Targetcustomer service

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Last June I purchased a 3 pc. Casetta outdoor furniture set that was also marked Target Home on the box, from the Target in Clifton, NJ. I assembled the table & 1 chair without a problem. When I went to assemble the 2nd chair I found that they had packed 2 left sides & no right one. I went back to the store with the 2 lefts, explained my problem and requested a right side. The manager said they wouldn't replace it, that I had to go through the manufacturer. I tried going through the manf. They asked me to send the receipt, etc, which I did and then never heard from them again. Tried contacting them, again no response. Went back to the store who again said they wouldn't do anything, plus now they said it was past the 90 days. Well, yes it is, but it is because I did what they asked, talk about a catch-22. The store manager said I could call the company's guest relations dept. I did so. The rep. there was less then helpful and then she disconnected the call. I called back; they made me go through everything again, even though I had asked for a supervisor. Eventually and only with insistence, she transferred me to a supervisor, Justin, in their Minneapolis office. He promised to investigate further and get back to me by the end of the day. Two days went by, no call back. I called again and this time spoke with Clair who said she is a Senior Supervisor. She also wouldn't do anything, cited that it was past 90 days, should have been handled at the store, etc. I responded (again) that it's past the 90 because Target essentially orchestrated it that way, that I originally did ask the store to handle it, they refused, that the product was wrong from the start and that I all I've ever asked for is the correct arm so I can assemble the furniture I purchased from them, a very reasonable request. Except she says they have to do continued research on it. AKA, we are not interested in fixing the problem we caused and escalated.

Responses

  • Ga
    Gargoylee May 04, 2009

    I originally ordered my glider on 4/2/[protected]-6842622) with a shipping date of 5/1/09 - 5/15/09. On 5/1/09, I got a 10% off coupon for my remaining registry items. I called Customer Service to have the 10% taken off of my order since it hadn't shipped yet. The representative told me I would have to cancel my order and re-order with the coupon code included. I asked multiple times if this would affect my ship date, as I am due with my first child on May 12th and was assured multiple times that my ship date would not be changed. I canceled my order and re-ordered with the coupon code, at which point, my ship date was changed to 6/1/09 - 6/15/09. I called Customer Service immediately, and was told that the ship date could not be changed to my original order date. I asked to speak with a manager and was offered a Supervisor (Rosa) because all of the managers were in a meeting. Rosa informed me there was no way she could have my item shipped on the original date promised and guarenteed, even though the error was that of a Target Customer Service Representative and I would have to wait 6 weeks for my new order number to be shipped. My baby is due in 1 week, not 6 weeks. That's over a month that would be without a glider - which is why I ordered the glider early. I was offered nothing more than apology. I don't want a credit, I don't want compensation, I want my glider on the date that was originally promised me so that I can rock my baby, feed him, comfort him, read to him, help him to sleep, and do everything else every mother dreams of in the first month of her child's life. There is no reason why only an apology is offered when it is obvious that there is more than apology required for this situation to be resolved to the customer's satisfaction. I have also filed a complaint with the BBB (# [protected]).

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dale May 04, 2009

    Target executives are insulated from all customer complaints. The head officers will give no contact information, referring all complainants to the local customer service reps and refusing to respond to any communications directed at them as individuals. They will not even give customers an email address for their use. I would not do business with Target if they were giving away gift cards. They are a faceless and odious organization.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rude Employee!! Nov 30, 2009

    WORST EMPLOYEE EVER !

    I am a frequent shopper at the Rowlett Texas Target Store. A few hours ago the store was busy. Since I only had 4 small items to purchase, I went to the customer service desk where I met up with the rudest employee ever. As I approached the counter, I placed the 4 items on the counter. As I'm doing this, a woman walks in with a MACY's bag to return about 7 items without a receipt. Rude employee looks up and says I need to wait on her first-Meaning the woman who clearly walked in after me. WHAT HAPPENED to FIRST COME FIRST SERVE??? To make things worse, she was sarcastic. Clearly she is poorly trained.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stephanie Dec 02, 2009

    Did you speak up and ask for a manager or supervisor??
    That's what you need to do first...duh

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rude Employee!! Feb 06, 2010

    Little stephanie-Do not assume. I made the call to management from my cell immediately before leaving the property. DUH is not proper english.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Little Miss Sunshine Mar 15, 2010

    Looks like someone is being as rude as the customer who did not wait on them.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Little Miss Sunshine Mar 15, 2010

    *Employee

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    MWR 2011 Mar 25, 2011

    The worst customer service in my life! I will never shop at the target store in Frisco Texas on Eldorado and Dallas Pkwy. I tried to return a pair of pants and do an even exchange but they would do because I didn't have my receipt. I did expect them to give me an in store credit but didn't expect real money back or the absolute rude BAD customer service. All I have to say is don't shop at that Target store!

