Whirlpool Gold Series Refrigerators - Model Gs6shexnl00electronic control pcb know defective by whirlpool - will not recall

1
H

Whirlpools Gold series refrigerators have a known problem with their Electronic Control Printed Circuit board.

The Original Part Number is: 2304056

The replacement Part Numbers are: 2304095, W10135090, or AP4334000.

By searching the internet you can see that there are numerous posts about this part becoming defective. Numerous people that bought the Gold series Model number GS*SHEX**** are experiencing the same problem with their refrigerator side light and LED temperature control module not performing correctly. Yet whirlpool has avoided sending out a recall on the part or offered to field replace the part for free. Instead, Whirlpool has modified the printed circuit board and has passed both the hassle and repair costs on to the customer.

Nice Going Whirlpool... see if you ever get my business again. Personally, I think a class action lawsuit is needed.

Responses

  • Su
    SURESH Mar 27, 2008

    fridge servce.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    JLeverett Aug 07, 2009

    I totally agree. This is the SECOND time in 3 years that mine has went out. Now, HH Gregg is giving me the run around, regarding the food loss. I will never buy another Whirlpool/Maytag anything, nor will I ever purchase it from HH Gregg!!!

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    moog5 Nov 14, 2009

    I just went through the same thing with my 4 year old Whirlpool refrigerator model GS5SHAXNL00.. I had to replace the control board with the model w10135090. When I pulled the old board out, I found a short on the backside of the new board, also evindenced by a small burn on the inside of the white box which holds the board. What make me upset is when I call Whirlpool the obviously won't provide any technical assistance, and require a tech to come take a look at it. The tech came out and told me it was the control board and gave me an estimate of $300 plus dollars to replace it (108.37 +tax for the board and 200 for the return trip). He was honost with me and told me I could easily replace it my self, which I did (very simple, saved $200, but still out the $100+ for the board and the 70 for the tech visit). When I bought the board, I paid an additional$16 for a lifetime warranty after reading the earlier post of someone having had this happen more than once. If any one want a class action lawsuit against whirlpool, count me in.

    2 Votes
  • Ye
    yert Jan 11, 2010

    Same deal as everyone...Hundreds of post for the same issue. Talked with Whirlpool today and still no recall. Guess we'll all have to wait until one starts on fire and deaths occurs. Lawsuits, deaths. injuries are about the only way any recalls seem to happen anymore. Damm shame too...Clearly the early control boards were junk. That's another $100-300 taken away from the american consumer that should go towards filling it up with chow. Seems to me that our Government has to start to look out for the consumer and not the corperate giants. Bail out all the credit car companies, costing us trillions, then those clowns jack our interest rates to the sky and reward themselves with million dollar bonouses. Ya, this is american...The land of being screwed again and again.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    raynipper Jan 13, 2010

    I have a 3 yeard old top of the range Whirlpool oven died.
    I now find I have to pay about half the cost of a new one to get it repaired.
    Thats it for Whirlpool for me.

    Ray.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug of Florida Jan 30, 2010

    Whirlpool side-by-side fridge controls & light failure:

    Check out this website - http://www.fixya.com/support/t398069-whirlpool_gold_refridgerator_light_not
    I just made the repair shown with a wire jumping the burned track on the backside of the circuit board - total cost = $ZERO (plus about 4 hours of my Saturday including research time). Mine failed on a Friday and when I started looking for answers & parts nobody was open for the weekend. Looks like my circuit board failed when the 40-watt frig-bulb blew out - a common issue according to the internet. Replaced the bulb, put a small wire on the board and everything seems to be working again. I will probably by a new board from the internet (~$75) and keep it as a backup in case something happens again. If I don't use it I can sell it on e-bay whenever I change out the fridge and get some of my money back then. Cheap insurance. Things like this always happen at the worst time: a party, the weekend, Thanksgiving, getting ready to go on vacation, brain eating zombies invading the grocery store, etc...

    I also had a warranty issue with the fridge door handle getting loose - screws backing out of the plastic handle. Whirlpool took a year to figure out a design fix and had a backorder for their fix. Eventually sending a warranty replacement (new design) pair of metal handles. In the mean time I put some lock-tight on the screw and it has been fine for 5 years. Anybody want to buy a set of new-design metal fridge handles? Never been used! Even after the handle issue I would have given Whirlpool a 5 out of 10 but now after finding out they don't offer a recall, free circuit board or even acknowledge the issue on their website my rating has dropped to about a 3. This is what happens when our government regulations (environmental, safety, labor, permitting) and greed, mostly greed, have companies build products in other countries with overseas labor of $4/day and without overbearing regulations. Perhaps someday America will return to being a nation of risk takers and manufacturers of something. Lets moderate the regulations placed on business and also sue Whirlpool. They optioned for the cheap labor or factory to maximize profits and now they don't want to fix what they sold us. IMO there is obviously a design flaw. When the common event of a bulb blowing out will spike a circuit board to failure, something is amiss. My guess is the circuit design guys planned for the nominal amperage with bulb lit and forgot a normal fact of life - that bulbs blow - spiking the amps and their design goes poof. Perhaps the folks who built the circuit board took some liberties and made that track too narrow but usually track size is not an issue - design is normally the issue. Anyway IMO - Whirlpool should install or a least give away replacement circuit boards on a product recall. They made the profits, they need to repair their mistakes.

    2 Votes
  • Wh
    wham-o Feb 28, 2010

    Whirlpool Gold Model GS6SHEXNB00. Fridge side light and temperature controls not working. Freezer, ice maker and fridge are working and cooling fine.

    Whirlpool has lost my business for good. I will go ahead and buy a new W10135090 board and replace for ~$75. I called their support and complained to no avail. Itold them this is obviouslly a problem. Stupid on their part. Just send me a new part is all I ask. See ya...

    Bill

    1 Votes
  • St
    STEVIETP3 Jul 20, 2010

    I have a GD5RHAXNT00, same problem, lights out fridge side only, arcing, LED's gone now, burnt mark on board, etc. Just got off the phone with Jan at Whirlpool customer service (1-866-698-2538).

    After putting on my best dissatisfied customer performance, providing serial numbers for my other appliances, and pointing out the 39, 000+ views and 5-star rating of this post, I explained this should be a recalled item as it has been since remanufactured. "39, 000+ views at diychatroom.com, Jan! You have an obvious responsibility to replace this part and should personally be rewarded for bringing this mounting customer complaint to Whirlpool attention."

    After a few moments on hold, I was first offered the $108 part at 25% off, followed by 50% off; but they would not send for free. Must cost them about $54 to make I'm guessing. I refused based on principle and reserved the right to add my name to the list.

    I'll buy the W10135090 part for $85, replace myself, and never buy Whirlpool again.

    STEVE

    1 Votes
  • No
    NOMORE WHIRLPOOL Oct 14, 2010

    Same stuff! I have the Whirlpool gold conquest, 5 years old. I have had to replace a start relay a board for the ice maker and now the one for the light issue. JUNK. I also have the matching glass top range and the front control panel when out at 3 years old. Now I am just waiting for the dishwasher to go.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjtjj642 Nov 23, 2010

    I also have this issue with my 5 year old Whirlpool crap appliances. My frig has the same issue as described above by many of you and now I'm going to buy a new board. I have a Whirlpool range that has had the main board replaced once and every now and then the range will go into a power fail (pf) mode and shut off (the light in the oven doesn't work today). Oh ya, my Whirlpool gold dishwasher was replaced two years ago with a Bosch dishwasher after it leaked on are hard wood floors. I'm so done with Whirlpool!!!

    0 Votes
  • Zu
    Zugs Mar 11, 2011

    March 11 2011 My light went out to day in the fridge and I called Whirlpool to see it anything has changed about a recall... NO. Like my Whirlpool, hate the service. Followed the link and saw how to do the bypass and it works fine.
    A new board would have cost me $108.00. Too much for a bad spot on the board.

    0 Votes
  • Lw
    lwylie Mar 16, 2011

    New Whirlpool Gold Fridge. Bought new 10-04-10 -- 1st Problems icemaker froze internally and ice caused water to flow freely thru the freezer trays and flooded kitchen twice. (2nd time due to thinking possibly kids may have left door open.) Tech came out and wire blocked ice which caused problem. Fixed. 2nd prob - Icemaker never regained making ice again. Tech came out again said we need heater package. Part was backordered. One month later tech came out to install. While tech checking completed job, the water dispenser stopped working. Tech had to reset computer board. All the while during this and just after the ice problem for about 2 months, the fridge would make a horrible screeching sound trying to dispense ice. Of course while tech was here previously, it wouldnt do it. (it would sound intermittently) While this last tech was here it screeched, so tech said we need a "service dispensing motor". Made another tech appt march 23. 2011 -- I dont know if this fridge will last a year??!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lw
    lwylie Mar 19, 2011

    Continued. Now today after sons baseball practice. Freezer is not making ice. Had enough scheduled a&e service company. Cant have tech come out til March 23rd so no ice til then maybe more depending on issue. WHAT A LEMON!! Called HHGregg where I bought. Of course, goes thru "did you buy extended warranty?- well where not past yr warranty first! Cant return, cant call whirpool for me, can do anything- hands are tied. blah blah blah. made notes to have tech to diagnose ice problem on 23rd. DONT BUY WHIRPOOL GOLD FRIDGE. Will call whirpool manu on monday.

    0 Votes
  • Lw
    lwylie Mar 23, 2011

    Tech came out today to diagnose freezer not making ice. Icemaker motor went bad. Replaced. Still waiting for ice dispenser motor to come in. So far, fridge working ok --- 2 and half hours and counting and no problems. yippie.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    housewifemom1 Apr 07, 2011

    I've had the same problems as everyone else. We had our whirlpool gold less than 1 year the first time the ice maker froze up. It had to be fixed 4 times & they still would not replace the fridge. Now the lights & digital panel have gone out in the fridge side. We found a service guy that helped us diagnose the problem over the phone, which saved the service call money, but the part is still going to cost over $100 & we have to fix it. I thought whirlpool was supposed to be a top of the line brand. We also have a whirlpool microwave above the stove that has a short in the bulb or something. I keep replacing the bulb & it keeps blowing. Finally, I got so mad that I hit it & it came on, I just kept hitting it & it would come on. Now, it just won't come on any more. I'm so over whirlpool. They're obviously not what I thought they were.

    0 Votes
  • Lw
    lwylie Apr 08, 2011

    Well, it was good while it lasted. The red two u-shaped indicator light came on and off which means "I the freezer refuse to work and you paid too much for me" Basically, freezer not making ice again. On phone with A&E service. Its not their fault, but they give you a four hour window which is half a day and takes up a lot of time.

    -1 Votes
  • Lw
    lwylie Apr 14, 2011

    A&E tech came out again. (he doesnt need gps to find my house anymore) Said the sending unit which operates the u-shaped light that tells the ice maker to not work while the door is open or while there is no ice bin was defective. He replaced and so far so good.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg1973 Jun 02, 2011

    I just got off the phone with Whirlpool. They did nothing to help me. Simply stated... once you are out of warranty the company does not care about issues with their products. AVOID ALL WHIRLPOOL PRODUCTS. You think they could at least provide the part at cost or at a discount. This is why American companies fail. Call center in Detroit Michigan... go figure.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nice stuff- NOT Jun 27, 2011

    Just replaced the board for the second time in five years. Lost a lot of food and freezer items. When emailed with the problem we got a "canned" reply basically stating there is nothing they can do and this has not been heard of previously. That's bs as I sent them a letter after the first failure when the unit was 1.5 years old. Not expecting them to stand behind their product. You could not give me a Maytag appliance at this point.

    Time for a class action suite against Maytag!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rockfridge Jul 03, 2011

    Symptoms: Control led's out, light in refrigerator side out, unit seems to be cooling okay.
    Fix: Installed circuit board part number W10135090. Fridge works perfectly. Took about 5 min. Board is located behind rear cardboard panel on bottom left (from behind) fridge. It's in a small white plastic box. Need a 1/4 nut driver and thats it.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trish toro Jun 24, 2012

    I too have had trouble with my frig. Temp is 70 in the refrig. This will be the 3 rd time tech has come. How about all my food? Second time I had to wait 5 days it was memorial weekend. When do they replace the lemon?

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    ADent Sep 07, 2012

    I have GS5SHAXNL00 with no lights and the main board is blown.

    I had the ice maker serviced under warranty (motor plus controller) and I replaced a fan tat was very noisey.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jose che Sep 29, 2012

    Buena tengo un problema:
    refrigerador whirlpool model GS6SHEXNLOO nomas prende el ventilador y en el tablero de la puerta se prende como una tipo de alarma, y al abrir la puerta del refrigerador tiene unos numeros pero tampoco prende, bueno como q prenden y no prenden.
    Quiciera saber quie me puede ayudar a solucionar el problema se lo agradeceria de ante mano.


    GRACIAS...

    0 Votes
  • Br
    B Ru Apr 05, 2013

    My gold series has problems. Just outside the one yr warranty, of course! Called support and got a useless person who wanted to send a tech out dor $80 or so an hr! Nice way to stand by your product. Should have bought the Japanese model I guess. my problem is that the freezer section fills with water in the floor of the freezer section and e neutrally floods out onto my kitchen floor. Any atty out there? this company should not get away with this fraud!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disgusted with Whirlpool Jul 10, 2013

    We have Whirlpool Gold series side by side refrigerator and like everyone else have had problems with ice maker. Dec we replaced the entire ice maker along with the control boards and today 10 July 2013 had to replace the control boards again! Called Whirlpool and of course they could not do anything for us. Would not even pay for the repair. Unbelievable!! Sad that companies will not stand behind their products especially when so many are having the same problem. Recall would work!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KEC43 Aug 26, 2013

    My GC5SHEXNB00 Whirlpool side by side refrigerator control board went bad a while back. My repair man hooked up a fan to cool the compressor. Now that the control board really needs replaced because the frig part is freezing item the part is no longer available.It is so frustrating to not be able to fix something that is not that old. People wonder why we are a throw away society.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wine Refrigerators Apr 09, 2014

    I am happy to find this content very helpful and informative for me, as it contains lot of accurate detailing about the topic, which I was searching for. Thanks a lot and good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRTIM Jun 28, 2014

    GS6SHEXNL00 Whrilpool side by side Electronic Control Board needed replaced due to freezer to cold and fridge side warm, easy to do it yourself, paid $139 for the new part... I will never by Whrilpool again!

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drunk Redneck Apr 12, 2015

    I Will never buy a Whirlpool product again, they knowingly kept selling a product they knew was going to fail

    0 Votes
  • Th
    ThomG Sep 11, 2015

    Thanks guys, My fridge is still working so I will replace the bulb on spec and maybe the board will survive a while. The good news is that the doors were damaged so I go a great deal on the fridge when I bought it 7 years ago. They did a warranty repair when the freezer started frosting up. My wife is painting it Dark Blue next week. You have my sympathy.

    0 Votes

Post your comment