick ups, the drive-ups, and all the other wonderful problem solving that goes along with Guest Service. One person cannot do all these things. When drive-up started we had two people scheduled and this was perfect. Now when we hear the horn, everyone panics.
    I really do enjoy my job at Target. I feel like I am helping people every day. I know that Team Work works. When the team is not working together, the plan falls apart.

    0 Votes

Post your comment