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Nellie R Brown Dec 03, 2011

    On Black Friday I did my xmas purchase online. Via email they notified me that my purchase was in I waited for 1 half hour when someone assisted me with my order they bring out a box I ask that it be opened prior to me taking home. When the box was opened came to find out there was a $20 plastic toy instead of the Laptop and case that I had ordered. Then they begin to look for it in the meantime the girl that was assisting me left TO LUNCH and leaving me there when someone else comes out I ask what had happened where is my order? They scramble around looking for it again they come back an hour later and tell me my package was given to someone else a day ago, they stated that I would have to wait for the customer to come back with my order 2HOURS later someone else comes out and tells me if I look for it in electronics that I could bring it back there and take that... I DID MY SHOPPING ONLINE FOR THAT ONE REASON DID NOT WANT TO SHOP AT THE STORE. I called customer service but still to no avail 1 hour later a female assistant store manager comes out and tries to tell me to pick something else which I did not want anything they had at the store (again wasting my time) in the meantime an elder man came thru with a packing and just by coincidence I asked him if he that package was given to him by accident he stated it had. And surely that was my laptop.

    I was irate the Assistant store manager would think that my time was worth $20??????? she hands over a gift card that was an insult to that 20 dollars was worth my 3 1half hour wait at the store.

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    I AM ALWAYS RIGHT Dec 03, 2011

    I thought read a Wal Mart complaint identical to this.

    Funny, if it is a fake complaint, how easy it is for people to believe people act like this. Because people do act like this.

    0 Votes
  • The Lidman Foundation Dec 03, 2011

    Your absolutely right Debtorbasher!

    1 Votes
  • Na
    narf_5 Dec 04, 2011

    Well thats funny because Target doesn't offer shipping to the store...

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    Thanks Tasha but I think that they will arrest me for theft for that. I do not want the rules bent for me. I would never play the race card just for that.

    Iron Muffin, if you don't have any helpful information than don't post. I am looking for advice not someone who is trolling.

    -6 Votes
  • Regions Bank Employee Jun 13, 2012

    That sucks that happened. I just have one question instead of taking the legs back why not take the whole thing back. You could have exchanged or just asked for a refund. That would have been eaiser.

    -5 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    I am just saying that if all Thud is going to do is troll and try to cause problems than this is not what the site is meant for. Tasha you gave good advice, but now you are doing exactly what Thud is doing. Then again with that comment perhaps Tasha is right and Thud is only ten years old. At least it seems that way the way he cannot stay on topic. I am not saying that Tasha is perfect either. Brenda I also have the right to freedom of speech and I have every right to tell people to stay on topic and not troll. If Thud is using this site to troll than well it is his parents responsibility to watch what he is posting.

    -6 Votes
  • Ra
    rachel leddington Jun 13, 2012

    You are confused here it is that triplet dude who is ten not, Thud. Anyways needless to say Tasha is usually a troll. I don't know why you are lucky enough to get a positive comment from her. Usually she just bashes the reviewer.

    As for tasha, most of these thing end up off topic anyway. It ends up with people arguing with each other from post to post with nothing to do with the review. If you want a more professional site this is not the one, with people like Brenda, Tasha and Thud turning every review into an argument.

    -5 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    need - you do not have the right to tell anyone on a public forum what they can and cannot comment about.

    Well than take your own advice because you just told me the same thing and said I should not be posting here..

    Rachel is right. It seems like this site is overran with children. The only one who has anything helpful to say was Tasha at first, then it turned out she was trolling. I have a feeling you guys know each other personally.

    -6 Votes
  • Ra
    rachel leddington Jun 13, 2012

    "Rachel you dummy my name begins with a capital."

    Like I give a flying [censored].

    -4 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    Wow, I thought I came to a site where I can share my experience. I did not think that this site were a big playground. They should make a rule that you have to be at least 16 and over to post on this review. Not only that they should make a rule that you have to act 16 as well which most of you are not doing.

    -5 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    You are right Tasha, I did choose this site thinking that the posters on this site were adults rather than a bunch of teenagers. I guess this is what happens when I choose to share my story during summer holidays. However don't you guys have other sites to hang out on such asMyspace or Facebook rather than trolling and harassing those who actually need help? Or better yet go to a porn site. Isn't that what teenagers do these days.

    -4 Votes
  • Ne
    needanduntakenamenj Jun 13, 2012

    Also how close to "almost 16 are you all? "One year? Three years? Five years?

    -4 Votes
  • English Ian Jun 13, 2012

    and i am sure you'd be a good judge of that slimster...

    0 Votes
  • English Ian Jun 13, 2012

    wash your mouth out trash-can!

    1 Votes
  • English Ian Jun 13, 2012

    I wouldn't want Tasha to replace my left leg with my right!

    1 Votes
  • English Ian Jun 13, 2012

    the trash can was certainly aimed at the less than kids who were posting up the top of the page and whining about how they feel this site let them down... how their fantasy view of Life never, yet, came to fruition... GET USED TO IT MOTHER FUGKERS!! LMAO

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem