The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
T Mobileminor getting phone service while run away

Single parent. Minor ran away. Police report made. Get bill from t mobile in son name. Contacted t mobile informed them service was given to run away minor and to cancel and print out phone call bill so I could find him. Minors can not enter into legal contracts. As parent provided birth certificate of minor, cusody order, police report. T mobile refused to do anything unless I knew pin number. Ethics and law are secondary to money for this company.

Responses

  • An
    anudeep.varma May 28, 2012

    some one stolen my i phone 4s

    0 Votes
  • JuliePooh51265 Sep 02, 2011

    I've never had an ignorant before, maybe I can borrow Ellen's sometime. Have you ever seen an ignorant? If you are going to call someone a name, at least get it right. It should be "you're ignorant". Before you ask, the your/you're thing is a pet peeve of mine. :P

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Sep 01, 2011

    Ellen67: your ignorant.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    gladystopia Aug 30, 2011

    Although T-Mobile wasn't terribly helpful to you, wouldn't the local police be able to get that information from them? I can understand the company's overcautiousness as far as revealing subscribers' personal info, but once the police enter the picture, most companies will be more than happy to tell any- and everything related to the account under scrutiny.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 26, 2011

    well, people by nature want to try to pin the blame elsewhere whenever they can. in this case, she can obviously try to pin blame on TM, but lest we forget the whole reason why TM is being blamed. the kid ran away for a reason. if the kid didnt run away, there wouldnt be this complaint.
    and as i always preach, the information that isnt being told will be detrimental to the persons complaint.

    THE CUSTOMER OR PARENT IS NOT ALWAYS RIGHT

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 25, 2011

    you can walk into any wireless store and feed them a line of junk or reality about them being custodial parent, minor status, runaway status, etc. it isnt worth the paper its printed on unless its a court order. i can photoshop some crazy things but in the end, its all fake. with that said, you can have paperwork by the truckload, but unless its court order, they are going to protect the account holder without bias.
    If the contract was started with a fake id, so what. TM has to assume that it is legit. they have no right to tell anyone that their id is fake nor will they even question it if it seems legit. they are going to process it as it is.

    like ellen said, if the TM rep started a policy fraudulently, then they will be dealt with im sure. but for minors that commit fraud or any other illegal act, you are technically liable if the courts pursue it.

    my question is why did the kid runaway. im assuming problems at home. a re-evaluation should be done after it is all said and done.

    0 Votes
  • JuliePooh51265 Aug 25, 2011

    I'm curious here. Did your son explain to you how he was able to get service? It sounds like you had a lot of documentation when you went to T-Mobile. My guess is they were trying to cover their ### by not readily giving out the info. Hence the court order. I hope everything works out in the end and your son is ok.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Gkenigmatic: 17 years of age

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Juliepooh51265: in hindsight, should have got court order. Figured the circumstances present here would have negated the need. Figured wrong. The cost and delayed via court order seemed the longer path of resolution. But still have so many unanswered questions which would have come out in discovery.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Ps: you are confused as to contracts with minors. You may want to educate yourself on this. Your credibility is compromised if you do not understand the difference here and therefore the duty imposed on t mobile.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Ellen67: take a deep breath and read my post slow. Try not to be so closed minded and bias. Look at the issue. Do not stay to left field. Your child ran away and you do all the things I did. You go to t mobile because you discovered your run away obtained phone service. T mobile provides no information as to how he obtained service. They provide no help or information how you can locate him with said service. You establish everything that proves minor status, your parental role, and run away status ... None of those issues are in dispute. There is no way you know the pin number of that account. Ellen67: put yourself in that time and situation. No fraud on minor part was ever asserted by t mobile. Now try hard to answer the question.

    -1 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Ellen67: apparently I was wrong in saying you are employed by t mobile. On this I am sorry. But unbiased is not a word I would use to discribe you. The focus of the complaint is t mobile policy toward minors and procedures available to resolve problems of minors ability to obtain phone service on their own. No matter how you spin it ... It is a responsibility of t mobile to confirm age and ability to contract. You would likely defend stores that sell liquor to minors if minor just state I am over thirty or signs a contract with liquor store stating they of age. You know the courts would laugh T that defense. Yet you would argue t mobile contract language umakes it ok . It does not. You want more personal information from me which is not relevant. He was a minor. Age 17. Minor. No job. No driver's license, only high school id. I must have talked, both in person and by phone to over twenty different t mobile employees, customer service. Supervisors and as far up the food chain I could ... With repeated attempts. To downplay by attempts in anyway is shocking. Remember his minor status was established and not at issue. His run away status was established and not at issue. My custody and position as parent was established and not at issue. It came down to his pin number only. On an phone account established by a minor with no legal capacity to contract. Void on its face. Now Ellen, try to keep focus now, look at the issue. We are not talking about disputed facts. We are not talking about just talking about talking to one customer service person but managers and supervisors up and down the food chain.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    Impudent1: Ellen67 works for t mobile, read her posts. When I posted my complaint I did so because it is a public board ... But I was still surprised to t mobile involvement here. Should have captioned last post to her. Sorry.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 25, 2011

    I am surprised to how aggressive t mobile representatives try to defend t mobile on this site. They can do no harm. My complaint was placed to show what happened to their former customer of seven years. To motivate them to address an important issue and warn others. I found that the best way to not address a issue is to attack the person and not the issue at hand. Shame on you. The documents were provided in person. Everything requested. Assume for the moment everything I said to true (which it is). Answer this: how can a minor (t mobile representatives involved will concede as not a disputed fact) be considered a customer where no legal contract can stand. Minors have no legal ability to contract regardless of fraud, if any. Please note: if minor committed fraud the parent would be liable. There is no doubt that your employer would seek every dime they figured entitled. While your getting paid by t mobile to defend their poor judgment ... Please tell what motive would I have sharing my experience with others than to point out a problem within t mobile on this issue.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 25, 2011

    it could have done through mail before the child ran away. all he had to do was wait for it to come then make his move. for all that anyone knows, he coulda had someone start the contract for him and have them put it on a prepaid credit card. there is always a way around something if you try hard enough.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 24, 2011

    Interesting. T mobile told me if I provided those documents: certified birth certificate, cusody order, proof of my relationship, they would help. I did. Remember the t mobile bill waS sent to my house. Documentation provided. Clear and convincing. Indisputable. Then they requested his pin number. What is wrong with this picture? Was I given the run around, lied too, or what? Helpful customer service or time wasted. Again pwe are talking about a minor and not simply another account holder. Should not be the same status and clearly not contractual

    0 Votes
  • JuliePooh51265 Aug 24, 2011

    Hate to break it to you, but T-Mobile is under no obligation to provide you with any information regarding another account holder. The only exception would be if you had a court order for the info. It doesn't matter how much "proof" you have as to your relationship with the minor. How are they supposed to know if you aren't the one lying?

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 24, 2011

    Ellen67: you should disclose your relationship with t mobile. Your ability to blame the victim and defend the the company is odd. Does t mobile owe a ethical duty to their customers? Should they have been more responsive to the situation or circle the wagons in fear of getting caught up in wrongful conduct. Does a minor relationship with t mobile override the parent? Knowing contracts with minors are not enforceable.
    Minors are children. They make bad decisions. As a run away they can and often place themselves is harmful situations. As a mature parent you do what you can. One would hope that when your child runs away or is taken you think more about the proper actions t mobile could have taken to help rather than defend them doing everything they can not too.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 24, 2011

    i understand all of that but the ability to find the phone is not necessarily a feature of the plan or phone. yes, a feature for the users of the phones. But, the carrier can track phones to where they are regardless of the phone. i have a motorola droid and im well aware of the ability to find the phone on a map and get directions to it. but, this feature isnt what i was mentioning. when i first learned about it, it was well before smart phones even existed. Hell, i believe it was even before palm pilots. anywho...it was when i had the nokia 5190. this was before camera phones and apps. the only special thing about these phones was that it was the timeframe that digital became to be the new standard and before GMS was out. i was leaving florida to see my family in michigan and she wanted to know where i was at in the trip. she called at&t and got the location by them looking into their system to see where the phone was exactly at.
    since the kid opened a new account, the family where feature wont be possible. but, the carrier can track it still as long as the phone is on.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 24, 2011

    its not necessarily a tracking ability of the phone. its the tracking ability of the carrier. phones dont need it. carriers can see where the phones are because they accessing from somewhere. non TM towers may limit them, but since TM is getting a wider range of service, they are getting more towers and should be able to find the phone as easy just about anywhere

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 24, 2011

    Jbfirebird good point. T mobile could have been very helpful. Instead every stonewall possible was put up. I not sure all phones have that tracking ability may be limited by cell tower during use. Still do not know how he got phone service on his own. Seems to me I had to show I was a good credit risk to get service. Verification of one kind or another. If a child attempts to buy alcohol, cogs, or spray paint some proof of age is required. Cell phones?

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Aug 24, 2011

    if the child is missing, the fact that the kid has a cell phone should be exciting. the cell phone carriers can track down the location of a phone to a distance as close as 10 feet. try using the legal system to track the phone to find the kid

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 24, 2011

    He obtained phone on his own. Seperate account. How would I know his pin? Once informed and clear and convincing evidence provided of minor status and that service was provided to minor situation should have been resolved. Your comment implying that t mobile may have acted properly acted correctly and they may have been in a difficult spot is scary. There is no logical rational basis for there conduct ... But pure greed.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kickindog Aug 23, 2011

    This happened awhile ago but was the reason I left t mobile. They seem to have a pattern and practice of unethical and illegal conduct that warrants some federal oversight. Minor cannot contract for service that issue is clear. But to endanger a child too under company policy crosses the line ten fold. My son was arrested about three weeks following the discovery of the t mobile role. Had called every number t mobile company had and several stores too and given the run around. Moot point now but the anger and frustration remains. Wanted to expose this practice, hopefully, to both cast sunlight on it and perhaps change

    0 Votes
  • JuliePooh51265 Aug 23, 2011

    get a lawyer and a court order, then they can't refuse. they will have to provide the information or be in contempt.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kathy marcellus Feb 22, 2009

    am trying to get my funds back on my card t-mobile saying that they didnt get no money

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edgar Perez Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You are charging me $9.00 monthly for a ringtone, I understood it was $2.49 when I downloaded it.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jun 03, 2008

    I have been a t mobile customer for 6 years not 1 late payment. According to policy and conditions t mobile doesn't define immediately in the lost or stolen section of the agreement very well. It is vague. The simple truth is they don't value customers. They could have made a customer for life; instead i might as well be a part of the price war thats going on... somebody rung up $1300.00 dollars in charges out of the country.

    According to them they cant help or do anything b/c i took too long to notify them. I lost my phone while traveling with two children in the airport with a 1 year old and a 2 year old. If anyone could guide me legally i would appreciate it. It sure doesn't seem right that i have insurance for everything in this world except my phone. It will really hurt to pay this one!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.