Lowes10% military discount is a joke

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am an honorably discharged Vietnam vet that served consectively 4 yrs 10mths and 8 days on active duty yet a DD-214 which every service man receives at discharge that shows this service is not good enough for these ###s. I can’t receive my vet benefits or get an ID because i “make too much money”. That is the only reason! I am a tier #8 according to the VA which makes me inelligible just due to my income.

Even with 3 dependents in college my wife (her income shouldn’t count) and I can’t make over about 45-46K to qualify. When explaining this to a Lowes mgr, he treated me as though i was lying to him or was crazy or something and didn’t know what i was talking about. Yes even though i make over 3 times the allowed amount it simply isn’t fair and just because i’m not sitting at the beer joint or panning on the street corner and have made something resourceful of myself, i can’t qualify.

.THAT”S SOCIALISM.!!! CLASS WARFARE BASED ON INCOME. Typical of these liberal jerks running this country. As for Lowes, well i’m building a 3800 sq ft home…guess where i’m NOT getting my materials !!!

Responses

  • Pw
    pwrslm23 Oct 07, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The VA will give you a veteran ID card free of charge. If you already have a category 8 qualification and are approved, you can get VA benefits with COPAYS... you should already have an ID. A few years back Congress did the Mission Act and the ID validating your service was authorized. Its good nationwide, so get it and that will solve your issue. I am also a vet, so do not accuse me of collaboration with Lowes because I am not. This info is to help you.

    0 Votes
  • St
    steve balistreri Sep 22, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Lowes has made so hard to sing up for the vet discount its crazy. filling out the form I was rejected because my NAME WAS WRONG . Complaints board please explain this to me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    DC80 Apr 30, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hmmm, seems to me that demanding a discount from any vendor is the true form of socialism. Get it together.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rogeregor Jun 05, 2021

    @DC80 Lowes advertises they give Discounts to Military and Veterans they don't Stipulate they may not based on income. Yet Lowes Management does Stupid things, shop Home Depot they don't have income requirement. I switched to Home Depot after a bungled Installation Job. Vietnam Vet's most of all deserve more respect, speaking as a Vet, Thank you for your Service in a rotten war got into by our Politicians and lost by our Politicians.

    0 Votes
  • St
    steve balistreri Sep 22, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @DC80 I was NOT demanding a discount-it was offered- some people should keep there BIG MOUTH SHUT until they know the true story.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LivinDangerous Aug 08, 2019

    You're a lying [censored] and probably a washout claiming status without an actual honorable discharge. All I ever had to do to get military discount is point to the "veteran" tag on my licences. Never did I fill out credit or income information. A simple actual proof of honorable discharge is sufficient. There is absolutely no way you aren't making this whole thing up.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    forgotten Vet Feb 25, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @LivinDangerous All I have is a state issued Disability license plate. So, don't expect any Lowes employee to come out to the parking lot to see my DAV tag. I doesn't work That way, any way.
    SEPT 2020 i submitted documentation Proving my DVA/VA eligibility. I got a new ph and number in DEC, called Lowes HQ to update. The customer service told me "that OLD ph number is in someone else's name and they have been using your account, someone named Elizabeth" Aint' no one I know.
    Over the following 5 months, after their I.T. dept. putting my documents together with my NEW ph, my address and email...and Now 3 ph calls, 6 weeks later, looking for my Replacement card for 'My Lowes acct, its still isn't here. I 'am Not about to step foot into the store to get the same lame stare from the check out.
    Over the past 10 years I only tried twice using my VA eligibility, only to find out the ph number Never was in my name at all and it was only this past SEPT I followed up and called their home office to find these folks give NOT a red Ratts a^^ to do their Own follow up. That's where this entire can of worms is. No Where. The exact Same as Lowes customer service and to say the least, those employed in their Stores. Its been my experience to find 1 upfront who is willing to even nod their head in a veteran's direction as if you're not even there. Very disrespectful and as If they don't need My business.
    I have a Great Amazon Prime acct. and Use it.
    What appears to me is American companies which are invested in by large money financiers Will be and Is the Doom for our society by literally driving U, S. consumers in the direction They want to Grow...i.e China and its conglomerates.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Big A May 13, 2013

    Lowe's established the 10% Military Discount to support the men and women who are currently serving our country in the Armed Services1 and to honor Retired Veterans and VA Recipients.2 This 10% discount is also extended to the immediate family3 of those who are currently serving, Retired Veterans, or VA Recipients.

    To qualify for the Everyday 10% Military Discount, you must:

    Be currently serving in, or retired from, a qualifying branch of the Armed Services, or be the immediate family member of someone who is and have a valid military ID Card.

    Or:

    Be a veteran who receives VA benefits and have a valid Veteran Identification Card (VIC).

    We honor all Veterans on three specific holidays: Memorial Day, 4th of July and Veterans Day. During these three holiday weekends, we extend the discount to all veterans who served honorably and who present a valid Form DD214 or other proof of service. The Lowe’s Military Discount is extended to the Veteran community on these three holidays only.

    The Military Discount must be used on personal purchases only and cannot be used for Lowes.com purchases, previous sales, or the purchase of gift cards or services including product installations. It cannot be combined with the Lowe’s Price Guarantee, or promotions such as "Spend and Get, " "New Mover, " "Project Starter, " "Your Choice, " or discounts such as Quote Support Program (QSP) quotes.

    •1 Armed Services — US Army, US Navy, US Air Force, US Marine Corps, US Coast Guard, or the National Guard and who are in active, reserve, or retired status.
    •2 Retired Veterans and VA Recipients — Veterans who have retired after 20 years of service and/or those who receive VA Benefits
    •3 Immediate Family — Spouses and/or dependent children (up to 18 years old.)
    *** This is copied directly from Lowes.com to inform customers about the military discount currently offered. Please understand the employees of Lowe's( in the store I work) wish we could extend the offer to everyone who has ever served in the armed forces and appreciate all of the sacrifices made over the years. Many employees and/or their immediate family members are those very veterens, including mine. Employees have seen both their spiffs and commissions removed over the past year so the discount for military as it stands can remain. Our store has given approximately $320, 000.00 in discounts for the current military discount just in the first quarter of this year. It would be really nice if our valued customers could join us in supporting their brothers-in-arms. Also, remember you can receive the discount during the veteren's holidays stated.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank J III Apr 26, 2013

    I ran into the same problem with Lowes not honoring their military discount. I'm a disabled Viet Nam veteran and I'm in the process of building a new home. My intention was to buy lots from Lowes using their 10% discount. I was told that I must have a military ID or a VA card. I told them I did not have either, but I did have my DD214, my VA letter stating my disability and my Bronze star letter for Viet Nam service. They would not even look at my letters and just stated that I must have a VA card. I told them that I have not used the VA in over 25 years and I have no need to, so why would I have a VA card? They refused my discount, Lowes does not care about veterans at all.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    commonsense_1977 Jan 12, 2012

    You make more than 45k (since you said you're in that bracket). And you're complaining about 10%. Most employees make far less than that and that is what they get too. I don't think a avg of less than $10 a ticket isn't really going to hurt you..Not many people spend more than $100 avg ticket.

    Save that discount for the Vets that make less than you. That actually need it. The one's on a fixed income.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    forgotten Vet Feb 25, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @commonsense_1977 His "ELIGIBILITY" is WHAT Lowes is attempting to dish out and call it "Honoring Veterans" And he has done exactly what I did. DUMP the VA...not Needed.
    Lowes honors green backs, platinum Visa's and other plastic. AND THATS ALL.
    Lowes themselves Have NO Honor. period.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.