Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Credit Cards NetSpend nothing but embarrassment and severe inconvenience!

NetSpend review: nothing but embarrassment and severe inconvenience!

P
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EST
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I parched a prepaid visa card when I only had it for only 2-3 days and only used it 2-3 times when I discovered that had a freeze on it. Upon calling the company about this they told me that I had to freeze my drivers license and social security card then the lift would be taken off with in 24-48 hours after about 48 hours I tried my card only to discovered that the freeze was still there. I called back and they tell me that they now need proof of my address. So I fax them proof of my address not once not twice but about 8 times they kept telling me that they never received it. When they did received it they tell me that the print out of my address from the library is not good enough. So I faxed then s copy of my phone bill not once not twice but at least 5 times. After going though this for 2 1/2 weeks they finally told me that they received me fax on thursday oct 19.2006 and thaw freeze would be lifted by tomorrow [friday] on friday morning I called and I was informed that the freeze was off. Upon trying my card I discovered that the lift was still on. This company has caused me nothing but embarrassment and severe inconvenience when I had asked then on one of many many phone call I had asked then to either fix third or refund my money back they refused to do either one.

Thank you,
Pamela

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More NetSpend complaints & reviews

NetSpend - netspend is so messed up!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - irs refund direct deposit do not do!!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - Account locked
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - Unauthorized transaction dispute
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - poor customer service/high fees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
NetSpend - ULTRA KETO BLAST company
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - netspend withholding my money
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
NetSpend - complaints
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
92 comments
Add a comment
L
Aug 06, 2022 6:00 am EDT

somone used my card on a gamblng site and used over $500.0

J
May 05, 2020 8:36 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just spoke to customer service around 5 they said everything was fine I go to the store I get declined account locked. I can't get into my online account to contact anybody it keeps saying account locked contact customer service I call the number and their closed

I
Apr 25, 2020 3:40 pm EDT

I am locked out of my online account for no reason I have tried everything and I have called serveral times these past days to try to get help and cant get to noone I have money in my account and cant even access it I need help asap I need this resolve.

A
Apr 22, 2020 7:08 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I've been calling for a week my card and app is locked. I cannot make any transaction or get through to customer service. I get out on hold an hour then they hang up. I have emailed them I have tried to reach meta. This is ridiculous. I have no money and a family of 6 I need my money

D
Apr 18, 2020 8:29 pm EDT

My account has been fine all day until I tried to sign in to check my balance and it shows Account locked I would like to f**kn know why
I expect my problem to be resolved asap !
I've never trusted banks first time I decide to deposit my whole damn paycheck this [censored] happens I Expect to hear from someone asap!

View 0 more photos
A
Apr 18, 2020 5:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My netspend account has been locked and I have no idea why. I should be able to access my account whenever I choose. I just started using my card today. I want to access my account now, you shouldn't be allowed to lock it like that. It's ridiculous. I just want to access my account and see what the issue is with my payment being denied.

J
Jan 08, 2020 8:49 am EST

Hello my name is jacob ledbetter and my complaint is to the netspend corp and the employee that i spoke with the id num d314 oliver. I dont want to hear im sorry and all that i want to speak with olivers supervisor my num is [protected]. Your company should be ashamed for taking peoples money. Im also reporting the company to the bbb.

J
Jan 06, 2020 5:48 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I Tony Davis am writing in regards to an unauthorized transfer/transaction which was done on 1/28/19 in the amount of $250.00 using card number [protected] including expectation date 10/21 and claim number 5670912. The transfer was sent to "Sara Knight" by a unknown source and need this disputed and resolved immediately please.

Tony Davis

View 0 more photos
C
Jan 04, 2020 11:43 pm EST

I went to ace cash express to load money on my card, and it failed, they told me my account was locked. I want to resolve this but i don't know the number to call

H
Nov 18, 2019 9:52 am EST

I has been a member for over 10 years. Refund coming on my card [protected]. it was never refunded back to me and last 2017 some one try to steal my account I received an email saying someone try to get into my account. they close my account because they say I was a high risk. nor can I ever apply for another card. Please help me. W.Calvert

B
Nov 05, 2019 5:05 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On 10/29/2019 a transaction was made without my consent they signed it for it all the way in pompano beach on 10/29/2019 at 9:30 a.m on this day [protected] and i did not authorize this transaction i know 4.18 may not be alot of money but i need my money back please and thank u i have never ever had this happean to me

View 0 more photos
S
Nov 02, 2019 4:39 pm EDT

I did not authorize the transaction on my account for $358 my references number is [protected] please contact me as soon as possible my name Sheila Kimbrough

B
Oct 29, 2019 9:21 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Card used without my consent

L
Oct 27, 2019 10:05 am EDT

I'm locked out of my account with no warning and I need my money for bills and other things. I need my money and I've called and they don't even tell me why I'm locked out.

L
Oct 21, 2019 5:49 pm EDT

I’ve never had this happen before and I need to access my money how am I supposed to get food or gas without any money terrible experience

H
Oct 13, 2019 1:04 am EDT

Had a prior balance with before paid it off. Then they hold my 1500 frozen with the excuse of needing 1 business day. They have had 3 without these funds I get evicted no healthcare and no food

P
Oct 07, 2019 8:48 pm EDT

my aceelite netspend card been hack.Today so all I have left is 180.00...an neice hill stole by hacking my card also and I appreciate if yall...can send it back to me thanks my cell number [protected] my debit card number is [protected] block her please and put the authority's on her or them thanks...

View 0 more photos
D
Oct 07, 2019 6:13 am EDT

Hey I'm Derrick Davis my NetSpend my email is [email protected] I have had a issue about fraudulent activity due to my folk for creating 3 NetSpend cards and I am no longer service with them and I really do want to be back with them so I can get my cash

View 0 more photos
R
Sep 10, 2019 11:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Someone took 51.74off of my card and I did not Authorized no one to take my money.I need this money to pay my light bill so please can you put it back on my card.I hope you can find in your heart to do this for me.Thank You Very Much.

View 0 more photos
D
Aug 10, 2019 5:24 am EDT

I Dorothy Fulton my account is locked my card is [protected] you can email me [email protected] I check my account on line I wanted to know what the problem I wanted to know can I over draft another $100 for school shopping please

M
Aug 04, 2019 8:36 pm EDT

I want to log in to my account but it won't let me

B
Aug 04, 2019 2:46 pm EDT

im trying to deposit my money from my paypal to my netspend cars d i cant activate my card because my account is locked. and the link i got off of customer service tells me to call customer service but theyre closed and i need to get my money tonight or my mom wont be able to get her prescriptions and she needs them now

B
Jul 24, 2019 2:10 pm EDT

I just got my card and I've been trying to activate for hours I went online to do and it wouldn't work and now my account is locked and I tried to call the number and it wouldn't work someone please unlock my account and activate my card please that's all I'm asking for

K
Jul 21, 2019 5:49 am EDT

I entered the wrong pin to many timed and can't access my money now, just need help unlocking it.

D
Jul 20, 2019 11:14 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I didn't give them permission to take money off my card so i would like to dispute the charges

View 0 more photos
E
Jul 17, 2019 8:33 am EDT

my card lost 3 to 4 weeks . 1st time they said it would here on the 3rd. 2nd time was the on the 10th today. got a email today saying it not coming. i was suppose to pay my on the 3rd nope. i made arrangement for today nope. i really need my today .this is not right. iam going in today on my job an complain.

K
Jul 14, 2019 8:08 am EDT

I have blocked account due to a security issue so I ordered a new card to be expedited. I can't pay rent or anything. My direct deposits and all are there! I called and got some bogus tracking number and still have no money! This is highway robbery! I need my money now! I work paycheck to paycheck.
Krista Wix

E
Jul 10, 2019 1:45 pm EDT

skylight

T
May 26, 2019 11:58 pm EDT

Just this past week my husband put cash on card... Paid one bill... Went to check balance and the account is locked... No email... No reason and it's of course out of business hours?! Who does that!, This organization is screwed 😠 the fees are astounding.. and now you lock active account with no reason.. that's how you keep us

Q
May 18, 2019 9:54 am EDT

I lost my card tried to get another one they keep refusing to send me one or say anything to me because of a phone number that I can't remember so now I just don't know what to do they just refuse to do anything

Y
May 18, 2019 1:32 pm EDT

I bought my card but when i was activating, after i hit next from SSN screen, it auomatically signed me out and it says locked. WHAT THE HECK I BOUGHT IT FROM GROCERY AND LOAD $100+ WHATTTT

K
May 02, 2019 3:09 am EDT

I didnt realize that money was being taken from card until i went to an atm to get money and it said my account was overdrawn. I contacted netspend y filing a dispute and they investigated for 16 days and decided my account wasnt used unauthorized and i didnt get my money back

G
Mar 02, 2019 9:44 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I left my card at Nrg stadium on Feb 11 an transactions has been used off of my card ending in 7941. I've called an cancelled the card an I'm asking for an provisional credit towards my money asap.

P
Jan 22, 2019 7:44 am EST

I have been in hospital for a while from dec 3 2018 to jan 12 2019 I would like to despute all transactions please . I gave no one access to use my card or use any founds from my account .As I explaned to the gentalman I had too go get a PFA on this person. I'm asking for refounds of this money

R
Jan 10, 2019 2:12 pm EST

Net spend has done nothing but tell me a different story every time i call them i have been with net spend almost four years and had my wallet stolen right before christmas it was a bad christ ma si dont think they really care i work hard to support my three children all i want is my money back.

A
Jan 05, 2019 7:09 pm EST

Locked out

M
Jan 06, 2019 12:51 am EST

Y'all. Lock both of my card my work and benefit. Now live in cardthank I very piss

R
Nov 20, 2018 12:19 am EST

On March 2nd there was $98.71 taken from my account.I dont know these people and didnt give them permission to take my funds.I got a text they had gotten my funds.Im requesting a refund and to stop this from going on.

S
Nov 14, 2018 1:57 am EST

Can't get into account my paycheck was deposited and can't access funds. WANTED TO SUBMIT PAYMENT FOR MY RENT AND UTILITY BILL AND MESSAGE SAID TRANSACTION DECLINED

C
Nov 12, 2018 8:06 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

don't use them

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

653 complaints
409 resolved 244 unresolved

NetSpend contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
701 Brazos Street, Texas United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT