[Resolved] Maytag / Whirlpool Centennial Washer Model#mvwc6esww1defective clothes washers

G Review updated:

Less than 18 months after delivery, our little used maytag washer failed. it would not fill with water properly, agitated the clothes dry and deposited water onto clothes already spun dry.
the maytag repairman replaced the "water level and temperature controller switch" (part #w10248240) during a 15 minute visit for a cost of $170.55, almost half the cost of the washer after rebates.
the repairman stated that this part fails frequently as there was a manufacturing defect and the parts are now made by a supplier in the us rather than in china as was originally the case. he also stated that he has replaced this same part up to 3 times in the same washers.
I called, e-mailed and wrote maytag for some sort of adjustment but was refused. customer service insists on the 12 month warranty and refuses to help even though there is evidence of a widespread serious manufacturing defect in this sensor relay.
my understanding is that this sensor relay is present in other models of maytag/whirlpool as well.

  • Whirlpool's response · May 28, 2013

    Hello larrygburnedbymaytag. My name is Amber and I am a part of the Maytag social media team. We sincerely apologize for the frustrating experience you have endured regarding your washer. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email us at [email protected] and provide us with your complete contact information as well as the model and serial number of your appliance. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard) along with your user name, and your ticket number (45589). Once we receive your email, we will contact you directly to discuss any further assistance, if available. Best regards, Amber.

  • Whirlpool's response · Jul 03, 2013

    Hi wycy. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We sincerely apologize for the frustrations you have encountered regarding your washer. We'd be happy to further review this matter if you would like to email your name, address, phone number and the model and serial numbers of the appliance to [email protected] Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard) along with your user name, and your ticket number (49879). Best regards, Amber

  • Whirlpool's response · Jul 03, 2013

    Hi Bheleu. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We truly regret to learn of these concerns you’re experiencing regarding your washer. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email us at [email protected] and provide us with your complete contact information as well as the model and serial number of your appliance. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard) along with your user name, and your ticket number (49882). We would be happy to review your concerns further. Thank you, Amber.

  • Whirlpool's response · Jul 03, 2013

    Hi brownrs1968. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We truly apologize for the difficulty you have endured with your washer and we can certainly understand your concerns. If you would like, please email us at [email protected] and provide us with your name, address, phone number where you can be reached along with the model and serial number of the washer. Please also include the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard) along with your user name, and ticket number (49883). Sincerely, Amber

  • Whirlpool's response · Jul 03, 2013

    Hello Boccos. My name is Amber and I am a representative with Maytag. We apologize for the frustration you have experienced with your washer. If you would like us to look further into this, please provide your name, the name of the site you were contacted on (ComplaintsBoard), your user name, your phone number, your address, your ticket number (49884), the model and serial numbers, and email the requested information to [email protected] We would be happy to review your concerns further. Sincerely, Amber.

Responses

  • As
    asjassie Dec 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same piece of junk washer. It sounds like it's working, but the clothes come out as dirty as when they went in. Whoever designed this junk doesn't know about how normal people go about doing laundry. It stinks and I tell everyone who asks me about it how I feel. Maytag ought to be ashamed of themselves!

    3 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph Jackson Dec 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same problem with the repair people replacing the water sensor switch, 2 times on the 1st machine this model, the 3rd time I got whirlpool to replace the washer, but they would not upgrade, brought out the same model MVWC6ESWW1, BUT a new serial #.now less then a year the same problem, they repaired it today, with the water sensor switch-W10248240-what a lemon washer I was told this is a discont.machine, now I will contact the whirlpool attorney, I WANT AND UPGRADED WASHER, TIRED OF TAKING OFF WORK.TO HAVE A LEMON SQUEEZED TO GET EVERY OUNCE ON LIFE OUT OF IT.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph Jackson Dec 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    keep Whirlpool's name intact.Upgrade this lemon Model MVWC6ESWW1

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    bakerbaker Dec 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    you might want to contact Joseph Marchese 4072700 area code 925. His law firm is heading up a very interesting class action lawsuit against Whirlpool regarding this piece of junk washer. Worth the time.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    billeesy Jan 23, 2012

    I have not like my wash machine very much since i bought it. I have this model MVWC6ESWW1. I have to put it on the heavy duty cycle with extra rinse just to clean a normal load of laundry. Now less then 2 years after owning it, the water level sensor, part# Part #W10248240 is shot. I have to pay out of pocket for a part the company knows about having this problem. What a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bakerbaker Jan 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Apparently the class action law suit is moving forward. According to the attorney there are LOTS of customers with the same problems. Although the poor performance is everyones main complaint, the major claim against Maytag is that this machine was sold as an energy star product and it clearly was not. Maytag will have no defense on this one and are very likely to loose. All I want out of this is a new washing machine. One that actually washes clothes as I can not afford to replace this lemon myself. Joseph Marchese is the lead lawyer and may still be able to add complaintants. 9254072700

    -2 Votes
  • Ja
    japtoys May 18, 2012

    I just got off the phone with Maytag and asked the customer service representative if they had received any complaints in reference to this washer, and they lady told me that this was the first time that she had ever heard of this product "W10248240" the water level and temperature control switch ever having a problem??? Are they serious, the customer service goal is to deny deny deny and keep referencing the manufacture extended warranty, if this was the case, they might as well include it as an additional fee when they sell you this product as they expect you to come out of pocket time and time again for the same faulty product that they have refused in issuing a recall on, that is ridiculous, so after being cordial with the customer service lady and getting nowhere fast, I requested to speak to the supervisor, and she told me that she could patch me to the supervisor, however, I would not be able to received any restitution or a part due to the fact that I did not purchase the extended warranty, and asked me again if I still wanted to talk to the supervisor, and I said YES PLEASE as this product was sold with a defective part that is habitually going bad across all of the model numbers and has gone through several revision from Revision G - Revision P with the same result as the technician that repaired my machine said that he does at least one of these sensors replacements once per week easy, and that the parts that he keeps receiving from the manufacturer are the same junky switches that they have in stock!!! the version installed again on the washer is version G, so I am sure that this will go back in a year or two, therefore, I require Whirlpool to send me the parts that they know is defective so I can teach my wife how to change it in less than five minutes in case I am deployed or away for any training and this defective switch goes bad again (not if but when). Finally talked to the supervisor and she took down my information and said that she was extremely sorry for my inconvenience and that she has filled a report to the quality control department for action and that they would give me a call back next week to let me know of what they will be able to do in order to fix this issue...we will see what happens next week. By the way, to change this switch yourself, unplug the machine, use a putty knife between the main control panel and the washers metal frame (at both end of the main control panel where the white plastic end caps are to the right and left) and pop the entire control panel backward, this will expose all of the control and sensors like opening a lunch box, and you will be able to press a switch and rotate the item out of the main control panel and detach the wire connections and replace it with the $90.00 part and close it back up. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • En
    E. Nash Jun 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVE HAD THE IDENTICAL EXPERIENCE.
    i HAVE WHIRLPOOL WASHER WTW57ESVW. After light use and owning it only 19 months, the temperature sensor switch failed. Part # W10248240. The service man told me to call whirlpool and ask for the part at no cost since SO MANY OF THESE FAIL. I called customer service and was told repeatedly "no extended warranty, no part". Escalated to supervisor--after being put on hold for 10 minutes (probably designed to have you hang up) the supervisor gave the same line. I told her she will lose a Whirlpool customer for life over this part which SHOULD NOT FAIL SO SOON. She finally came up with a "25% discount on the part" which is useless since websites discount more than that. The company is making and selling junk. Obviously reading this website, it is a known problem and they are rejecting customer pleas for help. What a shame that American manufacturers are producing poor products like this. DO NOT BUY WHIRLPOOL WASHERS.

    0 Votes
  • Ws
    wshale Aug 23, 2012

    Add me to the long and growing list of unhappy, frustrated customers dealing with an inferior Maytag/Whirlpool product. We bought a Maytag (Whirlpool) washing machine model MVWC6ESWW1 in late 2009 for our 2nd home in South Carolina. Until we moved to this house permanently in late April 2012, we only visited the home 4 times a year and only for about 10 days at a time, so the machine got very little use. We estimate conservatively that we did no more than about 75 loads in it since we bought it. We are now experiencing exactly the same issue that so many others have complained about. We were never really impressed with the cleaning power of this machine, but when it started to emit a squealing noise during the spin cycle and then started to agitate before filling completely and allowing water to enter the tub after the final spin so that the clothes were always wet, we knew we had a problem. Fortunately I am fairly mechanical and have a buddy who was a former appliance repairman so we diagnosed the problem quickly, but it will cost me $80 to buy the sensor switch, part no. W10248240. I was astounded when I researched this issue online to find that there were so many people with exactly the same complaint. I was even further dismayed to find that Maytag/Whirpool apparently has known about this issue for years and has done nothing to rectify it. Based on what I have read on this website and others, I don't even plan to contact Whirlpool because I know I will get the run around and they will do nothing to help a customer dealing with a known design flaw/defect in a part they are still selling to an unsuspecting public. Not a good way to market your product or raise your public image! Too bad that Whirlpool is dragging the Maytag name into the ground like this...I used to think very highly of Maytag products. I plan to use this machine for as long as this new sensor switch will last and then replace this piece of junk with a real washing machine. This thing makes a GE machine look like a top of the line product!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scottyboymcr Aug 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow!
    I have the same problem and even asked the customer service rep. on the phone if there is a recall on this washer problem that everyone is having. Of course She said no! I take it a law suit might get some results. I will add my name to the list!
    I though this problem was in the timer switch/control setting because at the start of the wash cycle it starts washing before the water is full and also other problems as others have said like wet closes at the end of the cycle. Wanted to save some $$ and do it myself since Maytag won't own-up and the Maytag Rep. would sell me the timer part even though it isn't the correct part to fix the REAL PROBLEM !! I'm mad as hell. Thank you all that have posted some info for me to buy the correct part and change it my self.
    But then again why change it if the replacement part is going to fail again?

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Hayden Myers Sep 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Add me to the list of customers with this less than 2 year old lemon washing machine. There's a nice guy named Homer who posted a a couple videos on this problem over at Youtube and the procedure for replacing the costly load switch. Whirlpool should admit the problem and send all of us new switches. No way is this washer operating like an EPA appliance if it leaves the clothes wet for the dryer to deal with. It just loves to dump water on the clothes during the final spin cycle, because the spin cycle started before the tank emptied, thanks to a faulty load sensor.

    1 Votes
  • Mp
    mpb1 Sep 11, 2012

    Same problem of water filling after the final spin cycle.

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jamie Miller 60 Oct 15, 2012

    I bought this same washer from Home Depot. I have owned Maytag appliances for the last 34 years. Never again will I own any Maytag products or Whirlpool since they are the same. I bought the Maytag Centennial washer what JUNK is was from the beginning. I feel I was lied to from the people at Home Depot and Maytag. I would have one shirt in the washer and the water would fill the whole tub. Then I could wash a large load I had to make sure I stayed home so I could keep lifting the lid to get enough water to fill the washer . Also just a couple weeks after I bought it I called Maytag to see why this was rated so quiet. I told them every time it switches cycles it makes a loud clunk, this washer was so noisy, and my laundry room was right off the kitchen and close to my living room. We would shut the door and we still had this noise so loud that when there was a program on TV that we all sat down to watch we started turning the washer off. The lady at customer service said well this just sounds like a normal running washing machine. REALLY lady, where you from?? China where you get your parts. So I had a repair man out and he told me This machine my dear lady, has been a lemmon since you got it that clunking noise was the transmission and it finally went out. I have been going to the laundromat for three weeks every other day. this SUCKS. I will never buy anything that is made by Whirlpool or Maytag again, yea they used to be good back in the day but this is a company that has cut too many corners. Customer service at Maytag Sucks I bet those people would never have to put up with a with a noisy washer, let alone sit home and keep opening your lid at wash cycles and rince cycles so enough water goes in, and then wash one shirt and the washer fills up completely. AND ENERGY EFFICIENT????DON"T think so. WELL TO ALL THE OTHER CUSTOMERS WRITING IN WITH COMPLAINTS. I WENT TO MENARDS 10/14/2012 and bought a very nice GE HYDROWAVE 3.9 CAPASITY NICE ver nice quiet, no water sensor I can have any size load I want and there is a setting for this, and we actually sat down and ate a dinner with this machine running. GUESS WHAT we never even heard it I had to get up and make sure it was running. SO TO ALL MY FRIENDS: GO to MENARDS AND PURCHASE YOUR WASHER I was so tired of hearing Maytag well, well, well, you know you make a washer that is made to last two years then you should cover it. Also at Menards the 4 year extra warranty is only 84.00 not 120.00 or something out rageous. How does Maytag expect every one to have all this money when the washer was 600.00 piece of junk to begin with????

    2 Votes
  • Cl
    ClydeS Oct 19, 2012

    Add me also to the list. Mine fills up with water then stops. No agitation, spin, draining nothing. Just fills up with water and stops now. I opened up the console and the same controler everyone is taking about the Water level & Temp controller was overly hot. I appears I have the same problem everyone else is having. Now I have to find the best place to order this part. Go to maytag's online site and they charge 98 dollars where I seen it as low as 42 dollars else where. So not only do they give you a defective product but then try to profit off this further. No way I will buy from Maytag so they can profit even more off of me this way. I use to think Maytag was quality with all their investment for branding their product over the years but now that has all gone to waste with people like me especially with them not even trying to correct this obvious common part defect. You should be able to expect with normal usage that the product should last more than 2 years!

    1 Votes
  • Ce
    Centerville Civilian Oct 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a Maytag Centennial washer. One year after purchase I also had problems with the W10248240 switch. The automatic load leveler/temp sensor. This washing machine was only filling up enough to dampen the clothes then scrubbing them - destroying some garments from the agitation without enough water. I contacted Maytag and after a LONG run around I was finally instructed to call a local repair man to replace the part at my own expense.
    Our nearest qualified repairman is 45 min away and comes with a HEAVY out of service area charge.
    I am so disappointed that I went out of my way to purchase an expensive, and what I thought was a dependable model and got something that doesn't work. AT ALL!! I live WAY out in the country. Nearest laundry mat is a half hour away. I will never purchase another Maytag as long as I live and encourage all of my family and friends to do the same through the ease of Facebook. I still have not replace the part. Since disconnecting the hose from the sensor it has overflowed.
    I have been fighting it out - flapping the lid, unplugging and disconnecting the hose from the sensor switch for months hoping I can find a class action suit to sign up in - or perhaps start my own. Ridiculous they can't send out the part with self repair instructions.
    I have a 500.00 washing machine sitting in my laundry room with the top off and electrical components hanging out so I can limp loads of laundry through. I'm thoroughly disgusted this is what we paid for and I feel burnt that there isn't even another brand of switch I can get! I would likely have to purchase one and have to continue replacing it.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Alan Oct 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This washer sucks thy need to replace the part for free butt there a a__ and will not Jeff from Texas

    1 Votes
  • Da
    darla moulton Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVE THE SAME PIECE OF JUNK WASHER! AFTER REPLACING MY 25 YR OLD WASHER I BOUGHT THIS ONE NEW. HAVING IT ONLY 1 MONTH IT BROKE DOWN (APPROXIMATELY 4 LOADS DONE AS I AM ALONE) IT TOOK OVER 2 MONTHS ALTOGETHER TO GET A SERVICE PERSON TO ASSESS THE PROBLEM, ORDER THE PART, THEN SCHEDULE ANOTHER SERVICE PERSON TO INSTALL THE 3 PARTS! THE TIMER, AND A SENSOR AND ANOTHER PART- TOTAL IF NOT UNDER WARRANTY WAS MORE THAN THE TOTAL COST OF THE MACHINE NEW! SINCE THEN IT STILL HAS NEVER WORKED WELL. CLOTHES ARE STREAKED AND DIRTIER THAN WHEN WENT IN - NOT DIRTY, JUST SWEATY MOSTLY. NOW 2 YRS LATER THE TIMER AGAIN IS NOT WORKING. WASHER FILLS UP THEN DRAINS, RINSING OFF THE SOAP. THEN REFILLS AND SEEMS TO WASH. WHEN DONE SPINNING DRY, IT REFILLS AGAIN AND STOPS! LEAVING CLOTHES SOPPING WET! NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS TO MAYTAG ARE TOTALLY WORTHLESS. THEY WILL NOT OFFER TO DO ANYTHING AT ALL BUT SET UP SERVICE AT MY EXPENSE! RIDICULOUS! IM SURE I HAVE DONE LESS LOADS IN 2 YRS THAN THE AVERAGE FAMILY DOES IN 2 MONTHS! I AM A WIDOW AND THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE MY LAST MACHINE I WOULD EVER BUY- OBVIOUSLY MAYTAG ISNT A QUALITY NAME ANYMORE. PURE JUNK! WAS IT MADE IN CHINA OR MEXICO?

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cdogan1767 Dec 18, 2012

    I also have the same piece of __ Just ha repairman look a mine again. Just paid 165.00 dollars in june 2012. Today is December 18th 2012. Repairman said its the water level/temp.seensor again!!! Help!!! Cant afford to buy another washing machine right now.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    [email protected]@@ Dec 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a Maytag MVWC6ESWW1 washer that appears to have the same problems identified above.
    Problem: Agitate with dry washer during initial fill ... spin dry is wet .. can squeeze water from completed spin.
    Washer was bought from Lowes on July 8, 2010 ... problem started in the past 3-4 days.
    Washer is noisy ... excellent washing action. Heavy duty cycle is hard on clothes... but they are always clean.

    It appears all replacement parts are made in China. Where can you purchase replacement which is now made in USA?
    i.e. China W10248240 part appears to have a reported high failure rate. (based on reported complaints)

    I use used Kenmore/whirlpool washers for over 50 years. Never a repair problem. replaced after 20-30 years .. while still operating.
    Bought Maytag based on stainless drum and high quality representation.

    AR - Satellite Beach, FL

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mkwhitetail3 Jan 18, 2013

    yes very same problems with this washer, save up money for something half way decent and end up with a piece of crap!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fl
    Flyerkc Feb 23, 2013

    I also have a MVWC6ESWW1 and we've replaced the water pump and circuit board on this machine after only 18 months of light use. The machine is a piece of junk. DO NOT BUY ONE! We will never again buy a Maytag product at ANY price point. Three different appliance repairmen spoke negatively about Maytag machines! Wish I would have known this before my purchase. JUNK!!!

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rmarcum Mar 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This washer is a piece of junk. Out of warranty and sounds like it is falling apart. The auto water level will notwork correctly and washer will agitate dry clothes. Will not spin water out of clothes.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Lemere Mar 22, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Maytag Centennail washer MD#MVWC200XWO in January 2011 to replace my 17 year old Maytag that had always worked perfectly. In July 2011 I had to call Maytag because the machine was shaking and making so much noise during the spin cycle I thought it was going to walk out the back door. It did okay until about a week ago when it stopped draining properly. I called the repair guy. When he checked it, it would do nothing--just the sensor light would flash. He said the control board had died. After talking with four customer service rep and sending a dozen e-mails, they finally called and offered to sell me a control board at half price, plus tax & shipping--about $150 but I have to pay for installation. Or they would sell me a new machine direct from the factor at a "discount price"
    $500 + $45 for installation & haul off of old machine. I paid $527 for a machine that lasted two years, now they want to sell me another one for to replace it for $545--boy do these people have nerve!

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    bmwmw73 Apr 11, 2013

    Well it seems I am not alone. Thank God. I have the exact same problem. I bought the Maytag Centennial Washer 16 months ago and for the last 3 months or so have had numerous problems from no agitation, not cleaning the clothes, clothes coming out dry AND dirty, wrong water temp and no drain or spin. I just found out that the new replacement part that replaces the piece of crap the used to replace the crap part is now $425 instead of the original replacement part that cost $225. With labor to install and the cost of the diagnostic I am going to spend more to get this piece of junk fixed than I spent on it originally. Maytag/Whirlpool should be ashamed of themselves for allowing this to go forward without proactively getting this fixed. I hope everyone who reads this board tells 10 people about the shoddy workmanship and poor customer service. Amber/Melanie I hope you realize that the large reason so many people are moving away from American company made goods is due to the fact that instead of "reviewing" the already obvious to anyone with half a brain that this is a problem. You should be telling everyone to please contact you and the problem will be resolved...no just reviewed. I will definitely be looking into joining the lawsuit. Sometimes it seems the only way to get the attention of large corporations is to sue. Too bad. I am sure in some meeting room somewhere in America the heads of Maytag/Whirlpool did a cost analysis as to whether it was cheaper to fix the problem or let those of us willing to complain and then just fix the complainers machines and advertise more to make up for the shortcuts taken. Oh well, I guess we know how they decided to act.

    0 Votes
  • 12
    123four Apr 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too own a Maytag Centennial Model #MVWC6ESWW1. Tomorrow the repairman will be here again for yet another repair.
    The first two repairs were done as a result of the clothes coming out the washer too wet. It finished washing and spinning and then began to fill. Those first two repairs cost $342. Tomorrow's repair will be done to remedy a washer that begins the wash cycle with spinning instead of filling with water. Like many of others, this washer is used lightly. I purchased it in September of 2009 and the problems began in October 2011. I too am disappointed in Maytag/Whirlpool.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Doyle Apr 12, 2013

    I too evidently am the unfortunate owner of a maytag centennial mvwc6esww1 washing machine. My wife and I purchased the washer and dryer because of maytag's superior name and quality, however we have had nothing but problems with the very same temperature switch I have seen described on this message board numerous times. (Part #W10248240)
    It would seem a company would have a greater concern for their reputation than their bottom line although this does seem to be a sign of the times.
    Please make this right Maytag/Whirlpool its the honorable thing to do.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammie53 May 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, we bought ours 2 months ago and our clothes come out dirty and smell. I noticed that half the clothes are dry, like water never gets on them. I am so disappointed in this washer. We have always bought GE products and thought we would give Maytag a try since they used to be made in Iowa. I will never recommend this noisy washer. For what we paid for it, it should come out very clean and not so noisy. I am so mad that we threw our hard earned money on a piece of crap. I think a lawsuit on this machine should be in the making. makes me sick to my stomach to think we threw money away.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timalways May 12, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a Sears Kenmore washer in October 2011. Ninteeen months later the circuit board is shot. I had a repair man diagnose it. He told me that the control boards are known to be junk. The repairman told me that the average life of a washer is 11 years. The model is Sears Kenmore model 2130. The new control board with installation is $300.00 What a disgrace Sears is for selling this machine for over $500.00

    0 Votes
  • La
    larrygburnedbymaytag May 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased the Maytag disaster machine, everyone else here is stuck with, model # MVWC6ESWW1. Same problems, water soaked closed after cycle, etc., but now three yrs and 3 repairs later, I found this site and another about the class action lawsuit.
    First, when I called Maytag several times, OVER THE LAST 3 YRS, they SIMPLY LIED TO ME!
    Second, I don't know who this 'Amber' is (supposedly from Maytag), but I notice she does not give a direct phone number to reach someone at Maytag, and when I called them again (customer service # - 1-800-447-6737) asking about the info she asks for, they claim they have no idea what I am talking about. REALLY?
    This washer is a disaster and Whirlpool/Maytag has turned into a major ripoff company. Has anyone had any success in getting a replacement / refund / or free repair ?

    I am amazed and disappointed, with all the consistent and accurate complaints listed here, and yet nothing has happened from the Maytag / Whirlpool company to resolve the problems. Will never buy any of their products, in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    najhee May 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    maytag need to go to hell

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peter445 May 27, 2013

    Same problem here. Washer begins agitating immediately when I start a load, and spits 15 seconds of water during the spin cycle at the end. Oh AMBER! Time to give me your form letter!

    0 Votes
  • Wy
    wycy Jun 15, 2013

    i bought one of these pieces of shtt maytag centennial been having problems with it for about a year sometimes it would go weeks with a mind of it own when it wants to work correctly and when it just says fuuu it now it lid lock lights stays on won't reset even when i unplug its not draining completely i see why they dont show those commercials anymore the repairman in them probably quit from over work

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    Bheleu Jun 26, 2013

    I also have a Maytag Centennial Washer. Same issue - agitating immediately, extra water still in unit at end of wash. Had to have the W10248240 load sensing switch replaced. Is Maytag doing anything for any of you that have been contacted? Maytag - can you contact me? Thanks. Dave

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brownrs1968 Jun 27, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    JUST CALLED MAYTAG CUSTOMER SERVICE AND GOT THE EXACT SAME RESPONSE AS THE REST OF THE COMPLAINTS HERE. I HAVE HAD MY MACHINE 3 YEARS AND IT'S BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR ABOUT A YEAR BUT HAS NOW REACHED THE POINT THAT I AM GOING TO HAVE TO PAY FOR A REPAIR OR BUY ANOTHER MACHINE! CUSTOMER SERVICE TOLD ME SHE WAS SO SORRY BUT THEY DON'T HAVE ANY RECORD OF THIS MACHINE HAVING ANY KIND OF A PROBLEM SO SHE COULD NOT HELP ME. MY PREVIOUS MACHINE WAS A MAYTAG THAT WAS 20 YEARS OLD AND IN PERFECT CONDITION BUT SINCE THERE WAS AN ENERGY REBATE OFFERED IN 2010 I DECIDED TO GO AHEAD AND REPLACE MY MAYTAG WITH ANOTHER ONE. WORST MISTAKE I MADE! I WILL NOT REPAIR THIS MACHINE. I AM GOING TO TRADE IT IN TO AN APPLIANCE DEALER FOR ANOTHER MACHINE BUT IT DEFINITELY WON'T BE A MAYTAG OR A WHIRLPOOL!!! brownrs1968

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boccos Jun 28, 2013

    I have a top loader Maytag/Whirlpool which works mostly as it should but intermittently leaves the clothes wet at the end of the wash. I can do my own repairs but need to know what part I should replace. Is it the Water level/temperature Sensor, or the Load Sensing Switch?

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    Bheleu Jun 29, 2013

    Boccos - FWIW mine was the load sensing switch (see 2 posts above). Easy repair. check out: http://www.partsdr.com/Repair-Help/How-To-Install-W10248240-Load-Sensing-Switch-47.cfm

    Dave

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambacrombie Jul 05, 2013

    Yep, My rarely used MVWC6ESWW1 Maytag Centennial "Commercial" (Really??) Washer has started doing the same thing, actually agitates before there's any water in it and soaks the clothes after spinning. With the amount of complaints for the exact same problem one would think Maytag would be happy to send out a redesigned part (That has been tested and works) to anyone with a serial number. I've had GE washers before this one and it looks like I'll be going back to them as they last at least 15 years with out problems. This one is only 1.5 years old and does up to 2 whole loads a week! My sweetie has a GE that has done 5 to 10 loads a week for the past 12 years with just one repair. So did the "Maytag repairman" we used to see on TV get laid off and took all the good machines with him? Today, Maytag = CRAP.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Boccos Jul 14, 2013

    Amber, I'm in Australia, so you cannot really help me. It is now a worldwide problem for Whirlpool. Obviously insufficient testing to begin with or poor quality control. Either way it is time Whirlpool recalled all these models worldwide and fixed this inherent fault. Much better than employing Amber to take the fallout of some executives cost saving decision leading to this problem.
    Just fix it, and fix it at no cost to the consumer.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike_T Jul 28, 2013

    My name is Michael. I got the same problem on my Maytag MVWC6ESWW1. The machine started immediately without releasing water.
    If I moved the timer to Rising, It still did not dispense water. I had been chose Maytag as my washer for more than 25 years.
    This is the worst machine. I think I should consider to go with other brand.
    Thanks
    Michael

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich_ Aug 02, 2013

    I have the same problem others are having. My WTW57ESVW1 washer purchased a little over 2 years ago is not draining water after spin cycle. The problem first started after 13 months (1 month after warrantee expired) I called customer service and gave them the model and serial number and described the problem. I was told that there were no known problems. I found references to others with the same problem and referenced a part number W10248240. It took weeks (and $80) to get a new part (they were on extended backorder). I also found an on-line video on how to repair. With the part and 15 min of labor, the washer was working again. Now, 13 months later, the problem is back. I called Maytag again and they claim there are no problems with the washer or the part. They also have no record of my calling the first time. So now I am purchasing another part and repair again. As a work-around, you can turn off the water top the washer and do one spin cycle which will drain the tub. I wish there were some recourse with Maytag but it looks like they find it more profitable to just deny the problem. I have had Maytag products for decades and they have been great but this experience is enough to make me try another manufacturer. It is not the fact that the washer had a problem but the general lack of caring bothers me. I am self-employed in a service related industry and could not get away with this game of denial.

    0 Votes

Post your comment